Beadon, Richard (DNB00)

From Wikisource
Jump to: navigation, search

BEADON, RICHARD (1737–1824), bishop of Bath and Wells, son of Robert Beadon and Mary, daughter of Rev. S. Squire, rector of Oakford, was born at Pinkworthy, Devon. He was educated at Blundell's school at Tiverton, and afterwards at St. John's College, Cambridge, where he took the degree of B.A. in 1758, and the following year obtained the prize for a Latin essay. He became fellow and tutor of his college, and in 1768 was appointed public orator of the university. He held the prebend of Reculverland in St. Paul's cathedral 1771–5. In 1775 he was made archdeacon of London, with the prebend of Mapesbury, which he held till 1802. He was elected master of Jesus College, Cambridge, in 1781. While holding this office he had charge of William Frederick, afterwards duke of Gloucester, during his residence at the university. He was vice-chancellor of Cambridge 1781–2. Having gained the favour of George III he was in 1789 made bishop of Gloucester, and in 1802 was translated to the see of Bath and Wells. He was kindly and hospitable to his clergy and his neighbours. He married Rachel, daughter of Dr. J. Gooch, by whom he had one son, Richard. For the last few years of his life he was rendered incapable of discharging his episcopal duties by the infirmities of age. He did not neglect the opportunities which his bishopric afforded him of forwarding the interests of his family. He made his son Richard the chancellor of the diocese, and when the rich episcopal manor of Wiveliscombe fell in also granted it to him on a lease for three lives. His only published works are two sermons, one preached before the House of Lords on a public fast-day, 19 April 1798, and the other before the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel. He died 21 April 1824. His son, Richard, was father of Sir Cecil Beadon [q. v.]

[Phelps's History of Somerset; Cassan's Lives of Bishops of Bath and Wells.]

W. H.