Tanswell, John (DNB00)

From Wikisource
Jump to: navigation, search
Dictionary of National Biography, 1885-1900, Volume 55
Tanswell, John

by William Prideaux Courtney
According to the ODNB, his parent were Stephen Cock Tanswell and his wife Ann Nicholas.

TANSWELL, JOHN (1800–1864), archæologist, sixth and last surviving son of Stephen Cock, who married Ann Tanswell or Taswell, a connection of the Rev. William Taswell, D.D., rector of St. Mary's, Newington, Surrey, was born at Bedford Square, London, on 3 Sept. 1800. He was bred to the law and admitted solicitor in Michaelmas term 1834, having offices at 5 King's Bench Walk, Temple. On the evening of 17 Oct., when returning from business, he was seized with apoplexy, and died at his home, Temple House, Nunhead, Surrey, on 18 Oct. 1864. He was buried at Nunhead cemetery, and, as he was unmarried, his property passed to his nephew, Thomas Pitt Taswell-Langmead [q. v.] Tanswell was a lover of archæological pursuits, and published in 1858 an excellent volume on ‘The History and Antiquities of Lambeth.’ The family of Taswell formerly resided at the old manor-house of Limington, Somerset, part of which still remains; and extracts from a paper by him on that parish appeared in the ‘Proceedings of the Somersetshire Archæological Society,’ vol. vii. pt. ii. pp. 1–8. He was an occasional contributor to ‘Notes and Queries.’

[Gent. Mag. 1864, ii. 793–4; Law List, 1864; information from Rev. S. T. Taylor-Taswell.]

W. P. C.