Armstrong, John (1673-1742) (DNB00)
ARMSTRONG, JOHN, F.R.S. (1673–1742), became major-general and quartermaster-general of the forces, colonel of the royal regiment of foot in Ireland, surveyor-general of the ordnance and his majesty's chief engineer, and was elected fellow of the Royal Society on 2 May 1723. He appears to be the person who, as 'Colonel John Armstrong, Chief Engineer of England,' was the author of part of a work entitled a 'Report with Proposals for draining the Fens and amending the Port of King's Lynn and of Cambridge and the rest of the trading towns in those parts and the navigable rivers that have their course through the great level of the Fens called Bedford Level.' In 'Watt's Bibliotheca Britannica' the authorship of the whole work is ascribed to Colonel John Armstrong, but it is evident that the compiler of the 'Proposals for draining the Fens' was Thomas Badesdale, and that Colonel Armstrong was only the author of the 'Report.'
[Musgrave's MS. Biographical Advertiser, 5718, and Obituary 5727 in British Museum; Gent. Mag. xii. p. 219; London Mag. 1742, p. 205; Thompson's History of the Royal Society, Appendix, p. 35; Badesdale's History of the Ancient and Present State of the Navigation of the Port of King's Lynn, &c.]