Leedes, Edward (DNB00)

From Wikisource
Jump to: navigation, search


LEEDES, EDWARD (1627–1707), schoolmaster, born at Tittleshall, Norfolk, in 1627, was son of Samuel Leedes or Leeds. He entered Christ's College, Cambridge, as a sizar in June 1642, graduated B.A. and M.A., and in 1668 was elected master of the grammar school at Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk. He held the mastership till his death, and is said to have been a good teacher. He died on 20 Dec. 1707, and was buried in the church at Ingham, near Bury, where there is a tablet to his memory in the chancel. In 1847 a descendant of the same name at Barham, Suffolk, owned a portrait of Leedes. He married Anna (1645–1707), daughter of Thomas Curtis, rector of Brandon. His two sons, Edward and Samuel, both took holy orders. Leedes's chief works (all published in London) were: 1. 'Methodus Græcam Linguam Docendi.' 1690, 8vo; the dedication contains a list of the chief families in Suffolk of which members had been, were being, or might hereafter be educated at Bury school. 2. 'Ad Prima Rudimenta Græcæ Linguæ discenda Graeco-Latinum Compendium.' 1693. 3. 'Eruditæ Pronunciationis Catholici Indices.' 1701, 1751, &c. 4. 'Lud. Kusterus de vero usu verborum mediorum . . .' (2nd edit), 1750, 1773, &c. 5. 'Τροποσχηματολογία, maximam partem ex Indice Rhetorico Farnabii deprompta . . ..' 1717, 8to. An edition of Lucian's 'Works' of 1743 bears Leedes's name as editor; he had published a volume of selections from the same author in 1678 (Watt).

[Davy's Suffolk Coll. vol. xc. (Brit. Mus. Add. MS. 19166), f. 25; The Suffolk Garland, p. 91; information kindly furnished by J. A. Sharkey, esq.; Page's Suppl. to the Suffolk Traveller, p. 286.]

W. A. J. A.