Palliser, William (1646-1726) (DNB00)

From Wikisource
Jump to navigation Jump to search

PALLISER, WILLIAM (1646–1726), archbishop of Cashel, son of John Palliser, was born at Kirkby Wisk in Yorkshire, and received his early education at Northallerton under John Smith. At the age of fourteen he entered Trinity College, Dublin, of which he became a fellow in 1668. He received deacon's orders at Wexford in November 1669, and priest's orders on the 28th of the following January, in St. Patrick's Cathedral, Dublin. Palliser was elected ‘medicus’ in Trinity College, Dublin, in October 1670, and appointed professor of divinity in that university in 1678. In the same year he delivered a Latin oration at the funeral of James Margetson [q. v.], protestant archbishop of Armagh. Palliser in October 1681 resigned his fellowship in Trinity College for the rectory of Clonfeacle, co. Tyrone. Four days after his retirement he was readmitted to Trinity College by dispensation, on his resigning Clonfeacle. Henry Hyde, second earl of Clarendon [q. v.], lord lieutenant of Ireland, in a letter in 1685 to the archbishop of Canterbury, in reference to a possible vacancy in the provostship of Trinity College, Dublin, mentioned Palliser as the ‘fittest man’ for the post; and added, ‘He is of great learning and exemplary piety: he would make a very good bishop.’

By patent dated 14 Feb. 1692–3 Palliser was appointed bishop of Cloyne, and received consecration at Dublin on the 5th of the following month. He prepared, in compliance with a governmental order, an account of the diocese of Cloyne in 1693–4, and furnished with it a plan for union of parishes. Palliser was translated to the archbishopric of Cashel in June 1694, and continued to occupy it till his death on 1 Jan. 1726–7. The great wealth which he accumulated was inherited by his only son, William Palliser. Archbishop Palliser made a gift of communion plate to the cathedral of Cashel. He gave donations of money to Trinity College, Dublin, to which he also bequeathed a large number of his books, on condition that they should be always kept together as a collection in the library of the institution, and designated ‘Bibliotheca Palliseriana.’

[State Letters of Henry, Earl of Clarendon, 1765; Ware's Works, by Harris, 1739; Boulter's Letters, 1770; Mant's Hist. of Church of Ireland, 1840; Brady's Parochial Records, 1863; Taylor's Hist. of University of Dublin, 1845–89.]

J. T. G.