Cockerell, Frederick Pepys (DNB00)
|←Cockerell, Charles Robert||Dictionary of National Biography, 1885-1900, Volume 11
Cockerell, Frederick Pepys
|Cockerell, Samuel Pepys→|
COCKERELL, FREDERICK PEPYS (1833-1878), architect, the second son of Charles Robert Cockerell [q. v.], was born at 87 Eaton Square in March 1833. In 1845 he was sent to Winchester School, and at the close of 1848 he matriculated at King's College, London, where he is recorded on the books for about five or six terms. He first received lessons in perspective drawing from John E. Goodchild, who was his father's clerk and intimate friend. During the summer of 1850 Cockerell made a sketching tour in Northern France, and on his return obtained some employment, through Sir M. Digby Wyatt, in connection with the Exhibition building in Hyde Park. In 1853 he spent some months studying architecture in Paris, and in 1854 exhibited, for the first time at the Royal Academy (No. 1205 of the catalogue), 'Thanksgiving in St. Paul's after the Victory over the Spanish Fleet, 1718, from Sir Christopher Wren's office window.' The figures were put in by W. C. Stanfield, R.A. In the same year (1854) he became a pupil of Philip C. Hard wick, R.A., whose office Cockerell left in 1855 in order to visit Paris and the chief cities of Italy. On his return home he read a paper, at the Institute of British Architects, on the 'Architectural Accessories of Monumental Sculpture' (Sessional Paper, Brit. Architects, 1861). This paper received the full approbation of Professor Donaldson. Cockerell's first independent professional works were executed in 1858-9. They consisted of a cemetery chapel and some buildings at Ledbury. His earliest success was in raising and making additions to Coleorton Hall, the seat of Sir George Beaumont. This was soon followed by the planning and erecting of Down Hall, Essex ; Lythe Hill, Haslemere, Surrey ; and Crayley Court, near Winchester. He also erected the Carlisle memorial column at Castle Howard (Builder, 1870, p. 347), and another column in Sir R. Bateson Harvey's park at Langley. This column is noted for its correctness of dimensions and beauty of design. Among his London buildings should be mentioned the Freemasons' Hall (1861) in Great Queen Street (ib. 1866, p. 613). He became a member of the Grand Lodge, and was appointed to the high office of grand superintendent of works. He also designed the front and entrance to the Gallery of the Society of Painters in Water-Colours, Pall Mall East (ib. 1875, p. 371). Cockerell died suddenly, in Paris, on 4 Nov. 1878, on which day he had been invited to a dinner party at the house of M. Viollet le Duc, the architect. He left a widow and six children, at the time residing at 18 Manchester Square, London. Cockerell was a trustee of Sir John Soane's Museum, and a short time before his death was chosen assessor for the Spa buildings belonging to the Scarborough Cliff Bridge Company. He exhibited at the Royal Academy twenty-four works between 1854 and 1877, and was elected an associate of the Royal Institute of British Architects in 1860, a fellow on 30 May 1864, and honorary secretary in 1871. The following list contains some of the principal buildings erected by him in different parts of the country : Ballards, Croydon ; Foxholes, Christchurch, Hampshire ; Woodcote Hall, Newport, Shropshire ; Clonalis, Roscommon, Ireland ; Burgate, Godalming, Surrey ; Kidbrooke Park, East Grinstead ; Condover Hall, Shrewsbury; St. John's Church, Hampstead ; Little Holland House, Kensington ; the schools at Highgate a Gothic design ; church at Marske, Yorkshire ; a highly decorated house, 1 South Audley Street, completed from his designs by G. Aitchison, A.R.A. Cockerell's competition designs for the alterations to the National Gallery were commended and much admired, and that for the Albert Memorial was selected by the judges, but the queen preferred a Gothic design, and that of Sir G. G. Scott was finally accepted. He was equally familiar both with Gothic and classic architecture, as his erected works testify.
[Builder, 1878, 16 Nov. p. 1194, 23 Nov. p. 1230, 20 Dec. p. 1393, and 27 Dec. p. 1433.]