Scott, William (1797-1848) (DNB00)
|←Scott, William (1745-1836)|| Dictionary of National Biography, 1885-1900, Volume 51
Scott, William (1797-1848)
|Scott, William (1813-1872)→|
|1904 Errata appended.|
SCOTT, WILLIAM (1797–1848), jockey, brother of John Scott (1794–1871) [q. v.], the trainer, was born at Chippenham in 1797, and first employed in the stables of his father, who kept the Ship Inn, Ship Street, Oxford. In 1815 he received further instruction under James Croft, the well-known trainer at Middleham, and was then in the service of Mr. Thomas Houldsworth until 1823. As a partner with his brother in the Whitewall training stables from 1825, he obtained the opportunity of riding many good horses, and very soon became one of the best known and most successful jockeys of his day. Strength, judgment, and grace were the distinguishing points of his horsemanship. His successes extended over a period of rather more than twenty years, and included four victories in the race for the Derby—in 1832 for Mr. Robert Ridsdale on St. Giles, in 1835 for Mr. John Bowes on Mundig, in 1842 for Colonel Anson on Attila, and in 1843 for Mr. Bowes on Cotherstone; three victories in the Oaks—in 1836 for himself and his brother on Cyprian, in 1838 for Lord Chesterfield on Industry, and in 1841 for Lord Westminster on Ghuznee; nine victories in the race for the St. Leger—in 1821 for Mr. T. O. Powlett on Jack Spigott, in 1825 for Mr. Richard Watt on Memnon, in 1828 for the Hon. E. Petre on The Colonel, in 1829 for Mr. Petre on Rowton, in 1838 for Lord Chesterfield on Don John, in 1839 for Major Yarburgh on Charles XII, in 1840 for Lord Westminster on Launcelot, in 1841 for Lord Westminster on Satirist, and in 1846 on Sir Tatton Sykes for himself.
Sir Tatton Sykes, originally called Tibthorpe, was bred by Scott in 1843. Ridden by his owner, he in 1846 started six times and won three times. At the Newmarket spring meeting he won the Two Thousand Guineas, at Epsom he ran second for the Derby, at Newcastle-on-Tyne he ran for the North Derby, at York he won the Knavesmire Stakes, at Doncaster (as already stated) he won the St. Leger, and at Newmarket First October meeting he ran second for the Grand Duke Michael Stakes. After quarrelling with his brother, Scott set up training stables of his own; but he was not successful, and, falling into dissipated habits, he soon lost the greater part of his money. His last mount was on Christopher in the Derby of 1847. He died at Highfield House, near Malton, on 26 Sept. 1848, and was buried at Meaux, near Malton, on 2 Oct. He married a daughter of Mr. Richardson, draper at Beverley, by whom he left a son and a daughter.[Scott and Sebright, by the Druid, 1862, p. 47; Sporting Review, October 1842 p. 249 (with portrait), November 1846 pp. 298–301 (with engraving of Sir Tatton Sykes) December 1848 pp. 407–10; Black's Jockey Club, pp. 361, &c.; Taunton's Portraits of Race Horses, 1888, ii. 305 (with portrait); Bell's Life in London, 1 Oct. 1848, p. 3; see also ‘The Doncaster St. Leger’ in Sir F. H. Doyle's The Return of the Guards and other Poems, 1883, pp. 11–19.]
|112||ii||30-31||Scott, William (1797-1848): for Knaveshire read Knavesmire|