Stanhope, Edward (1546?-1608) (DNB00)
|←Stanhope, Charles (1753-1829)||Dictionary of National Biography, 1885-1900, Volume 54
Stanhope, Edward (1546?-1608)
|Stanhope, Edward (1840-1893)→|
|1904 Errata appended.|
STANHOPE, Sir EDWARD (1546?-1608), chancellor of the diocese of London, born at Hull about 1546, was the fourth son of Sir Michael Stanhope [q. v.], by Anne, daughter of Nicholas Rawson of Aveley, Essex. John Stanhope, first baron Stanhope [q. v.], was his elder brother.
An elder brother, also named Edward, represented in parliament Nottinghamshire and Yorkshire successively, was a surveyor of the duchy of Lancaster, treasurer of Gray's Inn, recorder of Doncaster, and a member of the council of the north. He died in 1603, and was buried at Kirby Wharffe. Yorkshire.
Sir Edward the younger was scholar of Trinity College, Cambridge, from 1560 to 1563, minor fellow in 1564, and major fellow in 1569. He graduated B.A. in 1563, M.A. in 1566, and LL.D. in 1575. He was incorporated M.A. at Oxford in September 1566, 'when Queen Elizabeth was entertained by the Oxonian Muses' (Wood, Fasti Oxon. i. 174). On 1 Sept. 1578 he supplicated to be incorporated D.C.L., but, though it was granted simpliciter, 'it appears not that he was incorporated' (ib. p. 211). On 25 Nov. 1572 he was appointed to the prebend of Botevant in York Cathedral. He was admitted as advocate at Doctors' Commons in 1576, and on 7 June 1577 was sworn as a master in chancery. About 1583 he was named vicar-general of the province of Canterbury, and, having meanwhile (Nov. 1584-Sept. 1585 and Oct. 1586-March 1587) served in parliament as member for Marlborough, was appointed a member of the ecclesiastical commission in 1587. Two years later he obtained, through the influence of Lord Burghley, to whose second wife he was related, the place of commissioner of the fines office. In 1589 he was also presented to the rectory of Terrington in Norfolk by his nephew William Cooper. In 1591 he resigned his stall at York on his appointment as canon and chancellor of St. Paul's Cathedral. Stanhope's name appears in the commission of March 1593 'touching Jesuits and other disguised persons,' and also in that of oyer and terminer for London in February 1594. In the same year he was also a member of Whitgift's commission for the survey of ecclesiastical courts in the London diocese; and in April 1601 was a commissioner in the inquiry concerning piracies. Together with his brother Michael he received a grant from the crown in June 1600 of the manor of Hucknall Torkard, Nottinghamshire, and was knighted at Whitehall on 25 July 1603. In that year Stanhope served on the commission under which Raleigh and his associates were tried for high treason, and was appointed one of the four learned civilians who were to examine and adjudicate upon all books printed in the realm without authority.
Stanhope died on 16 March 1607-8, and was buried in St. Paul's Cathedral 'near to the great north door.' His epitaph on the monument on the eastern wall, printed in 'Monumenta Sepulchraria Sancti Pauli,'
1614, by H. H[olland], was drawn up by William Camden [q. v.] During his lifetime he had given 100l. for the construction and fitting up of a library at Trinity College, Cambridge, to which he bequeathed 700l. to buy lands for the maintenance of a library-keeper and his man. He also left to the college fifteen manuscripts and over three hundred books, among which was his polyglot bible, known as King Philip's bible. A small benefaction was set apart for the provision of a large vellum book 'wherein should be fairly written and limned the names, titles, arms, and dignities of all the founders of the college,' and of the benefactors and masters, with a list of preferments. Benefactions were also left by Stanhope to the town of Hull and the poor of Kentish Town and Terrington, as well as 200l. towards the foundation of Whitgift's college at Croydon. Having no children, he entailed his estates in the Isle of Axholme and at Caldecott on his nephews.
Stanhope wrote the earlier portion of 'Memoriale Collegio [sic] Sanctæ et Individuæ Trinitatis in Academia Cantabrigiensi,' a manuscript inscribed with his name and left to Trinity College. It was continued, in accordance with his wishes, up to 1700, and was known as the Lodge Book from being kept in the master's lodge. Several of his letters were in the collections of Dawson Turner and Richard Almack.[Cooper's Athenae Cantabr. ii. 470-3, where is an exhaustive list of authorities.]
|7||ii||6||Stanhope, Sir Edward: for Wharffe read Wharfe|