Suckling, Alfred Inigo (DNB00)

From Wikisource
Jump to: navigation, search

SUCKLING, ALFRED INIGO (1796–1856), historian of Suffolk, born on 31 Jan. 1796, was the only son of Alexander Fox of Norwich, by his wife Anna Maria (d. 1848), daughter of Robert Suckling of Woodton-cum-Langhale in Suffolk, by his wife, Susannah Webb, a descendant of Inigo Jones [q. v.] Robert Suckling was of an ancient Suffolk family, which included among its members the poet Sir John Suckling [q. v.] and Nelson's uncle, Maurice Suckling [q. v.] On the death of Robert's son, Maurice William, without issue on 1 Dec. 1820, Alfred Inigo took the surname and arms of Suckling and succeeded to the estates. He was educated at Pembroke College, Cambridge, whence he graduated LL.B. in 1824. On 10 July 1839 he was instituted on his own petition to the rectory of Barsham in Suffolk, which he held until his death. He died at 40 Belmont Road, St. Heliers, Jersey, on 3 May 1856. On 31 Jan. 1816 he married Lucia Clementina, eldest daughter of Samuel Clarke, by whom he had four sons—Robert Alfred, Maurice Shelton, Charles Richard, and Henry Edward—and six daughters.

Suckling was the author of:

  1. ‘Memorials of the County of Essex,’ London, 1845, 4to; originally printed in ‘Quarterly Papers on Architecture,’ 1845, vol. iii., edited by John Weale [q. v.]
  2. ‘History and Antiquities of Suffolk,’ London, 1846–8, 4to. The latter work was not completed. His ‘Antique and Armorial Collections,’ 1821–39, 16 vols. 4to, consisting of notices of architectural and monumental antiquities in England and Picardy, form Additional MSS. 18476–91 (Brit. Mus.) (Notes and Queries, 4th ser. ii. 512, viii. 522).

He also edited ‘Selections from the Works of Sir John Suckling, with a Life of the Author,’ London, 1836, 8vo.

[Burke's Landed Gentry, 1894; Luard's Grad. Cantabr. p. 502; Foster's Index Ecclesiasticus, p. 168; Notes and Queries, 4th ser. ii. 512, viii. 522, 8th ser. xii. 6; Norfolk Chronicle, 10 May 1856; Norwich Mercury, 10 May 1856; Illustrated London News, 17 May 1856; Davy's Suffolk Collections in Addit. MSS. 19150 ff. 293, 299, 303, 19168 f. 189.]

E. I. C.