McGregor, John James (DNB00)

From Wikisource
Jump to navigation Jump to search


McGREGOR, JOHN JAMES (1775–1834), historian and topographer, born at Limerick on 24 Feb. 1775, was brought up among the methodists, and became an ardent supporter of their religious principles. At an early age he became editor of the 'Munster Telegraph,' published at Waterford. Subsequently he removed to Dublin, where he became editor of the 'Church Methodist Magazine,' a quarterly publication, and in 1829 he was appointed literary assistant to the Kildare Place Education Society. He died in Dublin on 24 Aug. 1834.

His principal works are: 1. 'History of the French Revolution, and of the Wars resulting from that event,' 11 vols, in 12, Waterford and Dublin, 1816-27, 8vo. 2. 'Narrative of the Loss of the Sea Horse Transport, Captain Gibbs, in the Bay of Tramore . . . Also some Account of the Wreck of the Lord Melville and Boadicea Transports,' Waterford, 1816, 8vo. 3. 'New Picture of Dublin,' with map and views, Dublin, 1821, 12mo. 4. 'The History, Topography, and Antiquities of the County and City of Limerick, with a View of the History and Antiquities of Ireland,' 2 vols. Dublin, 1826-7, 8vo (conjointly with the Rev. P. Fitzgerald, vicar of Cahercornev). 5. 'True Stories from the History of Ireland,' Dublin, 1829-33, 3 vols. 12mo, in the manner of Sir Walter Scott's ' Tales of a Grandfather.' His portrait has been engraved by S. Freeman from a miniature by Purcell.

[Memoir by his son, John James McGregor, M.D., Dublin, 1840; Lowndes's Bibl. Man. (Bohn), p. 1437 ; Gent: Mag. new ser. iii. 111.]

T. C.