Dictionary of National Biography, 1885-1900/Phillimore, Greville

From Wikisource
Jump to navigation Jump to search

PHILLIMORE, GREVILLE (1821–1884), divine and author, born in London on 5 Feb. 1821, was the fifth son of Joseph Phillimore [q. v.], regius professor of civil law, and brother of Sir Robert Joseph Phillimore [q. v.], judge of the admiralty court. He was educated successively at Westminster School, Charterhouse, and Christ Church, Oxford, where he graduated B.A. in 1842, and M.A. in 1844. Taking holy orders, he was curate successively at Henley-on-Thames and at Shiplake. In 1851 he became vicar of Down-Ampney, near Cricklade, and in 1867 he returned as rector to Henley, where he remained until, in July 1883, he accepted the crown living of Ewelme. There he died on 20 Jan. 1884. He married, on 16 April 1857, Emma Caroline, daughter of Captain Ambrose Goddard (1779–1854) of the Lawn, Swindon, M.P. for Cricklade from 1837 to 1841.

Phillimore was joint editor, with Hyde Wyndham Beadon and James Russell Woodford (afterwards bishop of Ely), of the ‘Parish Hymn Book,’ first issued in 1863, to which he contributed, besides translations, eleven original hymns, several of which have been reprinted in other collections. His ‘Parochial Sermons’ were published in 1856 (London, 8vo; 2nd edit. 1885), and he was author of ‘Uncle Z,’ a story of Triberg, in the Black Forest (1881), and ‘Only a Black Box, or a Passage in the Life of a Curate’ (1883). A memorial volume, printed at Henley in 1884, and edited by his daughter Catherine, contains his hymns and a few sermons.

[Foster's Alumni Oxon. 1715–1886; Julian's Dictionary of Hymnology, p. 893; Times, 22 Jan. 1884; Guardian, 30 Jan. 1884; Burke's Landed Gentry, p. 773; Phillimore's Works in British Museum.]

T. S.