Price, John (d.1736) (DNB00)

From Wikisource
Jump to navigation Jump to search

PRICE, JOHN (d. 1736), architect, is described as of Richmond, Surrey, and ‘armiger.’ In 1714 he rebuilt the church of St. Mary at Walls at Colchester in Essex. He worked a great deal for the Duke of Chandos, and was employed from 1712 to 1720 in building the duke's great house at Canons, near Edgware in Middlesex, from the designs of James Gibbs [q. v.] In 1720 he built a town mansion for the duke in Marylebone Fields. Price was employed in 1733 to rebuild the church of St. George the Martyr in Southwark, which was completed in 1736. He died in November of that year. In 1726 he published ‘Some Considerations for building a Bridge over the Thames from Fulham to Putney, with a Drawing,’ and also a supplementary letter to the same; and in 1735 ‘Some Considerations … offered to the House of Commons for building a Stone Bridge over the River Thames from Westminster to Lambeth,’ &c.

[Dict. of Architecture; Manning and Bray's Hist. of Surrey, iii. 637, 696; Wheatley's London Past and Present, ii. 102.]

L. C.