Scott, Henry Young Darracott (DNB00)
SCOTT, HENRY YOUNG DARRACOTT (1822–1883), major-general royal engineers, fourth son of Edward Scott of Plymouth, Devonshire, was born there on 2 Jan. 1822. Educated privately and at the royal military academy at Woolwich, he obtained a commission as second lieutenant in the royal engineers on 18 Dec. 1840. After going through the usual course of professional instruction at Chatham he was stationed at Woolwich and Plymouth in succession. Promoted to be first lieutenant on 19 Dec. 1843, he went to Gibraltar in January 1844, where he was acting adjutant of his corps. While at Gibraltar he accompanied Arthur Penrhyn Stanley [q. v.], afterwards dean of Westminster, and his two sisters on a tour in Spain. In 1848 he returned to England, and was appointed assistant instructor in field works at the Royal Military Academy at Woolwich. He was promoted to be second captain on 11 Nov. 1851, in which year he married. He was in the same year appointed senior instructor in field works at the Royal Military Academy.
On 1 April 1855 Scott was promoted to be first captain, and was appointed instructor in surveying at the royal engineer establishment at Brompton, Chatham, where he was the trusted adviser of the commandant, Colonel (afterwards General Sir) Henry Drury Harness [q. v.], in the reorganisation of this important army school. At Chatham he had charge of the chemical laboratory, and his experiments enabled him to perfect the selenitic lime which goes by his name. His system of representing ground by horizontal hachures and a scale of shade was perfected at Chatham, and adopted for the army as the basis of military sketching. During his residence at Brompton, Kent, a drought occurred, and he rendered invaluable assistance in establishing the present waterworks in the Luton valley.
On 19 May 1863 Scott was promoted to be brevet major, and on 5 Dec. of the same year to be regimental lieutenant-colonel. On 14 Dec. 1865 he was seconded in his corps, and employed under the commission of the Great Exhibition of 1851 at South Kensington, in the place of Captain Francis Fowke [q. v.] He gained the complete confidence of the commissioners, and on the retirement of Sir Henry Cole was appointed secretary to the commission.
The chief work by which Scott will be remembered was the construction of the Royal Albert Hall at Kensington, with the design and execution of which he was entrusted in 1866. The design of the roof was unique, and there were many predictions that it would fail. Scott, however, had spent much labour in working out all the details, and never hesitated. When the time arrived, in 1870, for removing the scaffolding which supported the roof, Scott sent every one out of the building, and himself knocked away the final support. The acoustic properties were a source of anxiety. At first there was a decided echo with wind instruments, but the introduction of a ‘velarium’ below the true roof cured the defect. On 20 May 1871 Scott was made a companion of the Bath (civil division).
On 7 June 1871 Scott was promoted to be brevet colonel, and on 19 Aug. of the same year he retired from the army as an honorary major-general, but continued in his civil appointment at South Kensington. On 3 Feb. 1874 he became an associate of the Institution of Civil Engineers; on 3 June 1875 he was elected a fellow of the Royal Society, and the same year a member of a select Russian scientific society, on which occasion the czar presented him with a snuff-box set with diamonds.
Scott was for some years examiner in military topography under the military education department. He was awarded medals for service rendered to the Great Exhibition of London in 1862, the Prussian Exhibition of 1865, the Paris Universal Exhibition of 1867, the annual London International Exhibition of fine arts, industries, and inventions, the Dutch Exhibition of 1877, and the Paris International Exhibition of 1878. He received in 1880 a silver medal from the Society of Arts for a paper entitled ‘Suggestions for dealing with the Sewerage of London,’ and the Telford premium for a paper he contributed in the same year, in conjunction with Mr. G. R. Redgrave, to the Institution of Civil Engineers, on the ‘Manufacture and Testing of Portland Cement.’ He had prepared the plans for the completion of the South Kensington Museum, when, in 1882, the treasury, in a fit of economy, abolished his appointment as secretary of the Great Exhibition commissioners. This abrupt termination of his connection with the museum and anxiety for the future of his numerous family helped to break down his health. He designed the buildings for the Fisheries Exhibition, but was too ill to attend the opening. He died at his residence, Silverdale, Sydenham, on 16 April 1883, and was buried at Highgate. Scott's life was devoted to the public service and the advancement of scientific knowledge, but he failed to secure for himself any benefit from his inventions.
Scott married, on 19 June, 1851, at Woolwich, Ellen Selina, youngest daughter of Major-general Bowes of the East India Company's service. She survived him with fifteen children.
Scott contributed to the ‘Transactions of the Royal Institute of British Architects’ (1857 and 1872) and to the ‘Professional Papers of the Corps of Royal Engineers’ (new ser. vols. vi, vii, x, xi, xii, xvii, xx) papers chiefly dealing with his discovery of his new cement and the construction of the Albert Hall.[War Office Records; Royal Engineers' Records; memoir by Canon Daniel Cooke in the Royal Engineers' Journal, 1883; Sir Henry Coles's Fifty Years of Public Work, 2 vols. 1884.]