Newmarch, Charles Henry (DNB12)
NEWMARCH, CHARLES HENRY (1824–1903), divine and author, born at Burford, Oxfordshire, on 30 March 1824, was second son of George Newmarch, solicitor, of Cirencester, by Mary his wife. He traced his descent as far back as the Norman Conquest. After education from March 1837 at Rugby, whither his elder brother, George Frederick, had gone in 1830, he spent some time in the merchant shipping service and in Eastern travel. Of his Eastern experience he gave an account in 'Five Years in the East,' published in 1847 under the pseudonym of R. N. Hutton, which attracted favourable attention. In 1848 appeared anonymously his interesting 'Recollections of Rugby, by an old Rugbeian' (12mo), and in the same year a novel, 'Jealousy' (3 vols.). Settling in Cirencester, Newmarch showed keen interest in the antiquities of the neighbourhood, and in 1850 wrote with Professor James Buckman [q. v.] 'Illustrations of the Remains of Roman Art in Cirencester' (4to; 2nd edit. 1851). He was chiefly instrumental in founding in 1851 the 'Cirencester and Swindon Express,' which was soon amalgamated with the 'Wilts and Gloucester Standard.' He was joint editor of the paper, and till the end of his life was a regular contributor under the name of 'Rambler.' He issued with his brother in 1868 a brief account of the 'Newmarch pedigree.'
Newmarch matriculated at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge, in 1851, graduating B.A. in 1855. Taking holy orders in 1854, he was from 1856 to 1893 rector of Wardley-cum-Belton, Rutland, and rural dean of the district from 1857 to 1867. He was greatly interested in agricultural matters, contributing much to 'Bell's Life' on the subject; he championed the cause of the village labourers, who stoutly defended him against the attacks of Joseph Arch, when Arch visited Belton in his tour of the village districts in 1872. He took an active part in church building in Rutland, and restored the chancel of his parish church. Increasing deafness led to his retirement in 1893 to 37 Upper Grosvenor Road, Tunbridge Wells, where he died on 14 June 1903.
Newmarch married on 6 Feb. 1855, at Leckhampton, Anne Straford of Cheltenham and Charlton Kings, and had issue two sons and three daughters. One daughter survived him. A tablet to his memory was erected in Belton church in 1912.
[The Times, 20 June 1903; Guardian, 1 July 1903; Rugby School Register, 1901, ii. 293; information from son-in-law, the Rev. J. B. Booth.]