Shaw, John (1776-1832) (DNB00)
SHAW, JOHN (1776–1832), architect, was born at Bexley, Kent, on 10 March 1776. He was articled to George Gwilt the elder [q. v.], and commenced practice in 1798. He built many country houses, including Clifden, Buckinghamshire; Blendon Hall, Kent; Rooks' Nest, Surrey; Ilam Hall, Staffordshire; and Cresswell Hall, Northumberland. In 1819 he restored Newstead Abbey for Colonel Wildman, and designed the new church of St. Dunstan, Fleet Street, London, which was completed in 1833. In 1816 he was appointed architect and surveyor to Christ's Hospital, to which he made extensive additions. He was also architect to the Ramsgate harbour trust, and the clock-tower there, as well as the obelisk erected to commemorate the visit of George IV in 1821, was his work. He was largely engaged in the valuation of property in London for compensation, on account of the extensive street improvements effected in his time. Shaw was a fellow of the Royal and Linnean societies, of the Society of Antiquaries and the Institute of British Architects. He died suddenly at Ramsgate on 30 July 1832, and was buried at Bexley, leaving six sons and two daughters. His widow died in 1864. His seventh son, Thomas Budge Shaw, is noticed separately.
His son, John Shaw (1803–1870), born in London on 17 May 1803, was a pupil of his father, whom he succeeded as architect to Christ's Hospital. He built Holy Trinity Church, Great New Street, Fetter Lane, 1838; the Royal Naval School at New Cross, 1844; and Wellington College, Sandhurst, 1855–9. Shaw was one of the official referees of metropolitan buildings from 1844 to 1855, when the duties of that office were transferred to the metropolitan board of works. He died on 9 July 1870, and was buried in Kensal Green cemetery.[Dictionary of Architecture; Redgrave's Dictionary of Artists; information from John Hebb, esq.]