History of Norfolk/Volume 2/Forehoe
- 1 The Hundred of Forehoe
- 1.1 BIXTON
- 1.2 BERNHAM-BROOM
- 1.3 BOWTHORP
- 1.4 BAWBURGH
- 1.5 EASTON
- 1.6 CROWNTHORP
- 1.7 CARLETON FOREHOE
- 1.8 COSSEY
- 1.9 COLTON
- 1.10 HINGHAM
- 1.11 HUNINGHAM
- 1.12 WELBORNE
- 1.13 MARLINGFORD
- 1.14 WICLEWOOD
- 1.15 BRANDON
- 1.16 CORSTON
- 1.17 RUNHAL
- 1.18 MORLEY
- 1.19 BEREFORD
- 1.20 WRAMPLINGHAM
- 1.21 LITTLE-ELINGHAM
- 1.22 DEPHAM
- 1.23 HACKFORD
- 1.24 WINDHAM
- 1.24.1 Cromwell's Manor
- 1.24.2 Grishagh Manor
- 1.24.3 Rusteyn's
- 1.24.4 Stanfield or Stanfield Hall Manor
- 1.24.5 Gonvile's Manor
- 1.24.6 Stalworthy's Burfield, and Nothe's Manor
- 1.24.7 Windham Reginæ, or The Abbots Manor
- 1.24.8 Chossell's Manor
- 1.24.9 Palgrave's or Hetherset's Manor
- 1.24.10 Downham Hall Manor
- 1.24.11 Brockdish, Springwell's or Findern's Manor
- 1.24.12 Thuxton's and Beacham's
- 1.24.13 The Rectory
- 1.24.14 Vicars
- 1.24.15 The Priory or Abbey
- 1.24.16 Priors
- 1.24.17 Abbots
- 1.25 FLOCKTHORP
- 1.26 KIMBERLEY
- 1.27 OF THE WODEHOUSES OF KIMBERLEY
The Hundred of Forehoe
The hundred of Forehoe, or Feorhou, takes its name from the four hills where the hundred court used to be kept; they lie between Barford and Kimberley, in the field belonging to the parish of Carleton, from them called Carleton Fourhoe, on the south side of the great road leading from Norwich to Hingham; upon what account these hills were first made, whether on some engagement between the Saxons and Danes, I cannot presume to determine, but am apt to imagine them to have been raised upon some such account.
The hundred is bounded on the west by Wayland, on the south by Shropham and Depwade, on the north by Mitford and Taverham, and on the east by Humbleyard, and the county of the city of Norwich.
It belonged to the Crown, and was called the hundred and half of Fourhou, and was given by King Stephen to William de Cheyney, in exchange; but that being revoked, it came to the King again, and the half hundred, which contained only Wymondham, and the lands of the fee of the Earl of Arundel, was given to that Earl, and attended the castle of Bukenham, as you may see in vol. i. p. 371, &c. and went with the manor of Wimondham, in which it now  rests, that town not being under the jurisdiction of the whole hundred, which King John, in the year 1215, gave to John le Mareschal, lord of Hengham. and his heirs, with which manor it hath passed ever since, and still remains,
Sir John Woodhouse of Kimberley, Bart. being lord thereof.
When the grant passed, it was valued at 8l. per annum, and in Queen Elizabeth's time, it raised 67l. 18s. to every tenth granted to the Crown.
It appears by a record made soon after 1242, when Isabell Countess of Arundell held Wymondham in dower; that she was exempt from the hundred, and had a leet, gallows, pillory, ducking-stool, and assize of bread and ale in her manor and lands, as the half hundred, by grant of Henry II. It was found that the manor of Cossey, then in Queen Eleanor, mother to the King, had the same liberties and exemption as Wimondham, and that Walter Geneys, Rob. de Mortimer for Barnham, Rich. Goley for Wiclewood, and several other lords, did their suit to Cossey, and not to the hundred. The heirs of Giles de Wachesham had all the liberties as Windham, except the leet. The Prior of Canterbury had his leet and privileges as in Windham, to his manor of Deepham, and John de Stutvile had the leet to his manor of Kimberley, Will. de Carleton had the leet of Carleton to his manor there, and the Prior of Windham had the view of frankpledge and sole jurisdiction over his men and lands, not only in Wymondham, but in Wiclewood, Morley, and Carleton.
Thomas de Helwetune had the leet of Wramplingham, so far independent of the hundred, that the bailiff thereof was not permitted to attend at it, as he generally did at others.
Will. Gostleyne of Kimburle, and Tho. Gostleyne, had a leet to their manor at Kimburle.
Jeffry Fitz-Walter of Hingham, Alan, son of Nigell de Kimburle, Thomas de Kimburle, and Richard Muriel, had the view of frankpledge of their men, and all these were exempt from the hundred's jurisdiction.
In 1413, Thomas Lord Morle, Lord-Marshal of Ireland, as lord of the hundred, prosecuted Thomas and John Fouldon, for enclosing without his leave, a small parcel of waste in Welbourn, and it appeared, that he was lord paramount of all the hundred, except those towns which were exempt and held a leet of their own; in 1476, the fishery called Semere in Hingham, belonged to the hundred, as it now does. We have an account of this hundred and some of the villages in it, at p. 303, of the Atlas, but it abounds with errours, many things and places being quite confounded one with another, as the account of Sir Oliver Hingham, as he is called, which should be Sir Oliver Ingham of Ingham in Happing hundred; Carleton Rode, instead of Carleton Forehoe, &c.
This whole hundred is in the deanery of Hingham and archdeaconry of Norfolk.
Or Bikereston, was dedicated to St. Andrew, and was a parochial church, and had two rectors; Sir Will. de Mortimer was patron of one mediety, and Warine de Herford of the other; each rector had eleven acres glebe; the whole was valued at five marks, but not taxed; it paid procurations 3s. synodals 6s. Peter-pence, 8d.; at the revision in 1633, it is said to be a rectory or free chapel, but the chapel is profaned, the parishioners go to Barnham-Broom, to which rectory this was consolidated, Febr. 11, 1680.; it was valued in the King's Books at 2l. 6s. 8d. and pays 4s. 8d. tenths, and being valued with BurnhamBroom, it is undischarged.
Rectors of Herford's Mediety
- 1307, 3 non. Maij, Adam de Herford, to Herford's mediety. John de Herford.
- 1313, 12 cal. Oct. Nic. de Blonorton of Swanton. Ditto.
- 1330, prid. non. Nov. Roger de Dingeley. Thomas de Hereford.
- 1335, 6 kal. Nov. John, son of Will. Payn of Swanton. Ditto.
- 1347, 15 April, William Bishop of Norwich consolidated the two medieties.
Rectors Of Mortimer's Mediety
- 1295, Richard de Helmingham. Will. de Mortimer.
- 1314, 3 kal. July, John de Bernham. Sir Const. de Mortimer, Knt.
- 1334, id. Oct. Rob. Parker of Atleburgh. Ditto.
- 1361, 11 Sept. John Vincent. Will. de Bergh, &c.
- 1392, 12 March, John Kemp of Hingham. Lady Margery de Mortimer.
- 1399, 11 Dec. Ric. Atker of Depeham. Constantine Mortimer, Esq.
- 1405, 9 March, John Schepy. Lapse.
- 1411, 11 July, Hugh Lessey. Lapse.
- 1414, 2 Oct. Will. Evenwode. Constantine Mortimer, Esq.
- 1424, 30 May, Will. Hall. Lapse. Change with Hattleport, Lincoln diocese. Robert Mortimer, Esq.
- 1424, 6 July, Will. Hampton. Ditto.
- 1429, 30 April, Tho. Smith. O. Robert Mortimer, Esq. and Sibill his wife.
- 1435, 30 May, John Messenger. R. Ditto.
- 1438, 8 Jan. John Dalton. O. Ditto.
- 1439, 23 Oct. Will. Hardgrey. O. Ditto.
- 1447, 1 Aug. Tho. Lynes. Ditto.
- 1468, 11 Jan. John Mesand. Sir Rob. Wingfield, Knt. and Anne his wife.
- 1472, 29 Jan. Mr. Hen. Costessy. O. Ditto.
- 1483, 13 Aug. Mr. John Bendys. O. Anne, relict of Sir Rob. Wingfield, Knt.
- 1509, 10 May, Mr. Tho. Fincham. O. Lapse.
- 1518, 9 July, John Purpet, master of Rushworth college. David Selly.
- 1538, 20 Nov. Will. Lupton. O. Sir Robert Wingfield's assignee.
- 1545, 27 June, Will. Morison. O. Sir Edw. Chamberlain, Knt.
- 1550, 17 Sept. Nic. Corker. Geo. Chamberlain, Esq. Deprived.
- 1554, 2 March, Andrew Deane. Ditto.
- John Corker. O.
- 1585, 10 Nov. Will. Thorowgood. O. Edw. Chamberlain, Gent. He had Grimston; the church had been down many ages.
- 1625, 11 Oct. Peter Weemyse. John Thorowgood, Gent.
- 1626, 28 Aug. Edw. Weld. Tho. Weld, Gent.
- 1645, 4 March, James Duport. Edw. Chamberlain, Esq.
- Nic. Ganning. O. He had Bernham-Broome.
- 1680, 11 Febr. Sam. Ganning. Tho. Lord Crew. O. Consolidated to Bernham-Broome.
- 1708, 22 July, Herbert Davies. Arthur Earl of Torrington. He was admitted to it as consolidated or annexed to Barnham-Broom.
- 1729, 31 March, James Champion, A. M. was instituted to it single, at Sir John Woodhouse's presentation, and held it by union only, with Barnham-Broome. O.
- 1731, 27 March, The Rev. Mr. John Breese, A. M. at Champion's death; he is now rector, and holds it united to Hingham. Sir John Woodhouse, Bart. is the present  patron.
The Church is ruinated, and it hath been a sinecure for some time; it is now esteemed as an hamlet to Bernham-Broome. It used to pay 9s. 10d. to the tenths; it stood by the river's side, and was very small; it payed 1s. synodals, but no procurations. The Prior of Wymondham's temporals were taxed at 1s. 3d.
This town takes its name from its situation, it signifying the town by the kerr or carr, and had its original since the Conqueror's survey, it being then included in Bernham, and was owned by the Earl Warren, who granted a moiety of it to the family of the Hoos to be held at a quarter of a fee; John de Hoo was lord, and after him Samson de Hoo, who conveyed it to the Mortimers; the other moiety was in the Herfords; John de Herford was lord in 1307, and Tho. de Hereford or Herford in 1335, and each had a moiety of the advowson, till the moieties were joined about 1346, in the Mortimers, and then they were consolidated, and the manors united, and from this time it passed with Atleburgh, and was after enjoyed by John de Herlyng and Cecily his wife, the daughter and coheir, and continued till the extinction of that family in Anne, daughter of Sir Rob. Herling, whose husbands were lords here in her right, and held it of CastleAcre castle; and afterwards it went to the Chamberlains, and passed with Bernham-Broome, with which it is still joined, Sir John Woodhouse, Bart. being now lord and patron.
Its two churches are consolidated, and the church of Bickerston, or Bixton, which was dedicated to St. Andrew, was consolidated to them Ao. 1680.
The Church of St. Peter and Paul belonged to Will de Mortimer; the rector had a house and 30 acres of land; both the churches together were taxed at 20 marks, paid synodals and procurations 13d. Peter-pence 13d. the carvage, with the chapel of Ryskes, 4d. ob.
The Church of St. Michael stood in the same yard; its foundation may be seen on the north side of the present church; at Domesday making, it was in William de Mortimer's patronage; the rector had a house and 30 acres of ground, paid 3s. procurations 2s. synodals, and carvage with Bernham St. Peter as above, so that I am apt to think that this was Rysk's parochial chapel, and being in one patron, was now consolidated, and became a chapel only to St. Peter; it paid 13d. Peter-pence.
There were the gilds of our Lady and St. Peter here; and in 1440, a new bell was added.
- 1329, 23 May, Ralf Bacon; change with Thurston. Sir Constantine Mortimer.
- 1333, 10 kal. Nov. William de Wyclewood to Bernham with Ryske's chapel. Ditto.
- 1347, 30 April, George Bacoun. Ditto.
- 1349, 16 Aug. Tho. Strange. Ditto.
- 1352, 11 Nov. Walter de Baketon; change with Bunwell. Ditto.
- 1355, 26 Nov. Hugh Bandon. 1376, buried in St. Mary's chapel Ditto.
- 1376, 15 Feb. Stephen Gilbert of Holt. Sir Rob. de Mortimer, Knt.
- 1386, 27 March, Tho. Selde. Ditto.
- 1393, 30 Jan. John Warbold. Margery, relict of Sir Rob. de Mortimer.
- 1429, 14 Oct. John Hecham. Rob. Mortimer, Esq. and Sibill his wife. (Episcopus Gradensis.)
- 1441, 14 Oct. Mr. Rob. Popy, in Dec. Bac. He was buried in the quire of the friars minors at Norwich, in 1453. He changed this for Belagh. Ditto.
- 1449, 6 May, Rob. Ryngman; resigned Belagh. Ditto.
- 1453, 2 April, Nicholas Medewe. Ditto.
- 1467, 12 Aug Rich. Toke. Sir Rob. Wingfield, Knt. in right of Anne Mortimer, his wife. O.
- 1493, 9 May, John Hamelyn. John Lord Scroop, and Anne Wingfield, alias Mortimer, his wife. He was buried in the chancel in 1516, and gave 40 marks to lead it.
- 1516, 12 July, Rob. Hubbard. Edward Chamberlain, Esq. O.
- 1560, 17 Aug. Rich. Chamberlain. George Chamberlain, Gent. O.
- 1567, 5 Oct. Edw. Pagrave. Edward Chamberlain, Gent. 143 communicants here.
- 1623, 13 Jan. John Legat. Henry Lambe, Esq.
- Nicholas Ganning. O.
- 1647, John Carter.
- 1680, 11 Feb. Samuel Ganning, to Bernham-Broom and Bixton annexed. Thomas Lord Crew. O.
- 1708, 22 July, Herbert Davies. Arthur Earl of Torrington.
- 1729, 31 March, James Champion, A. M. on Davies's death. Sir John Woodhouse, Bart. instituted to Bixton the same time, and held them by union. O.
- 1730, the Rev. Mr. Will. Gordon, clerk, the present  rector. Sir John Woodhouse, Bart, the present patron.
This rectory stands thus in the King's Books.
12l. 8s. 1d. ob. Bernham-Broom rectory cum. 2l. 6s. 8d. Bixton R. ll. 4s. 9d. ob. q. tenths. 0l. 4s. 8d. tenths.
It pays 3s. synodals, the temporals of the Prior of Wymondham were taxed at 3s. and those of the Prior of St. Faith's at 12d. and it paid 2l. to the tenths.
In 1467, Edm. Brightyeve (or Britiff) of Bernham-Broom was buried in St. Peter's there, in the chancel. John was his son and heir.
Orate pro Anima Edmundi Bryghteve Generosi qui obiit rivo die Januarii Mcccclrvii, cuius anime propicietur Deus.
Orate pro Anima Margarete Bryghtyebe, que obiit iii o Maii Ao mo cccoirrriiio
It is now lost.
In 1497, John Brightyeve, his son, was buried in this church, Elizabeth his wife, Robert his son; Agnes and Alice, his daughters, survived him; he gave Hawteynes manor here to his wife, and Sotherton manor in Suffolk to his daughter Agnes, and Sir Henry Heydon was his supervisor.
In 1503, John Dorant of Bernham-Broom, Gent. whose wife Elyn survived him, was buried in the church. Elyn Dorant, widow, was buried by her husband in 1514, and settled all her lands and tenements in Barnham-Broom, and Bixton, on the gilds of our Lady and St. Peter in Barnham-Broom, on condition the brothers and sisters keep a solemn dirige and mass of requiem every Lady day in Barnham church, for her and her husband's souls, and lay a grave-stone of 26s. 8d. with an image and her arms thereon.
On a brass,
Orate pro Anima Johis Durant et Alicie Ucois sue que qui Oem Alicia obiit iidooie Mensis Decembris Anno Orri: Mccccccib cuius anime propicietur Deus
the arms are imperfect.
Hic iacet dominus Johannes Mamelyne Rector dum virit istius Ecclesie, qui obiit die Maii Anno Dni: Mcccccrvi.
On the north side of the chancel, under the wall, is a very large marble, but no inscription.
In the chancel,
Elizabeth late Wife of Nicholas Carr, of St. Gregory's Parish in Norwich Esq; buried 31 Oct: 1666.
Nicholas Carr Esq; buried 12 April 1675, Ao Ætatis 81.
Carr, arg. on a chevron sab. three estoils gul. between three griffins heads erased or.
The church stands on a hill; it hath only one isle and chancel, both which are leaded, and there are five bells.
When the Conqueror first gave this town to the Earl Warren, there were two carucates of land held by 47 freemen, and it was worth 5l. per annum, but at the survey, they were increased to 57 men, and their rents and services to nine pounds.
The soke belonged to the King's manor of Wymondham, and the town was three quarters of a mile long, and half a mile broad, and paid 8s. 5d. to the King's tax.
The manor was held of Castle-Acre castle, and came to the Mortimers, and passed with their manor of Atleburgh, as you may see in vol. i. p. 506, till Sir Rob. Mortimer of Atleburgh gave it to his second son, Const. Mortimer, as you may see in vol. i. p. 509, and it came after to Margery, daughter and coheir of Sir Tho. Mortimer, eldest brother to Constantine, who carried it to Sir John Fitz-Ralf, her husband, after the death of Anne, daughter and heiress of Sir Robert Herling, who had her life in it, and her husbands were lords in her right, and so it parted from Atleburgh, and passed in the Fitz-Ralfs with Little-Elingham, as you may see at p. 288, till Elizabeth, one of the coheirs of that family, married to Sir Rob. Chamberlain of Gedding in Suffolk, and then it went in that family with Elingham aforesaid till that went to Sir Edward Chamberlain's third son, Leonard, and this to his second son, George Chamberlain of Bernham-Broom, who was lord in 1560; Edward, his son, in 1567, and Edward, his grandson, in 1612, who married Anne, daughter of Henry Lamb of Tostock in Suffolk, who left it to his son Edward, first married to Mary, daughter of Tho. Weld of Wimondham, and after to Elizabeth, daughter of Henry Clifton of Toftres, who was succeeded by Edward Chamberlain, his son, of Lincoln's-Inn, who married a Sidley, and was 22 years old in 1651. He left Edward Chamberlain of Yarmouth, who had a place in the custom-house there, but was never lord here, the estate being sold by his father to Sir Tho. Woodhouse of Kimberley, and Sir John Woodhouse, Bart. is now lord and patron.
Hauteyn's, now called Hawkins's Manor
This manor was in two parts, Godwin Halden had one, which was worth 20s. and Starcolf another, worth 10s.; they were soon joined, and came to the family sirnamed De Bernham, and was always held of the Earl of Gloucester and Hereford.
Will. de Bernham had it about Richard the First's time, and after him Walter de Bernham, who held the same two fees of the honour of Gloucester, in Oxnedes, Heylesden, Bernham, Skeyton, and Sunderland in Haringby, that William his predecessor formerly held, they being then valued at 10l. per annum. In 1250, Emma, wife of David de-Bernham, had lands here, and in 1264, Will. de Bernham had a charter for free-warren here, and in Skeyton and Anttingham, and the latter end of Henry the Third's reign, Margaret Hauteyn held part of it for life, of Walter de Bernham, who was lord in 1316; and in 1345, Hamon de Mikelefeld and his partners held that part which Margaret Hauteyn formerly had.
In 1372, Alex. Straunge of Bernham Ryskes granted to Mr. Will. de Blithe Archdeacon of Norfolk, Thomas parson of Hardyngham, Hugh parson of Bernham with Riskys, Mr. Will. de Swynflet Archdeacon of Norwich, his manor called Hauteyn's Hall in Bernham and Rysks; Sir Rob. Mortimer, Sir Roger de Wylasham, Knights, and others, being witnesses; the original remains among the evidences of the city of Norwich, and hath a seal appendant thereto, which is a shield parted per pale indented, on the dexter side three martlets and this circumscription, . They seem to be trustees to Will. Hauteyn, for this year it is said the manor was in two parts, and was lately held of Humphry de Bohun Earl of Hereford and Essex, by Walter de Bernham and Will. Hauteyn.
In 1394, Will. Gambon and Cecily his wife held 40 acres of land and 30s. rent in Bernham, Brandon, and Runhale, and Richard was their son and heir.
In 1401, John Walkeden and his tenants held it of the Countess of Herford, and not long after it belonged to the
Bryghtyeves or Britiffs, an ancient family in this town; in 1467, Edm. Bryghteve was lord, and was buried here, as was John his son in 1497, who left the manor to Elizabeth his wife, after the decease of Agnes Bryghteve, his mother, and after his wife's death, to Robert, his son and heir, and it was found that this John Britiffe held it of the dutchy of Lancaster, as of the honour of Herford, by knight's service; how long it continued in this family I do not find, but in 1597
The whole site of the manor of Hawkins alias Britives in BarnhamBroome, was leased to Edw. Pye by the Corporation of the city of Norwich, who are the present  lords.
This town is distinguished from Bernham in Suffolk, &c. in all old evidences, by the name of Bernham Ryskys, that hamlet and church thereto belonging being united to it; it hath lately been always called Barnham-Broom, but on what account I know not, for I do not find any of the family of that name ever concerned here.
This church was dedicated to St. Michael, and was first valued at five, afterwards at six marks; the procurations were 6s. 8d. synodals 1s. 11d. Peter-pence 4d. carvage 6s. ob.; the rector had a house and 40 acres of land, and Rob. de Leyham was patron; it was afterwards annexed by Richard Bishop of Norwich to the college of St. Mary in the fields in Norwich.
- 1304, Gilbert de Wendene. Sir Richard de Brampton, Knt.
- 1335, John Boteler of Bulmere. R. Lady Hawise de Wysham.
- 1338, John de Taleworth. Ditto.
- 1349, Hugh Skoner. Ditto. Change with the vicarage of Neketon. R
- 1352, John Douchirch. Ditto.
- 1354, Thomas de Penreth. Ditto.
- 1364, John Mey. Rob. de Bumpstede, of Norwich. Change with Brynton.
- 1365, Richard, son of John de Kimburle. Ditto. Change with Colton.
- 1366, Stephen Gilbert of Holt. Ditto. Change with Howe.
- 1376, Hugh Thede of Wortham. John de Corpesty, citizen of Norwich.
- 1578, Rob. Notykyn of Stodey. O. 1388.
- 1388, John Elys of Tivetshall. Sir William Elmham, Knt.
- 1408, John Maymond of Hepworth. Sir John de Ingoldesthorp, Knt.
- 1408, Will. Browne. Elizabeth, relict of Sir Will. Elmham, Knt.
- 1413, Will. Novt. Change with Leyston, London diocese. William Sedman, citizen of Norwich.
- 1420, John Bennes of Ipswich. The Dean, and Canons of St. Mary in the Fields at Norwich, patrons, to their dissolution.
- 1427, Nicholas Wolmer, deprived.
- 1431, Rob. Downe. R.
- 1436, John atte Herne. R.
- 1437, Nicholas Heylet. O.
- 1460, John Smith. O.
- 1462, John Wilton. O. United for life to a chantry in St. Mary's college.
- 1464, Nicholas Riley, buried in the middle of the church, in 1470, before St. Michael's image, and founded a lamp to burn six years before that image, and was a benefactor to St. Andrew's gild at Colney.
- 1471, John Neel.
- Henry Gawell. R.
- 1505, Henry Shelton. R.
- 1508, Will. Richers, vicar also of Bawburgh, where he is buried.
- 1520, Sir Anthony Hogeson, the last presented by the convent; Nicholas Carr, LL. D. being dean.
- 1588, Tho. Igmethorp. The Queen, by lapse.
- 1597, John Sadlow, licensed preacher. The Queen.
- 1605, Andrew Clark. The King, by lapse.
- 1612, Will. Rawley. The Chancellor, and Scholars of the University of Cambridge, by Act of Parliament, (Yaxley, the patron, I suppose, being a papist.) He was S. T. P, and rector in 1636.
The Rev. Mr. Lynne Smear is now  curate, at the nomination of the Yallops, who had it of the Yaxleys.
This church is not mentioned in the King's Books; it was a rectory in the dean and canons of the college of St. Mary in the Fields in Norwich, who presented to it till 1522, and then the college petitioned Richard Bishop of Norwich, setting forth, that the church was of their patronage, and that it was destitute of parishioners, and therefore might more properly be made a chapel rather than remain a rectory with cure of souls, there being no inhabitants in the town, but the college servants, who tilled their lands, and the profits being so small, that they would not maintain a rector, they hoped that the Bishop would consolidate it to the college, the revenues of which were so much decreased, that they would scarce maintain the dean and canons there; upon which the Bishop considering the college was of his patronage, did consolidate to the said college for ever, the rectory, with all its profits, &c. on condition they kept up the church, and performed service there on Sundays and saints days, by a chaplain, to be paid by them for so doing; and that henceforth it should be reputed a church or chapel, and should be kept in decent repair at their expense: the Bishop reserved all episcopal jurisdiction over it, and peculiar power to sequester all the profits, if they should neglect to repair the church at any time, or find a serving chaplain there; and also at the removal of every dean of the college, the succeeding dean was to pay 4l. to the Bishop for the time being, in lieu of the tenths and first fruits of this church; (which is the reason it is not in the King's Books;) the consolidation bears date at the Bishop's manor of Hoxne, Jan. 8, 1522, but the college never enjoyed it, for Sir Anth. Hogeson, who was rector at the consolidation, survived the college's dissolution, and therefore the Crown presented to it as a lapsed rectory, and the university as a rectory in the hands of a Papist; but after the death of Rawley, Henry Yaxley, lord here, made it appear it was consolidated as aforesaid to the college, and came with that, at the Dissolution, to the King, who granted the manor and rectory, as an impropriation, to Miles Spencer, last dean of the college, and chancellour of the diocese; he died single, and it came to the Yaxleys; in 1605, it was returned to be a free chapel, that paid no synodals nor procurations, and therefore is exempt from archidiaconal jurisdiction, but the King lately presented to it as a rectory, valued at 6 marks, in the archdeaconry of Norfolk and deanery of Hingham; during this time the church was neglected and laid in decay, without any service, it being esteemed as a sinecure, till Matthew Bishop of Norwich obtained a decree in Chancery, dated 23d Feb. 1635, against Henry Yaxley, Esq. lord here, by virtue of which the church was purged of all things in it; (it having been used as a sort of store-house;) the churchyard was fenced in, (being 28 rods round,) four windows were put into the church, and one into the steeple, a porch built, new doors made, the church paved, ceiled, whited, and reeded a font erected, and the pulpit and desk finished, at about 140l. charge; the profits of the whole living were sequestered to repair the church, and it was finished at Michaelmas, 1639; the priest's or chaplain's salary to be paid by the said Yaxley, and all others after him, that shall possess the tithes and glebes; all which was performed accordingly, and ever since it hath been served by a chaplain or parish-priest, as it is at this day, it being a donative in the lord of the manor.
The Church is very small, being only 15 yards long and 7 broad; it hath no isles nor steeple, save a small turret, in which hangs one bell: the altar is railed in, and in the east window are the arms of Yallop, Giles, and Spelman.
On a black marble in the chancel,
Yallop, gid. an orle between eight billets or, quartering.
Giles, per fess gul. and az. on a bend arg. between two lions heads erased, and as many croslets fitchee or, three roses gul. impaling Spelman.
Yallop's crest is a pheon or between two wings arg.
Here lyeth the Bodyes of Robert, Henry, and Dorothy Yallop, Children of Sir Robert Yallop of Bowthorp Knight, and Dorothy his Wife, which Children were born, and died in their Infancy, between the Years of our Lord 1660, and 1670.
On another stone, Yallop impales Spelman in a lozenge,
Here lyeth the Body of Dame Dorothy, the Widow of Sir Robert Yallop of Bowthorp in the County of Norfolk Knt. to whom she bore 4 Sons and one Daughter, she was the eldest Daughter of Clement Spelman of the County of Middlesex Esq; and one of the Barons of the Exchequer, a Lady no less adorned with the Endowments of Nature than of Virtue, and as the Former gave her the esteem of Men, so the latter qualified her for Heaven, for if the Mercifull shall obtain Mercy, she in whom Compassion, and Charity to the distressed, shined so bright, may justly be presumed to have met with a like Return from the Father of Mercies, in Hopes whereof she departed this Life the 15th Day of January, in the Year of our Lord 1719, 20, and of her Age 84.
On another stone, Yallop, and Giles per fess, impaling a fess between nine roundels.
Edward Yallop, Gent. of the Society and Company of Merchant-Tailors in the City of London, and next Brother to Sir Robert Yallop of Bowthorp, Knt. died at Bowthorpe aforesaid, the 29th Day of July 1676, leaving two Daughters, Mary and Elizabeth, and was here buried.
On an altar tomb in the churchyard,
Reliquiæ Roberti Yallop Militis, Loco, Jussu dum viveret suo, coram effosso, depositæ; Obijt VII° Die Mensis Maij Ao Domini. M. dccv. Ætat lxviii. Requiescat in Pace.
This town paid 36s. 8d. to the tenths, the temporals of the Abbot of Langele were taxed at 33s. 4d. ob. those of the Prior of St. Faith's at 3s.
In 1310, Thomas de Cokesfield gave six acres of land in Bowthorp, to the Abbot of Langley, in exchange for six acres in Erlam.
In 1324, William Bateman of Norwich, and Margaret his wife, settled on Will. Bateman, their son, a messuage and lands here.
The learned Sir Henry Spelman, in his Icenia, (fo. 157,) would have it take its name from Bout, i. e. Ambitus, and Thorp, Villula, but it seems rather to be Beau-Thorp, that is, the fine or pleasant village, its situation no ways answering the Knight's description.
It belonged to Hakeyne, a Saxon, in the Confessor's time, and was worth 40s.; and at the Conqueror's survey it belonged to that monarch, who committed it to the custody of Godric, who paid 6l. per annum, for it; it was only three furlongs long, and as much broad, and paid 6d. ob. gelt.
This town was granted to the Peverells, (who enfeoffed the Leyhams,) except the superiority of the town, and all that part which belonged to the manor of Cossey, and was held of the honour of Richmond, which having always passed with the manor of Cossey, and still continuing with it, I need only refer you thither, the lord of Cossey manor being superiour lord, great part being held of him; for in the year 1480, this town was found to be ancient demean, and being part of Cossey, the tenants and inhabitants were to enjoy the like privileges, and were not to be impanelled upon juries, &c.
In 1206, Sir Peter de Leyham was lord and patron; this family resided at Leyham in Suffolk, and had very considerable estates in both counties; he gave many lands here to the Abbot of Langele, who, jointly with Ric. Keyser, Laurence de Brakene, and others, paid 12s. 5d. as their part for two fees, towards the aid for marrying King Henry the Third's daughter.
Robert de Leyham succeded Peter, and was followed by
Reginald, his son and heir, who died in 1244, seized of the manor and patronage, as did Lettice his wife, in 1266, leaving
John de Leyham, his son and heir a minor, and in 1289, this John was found to hold Overbury Hall manor in Leyham in Suffolk, of the Earl-Marshal at one fee, and this manor of the honour of Hatfield Peverel, at two fees; he died seized in 1289, leaving these manors to
John, his son, then two years old; and in 1298, it was found that Sir Richard de Brampton, Knt. was his cousin and heir; he died the next year without issue, and
Brampton inherited; and in 1300, the said Richard and his under tenants, viz, the Abbot of Langele, Maud de Caston, Emma Kercille, John de Bawbergh, Ric. Keyser, and Joceline Goodhale, were possessed of the said fees; and in 1304, Sir Richard presented here; in 1305, he settled it on,
Thomas de Brampton, his son, and his heirs.
In 1310, Robert de Reydon of Reydon in Suffolk had a chartex for free-warren here, for a market, fair, and free-warren in Reydon, for free-warren in Wenham-Combusta, Hadley, Holeton, Stratford, Leyham, Hintlesham, Whersted, Threston, Wolfreston, Badingham, and Framlingham in Suffolk, Ramsey, and Wrabnese in Essex, and Fighelden and Aleton in Wiltshire. This Robert purchased it of Thomas de Brampton, who conveyed it to him, with the reversion of the third part, which Alice, widow of Sir Richard de Brampton, held in dower; and in 1314, the said Robert had the King's license to settle it on
John, his son, and Hawise his wife, who presented by the name of Hawise de Wysham in 1335; and in 1338, Richard, son of Thomas de Brampton, cousin and one of the heirs of John de Leyham, released his right to the said Hawise, Sir Andrew de Bures, and Alice his wife, and the heirs of Alice; and in 1359, Hawise, then widow of John de Wysham, held it of the inheritance of the said Alice.
In 1360, Sir Andrew de Bures died, Alice his wife survived, and Robert, their heir, was then 26 years old, but he dying without issue, the said Alice, jointly with her second husband, John, son of Sir John de Sutton, Knt. conveyed their manor and advowson in 1362, to
Robert de Bumpsted, citizen of Norwich, and Thomas his son, and their heirs, which Robert presented in 1364.
In 1376, John de Corpesty, citizen of Norwich, was lord and patron; and
In 1388, Sir William de Elmham, Knt. and Bartholomew de Ellys, his trustee; this Sir William was one of the Captains sent to the aid of the Duke of Britain, in 1379; he was lord of Ingaldesthorp and Frenge, in Norfolk, and Westhorp, &c. in Suffolk, which last manor he left with this solely to his wife, whom he had made executrix, with Sir John Ingoldesthorp, Knt. Sir William Burgate, Knt. &c. and having bought the marriage and custody of Sir John Boun, his kinsman, of the Earl of Arundel, he ordered 35 marks to be expended for the soul of Sir John Cursoun, Knt. who was prisoner with the Earl of Pembrook in Spain; Sir William died in 1403, and was buried in a chapel in the abbey of Bury; in 1419, Elizabeth his widow died at Westhorp in Suffolk, and was buried in the abbey by her husband. Sir John Ingoldesthorp presented in 1403, and she herself in 1408; she left a legacy to Dame Margaret Kerdystone, her mother, and the relations of Thomas Catterton, her first husband, and being possessed of this manor and advowson in fee by her husband's will, in the year 1409, she sold it to
William Sedman, citizen of Norwich, who presented in 1413, and soon after settled the manor, lands, and advowson, on
The Dean and Canons of the chapel of St. Mary in the Fields in the city of Norwich, commonly called, the Chapel in the Fields, in which house in continued to its dissolution,
And was then granted by King Henry VIII. in 1546, along with the site of that religious place, to
Miles Spencer, last Dean there, and his heirs, to be held by knight's service in capite, the said Dean having purchased most of the revenues of this college of the King; at his decease it came to the
Yaxleys, but how I cannot find; for in 1570, Margaret, daughter and heir of Robert Stokes of Yorkshire, widow of Richard Yaxley of Melles in Suffolk, held the manor and impropriate rectory, and at her death left them to
William Yaxley, Esq. her son, who had them in 1572.
In 1600, Henry Yaxley, Esq. settled it in trust on Charles Waldegrave; in 1635, this Henry was lord, and lived here; it continued in the family till they made it over to the
Browns of Colney; and about 1660,
Sir Robert Yallop, Knt. for his good service in recovering Mr. Yaxley's estate in Yorkshire, from his kinsman Brown of Colney, had this manor conveyed to him; he settled at Bowthorp Hall; this Sir Robert was grandson of Rowland Yallop of Rockland in Norfolk, whose son Robert married Joan, daughter of Edward Giles of Thorp by Norwich, by whom he had one daughter, Anne, married to Thomas Barret of Horstead, Gent. where she was buried, and several sons; Edward, his second, is buried here; Giles, another son, buried at Potter-Heigham, and Sir Robert, who married Dorothy, daughter of Clement Spelman of Gray's Inn, Baron of the Exchequer; Sir Robert died in 1705, and was buried here.
Charles Yallop, Esq. his only son, married Ellen, daughter and heiress of Sir Edw. Barkham of West-Acre Bart. whose son,
Edward Yallop, alias Spelman, Esq. is said to be lord, but one Mr. Nash a mortgagee is said to be in possession of the estate.
Commonly called Baber, is a little village at the east part of this hundred, famous for the birth of St. Walstan, whose life we have at large, among Capgrave's Legends, fo. 285.
St. Walstan the Confessor, says he, was born in Bawburgh, of a good family, his father's name being Benedict and his mother's Blida; at 12 years old, renouncing all his patrimony, he entered service at Taverham, and became so charitable, that he gave his own victuals to the poor, and even his shoes off his feet, to a woman that asked his charity; this being told his mistress, she immediately goes to him, with design of rebuking him for so doing, but upon her finding him loading his cart with bushes and thorns, barefooted, without any injury or pain, surprised at the miracle, she falls down before him, confesses her wicked intention in coming, and begged his pardon, which he presently granted. This being reported about, and his master seeing the many miracles he did, loved him much, and would have made him his heir, but he would accept of nothing, only the promise of the calf of a certain cow he named, when she calved, which being agreed, not long after, she had two bull calves, which he carefully brought up, not for coveteousness sake, but to fulfil God's will, an angel having commanded him so to do, which told him that they should conduct him to the place of his burial. After this, as he was mowing with his fellow labourers in a meadow, an angel appeared, and warned him of his death, notwithstanding which, he kept on mowing, till near the time, and then calling his master and fellows together, he told them his will, commending his soul to God, St. Mary, and all the Saints; he ordered them to place his body in a carriage, and yoke his two oxen to draw him, strictly commanding that no body should direct them where to go, but that they should go wherever God pleased; after this, falling prostrate, he earnestly beseeched God, that every labourer that had any infirmity in his own body, or any distemper among his cattle, if he came out of devotion and reverence to visit his body, and to ask remedy of God there, might obtain his desire and have his petitions granted; upon which there was a voice heard from heaven, which said, "O holy Walstan, that which you have asked is granted, come from your labour to rest;" and instantly he expired, in the very meadow where he was at work, and that moment (if we will credit the legend) a white dove was seen to come from his mouth and mount the sky. His fellow labourers took up his body, laid it in his cart, and yoked his oxen, which went directly to Costesseye wood, where this miracle happened, that as they passed a deep water in the wood, the wheels went upon the surface of it, as if it had been solid ground, and the report is, that to this day the traces of the wheels are seen on the surface; to this, another prodigy was added; when the oxen had drawn the body to the top of an exceeding high hill in the wood, they stopped a little, and presently, contrary, to the nature of the place, a spring issued, which still continues; going thence directly to Bawburgh, a little before they came to the place where the Saint rests, they stopped again, and immediately there issued a spring, (which to this day is called St. Walstan's Well, a little below the church,) famous it was for many virtues, especially for curing fevers and other distempers; afterwards going a little further, they made a full stop, and there they buried the holy-man's body, built a church over it, and dedicated it to his honour, and there God wrought divers miracles, for at the shrine or sepulchre of this Saint, not only paralyticks, demoniacks, the deaf and dumb, the blind and lame, those that were troubled with fevers, or had lost their genitals, were said to be made whole and entirely cured; but beasts also that had any illness were healed by this Saint; he is said to die in 1016, on the third of the calends of June. Many other trifling and as fabulous things as these are related of this Saint, in his Legend, all which, for brevity sake, I shall omit, and only take notice of Bale's short account, which he gives us from this Legend, in his own words:
"Saynte Walstane of Bawburgh iii. Miles from Norwych, was neyther Monke nor Prest, yet vomed he (they say) to lyve Chast without a Wyfe, and perfourmed that Promyse, by Fastynge of the Frydaye and good Sayntes Uygyls without any other Grace or Gyft gyven of God. He dyed in the Yeare of our Lord a M. and xvi. in the thyrde Calendes of June, and became after the maner of Priapus the God of their Feldes in Northfolke, and Gyde of their Naruestes. al Momers and Sythe folowers sekynge hym ones in the Yeare. Loke his Legende in the Cataloge of Johan Capgrave, Provyncyall of the Augustyne Fryeres, and ye shal finde there, that both Men and Beastes which had lost their Prevy Parts, had newe Members again restored to them, by this Walstane. Marke thys kynde of Myracles. for your Learnynge, I thynke Ye have seldome redde the lyke."
In ancient time, besides the vicar, there were six chantry priests serving in the church at St. Walstan's altar, which Saint was inshrined in the north chapel of this church, which was demolished on that account at the Reformation, the shrine being daily visited, not only by pilgrims from all parts of England, but numbers came from beyond the seas for that purpose; and while this place remained in such repute, the inhabitants in general, and the vicar and serving priests, grew exceeding rich, so that in 1309 they rebuilt the chancel, and adorned the church and chapel in the most handsome manner.
There was a hermit also placed in this parish, by the Bishop's appointment, who performed divine service in his own chapel (which was by his hermitage at Bawburgh bridge) to the pilgrims, and then attended them to the town, sprinkling them with hyssop and holy water.
But when pilgrimages ceased, and all such rites were abolished, the inhabitants came immediately to great poverty, and so continued till the church became so ruinous, that it was scarce fit for divine service, neither could they afterwards assemble in it, without hazard of their lives; and so it remained forsaken for some time.
At the revision in 1633, the church was repaired and tiled, there being about 300l. laid out on it, so that then there was scarce a handsomer church in the deanery.
It was a rectory valued at 10 marks, the church being dedicated to St. Mary and St. Walstan, and was given by Alan Viscount of Roan in Normandy, to the Abbot of Bon-Repos (de Bona Requie) there, and by the Abbot, in 1235, to the Prior and convent of Norwich, along with the mediety of the rectory of Barford; it was appropriated by Bishop Raleigh in 1240, whenever William le Poymur, who was then rector, voided it. It had a house and 17 acres of glebe, and the vicarage was valued at five marks and an half, but was not taxed; the vicar had a house and yard, but no other land; in 1633, the house was down, and the site belonged to the vicar; it contained a rood, and was called in the terrier about half an acre; it paid 6s. 6d. procurations, 20d. synodals, 9d. Peter-pence, 6d. ob. carvage. The Prior of the monks of Rumburgh in Suffolk had a portion of tithes here, valued at two marks, which they held by grant of the Abbot of St. Mary at York, to which they were a cell, and that abbey had it of the gift of the Earl of Britain, it being for two parts of the tithes of the demeans of that Earl in Bawburc: the Prior appropriated this rectory to the sacrist, who compounded with the Prior of Rumburgh, and agreed to pay him for ever yearly 43s. 4d. for them; and in 1528, the Abbey of York released to the Dean of Cardinal Woolsey's college in Ipswich, all their revenues belonging to their cell at Rumburgh in Bawburgh, &c.
- 1250, Sir Bartholomew de Norwich. The Prior of Norwich.
- 1278, Sir Barth. de Norwich again.
- 1315, prid. id. July, William of Eccles, by Bromholm.
- 1317, 17 kal. May, Nicholas de Bodenham.
- Peter de Welles, R.
- 1348, 8 Aug. Richard atte Grene.
- 1349, 10 July, Roger atte Stone of Barsham.
- Richard de Barsham. Change with Melton Constable.
- 1353, 27 Nov. John Mey. Ditto.
- 1394, 9 May, Charles Alleyn of Lammas. Change with Testerton.
- 1395, 18 Dec. John Mayor. Change with Wickhampton.
- 1397, 29 Mar. Tho. Verdon of Ibstoke.
- 1408, 3 Sep. Stephen Sherreve. Change with Langham.
- 1417, 27 Oct. Godfrey, son of Walter Mayster, of Boton. Ditto.
- 1419, 11 March, Robert de Bernak.
- 1434, 30 July, Thomas Esthagh, R.
- 1439, 4 July, Will. Gybbys of Runton.
- 1444, 22 April, Thomas Mastryocke, O.
- 1476, 13 Jan. Robert Butte.
- 1493, 23 June, Mr. Edward Rightwise, died, and was buried in the chancel, with this on a brass plate still remaining,
- Orate pro anima Edmundi Gyghtwys, S. T. P. Ecclestic Same ti Michaelis ad Placita in Norwico quondam Gectoris et Nuins Ecclesie Vicarii, qui obiit rriiio Junii Anno Domini MoCCCCo lrrrriiio. cuius anime propicietur Deus.
- 1493, 30 July, Mr. Thomas Tyerd, S. T. B. he lies buried in the chancel, with this,
- Orate pro anima Magistri Thome Tyard S. T. B. quondam Viearii istius Ecclesie qui obiit io Januarii MoCCCCCovo ruins anime propicietur Deus.
- 1506, 8 July, Mr. Robert Dam, LL. B. on Tyard's death.
Mr. Edmund Wethir. He resigned in
- 1518, to Master William Rechers, who is buried here with this inscription,
Orate pro anima Magistri Willi. Rechers quondam Vicarii istins Ecclesie qui obiit rro Jan: Mo. CCCCCorrrio.
After his death, nobody would accept it, and it laid till
- 1586, without institution, and then Daniel or Robert Howes took the broad seal, and was instituted vicar Jan. 13.
- 1609, 30 March, Richard Youngs, on Howes's death. Lapse.
- 1640, 17 March, George Sanders, on Youngs's death. The Dean and Chapter of Norwich. Ever since his time it hath been held by sequestration, as a curacy, the curates being nominated by the Dean and Chapter, who are impropriators of the rectory, and patrons of the vicarage.
- 1739, the Rev. Mr. Lynne Smear, is the present curate.
On a brass in the church,
Orate pro animabus Roberti Grote et Aguetis Urovis eius qui obiit Anno Domini Mo.CCCCCoiiiio
On Tyard's stone is this on a brass plate.
A fess embattled, in chief three martlets.
Immortalitatem hic præstolatur, quod mortale fuit, Phillipi Tenison, S. T. P. Archidiaconi Norfolciæ, Ecclesiarum de Hetherset et Foulsham Rectoris, de Insula Eliensi orlundi, Collegij Trinitatis in Academia Cant: quondam Alumni Regis, et Ecclesiæ Rebus afflictis ea quæ Pietatem ejus docuere constantiâ compassus, restitutus cecinit Nunc Dimittis. Et exauditus est. Jan. xv 1660, Æt. 48.
In 1528, Sir Thomas Wethyr, master of the charnel in Norwich, was buried in the cathedral, and gave his close in Baber to the vicar of Baber, and his successours, for a certayne, that is, that they should pray for his soul, and his friends' souls, every Sunday in the year, in the pulpit, and every Friday in the year remember him in his mass; and if any vicar neglects it, the alderman of the gild of our Lady and St. Walstone at Baber, and the brethren shall take the close to sustain the gild, giving 4d. to the curate, and offering 1d. on his yerday for dirige and mass for evermore. Sir Richard Wethyr, his kinsman, was rector of Baytone.
The steeple is round, and hath only two bells. The vicarage is valued at 13l. 17s. 6d. being sworn of the clear yearly value of 14l. 4s. 8d. and is called by mistake Banburgh, for Bauburgh. It is discharged of first fruits and tenths. The spirituals of the church of Bawburgh belonging to the Prior of Norwich, was taxed at 10 marks, the Prior's temporals at 6s. and the town paid 30s. tenths; it paid 6s. 8d. archdeacon's procurations, and 3s. 3q. synodals.
At the lower end of the church, on a broken brass plate,
pro anima Richardi Merchaunt (He lived in 1488)
In a north window, Delapole, and Segrave or Mowbray, quartered.
On a brass in the church,
Orate pro anima Roberti, Gylney, et Isabelle uroris eius, quo rum animabus propicietur De us Amen.
By the north door lies a stone for the wife of Henry Stoughton, who died 13 Feb. 1671.
In 1488, there was an extent of this rectory made, and entered in the sacrist's register, of Norwich priory, fo. 113, from which I learn, that the rectory was in the hands of the sacrist, and that the house abutted north on Bawburgh common, called Lokholme; he had also a tenement called Gybald's, abutting on the churchyard south, the rectory-house east, and on two ways leading to St. Walstan's well, west, and north. The meadows lying in Thorp are mentioned, and the lands of the hospital of St. John of Jerusalem of Carbrook, and the way leading from Thorp to Great Melton, and a place on the river called Le Crymgyll, and the land of the college of St. Mary's in the Fields, Baburgh common, called the Holme, and all the lands, meadows, and woods, belonging to the rectory, were 98 acres and half a rood.
The sacrist had also in the said town, divers lands by the common, called Occolde, and elsewhere, containing 91 acres and half a rood of arable land, and 10 acres and an half of wood.
It appears from the same register, (fol. 65,) that Eudo Abbot of the monastery called de Bona Requie, or Bon-Repos, gave to the prior and monks of the Holy Trinity of Norwich, the patronage of Bauburc, and the patronage of the mediety of Bereford or Barford, both which were given to Bon-Repos abbey, by Alan late Viscount of Rohan, who was lord of Costesseye, to which manor they belonged; this donation, though it has no date, was made in 1235, for Rob. de Bilney Archdeacon of Norfolk, and Rich. de Sipton Dean of Norwick were witnesses.
Roger le Clop of Baburc gave to God and the church of Babure, his piece of land between the churchyard and the house of Hubert, son of Henry de Baburc, with a meadow and turbary, or peice of land to dig turf on, to the church and rectors of Babure for ever.
It appears in the same register, (fol. 68,) that Katherine Countess of Brittain gave the monks of Norwich a rent of 4s. a year out of Baubure mill, for the souls of the ancestors of that family.
Beatrice, widow of John le Barber of Norwich, released to the church of St. Walstan at Baubure, and to Sir Jefferey, vicar there, a messuage, with the appurtenances in Bauburc, which Bartholomeu, formerly vicar, purchased of her husband, in the presence of Anselin de Bauburc, and others.
In 1278, it appears from the same register, (fol. 69,) that John de Fereby, Official of the Bishop of Norwich, and brother Hen. de Lakenham, then sacrist, on the behalf of the Prior and Convent, who were rectors impropriate, exchanged with Sir Bartholomew de Norwich, vicar here, for a piece of land which was assigned to build a vicarage-house upon, and settled the abovesaid house purchased of Barber, on the vicarage for ever.
Henry, son of Ralf de Thorp, heir of master Robert, son of Bartholomew de Torp, formerly rector of Stanford, released to the Prior his right in a messuage in Bawbure, next the land designed for the vicar's house, to which Jeffy, vicar here, and William Burc, rector of Horningtoft, were witnesses; this messuage was Barber's also, and was after made the vicarage.
The Prior held his revenues here of the honour of Richmond, at the third part of a fee, to which honour the whole town and advowson belonged at first, it being always a part of Costessey manor, as it now is, the lord of Costessey being lord here; at the survey it was a berwic to Costessey, being five furlongs long and four broad, and paid 6d. ob. to the geld. It belonged to Guert in the Confessor's time, as Costessey did, and we meet with it entered under Costessey manor, in Doms. fol. 62.
I cannot omit mentioning, that I find in Mr. Newcourt's Antiquities of London Diocese, vol. ii. p. 227, that one Richard Wright of this town went to Dunmow priory in Essex, and claimed the flitch of bacon which was to be given by the Prior, to all those who were married a year and a day, and never repented either sleeping or waking; the said Richard was sworn before John Cannon, then Prior, and the Convent, and many others, April 27, 1444, according to the custom, kneeling upon two hard pointed stones in the churchyard; the oath was this,
You shall swear by custom of confession, If ever you made nuptial transgression; Be you either married man or wife, If you have brawls, or contentious strife; Or otherwise, at bed or at board, Offended each other in deed or in word, Or since the parish-clerk said Amen, You wished yourselves unmarried again, Or in a twelvemonth and a day, Repented not in thought any way, But continued true in thought and desire, As when you joined hands in the quire; If to these conditions, without all fear, Of your own accord, you will freely swear, A whole gammon of bacon you shall receive, And bear it hence, with love and good leave; For this is our custom, at Dunmow well known, Though the pleasure be ours, the bacon's your own.
After the oath, the pilgrim for the bacon is taken upon men's shoulders, and carried first about the priory churchyard, and after through the town, all the convent and townsfolk, young and old, following with shouts and acclamations, with his bacon born before him.
I find three persons only upon record, who have fetched the gammon.
Or the East-Town, so called not in respect to its situation from Norwich, but from Hingham, the head town of its deanery, it being north-east of it, and in the most eastern part of Forehoe hundred.
In ancient writings it is called Estone by Honningham.
The Church is dedicated to St. Peter, who had his gild here, and the Blessed Virgin had a gild also kept to her honour, in her chapel at the east end of the north isle, at the west end of which, stands the tower, which is square, and hath three bells; the church, chancel, and north isle are leaded, and the south porch is tiled.
When Norwich Domesday was wrote, William, son of William de Herforth, was patron; the rector had a house and 60 acres glebe, it was valued at 10 marks, paid 6s. 8d. procurations, 2s. synodals, 13d. Peter-pence, and 10d. ob. carvage.
- 1310, Thomas de Depham was rector; he died at Norwich in 1317.
- 1317, 5 kal. May, Nicholas de Gosford. Petronel, relict of William de Herforth.
- 1349, 25 June, Will. de Gosford, shaveling. John Bateman of Honyngham.
- 1359, 13 April, Walter Urry of St. Osith's, priest. Simon de Babyngle, Ralf Urry, and John de Merston, clerks.
- 1364, 20 Dec. Rob. de Depedale, priest. Ditto.
- Walter Yngald, died in 1379, buried in the chapel in the Field.
- 1379, 5 Aug. Will. atte Fen, priest. The Dean, and Secular Canons of St. Mary in the Fields in Norwich, who got it appropriated to them.
- 1403, 12 April, Will. Reder was presented by them to the vicarage.
- 1403, 18 Sept. Tho. Walsham. Change with Schaldeton in London diocese.
- 1412, 11 Feb. John Bertelet. Change with Bedingfield.
- 1414, 1 June, John Balle.
- 1414, 5 July, John Bertelet, again.
- 1417, 21 Feb. Thomas Burgh.
- 1420, 12 Feb. John Forth.
- 1438, 27 Jan. Rob. Primerose; he resigned.
- 1444, 27 June, Rich. Primerose; he resigned.
- 1452, 6 Oct. John Chapman.
- 1471, 4 Aug. Edmund Aggys was buried in the church in 1486.
- 1486, 8 March, Richard Vincent.
- 1511, 27 March, Richard Strete.
- 1515, 5 Oct. Tho. Kynsman. O.
- 1533, 5 Oct. Tho. Carter. The last presented by the Dean.
- 1555, Tho. Chevele.
- 1560, 17 July, George Mitchell. Miles Spencer, Esq. He died vicar.
- 1585, 2 Dec. George Mayhew. The assignee of William Yaxley, Esq.
- 1594, Tho. Heath, vicar.
- 1597, 24 Sept. Francis Downes. Thomas Vincent of Easton, Gent. He returned 64 communicants.
- 1616, 13 Feb. Will. Burgess, A. M. Will. Wotton and John Bateman.
- 1619, 23 Aug. John Reyner. John Bateman, Gawdy Brampton, &c.
- Christ. Stinnet.
- 1663, 1 March, Nicholas Barwick, on Stinnet's resignation. John Ringall of Easton, Gent.
- 1672, 21 May, John Paris, on Barwick's resignation. Ditto.
- 1681, 23 Dec. Barthol. Harwood, on Paris's resignation. Ditto.
- 1700, 17 Aug. Tho. Patteson, on Harwood's deprivation. Martin. Ringall, Gent.
- 1724, 28 May, The Rev. Mr. John Brand, on Patteson's cession; he is the present  vicar. Martin Ringall, Esq.
This Vicarage is valued in the King's Books at 7l. 11s. 10d. ob. but being sworn of the clear yearly value of 23l. 15s. 8d. it is discharged of first fruits and tenths.
The town paid 40s. to the old tenths.
The Abbot of Sawtre's temporals were valued at 2s.
The Abbot of Langele's at 5s. 5d.
The Abbot of St. Bennet of Holme's lands and rents at 4l. 0s. 6d.
In 1392, Sir Richard Cossyn of Easton, Knt. was buried in this chancel, by Dionise his wife; Roger Prior of Wangeford, and John Loveday, his son, were his executors.
The family of the Davys or Davies were anciently seated here, and had a good estate; in the mansion-house of which, Robert Davy lived, in 1450, he left John Davy, his son and heir, whose son Robert (as I take it) lies buried between the font and the church door, with this on a brass plate,
Orate pro Anima Roberti Dahn qui obiit riiio Die Septembris Ao Dni. mo ccco, Irrrbo et pro Anima Margerie Uroris sue, que obiit riio Die Deccembris A Dni: ccco. Irrrbii.
Thomas his son lies buried under a large stone, partly covered by the desk; on it is this inscription on a brass plate,
Orate pro Anima Thome Dabn qui obiit riioDie Octobris Ao christi mo. cccccorio Animc propicietur Dens.
By his will, dated in 1509, he bequeathed to the township of Eastone by Ringland, the house at " the briggs fote ther, called the GwyldHouse, and to the repair and maintenaunce of the same, a tenement lying by, within the yerde thereto belonging," it abuts on the high way west, a meadow east, a common path north, and the river south.
In 1532, Robert Davys, senr. died seized of three messuages and 110 acres of land, and 8s. rent in Eston, Marlingford, and Cossey, held of the manor of Cossey in soccage.
Here is an inscription for Sarah wife of Robert Davy of Horne, who died 25 Febr. 1683.
On another stone,
Davy, sab. a chevron ingrailed erm. between three annulets arg. impaled with a cross floree, a crescent for difference. Crest, a cannon on its carriage.
P. M. S.
Hic jacet Simon Davy Gen: Maritus Amans, Pater indulgens, Amicus verus, pauperibus miserecors, Liberalis, omnibus Hospitalis, vicinus benignus, vir probus, Christianus, pius; Heu! nil nisi longius defuit Vita; obijt vicesimo primo Die Aprilis Anoque Dni: 1696. Ætatis suæ 63.
On a stone by the altar,
Gironne of eight, on a chief three annulets, impaling a chevron erm. between three eagles displayed.
Here resteth in assured hopes of a joyfull Resurrection, the Body of Thomasin the dearly beloved Wife of William Rolf of Norwich Gent. youngest Daughter of John Ringall Gent. and Anne his Wife, who departed this Life Febr. 5 1694, in the 20th Year of her Age. Also Anne, the Daughter of the said William and Thomasin, who died the 21st of January 1694, aged 13 days.
There are stones in the chancel for,
Anne Wife of Philip Vincent Gent. Daughter of John Ringall Gent. who died 10 Sept. 1680,
- - - - - Sons of Will: - - - - Phillips of Norwich Gent. 1693, Ringall Phillips 1695. John Ringall sen. Gent. Apr. 1695, Æt. 75,
Johannes Ringall Clericus, Exuvias hic posuit. Martij 21° Anno Salutis Mdclxxxix°. Ætatis suæ 26°.
In the church is an old coffin stone, with a cross flory, and an imperfect circumscription,
And also the following inscriptions on other stones,
Hic depositæ sunt Mortalitatis Reliquiae, Johannis Gobbet Junioris, obijt 25° Decembris 1674, Annos Natus 16°.
Vivis, disce mori, nulli Mors pallida parcit, Nunc Juvenem rapuit, mox rapit illa senem. Hodie mihi, cras tibi.
Thamar Wife of James Springall of Norwich, Worsted-Weaver, eldest Daughter of Simon Drury of Easton Gent. died the last of May 1691, aged 30 years.
On a small mural monument on the north side of the nave,
Meeres or Meares, gul. a fess arg. between three waterbougets erm.
To the Memory of Ambrose Meares Esq. whose Piety to Heaven, peaceable Behaviour and Love to his Neighbours, and general Humanity and Charity to all Mankind, opened a Way for him to that Place, where only such Vertues can be rewarded, who dyed Dec. 14 1712, this Monument was erected by his loving Wife.
Under the monument is a stone over him with his arms, but no inscription.
In the north isle there are inscriptions for the following persons,
Samuel Norris, Oct. 5. 1721, Æt. 21.
Eliz. Wife of Edmund Hickling 7 Jul. 1697.
Thomas Hickling, 8 Jan. 1675, Æ. 87.
Edmund Hickling, 19 June 1685, Æt. 10.
This is a Truth we always find.
God takes the best and leaves the worst behind.
On a brass plate,
Orate pro Anima Jsabelle Albert, cuius Anime propicieture Deus, Amen.
In the east chancel window, gul. three chalices or, on each a wafer arg. the emblem of the priesthood.
In another window is the symbol of the five wounds.
In a west window was Ufford's coat, and party per pale az. and gul. a lion rampant or.
In a north window,
Delapole quarters arg. a lion rampant double quevee or, a chief gul. and the same coats quartered, impaling France and England.
In the north isle is a neat small mural monument for,
Philip Vincent, Esq. who died in 1721, and Elizabeth his Wife in 1728.
This village is to be observed for its producing no less a man than one of the Roman cardinals, Adam de Easton, who was descended from the family of the Eastons, (who lived here, and were considerable owners here and in Hunningham, as appears by a fine levied in Henry the Third's time, between John de Estone and Philip de Estone,) and was a Benedictine monk of Norwich, doctor of divinity, a man of great wisdom and learning, as is evident from his being created Cardinal of St. Cecilia, for his worth only, without any money or favour.
In the 5th year of King Richard II. A° 1382, he is called by that King, Cardinalis Norwicensis, or the Norwich Cardinal, and was then Dean of York, and had the King's letters to make attorneys to prosecute for him.
I am sensible, Godwin, in his discourse of the English Cardinals, saith he was a Herefordshire man, and born of mean parents, (see God. p. 698,) which is a great mistake; and Fuller also mentions him; but it is evident from the Records, that what I have said of him is fact.
The Manor of Easton
Was always appendant, and belonged to Cossey manor, and was held by divers socmen at the survey, being then three quarters of a mile long, and five furlongs broad, and paid 13d. ob. gelt.
In the appendix to the Register of the honour of Richmand, under the title of Earl Alan's lands belonging to Cossey manor, it is said that he had seven socmen in Bereford, Estun, and Hunincham, and that those three towns were farmed by those socmen; (who accounted yearly to the steward of Cossey for their farms;) these socmen were only tenants to the lords, and had no right in the lands they farmed, but were removed whenever their lords pleased; it contained the whole town and advowson, and went with the manor of Cossey, to which it belongs at this day, Sir George Jernegan of Cossey being now  lord of the manor and waste.
Wawces's, Vaux's, Herford's, or Ashe's Manor
In Easton, was part of this town, which was granted by the lord of Cossey manor, about Richard the First's time, with the advowson of the rectory of the church of Estone, to Brian le Ewer, who held it at the third part of the fourth part of a fee of the King in capite, as of Cossey manor.
It after belonged to the Vauxes, from whom it assumed its first name, and then to the Herefords or Herforths, whose name it still retains; William de Herforth was lord and patron, and Katerine his widow, in 1257, and so was their son William, whose widow, Petronil, presented in 1317; in 1349, it belonged to the Batemans, and passed backward and forward in trustees hands, till it was conveyed to the Dean and Canons of the college of St. Mary in the Fields in Norwich, except the manor-house, 80 acres of land, 6 acres of meadow, and other its demeans, in Dunston and Mannington, all which were conveyed to the same house in 1392, by Henry Lumnour and others, and were then held of Costessey manor.
The advowson being thus in the college, they soon got it appropriated, and endowed a vicarage, to which they presented to the Dissolution, their impropriate rectory and revenues here being taxed at 10 marks.
At the Dissolution, the manor of Vawce's Hall in Eston, the liberty of faldage, and the messuages, lands, &c. in Eston, Marlingford, Colton, Hunningham, Baburgh, Heigham and Smallburgh, that belonged to the college, were granted to Alexander Mather, who the same year conveyed them to Walter Vincent and his heirs, whose son, Thomas, had livery of them in 1562; and in 1569, it was returned that the said Thomas held this manor with the appurtenances, and 60 acres of land, 20 acres of meadow, 40 acres of pasture, 300 acres of furze, heath, and bruery, in the fields of Easton, Marlingford, Hunningham, and Baburgh of the Queen in capite.
But the rectory, at the Dissolution, was granted to Miles Spencer, with the advowson of the vicarage, and all the glebes and tithes, to be held in capite, and he presented in 1560; and in 1570, aliened it to Edmuud Bedingfield and Thomas Townsend; and in 1585, William Yaxley, Esq. had it; and in 1593, it was purchased by Thomas Vincent of Easton, Gent. and joined to his manor, with which it now continues.
This Thomas settled the manor, rectory, and advowson of the vicarage, on William Wotton and John Bateman, &c. as trustees for Anne his wife, who owned it in 1615; in 1663, John Ringal of Easton, Gent. had it, and left it to Martin Ringal, Gent. to whose heirs it now belongs.
The lodge on Easton Heath, commonly called Easton-Lodge, seems to be an ancient building, and exceeding strong; but I take it to be no more than designed for its present use, and was built so, to survey the heath, and resist the weather, which it stands much exposed to, it being formerly the lodge of the game-keeper of Cossey manor.
Crungethorp, or Crownthorp church is dedicated to St. James, and had a gild to his honour in it; it was valued at six marks and an half; the rector had a house and 18 acres of land, and paid 6s. 8d. procurations, ls. synodals, 6d. Peter-pence, and 3d. ob. carvage, and William de Crungethorp was patron.
There is now a house and 21 acres 1 rood of glebe, as the terrier says, and there was a constant light in the church before St. Mary's image.
- 1321, John North. Sir Will. de Crungethorp.
- William, son of Aleyn of Uggeshall. Will. de Hokham. Change with Reydon and Southwold chap.
- 1355, John Aylmer.
- 1366, John Grey of Denton, on Aylmer's resignation.
- 1375, Will. de Stonhall, son of John de Stalham. Change with North-Barsham.
- 1382, Rich. at Stone or Stonhall. Sibil atte Hawe. Change with North-Barsham.
- 1383, Thomas Hannock. Change with Burnham St. Albert. Sibil de Wicklewood, or Atte Haw de Wiclewood.
- 1395, Henry Brampton. Change with Stradsete. Tho. Halys of Crungethorp.
- 1399, John Irnyng. Change with Yoxford. Tho. Halys, Esq.
- 1404, Thomas at Cross of Wikelwood. James of Wiclewood, and William of Carleton-Fourhoe.
- 1432, William Balle. Feoffees of Alexander Mason, in right of his manor of Crungethorp.
- 1459, Thomas Enoks. John Windham, Esq.
- 1462, Brother Richard Hilberworth. O. Ditto.
- 1477, Robert Neker, died 1504.
- 1518, Edmund Reginold. Lapse.
- John Pownfret. O.
- 1548, John Hobard. Edmund Wyndham, Knt.
- 1560, Thomas Ebbes. Ditto.
- 1577, Matthew Robertson. Roger Windham, Esq. O.
- 1584, Walter Bullock. Lapse.
- 1585, Rob. Dickenson. Lapse.
- 1590, Christopher Lawcock. Roger Windham, Esq.
- 1604, Simon Wells. Jane Coningsby, widow.
- 1605, Christ. Lawcock; he returned 36 communicants. Ditto.
- 1631, Joseph Meen. Sir John Windham, Knt.
- 1657, Elisha Ket. John Windham, Esq.
- 1688, Will. Martinant. Will. Windham, Esq.
- 1689, Stephen Poole; he died 23d Nov. 1703. Catherine Windham, widow.
- 1704, Thomas Jephson. Ash Windham, Esq. patron.
- 1714, Isaac Sayer, A. M. Ditto.
- Edward Chamberlain. R. Ditto.
- 1730, 9 Oct. the Rev. Mr. Samuel Clarke, A. M. is the present  rector, and holds it united to Keteringham. Ditto.
The rectory is valued in the King's Books at 4l. 12s. 6d. and being sworn of the clear yearly value of 30l. 3s. 4d. it is discharged of first fruits and tenths, the temporals of the Prior of Norwich were taxed at 13d. those of the Prior of Wimondham, at 11d. ob. and the parish raised 1l. 4s. 4d. to every tenth.
The Church and chancel are of an equal height, and are thatched; there are no isles, the tower is square, and hath only one bell: the south chapel is in ruins, the south porch is thatched. I found nothing in this church, (save some old stones without inscriptions,) but
A black marble for Will. son of Will. and Margaret Engledow, who died 29 March, 1734, aged 18 Years.
The ancient seat of the Windhams was in this town, but I saw no remains of it.
The whole town, except 20 acres which belonged to the manor of Bowthorp, and another parcel which belonged to the manor of Cossey, was the estate of Stigand, of whom Colman held it at the Confessor's survey; at the Conquest it came to Ralf Beaufo, of whom, Richard (whose posterity assumed the name of Crongethorp) held it; it was then worth 30s. and was three furlongs long, and two broad, and paid 7d. q. gelt.
It continued in the Crownthorp family many ages; in 1218, Adam, son of Richard de Crungethorp, settled it on Alan de Crungethorp; in 1272, John de Cringlethorp or Crownthorp held it at half a fee, of the heirs of Giles de Wachesham, who held it of the manor of Hockering; in 1283, Sir William de Crungethorp was lord, and had weyf allowed him; in 1291, he brought an action against Sir Nicholas de Stuteville, lord of Kimberley, for right of commonage in Kimburley, for his tenements in Crungethorp, upon which Stuteville answered, that there could be no right of intercommonage, the two towns belonging to different baronies, Kimburle being held of the barony of Gurnay, and Crownthorp of the barony of Wormegey; but the issue of it I do not find.
In 1321, Sir William de Crungethorp was lord and patron, and continued so some time; in 1346, William de Crungethorp and Katherine his wife conveyed this advowson and an acre of land to Robert atte Hawe of Wicklewood, and Sibill his wife, and their heirs; in 1396, Thomas de Crungethorp was lord, and in 1401, Thomas de Halys or Hales held the manor and advowson, of the Lady Felbrigge, late wife of George Felbrigge, at two quarters of a fee, as of the manors of Hockering, which manor Thomas Lord Morley holds of the King, as parcel of the barony of Rhye. He left William Halys of Welles his son and heir, who purchased the advowson, the manor of Curson's, and the manor of Gelham's in this town, and having united them, in 1436, sold them, with the consent of Margaret his wife, to
John Windham of Crownthorp, Esq. and his heirs, and levied a fine accordingly; and soon after, William Rookwood and Elizabeth his wife released all their right in one of the manors, to the said John; and in 1475, by his will, he gave the whole to
John Windham, junior, his son, constituting Sir John Wingfield, Knt. and others, his trustees; and in 1466, upon John Windham's marriage with Margaret, daughter of Sir John Howard, afterwards Duke of Norfolk, it was settled on them and their issue, in which it hath ever since continued, it having passed along with the chief scat of the Windhams at Felbrigge, (under which place I shall treat of the family,) and at present remains with it,
Ash Windham of Felbrigge, Esq. being now  lord.
Was held at the eighth part of a fee, (being a small manor,) of the Crungethorps, who held it of Hockering, and was a part of the manor of Crownthorp, granted by the Crungethorps in Henry the Third's time, to John de Gelham. In 1345, Christian, widow of John, then married to Stephen Tostes, had it; in 1356, William de Newton, and Elizabeth his wife, one of the six daughters and coheirs of Thomas de Gelham of Dersingham, had a sixth part conveyed to them by William Fyn of Aylesham, and Margaret his wife, sister of Elizabeth; and Philip de Carleton, and his wife, conveyed their sixth part to the said William; and Katherine widow of Thomas de Gelham, released her sixth part, &c.
In 1404, James (atte Haghe) of Wiclewood, and William of Carleton Forehoe, were lords and patrons; and in 1432, Alexander Mason, who, with his feoffees, sold the advowson, Gelham-Hall manor, and Curson's manor, to John Windham, Esq. who united them to Crownthorp manor, from which they had been at first severed.
I find no record or evidences of Curson's manor, it being an exceeding small one; no doubt but it received its name from its owners, but how or when it fell into Gelham's I cannot say.
This town is in Hingham deanery, and at Walter's taxation was taxed as a rectory at 100s. but when Domesday was wrote, it was appropriated to the abbess and nuns at Marham, who had the rectoryhouse and 10 acres of land; the vicar had five acres of land, and a yearly pension of eight quarters of wheat from the abbess's grange. The rectory and vicarage were valued together at 8 marks, procurations were 6s. 8d. synodals 2s. 8d. Peter-pence 4d. and carvage 6d. ob.
The Church was dedicated to St. Mary, who had her gild kept in it; in 1461, the cross on the perke or rood-loft was made; and in 1429, the black-cross standing on the highway was repaired.
The advowson of this church of Carleton, and one acre of land, was given by the foundress, Isabell, widow of Hugh de Albany Earl of Arundel, who in 1249 founded the nunnery of Marham, for Cistertian or white nuns, and dedicated it to St. Mary the Virgin, St. Barbara, and St. Edmund the King and Confessor, for the souls of William late Earl Warren, her father, and Maud, her mother, daughter of William Marshall the elder, Earl of Pembrook, Hugh Earl of Arundel, and all her ancestors; and it was dedicated this year, on 27th Jan. by Richard de la Wiche Bishop of Chichester, and John Earl Warren, her brother: she purchased it of Richard de Dunham; and Roger de Skerning Bishop of Norwich appropriated it, and settled a vicar, whom the Bishops of Norwich were to nominate, and the Convent to present; the deed is dated at Thetford, 4 non. July, 1274; the acre laid on the north side of the churchyard, for which and the advowson the foundress paid 31 marks, and was to pay a pair of white gloves of 1d. price, every year, for all services.
- 1301, Rich. Thoke, collated by the Bishop, as all the vicars were, the nomination being in the Bishop, and presentation in the Abbess.
- 1303, Michael de Sandringham.
- 1325, John Alayn of South Elmham, priest, chaplain to the Bishop, in his own chapel in his palace.
- 1349, Will. Tornour, chaplain in that chapel.
- 1350, Adam Grant, priest, another chaplain there.
- 1381, John Prestone.
- 1423, Laurence Baldewar.
- 1429, Rich. Skot.
- 1437, the Abbess and Convent renounced their appropriation, and reinstated the rectory, and presented to it till their Dissolution.
- 1437, John Smith, deprived.
- 1449, Thomas Clerk.
- 1466, Rich. Garnon.
- 1490, John Hodgeson. O.
- 1502, Richard Warner.
- 1527, Anthony Bitchborn, O. He was the last presented by the Abbess.
- 1551, John Maydwell, deprived. John Hare, citizen of London.
- 1585, Rob. Dickenson. John Gedney, for this turn.
- 1590, John Shiminge, deprived. Philip Woodhouse, Esq.
- 1597, Owen Ducket. He returned 76 communicants, and had Kimberley. Ditto.
- 1611, Anthony Aggas. Sir Philip Woodhouse, Knt.
- 1627, Thomas Amyas, O. Thomas Woodhouse, Bart.
- 1701, James Champion. Sir John Woodhouse, Bart. He had Kimberley also.
- 1729, the Rev. Mr. Joseph Brett, A. M. on Champion's resignation. He is now  rector, and holds it united to Kimberley. Sir John Woodhouse, Bart. is the present patron.
This rectory was valued in the King's Books at 5l. 17s. 1d. and being sworn of the clear yearly value of 29l. 8d. it is discharged of first fruits and tenths. The town paid 2l. 8s. to each tenth.
In 1391, John, son of Richard Sayne of this town, gave 35 acres of land for ever, to pay the King's tenths, and if there be none laid, then to repair the bridge and church; this now  belongs to the town, and the revenues were some time since applied to build the present steeple, which is a low one, and hath only one bell; the church and chancel are both leaded, the church being 31 yards long and 9 wide.
There is a grave-stone by the altar, for Abigail wife of John Gooch, June 9, 1686.
Another for, Anne wife of Timothy Lodge, who changed her mortality for immortality, April 3, 1706.
Jarnegan Smith died June 28, 1691.
Memoriæ sacrum, sit hoc Monumentum, Saræ, Samuelis Lodge Uxoris dilectissimæ, quæ postquam Ætatis suæ Annum 27 attigisset, Carltoniæ 8° Die Junij, Anno nostræ Salutis a Christo 1705, Animam efflavit; et Filij unigeniti, Nomine Timothei, qui in ipso Exordio vitam conclusit, Julij Die tertio, Anno 1705, post Menses 14 natus, Quorum hic subter sita sunt Ossa. Maritus paterque, gravi Animi Dolore pressus, in Amoris Testimonium et Spem Resurrectionis fœlicis hoc, Tumulum posuit.
Henricus Filiolus, Thomæ Amyas et Dorotheæ Uxoris ejus, obijt Oct. 7, 1667.
Elizabethæ Filiola Thomæ Amyas &c. obijt 10°. Die Dec. 1656.
Hic requiescit Anna Phyllis, Uxor Benjamini Gooch, Ecclesiæ de Ashwell-Thorpe hoc in Agro Norfolciensi, Rectoris, Fœmina, dum vixit, Virtutibus non paucis adornata, maxime erga Deum pietate spectata, Conjugij æqui Liberis provida, pauperibus munifico, omnibus grata, Mors Diem clausit, Martij xxv°. Anno salutis M.dcci. Ætatis xxxii.
Mulier Reverentia Dei &c. Pro: 31. v. 30.
Infra hunc jacet corpus Benjamini Gooch Clerici, Rector erat de Ashwellthorpe, in Comitatu Norfolciæ, ob: 25 Martij 1728, Æt. 49.
On a brass plate in the church; the arms are imperfect;
Orate pro anima Edwardi Tyllys Senerosi, cuins anime pro procietur Deus amen.
On a window,
Orate pro bono Satu fecerunt fieri in medid fenestre pro Dierum corundem qui me et non ipsorum
At the Conquest, the manor of Cossey extended hither, and Alan Earl of Britain, lord thereof, had 3 socmen, who held 10 acres in this town, as you may see under Cossey.
There were two manors here at the survey,
Gelham's Manor, or Gelham Hall
At the survey, belonged to the abbey of St. Bennet in the Holme, and was appropriated to the monks table; it was given them by their founder, for they had it at the Confessor's survey, as we find it in Domesday, fol. 192.
This was afterwards granted by the abbey to the Gelhams, to be held by the service of 30s. a year, to be paid to the sacrist of that monastery; and after the Dissolution thereof, it was paid to the Bishop of Norwich.
In 1262, Thomas de Gelham settled it on John de Gelham, his son, on his marriage, reserving 10 marks per annum for life; in 1315, Christian de Gelham had it, and in Edward the Fourth's time, John de Gelham; and soon after, it belonged to John Tyllys of Norwich, who died in 1490; in 1521, Edward Tyllys, his son, died, and was buried in this church, and gave 10s. to our Lady's gild, and to Avice his wife 80 marks, and the manor-house for life; and his manors of Carlton Hall and Gelham's, he ordered to be sold to Tho. Woodhouse, Knt. and his wife to have his half part of Flynt's manor in Barford. It seems the two manors united before 1490, for then John Tyllys was lord of them both.
South Hall or Carleton Hall Manor
Belonged to Hakene at the Confessor's survey, and after that to Stigand, and was given by the Conqueror to Earl Ralf, after whose forfeiture it came into the King's hands again, and at the survey it was part of Kimberle manor, and was valued with it, and was farmed by Godric.
In Richard the First's time, Stephen le Mansel was lord; and in 1195, Joceline, son of Ralf, (de Carleton,) and Richard, son of Elbald de Carletune, were lords; in 1218, William, son of the said Richard and Julian Carletune; in 1242, William de Carleton was lord, and had the leet and sole jurisdiction here; and in 1256, Katherine, widow of Richard de Carleton; in 1274, John de Carleton was lord; and in 1315, Will. de Carleton; and afterwards it seems to belong to the Beauchamps; it after came to the Tyllyses, as before is observed, and according to Edw. Tylls's will, was sold to Sir Tho. Woodhouse, by Henry Drury and John Clere, Knt. Robert Newport and Margaret his wife, who, in 1548, confirmed it to Sir Roger Woodhouse, Knt. in whose family it still continues, Sir John Woodhouse of Kimberley, Bart. being now  lord and patron.
The Prior of Wimondham was taxed for his lands and rents in this town, at 18s. and had free-warren, and the assize of bread and ale of all his tenants here.
In 1546, Sir Nicholas Hare, Knt. and Robert Hare, had a grant of all the revenues of the abbey of Marham in Carleton, viz. the patronage, &c. and it was sold by the Hares to the Woodhouses.
In 1555, Forchoe-Hill in this town was the place where the justices of peace were appointed to meet for the hundreds of Forehoe, Mitford, and Humbleyerd, in case any commotion should happen. Of this place see p. 374.
Costesseye or Coteseia, that is the [Cote], or dwelling-place by the water's side, or in the Eye or island, and the situation of it in a great hole by the river's side confirms its etymology, so that Costessey is the Island of Cottages.
It is reckoned one of the largest manors in this county, extending itself into most of the adjacent villages, over which it hath the superiority, in as ample a manner as the lord of the hundred hath over the rest; it belonged to Guert in the Confessor's time, who had four carucates of land, a park for beasts, and the several towns and hamlets of Baber, Thorp, Bereford, Easton, Hunningham, Wramplingham, Brandon, Runhall, Carleton, Marlingford, and Tokethorp, or at least berewics or manors in these towns, belonged to it at the Conqueror's survey, and now it extends into these and several other villages.
After the Conquest, it fell to the share of Alan Earl of Richmond, sirnamed Rufus, or Fergaunt, by reason of his red hair, as Mr. Dugdale and others say; but it should seem that he was known by both these names, Rufus signifying Red, and Fergaunt, Iron-Glove; he was son of Eudo Earl of Britanny in France, and coming over with Duke William into England, he commanded the rear of his army in that memorable battle near Hastyngs, where he behaved so bravely, that he was immediately advanced to the Earldom of Richmond, which was before that the honour of Edwine Earl of Mercia; as soon as he had possession of the honour, he built a strong castle at his capital mansion of Gilling in Yorkshire, and named it Rich-Mount, for the better safeguard of himself and tenants, against the natives who were dispossessed of their own inheritances. It is plain he was a good man, for he was much valued and respected by the English, which could proceed from nothing but his humane treatment of them: he was the first beginner of the foundation (or rather restorer) of that great abbey of St. Mary at York; he married Constance one of the Conqueror's daughters, and dying without issue, was buried in the abbey of St. Edmund's-Bury, at the south door, before the altar of St. Nicholas.
This great man had no less than 166 lordships in Yorkshire, one in Dorsetshire, eight in Essex, two in Hantshire, 63 in Cambridgeshire and 10 burgages in Cambridge, 12 in Hertfordshire, seven in Nottinghamshire, 101 in Lincolnshire, and 81 in Norfolk, of all which, this was the largest, as appears from Domesday, fol. 62 and 63.
At Alan's death, Alan Niger, or Alan the Black, a great favourite of William Rufus, succeeded; he was brother of Alan the Red, and died also without issue, and was interred by his brother at Bury; he founded the cell at Rumburgh, and annexed it to St. Maries abbey at York, and
Stephen, his brother, inherited; he was a benefactor to Bury abbey, to which he gave some of his burgages in Cambridge, and dying in 1104, his body was buried in the monastery at Begar, and his heart in St. Maries at York, leaving
Alan, sirnamed the Savage, his son and heir; in 1142, standing firm to King Stephen, he manned Hotun castle in Yorkshire, but with no success; and dying in Brittany, was buried at Begar, leaving, by Bertha his wife, one of the heiresses of Conan le Gross Earl of High or Upper-Britany,
Conan Fitz-Alan, sirnamed Le-Petit, or The Little, his son and heir; he had the title of Duke of Brittany and Earl of Richmond. Upon the death of Jeffry Earl of Anjou, (father to King Henry II.) the city of Nantz in Brittany elected Jeffry, second son to the said Jeffry, to be their ruler; but he dying soon after, this Conan having then the rule of a great part of that province of Britanny, entered the city of Nantz, whereof Henry II. being informed, he forthwith seized his earldom, and so this manor came to the Crown, and Richard de Hadesco had a grant of part of it, worth 100s. for life, which he was to hold at the fourth part of a fee, and Henry de Turbevill obtained the tows of Cossey, Coleton and Baburc, of the King, for a certain term, paying 5l. per annum. This Earl died in 1171, and was buried at Begar, and is said to have recovered all his possessions before his death, and as Mr. Neve observes, gave this and Hunningham, with his daughter, in marriage to Alan Viscount of Rohan; but it is plain that Henry II. would not give him possession of it, for it was in King Richard's hands when he came to the Crown, and was farmed by Robert de Mortimer, who paid 35l. per annum for it; but in 1190, upon
Alan de Rohan's paying King Richard I. a hundred pounds, he had full possession of the manor and all its appurtenances; and in 1199, King John sent his writ to Jeffry Fitz Peter, commanding him to deliver Alan of Rohan all his lands in England, as Cossey, Swavesey, Fulbourne, &c. But the King reserved a parcel of this manor, which was formerly Jordan de Bosco's, which he granted to the said Robert de Mortimer and his heirs. At the death of Alan it escheated to the Crown, and
Roger de Molbrai, second son of Nigel de Albini, obtained a grant of King John, of the manors of Swaveseye, Fulbourne, and Cossey, and Adam de Galloway had a grant of 100 acres belonging to this manor, in Stokes and Cossey; in 1208, he granted to Roger de Turrovill great possessions in Cossey and Bauburc, to farm and take care of for him, and it is plain the whole was in the Crown, and was only farmed by Galloway, Turrovill, and others; for in 1216, King Henry III. immediately upon his accession sent a writ to the sheriff, telling him he had committed the custody of Costessey to,
Roger la Zouch, during pleasure only; and because he had not a seal yet made, therefore this patent was sealed with the seal of William Marshall Earl of Pembrook, who was with the King at Lincoln; and it appears also by the Patent Rolls, that the King had given Swaveseye and Fulbourne, formerly belonging to Alan Viscount of Rohan, in exchange for land in Brittany of his inheritance, descending to him from those Earls, whose heir he was; and in 1219, he obtained a grant of the land in Bauburc, which William de Mandevile Earl of Essex held during pleasure, as belonging to Cossey, and thus Cossey and its members belonged to the Crown, being held by many persons as farmers at the King's pleasure, till 1220, and then
Eleanor Queen of England, the King's mother, had it given her, in which year, Ric. de Bawburgh, and the other tenants of the Queen's manor and honour of Costessey complained of the bailiffs of Norwich, for taking toll and custom of them in the city, contrary to the privileges of the tenants of Cossey, who are to be free from all toll, for the corn growing on their own land, and for beasts of their own breeding, but for nothing else.
In 1241, the King by his especial charter, dated 1st May, gave to Peter de Subaudia or Savoy, uncle to Queen Eleanor, and his heirs for ever, the manor of Swafham, and the manor and soke of Costessey in Norfolk: and in 1256, his bailiffs of Costessey, were sued for substracting the suitors of the towns of East-Tudenham, Thuxton, Yaxham, and Westfeld, from the hundred court of the soke to Cossey, to which it was found they did not belong; this Peter, by his will in 1268, gave
Queen Alianore the Earldom of Richmond, and consequently this manor, which belonged to it, and soon after it was settled on
Prince Edward, the King's son, who settled it on his mother the Queen, who held it in 1274; and this inquisition says, that after the death of Alan de Rohan, the Bishop of Roan had a grant of it for life, and this year the bailiffs of the Cossey made the water called OldEe, the separate fishery, which before was common to all the tenants. In 1279, the Queen had an extent made, when the manor and soke was worth 92l. per annum, without the advowsons of Cossey, Bawburgh, Honingham, Ringland, and the mediety of Berford, which were all given in alms to divers religious houses. There was a manor-house and 100 acres of land, and 6 acres of meadow, and liberty of faldage in Honingham, which was also given in alms. In Hillary term, 18th Edward I. the bailiff of the Queen, widow of Henry III. impleaded several tenants of Cossey manor in Wramplingham, for cutting down wood in Wramplingham, as what they could not do, it being parcel of the manor of Cossey, and a member thereof, but they being found to be under the lord of Wramplingham, and not to belong to Cossey, could do it, and so justified themselves.
In 1291, John de Brittania Earl of Richmond petitioned the King to have Cossey, by reason of the grant and surrender of the Earldom of Richmond, made by King Henry III. to John, son of Peter de Savoy, late Duke of Richmond; and in 1292, Amadeus Earl of Savoy released all his right in it to the King, and in all his possessions in England. At Queen Eleanor's death, it came to the Crown; and in 1312, King Edward II. granted it to
Sir John de Claveringe for life, who, in 1312, sued William Fiz and seventeen others villeins of his manor of Cossey, for withdrawing themselves, their goods, and chattles out of his manor, and dwelling in other places, to his and the King's prejudice, upon which a writ was directed to force them to come and dwell in the manor, and bring all their goods with them, upon execution of which, six of them pretended to be freemen, and came to their trial, and pleaded that they came by their freedom in this manner, viz. by being citizens of the city of Norwich, having lived there, and paid scot and lot, for above thirty years, with the free citizens there; and two of them pleaded they were born in the walls of the city, and as such produced the Conqueror's charter, in which it was contained, that if any servants or villeins lived without claim of their lords, (i. e. without paying chevage, or a fine for license so to do,) for a year and a day, in any of the King's cities, walled towns, or in the camp, from that day they should be freemen, and their posterity for ever, upon which these six were declared freemen, and an appeal from the King's charter was not admitted; and two more pleaded and obtained their freedom, by proving that Edward I. granted their fathers houses and lands in Norwich, to hold of him and his heirs, according to the custom of the city, and that they were their fathers' heirs; but all the rest were forced to return and live in villeinage under their lord. In 1327, he had the hundreds of Loddon, and Claveringe, Holt, Depwade, Hensted, North and South-Erpingham, Blofield, and Humilyerd, in recompense for his barony of Workeworth, and his other lands, which he had settled on the King.
In 1329, the King granted it to
Sir Rob. de Ufford, and the heirs male of his body, for his loyal service against Roger Mortimer Earl of March, and for want of such, to return to the Crown: it was then worth 100l. per annum; and in 1334, the King granted him a charter for free-warren here, and in all the lands and manors belonging to and held of this manor; and in all his lands and manors in this county, viz. Cossey, Bawburg, Erlham, Bowthorp, Eastom Huningham, Colton, Ringland, Thorp, Weston, Yaxham, Runhale, Westfield, Brandon, Wramplingham, Barford, Welborn, Taverham, Felthorp, or Tolthorp, Burgh, by Alesham, Totington, Hickling, Ingham, Catfield, Stalham, and Sutton. He died in 43d Edward III. and was succeeded by
Will. de Ufford Earl of Suffolk, his son and heir, whose wife,
Isabell, held this manor at the fourth part of a fee, and let it to Michael de la Pole Earl of Suffolk, for her life, and in 1384,
The said Michael obtained a patent of the King, to hold it in fee to him and his heirs, but he being afterwards attainted, it was granted to
Edmund de Langley Duke of York, with Rising-Castle, Lawndichc, and South-Grenehoe hundreds, Hadeston Hall manor, Mileham, Beston by Mileham, &c. parcel of the possessions of Thomas Duke of Gloucester, who was attainted, which Duke had obtained a grant of it after the Earl of Suffolk's attainder, notwithstanding all which, at the death of Michael de la Pole Duke of Suffolk, which happened in his banishment at Paris, this manor came to
Isebell, his widow, who owned it in 1401; and after her death,
Michael de la Pole, being restored to his honour and estate, enjoyed the manor, and was lord here; he died in 1414, leaving it to
Katherine, his widow, who was daughter of Hugh Earl of Stafford, at whose death it went to
Will. de la Pole, her second son, then Earl of Suffolk, and was settled in 1434 on
Alice, his wife; Sir John de Shardelow, Knt. and others, being trustees; at her death,
John de la Pole Duke of Suffolk inherited, who settled it on Elizabeth, daughter of Richard Plantaginet Duke of York, and sister of King Edward IV.; he died in 1491, and was buried at Wingfield, and it went to
Edmund le la Pole Earl of Suffolk, who was beheaded for treason in 1513, upon which the manor came to the
Crown, but had been seized before, during his imprisonment in the Tower in 1510, and was then granted by patent to
Thomas Lord Howard and Anne his wife, and the heirs of her body, with Wingfield-Castle, Stockton, &c.; and in 1511, a fine was levied between King Henry VIII. and Katherine Courtenay Countess of Devonshire, one of the daughters and heirs of the late King Edward the Fourth, and Thomas Howard and Anne his wife, another of the daughters and heirs of that King, whereby the manors of Walsingham, Bircham, Olton, Bale, Gunthorp, and Sharington, in this county, were passed to the King, who granted to Thomas and Anne the castles and manors of Wyngfield, Sileham cum Vese's in Stradbrook, Frostendon and Cretyng, in Suffolk, and Stockton, Claxton, Helgeton, and Cossey in Norfolk. This Thomas, though he is only called Thomas Howard, Knt. was after Duke of Norfolk, and had issue, Thomas and Anne, who both died young, so that for want of issue of the body of the said Anne, the manor reverted to the crown at the Duke's death. The Dukes of Suffolk all along laid claim to this manor, but
Henry VIII. purchased it off, and was sole and indisputable lord here, and made a grant of it to the Lady Anne de Cleve, for a term, after which, it continued in the Crown, till Queen Mary granted it to
Sir Henry Jernegan, her Vice-Chamberlain, and Master of her Household, of which ancient family take the following account, which is very different from all the pedigrees which I have seen, but is certainly fact, as the records here quoted prove.
The tenants of this manor were privileged, as tenants in ancient demean, and were not to be impanelled on juries; but I do not find it excepted by any writ of that nature at present.
The ancient family of the Jernegans are seated here ever since the aforesaid grant, and are a younger branch of the Jernegans of Somerley-Town, in the island of Lothingland in Suffolk, but that eldest branch being extinct, this became the eldest surviving branch, and so continues.
Weaver, fo. 770, tells us this family hath been of exemplary note before the Conquest, and adds this account extracted out of the Jarnegans pedigree:
"Anno M. xxx. Canute King of Denmarke, and of England after his return from Rome, brought diverse captains and souldiers from Denmark, whereof the greatest part were christened here in England, and began to settle themselves here, of whom, Jernegan, or Jernengham, and Jenhingho, now Jennings, were of the most esteem with Canute, who gave unto the said Jerningham, certain Royalties, and at a Parliament held at Oxford, the said King Canute did give unto the said Jerningham, certaine mannors in Norfolke, and to Jennings, certain manors lying upon the sea side, near Horwich in Suffolke, in regard of their former services done to his father Swenus, King of Denmark."
That the above note may be in the pedigree of the family, I cannot contradict, nor yet the truth of it, though I must own, there are many things which seem to invalidate it; the pedigree as commonly received, I shall take no notice of, but give you one extracted from authentick records, as they now remain among Mr. Le Neve's Collections.
That Jernegan was anciently a Christian name, as the former note observes, is very true, as numerous records prove: in 1195, there was a fine levied of lands in Edricheston in Warwickshire, between Reginald de Claverdon and Gernegan his brother, and about this time, it was a common name in France, as we find from Lobmeau in his History of Britain, vol. i. p. 105, where Jernegon de Pontchasteau, and some others of the name, are mentioned, but none of these were of this family.
The first that I meet with of this family was called
1. Hugh, without any other addition, whose son was named
2. Jernegan, and was always called Jernegan Fitz-Hugh, or the son of Hugh; he is mentioned in the Castle-Acre Register, fo. 63. b. as a witness to a deed without date, by which Brian, son of Scolland, confirmed the church of Melsombi to the monks of Castle-Acre. He married Sibill, who, in 1183, paid 100l. of her gift into the Exchequer, after her husband's death; his son was called
3. Hugh, or Hubert, son of Jernegan, who gave a large sum of money to King Henry II. and paid it into the treasury in 1182; he was witness to a deed in 1195, by which divers lands were granted to Byland abbey in Yorkshire; he married Maud, daughter and coheir of Thorpine, son of Rob. de Watheby of Westmorland, he is mentioned by the name of Hubert de Jernegan, in the Black Book of the Exchequer, published by Mr. Herne at Oxford, 1728, vol. i. p. 301, as one of the Suffolk knights that held of the honour of Eye. In 1201, he paid King John 20l. fine, for three knights fees and an half, which laid in Yorkshire, and were held of the honour of Brittany, and died in 1203, and the King granted the wardship of all his large possessions, and the marriage of his wife and children, to Robert de Veteri Ponte, or Vipount, so that he married them without disparagement to their fortunes.
4. Hubert Jernegan of Horham in Suffolk, Knt. his son, succeeded, who had been a rebel against King John; but on the accession of Henry III. to the crown, submitted himself, and obtained his pardon; but it seems he had not recovered all his estates in 1219, for in that year, Gilbert de Gant gave to Robert Marmion, junior, the wardship of the land late Hugh Jernegan's, in Hundemaneby; and in 1240, Margery, late wife of Hubert, sued Hugh Jernegan, her son, for lands in Stonham-Jernegan in Suffolk, so that Hubert died in 1239.
5. Sir William Gernegan, son and heir of Hubert, married Julian, daughter and coheir of Gymingham of Burnham, and Hugh de Polsted married Hawise, the other coheir, and levied a fine of all the Gyminghams estate in Burnham, in the 10th of King John. He died young and without issue, and was succeeded by
6. Sir Hugh Jernegan, his youngest brother, Godfrey and Robert being dead, who in 1243 came to an agreement with his mother Margery, and settled on her, in lieu of the dower of Sir Hubert, her late husband, during her life, the capital messuage of the manor of Horham, with the park, windmill, and demean lands, and the services and rents of Horham manor, with housebate, heybote, and pannage; and in consideration of this settlement, Margery released all her right in dower, in two carucates of land, and a messuage in Stonham Jernegan in Suffolk, and in all his other estates in Norfolk and Suffolk. In 1244, he was witness to the deed of Henry Duke of Lovain, made to the monks of Eye; Elizabeth his wife is mentioned in the assize rolls. In 1249, he had lands in Hillington and Congham in Norfolk, and lived to be very old, for in 1269 he held of Roger, son of Peter Fitz-Oubourn or Osbern, divers lands in Stovene and Bugges, for which he did homage, to Roger, son of the said Peter, in the presence of Sir Walter de Redisham, Knt. Sir William, rector of Hillington, &c. he married for his second wife, Ela or Ellen, daughter and coheir of Sir Thomas de Ingaldesthorp, Knt. who survived him: after the death of his mother, he settled
7. Sir Walter Jernegan, his son, in the manor of Horham, upon his marriage with Isabell, daughter, and at length heir, of Sir Peter Fitz-Osbert or Osborn, of Somerley-Town in Suffolk, who, it seems, died before him, leaving
8. Sir Peter Jernegan, his son, who became heir to his father and grandfather, and also coheir to the Fitz-Osberts estate, in right of his mother, for that estate, on the death of Sir Peter Fitz-Osbert of Somerley-Town, his grandfather, went to Sir Roger Fitz-Osbert, her brother, who died without issue, leaving it to Catherine his wife for life, who died in 1220, and then the Fitz-Osberts estate came to Isabell, widow of Walter Jernegan, Sir Peter's mother, as sister of the said Roger Fitz-Osbert, and to John Noion, son and heir of Alice Fitz-Osbert, the other sister of the said Isabell; and on a division made, Somerleton was settled on Sir Peter Jernegan, son of the said Isabell, who came hither, leaving Horham, and Stonham Jernegan, and Somerleton became the capital seat of the Jernegan family; the Fitz-Osberts had the manors of Somerleton, Uggeshall, &c. in Suffolk, Hadeston, Witlingham, &c. in Norfolk. This Sir Peter was sub-escheator of Suffolk, Ao. 1283, held Stonham, and Horham of the honour of Eye in 1299; in 1334, he sold Uggeshall manor and advowson to Sir Edmund de Soterlee, Knt. and Witlingham and Hadeston, in 1342, he being then above 70 years old; and it appears from Eye Register, fo. 98, b. that he first married Alice, daughter of Hugh Germayn, and Basil his wife. The pedigree says he married a Herling for his second wife, which seems true by the quarterings of the Jernegans, as they were to be seen in Horham church Ao. 1663, being put up by Sir John Jernegan, who married Isabell, daughter and heiress of Sir Jervace Clifton:
5. Mortimer. These two are Herling's quarterings.
7. Kilvedon or Keldon.
And for his third wife, a Huntingfield. He was succeeded by
9. Sir John Jernegan, senior, his son and heir, who inherited the other moiety of the Fitz-Osberts estate, at the death of Sir John Noion, Knt. whose heir he was; he married Jane, daughter of Sir William de Kelvedon, who was jointly seized of all his manors of Somerleton, Wathe, Horham, &c. at the time of his death, which happened on the Thursday before the Feast of the Annunciation, in 1375.
10. In 1374, John Jernegan, junior, his son and heir, married Margaret, daughter of Sir Tho. Vise de Lou, Knt. and his father then settled the advowson of Stonham-Jernegan, and Horham, on them and their heirs.
11. Sir Thomas Jernegan, their son and heir, inherited, and in 1406, had a charter for free-warren in Somerleton, Flixton, Ilketishall, and Wathe, in Suffolk, and Hadeston, Bunwell, &c. in Norfolk; he married Joan, daughter of William Appleyard of Dunston in Norfolk, and had
12. John Jernegan, senior, Esq. who married Agnes, daughter of Sir John Darell of Kent, Knt. who died before him, and was buried in St. Mary's chapel, in the priory of St. Olaves, at Heringfleet in Suffolk, (now called St. Tooley's Bridge.) This John settled Horham on John Jernegan, junior, his son and heir, on his marriage with Isabell, daughter of Sir Jervace Clifton, in 1459; when he left Somerleton to his son, and went and settled at Cove by Beccles, where he lived in 1465; and in 1473 made his will, which was proved 9th Dec. 1474, by the name of John Jernegan, senior, of Little-Wirlingham in Suffolk, Esq. in which he ordered his body to be buried by his wife in the aforesaid chapel, where his progenitors were entombed; he gave Little-Wirlingham manor, which he lately purchased of William Cove, to his son Osbert, for life, and his manor of Wattle or Wad-Hall in North-Cove; and to John, his eldest son, the manors and advowsons of Somerleton, Stonham-Jernegan, Horham, and Bradwell, and the foundation (i. e. advowson) of the house of St. Olave, besides gifts to his three daughters that were nuns. At his death,
13. John Jernegan, Esq. his son, succeeded, and died in 1503, seized of the aforenamed manors and advowsons; leaving
14. Edward Jernegan, Esq. his son and heir, who was afterwards knighted; he had two wives; first Margaret, daughter of Sir Edmund Bedingfield of Oxboro in Norfolk, Knt. by whom he had Sir John Jernegan of Somerley-Town in Suffolk, Knt. who married Bridget, daughter of Sir Robert Drury of Halsted in Suffolk, Knt. from whom the Jernegans of Somerley-Town in Suffolk descended; and for his second wife, Mary, daughter of Richard Lord Scroop, Knt. of Bolton in Yorkshire, and coheir to Stephen, her brother, who survived him, and remarried to Sir William Kingston, Knight of the Garter, who had Sir Henry Jernegan of Huntingfield, Knt. the founder of the Cossey family; Sir Edward died Jan. 6th, 1515, seized of the manors of Horham, Newton, Corton, Stonham-Jernegan, Somerleton, Wathe, Lowestofft, East, West, North, and South Lete in Gorleston, Mutford, Askeby, &c. and is said to be buried in Somerleton chancel, by his wife.
15. Sir Henry Jernegan of Huntingfield in Suffolk, eldest son and heir of Sir Edward by his second wife, he was a favourite of Queen Mary, being the first that appeared openly for her, after the death of Edward VI. being with her at Kenninghall place or castle; and continued her trusty friend, for which services she made him Vice-Chamberlain, and Master of her Household; and in 1547, the said Queen, and King Philip her husband, gave him this manor of Cossey, with the whole park and deer therein, with all its members, rights, privileges, and appurtenances in Cossey, Erlham, Bowthorp, Easton, Colton, Merlingford, Baber, Eston, Honingham, Thorp, &c. in the said county, to be held by him and his heirs in capite, by knight's service: from which time it hath passed in a lineal descent, in this ancient family. He married Mary, daughter of Sir George Baynham, Knt. and died in 1571, leaving
The Lady Jernegan, his wife, the estate for life, who this year was found to be possessed of it; in 1572,
16. Henry Jernegan, Esq. their son and heir, was lord of Cossey, Veales, Sileham, Wingfield and Lowistoft manors in Suffolk; he married, first, Eleanor, daughter of William Lord Dacres of Gillesland, and after that, Frances, daughter of Sir John Jernegan of Somerleton, Knt. widow of Thomas Bedingfield, Esq.; in 1602, he had an act passed to sell certain lands in Norfolk and Suffolk, and died June 15, 1619, and was buried in St. Margaret's church, Westminster.
17. Henry Jernegan, Esq. his son, was created baronet 16th Oct. 1621; he married Eleanor, daughter of Thomas Throgmorton of Laughton in Warwickshire, Esq. and dying 5th Sept. 1646, was succeeded by
18. Sir Henry Jernegan of Cossey, Bart. his grandson, his father,
19. John Jernegan, Esq. dying in his grandfather's lifetime, who, in 1619, married a daughter of Francis Moor of Fawley, Bart.
This Sir Henry married Mary, daughter of Hall of High-Mcadow in Gloucestershire, Esq. who left
20. Sir Francis Jernegan of Cossey, Bart. who was lord in 1693; he married Anne, daughter of Sir Walter Blount, Bart. and sister of Sir Walter, by whom he had several children; both are buried here.
21. Sir John Jernegan, Bart. his eldest son, succeeded him, and married Margaret, daughter of Sir Henry Bedingfield of Oxboro, Bart. sister to the present Sir Henry Bedingfield, who is now  living; but at the death of Sir John, without issue, Cossey, &c. went to his brother,
22. Sir George Jernegan, Bart. the present  lord, who resides at his seat here.
The Church was dedicated in honour of the holy King Edmund, and had three gilds in it, one of St. Edmund, another of St. Mary, and the third of St. John Baptist, and a portion of tithes here was given by Alan, sirnamed the Black, Earl of Richmond, to the cell of monks, which he founded at Rumburgh in Suffolk, and with that cell was given by him to the abbey of St. Mary at York, which was always patrons of it, together with divers services, the whole being valued at six marks a year; in 1282, the Abbot and Convent of St. Mary at York made a perpetual composition, with the master and brethren of St. Giles's hospital at Norwich, for their portion here, which consisted of two parts of the tithes of the demean lands of the Earl of Britanny in Cossey, for which the master and hospital was to pay six marks a year to the Prior of the cell at Rumburgh, which was constantly paid till the dissolution of that cell by Cardinal Wolsey; and in 20th of Henry VIII. was granted to that cardinal to settle on one of his colleges either at Ipswich or Oxford.
The advowson of the church, with those of Huningham, Bawburgh, and the mediety of Berford, and 10l. per annum rent out of Cossey manor, were given by Alan de Rohan to the abbey of Bon-Repos, or De Bona Requie in Brittanny or Normandy, and it was confirmed by Henry III. in 1226; and soon after the Abbot of Bon-Repos leased the churchesand the advowsons to the Abbot of Sautre in Huntingdonshire, viz. Fulbourne, All-Saints, Fen-Draiton, Cossey, and Huningham, for ever, with all their revenues there, except the 10l. per annum out of Cossey manor, at 80l. per annum; and after this, the Abbot of Sawtree, for a pension of 5 marks a year, confirmed and granted the advowson to the master and brethren of St. Giles's hospital in Norwich, who got it appropriated to them before 1280, for it was returned to be held by that hospital appropriated to them, there being a house and 60 acres of land belonging to it worth 10 marks, but it was not taxed; the synodals were 2s. 2d. Peter-pence 18d. carvage 7d. ob. it was then newly appropriated, for the first and only vicar that I find was not instituted till
- 1304, 13 kal. Sept. and then Robert de Bereford was instituted into the vicarage, which was then to be assigned and ordained by the Bishop, at the presentation of the master and brethren of St. Giles's hospital in Norwich, who prevailed with the Bishop, who was patron of the hospital, to permit them to serve it by a chaplain removable at their pleasure, and so there was no vicarage assigned, and consequently no presentation afterwards.
I meet with the name of one rector only.
In 1213, William de Gray, the King's Chancellor, and afterwards Archbishop of York, was presented to it, Dec. 3, being presented to it by the King on account of the honour of Brittanny.
The 10l. rent that belonged to Bon-Repos abbey came to the Crown with the revenues of the aliens, and was granted with the manor to the Poles, and was always taxed at 10l. and so paid 20s. to every tenth.
The Prior of Rumburgh always paid the tenths of his portion that he had from St. Giles's hospital, for the farm of his portion here.
The Abbot of Langele was taxed at 23s. 6d. for his temporals here.
In 1380, John de Foxele and others aliened to the hospital of St. Giles in Norwich, a messuage, 48 acres of land, and four acres of pasture in Calthorp, Lodne, Mundham, Sislond, Hardley, Cossey, and Reppes.
This town always paid 2l. 10s. to each tenth.
At the Dissolution the impropriation went with St. Giles's hospital, which was refounded, and was given to the Corporation of the city of Norwich, who now hold it, as belonging to the hospital, it being a donative in their gift, the curate being paid 40l. per annum for serving it.
In the answers of the parsons in 1603, Thomas Cleybourne, clerk, was curate, and there were 176 communicants; the benefice was returned to be impropriate, but was endowed with a mansion-house, (now in decay,) and was called a donative, the impropriation belonged to the hospital at Norwich, and was leased to the curate.
- 1448, Jeffry Pitwyn, chaplain, was buried in the chancel.
- 1470, Sir John Williams.
- 1603, Thomas Cleybourne.
- 1605, James Lovell.
- 1625, Mr. Crompton, minor, buried here 27th Dec.
- 1635, Richard Wythe.
- 1648, James Shepherd.
- 1670, Samuel Stinnet, minor, buried.
- 1672, John Connold, buried here.
- 1709, Mr. John Laurence, who had Horsford.
- 1739, the Rev. Mr. John Burcham, rector of St. Simon's in Norwich, is the present curate.
The church consists of a nave only, which is leaded, the chancel is thatched; it hath a square tower and five bells; on the screens are the arms of Jernegan carved; on a north chancel window are the arms of Ufford, and an emblem of the Trinity. There are grave-stones in the chancel for,
Charles Waldegrave of Catton, Gent. July 17, 1685.
Here lieth the Body of Sir Henry Waldgrave of StanningHall Bart. Son and Heir to Sir Edward Waldgrave Knt. and Bart. and Elenor his Wife, Daughter to Sir Thomas Lovell of Harling, he married Anne Paston Daughter of Edward Paston of Appleton Esq. by whom he had VII. Sons and IIII. Daughters, and secondly he married Catherine Bacon, Daughter of Richard Bacon Gent. by whom he had six Sons and six Daughters, he died the 10th. of October 1658, aged 60 Years.
Walgrave's arms and crest, viz. a plume of feathers.
Here resteth the Body of Frances Layer the Wife of Thomas Layer of Booton Esq. and eldest Daughter of Sir Edward Waldegrave of Stannynghall Knt. who left behind her 3 Sons, Edward Layer, Francis Layer and Charles Layer, who departed this Life upon the 26 Day of March 1629, whose Soule Jesus rests.
Englefield's coat in a lozenge, but falsely cut.
Hic jacet Dua: Elizabetha Englefield, illustri ex utroque parenti orta, prosapia sed morum splendore illustrior, utpote antiquæ Fidei Zelo, pietate in Deum, benignitate in pauperes, et in proximos omnes caritate insignis, vitam Christianam transactam Christiano fine conclusit, nordovici Martij Die 16 Anno Dni: 1705, Ætatis suæ 70.
Requiescat in Pace.
Martha Wife of John Hyrne Gent. Dec. 6. 1698. Æt. 60.
Martha Wife of John Turner Daughter of John Hyrne of Cossey, Jan. 5. 1696 aged 20 Years.
By the chancel door,
Hic iacet Thomas Pargiter Ao Dni. cuius Anime propicietur Dcus Amen.
In the middle isle,
Annœ depositum, noli turbare Viator, Pace frui liceat, pacis amica fuit; Non Brownistarum perverso Dogmate Cœlos, More sed antiquo, scandere cura fuit, Quam pluries simulant Pietatem, semper amavit, Brownea, chara Viro, Brownea chara Deo, Exemplum Pietatis habes Matrona pudica, Vivere disce, viro, vivere disce Deo.
Obijt 28° Junii 1642.
Daniel Son of Ralf and Mary Palmer 8. Dec. 1669.
Orate pro Anima Jsabelle Yemys cuius Anime propitietur Deus Amen.
Wraye for the Soule of William Wood the helder the which de ceased Ao Dni: Mo vC. rrriii. on whose Soule Jesu have Mercy.
John Hyrne of Cossey Gent. 28 Febr. 1689. Æt. 65.
- 1575, Margaret Tilney buried.
- 1615, Frances Wife of Henry Jernegan, Esq. buried.
- 1616, John Waldgrave, Gent. buried 4 March.
- 1617, Robert Tilney and Agnes Rose married.
- 1617, John Tilney, buried 19 May.
- 1626, Jeronima Waldegrave, buried 4 Febr.
- 1646, Henry Jernegan, Baronet, buried 5 Sept.
- 1654, Tho. Turner, senior, of Norwich, Gent. buried in the church 5 Nov.
- 1676, Catherine, Daughter of Richard Waldegrave, Esq. buried 23 Sept.
- 1685, Anne, Widow of Mr. Charles Waldegrave of Catton, buried 30 Sept.
Or the town on the hill, for so I take its name to signify, was always, and still is, part of Cossey manor, the lord of Cossey being lord here; there were two freemen at the Conqueror's survey, who held 30 acres here, which belonged to William Earl Warren, which was all but what was included at that time in Cossey, and reckoned as part of it.
The rectory is valued in the King's Books at 6l. 9s. 9d. ob. and being sworn of the clear yearly value of 40l. 12s. 3d. ob. it is discharged of first fruits and tenths; the advowson belonged to Cossey, till it was given from it with a tenement and lands in Colton, to the family sirnamed De Colton; and in 1223, John de Colton released the advowson, and confirmed the former grant of it made by his ancestors in alms to the Priors of Windham, who held it as a vicarage, till John of Oxford Bishop of Norwich, with the consent of the Prior of Windham, disappropriated it, on condition the rectors and their successours paid a pension of two marks yearly to the Priory; but in 1228, after the death of the Archbishop of Canterbury, who had confirmed it, Robert de Nevile, then rector, refused to pay it, and the Prior entered on the church; but it was soon agreed and the pension settled to be payed, and William, son of John de Colton, released all his right to the Prior, in the advowson, which he says his father John gave them, and the Prior renounced all his right in the appropriation to the rector, and from that time the house of Windham was always patron, till its dissolution, and then it came to the King, and it hath remained ever since in the Crown.
The Church is dedicated to St. Andrew; the rector had no house nor land in Edward the Third's time; it was valued with the portion of tithes belonging to Wimondham at 15 marks, procurations 6s. 8d. synodals 23d. Peter-pence 19d. carvage 6s. 8d. and the town paid 46s. and 8d. to each tenth. There are now 22 acres of glebe; there were the lights of St. Andrew, St. Mary, and St. John Baptist, in the church. The gild of St. John Baptist was kept at his altar, and St. Peter's gild at the altar of that saint.
In the south chancel window, az. three maids heads cooped, proper, crined or, quarterly, the first is broken, the second and third are az. a fess or between three bezants, fourth party per fess G. and - - - - a griffin or.
On a brass in the church,
Here lyeth the Body of Tho. Spendlove Gent. late Chief Constable of this Hundred, who died 22 April 1631. Æt. 45.
The church is leaded, and the chancel tiled, the tower is square, and hath three bells; the church is 26 yards long and 10 broad.
Rogers son of Rogers and Mary Spencer died June 3, 1662.
In a lozenge, Pooley, or, a lion rampant sab.
Mrs. Mary Wife of John Pooley of Morley, Gent. died 23 Dec. 1715.
Barry wavy of ten, over all a lion rampant.
James son of James Seaborne, late of Wymundham Gent. died 13 May 1710, Ætat. 81, of great Prudence and Piety, a Father to his Relations, and a good Friend upon any Occasion, to all about him, as looking for Eternal Life: and in the Vault under this stone is interred, Mary his Relict, who died 28 March, 1722, Ætat. 72.
In the altar. John Fairclough, Rector, died Aug. 14, 1730, Æt. 31.
In the church. A stone for Charles Daveney Gent. Febr. 3, 1731, Æt. 76. Another for, Parham Son of Henry Daveney Gent. and Mary his Wife, 20 Aug. 1731, Æt. 32 Months.
My Time was short, the longer I am to rest, God calleth soonest, whom he loveth best.
On a mural monument, with Pooley's arms and crest, viz. a demi-lion sab.
M. S. In hope of an happy Resurrection, underneath lyeth interred the Body of Philip Pooley Gent. June 17, 1715, an affectionate Husband, a good Father, a kind Master, a devout Frequenter of the Publick Worship, a true lover of the Clergy, a charitable Benefactor to the Poor, an obliging Neighbour, a generous friend, a Pious Christian, whose exalted Soul through the infinite Merits of Jesus Christ, enjoys a blessed Immortality.
Beatus servus ille, quem venerit Dominus, ejus invenerit ita facientem.
On a mural monument on the north side of the chancel.
Vicino in Pulvere, felicis Spe Resurrectionis, quiescunt Reliquiæ Revdi. Viri Henrici Rix A. M. hujus Ecclesiæ Rectoris, nec non et Ecclesiæ de Deopham, in hoc Comitatu Vicarij dignissimi, in utrasque munificentissimi, Pietatis operibus, Charitatis illa adjecit: Posteritati providus, Liberorum Indigorum Educationi liberaliter admodum consuluit, Temperantiæ, Charitatis, et Virtutum aliarum plurimarum Exemplar reliquens. obijt 24 die Julij Anno Dom: 1728: Æt: 58.
Tranquillus vixit, placidus obdormivit, Lætus resuscitabitur.
Here are the arms of Delapole quartering Goldwell; and arg. a chief gul. a lion rampant or.
- 1317, died master Tho. de Depham; he held it united to Estone.
- 1317, Baldwin Poleyn. The Prior and Convent of Wymondham.
- 1326, William de Baumburgh. O.
- 1328, Adam de Brunham.
- 1333, Robert Wauncy of King's Walden.
- 1343, Robert de Ryseby. By the Pope's provision.
- 1361, John de Stukele. Change with Wymondham.
- 1365, Richard son of John de Kimberle. Ditto.
- 1365, John Mey. Change with Bouthorp.
- 1372, Thomas Davy.
- William Fesaunt. Change with Pakefield.
- 1374, John de Cressey. Ditto.
- 1404, William Cantele of Coston.
- 1406, Robert Waleswode. Robert Elot. R.
- 1418, Robert Coope.
- 1425, Walter de West-Walton. Change with Rushbrook, 1426, buried in the chancel; his name was Walter Grey of West-Walton.
- 1426, Thomas Dote. R.
- 1441, John Gray.
- 1453, Brother Nic. Bungey, a Carmelite friar. Lapse R.
- 1458, Robert Leek. O.
- 1508, Roger Salkeld. John Abbot of Wimondham.
- 1515, Thomas Langar. O. The last presented by the Abbot.
- 1549, Jeffery Turnour. Robert Agges of Wymondham, by grant of the late priory, dissolved. Deprived.
- 1554, Nicholas Appleby. Lapse.
- 1586, Thomas West, A. M. The Queen.
- 1589, John Cook. Ditto. United to Barford mediety; he was a licensed preacher, and there were then 62 communicants.
- 1638, Nicholas Barwick. The Crown.
- 1652, Robert Harsnet. The Crown.
- 1702, Henry Rix. Ditto.
- 1728, John Fairclough. The King.
- 1731, The Rev. Mr. Samuel Carter, A. M. on Fairclough's death, is the present  rector, and holds it united to Barford mediety. The King
Hingham was the head town of the deanery, and at first contained 43 parishes, the deanery was taxed at 30s. and it was in the Bishop's collation.
- 1307, Mr. Tho. de Byteringe, clerk.
- 1311, Thomas son of John de Byteringe, priest.
- Henry Owen of Pultney, clerk, resigned.
- 1337, Thomas Owen of Pulteney, clerk.
- 1340, Nicholas Emyse, clerk.
- 1343, John de Welton.
- 1344, Henry, son of Will. de Winterton, clerk. R.
- 1346, Mr. Anthony de Goldesburgh. Change with Sudbury deanery.
- 1346, John, son of Will. de Winterton, clerk.
- 1361, Master Robert de Tunsted, A. M. a shaveling.
- 1382, Peter de Leeghes, clerk, on the resignation of Robert de Tunstede, S. T. P. who exchanged for Colneyse deanery in Suffolk.
- 1398, John Cutet, clerk, resigned.
- 1405, Sir Thomas Revell, priest, who changed Bishop's-Thorp rectory with Cutet, for this deanery.
- 1411, Will. Multon, clerk, who gave Revell the rectory of Hese in Canterbury diocese for this.
- 1418, John Roo, clerk, on Multon's resignation.
- 1431, John Breton, clerk, who resigned Dunwich deanery.
- 1432, Will. Spencer, junior, Breton having resigned for Waxham deanery.
- 1443, John Roose, clerk.
- 1459, Thomas Marke, resigned.
- 1459, John Swyer, clerk, one of the Bishop's servants.
- 1467, John Jolles, clerk.
The Church is a good pile, the tower being very tall and large; the whole was rebuilt by Remigius de Hethersete, rector here, in the time of King Edward III. with the assistance of John le Marshal, his patron, who contributed much to the perfecting of the work; it is dedicated to St. Andrew the Apostle, and had several chapels in it, of which the most remarkable were at the ends of each isle, that on the north side being dedicated to the Holy Trinity, and that on the south side to the Holy Virgin; the others were dedicated to St. Nicholas, the Nativity of the Virgin, and to her Assumption, there was also a St. Mary's chapel by the rood altar, and another of St. Mary of Pity, and there were no less than seven gilds held in the church, viz. of St. James, Corpus Christi, St. Andrew, Holy-Cross, All-Saints, St. John Baptist, and St. Mary, and each having a stipendiary chaplain, serving at their altars in the church, constituted a choir; for in 1484, Robert Morley, Esq. of this town was buried in the church, and gave seven surplices to the quire of Hingham; and without doubt this church must make a fine appearance in those times, it being adorned with the following images, all which had lights, either lamps, wax tapers, or candles, constantly burning before them in time of divine service, and being dispersed all over the church, chancel, and chapels, must make it in the night season a fine sight; the principal image of St. Andrew stood (as the principal image or patron saint of every church did) in the chancel, on the north side of the altar, and those of St. Peter, St. Michael, St. Mary, Corpus Christi, St. Margaret, St. Christin, St. Edith or Sythe, St. Mary of Pity, St. Thomas, the Nativity and Assumption of the Holy Virgin, St. Wulstan, St. Appolonia, St. Christopher, St. Erasmus, St. Julian, St. Anthony, St. John Baptist, St. Nicholas, the Holy Trinity, St. Edmund, St. Laurence, St. Catherine, St. John the Evangelist, St. Valentine, St. Ethelred, and the Holy Rood or Cross, which stood on the roodloft, between the church and chancel.
When Norwich Domesday was wrote, the patronage was late Sir John Marshal's but then the Lord Morley's; the rector had a noble house, and 20 acres of ground, the living being then valued at 50 marks; it stands in the King's Books at 24l. 18s. 4d. and pays 2l. 9s. 10d. yearly tenths, and first fruits every vacancy, it being undischarged; the synodals are 2s. 8d. and Peter-pence 1s. 2d. 0b. The town paid 7l. each tenth.
- 1272, Master Richard de Felmingham. In this year the glebe lying west of the church (on part of which the parsonage is built) was given to the rectory by John de Kirkebi Bishop of Ely, to keep his anniversary; and in 1290, John son of David de Rokeland, confirmed it, there being then a messuage and grove upon the premises; Sir William de Mortimer, Sir Guy Butetort, Sir Alexander de Elingham, Sir Edmund de Hemegrave, Sir Baldwin de Maners, Sir Andrew de Hengham, Jeffry, son of Walter de Hengham, &c. being witnesses.
- 1307, 6 kal. Nov. John de Calton, Lady Hawise le Marchal, assignee of Sir William Marchal, Knt.
- 1313, 17 kal. July, William Wimer of Swanton, Sir William le Marshal, Marshal of Ireland.
- 1316, 12 kal. June, Remigius de Hetherset was presented by John le Marshal, Marshal of Ireland; he was of a good family, being son of John de Hetherset and Margery his wife, and only brother to Sir Simon de Hetherset, Knt. one of the King's Justices, lord of Cringleford, &c.; he built the church, and was a man of great note in his time, being trustee and feoffee for most of the best families in the county.
- 1359, 14 Sept. Master John de Ufford, son of Robert Earl of Suffolk, and Margaret his wife, was presented by Sir Robert de Morley, Marshal of Ireland, he had two prebends, one in the church of Salisbury, the other in Lincoln; by his will, dated November 1375, in which month he died, he ordered his body to be buried in this chancel, on the north side, and left a legacy to Dame Maud Ufford, his sister, a nun at Campsey in Suffolk.
- 1375, 3 Dec. Master John de Derlington, master of St. Giles's hospital, &c. licentiate in the decrees was presented by Sir William de Morley, Marshal of Ireland, one of the vicars general, in 1387, he was doctor of the decrees, and Archdeacon of Norwich, he exchanged Hingham for the archdeaconry, with,
William de Swynflet, who became rector here.
- 1388, 9 April, Richard Gomfrey. Thomas de Morley Lord Morley, and Marshal of Ireland.
- 1397, 21 May, William Segher. Ditto.
- 1411, 12 Feb. Sir Walter de Thefford. Ditto.
- 1441, 16 Sept. Sir Thomas Codlyng, priest, on Thetford's death. Isabell Lady Morley, relict of Thomas Lord Morley, deceased: he held it with a mediety of North-Tudenham, and at his death, in 1461, gave a silver chalice, gilt, worth 40 marks, to be sold, either to buy a white vestment, or to build a new treasury.
- 1461, Sir Thomas Hastyngs, sub-deacon; he died rector in 1469.
- 1469, 20 Febr. Master Simon Thornham, LL.B. Isabel Lady Morley.
Sir Humphry de la Pole; he died rector.
- 1513, 15 Febr. Master John Adcock; he died rector. Alice Howard, widow of the Lord Morley.
- 1553, 19 April, Mr. Edward Thwayts, S. T. B. Anthony Thwyats, Esq. by grant of Sir William Woodhouse, Knt. and Elizabeth his wife, late relict of Sir Henry Parker, Knt. deceased.
- 1584, 3 Sept. Thomas Clarkson. Thomas Grange of SwafhamBulbek in Cambridgeshire, by grant of the turn from Matthew Trott, A. M. who had it of the honourable Henry Parker, Knt. Lord Morley, who in his life time was true patron. He died in 1605.
- 1603, Sir Thomas Lovell, Knt. was patron, and there were returned 500 communicants.
- 1605, 7 Jan. Robert Peck, A. M. Tho. Moor, by grant of Francis Lovell, Knt. he was "a man of a very violent schismatical spirit, he pulled down the rails, and levelled the altar and the whole chancel a foot below the church, as it remains to this day, but being prosecuted for it by Bishop Wren, he fled the kingdom, and went over into New-England, with many of his parishioners, who sold their estates for half their value, and conveyed all their effects to that new plantation, erected a town and colonie, by the name of Hingham, where many of their posterity are still remaining, he promised never to desert them, but hearing that Bishops were deposed, he left them all to shift for themselves, and came back to Hingham in the year 1646, after 10 years voluntary banishment, he resumed his rectory, and died in the year 1656." His funeral sermon was preached by Nathaniel Joceline, A. M. pastor of the church of Hardingham, and was published by him, being dedicated to Mr. John Sidley, high-sheriff, Brampton-Gurdon and Mr. Day, Justices of the Peace, Mr. Church, Mr. Barnham, and Mr. Man, aldermen and justices in the city of Norwich.
- 1638, 25 May, Luke Skippon, A.M. was presented by Sir Thomas Woodhouse, Knt. and Bart. as on Peck's death, he having been absent about two years; and in
- 1640, 11 April, the said Luke was reinstituted, the living being void by lapse, it appearing that Peck was alive since Skippon's first institution, and now two years more being past, and he not appearing, it lapsed to the Crown, as on Peck's death; but in
- 1646, Peck came again, and held it to his death, and then, in
- 1656, Edmund Dey held it without institution till the Restoration, and in
- 1663, 1 April, he was presented by Sir Philip Woodhouse, Bart.; his character is this in the same letter, that he was "a man of the same piece with himself, (that is with Peck,) but a man of lower parts and meaner capacity; with some difficulty he swallowed the oaths at the Restauration," and continued till 1666, when he died, and in January,
- 1667, Robert Seppens, A. M. was presented by the same patron, who, as the same letter says, was "a very good man; he was the author of a book called Rex Theolicus, a piece full of learning and loyalty, he printed (besides some sermons) a short controversy between him and Bayley the Romish priest, but by the extravagancy of his sons, he was made very pore, and could never make any figure in the world, after a chronicle distemper of the palsie, he dyed in the year, 1682."
- 1683, 11 April, John Watson, A. M. Edmund Woodhouse, Esq. he held it first, united to the rectory of Wroxham cum Salowes, and afterwards to the rectory of Scoulton; he died rector in 1727, and was succeeded in
- 1727, 19 March, by the Rev. Mr. John Breese, A. M. sometime senior fellow of Caius college, who is the present rector, and holds it united to Bixton rectory, to both which he was presented by Sir John Woodhouse of Kimberley, Bart. the present  patron.
I find the following persons buried here, for whom there are now no memorials remaining:
- 1367, Sir John Baker, chaplain; in the churchyard.
- 1381, Sir Richard Kempe, chaplain. In the church.
- 1460, John Cross. In the church.
- 1469, Peter Cooper of North-Wood hamlet in Hingham, was buried in the church, and gave legacies to several gilds, and to the (then erected) gild of St. Peter, and also towards building the Virgin's chapel in the church.
- 1469, Margaret, relict of Thomas Norwold of Hingham, gave 13 marks to buy a silver bason for the holy water, in memory of William and Joan Willis, her father and mother.
- 1483, Simon Lyster of Hengham, buried here. "Item, I wyll my close in Sculton-Saunsey, called Ruttocks, and six acres and a half of land arable, and the rent called Markethouse rent in Hengham, shall be put in feoffment of xii. persons in the town of Hengham, of most godly and best disposed persons, to th'intent that Rose my wyffe shall have the gydyng of the almes-houses, called John Lister's alms-houses during her lyfe, bearing all manner of charges, and reparacons thereof, and to the entent to fynd and kepe a certain in the said church for ever, for the sowles of John Lister my father, Margery my mother, Will, Lister and Katherine his wife, Symound Blount and Maud his wyffe, Richard and John Lister, Johane Ade my mother in law, and the sowles of me and my wyffe; and also to kepe an anniversary-day for me the said Symond, and the sowles yerly in perpetuum, upon Passion Sunday at afternoon, with dirige and mass of requiem be note, on the Monday next following, and 13d. to be distributed to six poor persons, or to 13 at dirige, and also for me by name, and my benefactors on Holowmes-Day, to be rehersid in the comyn beed. And after the decesse of the said Rose, the said close to remain in the said feoffees hands, to the use aforesaid, to be renewed from time to time, when but seven of them are left."
- 1485, Katherine, wife of Thomas Cauze or Caus of Hengham, Esq. was a benefactress; she was buried in All-Saints church at Blyford in Suffolk.
- 1506, John Pyshode, alderman of Norwich, ordered in his will, that his executors should make a cross of free-stone, to be set up in the cross-way in the field of Hingham wood, at the expense of five marks.
- 1509, Richard Heyhow of Hengham was buried in the church, and gave 3 acres and an half of land "for an obite yerly, the overplus to the reparacon of the church of Hengham. Item to the gilde of St. Peter, my close in Hengham, upon condition that the brodirn of the gilde of St. Peter forseyd shal menteyn and kepe up the almse tabyll, and fynd and repar the alms-hous in the church yerd at all tymes, when nede is to repar them."
- 1543, Simon Baxter of Hengham, Gent. was buried in the church.
The church, chancel, two isles, and square tower, are covered with lead; there is a clock, and six large bells; the north vestry is down.
At the west end of the church there lies a stone, plated with brass, from which the effigies of a man and woman are torn off, but that of their son remains, and this,
Obijt 25 Februarij Obijt 30 Marcij
Anno Domini 1622, Anno Domini 1615
Anno Ætatis suæ 69° Anno Ætatis suæ 66
Sub hoc Tegmine marmoreo, jacent Sepulti Johannes Longe, et Margareta Uxor ejus, unicum, relinquentes Filium Superstitem, Robertum, qui hoc ultimum obedientiæ insigne Memoriæ Sacrum dedit.
In the middle isle lies a stone for Elizabeth Wife of Stephen Baldwin, who died Aug. 20. 1709, aged 46.
On a mural monument in the north isle,
Justorum Resurrectionem manent Reliquiæ, THOMÆ, Filij EDVARDI HEYHOE de Hardingham Generosi, cujus pietatem simplicem, ingenuam probitatem, cæterasque Virtutes, Deus Cœlis remuneravit, et in terris charitatem in perpetuum largiendam, tum Rostrum, cum pauperes, D. Thomæ Festo quotannis celebrabunt.
Obijt Sept. 28. Anno Domini 1709. Ætatis 69.
On his grave-stone,
Hic jacet Corpus Thomæ Heyhoe, cujus monumentum ad parietem affixum habes.
There is an altar tomb in the south isle by the door, on which is,
Dowe or Dove, sab. a fess dancette erm. between three doves arg. Parke, arg. on a fess sab. three escalops of the field, a canton erm. Crest, a dove arg.
Christopher Dowe Gent. died Apr. 30 1729, aged 35, he married Susan Daughter of Stephen Parke of Hardingham Gent. by whom he had one Daughter Mary, the said Susan died 22 Jan: 1738, aged 38, and is buried by him.
On a mural monument near the east end of the south isle,
Juxta sitæ sunt Exuviæ, Gulielmi Thurrold Gen: Semel Mariti, quaterque patris, cujus in Pauperes Charitatem, quisque Dominicus perpetuo monstrabit Dies, Si cæteras Virtutes dicerem, Res omnibus notas narrarem; Barbara Uxor dilectissima, et Gulielmus Filius, utrumque claudunt Latus, tres habuit Filias, quarum prima Elizabetha, Uxor Benj: Foyster, obijt Norvici in quorum piam Memoriam, Maria et Hanna, superstites, hoc Monumentum posuere.
In the east window of Trinity chapel are the arms of Lord Morley, and arg. on a chevron gul. between three lions heads erased S three bezants. The tradition is, that this chapel was made by the maidens of the town, and that this window was glazed at their cost, which seems very probable by the arms, and the following fragment of an inscription now remaining,
Thys Wyndow ys y mad Nengham.
The inscription when whole, was,
Thys Windowe ys ye Mayden cost of Nengham.
The following inscriptions are in the chancel.
On a brass plate,
Hic jacet humatus Thomas Moore, qui obijt undecimo die Novembris Anno Domini 1618, Ætatisque suæ 78°.
On a mural monument on the north side,
Sacred to the Memory of Eliz: Negus Daughter of Mr. Samuel Gary. T. B. and Prebend of Norwich, first Wife to Wyatt Wright Gent. after married again to Mr. Henry Negus Merchant, she was a Woman of a Religious and Pious Conversation, and of more than common Prudence in the Conduct and Management of Domestick Affairs, who departed this Life Febr. the 20. 1702, in the 92, Year of her Age. Also to the Memory of Mrs. Anne Wright, youngest Daughter of the said Elizabeth, she lived to the 65th. Year of her Age, a most exact Pattern of true Christian Piety, Charity, Temperance and Sobriety, and died with an unblemished Reputation, June the 15. 1706. Eliz. Watson, Gratitudinis & Honoris Gratia, hoc Monumentum Materteræ tam Beneficæ, prorsus indignum, suo proprio sumptu, erexit.
Gary or Geere, gul. two bars or, or sometimes arg. on a canton az. a leopard's face or.
Negus, erm. on a chief nebulee az. three escalops or.
On a free-stone under it,
Hic jacent supradictæ Eliza: Negus & Anna Wright.
Here lyeth attending its glorious Resurrection, the Body of Caleb Shelley Gent. who died July the 6h 1689.
On a flat marble,
Amyas, arg. a boar's head cooped, between three croslets fitchee sab. Crest, a stag's head erased.
Hic sitæ sunt Exuviæ Francisci Amyas, Viri Cognitoris Officio Jure periti et æque probi, hujusque pagi fuit diu parœcus, a Generosa Familia, quondam de Deopham oriundus, nec non Ecclesiæ Anglicanæ Filius Pientissimus, Matrimonio duxit et reliquit Mariam Copping, conjugem olim charissimam, jam viduam ægre solandam, sexque demum superstitibus (e quindecim relictis Liberis) migravit in Æternum, septimo Die Augusti, Anno Æræ Xnæ M. dccx. Ætatis suæ 72.
Subter condita sunt Ossa, Thomæ Amyas, Filij Francisci Amyas Generosi, obijt 4to. die Dec: Ao. Dni: 1730, Æt: 47. Ejus Memoriæ Frater, non magis Sanguine quam Benevolentia conjunctus, hoc Posuit Saxum.
Amyas impales a chief, in pale, three boars heads cooped.
Maria Charissima quondam Conjux, Francisci Amyas Generosi, ob: 4to. die Nov: An°. Dom: Mdccxix. Æt: suæ lxx.
Hoc sub marmore felicem Rusurrectionem expectant, Magr. Johannes et Francisca Alden, ambo hujus Parochiæ Indigenæ, nec non Parenti-bus Generosis ibidem oriundi, ambo Morum Suavitate omnibus Chari. vixit Ille annos XLII. M: 2: S: 2. D 2. vixit Illa, annos XXV. M. 4. Multum Johanni indulsit Natura, nec minus Fortuna. Francisca (cuius Parentalia Marmora [viz. of Francis and Mary Amyas] ad Lævam conspiciuntur) non modo Forma, sed Pietate eluxit, Puerpera (Heu !) moriens, Marito Sui Desiderium reliquit.
Hestera Gilman, Gulielmi Le Neve Generosi Filia, Samuelis Gilman hujus Parochiæ Generosi Uxor Charissima, Rei domesticæ pollentissima, Christianæ patientiæ insigne Exemplar. Obijt 23 Februarij Anno salutis 1724, Ætatis suæ 43°. hic quoque jacent Hestera et Sara, optimæ Spei, nec non amantissimorum Parentum Filiæ.
Gilman, arg. a leg in pale cooped at the thigh, sab. impaling Le Neve.
Crest, a demi-lion issuing from a cap of maintenance.
Hic jacent Johannes Amyas Generosus, et Anna Uxor ejus, unâ cum Filiabus Anna et Johanna Relicta Gulielmi Starkey, quondam Rectoris Ecclesiæ de Pulham, quæ ob: Octavo die Oct. 1729, et Æt: 63°, jacent etiam juxta hoc Marmore Matthæus Amyas M. D. ac Filij, Matthæus, Anna ac Elizabetha.
In Memory of Capt. Robt. Robinson, Commander of one of his Majestie's Ships of Warr, who died Oct. 13, 1726, Æt: 53.
Amyas's arms and crest, viz. a buck's head erased or, collared with a wreath A. S.
Matthæi Amyas M. D. qui in Civitate Norwicensi per multos Annos, Artem medicinalem peracri Judico, et fœlici Successu exercuit, obijt vicessimo sexto die Novembris A°. Dni. 1729, et Æt. 64to.
To the Memory of Mrs. Sarah Watson the affectionate Wife of John Watson A. M. Rector of Wood-Rising, and the 2 Rocklands, she was modest, ingenious, compassionate, chearfull, sincere, and generous. Also to the Memory of John Watson, M. A. and of Elizabeth his Wife, he was the Revd. and very aged Rector of this Parish and Scoulton. Lastly, to the Memory of good Mrs. St. Clair, Wife of Patrick St. Clair, Rector of Elmerton and Thugarton, in this County. Three of their deaths happened near the same time, in the Year terrible for Fevers, 1727.
There is a marble in the nave for Mr. Edm. Alden, a Just, Diligent, and Worthy Shopkeeper, of this Parish, who died Oct. 1728, ag. 75, and also for John an Infant, son of Martin Alden.
John Alden, a Person of great Honesty, Modesty, and Temperance, died Nov. 4, 1727, aged 68.
Edmund Payne, Mercer and Grocer, died June 5, 1729, aged 55.
On the font is this Greek anagram,
On the north side of the chancel is a noble monument against the wall, reaching from the floor to the roof; it is of stone, embellished with imagery and Gothick work, and formerly with many brass plates, all which are pulled off; the following arms are still remaining, which show me plainly to whose memory it was erected, viz. Lord Morley, impaling Marshal, Bourchier, Hastings, Molins, and De la Pole quartering Wingfield; the two last of which quartered, impales a chevron.
The arms of Morley and Marshal are often single, and the former sometimes with differences.
Morley impales arg. six crowns S. and also G. a bend ar. quarters Hastyngs. From which it is plain that the tomb was erected to the memory of Thomas Lord Morley, who died about 1435, leaving Isabel, daughter of Michael de la Pole Earl of Suffolk, his widow, who died in 1466, and was buried in this chancel by her husband, as her will, which is to be seen in Register Jekkys, fo. 50, informs me, from which I transcribed the following account.
- 1464, Dame Isabell, widow Lady Morley, made her will in her house in St. Peter's Mancroft in Norwich, and was buried in the chancel at Hingham, before the image of St. Andrew, by her lord and husband. She ordered, if she died in Norwich, that her body should be carried to the chapel of St. Mary in the Fields, and a mass said for her, and then to be carried to Hingham, with 15 torches born before her by 15 of her poor tenants in black gowns, and also five poor women in black shall bear each a taper of two pound weight, and place them before the sacrament by her grave, there to remain till they be burnt up. Every priest at her mass of requiem to have 4d. and every clerk 2d.; she gave to St. Peter of Mancroft's altar 6s. 8d.; to repair the church 40s.; to sustain the holy mass of Jesus 13s. 4d.; to ChapelField high altar 20s.; to the high altar at Hingham 0s. 8d.; to repair the church 40s. more, and a tablet of gold garnished with pearl, containing certain relicks, with a beril in the same tablet, with two images, one of the resurrection, and the other of our Lady, and the longest carpet with white flowers to lie before the high altar; to her sister, Dame Katerine, Abbess of Berkyng, 10 marks, and legacies to the high altars and her poor tenants of Aldby, Buxton, the gild of St. Andrew in Buxton, of which she was a sister, Swanton, Worthing, Folsham, Bintre, Hokeryng, Mateshale, Mateshale-Bergh, Tudenham and Hingham, and also legacies to John Hastyng, her son-in-law, and Anne his wife, her daughter, among which a diaper towel 18 yards long, with gifts to Isabell Boswel, daughter of the said Anne, Elizabeth, sister to Isabell, Dame Eleanor, her grandaughter, the Lady Morley, Dame Catherine, Stapleton, Elizabeth Morley, Edward Bokenham, Sir William Strather her chaplain, Edward Harsick, Gent. &c. all the prisoners in the castle and gild-hall that lie there, for their fees only, to be discharged by her gift; she gave money to Dame Julian, anchoress at Carrowe, and Dame Agnes, anchoress at St. Julian's in Cunsford, besides 53l. 6s. 8d. to be paid as long as it lasts in a stipend for a priest to pray for her and her lord in Hingham church, John Heydon to be counsellor to her executors, John Hastyng, her son, Edward Bokenham, Sir William Strather, priest, and Godfrey Joye, alderman of Norwich, were her executors; her nephew, John Duke of Suffolk, was supervisor, who was to see a whole vestment of black velvet given to Swanton-Morley church.
It was proved at Norwich before William Pykenham, LL. D. the bishop's official 1466, 28 February.
The arms of Mowbray, Brotherton, &c. were in the windows of the church, but are all gone.
In gilt letters on the pulpit,
Necessity is laid upon me, yea Woe is unto me, if I Preach not the Gospel. 1. Cor. 9. 16.
There are two tables of the benefactors, placed between the church and chancel, viz.
- 1607, Aug. 14, lands of 7l. per annum value were settled for the benefit of the inhabitants.
- 1655, Mr. Francis Seaborne of Hingham gave 40s. per annum to the poor.
- 1677, Mr. Rob. Baldwin of Hingham gave 20s. per annum to the poor in bread.
- 1705, Christopher Adcock of Hardingham gave 40s. per annum to the poor in bread.
- 1706, Mrs. Anne Wright of Hingham gave a silver chalice worth 6l. 10s. and in 1612, the old cup which was dated in 1637, was melted down, and made a cover to the chalice.
- 1708, Mr. Thomas Hcyhoe of Hingham gave 35s. per annum in land, the minister is to have 10s. (out of which, the clerk is to have 1s.) on condition he preaches a sermon on St. Thomas's day, the remainder to be then distributed to the poor in bread, he gave also a salver of 3l. value, in 1688.
- 1724, Mr. William Thurrold of Hingham gave 3l. per annum in land, the rent to be given every Sunday after sermon, to such poor only as frequently attend divine service.
- 1734, Mr. Edward Payne intended to have given by will, and Mr. John Payne voluntarily conveyed land worth 52s. per annum, for bread weekly, to such 12 poor people, as attend divine service.
There was an ancient family of the Coopers here, Robert Cooper owned a considerable estate in 1382, in 1701, Feb. 7. Elias Cooper Gent. obtained a faculty for a seat in this church.
This town belonged to King Athelstan, and contained 60 carucates or hides of and, all which he gave to
Athelwold Bishop of Winchester, about the year 966, and that Bishop exchanged it with
King Edgar, for 40 hides and an half, which is now called St. Etheldred's or St. Audries Liberty, and so Hingham came to the Crown again, and continued there some time, for at the Confessor's survey, that Prince held it, and had two carucates and 25 acres in demean, 60 villeins, 18 bordars, &c. His tenants had 15 carucates among them; the whole was then of the value of 7l. 10s. a year, besides rents to the value of 30s. a year, and three sextaries of honey; it remained in the Crown till the Conqueror's survey, when the same quantity of land was held in demean, but the bordars were increased to 29, and the value to 13l. 10s. besides the honey-rent; it was half a league long, and as much broad, and paid 13d. ob. geld. It extended into Kimberley, &c. and the soke or jurisdiction of the hundred which belonged to this manor went over the towns of Hingham, Kimberley in part, Carlston, Depham, half Barford, Bernham, Morley, and Wicklewood in part, besides several other places, as we learn from Domsday.
King Stephen granted this manor and hundred and half, and and all their appendages, with the towns of Stow, Chircheby or Kirkby, Racheda, or Rackheith, and Herleham or Erlham, and the hundred of Taverham, to
William de Caineio or Cheney, and his heirs, in exchange for Moleham, on condition that if he or his son should like Moleham better, they might renounce it, which they afterwards did, and so it vested in the Crown again, and the same King let it to farm to
Henry de Rye, son of Hubert de Rye, castellan of Norwich, who was second son of that Hubert de Rye who came with the Conqueror.
In 1195, William de Ecclesia Sancte Marie rendered an account to King Richard I. of the farm of Heingham, which
Cardo de Freshavile then farmed, and paid for it 25l. 7s. 6d. it being granted to him by Richard I. when he came to the crown: In this King's time we meet with several persons that paid the farm to the King for this manor, as Hubert de Burgh, Ralf de Camois, Roger Fitz William, &c. but they had no fee in it; another record tells us that Henry II. gave the church to John de Bridport, and after that King John gave it his son for life; and then it was to go with the manor and hundred to
John le Marshall. This town was always reputed the head of the barony of Rye ever since its first grant to Henry de Rye aforesaid, and was always acknowledged as such by those that farmed it; after the death of Henry de Rye, Hubert de Rye had the barony, but the manor then belonged to
Hugh Gournay, a noble baron, who was made Captain of castle Galliard, (which being built on a high rock over the Seyne, which King Richard I. had made impregnable) he defended it nobly for six months, against Philip King of France, doing him daily damage, for which reason King John suspected him not, yet at last he escaped not the blemish of ingratitude and infidelity, for he not only yielded up that castle to his enemies, but secretly in the night brought them into the castle of Montfort, which he betrayed unto them, not weighing his faith to his leige lord, who had given him that castle with the honour, and all the demeans thereto belonging, upon which he was proclaimed traitour in 1202, and all his revenues in England seized into the King's hands, and granted the same year to
John Marshall, nephew to William, who married Isabell, daughter and heiress of Richard Strongbow Earl of Pembrook, and Marshal of England, and was called the Old Marshal Earl of Pembrook; this John married Alice, daughter and coheir of Hubert de Rhye, Baron of Rhye in Norfolk, who, in 1204, gave the King three palfreys to have the livery of the lands and advowsons which were Hugh Gournay's and Hugh de Ayer's, and of Cantley and Caster: in the year 1207, he had a grant of the marshalship of Ireland; and in 1210, had a further confirmation of the manor of Hingham, and the hundred of Forehoe, to cut off all claim that the heirs of Cardo de Freshavil could make. In 1211, when the King's scutage was raised, it appeared that the barony of Rhye contained 35 knight's fees, and that upon the death of Hubert de Rhye, the last Baron, it went to his two daughters; Alice, married to John Marshal, and Isabell, to Roger de Cressi; and each of their husbands answered for 17 fees and an half; but this town and the barony went to Marshal, though now half of the fees were gone from it, and he was to hold the hundred, manor and advowson, as the head of his barony, at one fee; and at the same time, he obtained liberty of free-warren in those 17 fees and half, which now constituted the barony; in 1215, he was Sheriff of Norfolk and Suffolk with John Fitz Robert, and had the custody of Norwich castle; Le Neve says he died in 1234, leaving
John, his son and heir, who had livery of Hingham, Folsham, &c. the same year; he died in 1242, having enjoyed the whole barony of Rhye, Isabel, the other daughter of Hubert de Rye, being dead without issue by Roger de Cressi, her husband; and this year the King having raised a tallage upon all the demeans of the Crown in his own hands, granted writs to those who held manors of him, which formerly were ancient demean, and among others to the lord of this manor, to levy a reasonable tallage of his men, as also to John Lovell, for his manor of Dockyng, &c.; he was succeeded by
William le Marshall, his brother, who this year paid his relief, and had livery of his brother's possessions, except that part which Avelina, Aliva, or Alice le Marshal, daughter of Hubert de Rye, held in dower; in 1263, the King directed his writ to the sheriff of Norfolk, and Ralf de Berri, escheator, to respite Aliva le Marshall's homage, which she ought to do, as sister and heir to Isabell de Cressi, and to take her fealty and relief, on condition that if Alice, the widow of Stephen de Cressi, son of Isabell, be with child, then that half part of the barony to descend to that child. In 1264, William le Marshal had a charter for a fair here, when he was called Baron of Rhye, and was constituted a guardian of the peace in Northamptonshire, during the King's captivity; and he was one of the barons of the exchequer; in 1266, Alice le Marshal died, and William le Marshal also, who left
John Marshal, Baron of Rhye, their eldest son, a minor, about 10 years old, upon which the barony fell into the King's hands, during his nonage, who granted two parts of the manor and hundred to Jeffery de Luziniaco or Luzinian, and the third part to John de Britania; but in 1274, Luzinian being dead, the two parts remained in the King's hands; but in 1279, John le Marshal being of age, paid the King a hundred marks, for the relief of his barony, and livery of his lands; and it was then found by an inquisition that he held
Hingham manor and advowson with Forehoe hundred, of the barony, at one fee,
And also the manor of Buxton, in cupite, of the said barony, by the service of warding at Norwich castle, from six weeks to six weeks, paying for the wayt-fee, 20s. per annum, at 5s. each quarter.
The manor of Swanton, in chief of the said barony, as a member thereof,
And Hockering manor was also part of the barony, and afterwards reckoned as head of it.
In 1281, he was summoned to attend the King in his expedition into Wales; he died about 1283, leaving
William, his son and heir, a minor, about three years old, whose guardianship the King granted to John de Boun, who, in 1286, held Buxton manor of 100l. value, to which belonged view of frankpledge, assize of bread and ale, liberty of free-warren, and a common gallows.
Hingham manor and advowson, with Forekoe hundred, value 100l. per annum, to which belonged the same liberties, and the hundred paid 14s. per annum to the Exchequer.
Swanton manor and advowson was held in dower by Hawise or Alice, mother of William, and widow of John le Marshal, and was worth 60l. per annum, to which belonged, free-warren, weyf, view of frank-pledge, a ducking-stool, assize of bread and ale, the marriage of the said Hawise belonging to the King, but the estate at her death was to descend to her son.
Folesham and Hokering manors, and Folesham and Bintre advowsons belonging to the said William.
It seems he had a younger brother, named John, who died a minor, and was to have had Banham manor, if he had outlived Hawise his mother, but dying before her, it came to William, by whom it was given to his uncle Sir Anselm Marshal, Knt. at whose death it reverted to William again.
After he came of age, he was possessed of all his inheritance, and was summoned to attend King Edward I. at Carlisle, to go with him into Scotland to conquer the Scots; and in 1300, was summoned to Parliament as a Baron, and subscribed the letter written to the Pope about the succession of Scotland, that it was not his fee, and that he had no jurisdiction in temporal matters; he bare, as his ancestors did,
Gul. a bend lozenge or, as you may see in vol. i. p. 356.
In 1309, he was summoned to go against the Scots, who had broken the truce; he was resident here, and wrote himself Lord of Hingham; he gave the advowson of Buxton to the abbey of Gilbertines at Sempringham; in 1313, there being a quarrel between this William and Nicholas de Segrave, about the marshalship, which the King in the first year of his reign granted to the said Nicholas, the King commanded them not to come armed to the Parliament, nor no otherwise than as they used to do in King Edward the First's time; he died in 1314, leaving his estate to
John le Marshall, his son and heir, who paid 100 marks for the relief of his barony of Rye; in 1316, by an inquisition then taken, it was found that Forehoe hundred was worth 6l. 4s. 4d. and that Dionise and Hawise were his sisters and heirs, but Dionise being just dead, Hawise was his sole heir, who was married to Rob. de Morley; this John died in 1316, and Ela his wife, who afterwards married to Rob. Fitz Pain, had this manor assigned her in dower, when the fishery was worth 13s. 4d. per annum; there was a windmill and watermill, and alder-carr at Northwood, and the rents were 54l. 15s. per annum; he died seized of Hingham, Aldby, North Tudenham, Hokering, Buxton, Folsham, Forehoe and Eynsford hundreds, and the advowsons of all those churches, lands in Brandon, the churches of Mateshall, Mateshale-Burgh, Brandon, Norton, and many knights fees, as parcel of the honour of Rye, in Alby, Thelvetham, Wortham, Elingham, Tunstal, Depham, Morley, Snitterton, Shropham, Newton, Brugham, Hevingham, Draiton's manor in Scarning, Barford-Franceys, Dunham, Salle, Mulkeberton, Brundal, Wroxham, Lexham, Kilverstone, Dockyng, Gayton, Chedistan, and Gislingham in Suffolk, by which it appears all these were held of the honour; and besides these he had the marshalship, and a great estate in Ireland, the whole of which came to
Robert de Morley and Hawise his wife, and their heirs.
Sir Robert de Morley, Knt. and Hawise his wife, sister and heir of John le Marshal, paid their relief for the barony of Rye in the year 1323, viz. a hundred marks for the barony, and a hundred shillings for Hingham; and in 1326, he settled 8l. lands in Hingham, with the manors of Roydon and Sheringham, on William de Morley, his son, and Cecily, daughter of Thomas Lord Bardolf, his son's wife, and their heirs; and for want of issue, on Robert de Morley, his son, and his heirs male, which rent, William de Swathyng and Thomas de Weston held for life; in 1333, being then Marshal of Ireland, he granted lands in Walkerue in Hertfordshire to William de Berry; in 1335, Ela, relict of John le Marshal, was living, and then the wife of Robert Fitz Pain, [Filius Pagani,] and held the manor of Hingham in dower, which was to go at her death to William, son of Sir Robert de Morley, Knt. which William then was to have 19l. per annum out of the manor, because it so much exceeded her dower, but Robert de Morley, his father, was to have it for life, by the courtesy of England, and Sir Robert had granted it during his life to Sir Anselm Marshal, Knt. by deed dated at Swanton Morley, where Sir Robert then resided; in 1337, Sir Robert was Lieutenant of Norfolk; and in 1340, was sent into Britanny, in company with Walter de Manny, John Bardolf, John Tiptoft, and others, and had the wages for themselves and their men at arms paid at the Exchequer, before they set sail; and at the latter end of the same year, the King ordered him by letter to repair to him at Newcastle upon Tyne, with 40 men at arms, either to go into Scotland, or stay on the marches to hinder them invading England. In a deed dated this year, Sir Robert is called cousin and heir of Sir Robert de Montealt, formerly steward of Chester; in 1342, Nicholas de Taterfeld, and Thomas de Wyrham, held a messuage and 20 acres of land in capite of Hingham manor, by the service of finding one man at arms, in the retinue of the lord of Hingham, whenever he carried his men to the King's assistance; this was first granted by the lord, to Sir John de Camois, Knt. who sold it to Ralf de Maneby, he to Alfric Waryn, and he to William Fitte, who granted it to Taterfield and Wyrham; in 1342, Sir Robert, on the marriage of Joan, his second wife, settled Grimstone on her and Sir Peter de Tye, Knt. (whose daughter she seems to be,) in tail; in 1346, the King sent him a particular summons to transport himself and all the men he could raise, and not staying for the shipping of his horses, to repair immediately to him, then lying before Calais, besieging the same, fearing least the French King should come with a great army to raise the siege; in 1347, Sir Robert was heir to Baldwin de Manerijs, whose arms he granted to Rob. de Corby, by deed dated Jan. 6, 22d Edward III; he died in 1359, in France, and Joan his wife became a professed religious, but died soon after, in the same year, and
Sir William de Morley, Knt. his son and heir, inherited, who, in 1355, was one of the attendants of Robert Earl of Suffolk, in the King's service in Gascoign, and had the King's letter of protection on that account; and at his father's death inherited the manors of Morley, Hingham, Hockering, Swanton, Grimstone, Buxton, the hundreds of Forehoe and Eynesford, and the office of Marshal of Ireland, with Roydon, &c. in Norfolk, besides divers great estates in other counties, and in Ireland; in 1360, he confirmed his father's donations of lands in Rintre, Folsham, Geyst, and Geyst-Weyt, to the Prior of Walsingham; and the same year, among others, had the King's letter to attend Lionel, the King's son, Earl of Ulster, into Ireland, to recover that kingdom. This manor was after settled by Sir William, on himself for life, remainder to Thomas, his son, and his wife Joan, who seems to have been a Gournay, to be trustee; the hundred of Forehoe was then under a grant for life to John de Herling, who after obtained a grant for life of part of Hingham; by his will dated at Halingbury, in London diocese, March 9, 1379, and proved the 26th of May in that year, he ordered his body to be buried in the Austin Friars in Norwich, leaving his estate to
Sir Thomas, his son and heir, who was summoned to Parliament in 1381, and in 1384 was one of those Barons whom the King summoned to meet him at Newcastle upon Tyne, completely armed, with his whole service due from him, to accompany him into Scotland; in which expedition Edinburgh and many other towns were burnt, without any battle offered by the Scots, who were spoiling Cumberland in the same manner; in 1391, he had license to accompany the Duke of Gloucester into Prussia; in 1395, Oct. 20, there was a cause in the Court of Chivalry between Sir John Lovell, Knt. plaintiff, and this Sir Thomas, defendant, concerning the arms of the family of Morley, which they had born for some time, viz. a lion rampant sab. crowned and armed or, which, as the plaintiff declared in his libel, belonged to the Lords Burnel, whose heir he was, as he proved in the following manner: Sir Philip de Burnel, Knt. lord of Burnet, bare the said arms, and had issue Sir Edward Burnel, Knt. who died without issue, leaving Maud, his sister, his sole heir, who married Sir John Lord Lovel, and had Sir John Lord Lovel, the plaintiff; the Lord Morley pleaded that the arms belonged to his ancestors from the Conquest, time out of mind, without impeachment, except by Nicholas Lord Burnel, at the siege of Calais, who claimed against Sir Robert de Morley, his ancestor, to whom the arms were adjudged by the Constable and Marshal, and after Robert's death, his son William bore them, and the said Thomas had born them in divers expeditions, with the King's uncles, being his lieutenants; upon this, the plaintiff allowed, that sentence was given for Sir Robert at Calais, but says they were adjudged to Sir Robert for his life only, being to revert to the Lords Lovel and Burnel, and their heirs; to which the defendant answered, that the judgment was then given for Sir Robert Morley, who was his grandfather, that Sir William Morley, his father, always bore them, and that he himself had hitherto done so, and that his grandfather died in Edward the Third's time, in the French wars, and Sir William his father was in France at the same time with his father, and that neither he nor his grandfather was ever impeached for them: in the pleadings it was argued, that the triplication of the plaintiff should be admitted this time, but not for the future, in any other cause, it being contrary to the custom of the court, and it was ordered that none but lords, knights, esquires of honour, and gentlemen having knowledge of arms, should be admitted as witnesses, and no other commoners, and all to be sworn, except the Dukes of Lancaster, York, Gloucester, and the Earl of Derby; they had full liberty to make proof by deeds, chronicles, monuments, witnesses of abbots, priors, and other men of holy church, and other honourable persons that knew their ancestors. Sir Walter Bleut, Knt. was Lovell's first witness, who swore positively that the arms belonged to the Lords Burnel and their right heirs, that he remembered Sir Michael Burnel challenged them from Sir Robert de Morley at the battle and siege of Calais, in the church of St. Peter by that town, when King Edward III. took the cause into his own hands, and the arms were adjudged by William de Bohun Earl of Northampton, Constable, and the Earl of Warwick, Marshal, to Sir Robert Morley only for his life, for his valiant deeds performed, and his heirs and kindred excluded from bearing thereof, they being to belong to the Lord Burnel afterwards. Sir Ralf de Theyne, Knt. aged 47, who had bore arms 30 years, swears the same, and that he was present in the great inroad in France, towards Orleans, with Edward III. where Sir Robert Morley likewise was, and in which he died, and at his death ordered his banner to be delivered to the heirs of the Lord Burnel, as belonging to them. Robert Cobb, Esq. aged 60, and had born arms 50 years, sware the same, and that he had been in seven mortal battles, and that Sir John Sully, Sir Thomas Hakefield, the Bishop of Durham, Thomas Duke of Lancaster, and many others, were present at the judgment at Calais. John Moleham, Esq. aged 70, having bore arms 44 years, swore the same, and that he was servant to Sir Will. Bokun Earl of Northampton, and Constable of England, at the siege of Calais, and that he was assigned clerk for the Court of Chivalry, for the Constable, that he was present when Sir Nich. Burnel petitioned the Constable, and Sir Tho. Beauchamp, then Marshal of England, and challenged the arms of Sir Robert Morley, and there were no less than twenty witnesses that proved the same; besides this, the plaintiff produced several old shields, banners, paintings on walls and glass, about the conventual church, and house of the Friars-Austins under Candich by Oxford, as belonging to Sir Philip Burnel, buried there. Sir Tho. Blount, the elder of Oxfordshire, aged 64, having born arms 50 years in England, France, and Scotland, swore to the right of the arms of Burnel, and says particularly, that he was with King Edward III. at the battle of La Hoge, where he heard that a Lord Burnel challenged the arms of Sir Robert Morley, then being in a coat of those arms, at which time there were several other challenges of arms; but the King considering the great mischiefs which might arise by such challenges, commanded the Constable and Marshal to make proclamation, that all challenges should cease, till the King should come to a place where they might be determined; and after the battle of Cressi, the King came to besiege Calais, when Sir Tho. Blount was wounded in the knee, afore Tirocen, and was forced to keep his bed in his tent, where Sir Tho. West came to him, and told him that the arms were adjudged by the King's command, with the assent of the Lord Burnel, by the Constable and Marshal, to belong to Sir Robert for life only, for the honour he had done those arms, remainder to the Lord Burnel's heirs. Will. Wollaston, Esq. aged 96 years, was in arms, first at the battle of Strivelin in Scotland, where he saw Sir Edward late Lord Burnel bear those arms, as also in France and Brittany. Rich. Bruns, Esq. swears the same as the former, but adds, that Maud Burnel, after the death of her first husband, John Lord Lovell, married one Sir John Hadlo, Knt. and had by him Sir Nicholas, who was called Sir Nicholas de Burnel, on whom his mother Maud settled all she could. Friar Alex. Kyngham, of the conventual church of St. Austin of Candich by Oxford, sware that he took the paintings on the church walls, and in the glass, to be the arms of Sir Philip Burnel, who was reputed one of their founders, and was buried in their quire. Sir Nich. Stratford, canon of Osney, having his abbot's license, deposed that Sir Rob. Burnel was buried in their church, and that his banner of these arms hung up there. Sir Hugh Camois, Knt. swears the arms belonged to Burnel, for that he was at a town called Burnell in Normandy, where he saw these arms round the tombs of the Lords Burnel; that he lived with Dame Alayn, widow of Sir Edw. Burnel, son and heir of Sir Philip Burnel, and that if any person had a right to many arms by divers causes, he may use and leave out others, and yet not renounce the arms he leaves out, and that this was the custom and right of arms. Edw. Acton, Esq. swears that Sir Edward, son of Sir Philip Burnel, lies buried in the abbey of Blidewas in Shropshire, with the arms in question, and that arms cannot be alienated according to the law of arms. Ralf de Chinebury, Esq. deposed, that the manors of Sparkeford, Upton, and Cheriton in Somersetshire, Enham in Hampshire, 500l. rent in Nantwich, and the manor of Capenhale in Cheshire, came to the Lord Lovell, by the match with Maud Burnel. The defendant, on on the other side, produced divers grants, deeds, &c. with the seals of a lion rampant on a shield, affixed thereto, and in particular the deed of Sir Matthew de Morley, mentioned in vol. i. p. 41; but none of them had a crown upon the lion's head, and indeed it is certain that the most ancient arms of Morley are arg. a lion rampant, sab. sometimes double quevee, or double-tailed, and are the arms of Roger de Cressi, assumed by the Morleys, as I have observed in vol. i. p. 45; but notwithstanding this, the Morleys having used them so long, and without claim at the death of Sir Robert, according to the judgment at Calais, Sir Thomas and his generation ever after used the arms contended for, and the Burnels generally used the same with the distinction of a bordure az.
In 1396, the men of Hincham were discharged from paying toll, as tenants in ancient demean; in 1402, in the close rolls, this Sir Thomas's will is inrolled, upon the marriage of Robert, his son and heir, with Isabell, daughter of Lord Molins, by which he settled the manor of Swanton-Morley on them and their heirs, and ordered his feoffees to settle all his manors, except Buxton, Hingham, and Forehoe hundred, (which they were to retain to pay his debts,) on his son and his heirs, and after the debts were paid, they were to be conveyed to him also; in 1402, this Thomas was found by inquisition then taken, to hold the manors of Hingham, Morley, Swanton, Buxton, Hockering, and Aldby, with the hundreds of Forehoe and Eynsford in Norfolk, Great-Halingbury in Essex, Walkerne in Hertfordshire, and Aslakby in Lincolnshire, by the service of the third part of the barony of Rhye, but he and his ancestors were always to pay 100 marks relief for the whole barony, they having undertaken, upon divers alienations, to answer the whole.
This Sir Robert Morley, Knt. died before his father Sir Thomas, and Isabell survived him; for in 1405, by the name of Isabell, widow of Sir Robert Morley, Knt. Sir Philip la Vache, Knt. her relation, on her behalf sealed the marriage articles, with Rich. Berners, Esq. who settled on her divers manors in Essex, as her jointure. In 1407, Thomas Lord Morley, Knt. was a great friend to Sir Edward Hastyngs Knt. his neighbour, being pledge for him in the cause between him, and the Lord Reginald Grey of Ruthyn, in the Court of Chivatrie, where he was a witness for him, being then 60 years old; he swore that he knew Sir Edward's father and grandfather, and that the Countess of Pembrook last deceased told him at Framlingham castle, that John Hastyngs, brother of Sir Hugh, rather of Edward the defendant, came to that place, and the Countess declared, that Sir Hugh Hastyngs, the valiant knight, was her son's heir, and that he and Sir Hugh, the defendant's father, in King Edward the Third's time, were at the relief of Rochell, where he bore the Hastyngses coat with the label, and at the voyage for the relief of Brest, of St. Malos del Isle, the Earl of Buckingham's journey into France, the voyage into Scotland by King Richard II. that he heard John Maperley, in the presence of John Birlingham, parson of Roydon, say, that Sir Edward's evidences were burnt, and that bribery was used to procure inquisition for Grey, in Notinghamshire, the sheriff receiving 10l. and that this was done in hopes that by reason of the short lives of the Hastyngs's family, he might come to be heir to the Earl of Pembrook; and Thomas Lucas of East-Dereham swore in the same cause, that (Robert) the son of the Lord Morley, who died in his father's lifetime, was buried in the FriarsAustin's church in Norwich, and had his father's arms with a label of three points on his sepulchre, as a proof that the heir apparent always bears the label. In 1408, he procured an exemplification of the grant of the office of Marshal of Ireland, made by King John, to John le Mareschal and his heirs; in 1412, he resided at his manor of Alby, and licensed Thomas Fouldon of Welbourne to enclose lands in his hundred of Forehoe: in 1414, he obtained a writ under the King's seal, directed to the major, sheriffs, and other officers of the city of Norwich, telling them that Hingham and Foulsham were ancient demean, and that the tenants, by virtue thereof, were excused paying toll in all England, and therefore he commanded them, that they should demand no toll of any of the tenants in Hingham or Foulsham, for any goods bought or sold in their city, nor disturb any of them on that account. This is entered in an ancient court-book of mayoralty, begun 3d Henry V. This Thomas Lord Morley was summoned to Parliament from 1381, 5th Richard II. to 4th Henry V. 1415, in which year he died, on the 25th of September, after he had escaped all the dangers of the sea fight before Harflew, where he behaved with great courage: and coming to King Henry V. at Calais, after ten days sickness of a flux or high fever, he died there, and was buried at St. Marie's church at Calais, the King of England, and Sigismond the Emperour being at his solemn exequies. Anne, his second wife, daughter of Edward Lord Dispencer, and widow of Sir Hugh Hastyngs of Elsing, and Gressenhall, Knt. survived him, and died seized of the manor of Clopton and Blaxhall, in Suffolk, about 1426. At his death, his estate went to his grandson,
Sir Thomas Lord Morley, Baron of Rie, and Marshal of Ireland, then 23 years of age; in 1414, he was retained to serve Henry V. in his French wars, and was to be at Dover May 23, with 10 men at arms and 30 archers on horseback, and was to be paid a quarter's wages down in English gold, or other money currant in France, by the treasurer at war there; and on May 1, 1420, he covenanted with the King, to have all the prisoners he and his men could take, except kings, princes, kings sons, and especially Charles, who called himself Dauphine de Vienne, and other great captains of royal blood, and other captains and lieutenants under the said Charles, except also all those who murdered the Duke of Burgoyne. The seal to this indenture are the arms of Morley, but the lion is not crowned; the crest is a bear's head muzzled, the circumscription,
"Sigillum Thome Morley Marescalli Nibernie."
He lived till 14th Henry VI. 1435, and then died seized, jointly with Isabell his wife, of the whole estate, and was buried in the chancel of Hingham, under a noble monument against the north wall, which still remains, the said Isabell his wife being buried by him, as is before observed. At his death,
Robert Lord Morley, his son, was 16 years old, who, in 1440, confirmed to Isabell his mother all her right in this manor and advowson, and the fishery called Semere, in the manors and advowsons of Alby, Hokering, Foulsham, Swanton, Morley, and Eynsford and Forehoe hundreds, with the advowsons of Brandon-Parva, Bintre, Mateshall-Burgh, and Hadesco-Thorp. This Robert died in 1442; Elizabeth, daughter of William Ros, his wife, survived him, by whom he had only one daughter and heiress, then forty weeks old, named
Alianora, or Eleanor, who inherited his whole estate, Elizabeth her mother holding her dower for life; she afterwards married
William, a younger son of William Lord Lovell of Tichmersh, who in her right became Lord Morley, and in 1466 had his homage respited for some time; he was possessed of the estate, and died seized of it, July 23d 1475, and Eleanor his wife died Aug. 20, the same year, leaving
Henry Lovell Lord Morley, their son and heir, then 11 years old; and in 1487, he had a special livery to enter all his lands; in 1489, he settled Hingham, Buxton, and Forehoe hundred, on trustees, to pay his debts, and this very year he was slain at Dixmue in Flanders, leaving no issue by Elizabeth his wife, who was daughter to John de la Pole Duke of Suffolk, for which reason his estate descended to
Alice, his only sister, 21 years old, then the wife of
William Parker of London, Knt. who had possession of the manors of Hingham, Foulsham, Hockering, Swanton, Morley, Alby, Mateshale, Buxton, North-Tudenham, the hundreds of Eynsford and Forehoe, the advowsons of Hingham, Swanton-Morley, Bintre, Folsham, Windel, Morley, Hockering, and Brandon, in Norfolk, Halingbury manor and advowson in Essex, Stanlak manor and lands in Oxfordshire, Walkern manor, and Chalkworth manor and advowson in Hertfordshire, East-Cleydon, in Buckinghamshire, and 50 marks rent out of Shobingdon manor in the same shire, saving to Elizabeth, widow of Sir Henry Lovell, her dower. After the death of Sir William Parker, Knt. she remarried to Sir Edward Howard, second son of Thomas Duke of Norfolk, and Elizabeth his wife; he was elected Knight of the Garter, but never installed, for being Admiral of England, he was killed before Brest, April 25, 5th Henry VIII. This Alice, at her death, which happened about 1518, was buried in this chancel, and by will ordered 26l. 13s. 4d. to be expended for a gravestone to be laid over her.
Henry Parker, son and heir of Sir William Parker, and the said Alice, was first Knight of the Bath, and afterwards, in 21st Henry VIII. 529, was summoned to Parliament by the title of Lord Morley, Baron of Rhie; he married Alice, daughter of Sir John Bletso, Knt.; in 1523, 18th Aug. this Henry, (who was then called Lord Morley,) Edward Lee Archdeacon of Colchester, Sir William Hussey, Knt. and Thomas Wriothesley, Garter, were appointed commissioners to carry the garter to Ferdinando Infant of Castile; in 1536, upon the marriage of Sir Henry Parker, Knt. his son and heir, with Grace, daughter and heiress of Sir Robert Newport of Pelham in Hertfordshire, he got an Act of Parliament passed to enable himself and wife to settle divers lands and tenements on the said Grace in jointure. This Sir Henry the son, had issue by the said Grace, his first wife, Henry Lord Morley, and by Elizabeth, his second wife, who was the sole daughter and heiress of Sir Philip Calthorp, Knt. he had Sir Philip Parker, of Arwarton, Knt. whose son, Sir Calthorp Parker, Knt. was great-grandfather to the present  Sir Philip Parker, of Arwarton, Bart. who is by lineal descent intitled to be Lord Morley, the issue of the first wife failing in Thomas Lord Morley and Monteagle, who died in 1697. In 1547, Henry Lord Morley was possessed of Hingham with all its members, divers small manors or free tenements being now purchased in, and united to the manor; Sir Henry Parker, son and heir to the Lord Morley, died about 1550, and about a year after, Elizabeth his widow married Sir William Woodhouse, Knt. at the death of Henry Lord Morley, father of the last mentioned Henry, who outlived his son, and died in 1556.
Henry Parker, Knt. his grandson inherited, who by an inquisition taken at the shire-house at Norwich, was found to be Lord Morley, Baron of Rhye, and heir to the hundreds of Forehoe and Eynsford, Hingham, Buxton, Swanton-Morley, &c. being then about 24 years old, in 1561. Upon his marriage with Elizabeth, daughter and heir of Edw. Stanley Earl of Derby, he settled the hundred of Forehoe, &c. on Henry Stanley Lord Strange, her trustee; and by the said Isabell he had
Edward Lord Morley, who married Elizabeth, daughter and heir of William Stanley Lord Monteagle, in whose right William, their son, became Lord Monteagle. This Edward was summoned to Parliament, 23d Elizabeth by the name of Edward Lord Morley, Baron of Rye, and had the manors of Hingham, Buxton, Forehoe, Mateshale, Tudenham, Folsham, Eynesford hundred, besides others in Essex and Hertfordshire: at the death of Sir William Stanley, Knt. Lord Monteagle, who died 10th Nov. 23d Elizabeth, at Skypton in Yorkshire, Elizabeth, wife to Edward Lord Morley, Baron of Rye, was found his heir. It was this Edward that divided and sold most, if not the whole, of the ancient estate of the Lord Morley in this county; and this manor, advowson, and hundred of Forehoe, about 1583, belonged to
Sir Thomas Lovel of East-Herling, Knt. who left it to
Sir Francis Lovel, Knt. his son and heir, who owned it in 1620, in which year, by deed dated 2d April, he aliened the manor of Hingham, Waters, Andrews, and Baconsthorp, with their appurtenances in Hingham, Hardingham, Runhall, Barnham-Broome, EastTudenham, Wramplingham, &c. with the hundred of Forehoe, to
Sir Henry Bedingfield, Knt. in trust, who the next year joined with the said Francis Lovell, and conveyed them absolutely to
Sir Thomas Woodhouse, Knt. and his trustees, by deed dated April 1, in whose family they have continued ever since,
Sir John Woodhouse of Kimberley, Bart. being now  lord and patron.
This manor is still intitled to all the privileges of ancient demean; the chief of the lands are freehold, and all fines and recoveries of the freehold lands held of the manor are levied and suffered in the court here; fines and recoveries at common law are void, and have been set aside. There is a mere called Semere, which belongs to the lord; the courts are held by the insoken and outsoken, and there were separate juries for the several united manors of Baconsthorp, Waters, and Andrews. The leet belongs to the manor, at which the constables and four heywards or messors are chosen; there is a weekly market on Saturday, and three annual fairs, viz. on St. Matthias's day, Feb. 24. on St. Matthew's day, Sept. 21, and on Whitsun-Tuesday. The Atlas, fo. 308, tells us, that "this town hath had the bad fate to be burned down, but is since re-built in a finer form, and the inhabitants suitable to the place, are taken notice of as a gentile sort of people, so fashionable in their dress, that the town is called by the neighbours Little-London."
St. Andrews' Manor
Was originally part of the capital manor, granted by the lords thereof to the family sirnamed De Hengham, and most likely to that Sir Andrew de Hengham, Knt. who confirmed the gifts of his father and ancestors, of lands in Burgh and Thurton, to Langley abbey, from whom the manor received its name; he was father of
Sir Ralph de Hingham, Knt. who was Justice of the King'sBench, and held that post 16 years; and in 1270, had 40l. per annum fee. He was canon of the church of St. Paul's in London, Justice Itinerant in 1271, 72, 74, &c. and was chief commissioner for the government of the kingdom in the absence of Edward 1. when he went into the Holy-Land; but after that King's return, he was one of the judges that was cast out of his place for bribery and corruption, being fined 7000 marks, a prodigious sum in those days, which being not immediately paid, he was imprisoned, and after banished, with nine more of his brethren, two only escaping, viz. John de Metingham and Elias de Bekingham; but after his fine paid, he gave such signs of true repentance, and such satisfaction to the publick for his faults, that he was made Chief Justice of the Common Pleas, 1st Edward II. 1308, and dying that year, was buried under a niche in the wall of the north isle of St. Paul's cathedral, as may be seen in Mr. Dugdale's History of that church, fo. 47, 100, 101; an account of him we also meet with in Mr. Weaver's Funeral Monuments, fo. 367, and much of him may be seen in the Cronica Series, &c. at the end of Mr. Dugdale's Origines Juridiciales, from fo. 24 to 34. In 1278, he gave a house in Holme, by the common of Rungeton, to which parish Hulme then belonged, to the parson of St. Mary of Rungeton, and his successours for ever, with an acre of land belonging to it; in 1282, he was summoned with the other judges to be at Salop, to advise with the King about the Welsh affairs: this Parliament was held at ActonBurnel, as appears from Mr. Rymer, vol. ii. p. 258. It appears that Sir William de Hengham, Knt. was his uncle; in 1298, he conveyed part of Hingham wood, which belonged to this manor, to William, son of Sir John le Marshal, by deed, to which is fixed a seal of a shield, on which are five martlets between two chevrons, 2, 2, 1; the legend is, [Ave Maria: Gratia plena].; he had another uncle called Adam de Hingham, who had two sons, William and Richard.
In 1286, Robert de Hingham held this manor by the Judge's grant, and was presented for holding a whole knight's fee, and being of full age and not knighted; it seems he died not long after, for
In 1296, William de Hengham, another brother of the Judge, held it of him for life.
In 1303, I find one Andrew de Hengham, whom I take to be son of this William, married to Amabil, daughter and coheir to Robert Burnel, who presented to the church of Bathele this year. Mr. Neve says, that in 1307, Ralf de Hingham was summoned to attend the coronation of King Edward II. with the other judges of the realm, and of the King's council. This manor immediately after, if not before, the Judge's death, was conveyed to the lord of the head manor, and now it continues a member of it.
There are divers other small manors, now included in the great manor of Hingham cum Membris, as
Baconsthorpe so called from Robert de Bacons-Thorpe, lord in 1314, who then held it at half a fee.
Rothing-hall, of which I find nothing more but that it was held at the fourth part of a fee in 1239, by Peter de Laringsete, and seems to belong to John de Wysam, who had free-warren granted him here in 1327; it was called Rothyng, no doubt, from some of its ancient lords.
Waters belonged to William de Calthorp, who had free-warren granted him in 1270, and seems to belong to William de Blundevile of Newton, in 1275.
Wylby manor belonged to Oliver de Vaux, one of the rebellious Barons, who held it of the capital manor; in 1215, it was seized by the King, and was after Sir Will. de Huntercomb's, in right of Alice, his second wife, whose second son, Thomas, inherited it; in 1290, Bald. de Manerijs had free-warren granted him here; in 1330, Rob. de Manerijs, and Remigius parson of Hingham, settled a messuage, 50 acres of demean, the manor, &c. on John de Snitterton of Norwich, and Maud his wife; and in 1357, Reginald de Eccles, John de Stoke of Norwich, and Alice his wife, and others, settled it on Adam de Hautboys parson of Cockfield, &c. and then it contained two messuages, 80 acres of land, 9 acres of meadow, three of pasture and wood, and 9s. rent. In 1413, John Wylby was lord, from whom it took its present name, and he it was, that conveyed it to the Morleys.
Was part of the great manor, granted to a younger branch of the family, before the forfeiture; it continued always in the family of that name residing at Barsham and Great-Elingham, in this county; Henry Gurney was lord in 1572; how it passed afterwards I do not find; but in 1715 it was owned by Mr. Larwood of Norwich, merchant.
Elingham Hall Manor
Took its name from its owners; in 1292, Ralf de Bukenham, parson of Great-Elingham, as trustee, settled the manor, which contained 12 messuages, 100 acres of land, 6 of meadow, 24 of wood and pasture, and 20s. rent in Hingham, Suthbergh, Hardyngham, Rymeston, Little Elingham, Woodrising, and Honingham, on Alex. de Elingham, and Beatrice his wife; they added to it, by purchasing many lands of Roger de Brom; it was held by half a fee of the Earl Marshal: in 1345, Ralf de Elingham had it, and John de Snitterton held a fourth part of it of him; and in 1401, Rich. Caus held it, it being conveyed in 1383, by Robert de Ashfield and John Pyeshale, to Thomas Cause of Hockham, father to the said Richard.
The Morleys were concerned here long before they were possessed of the manor; Ingulf de Morle, who was a witness to the foundation charter of Windham priory, held lands of the head manor; in 1198, Robert de Morlai had lands here, and after the head manor went out of the family, there was a good estate remained in a younger branch of it, which passed with that branch as Roydon did, to the Ratcliffs; in 1482, Rob. Morley, Esq. who was buried in Hingham church, ordered his best horse, saddle, and bridle, to be led before his body at the day of his burial. and to be delivered at the church to the curate or his deputy, in the name of a mortuary; Elizabeth his wife and Emma his daughter are mentioned.
There is a free school here, and north-west of the church, about four furlongs distance, is a handsome seat, built by Mr. Bullock, the present  owner, and about a furlong south-west, stands a good parsonage-house, built by the present rector; and something more south, is a neat house, in which dwells Mr. John Amyas, attorney at law, to whose family I find the following arms were granted, which he now bears, viz.
Arg. a boar's head cooped, between three cross croslets sab.
or Honingham, that is, the village on the side of the hill by the waters, which answers exactly to its situation.
The Church is dedicated to St. Andrew, and hath a square tower and four bells, the nave, south porch, and chancel, are leaded.
On brass plates in the nave,
Pray for the Samle of Richard Hinsent.
Pray for the Soule of Katherine late wife of Richard Hincente, on whose Sowle Jesu have mercy. Mo CCCCC forti fouer.
Pray for the soule of Richard Hensent of whois soule Jesu habe mercy Amen. Anno dni: m CCCCCo rl iiii.
Blakney, sab. a chevron erm. between three leopards faces or.
Orate pro Anima Johannis Blakney Armigeri ruius anime propirietur Deus.
Elizabeth, his wife, was buried by him in 1515.
Orate pro anima Thome Hyncent qui obiit rrro die Julii Ao dni: Mo ccccc lbi. cuius Anime propicietur Deus.
Sam. Uncles, Servant to Lord Richardson died 23 Sep. 1658, and left John his son.
In a north window,
Cateline, party per chevron az. and or, three lions passant gardant counterchanged, on a chief of the second, a crescent for difference, impaling Spencer, quarterly arg. and gul. in 1st and 4th, on a bend sab. three mullets arg. in the 2d and 3d, a frette or.
There were also the arms of Calthorp and Barry.
Rider, az. three doves volant proper, crowned or, impaling
Baylie, az. three crescents or.
M. S. Priscilla Relict of Mr. Richard Baylie of London Merchant, Daughter of Sir William Rider of London Knt. died 19 March 1712, Æt. 62.
Virtute et Pietate, acquiritur æterna Fœlicitas.
There are two brass plates fastened to the chancel wall, on the north side, on which are these inscriptions,
1. Munere, Gaudæo junctus, Virtute, Labore, Temporibus, Patria, Fortuna, Moribus, Annis, Funere conjunctus, Terras, Catalina reliquit.
Fœlices ambo, pariter quos Vita beatos Fecerat, & simili pariter Mors Funere mersit, Corpore major eras Gaudæe, minusque timebas Cætera cum Socio, Socius Catalina tenebat. Orba suis luget, Norfolcia mœsta, Patronis, Et dolet amissas, geminato Vulnere, Vires.
2. Hos Mariæ Regni florentes viderat Annus Tertius, Augustus conjunxit Fenere Mensis. Vos quibus est Juris nostratis propria Cura, Vivite Justiciæ memores, Mortisque futuræ, Gracia non violet, non ulla potentia Leges, Ut Catalina jacet, Sic cætera Turba jacebit.
This Epitaph is taken out of the reverend and learned Mr. Plowden's book of Reports.
Between the two brasses is a mural monument, with the arms of Catline and Spencer, as before, only on the chief of Catline's coat are three snakes sab.; his effigies is in scarlet robes, with his three sons kneeling behind him, and her's in black, with her three daughters behind her; a fald-stool is between them, at which they kneel.
Over their heads,
Sixty Yeares since heere stood but now decay'd, The Tombe were Serjeant Catelyn then was lay'd. Though that demolisht be, his highest Fame, Still lasts: Sage Plowden doth supporte the same. Barbara his Wife, Spencer by Byrth, did Place That Pile; shee to him living, was a Grace, And after did soe well his Orphans reare, Their Offspringe now, his best memorialls are, Thomas their Sonn, by her at Lakenham plac't Doth thus renew the Tombe that Time defaced. Anno Dom: 1618.
Over the sons' heads,
1. Richard, married Dyonise Daughter of Tho. Marsh, Clerke of the Starr Chamber.
2. Thomas, married Judith Daughter of Edward Elyinton of Thoyden Boys, Chief Butler of England.
3. Ralf, married the Daughter and Heire of Richard Cole of Barfold Gent.
Over the daughters' heads,
1. Ann, married to Tho. Dereham of West-Dereham, Esq.
2. Elizabeth, married to Tho. Townsend of Testerton Esq.
3. Lettice, married to Will: Guybon, then of Fincham Esq.
On a stone in the chancel are the arms, crest, and supporters of the Lord Richardson, and this,
M. S. Hic jacet Thomas Richardson Inclytus Baro de Cramond apud Scotos, Vir invicta Fide, et Fortitudine, Qui nullis Fanaticorum Factionibus infectus in corruptissimo seculo Integer continuit, et suum Commodum præ causa Regali post habuit, obijt Maij 16, Anno Dom: 1674, et Ætatis suæ 47.
Here also lyeth the Body of Anne his Lady, who died January 31, Anno Domini 1697.
The whole town of Huningham, with the hamlet of Thorp, (now called Huningham-Thorp,) belonged to the manor of Cossey, as you may see at p. 407, when Huningham was six furlongs long, and five broad, and Thorp was five furlongs long, and four broad, and both paid 6d. ob. gelt. The whole continued with Cossey some time, till the lords thereof granted divers fees and the advowson of the church from it, though great part of it, with the paramountship, belongs to Cossey at this day, having always passed along with it: the parts granted off constituted the manors of Horfordhall, Curson's or Huningham Hall, and Branston's Hall or Huningham-Thorp manor: in 1434, John Shepherd, bailiff of Cossey, and John Baroghby, forester, accounted for 68s. quitrent, rents of a fullingmill, watermill, and dove-house, for 2000 arrows sold at 10s. which cost five shillings the making, and for repairing the common oven, which the lord maintained for his tenants in this town to bake in.
Horford Hall Manor
Was granted from Cossey in Richard the First's time, to Will. de Orford or Horford, who granted a part of it to John le Botiler: in 1286, Rob. de Horford, then lord, sued the Abbot of Bon-Repos for the advowson, and proved so plainly that William his ancestor presented Boecius to a moiety of the rectory, before it was given the abbey, that he had a duel granted him, by the itinerant justices, against his adversary; but the abbot not liking the judgment, paid him 120 marks, and got his release, and confirmation of the advowson to him and his successours; during the dispute, which lasted a long time, John de Ferreby held it in commendam. In 1315, John de Horford was lord. In 1318, Will. de Horford held part of it of Cossey manor, by the rent of 33s. 5d. ob. yearly, and suit of court at Cossey, from three weeks to three weeks, and the other part of Will. Buteler, and left Christian his daughter and heir. In 1323, John de Morele of Ashele, chaplain, and Brian de Horford, settled it on Ralf de Botiler and Alianor his wife; in 1507, Tho. Blakeney left it to Elizabeth his wife, till his son John came of age, and if he died before, it was to go to Roger Townsend, Esq.; in 1546, John Blakeney was lord; and in 1586, Tho. Marshe, Esq. sold it to Rich. Catelyn, Esq. and so it was united to Huningham Hall.
Branston Hall, or Huningham-Thorp Manor
Constantia or Constance, daughter of Earl Conan, Dutchess of Britanny and Countess of Richmond, gave to Christopher her pantler, (Panetario Suo,) for his good service done her, the land of Thorp, (now Huningham-Thorp,) with the appurtenances, viz. 100 acres of land, and 6 of meadow, a messuage and a fald-course, to be held by the 20th part of a fee: and the said Christopher conveyed it to Margaret Countess of Richmond, for 40 marks, which Jeffry, son of King Henry, Duke of Brittain and Earl of Richmond, gave him for so doing; she gave it to the abbey of St. Mary at Sautree in Lincolnshire, and Alan, Viscount of Rohan confirmed it, viz. all his land in Huningham, in the soc of Costessey called Thorp, and Jeffry Viscount of Rohan confirmed it also, paying to Cossey 10s. per annum; the abbot granted it off in parcels to be held of him; in 1202, Jeffry Fitz-William settled two carucates of land, part of it here, and in Estun, on William de Estun; and the same year, Jeffry de Estun and Hawise of Poitou, settled another part on him; in 1249, Jeffry Peytevin was possessed of them, and settled them on Richard, son of Philip de Branteston, whose name the manor still bears: in 1273, Will. de Branteston gave Rich. de Branteston and Emma his wife many lands and tenements here, which much enlarged the manor, which, before 1442, was united to Huningham Hall.
Huningham Hall, or Curson's Manor
Was part of Cossey, granted to the Tateshals, lords of BukenhamCastle, and after the division of the estate of that family, was always held of Hetherset manor, by knight's service, it paying at this day a rent of 3s. 4d. a year to the manor of Hetherset Cromwell's. In 1279, Sir Rob. de Tateshale and Mary de Nevile held it, and paid the same castle-ward to Richmond castle as Sir Ralph Fitz-Ralph did, who lately held it; it came afterwards to the Cursons; in 1345, Sir Rob. de Curson held it at half a fee, of the heirs of Rob. de Tateshale; in 1379, John Curson, lord here, died intestate; in 1401, Eustace Rous held it as trustee to Katerine, daughter of John Curson, then wife of Nicholas Norman of London; and in 1442, the said Catherine settled Curson's and Branteston's manors here, on her son, John Norman, whose brother, John Norman, then an Esquire in the King's household, released them also, in 1465, this John was married to Emma, daughter of Rob. Morley, Esq. upon whom he settled this manor; John le Brun, rector of Rockland Toftys St. Peter, and John Yatys of Huningham, chaplain, being trustees; his seal is his arms, with an annulet, viz. arg. on a chevron ingrailed, between three herons, each with an eel in his beak, an annulet. Her's is Morley's arms, but the lion hath no crown; they left one daughter, Jane, married to Will. Dogget of St. Faith's, Gent. whose son Edmund married Elizabeth, sister of Sir Henry Sharnbourn of Sharnebourn, Knt.; and in 1547, the said Edmund Dogget and Anthony his son sold the manors to
Richard Catlyne, Esq. of Huningham, reader of Lincoln's-Inn; and in 1558, the Queen's serjeant at law; before his death, he sold them to
Thomas Barrow of Newton in Suffolk, who died seized in 1590, leaving them to
William Barrow, his son and heir, 40 years old, though Mary, his mother, who was one of the daughters and heirs of Henry Bures, Esq. had part settled on her for life.
This William first married Frances, daughter of Sir Rob. Wingfield, Knt. by whom he had no issue;
By Elizabeth, daughter of Tho. Dandy. Gent. he had four children, of which Maurice and Frances survived him; he died 24th Dec. 1613, and is buried in Westhorp church in Suffolk; but before his death, viz. about 1600, he sold his whole estate here to
Thomas Richardson, Esq. afterwards Lord Chief Justice, in which family it continued, as by the pedigree appears, till
Thomas Lord Richardson, his grandson, sold it to
Richard Baylie, D. D. President of St. John's college in Oxford, and Dean of Sarum, who married Elizabeth, daughter of Jo. Robinson, Archdeacon of Notingham, who married a sister of Archbishop Laud; he lies buried in a vault under a little chapel built by himself, at St. John's college, Oxford, in 1667, Æt. 82; his wife, who was sister of Sir John Robinson, Bart. Lieutenant of the Tower, was buried in Magdalen church in Oxford, in 1666, leaving
Rich. Baylie, their son and heir, who was an India merchant, and lived at London and Huningham; he married Priscilla, daughter of Sir Will. Ryder of London, Knt. and was created LL. D. and died in 1675, and was buried by his father, leaving
Will. Baylie of Huningham, who died single, and
Priscilla Baylie, a daughter, who sold Huningham to
Mr. Charles Cotton of Gracious-Street, London, mercer, who sold it to
Will. Townsend, Esq. a younger son of Charles Lord Townsend; he married the Honourable Henrietta, daughter of William Lord Pawlet, whose widow she now  is, and holds the manor for life,
Charles Townsend, Esq. their son, now a minor, being heir in reversion.
Huningham vicarage is valued in the King's Books, at 8li. 12s. 6d. and being sworn of the clear yearly value of 44l. 3s. 10d. ob. it is discharged of first fruits and tenths; it paid 18d. synodals, 13d. ob. Peter-pence, and 16d. ob. carvage; the ancient custom of this parish being, that when any woman is churched, every married woman in the parish pays the vicar an half-penny a piece, and the same at every parishioner's wedding, as the Bishop of St. Asaph's Collections inform me.
This rectory belonged to the manor of Cossey, till it was given to the abbey of Bon-Repos in Brittany in France, which was founded in the year 1184, June 23, in the parish of Mur, in the diocese of Quimxer, by Alan de Rohan, son of the Viscount of Rohan, with the consent of Constance his wife, as Lobmeau in his history of Bretaigne (p. 168) informs us, to which abbey the said Alan gave this advowson, &c. as is before observed at p. 416; notwithstanding which, in 1234, King Henry III. claimed the advowson against the Abbot, alleging that King John, as guardian to the lands of the Earl of Bretagne, presented Alan de Bassingbourn to the rectory, as belonging to Cossey manor, and that at his death, Alex, de Basingbourne, his son, was presented by the King on the same account; but the claim dropt, upon the Abbot's proving that the manors of Cossey and Huningham were the inheritance of Conan Earl of Britain, who gave them to Alan Viscount of Rohan, in marriage with Constance, his daughter, which Alan gave the advowsons to the abbey, as the deeds proved; and the jury also found that this church formerly had two moieties, which were consolidated by Pandulf Bishop of Norwich; and that Conan presented Alan of Basingbourne to the whole church, before he gave it to Alan de Rohan, and that then one Jeffry de Huningham held one moiety of it; but at his death Alan had the whole, as consolidated, who persuaded the Bishop to admit his son, Alexander de Basingbourne, to a moiety, as vicar under him, paying 2s. pension to Alan his father, as rector, at whose death the said Alexander had the whole, and as a whole church or advowson, it was given to the abbey, and afterwards was leased to the Abbot of Sautre for ever, paying the rent, who got it appropriated, and had the house, a carucate of land, and a manor thereto belonging, and 6 acres of the vicar's land assigned to the convent, with the great tithes; and for this rectory the abbey was valued to the tax at 25 marks; the vicar had a house, 60 acres of land, and all small tithes assigned to him; the Abbot was laid at 4l. 15s. 10d. for his temporals here. At the Dissolution the impropriate rectory and manor thereto belonging, with all the temporals of Sawtre abbey, and the advowson of the vicarage, came to the Crown, from whence they were afterwards granted, in 1544, to Sir Richard Williams, alias Cromwell, Knt. who the same year sold them to Tho. Holl, Gent. of Hegham by Norwich; he died seized April 30, 1557, leaving them to Thomas, his son and heir, then 25 years old. In 1571, Thomas Southwell had it for life, and at his death it went to the Cutylyns, and so became joined to the other manors, as it still continues.
The revenues of the college of St. Mary in the Fields at Norwich, lying in this town, were granted to Theophilus Adams, and Tho. Buteler, Gent.
In 1202, Will. de Estun gave a tenement and lands in Huningham and Thorp to Rich. the Prior, and the canons of the Holy-Sepulchre at Thetford, for which that house was laid at 4s. 4d. to the tax, in 1428.
Boecius, rector of a mediety in Richard the First's time. Will. de Horforth.
Jeffry de Huningham, rector of a mediety. Conan Earl of Bretagne.
Alan de Basingbourne. Conan Earl of Bretagne, patron of the whole, the moieties being united perpetually.
Alex. de Basingbourne, his son. King John, as guardian to the Earl of Bretagne.
- 1311, Will. de Baldeswell. The Abbot of Sautre, as perpetual proctor or lessee, presented to the Dissolution, only the Bishop of Norwich, on the appropriation, reserved the nomination to the vicarage every other turn.
- 1311, Will. de Chevele (instituted by proxy, as was very common formerly.)
- 1311, Will. de Oxwick.
- 1322, John de Tuttington.
- 1329, John Wipposeyl of Houghton.
- 1376, Will. Schenche of Spalding.
- 1376, Will. Norton.
- 1379, Will. Ricbred of Spalding.
- 1394, Will. London. O.
- 1421, Sir John Styward, priest, resigned.
- 1425, Sir Rob. Whyte, priest, resigned.
- 1428, Rich. Palmer, priest, resigned.
- 1432, Sir Rob. Kyng, priest. Change with Wulterton.
- 1437, Rob. Wymond, priest.
- 1442, Sir Henry Pottell, priest, resigned.
- 1462, Sir Will. Bokkyng, chaplain, resigned.
- 1463, Sir John Yates, chaplain, resigned.
- 1496, Sir Henry Plumbe, priest, buried in the chancel, in 1528.
- 1528, Sir John Baille. Sir John Awdeley, Knt. by grant of Sawtre Abbot. O.
- 1545, Sir Will. Gibson, chaplain. Tho. Holl of Heigham by Norwich, Gent.
- Will. Powle, O.
- 1560, Mr. George Michell, priest. Tho. Holl, Gent.
- 1587, Tho. West, A. M. united to Colton. Rich. Catlyn, Esq.
- 1592, John Rogers, A. M. on West's resignation. Will. Barrow, Esq. he returned 96 communicants here, Ao. 1603.
- 1634, Christ. Rogers, on John's resignation. Sir Thomas Richardson, Knt. Lord Chief Justice of the Common-Pleas.
- Samuel Withers, died vicar.
- 1672, Nath. Shute, A. M. Thomas Lord Richardson, Baron of Cramond in Scotland.
- 1680, Tho. Wilkins, A. M. on Shute's resignation. John Sheldrake, goldsmith of London, mortgagee in possession.
- 1690, Tho. Synder, clerk, on Wilkins's death, who held it united to Hempstead rectory. George Griffith, Gent. mortgagee in possession.
- 1738, the Rev. Mr. George Howes is the present  rector, (on Sidner's death,) who holds it united to Wiclewood. The honourable Henrietta Townsend, widow.
Church is dedicated to All the Saints; the rector had a house and 20 acres of land, valued with the whole living at 12 marks, procurations 6s. 8d.; 16d. synodals, Peter-pence 12d. In 1671, the rector had license not to repair all the chancel, but to lessen it; and in 1684, he was discharged of dilapidations. Here was a gild of St. John Baptist. John Bygot of Welborne died in 1437, leaving Alice, his wife, his administratrix.
- 1289, Thomas de Hengham.
- 1304. James Daunger. Sir Rob. de Baconsthorp, Knt.
- 1320, Rob. de Welburne. Sir Rob. de Hingham, Knt.
- 1323, John de Aylesham. Sir Rob. de Baconsthorp, Knt.
- 1328, Walter de Stanes of Elveden. Sir Edm. de Baconsthorp, Knt.
Master Stephen de Rughton. R. Ditto.
- 1339, Rich. de Bergh. Ditto.
- 1345, John Ive of Gestweyt. Ditto.
- 1349, John Scot of Sustede. Ditto.
- 1394, Will. Strykere. Nic. de Wichingham.
- 1396, Rich. Shroesbury. R. Ditto.
- 1402, John Purs, change with St. Laurence Poulteney's chantry in London. Ditto.
- 1402, Will. Roos of Schelyngton. Ditto.
- 1416, John Champeneys, rector.
- 1437, Will. Langford. O. Will. Billingford, Esq.
- 1485, Mr. Will. Backe. R. Edmund Jenney and Tho. Bannyard.
- 1486, Will. Manes. Ditto.
- 1532, Tho. Candeler.
- 1541, Rich. Garnet, deprived. Edm. Billingford, Esq.
- 1554, Andrew Deane, S. T. B. Austin Steward, Alderman of Norwich.
- 1555, James Proctor. O. Ditto.
- 1556, Rich. Garnet, again, united to Matishal, Aug. 9, 1558. Ditto.
- Nich. Corker. O.
- 1585, John Barnard. Will. Steward, Esq. He returned 63 communicants.
- 1624, John Leggat, A. M. Robert Craske of Norwich, Esq. United to Barnham-Broom.
- 1646, Richard Alfield, clerk. A. B. on Legat's resignation. Will. Fisher of Wisbitch, Esq.
- Jessop Webb, resigned.
- 1688, Nic. Barwick, clerk. United to Colton. Jessop Webb, Esq.
- 1692, Peter Copping, clerk, on Barwick's death. United to Carleton. Ditto.
- 1694, John Hardy, clerk, on Copping's resignation. United to Elsing. Ditto.
- 1697, Tho. Pateson, on Hardy's resignation. Ditto.
- 1700, Edward Heyhoe, clerk, on Pateson's cession. Jessop Webb.
- 1719, Edw. Heighoe, clerk. Lapse. United to Matishall Bergh.
- 1720, Rob. Godrick, clerk, on Heighoe's resignation. Edward Heighoe, Gent. true patron.
- 1722, James Stagg, clerk, A. B. on Godrick's cession. Edward Heighoe, senior, Esq. United to Gerveston.
- 1734, the Rev. Mr. Grigson Heighoe, on Stagg's resignation. Edw. Heighoe, clerk, his father, patron in fee. United to Yaxham. He is the present  incumbent.
This rectory is valued in the King's Books at 5l. 18s. 4d. and being sworn of the clear yearly value of 43l. 12s. it is discharged of first fruits and tenths; but the parish paid 18s. each tenth. The temporals of the Prior of Windham were valued at 6d.; the parish was valued at about 300l. per annum, of which Peter Le Neve, Esq. at his death, had a third part in free and copyhold land, but no manor.
The steeple here is round, and hath three bells; there is only a nave, which is thatched, the chancel is tiled; there is only one modern inscription, for Frances Grime. There are no arms in the windows.
Walebrun or Welbourn, at the Conqueror's survey, belonged to William Earl Warren, and was held of the castle of Lewes, and afterwards of Castle-Acre.
In 1267, James de Welborne held a whole fee, and was not a knight, but was obliged to take that honour, in 1280, by the name of James de Thorp of Welborne; he conveyed the manor to Sir Robert de Hengham, with lands in Baconsthorp, in trust; in 1304, Sir Rob. de Baconsthorp was lord; in 1315, Sir John de Baconsthorp, and in 1323, Sir Rob. de Baconsthorp; in 1327, Edmund de Baconsthorp, and Margaret his wife, settled the manor and advowson on themselves in tail; I find him to be the same person called Edm. Bacon of Gresham; in 1344, Edmund de Baconsthorp settled it on Will. Fraunsham, master of Mettyngham college, Roger Townsend of Reynham, Will. Langford, rector here, John Welles, and others.
In 1390, John de Brunham or Barnham, and his parceners, were lords, and held it at a quarter of a fee of the Earl of Arundel; and in 1401, he infeoffed Nich. de Wichingham, Henry Maupas, clerk, Simon Gaunstede, clerk, James Billingford, Jeffry Somerton, John Alderford, Will. Chaumpeneys, junior, and John Wissingsete; in 1425, Will. Billingford held his first court; in 1435, Edmund Playter, Gent. held his first court. Tho. Wetherby was lord in 1440, when his first court occurs; in 1449, John, son and heir of Will. Byllingford, had his first court; in 1563, it was in the hands of Tho. Playter, Gent. of Saterly in Suffolk, who died seized of this, Saterly, and Uggeshall in 1479, and William was his son and heir; in 1485, Henry Heydon, John Paston, and Ralf Shelton, Knts. Edmund Jenny, Will. Gurney, Rob. Drury, Tho. Jenny, John Yaxley, Will. Jenny, and Will. Mekylfield, junior, kept their first court; in 1527, it belonged half to Plaiters and half to Billingford; and in 1530, Edm. Billingford, and Tho. Billingford, Gent. his son and heir, Edmund and Christ. Plaiters, and Anne his wife, Rob. Whiting, and Elizabeth his wife, Anthony Poley and Joan his wife, Roger Docking and Margaret his wife, all joined and sold the manor and advowson to
Augustine Steward, citizen and alderman of Norwich; he married first Elizabeth, daughter of William Read of Beceles, secondly Alice, daughter of Henry Reppes of West-Walton in Norfolk, by whom he had
Edward Steward of London, and two daughters, Elizabeth, and Alice married to John Aldrich of Mangreen; by his first wife he had
Will. Steward of Gaulthorp Hall, in Swerdeston, lord thereof, and of Welborne, in 1566, when his father died; he married first Elizabeth, daughter of Sir Christ. Jenny of Great-Cressingham, by whom he had
Augustine Steward of Linn, their son and heir; but he did not inherit this manor, for by his marriage settlement, dated 13th Dec. 1575, he settled on Edw. Sulyard, Tho. Edon, Rich. Edon, Esqrs. Tho. Sotherton, Rob. Wood, Christ. Layer, citizens and aldermen of Norwich, Ralph Shelton, Esq. Henry Bird, S.T.P. and John Sotherton, junior, of Norwich, grocer, in trust for his second wife, Grissild, daughter of Tho. Edon of Sudbury, and her issue ; she had two sons, Thomas and Edward; and accordingly
Thomas Steward of Swardeston and Welborne, her eldest son, inherited; he married Mary, daughter of Henry Lord Grey of Groby, who survived him; she was buried in St. Stephen's church in Norwich, 5th Sept. 1650, and had issue, Henry, Mary, and Anne; he was buried in that church in 1637.
In 1619, John Mingay, citizen and alderman of Norwich, held his first court, as trustee to Steward; he joined with Thomas Steward, and sold it to Robert Crask, citizen and alderman of Norwich, Tho. Atkin, Gent. and Rich. Crask of Wendling; the said Robert, in 1638, gave the reversion to Rob. Allen and Jane his wife, and Robert their son; in 1639, the said Robert and Jane held their first court; the said Robert sold the advowson from the manor, which by his will he gave to Tho. Allen, his kinsman, who was only son of Tho. Allen of Norwich, clerk, Robert's eldest brother, whose will was proved in 1693, and the said Tho. Allen, about 1705, sold it to Mr. John Hook of Norwich, surgeon, who is the present  lord.
Was given, according to all the registers of Bury abbey, to that monastery, by Syfled or Syfleda, a famous virago, when she went beyond sea, in the time of Edward the Confessor: in the Black Register, and in the Sacrist's Register, both which are now among Bishop Moor's books in the Publick Library at Cambridge, her will is recited at large, which, it is evident, was made before that Monarch's survey, for then it belonged to the abbey; and contained one carucate in demean. At the Conqueror's, it was also found to be in the hands of that monastery, and to contain two carucates, there being then a walk for 130 sheep and nine goats; it was worth 40s. and was a league long, and three furlongs and an half broad, and paid 6d. ob. gelt; but others held lands here at that time, viz. two socmen which belonged to Cossey manor, as you may see at p. 407, and these socmen and their lauds always passed with Cossey.
It continued in the abbey till Sampson de Totington, A. M. a monk of this monastery, was made abbot, who was confirmed at Werewelle, by Richard Bishop of Winchester, 2 cal. of March, 1182, and took possession of the abbey 12 cal. of April in that year, and died 3 cal. Jan. 1211; he it was that infeoffed most of the knights that held of the abbey, and among others, he infeoffed
Osbert de Wachesham in this town, and half Wortham in Suffolk, which belonged to the abbey, and was to be held by him and his heirs, at one fee, he being to pay 20s. to every scutage, and castleguard to Norwich castle; two parts of it laid here, and a third part in Wortham. In 1207, Gilbert de St. Clare, in some records called De Marling ford, released all his right in it to Osbert de Wachesham, which shows that he and his family had held it under the abbey, before Osbert was infeoffed.
In 1234, Giles or Gerard de Wachesham, son and heir of Isabell de Wachesham of Wachesham in Suffolk, had it; he had to wife Elizabeth; and in 1247,
Giles, his son, had it; he was witness to a grant of Theobald, son of Will. de Leyston, by which he gave the manor of Suwode to Bury abbey, and had a charter for free-warren in his manors of Marlyngford, Wortham, Stansted, Wachesham, &c. In 1267, Giles, his son and heir, was 40 years old, and John, his brother, was of age, and had half a fee given him by Elizabeth, his mother; in 1272, Giles the father died,
And Giles the son, and Joan his wife, inherited; in 1290, he was sheriff of Norfolk and Suffolk, and died in 1294, leaving
Giles, his son, his heir, who paid 6l. 5s. for relief of his father's lands, sc. a fee and a fourth part in Stansted, 20s. for Wachesham in Suffolk, which he held by the serjeantry of jumping, belching, and farting, once in the year before the King, as appears from the Memoranda of the Exchequer, Ao. 21st Edward I. This Giles or Gerard, in 1300, settled Wortham on himself for life, and then on
Giles, his son, and Amy his wife, and their heirs; in 1310, Gerard settled the advowson and part of the manors on
John, his son, and Joan his wife; in 1315, Gerard was lord of Stansted.
In 1317, Walter le Clerk of Gislingham, and Joan his wife, heiress, (I suppose,) of John Wachesham, settled the manor and advowson on
Sir Giles de Wachesham, and so the whole was united again.
In 1345, Sir Rob. de Wachesham was lord and patron; and in 1358, a fine was levied between Sir Robert and Joan his wife, daughter of Simon de Hetherset, and Ralf de Dunton, and others, by which the manor and advowson, with the manors of Wachesham, the advowson of Stansted, the manor of Wortham, and moiety of the advowson, were settled on themselves and their issue, remainder to John de Wachesham and Margery his wife: this Sir Robert left only one daughter, viz.
Elizabeth, married to Sir Thomas Gerbridge, in whom the whole of this town was united, he having in his own right a part of it: for in 2d Henry III. a fine was levied between Jordan de Sackvile and Clemence his wife, querents, and Margaret de Chesneto, tenant, sister of the said Clemence, whereby Margaret releases all her right in this and divers other manors, which were the estate of William de Chesneto, or Cheyney, their father. In 1279, Rob. Fitz-Roger had it, when it was said to be Hugh Cressi's, before it was Cheyney's, and that it contained a carucate and eight villeins ; in 1315, John de Horsford had it; in 1387, Sir Thomas Gerbridge, Knt. settled it on Sir Edmund Thorp, Knt. and Andrew, parson of Mateshale, in trust for Elizabeth his wife, and their heirs, by which it was effectually joined to the Wacheshams manor, and hath been part of it ever since.
They left only one daughter,
Alice, who married Sir Edmund Barry or Berri, Knt. who made his will in 1433, in which he ordered his body to be buried in the Carmelites or White Friars at Norwich; he left two daughters his heirs,
Agnes, married to Sir William Paston of Paston, (afterwards Judge Paston,) and
Alice, to Sir Tho. Bardolph, who, in 1454, released their right to Agnes and William, in the manor and advowson, and in a manor in East-Tuddenham, and in the manor and advowson of Stansted, and it continued in the Pastons (of which family I shall treat under Oxned) till after 1572; about which time it was sold to
Rob. Jermy of Norwich, who gave it to
Tho. Jermy, his second son, who settled here, and married Constance, daughter of Sir John Phippes, who left
Clement, their only son; he married Mary, daughter of William Robinson of Norwich, and left
Edmund Jermy of Marling ford, who married Sarah, daughter of Tho. Buxton of Chanon's Hall in Tibenham, who left it to
Francis Jermy of Marling ford, and Clement Jermy of Bawburgh, who sold it to
Rich. Clark, apothecary in Norwich, who died in 1682, and by Susanna Cotes, his wife, had three children;
Tho. Clark, counsellor at law, the eldest, was lord and patron here, but dying unmarried, in 1731, it descended to
Christ. Clark, his next brother, archdeacon of Norwich, who is now lord and patron. Richard Clark, the third brother, married a Pett, went surgeon in a ship to the West-Indies, and there died issueless.
The fine is certain at 4s. an acre.
The Church is dedicated to the Assumption of the Virgin Mary, who had a gild here; the rector had a house and 30 acres of land, valued at 5 marks, but not taxed; the procurations were 3s. synodals 18d. Peter-pence 8d. ob. carvage 4d. ob.; there are now  24 acres of glebe. The rectory is valued at 7l. 12s. 8d. ob. and being sworn of the clear yearly value of 31l. 6d. it is discharged of first fruits and tenths, and is capable of augmentation ; the town paid 38s. to each tenth.
The church is 35 feet long, and 15 broad, the chancel 28 feet long, and 14 broad, the north isle 22 feet long, and 10 broad; the tower is square, there are three bells, and the nave and chancel are thatched.
Orate pro Anima Thome Davy, ruius Anime propicietur Deus.
On a brass in the church,
In a south window. Arg. a fess, in chief two crescents gul.
On the lattices between the church and chancel,
1. Withe, R. three griffins passant regardant arg. in pale, beaked and armed gul.
2. Arg. and gul. bendy of six pieces.
3. Gul. a cross ingrailed arg. quarters
Bene, gul. a cross recercele arg.
4. Thorp, az. three crescents arg.
5. Sab. a fess between two chevrons arg.
6. France and England.
7. Wachesham, arg. a fess, and two crescents in chief gul.
8. Barry, a chevron between three bears heads cooped sab. muzzled or.
9. Hedersett, az. a leopard saliant or.
10. Paston and Barry quartered.
11. Arg. on a bend cotised az. three martlets gul.
12. Sab and az. lozenge, six flowers-de-lis.
14. Az. a lion rampant arg.
- 1466, John Crane was buried in the church.
On a stone over a vault in the chancel,
Clarke, arg. on a bend sab. between three pellets, as many mullets or, impaling
Cotes, per pale or and sab. two dolphins endorsed counterchanged. Clark's crest is a demi-dove.
Hic jacet Richardus Clarke Generosus, Medicus, et Pharmacopeus præstantissimus, utpote Magni Illius apud Norwicenses Æsculapij, Thomæ Browni, Equitis aurati, fidus Minister et Comes, qui postquam per tot Annos resarciendis Corporum morbis diligenter incumbens, non minus prosperam alijs, quam utilem Sibi Medicinam fecerat, tandem Anno Ætatis Suæ 52. Opum et Famæ Satur, pie ac placide in domino obdormivit, A° 1682. Hic etiam jacet Susanna uxor prædicti Rici. Clarke, quæ obijt decimo die Martij A. D. 1722, Ao. Ætat. 93.
Sub marmore Ric: & Sus: Clarke, jacet Tho: Clarke Filius prædict: Ric. & Sus: primogenitus, Conciliarius, unus Magistorum de Banco Hospitij Grayensis Londini, et Thesaurarius, obijt die xxii. Octobris, Ao Dni: 1731, Ætatis Anno lxviii.
Cullyer, arg. a club erected, in pale sab. impaling Jermy.
John Son of John Cullyer, and Mary Jermy his Wife, 1640.
- 1670, Mary Daughter of Clement, son of John Cullyer and Jane Hutton his Wife.
Mary Wife of the said John, and Daughter of Clement Jermy of Marlingford, Gent. died 30 Aug: 1672.
On a brass plate half gone formerly, and now wholly lost, was this,
Pray for the Sowle of T. t his Wife and Robert Father, on whose Somles A. Dni: Mo. ccccco. for.
In the north isle,
Colby, az. a chevron between three escalops in a bordure ingrailed or.
Samuel Colby of Brockford in Suff: Gent. 20 Nov. 1705, Eliz. his Wife 18 July 1697.
On a mural monument,
Life, or, on a bend between three martlets sab. three hearts of the field, impaling
Vincent or Vinsent, az. three quaterfoils arg.;—they were an ancient family. In 1367, Robert Vincent owned an estate here, in 1374, Nicholas his son married Margaret, daughter and heiress of Tho. Leverich, citizen of Norwich.
Juxta hoc Marmor depositæ sunt exuviæ Nathanielis Life Armigeri, et Mariæ uxoris ejus, Filiæ primogenitæ Phillipi Vincent Armig: nuper defuncti, per quam tres filios, totidemque filias habuit, horum unus, illarum duæ supersunt Soboles, obijt ille 20 die Novemb: 1727, Æt. 41, illa 31° die Maij 1728, Æt: 39.
- 1303, Walter de Hiltone. Sir Gerard de Wachesham, Knt.
- 1304, Edmund Pundrick of South-Creik. Ditto.
- 1305, Will. Wymer of Swanton. Ditto.
- 1311, William, son of Alan de Gyselingham. John, son of Sir Gerard de Wachesham, and Walter, son of Alan de Giselingham.
- 1316, Tho. de Grundesburgh. Walter, son of Alan de Giselyngham, clerk, and Joan, relict of John de Wachesham of Marlingford.
- 1332, James Samson. Sir Giles de Wachesham.
- 1342, Henry de Langham. Sir Robert de Wachesham, Knt.
Change with Sheldesley, Worcester diocese.
Change with Midleton, London diocese.
- 1349, Hugh Bandon of Joxford. Ditto.
- 1349, Rob. Brokedysch.
- 1379, John, son of Henry Mariot of Narburgh. Sir Edmund de Thorp, Sir Robert Corbet, &c.
- 1390, Rob. Bokkebroke. R. Sir Tho. Gerbrigge, Knt.
- 1410, John Erle, shaveling. Ditto.
- 1459, Sir Henry Bozoun, priest, on the death of the last rector. Agnes Paston, widow.
Sir John More, died rector.
- 1507, Sir John Jermyn. Will. Paston, Esq.
- 1513, Sir Jeffry Parish. O.
- 1520, Sir Petar Petit, priest. Will. Paston, Esq. O.
- 1552, Sir Roger Powle or Powell, died rector.
- 1568, Sir Will. Mathew, clerk, at Powell's death. Clement Paston, Esq.
- 1571, Tho. Downes, on Mathew's death; he died rector. Clement Paston, Esq.
- 1581, Rob. Alleyn. Ditto.
- 1594, Robert Gobert; united after, to Melton St. Mary. Clement Paston, Esq. In 1603, he returned 66 communicants, and that the patronage belonged to Alice, widow of Clement Paston, Esq.
- 1664, Euphemy Porter, A. B. by the cession of the last incumbent. The King, by lapse.
- 1676, Tho. Scamler, on Porter's death. Sir James Rushout, Bart.
- 1697, Jeremias Revans, on Scamler's deprivation. Susan Clarke, widow, and Tho. Clarke, Esq. United to East-Tudenham.
- 1700, Tho. Patteson, A. M. on Revans's resignation. Ditto.
- 1723, David Fleming, on the cession of Patteson. Thomas Clarke, Esq.
- 1728, The Rev. Mr. James Alanson, clerk, A.B. on Fleming's cession, he is the present  rector. Thomas Clarke, Esq.
Had two churches; the first was dedicated to All the Saints. Thomas de Blundevile Bishop of Norwich, in 1226, appropriated to the monks of Norwich, a moiety of this church, which Agnes de Riflei gave them, after the decease, or cession, of Rob. de Brokedyss, parson of the mediety, and Will. de Rifley, then vicar; and in 1235, the same Bishop appropriated the other mediety to them, which they had of the gift of Nigel de Hapesburgh.
When Domesday was wrote, it was held by the Almoner of Norwich, who had a house, manor, and carucate of land belonging to the rectory, which with the vicar's portion, was valued at 8 marks, and paid 6s. 8d. procurations, 1s. 1d. 0b. synodals, 4d. 0b. Peter-pence, and carvage with St. Andrew's church, 3d. 3q. the vicarage being not taxed.
The terrier hath a house and 32 acres of glebe: in 1690, they had license to sell a bell; and in 1697, the vicar was discharged for dilapidating a barn.
King Henry VI. Ao. 1440, granted a market and two fairs to the town of Wiclewood.
St. Andrew's church is now dilapidated; it stood in the same churchyard; it was in the patronage of the abbey of Bromholm; the rector had no house, but 16 acres of land; it was valued at nine marks, paid 6s. 8d. procurations, synodals 13d. Peter-pence 4d. 0b. and carvage as above. In 1341, Edm. Ufford le Frere (or the Earl of Suffolk's brother) was patron, and had license to settle it on the Prioress and Nuns of Campsey, but that license being not confirmed, in 1364, the King licensed Edmund aforesaid to give it to the Prior of Norwich, and appropriate it to the Almoner's office, which took effect, and Thomas Bishop of Norwich appropriated it accordingly in this year, July 6.
Rectors of St. Andrew
- 1202, Will. de Nuiers and Tho. de Mountcorbin, patrons of a mediety, sold it to Thomas, son of Henry.
- 1219, Michael de Thurston, and Agnes his wife sold the advowson to Nicholas le Ewe.
- 1341, Reginald Purs. Edm. de Ufford, brother to Robert Earl of Suffolk.
- 1342, Rob. de Coneweston. Ditto.
- 1349, Nigel Shirreve. The Prioress of Campseye.
- 1364, It was appropriated as above.
- 1367, 23 June, Thomas Bishop of Norwich consolidated it to AllSaints, and united them both to the Almoner's office; there was no vicarage assigned to this church, because both churches were in one yard, and St. Andrew's, which was much decayed, was soon after demolished, on condition the vicar should find a chaplain in All-Saints church, to celebrate for the parishioners of St. Andrew's, and therefore there was 18 acres of ground belonging to St. Andrew's and all the alterage of the church added to the vicarage.
- 1424, John Bishop of Norwich dispensed with the vicar, and released his finding a chaplain as aforesaid, for ever; and thus the whole became one vicarage, as it still remains.
Vicars of All-Saints
- 1300, John de Wiclewood. The Prior of Norwich, who presented till the Dissolution.
- 1338, Rich atte Haghe.
- 1339, Will. Grey, R.
- 1352, John Lenn.
- 1356, Hen. Fort,
- 1356, John Heryng, Change with Catton.
- 1356, Walter Spilwind. R
- 1357, Rich. Muriel.
- 1361, Will. Lewyn. In his time the whole was united.
- 1414, Will. at Fenne,
- 1416, John Blakenham, Change with Hardgrave.
- 1417, John Tilly, R.
- 1421, John Richer.
- 1424, John Taylor.
- 1426, Tho. Andrew, R.
- 1438, Tho. Brown, R.
- 1440, John Nevile, R.
- 1440, Peter Bramston. O.
- 1446, John Borell.
- 1447, Rob. Theyn.
- 1489, John Gurle. R.
- 1502, Tho. Toky, the last presented by the Prior.
- 1541, John Emyson. Lapse.
- 1555, John Cottam. Lapse. John Wadmoll, parish chaplain.
- 1564, Rich. Godfry. Rob. Multon, Esq.
- 1594, Christ. Garey. Tho. Bradbury, Esq.
- 1600, Ignatius Holderness; in 1603, he returned that there were 100 communicants here, and that the impropriation was worth 30l. per annum, and the advowson belonged to it, with a court called Ampner's.
- 1613, Rob. Cowell. Tho. Skipp, Gent.
- 1652, Elisha Ket. John Skipp, Gent. O.
- 1688, Rich. Clark. John Jubbs, Gent. R.
- 1697, Will. Hawys. Martin Jubbs, Gent. O.
- 1701, John Echard. Martin Jubbs, Esq.
- 1734, the Rev. Mr. George Howes on Eachard's death, who is now  vicar, and holds it united to Hunningham. Christ. Bailey, Gent. who is the present patron.
There were the gild and tabernacle of St Andrew, the gild of St. John Baptist, and the Sepulchre and Virgin's light in the church.
The vicarage stands in the King's Books by the name of Whittlewood, alias Wicklewood; it is valued at 6l. 3s. 11d. 0b. but being sworn of the clear yearly value of 28l. 6s. 7d. it is discharged of first fruits and tenths, but it still pays procurations, and 2s. 3d. synodals, and the town paid 3l. 14s. to every tenth.
The Church now standing, is that dedicated to All the Saints; it hath only one isle, which is covered with lead, and there are two bells. In 1465, John Porteman was buried in the church, and gave 10l. to repair it; and in 1535, Tho. Dowe of this town gave 20s. to repair the bells, and a messuage and croft by the church, to the churchwardens, to keep his obit yearly for ever.
On a brass in the church,
Orate pro Animabus Johannis Doffeld et Angnetis uroris eius quorum animabus propicietur Deus Amen.
Hic jacet corpus Bartholomei Stone, nuper de Wicklewood in Comitatu Norfolciæ Generosi, qui obijt nono die Julij, Anno Dni: 1708, atque Ætatis suæ 63.
A stone in the chancel with Wright's crest and arms, is laid, for Rich. Wright, Gent. who died 13 March 1711, aged 24.
These arms are in the east chancel window,
Sab. a chevron erm. between three round buckles arg. quartering Walcote.
Arg. a chevron between three chess rooks sab.
Gul. two bendlets or, impaling arg. a bend az. a billet between six cross croslets or.
Arg. three pair of wings or, impales
Grimston of Essex, arg. two fesses sab. on each three mullets or:
The Prior of Canterbury was laid for his temporals here, at 13s. 8d. it being a small part of his manor of Deepham that extended hither.
The church of St. Andrew, was given by Neel or Nigel de Ryfley, with a messuage, 40 acres of land, and the services of divers tenants, to the Prior and convent of Bromholm, who conveyed the advowson to the Uffords, and sold the house and lands to Rich. Starcolf, who owned them in 1328, but they reserved the rents to themselves, for which, in 1428, this convent was laid at 7s. 10d. to the tax.
Agnes de Rifley gave the monks of Castle-Acre two acres of land here, which were taxed at 3d.
In 1286, the Prior of Windham had free-warren allowed him in his lands here, for which he was taxed at 24s. 2d.
The temporals of the Prior of St. Faith's in Wiclewood were valued at 11s. 10d.
In 1382, Thomas de Flicham and others aliened to the priory of Flitcham, a messuage, 4 tofts, 133 acres of land, and 45s. rent in Flitcham, Appleton, Hillington, Deepham, Morley, Attleburgh, Wiclewood, and Great-Elingham.
Ampner's, or Almoners Manor
Was so called, because it was appropriated to the office of the Almoner in the cathedral at Norwich; it was made up of divers parts; John, son of Will. de Caili gave to Roger the Prior, and convent of Norwich, all his land here which Walter Fitz-Robert confirmed to John de Caily, and John purchased of Nigel de Riflei, Knt. who gave the almoner the service of Roger, son of Hubert of Wiclewood, with all his family; and further, he granted the monks a free fald-course, free bull, and free boar, in his manor here; and Isabel, his daughter, gave them the service of Stephen Bryne, which her father had given her, as I learn from the second Regr. (fo. 36, 38, &c.) of the Prior of Norwich, now in the hands of the Dean and Chapter.
The Prior had 24 acres of the Fitz-Walters fee, called Tulland or Frelund, which Aymer, son of Walter Frelund, held in 1198, and perhaps gave it the convent, which had 62 acres in all, given them, which belonged to this fee.
Nigel de Hapisburgh, chaplain, gave to the church of the Holy Trinity at Norwich, to the use of the almoner there, one messuage, and the mediety of the advowson of the church of All-Saints in Wiclewood, to be appropriated to the almoner's office, who was bound, out of the yearly profits, to find a chaplain daily, serving in the chapel of St. Catherine in Thorpwood by Norwich, for his soul, and those of his ancestors; and Robert, son of Aunger of Wiclewood, and Robert, son of Roger of Wiclewood, confirmed that gift.
Gilbert Malet, and Agnes de Reflei, his wife, gave the other moiety of that advowson, for their souls, to the said church; Rob. de Reflei, her son, and Nigel de Reflei, her grandson, confirmed her gift, to which Jeffry Archdeacon of Suffolk was a witness; so that it was given about 1190, and it was confirmed by Pandulf Bishop of Norwich in 1219.
Richard, son of Nicholas de Aqua of Wiclewood, gave to Nicholas Prior of Norwich, and his convent, divers lands in Wiclewood, which his father held of the church of All-Saints there; this was in 1267, The said Richard gave also more lands to William the Prior, and his convent, about 1272, and Alice de Aqua released her dower in it; and at this time, another Richard, who was son of Stephen de Aqua, (or At Water, now Waters,) was a benefactor.
Alice, formerly wife of Ralf Horncastle of Depham, released all her right in dower, in those lands that Ralph her husband gave to Henry the Prior, and his convent, about 1290; Walter Horncastle of Depham, Ralf his son, and John his son, confirmed their ancestors gifts. (fo. 38.)
Stephen le Neve, son of Gilbert de Estwell, gave the Prior the field called Northfield, and John his son confirmed it.
Nic de Brampton Prior of Norwich, and the convent there, granted to Roger, son of Hubert of Wiclewood, for his homage and service, and 40d. per annum rent, all his messuage, which the said Hubert held of Gilbert, son of Peter of Wiclewood, and all that tenement which they formerly held of Nigell de Riflei, and his ancestors. (fo. 85.)
Sir Ralf Urri of Depham, Knt. gave to Nicholas the Prior, and convent, for his own, and his father's soul, a piece of land in Wiclewood, about 1267, and Robert, son of Aunger of Wiclewood, Mabel, Basil, Maud, and Dionise, his daughters, released their right. (fo. 86.)
Catherine, relict of William Hubert of Wiclewood, released to Robert the Prior, and convent, all her dower in those lands, which her husband gave to the convent, about 1318. (fo. 87.)
William, son of William Bardolf, gave to the almoner of Norwich convent 28 acres of land, which Stephen, son of Gilbert Trine, held of Nigel de Riflei, of the fee of the said William in Wiclewood, and Cringlethorp; and the said William engaged that he would indemnify the prior against the Earl Warren from all scutage and aids, whether levied to make his eldest son a knight, or marry his eldest daughter.
In 1347, the Almoner was distrained in the court at Morley, by the Lord Morley, to shew by what right he raised a fald in Wiclewood, who proved his right so to do, and to have in his fald not only sheep of the inhabitants, but of strangers, if he pleased. (fo. 7.) In this Register, at the same place, there is a charter of King Edward III. granting free-warren to the convent in all their demeans here.
The spirituals of the Prior of Norwich, for Wiclewood All-Saints, were laid at 8 marks. For St. Andrew's 9 marks.
The temporalities in both parishes 3l. 7d. 0b.
It continued in the Prior and Convent, till King Henry VIII. exchanged and took away some of the estates belonging to the monastery, and then it went to the Crown; and in 1st Edward VI. was let for 9l. 4d. a year clear; but in 1550, William Ruggs and Peter Gering had a grant of it.
In 1562, Thomas Reeve and Ralf Sherman had it; the rectory and advowson of the vicarage then belonged to it.
In 1563, Rich. Robson had it.
In 1564, Rob. Moulton of London, Auditor for her Majesty for Wales, owned it, and presented to the vicarage; he married Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas Woodford of Britwell in Berkshire, and of Alice or Mary, daughter of Sir Richard Blount, Lieutenant of the Tower; she was widow of John Fisher of Buntingford, Esq. and of George Weldon, and by her he had two sons; William, his youngest, of Moulton, and Thomas, his eldest, of Wiclewood, who married Elizabeth Gourney; he sold this manor to
Tho. Bradbury of Ashill, Esq. in 1595; and in 1600, Martha Garey had it.
In 1613, Tho. Skypp, Gent. owned it, and in 1652, John Skipp, Gent.
In 1688, John Jubbs, Gent. owned it, and in 1701, Martin Jubbs, Esq. and now  it belongs to
Christopher Baily of Mendham, Gent. who is lord, impropriator, and patron.
At the time of the survey there were two manors; the biggest was held by Olf, a freeman, in the Confessor's time, but the Conqueror gave it to Ralf Bainard, of whom Ralf Sturmin held it at the survey, the soke or superiour lordship belonging then to the manor of Hingham, as it now does to the hundred, which is appendant to that manor; it was worth 40s. in the Confessor's, and 60s. in the Conqueror's time; the whole town was a league long, and seven furlongs and a perch broad, and paid 18d. 3q. gelt. The church of All-Saints belonged to this manor, which was held of the Banyards, and afterwards of the the Fitz-Walters, and their heirs, at half a fee, as of their manor of Hemenhall.
The other manor belonged to William Earl Warren, was worth 20s. at the Confessor's survey, and 40s. at the Conqueror's; the advowson of St. Andrew's church belonged to it; it was afterwards held of the Bardolfs, as parcel of their honour of Wormegey, at half a fee, but the paramountship belongs to the hundred.
The record called Testa de Nevil tells us, that Robert Fitz-Walter had a fee here belonging to his barony of Baynard castle, and that Nigel de Riffley held one half of it, and Rob. Aungers, or Robert, son of Aunger of Wiclewood, the other, and Matthew de Morley held two fees in Wiclewood, &c. which Aliva Marischall holds. The Roll of the honour of Wormgeye says, that Sir Neel or Nigel le Riffley, Knt. held lands in demean, and services here, and in Morley, Crungethorp, and Depham, with the advowson of St. Andrews of Wiclewood, of the Lord Bardolf, lord of that honour, by half a fee, and other services; but he sold several tenements, parcel of his manor, that laid in Hackford, Crownthorp, Windham, Morley, &c. to divers persons, and gave a messuage and 30 acres of land here to the priory of Kersey, and that house infeoffed Roger, son of Jeffry de Morley, in it, who was the ancestor of Edmund de Norwiz, who held it in Edward the Third's time, when the Lord Bardolf made it free land, paying 12d. yearly, it being part of the fees the Lord Bardolf held of the Earl Warren, as of his castle of Acre. The heirs of William de Morley and his tenants, viz. Rich. de Hales, Rich. de Aqua, &c. held lands here by knight's service. Hales's manor, was held by a quarter of a fee of Fitz-Walter's fee, and a quarter of Bardolf's fee.
In 1257, John de Dagworth settled two messuages, 60 acres of land, and 20s. rent on Michael de Newton and Isabell his wife.
In 1274, Rich. Goby held a free tenement here, which Nigel de Rifley formerly sold to Mathew de Morley.
In 1302, Rich. de Aqua settled his part on Walter his son.
In 1306, Richard de Hales and Alice his wife purchased lands, and added them to their manor.
In 1327, Robert Fitz-Walter's fees were divided as follow: Will. de Hales and his tenants had half a fee; Rob. de Rifley and his tenants a fourth part of a fee; Adam de Morley a fourth part of a fee; John Hochede an eighth part of a fee; and the Prior of Norwich had the rest.
In 1334, Will. Jurdan of Leringsete settled the manors of Wiclewood and Warham, and the moiety of the manor of Testerton, with other lands and rents in divers towns, on Will. de Hales and Katerine his wife, with remainder to Stephen, Richard, and William, their sons; Wiclewood to remain to the heirs of William, the rest, if issue failed, to revert to Katherine, they being of her inheritance, she being daughter of Jurdan.
In 1343, Rob. de Hawe of Wiclewood confirmed to Sir Thomas Uvedate, Knt. and Richard, John, Thomas, and Ralph, his sons, and Margaret, his daughter, divers lands here, but it was not a manor.
In 1343, Will. de Hales held a quarter of a fee of John Fitz-Walter, which Richard de Hales lately held, and the Prior of Norwich, John Cok, chaplain, Will. Randolf, and Thomas Phillip, held the twentieth part of a fee of him; and Rob. de Morley and his tenants, viz. Will. de Hales, Rob. de Hagh or Hawe, Rich. de Aqua, and the heirs of Ralph Wikes, held a quarter of a fee of the manor of Hockering; and in 1381, I find that many of these tenants were to have housebote and haybote from Wiclewood Forest.
In 1401, Tho. de Hales held his manor at a quarter of a fee of the Earl of Rutland; and the Prior, John Cok, and John Skulton, held their twentieth part of a fee of that Earl, to whom it belonged in right of his wife; and then Sir Rob. de Morley, Knt. and his tenants, viz. Tho. de Hales, Alice, late wife of Robert Hobert, and the heirs of Ralf de Wikes, held their quarter of a fee of the manor of Hockering, which Sir Thomas Morley, Knt. held of the King, as parcel of his barony of Rye.
In 1443, Hales's manor was sold by William Calthorp and others, to Will. Rookwood, Esq. and Elizabeth his wife, who sold it to
John Windham, Esq. who, in 1466, settled it on himself for life, remainder to John Windham, Esq. his son, and Margaret his wife, who was daughter of Sir John Howard, Knt. after Duke of Norfolk, and the heirs of their body, in whose issue it still continues. In 1547, Sir Edmund Windham was lord, in 1570, Rog. Windham, Esq. and now, Ash Windham of Felbrigge, Esq.
Now called Brandon-Parva or Little-Brand, to distinguish it from Brandon-Magna, or Great-Brand, in Suffolk.
This village belonged to, and passed with, the manor of Cossey, both in the time of the Confessor and Conqueror, as you may see at p. 407, it being then called Brandim; it was afterwards granted by the Lord of Cossey, to a family who assumed the name of the town for their sirname.
In 1196, Roger of Brandon was lord and patron of a mediety of the church, the other mediety belonging to Bartholomew de Edisfeld and Maud his wife, sister of the said Roger, on whom they settled their part; at Roger's death it came to
Richard, his son and heir, who, in 1256, sold the advowson and two acres of his demeans to Will. le Mareschall, lord of Hingham; and in 1281, John and Agnes de Bayfield, his wife, and Reginald de Waxtonesham, and Joan, his wife, released their rights, and from this time it passed with the manor of Hingham, till it came to Sir Thomas Lovell of East-Herling, as you may see from p. 435 to 443; and from that time it went as the institutions will shew you. This Richard sold divers parcels of his manor, which were erected into free tenements, which, after many conveyances, were either reunited, or else the rents purchased off, and so extinguished. In 1286, Francis of Hackford, and Margery, wife of Henry Petericks, had two messuages, 36 acres of land, and 9s. 6d. quitrent, which they sold to Nicholas, parson of Yaxham; and Hervy de Stanhowe and Isabell his wife, had a messuage and 10s. quitrent, which he purchased of John de Bayfield: in 1298, there was an action brought by the Abbot and Convent of Langley, against Richard, for a rent of 16s. a year, payable out of several lands called Estone-Lond, and upon the trial, the Abbot produced a deed made by John de Estone, by which it appeared that the said John gave to God, and the church of St. Mary at Langley, and the Premonstratensian canons serving God there, an annual rent of 16s. payable on Lady day, out of all his lands in Brandon; namely, 10s. to feed a hundred poor people the day before Lady day; 2s. to find two wax tapers for the high altar of the abbey church; and 4s. for a pittance, or augmentation of the dinner in the abbey, on Lady day; upon which the Abbot recovered. This Richard was dead before 1304, for in that year,
Henry de Brandon and Isabell his wife had the manor settled on them, by Philip de Huningham, their trustee; it contained then five messuages, a mill, 180 acres in demean, besides divers acres of meadow, marsh, and pasture, and 26s. 8d. quitrent; it extended in Bernham, Runhall, Welborn, and Hargham; how it went from them, whether by sale, or by their heiress's marrying a Baconsthorp, I do not find; but in
- 1315, Sir John de Baconsthorp of Baconsthorp, Knt. was lord, from which time it passed with Baconsthorp to the Heydons, and continued with it till
Sir Christ. Heydon, Knt. sold it about 12th Eliz. to
Miles Spencer, LL. D. who the same year, by deed, gave it to
Rob. Constable of Baconsthorp, Gent. his nephew, who, by deed dated 20th March, 14th Elizabeth, conveyed a good part of the demeans to Elizabeth Howse, to be held by a free-rent and suit of court; it afterwards belonged to the
Cocks, of whom it was purchased by
Rich. Warner, who left it to
Rich. Warner, his son, who left it to
John Warner, his son, who held it to 1702, when he died, and gave the manor and demeans thereof, (which he charged with the annual payment of 10l. every Candlemas day, to be divided among the poor of this parish for ever,) to his three aunts,
Susanna, married to Mr. Nicholas Tidd of Wells,
Elizabeth, to Mr. Tho. Stoughton of Hockering, and
Mary, to Mr. John Frary.
Susanna left issue, Frances Tidd, who married Mr. Rob. Chad of Wells, and had issue Mr. Rob. Chad of Wells, who is now dead, and his third part is enjoyed by Mrs. Elizabeth Chad, his widow, who was daughter of Charles Wright of Kilverston, Esq. as may be seen in Wright's pedigree, vol. i. p. 545.
Elizabeth had issue, Roger Stoughton of Runhall, who left his third part to John Stoughton, his son, who is lately dead, and John Stoughton, his son, now  a minor, is lord of a third part.
Mary left issue, Mary Frary, who married Mr. Edw. Tidd of Wells, whose son, Mr. John Tidd of this town, is now lord of a third part.
The manor is held at this day of Cossey, by the rent of 3s. 4d. per annum; the quitrents are 18l. 14s. a year, the fines are at the lord's will, the remaining demeans are about 80l. per annum. The lord of Cossey hath the paramountship of half the town, but the leet belongs to Sir John Woodhouse, Bart. in right of the hundred, who hath the paramountship of the other half of the town.
The Church is dedicated to All the Saints; when Norwich Domesday was wrote, the rector had a grange or barn, and 20 acres of land; and what is remarkable, there remains exact the same quantity at this day; the whole was valued then at 10 marks and an half, and paid 6s. 8d. procurations, but no synodals, Peter-pence, nor carvage; it stands in the King's Books by the name of Brand, alias Brandon-Parva, was valued at 8l. 3s. 9d. but being sworn of the clear yearly value of 46l. 4s. 10d. it is discharged of first fruits and tenths, and is capable of augmentation. There were two gilds kept here, one in honour of St. Peter, and the other of St. John Baptist. The parish raised 20s. to every tenth. The temporals of the priory of Windham in this town were taxed at 11s. and those of the priory of Pentney, at 54s. 8d.
The nave, chancel, and south porch are all leaded; the tower is square, having in it three bells, on which I found the following inscriptions.
l. Hac in Conclave, Gabriel, nunc pange Suave.
2. Sum Rosa pulsata Mundi, Maria Vocata.
There is a black marble in the chancel, for Captain Joseph Monck, who died June 29, 1721, Æt: 72, and the arms of
Monk, or Monck, viz. gul. a chevron between three lions heads erased arg. being the same coat born by General Monk.
On a stone almost illegible, on the south side of the chancel,
Hodie mihi. Cras tibi.
If pore Mens Prayers of rich Jove were hard, Happy thy blessed Soule, now thus prefer'd, Ever beloved Utting, Unto the Heavens thy Royal Hart was knowne, To have a Part in him whom God doth owne, No Faithfull Soule did er'e take more delight, God, and his King, and Conttrye more to right, J [ohn] V. [tting] Esq. [Æt:] 76. 1658. Tempus fugit.
On a black marble under the communion table,
Here resteth the Body of Winifrid the Daughter of Richard Costivell, Gent. and Abigail his Wife, who was the Daughter of Sir Arthur Jenny Knt. she died 24 May 1671, aged about 14 Years, Elizabeth their Daughter died 13 July 1689, aged about 29 Years.
Abigail Costivell, widow, gave an alms-house, standing on the common, and 20s. a year, towards keeping a reading school in this parish, to be paid out of the High-House farm, which is now owned by Mr. Rich. Wright of Norwich.
On the chancel's roof are the arms of Ufford,
And in the steeple window, Hastings quarters Foliot.
In the church there are marbles for,
Richard Warner Gent. of Brandon Parva, who died 27 Dec: 1684, aged 40 Years.
Richard Son of Richard Warner Gent. and Elizabeth his Wife, died June 7, 1684, aged 7 Years.
On a mural monument on the south side of the church,
Near this Place lyeth the Body of John Warner Gent. Son of Richard Warner Gent. and Elizabeth his Wife, who among his many charitable Acts, did by his last Will and Testament, give to the Poor of this Parish, 10 pounds a Year for ever, he died 2 Feb: 1702, aged 21 Years.
Crest, a lion's head erased or; arms, sab. a chief and three bars trimells or.
There is a stone for him on the floor.
In the wall under the monument,
Here lyeth the Body of Richard Warner Esquier, who deceasev the 10th Day of May A. D. 1587.
On a brass plate,
Orate pro Anima Christiane Buk, cuius anime propicietur Deus.
There are two black marbles; one, for Elizabeth who was first the Pious and Virtous Wife of Richard Warner Gent. and after of John Frary Gent. she died 20 January 1722, aged 66, to whose Memory her two Nephews John Berney of Westwick and Rich: Berney of Norwich, Esqrs. placed this Stone. The second is for John Frary Gent, who died 26 Dec: 1716, aged 72, being buried at the RightHand of Elizabeth Woodrow his Sister, who died Oct. 12 1734, aged 76 Years.
- 1301, 11 cal. April, Ernald de Hegham. Will. Marescall, Knt.
- 1307, non. Dec. Henry de Lond. Lady Hawyse le Marchal, assignee.
- 1317, 3 cal. Dec. Will. de Brigham, Rob. de Morle.
- 1327, 4 cal. April, Roger Pcrbroun. Sir Rob. de Morle, Marshal of Ireland
- 1340, 16 Oct. John Godrych of Leringsete. Ditto. Change with Hemesby.
- 1346, 23 March, John de Outwell. R. Ditto.
- 1354, 18 Nov. Will. Pete of Swanton. Ditto.
- 1355, 27 April, John de Upwelle. Ditto.
- 1370, 23 July, Will. Bate of Thurston. Change with Meteshale, buried in the chancel, 1375. Sir Will. Morle, Knt. Marshal of Ireland.
- 1375, 11 June, Jeffry Swathyng of Hardyngham, Ditto.
- 1376 25 April, Simon Gilbert of Holt. Change with St. Margaret's in Norwich. Ditto.
- 1388, 7 Jan. Peter Alfrith. Sir Tho. Morle, Knt.
- 1396, 17 March, Henry, son of Will. Henor of Swinesheved. Change with Westenyng, Lincoln diocese. Sir Tho. Lord Morle, Marshal of Ireland.
- 1399, 14 Oct. John atte Hirn of Runhall. Ditto.
- 1418, 1 Jan. John Sybton of Bernham. John Holm of Carleton Fourhow, this turn, in right of the manor of Bayfield in Corston. R.
- 1418, 17 Feb. John Verley. O. John Lancastre, &c.
- 1422, 22 June, Thomas Codling. Thomas as Lord Morley. R.
- 1436, 8 June, Rich. Skot, buried in the chancel. Isabell Lady Morley.
- Richard Yve. O. Ditto.
- 1441, 11 Oct. Richard Trewthe. Ditto.
- Thomas Palmer. R.
- 1473, 7 Dec. Richard Daniel. Will. Lovell Lord Morley.
- 1477, 23 July, John Kirkeby. R. Lord Morley's feoffees.
- 1479, 19 Jan. Thomas Myllys. John Duke of Suffolk, guardian of Henry Lovell Lord Morley. R.
- 1487, 11 July, John Cupper. O. Henry Lovell Lord Morley.
- 1524, 18 June, Henry Fayr. R. Assignee of Hen. Parker Lord Morley.
- 1526, 4 Nov. Rich. Pratt. R. Ditto.
- 1543, 17 Oct. Will. Moreson. O. Ditto.
- 1550, 22 Oct. Will. Acre. R. Ditto.
- 1554, 30 June, Rich. Spatchet. R. Ditto.
- 1561, 26 Feb. Will. Kyrwood. R. Ditto.
- 1572, 5 Oct. John Clerkson. Ditto.
- 1578, 3 June, Rob. Utting. Edw. Parker Lord Morley.
- 1592, 18 May, Thomas Okes. Sir Tho. Lovell of Harling. In 1603, he returned 100 communicants.
- 1631, 5 Nov. Abraham Baist. R. Rich. Neve, clerk, this turn.
- 1674, 2 Feb. Jessop Webb. O. John Berney, Esq. United to Welbourn.
- 1710, 7 March, The Rev. Mr. Rob. Stone, the present  rector. United to Hacford. Tho. Berney, Esq. whose widow is the present  patroness.
Commonly called Coson, is a small village in this hundred, of which I find no mention in Domesday, by the name of Corston, but take it to be that town in Domesday called Appethorp, which belonged to Alfere, a freeman, in the Confessor's time, and was given by the Conqueror to Robert the Archer, it being the only estate he had in this county; it was then worth 32s. and was 4 furlongs long, and 2 broad, and paid 5d. gelt.
It seems it afterwards came to the Albanys, for the Register of Windham, fo. 107, says, that William de Albany, the founder, confirmed the gift of this advowson made by John, son of William Rothawe, to that monastery, by which it seems that the town was infeoffed in either the Rothaws or some other family that they had it of, by the Albanys; and after this, Pandulf Bishop of Norwich instituted John de Suthwode to the rectory, on the Prior's presentation, which was dated at Thetford, 1221. How it happened I know not, but it was soon after released by the Prior, and joined to the manor again; and so continued till 1267, when Robert le Burser of London, lord here, levied a fine, and settled it on Roger de Skerning Bishop of Norwich, and Alan de Freston Archdeacon of Norfolk, in which the Bishop acknowledged that it belonged to his church of Norwich, as for ever consolidated and appropriated to the archdeaconry, so that they can never be separated or aliened, and for this settlement they gave Robert 40s. and an acknowledgment that they had no claim in his manor; this Robert was concerned in the manor of Little Wenham in Suffolk, jointly with Emma his wife, who seems to be one of the coheirs of Roger de Holbrook; it afterwards was divided into many parts, for in 1315, the Nomina Villarum tells us that Sir John de Claveringe, Walter de Bernham, Rich. Byrks, John Ode, Isabell Quitwelle, Will. de Stokesby, Rob. de Wrthstede, Will. de Carleton, the Prior of West-Acre, Peter de Runhall, the Master of Kerbrook hospital, Sir Constantine de Moxtimer, the Prior of Windham, and John le Marshal, were lords here, or had manors that extended into this town. In 1285, there were two manors, one called Corston, the other Bayfield, from John de Bayfield, lord thereof, who left it to Joan his wife, and at her death, to Agnes, Katerine, and Mabell, their daughters; Isabell, their daughter, married Hervy de Stanhowe, and had a messuage, 23 acres, and 10s. quitrent for her part; but notwithstanding this division, in 1396, the whole was united again, and John Blythe, an outlaw, was lord, and it afterwards was joined to the other manor, which after divers purchases, came to the Brownes, by which family they were again divided; in 1572, Thomas Browne, veoman, was lord of Corston, and Miles Browne, yeoman, was lord of Bayfield in Corston, which were afterwards purchased by the Woodhouses, and at present, Sir John Woodhouse, Bart. is lord of the whole town, and hath the sole paramountship, in right of the leet, which belongs to his hundred of Forehoe.
The Church is dedicated to St. Michael the Archangel, was valued at 2 two marks, but is not in the King's Books, it being an exempt belonging to the Archdeacon of Norfolk ever since its appropriation and annexation to the archdeaconry, in 1267; it pays no synodals, procurations, nor carvage, and acknowledges no visitor, but its rector the archdeacon. In Edward the Third's time, it became the archdeacon's country seat, there being a good house, toft, and six acres of land, in 1362, William de Blythe obtained a patent to enlarge his house here, and a license of mortmain to settle an acre of land on his church; in 1373, at his death, the Bishop collated Master Rob. de Prees, priest, to the archdeaconry of Norfolk, with the church of Corston annexed, so that I need mention no more of its rectors, but refer you to my list of the Archdeacons of Norfolk; the Rev. Dr. Salter, the present  archdeacon, now enjoys it.
It appears that during the archdeacons residence here, which was till after 1600, they served the church themselves, but ever since they found a curate, who serves here once a fortnight. The whole town paid but 14s. to each tenth; the temporals of Windham priory were taxed at 16d. those of the Prior of Norwich at 12d. and those of the Prior of West-Acre at 11d. In 1627, Mr. Will. Crompton was curate, and now, the Rev. Mr. Will. Gordon of Barnham-Broom. The chief of the land in this parish, is owned by — Scot, Esq. of Aylesham.
The church and chancel are leaded, the south porch tiled; there is a square tower and one bell, but no memorial of any kind, save a large disrobed stone having lost an effigies and two shields; whether this was laid over some archdeacon buried here, (for the effigies seems to have been in a priest's hahit,) or over John Foster of this town, Gent. who was buried in 1556, I cannot say.
The Church is dedicated to All the Saints; it hath a round steeple, and three bells, on the first of which is this,
Fac Margareta nobis hec Munera leta.
The nave is leaded, the south porch tiled, the chancel is quite ruinated; there is an imperfect brass plate with this on it,
icia Uror eius quoram animabus propicietur God of his Mercy aquyte hem.
On a black marble,
Stoughton, vert, a cross ingrailed erm. Crest, a bird.
Roger Stoughton Gent. died in 1718, aged 60 years, Isabell his wife July 27 1715, on which day she was 51 years of age.
John Stoughton died April 22 1730, aged 35 years.
In 1416, Margaret, widow of Rob. de Berneye, Knt. was buried in the church, before St. Catherine's altar, to which she gave a picture of St. Catherine; it appears by her will, in Regr. Hyrning, fo. 5, that Roger de Welsham was her first husband, and that she gave her house and lands which she purchased here, to her daughters, Cicily and Katherine; she gave a gold cup to her brother Edmund, and legacies to John Berney, her son, and Elen Bedingfield, her sister.
In 1505, Rob. Tillis of Salhouse was buried here, and gave a legacy to repair the steeple; he gave Catherine his wife an annuity of 12l. out of his manor of Popis in Runhall, which he gave to William, his son.
There is an altar monument in the churchyard, on the south side, for John Castleton, who died May 5, 1687, aged 56, and Mary his wife who died Decemb. 24, 1707, aged 60 years.
Crest, a demi-griffin holding a broken sword.
Castleton, az. on a bend or, three snakes twisted round vert, impaling two fesses, with a crescent for difference.
This church was a rectory at first, belonging to the manor, and so continued till 1198, when it was given by Bartholomew de Runhall, Roger de Reppes, and Gilbert de Runhall, to William Prior of WestAcre, and the canons of the church of St. Mary and All-Saints there, for one gold ring, on condition they were made partakers of all the prayers in the monastery, together with Mabell wife of Roger, and Eustace de Runhall; and soon after they got it appropriated, reserving to the vicar the parsonage-house, an acre of land, and the small tithes, so that the convent got by the appropriation 40 acres of glebe, and all the great tithes, for which they were taxed at 12 marks, besides 14d. for their temporals; the vicar paid 5s. procurations, 6d. synodals, and 11d. Peter-pence; the vicarage is valued in the King's Books at 6l. 18s. 3d. ob. and being sworn of the clear yearly value of 10l. it is discharged of first-fruits and tenths, and is capable of augmentation.
After the Dissolution, the impropriation and advowson of the vicarage were purchased of the Crown by the lord of the manor, with all the revenues of West-Acre priory in this town, and have ever since gone together, and still remain joined at this day.
The Prior of Windham was taxed for temporals here at 3s. 8d. and the Prior of Walsingham for his at 6d.; the parish paid 50s. to every tenth. Here were two gilds, viz. of St. Margaret and St. James, and in the south window were these arms,
Gul. on a chevron arg. three croslets fitchee of the field, impaling arg. six mullets gul.
In a north window. arg. on a chevron sab. a mullet pierced or, in the dexter cheif a crescent sab.
At the Conqueror's survey this town was in two parts, the biggest of which Hakene held in the Confessor's time, but it was in the Conqueror's own hands, who let it to farm to Godric; it was then a berewic to swating, with which it was valued, for at fo. 23 of Domsday Book, we read as under.
This constituted the capital manor, called afterwards
Whitwell's, Gambon's, or Uphall, in Runhal
Which came to the Baniards, from them to the Fitz-Walters, and by them was divided, one half being infeoffed in the Gournays, who held it of the barony of Banyard-Castle at half a fee, and the other in the Hakefords, who held their half of the same barony at another half fee, which afterwards was called Popis manor.
In 1195, Gilbert de Runhal was Lord, it coming to that family from William Gournay, who held it in Henry the Second's time; and in 1198, Barth. de Runhall, by gift of Gilbert, he sold it to Richer de Whitewell, from which time it descended with Whitwell's manor in Whitewell, and the manor called by their name in Skeyton; in 1205, Mathew de Gourney, son of William, brought an action against Gilbert de Runhall for the manor; but Gilbert recovered, and so the Whitewells remained in quiet possession. In 1293, Will. de Whitewell died seized, and left this, Whitewell, and his manor in Skeyton, to John his brother, then 40 years old; in 1315, Isabell de Whitewell held it; in 1327, Will. de Whitewell had it, who, in 1330, settled it on Roger de Hetherset, parson of Billingford, and William Fleming, chaplain, (the quitrents being then 42s. per annum,) as trustees for Catherine, wife of Will. de Whitewell, who held it in 1345; in 1393, William Gambon and Cicily his wife had this manor, and half Whitewells manor in Skeyton; and in 1429, Rich. son of Rich. Gambon, and grandson of William, was lord, and John Gambon, his cousin and heir, was 30 years old, which John died seized in 1432 of a free tenement here called Ryfley's, with the manor of Runhall Whitwell's, Uphall, and Brandon Hall in Runhall, Corston, Welbourne, &c. with Skeyton manor and advowson, all which, after the death of Ellen his wife, went to Rob. Sterne his cousin and heir, whose son Thomas became lord at his father's death; but he dying without issue in 1460, it descended to Henry Sterne, his brother, who lived till 1467, and then it went to Henry Sterne, his son and heir, then four years old. In 1548, Roger Woodhouse, Esq. purchased it of James Downes and Elizabeth his wife, and joined it to Popis manor, in whose family it hath continued ever since, Sir John Woodhouse, Bart. being the present  lord, patron, and impropriator, and lord of the leet, in right of the hundred, being also lord paramount of all the town, except that part which always belonged to Cossey, (see p. 407,) as it now does, the paramountship of which belongs to Cossey. The Atlas, p. 307, tells us that the Uffords were lords here, but it is an errour, they were never concerned no otherwise than as lords of Cossey, which extended hither, but is no separate lordship.
Pope's, or Popis Manor
Was infeoffed as aforesaid in the Hakefords; at the time of the record called Testa de Nevile, Emma Hakeford had it; in 1315, William de Stokesby and others held it; in 1327, Roger de Stokesby was lord; in 1345, Margery de Gelham had it; in 1361, Alan de Illey and Katherine his wife conveyed it to John de Baketon and Margaret his wife; in 1362, the said Alan, Catherine, John, and Margaret, granted it to Reginald de Eccles, William Ode, and John Miles; and in 1367, John de Walton and Margaret his wife conveyed it to William de Worsted of Norwich, and Philip Cosyn, and his heirs; and in 1401, Ralf Bateman and his partners had it, in right of his wife; it came afterwards to the Tillises, and John Tillis died seized in 1490, whose son Robert was buried here in 1505, and left it to William, his son, who died without issue, for in 1521, Henry Richers and Cecily his wife, one of the daughters and heiresses of Robert Tillis, late of Salowes, Gent. and Mary Tillis, another of the daughters and heiresses, sold it to Thomas Woodhouse and his trustees, the quitrents being then 3l. per annum; it was after joined to the other manor, with which it now continues.
- 1301, Michael de Westacre. Prior of Westacre.
- 1303, Adam de Wadton
- 1303, John Ovyton.
- 1349, Simon de Bauburgh.
- 1350, Hamon Gerard of Baubergh. Change with Ormesby.
- 1353, Warine de Runhale.
- 1394, John, son of Adam Wolvede. R.
- 1397, Simon de Gosselyn.
- 1407, John Hull of Broughton.
- 1410, Rich. Smith of Hokelingham.
- 1411, John Balle of Thurston. R.
- 1414, Hugh Lessy.
- 1421, Tho. Skerning, buried in the churchyard in 1432.
- 1442, Will. Pinchbek. Lapse.
- 1444, Will. Betram.
- 1450, John Borell.
- 1463, Tho. Benham. Lapse.
- Simon Attache. O.
- 1482, Will Carr.
- 1513, Rob. Smith. O. The last presented by the Prior.
- 1542, Sir Edw. Woodhouse. Roger Woodhouse, Esq.
- 1555, Edm. Barrow. O.
- 1578, John Crosse. The assignee of Roger Woodhouse, Esq.
- 1582, Sir Edw. Woodhouse, chaplain. Roger Woodhouse, Esq.
- 1603, John Cross. (see p. 311.) Tho. Browne, his curate, returned 40 communicants here. Sir Philip Woodhouse.
- 1620, Rob. Rowse, died rector. Ditto.
- 1635, Barth. Fenwick. Hen. Edgerly, Gent. by grant from Sir Tho. Woodhouse. He died in the rebellion, and nobody was presented, and it hath been held ever since without institution; the impropriator paying 10l. per annum to the serving curate, who serves every other Sunday; the Rev. Mr. Will. Gordon of Barnham-Broom is the present  curate.
The church of St. Butolph is the mother church, St. Peter's being only a chapel of ease, belonging to it, and had no separate rector, but was served by a curate, nominated by the rector, at whose pleasure he was removed; at Walter's taxation in 1254, St. Butolph's and St. Peter's were taxed as one rectory, (master Cantelupe being then curate of St. Peter's,) at 16 marks, of which Cantilupe's portion, for his service was estimated at 3 marks; Norwich Domesday tells us the rector had a house and 30 acres of land; it was then valued at 26 marks, the separate portion of tithes belonging to Castle-Acre at 5s. the portion of Thetford monks, at 5s. It paid procurations, and 2s. synodals, Peter-pence 18d. and carvage 6d. ob. It is a rectory undischarged, which stands in the King's Books thus, Morley St. Butolph, with the chapel of St. Peter; it is valued at 14l. 1s. 2d. ob. and pays first fruits, and 1l. 9s. 1d. 3q. yearly tenths, and is not capable of augmentation. In 1382, Tho. de Flitcham and others settled lands here on Flitcham priory; the Prior of Bromholm was taxed for his temporals at 12d. the Prior of Kerseye for his at 7s. the Prior of St. Faith's at 2s. the Prior of Windham, at 11s. 10d. and the Prior of Norwich for his, at 1s. 1d. The second Register of the church of Norwich tells us, that Walter, son of John Gerard of Morley, gave them a rent of 1d. per annum, and that Robert, son of Ralf, son of Odo, of Morley, gave them 9 acres and 3 roods of his fee in Morley, which they granted off, to be held of them by the rent of 12d. a year. This town paid 3l. 10s. to every tenth.
The Church of St. Butolph hath a nave, chancel, and south porch, which are tiled, a large square tower and three bells. The chancel was fitted up and adorned by Sir Thomas Warde, who was instituted rector in 1480; on the top of the screens, on the chancel side, is an old drawing of that rector, with his name over his head, in the middle is the parsonage-house, with the word Rectoria over it, on the north side is the church of St. Butolph, and on the south, the church of St. Peter; on one side he is represented in a priest's habit, giving alms to the lame, blind, and poor, and on the other side, in a shepherd's habit, looking after a flock of sheep, the one to signify his charitable disposition, the other, that of his pastoral care. In the east window he stands in a rich vestment, like that he served in at the altar; over him is a shield, which is now reversed, having on it a scepter and crosier in saltier, and the letters J. D.. for John Ward, alderman of London, one of his patrons, if not brother, and T. D. for his own name; the device of the sceptre and crosier being to show the mutual dependance of church and state on each other, and his own attachment to both; his grave-stone (as I take it to be) now lies broken upon the chancel floor, and was a thick coffin-stone. The rest of the window, which was finely adorned, is now defaced.
In the south chancel window is a shield, viz. arg. on a fess gul. three lions passant or, in chief a label of five points az.
On a small brass plate,
Orate pro Anima Margarete Agas cuius Anime propicietur Deus.
On a black marble in the midst of the chancel, Crest, an eagle's head erased barrulee.
Grigson, G. two bars, in chief three annulets, arg. impaling
On a chevron between three croslets botone, three escalops.
Susan the wife of Will. Grigson Clerk, died 30 August 1713, aged 56.
Will. Grigson Clerke, late rector of this church, died 17 Jan. 1725, aged 76.
At the door of the nave lie two old coffin-stones, under which the founders were interred, because the stone the pillars of the door stand on was laid when the wall was built, and it was usual for founders to reserve places for their own interment at the door.
There is an altar tomb in the yard, under which lie John Pooley senior, who was buried Feb. 6, 1708, and Priscilla wife of John Pooley Gent. who was buried 9 Oct. 1680, with John Pooley Junior, son of John and Priscilla, who was buried Oct. 4, 1708.
In 1478, Will. Mortimer of Morley, Esq. was buried in the churchyard, and left Mariana his wife executrix. In 1518, Margery Haymount was buried in the church, and was a benefactress to the gild of St. Butolf held in this church, and to the gild of St. Peter held in that church.
The chapel of St. Peter stands near three quarters of a mile southwest of St. Butolph's, on the road leading towards Atleburgh, and was founded by Sir William Bardolph, senior, Lord Bardolph, before the year 1240, the Bishop granting him license so to do, and it being esteemed much to the ease of the parishioners, it was made a parochial chapel, dependant on St. Butolph's church, and had baptism, sepulture, and liberty of administration of all the sacraments allowed it; the rector, who had consented to its erection, was to serve it by a chaplain, and to allow him a salary of three marks a year for his service, and from the time of its foundation to the year 1375, there was a chaplain named by the rector, (who was sometimes called rector of St. Peter's,) and the separate salary allowed, but then it was perpetually annexed to St. Butolph's, and the rector was always to serve it himself, and be no more obliged to find a separate chaplain. In the year 1361, Sir John Bardolph, lord of Wormgeye, and patron here, endeavoured to erect a chantry for his own and ancestors' souls, and to have divers priests fellows of it, who should say daily service in St. Butolph's church; and in order therto, he conveyed the advowson of St. Butolph, with St. Peter's chapel annexed, to Sir Rich. Walkefare, Knt. and other trustees, who in 1363 obtained a license under the broad seal of King Edward III. to found Morley chantry, and in this year the living became void. There is a deed among the Bishop's Evidences, sealed with his seal, by which he appropriated the church of St. Butolph, with the chapel of St. Peter annexed, to the custos and chaplains of Morley college, new founded, and not then sufficiently endowed, reserving to the Bishop a pension of 16s. a year. It appears the advowson was given to the chantry or college, and vested in the custos and chaplains hands, but yet the Prior of Norwich would not confirm the appropriation, as is apparent by that part of the deed being not sealed nor filled up, so that the whole having no other endowment, came to nothing, and Robert de Walton and John de Wineghton, who were to have been chaplains, and were trustees for the advowson's being settled, were obliged to present to the rectory, and they presented John at Dammesend, who was to have been the first custos; but this was not the only attempt, for in 1447, 14th July, Sir Andrew Ogard, Knt. Sir John Clifton, Knt. and Will. Rogers, Gent. gave the advowson to Wimondham abbey, and obtained license of the King for its appropriation, notwithstanding which, the convent could never obtain the Bishop's license, and so never enjoyed it, the advowson remaining in the trustees' hands till 1453, when Sir Andrew presented to it himself; about 1620, and in 1676, the inhabitants of St. Peter's endeavoured to make them separate parishes, they would not pay towards the repair of the mother church nor come to it, but on the hearing of the cause, they were decreed to be but one parish, only had this liberty allowed them, to choose chapel-wardens, if they pleased, which has been since so far extended, that the officers and rates are distinct, and certificates as to the poor are given from one to the other.
The Chapel hath part of a large square tower remaining at its west end, in which hangs one bell, the nave is leaded, the chancel and south porch are tiled. There are five black marbles by the altar.
Crest, a goat's head erased erm.
Sedley, az. a fess wavy between three goats heads erased erm. impaling
Erm. on a pile in point a leopard's face jessant.
1. M. S. Here reposited are the Remains of Edw. Sedley of Morley in the County of Norfolk Esq; descended from John Sedley of South-Fleet in the County of Kent Esq; the Ancestor of the Baronets of that Name. Edward Sedley married Mary Daughter of Hen. Somner of Dinton in Buckinghamshire Esq; by whom having no Issue, gave his Estate to Henry Somner, under the Obligation of taking the Name of Sedley, he being Nephew to him, and also to Mary his wife.
Edw. Sedley died 12 Sept. 1727, aged 57.
2. John Son of Will. Sedley Esq; died 10 Oct. 1712, aged 49.
3. Anne Wife of Will. Sedley Esq. died 8 Nov. 1709, aged 70.
4. William Sedley Esq. died 10 Oct. 1704, aged 64.
5. Abigail Daughter of William and Anne Sedley died Aug. 19 1709, aged 30.
There is a monument against the north wall in the nave, having the arms of Sedley quartering Mounteneye, and several other imperfect coats, and this inscription,
MARTINE SEDLEY Esquier, descended from the Worshipfull and antiente Famelye of the Sedlyes of South-Fleete in Kent, and of Elizabeth Daughter and Heyre of Tho. Mounteney of Mountnesing in Essex, Esq: had to his first Wife Anne, descended of the antiente and Worshipfull Famelye of the Sheltons of Shelton, by whom he had Issue, Edmonde who died without Issue, Sir Ralphe Knt. and Amy who married to John Smythe Esquier, and surviving the said Anne, he toke to his second Wife, Abigail, descended of the Worshipfull and antiente Famelye of the Knyvettes of Ashwell-Thorp, & had Issue by her, Martine, who married Bridget the Daughter of Sir John Pettus of Norwiche Knighte, Robert, and Abigail, who died without Issue, Meriel who married to Brampton Gurdon of Assington in Suffolk Esquier, and at his Age of 78, in the Year of Grace 1609, happelye exchanged this Transitory for an Eternal Lyfe. In Memorie of whom, the sayde Abigail his sorrowfull Wiffe, as a Testimony of her Love & Pyetye, hath erected this Monumente.
In the north chancel window is a shield of chequy arg. and gul.; and in the yard at the south-east corner of the chancel lies a fine ridged coffin-stone, with a broad plain cross carved on it, under which, it is to be presumed, one of the rectors was interred.
These arms were formerly in the windows, viz.
Lord Morley, Ufford, Vauz, Arundell, Matravers, Lord Lovell, Lord Scales, &c.
- 1244, John, son of Elen de Thomston. Sir Will. Bardolf, senior, Lord Bardolf. Because this William would not be divorced from Christian his wife, but held that his marriage was lawful, and that priests, according to the Apostle's doctrine and example might marry, he was deprived in
- 1258, and Will. de Saham was presented by the same patron.
- 1316, Ponceard de Monte-Martini. Sir Tho. Bardolf, Knt. Ymbert de Monte-Martini. Sir T. Bardolf, Lord of Wormgeye.
- 1218, Rob. de Appehage, priest. Ditto.
- 1327, Tho. de Caylly of Wroxham, priest. Ditto.
- 1329, Robert of Wiclewood. Ditto.
- 1333, Master Hugh of Hakeford. The King, as guardian to the heir of Sir Tho. Bardolf.
- 1349, Edmund Flaundry of Paston. Sir John Bardolph of Wormgeye.
- 1375, Sir John at Dammesend, alias Elmham, buried in St. Butolf's chancel in 1418. Rob. de Walton, John de Wineghton, clerks, trustees.
- 1418, Rob. Ellot was instituted by his proctor, Roger Prat, rector of Hegham by Norwich. William Westacre, Archdeacon of Norwich, Walter Eton, and John Biskele, citizens of Norwich. He resigned.
- 1435, John Howlet. Ralf Lord Cromwell, Will. Estfield, and Tho. Dale. He resigned.
- 1439, Howlet resigned to Ellot. W. Estfield, Knt. Alderman of London.
- William Sparrow, who died rector.
- 1451, Master Tho. Winchcombe. He resigned.
- 1453, Sir Richard Esh, priest, who was buried in 1646, in St. Peter's chancel. Sir Andrew Ogard, Knt.
- 1466, Master Stephen Maynard, who died rector.
- 1480, Sir Thomas Ward, priest, whom I have already mentioned. Will. Purchas of London, mercer, John Fortescue, Esq. Will. Boleyn, Hen. Heydon, Will. Southwell, Esqrs. John Ward, alderman and grocer of London, Henry Spelman, and Thomas Lovell, Gents.
- 1500, William Pake. James Hobart, Gent.
- 1535, Sir Nicholas Hart, chaplain. He died rector.
- 1548, Sir Peter Gale, chaplain. Anne Hobart, widow.
- 1571, Edw. Clerke. Owen Hobart, Gent.
- 1589, Will. Castleton. T. Hopkins, by grant from Owen Hobart.
- 1616, Edm. Topcliffe, A. M. on Castleton's resignation; he returned 138 communicants. Sir Henry Hobart, Knt. and Bart. Lord Chief Justice of the King's Bench.
- 1631, Will. Hyde, A.M. Miles Hobart, Esq.
- 1674, Will. Grigson, A. M. on Hyde's death. Ditto.
- 1726, The Rev. John Francis, LL.B. (now LL. D.) the present  rector, holds it united to the rectory of St. John in the MadderMarket in Norwich: Thornhaugh Gurdon, Esq. patron of this turn.
The advowson belonged to the manor of Shadwell's and Cockarell's, but when that was sold to William Grigson, it was excepted by the seller, Mr. John Whitefoot, whose daughter married Mr. James Elmy of Norwich, to whom Mr. Whitefoot gave the advowson, and the said James is the present patron.
Dr. Grigson's seat here is the manor-house of Shadwell's and Cockarell's, in Morley St. Butolph, and stands about half a mile west of that church, against Morley-Green.
The manor-house, and ancient seat of the Sedleys, is in St. Peter's, and stands about half a mile westward of that church.
At the time of the Conquest there were two manors, which still continue.
The Manor of Morley Hall
At the Confessor's survey, contained two carucates; the priest or rector had one, and 5 freemen the other, and it was then worth 60s. but at the Conquest 40s. only; as Domesday informs us, at fo. 94.
From this time the manor passed with the town of Hingham, (as as you may see at p. 432, &c.) till it came to the Morleys; the Atlas of Norfolk, p. 308, tells us, " that this town is famous for giving name to this family, which hath afforded several men of worth and honour, as well as wealth, as Robert de Morley Lord Morley, Admiral of the northern fleet; Thomas Lord Morley, Marshal of Ireland, &c." Matthew de Morley held it at two fees; in 1253, Sir Robert de Morley had free-warren granted him here, and in Roydon; it continued with Hingham till after 1359, when Sir Will. de Morley, Knt. assigned it to Sir Robert Morley, Knt. his half brother, he being eldest son to Robert deceased, by Joan, his second wife; this Robert was often in the French wars, and died in 1385, leaving Sir Robert de Morley, Knt. his son, who, in 1401, held this manor of the manor of Hockering at one fee, which his cousin, Thomas Lord Morley, then held, in 1414, he and Petronill his wife had this, Glosthorp, and Framesden in Suffolk, and died soon after, leaving it to Thomas Morley, Knt. his son, who died in 1416, and Robert Morley, his brother, inherited, who, in 1466, was executor to Rich. Essh, rector here; soon after 1490, I find Eliz. Morley (his wife, as I take it) was buried in the nun's church at Carowe; in the will she calls the Earl of Suffolk her brother; at their deaths, without male issue, the manor reverted to the Lord Morley, and so became joined again to Hingham, and passed with that in the family of the Parkers till 1545, when it was sold by Sir Henry Parker, Knt. and Eliz. his wife, to John, William, and Martin Sedley, and their heirs, the quitrents being then about 8l. per annum. This John was of South-Fleet in Kent, and by Eliz. Cotton of Staffordshire, his wife, had William and Martin aforesaid, William, the eldest son, had issue, John, whose son William was created a baronet, but the manor was given to Martin, the second son, who came and settled here; he married Elizabeth, daughter and heir of John Mounteney of Mountnesing in Essex, and was succeeded by Martine, his son and heir, who died in 1609, and was buried here; by Anne Shelton, his first wife, he had two sons and three daughters; Sir Ralph, his second son, married, but left no issue, so that Martine, his eldest son by Abigail Knevet, his second wife, inherited; he married Bridget, daughter of Sir John Pettus of Norwich, by whom he had many children; John Sidley, his son and heir, of Barford and Morley, married Elizabeth, daughter of Sir William Spring of Pakenham, Knt. by whom he had Will. Sedley, his son and heir, who married Anne, daughter and heir of Peter Wetherick of Norwich, and heir to her grandfather, Edm. Boreman of Norwich; they left Martin, their son and heir, whose son, Edward Sidley, married Mary, daughter of Henry Somner of Buckinghamshire, who died without issue in 1727, leaving his estate to Henry Somner the present  lord, who, according to the will of Edward, hath taken the name of Sedley.
The Manor of Shadwell's, or Cockarell's
Was owned by Ralf de Beaufo at the Conqueror's survey, and by Lewin, a freeman, at the Confessor's, when it was worth 40s. a year; there were several freemen added to it in the Conqueror's time, when the soke or paramountship belonged to Hingham, as an appendant to the hundred; this town was better than a mile long, and as much broad, and paid 14d. 3q. gelt, as we learn from Domsday, fol. 213.
Whether Hugh that held it under Beaufo, at the Conquest, was an ancestor of the Bardolphs, I do not know, but find it in the Lord Bardolf very early, in whose family it continued many ages, as the institutions shew you; it after belonged to the Cromwells, Ogards, and Lovells, by whose trustees it was sold to the Hobarts, in whose family it continued till after 1674, when it was sold by Miles Hobart, Esq. to Sir Joseph Pain of Norwich, whose grandson and heir, Rob. Pain, gave it to Susanna his sister, who married the Rev. Mr. John Whitefoot, rector of Heigham by Norwich, and they sold it to Will. Grigson, rector of Morley, whose son, Robert Grigson, M.D. is now  lord. The patronage was excepted on the sale, and hath passed as is before observed.
Commonly called Barford, from [Bere], or [Bar], bread-corn, and [ford], a passage over the river, so that it is the village by the ford, famous for wheat or bread-corn. In the Confessor's days it was in two parts, the first belonged to Guert, as an appendant to his manor of Cossey, which at the Conqueror's survey belonged to Alan Earl of Richmond; it was seven furlongs long and six broad, and paid 13d. ob. gelt, as you may see under Cossey, at p. 407. To this part belonged a mediety of the advowson, which was in the gift of the lord of Cossey, till Alan de Rohan, lord there, gave it to Bon-Repos abbey in Normandy, and it was confirmed by Henry III. in 1226, and in 1234, Eudo, Abbot there, conveyed it to the Prior of the cathedral church at Norwich, Rich. de Siplon, dean of Hingham, and others, being witnesses; and in 1250, Walter de Suffield Bishop of Norwich appropriated it to the monks, who were to serve it by a stipendiary priest, (there being no vicarage endowed,) and to have the house and 12 acres of land, and all the profits, which were afterwards divided among them, part being settled on the Prior, part on the Almoner, and part on other officers in the convent, the whole of their spirituals being taxed at 6 marks, and their temporals at 6s.; and ever since this mediety hath continued in the church of Norwich, and this part of the town, with the manor of Cossey, to which it now belongs; the lord of Cossey being now  lord paramount of it.
The other part was held by Stigand at the Confessor's survey, and by Ralf de Beaufoe at the Conqueror's, of whom Richard then held it; the soke or paramountship of this part belonged then to Hingham, as it now doth, Sir John Woodhouse, Bart. being lord of its leet, in right of his hundred, which is appendant to that manor.
This afterwards became three manors, called Barford Hall, (to which the mediety of the rectory belonged,) Flint Hall, and Saham's, or Soham Hall.
Barford Hall Manor
Was held by Ribald de Midleham, a younger brother to Alan sirnamed the Black, the second Earl of Richmond, who had the lordship of Midleham in Yorkshire given him by his brother, Alan, from which he took his name; he was succeeded by Ralf, his son and heir, and he by Robert, his son, whose son Ralph left it to his son and heir, who was also named Ralph; he assumed the name of Ralf Fitz-Ralf, and died in 1269, leaving his two daughters his heirs, Joan, the second daughter, married to Robert de Tateshall, and Mary, to Rob. de Nevile, who had the manor of Midleham, &c. with this manor and advowson; she survived, and held it to 1284, in which year she died, leaving it to Ralf Nevile, her son and heir, who died in 1330, leaving Ralf Lord Nevile and Raby, her son and heir, who presented here in 1355, and died in 1366; he sold it to Sir Robert Knowles, Knt. for life, who presented in 1406, at whose death it went to Ralf Nevile Earl of Westmoreland, grandson of the last Ralph, his father John dying in 1388, in the lifetime of Sir Rob. Knowls; this Earl died in 1425, but before his death, conveyed the lordship of Bereford, and the mediety, to George de Nevile Lord Latimer, his son by his second wife, and he presented in right of the manor in 1435, and was lord at his death in 1468; Sir Henry Nevile, Knt. his eldest son, being slain the same year in the battle of Edgecotefield, Richard Nevile Lord Latimer, his grandson, son of the said Henry, succeeded him, and died in 1530, leaving John Nevile Lord Latimer, his son and heir, from which time the mediety of the advowson hath passed with the advowson of Fersfield, as you may see at p. 83, vol. i.; but the manor was sold from it, and afterwards was held by the Sedleys, along with Morley Hall in Morley, till John Sedley gave it to Martine Sedley of Barford, his second son, who sold it to John Goose, with the united manors of Flint Hall, and Soham Hall; and now  it belongs to Will. Brooks, Esq. Steward of Norwich, in right of his late wife.
Mikelker, or Flint Hall Manor
Was sold in 1280, by Robert, son of John de Mickleker, (or of the Great Car,) in Bereford, to John Flint of Norwich, senior, at whose death, John, his son and heir, inherited; he held it in 1348 of the manor of Hetherset, by the eighth part of a fee, and the rent of 6s. per annum; in 1501, Thomas Bachecroft of Little-Melton gave his part of Flynt's manor to Christian his wife; in 1521, Edward Tillis gave his moiety of it to Avice his wife, for life; it was afterwards purchased and joined again by Henry Riches, Esq. who, about 1573, sold it to Martin Sedley, Esq. who united it to his manor of Barford Hall.
Esthall, Saham, or Soham Hall Manor
Was held of the barony of Rhye, as of the manor of Hockering, at half a fee, and belonged to John le Botiler in the beginning of Henry the Third's time, and after that to Will. Bereford. In the year 1256, Brian, son and heir of John de Bereford, son of William and Julian his wife had it; at his death she married John de Esthall; (by whose name the manor was sometimes called;) in 1271, Hugh le Parker and Avice his wife sold it to William, son of Ralf de Saham, clerk, from whom it assumed its present name; this Avice was daughter and heiress of Brian de Bereford, which family continued here many years, the descendants from the younger children being numerous; Nich. de Bereford sold lands here to Rob. de Berford, and I meet with several knights of this name in the county. In 1283, Rich. de Saham was lord here; in 1363, James de Blickling of Norwich, and Christian his wife, sold it to Rob. Elys and Nic. Whitefoot, and in 1315, Christopher de Gelham had it; and in 1345, William, son of Rob, Curson, was lord for life; in 1374, William, son of John Elys of Great-Yarmouth, and Maud his wife, sold a mediety of it to Adam Humfrey of Repham, Maud his wife, and Giles their son, and his heirs, and in 1384, Sir Thomas Morieux, Knt. Rob. Garneys, Stephen Wyvil, Rob. Hethe, and Alice, widow of Sir Tho. Gerbrige, Knt. settled it on Wyvil, in trust; in 1401, William, son of Rob. Curson, and Rich. Blomevile, had it; in 1525, Sir John Heydon, Knt. was concerned in it; in 1545, Christ. Heydon, Knt. sold it to John Legat and Tho. Smith; and in 1564, Will. Legat, Gent. sold his half to Rob. Wyncope, who joined with Smith, and sold the whole to Martin Sedley, Esq. who joined it to Barford-Hall, with which it now remains.
In the Conqueror's survey it is said the Abbot of St. Bennet's in the Holm had 30 acres of land here, of which there is no mention afterwards. (Doms. 192.)
The Church is dedicated to St. Butolph; Norwich Domesday tells us, that the rector of the mediety had a house and 12 acres of glebe, that each mediety was valued at six marks, and paid 6s. 8d. procurations, 2s. 1d. synodals, no Peter-pence, and 6d. ob. carvage; from all which the impropriate mediety was excused. Here was a gild in honour of St. Butolph, and there were two altars at the east end of the nave, one on each side; they were dedicated to St. Mary and St. Nicholas; the mediety stands thus in the King's Books; "Barford "Un' med" R. 4l. 8s. 4d." value, but being sworn of the clear yearly value of 22l. 19s. 8d. it is discharged of first fruits and tenths, and is capable of augmentation. This town paid 44s. to every tenth.
The church consists of a nave and chancel, both which are leaded, the south porch is tiled, the tower is square, and hath three bells, the nave is 32 feet long and 27 broad, the chancel is 26 feet long and 18 broad, and the tower is about 50 feet high.
In the chancel, on a brass plate, are Sedley's arms and crest.
Robert, second son of Martine Sedley of Morley Esq. by his second Wife, Daughter of Tho. Knyyett of Ashwell-thorp Esq. died June 30 1613.
Bridget, Wife of Martine Sedley of Barford Esq. Daughter of Sir John Pettus of Norwich, died Oct. 28 1652. The arms of Pettus.
Martine Sedley of Barford Esq. descended from the Sedley's of South-fleet in Kent, died Jan. 23 Anno Domini, 1652.
Spring, arg. on a chevron ingrailed between three mascles gul, three cinquefoils of the field. Eliz. wife of Jn. Sedley of Barfd. Esq. Dr. of Will. Spring of Pakenham, ob. 24 Nov. 1679. 57.
John Sedley of Barford Esq. died Sept. 28, 1681, æt. 71.
Mary Wife of Jeremiah Revans Clerk, Sept. 29 1711.
Clement Parke of Barford, Son of Clement Parke of Hingham, of the ancient family of the Parke's of Barford, died April 27, A. D. 1687, Æt. 53.
- 1308, Nic. de Hedersete. Mary de Nevile, Lady of Midleham.
- 1340, Will. de Rudham. R. Ralf Lord Nevile Lord Raby.
- 1350, Will. of York. Ditto.
- 1351, Tho. of Wilton. Ditto.
- 1355, Rich. Asorte. Ditto.
- 1406, Benedict Kyng, buried in the chancel in 1420. Sir Rob. Knowles, Knt. who purchased the manor of North-Pykenham, and this advowson of Sir Ralph Nevile, Knt.
- 1421, Sir John Prys. Sir Ralph Nevile Earl of Westmorland. Exchange for Depham.
- 1423, Walter Hert.
Sir John Loudman. R.
- 1435, John Fulbourn. R. George de Nevile Lord Latymet, in right of his lordship of Bereford, which Sir Ralph Nevile, his father, gave him.
- 1439, Sir Rich. Barbour. Ditto. He was deprived.
- 1441, Tho. Thurleby. Rich. Oldomer, Attorney to George Nevile Lord Latymer, who was in the King's service beyond sea. He resigned.
- 1451, Sir Tho. Alford, died R. George Nevile Lord Latymer.
- 1466, Sir John Brigge, who was buried in the chancel in 1481. Ditto.
- 1481, Sir Rob. Clerk, died R. The Right Rev. Father in God, Thomas, Cardinal of St. Ciriac in Thermis, Archbishop of Canterbury, and the Pope's Legate, for this turn only.
- 1504, Sir Tho. Skynner, died rector. Lapse.
- 1535, Sir Rob. Shypton. John Nevile, Knt. Lord Latymer. Rob. Shypton. He was deprived.
- 1554, Nic. Appleby, died R. Lapse.
- 1591, Will. Morvilte. Elizabeth, relict of Francis Downes, by grant from Rob. Constable, who had it of the Lord Latymer, but it was set aside.
- 1591, John Cook, on Appleby's death. Sir Tho. Cecill, Knt. and Dame Dorothy his wife, daughter and coheir of the Lord Latymer. United to Colton. He returned answer that he had 82 communicants, that he served one mediety as curate to the church of Norwich, to which it was appropriated. He died rector.
- 1637, Rich. Gammon. Richard Gammon, clerk, S. T. B. by grant from John Cook of Colton, clerk, who purchased it of William Piercy of London, Esq. the true patron. He died rector.
- 1637, Will. Bun, he was buried at Buxton, Feb. 3, 1661. Anthony Wingfield, Bart. coheir of the Lord Latymer.
- 1662, Sam. Harding, A. M. Sir Rob. Wingfield, Bart.
- 1693, Jeremias Revans. The Bishop; but it was proved the Bishop had no right, and the institution was voided.
- 1699, Jeremias Revans. Sir Henry Wingfield, Bart.
- 1727, John Wingfield, A. M. Anthony Wingfield, Esq. his father. He had a writ of quare impedit brought against him by Lord Rochford, and was outed.
- 1730, the Rev. Mr. Sam. Carter, the present  rector, holds it united to Colton. Frederick Earl of Rochford, whose son, the present Earl of Rochford, is now patron.
Was in three parts at the time of the survey, two belonged to Cossey, (as you may see at p. 407, and the third was held by Edwin in the Confessor's time, and was given by the Conqueror to Godric his Sewer, of whom Ralf held it; this contained the greatest part of the town, which was about a mile long and as much broad, and paid 9d. gelt, and the soke or paramountship belonged to Hingham, as appendant to the hundred. An account of this manor we have in Domesday at fol. 164.
The manor and advowson came very early to the Helgetons, Sir Tho. de Helgheton was lord in 1233; Ascetina, mother of John de Helgeton, held a third part of it in dower; in 1235, the said John held a fee and half in Helgeton, and this town, of the fees of the Earl of Arundel, and one quarter of a fee here of Hugh le Veer, and he of Robert de Tateshale; he was lord here in 1289; in 1304, John, son of John de Helgheton and Claricia his wife, owned the manor; and in 1308, Claricia, then a widow, conveyed to Roger de Martlesham and Jemina his wife, a part of it for their lives only; and in 1315, the said Claricia and Emma de Martlesham had it; in 1323, John de Helewton, Roger de Kerdeston, and Tho. de Helweton, occur lords, about which time it was divided; John de Taverham purchased the advowson and a quarter of a fee, being about half the manor, and John de Helgeton had the other half still for life; in 1369, it was joined again, and John, son of Adam de Taverham, and Cecily his wife, conveyed it to John de Whitewell and his trustees; in 1397, Sir John White was lord, and after him Robert White, Esq. his son; in 1448, Roger Brom, Rich. Docket, and Will. Lymnor, were lords, but whether as feoffees I cannot say; in 1444, Tho. Lymnor of Shotesham granted to John Appleyerd and Tho. Shuldham, Esqrs. an annuity out of the manor, which the said Appleyerd, in 1463, assigned to Simon White, Will. Woodhouse, and Stephen Curson, Esqrs; in 1479, Will. White, Esq. had it; in 1496, Simon White, Esq.; in 1535, Thomas Duke of Norfolk had the reversion of the manor after certain years to come, during the life of one George White, a fool natural, son and heir of John White, Esq. all which right he conveyed to Edmund White of Shotesham, Esq. next heir, who presented in 1549, Margaret White, widow, who held the advowson in jointure, being then dead. In 1550, the said Edmund died seized, and Anne, his sister and heir, then married to Hen. Doyley, inherited, who, about 1558, sold it to Henry Richers, Esq. from whom it went to Will. Thornton, Gent. of whom Rob. Thornton had it, and after him, it came to John Thornton, who was lord in 1572; and in 1596, Rob. Thornton, who was also lord in 1612; I meet with nothing further in relation to it, but am informed that it belonged to John Marsham, and now to Mr. Buckle.
Was a part of the aforesaid manor of Wramplingham, granted at first to a family of the same name with the village, from whom it came to John at the Hill, from whom it took its name; Walter de Wramplingham, William, his son, and Richard, his brother, were lords of it; in 1249, John del Hill and Basil de Todenham held it at a quarter of a fee of Joan de Tateshall, and she of the Earl of Richmond; in this year Asceline de Wramplingham sold lands here to Wil. de Tudenham and Basil his wife, and it was agreed that the said Basil, who was sister of Will. de Wramplingham, should inherit at her death; in 1287, Basil was a widow, and released all her right to Will. de Tudenham, her son; in 1289, the said William and John del Hill were lords, and each had a moiety; at this time the bailiff of Cossey prosecuted them for selling wood and timber on the waste of Wramplingham, but they proved their right, by shewing Cossey had nothing to do in Wramplingham, only in those lands that were held of it. In 1315, John del Hill and Warine de Tudenham were lords; in 1345, John, son of Richard de Melton, held Tudenham's moiety of Hetherset manor at a quarter of a fee; in 1401, Rich. de Melton had it, Will. atte Hill holding his moiety at a quarter of a fee of the honour of Richmond; in 1505, Rich. Brasyer, alderman of Norwich, gave his manor called Hilles, to Katherine his wife for life, and then to be sold; what became of it after I do not find, but it seems as if Martin Sedley, Esq. had it in 1571.
Bainard's Free Tenement
Was taken out of the manor of Wramplingham, Great-Melton, Barford, Windham, and Kimberley; it contained a capital messuage, in which the Bainards dwelt, 200 acres of land, and 20s. rent, and was held of Hetherset manor by knight's service. In 1294, Roger, son of Jeffry Bainard, and Mariana his wife, was lord of this and Easthall in Gasthorp, as you may see at p. 252, vol. i.; in 1315, Rich. Bainard had it; in 1340, Edw. Downes, Gent. died, leaving Francis, his son and heir; in 1592, Edw. Downes had it; but of the owners since that time I find nothing mentioned in the records.
The Prior of Windham's manor extended hither, and he had free warren allowed him in all his lands here, which were taxed at 28s. 3q.
The Church is dedicated to St. Peter and Paul, and is a rectory valued at 5l. 4s. 9d. ob. but being sworn of the clear yearly value of 45l. 2d. it is discharged of first fruits and tenths, and is capable of augmentation; when Norwich Domesday was wrote, the rector had a house and 12 acres of land, the living was valued then at 12 marks, and paid 2s. 8d. synodals, 6s. 8d. procurations, 12d. Peter-pence, and 8d. ob. carvage; the town paid 2l. 3s. 8d. to each tenth; the temporals of the Prior of Norwich, were taxed at 2s. In 1540, Edward Downes, Gent. was buried in the church; and in 1470, Avice Stone, widow, gave legacies to the new roofing of the church, to make a new window on the south side of the rood-loft, to find a light before the image of St. Erasmus, and to the gild of St. Peter held in the church.
The chancel is a fine building, erected, as I am apt to think, by Sir John Canel, rector, who was buried in it in 1448, under a stone now robbed of its brasses, but has the impression of a cup and wafer still on it; there are six regular windows on each side, and in each of them was one of the twelve Apostles; there are no memorials of any kind, either in church, chancel, or churchyard; the shield of vert nine escalops arg. 3, 3, 2, 1, being now gone. The nave is leaded, and is 46 feet long, and 17 broad; the chancel is thatched, and is 32 feet long, and 16 broad; the south porch is tiled, the tower is round at bottom and sexangular at top, and hath three bells, on one of which is this,
Ave. [M]aria. [G]ra[t]ia, Plena, Dominus. [t]ecum.
- 1278, John the chaplain. Will. de Whitewell, this turn.
- 1304, John, son of John de Helgheton. John de Helgheton, his father, and Claricia his wife.
- 1338, Master Will. de Eston. John de Taverham.
- 1341, Jeffery de Corpesty. John de Corpesty, this turn.
- 1361, Hen. de Old-Bek of Wichingham. John de Taverham.
- 1397, John Jeneson of Smaleburgh. Sir John White, Knt.
- 1417, Sir Tho. Bose. Rob. White, Esq.
- Tho. Ermelyn or Grimelyn, died rector of Weting St. Mary Ditto.
- 1418, Sir John Canel. Ditto.
- 1448, Sir Will. Robyns. Rob. Brom, Esq. Rich. Docket and Will. Lymnor, Gent. He died rector.
- 1479, Sir Abel Bramfield. O. Will. White, Esq.
- 1496, Sir Stephen Chamberlain. O. Simon White, Esq.
- 1538, Sir John Baxter. O. Margaret White, widow.
- 1549, Sir Tho. Gayton, chaplain. O. Edmund White, Gent.
- 1556, Roger Sedal. O. Henry Doylie, Esq.
- 1559, Lancelot Robinson, priest, resigned. Hen. Richers, Esq.
- 1559, Sir Simon Jelle. O. Ditto.
- 1568, Sir Edw. Beales; he returned 72 communicants in 1603. Will. Thornton, Gent.
- 1612, John Benton, A. M. John Thornton, Gent. assignee of Rob. Thornton.
- 1638, Nathaniel Joceline, A. M. Richard Johnson, clerk, and Thomas Mansfield, for this turn. R.
- 1660, Jonathan Clapham. O. The King, by lapse.
- 1661, 22 Feb. The Rev. Mr. John Brandon, the present  rector. Mary Marsham, widow, guardian of John and Anne Marsham. He holds it united to Melton-Parva.
This is the part of Little-Elingham, lying in Forehoe hundred, which was a separate manor belonging to Ailwin in the Confessor's time, when it was worth 20s. and was given by the Conqueror to Roger Bigot, of whom Stanart, an Englishman, held it at the survey, it being then worth 25s. At his death it came to the Crown, and being joined to the capital manor, it hath continued so ever since, and passed with it, as you may see at p. 287, where the history of this town occurs, the whole (except this part) being in Wayland hundred.
Is so called from [deop], deep, and [ham], a village, that is, the deep or miry village. In the reign of Edward the Confessor, great part of the town was owned by one Lewin, a freeman, it being then a very considerable manor, but was much increased by the Conqueror's adding six freemen, which Eudo held, and their lands and services, all which he gave to Ralf de Beaufo, who let the manor for 12l. but was forced to fall to 8l. 15s.; the soke or superiour jurisdiction of it belonged to Hingham. The town was then 10 furlongs long, and 6 broad, and paid 17d. 3q. gelt, as Domesday informs us at fol. 212, 213.
The whole of this manor continued in the descendants of Ralf de Beaufo, and was carried by Agnes de Belfo, or Beaufo, to her husband, Henry de Rya or Rye, lord of Hingham, (see p. 432,) who, in 1146, gave two parts of the manor and advowson to the monks of Christ-Church in Canterbury, and put them in possession by offering his knife at the high altar there, in the presence of Theobald the Archbishop, Walter the Prior, and many others; and for this, he was received into their fraternity, and made partaker of their devotions, in as ample a manner as any of their domestick brethren. This donation was confirmed by King Stephen, Henry II. and several succeeding kings. King Edward II. granted them a charter for freewarren here, which was the only liberty that the monks ever enjoyed in this town, except that of the leet and paramountship of their own manor, which the donor gave them, he being then lord of the hundred; though in the aforesaid King's reign, they would have claimed several other immunities to belong to this place, but upon a quo warranto brought, they had nothing allowed but their leet, to which belonged the assize of bread and ale of their own tenants, and freewarren, and since that time they never claimed any further exemption. On the Dissolution, King Henry VIII. settled it on the dean and chapter of Canterbury, with the impropriation, and the advowson of the vicarage, all which that church hath enjoyed ever since; Mr. John Amyas of Hingham now  holding it by lease from them; they were taxed for their temporals at 8l. 8s. 4d. ob. and for their spirituals at 16 marks. It appears from King Stephen's charter of confirmation, that Hubert de Rye, Castellan, or Governour of Norwich castle, gave upon his death bed the manor and advowson of Muche-Berdestuna, or Mul-Berton, instead of which, his son Henry gave them Depham, by their own desire: all the feodaries tell us, that the Prior held his manor here at a quarter of a fee, of the manor of Hingham, as parcel of the barony of Rhye, in frank almoigne.
Was in two parts, the first contained the third part of Henry de Rhie's manor, and the third part of the advowson, which the said Henry gave to William de Blundevile, or Blomevile, whose son Richard gave his third of the advowson, in 1226, to the monks of Canterbury, and Tho. de Blundevile or Blomevile, uncle (as I take it) to Richard, confirmed this donation; this William, brother to the Bishop, was of Newton Flotman, where the family continued many ages; the said William held it at a quarter of a fee of Hingham: the other part belonged to the Wacheshams; and in 1227, was conveyed by Giles de Wachesham to Alan de Creping, who was to hold it at half a fee of the said Giles and his heirs, who held it of Hockering, as parcel of the barony of Rye; in 1272, Hugh de Creping held it of Giles, son of Giles de Wachesham, as of his manor of Wortham in Suffolk; in 1249, John de Blomevile had the Blomeviles part; and in 1260, Will, de Blomevile was lord, to whom Hugh de Creping conveyed his half fee, which ever after retained his name; in 1282, William de Blundevile held it of Gerard de Wachesham, and he of Giles Plais; in 1302, Roger Cosyn had it, either as guardian or trustee to the heirs of Will. de Blomevile; in 1320, Will. de Blomevile settled it on Margaret his wife; in 1345, Ralf Bokyng held it in right of his wife, it being her dower, of the inheritance of Will. Blomevile. In 1401, Rich. Blomevile had it; in 1489, Rich. Blundevile was lord, who died about 1503; it was afterwards sold in reversion to Roger Woodhouse, Esq. for in 1572, Henry Richers, Esq. was lord, during his wife's life, who, it seems, died in or about 1578, for then Roger occurs lord, from which time it hath gone in that family, Sir John Woodhouse, Bart. being now  lord.
Rifley's, Easthall, or Crosse's Manor
At the survey belonged to William Earl Warren, and passed from that family to the Lord Bardolph of Wormegeye, of whom it was always held at a quarter of a fee; in the survey of the honour of Wormegeye, made in Edward the Third's time, it appears, that the Bardolphs infeoffed Sir Neel or Nigel de Rifley, who gave a messuage, 40 acres of land, and the services of several tenants here, with the advowson of St. Andrew's church in Wiclewood, to the Prior and Convent of Bromholm, who sold them to Richard Starcolf, and his heirs, who held them in 1328, and died seized in 1333; and soon after, the services were sold off to the tenants, except those that the Prior reserved, for which Bromholm convent was taxed at 9s. 8d.; there was another part, which Will. de Ellingham (who in some evidences is called de Dullingham) held, which in 1282 belonged to Rob. de Baconsthorp, and was formerly Tho. de Baconsthorp's; in 1330, Edm. de Baconsthorp and Margaret his wife had settled it on Thomas Curzon of EastCarleton, and Ralf Oldland of Ellingham, in trust for them and their heirs, it being then called Easthall manor; it is plain that in 1345, these parts were separate, for in the feodary of that year, William de Cringlethorp held half that part which was Bardolph's, and John atte Cross the other half, and Edmund de Baconsthorp held his manor at half a fee of Rye barony; but in 1355, they were joined, John atte Cross purchasing Easthall of James de Baconsthorp, and Alice his wife; and in 1401, John Crosse, junior, his son, had it; in 1447, John Cross of Depeham, Esq. lived here; he sealed with sab. on a fess between three mullets pierced arg. as many croslets patee of the first. I meet with no more mention of it till about 1464, and then Catherine, relict of William Goodered (or Goddard) of Middleton, late one of the King's justices, gave this manor to be sold after her death; this lady was a great promoter of the rebuilding of the noble church of Walpole St. Peter in Marshland, in the windows of which her effigies is placed, as the plate of it under that church will shew you. In 1510, Sir James Hobart had it, and in 1553, Lady Anne Hobart of Depham, widow, late wife of Sir Walter Hobart of Morley, Knt. was buried in St. Butolph's chancel at Morley, and had an interest in this manor in her lifetime.
Of the part which belonged to the Earl Warren we meet with this in Domesday, fol. 94:
Terre Willi: de Warrena. Feorhou H. et dim.In Depham xxx. acr. terre i. liber homo in cadem carucata. semper v. bord et i. car. et est in codem pretio. (sr. de) tota soca in Hincham Regis.
Robert's, alias Knapele's Manor
I find that Robert Fitz-Richard had it in Richard the First's time, from whom it might take its name; Laurence de Reppes owned it in 1315, and had it of the inheritance of Joan his wife, it being held in soccage of the Prior of Canterbury's manor of Depham, by the rent of 13s. 4d. and was then worth 5l. per annum; he died in 1322, and left it with North-Repps, and Edynthorp manors, to his two daughters and heirs, Sibill, wife of Rob. de Reppes, and Elizabeth, wife of Tho. de Wylby. In 1618, John Pepys, Gent. and Rob. Jaques, Gent. sold it to Henry Pannet and Calibut Walpole, Esqrs.
Two parts of the advowson were given, as before observed, by Henry de Rye, in 1146, to the monks of Canterbury, to whom it was immediately appropriated by Will. Turbus, then Bishop of Norwich, (with the church of Tofts,) and a vicarage endowed; and Robert, the first vicar, agreed to pay a pension of two marks a year out of his vicarage to the monks; and in 1181, John of Oxford Bishop of Norwich confirmed it; in 1226, Rich. Blundevile or Blomeville gave his third part of the advowson to the monks, and Thomas de Blundevile, then Bishop of Norwich, appropriated it the same year, for the sustenance of strangers and poor people that visited the shrine of St. Thomas the Martyr at Canterbury, on his own day, on condition there be a vicar appointed, to be presented by the monks, by the Bishop's advice, whose stipend should not be less than 10 marks a year; and also that the church of Canterbury claimed no exemption, but acknowledged this church to belong, as to all ecclesiastical jurisdiction, to the see of Norwich; and in 1227, Rich. de Sybeton, Official to the Archdeacon of Sudbury, summoned a jury of thirteen laymen, and twelve clergy, the first of which were, Nigel, custos of Hingham deanery, Reymond de Morley, William, Vicar of Wiclewood, &c. to settle this vicarage, which they did in the following manner, the vicar to have all the alterage, (i. e. small tithes,) which was then worth 6 marks a year, and half the great tithes of Tweytfield in Depham, and all the great tithes of Somerscroftfield, which contained 7 acres, except two parts of the tithes of 7 acres in Tweytfield, which belonged to the Prior of Norwich; the tithes were then worth 3 marks 2s. 8d. a year, and two acres of land on the east side of the churchyard, with the Prior's messuage upon it, for a vicarage-house, the said house and land being of the Prior's lay fee; and 3 acres of the glebe land, lying on the south side of the church, worth 6s. per annum, 16s. of the yearly quitrents of the Prior's manor, to be paid by the Prior, so that the whole endowment, which was to be 10 marks a year, was assigned at 12 marks and 4d. for which overplus the vicar was to pay all synodals, &c.; the vicar was also to have free liberty of commonage on all the commons of Depham, belonging to the Prior's manor there; and now all things being settled, in 1235 the Bishop and his chapter gave their consent, and there was a bull obtained from Pope Gregory IX. confirming the whole.
Hubert de Rye, Castellan of Norwich, gave a portion of tithes here to the Prior and Convent of the cathedral at Norwich; Henry de Rye, his son, and Agnes Beaufo, his wife, and the Bishop confirmed it; and soon after, King Stephen confirmed it also, with the church of Aldeby. which Agnes gave to the monks. It seems that there were some small lands and rents also, for in 1256, I find "The homage of the Bishop of Norwich" mentioned. This portion was appropriated to the celerer of the monastery, for which he was taxed at 24s.
The Church is dedicated to St. Andrew; when Norwich Domesday was made, the rector had a house, manor, and carucate of land; the vicar had a house and 3 acres of land, the vicarage was valued at 6 marks, but was not taxed; the procurations were 6s. 8d. synodals 3s. and Peter-pence 16d.; it is valued in the King's Books at 5l. 7s. 11d. and being sworn of the clear yearly value of 19l. 9s. 10d. it is discharged of first-fruits and tenths; and in 1719, 3d Jan. was angmented by the Governours of Queen Anne's bounty, the Rev. Mr. Rix, vicar, giving 200l. to its augmentation. This town paid 5l. to each tenth.
In 1210, there was an agreement between the Prior of Norwich and the vicar, for the two garbs of the tithes of the demeans of Hubert de Rye, and the two parts of the small tithes, for all which the vicar used to pay 6s. and now was to pay 9s. per annum. In 1227, the convent of Canterbury bound themselves to the Prior of Norwich to pay the celerer yearly 24s. for the tithe corn of their portion.
- 1504, 26 July, Will. Seaman gave 2 acres in Westfield, to find two lights, one before our Lady of Pity, another before the rood.
Here were four gilds, of St. Andrew, St. John, St. Thomas, and the Assumption.
The south chapel at the east end of the south isle was the assumption chapel, in which that gild was kept, and these arms were in the windows of that chapel, viz.
Marshal, Shelton, Blundevile or Blomevile, (to whose manor the chapel belonged.)
Wood's, sab. on a fess gul. three croslets between three mullets pierced arg..
The chapel at the east end of the north isle was St. John Baptist's, and in it his gild was kept. In the windows here were the arms of
Coggeshale, Ufford, Brom, Stafford, Verdon, Morley, Calthorp with an annulet, and Tiptoft quartering Herling, with an escutcheon of pretence of Gonvile.
There were also the arms of Bourchier.
The arms of Canterbury impaling Gouldston or Goldston, sab. in chief a cross formy fitchee arg. and are the arms of Thomas Goldstone, Prior of Canterbury, who died in 1517, in whose time this church was repaired and beautified.
Erm. on an escutcheon gul. a plate.
Blundevile or Blomevile, quarterly, per fess indented or and az. a bend G.
The following arms are carved on the steeple and buttresses: 1. Five chevrons. 2. Quarterly in the first and fourth a bend, second and third chequy. 3. Bendy of twelve pieces. 4. Quarterly. 5. A saltier. 6. Shelton. 7. A cross treflee. 8. Three bars nebule. 9. The Symbol of the Trinity. 10. A cross. 11. Blomevile's arms. 12. Quarterly in the second and third quarters a crescent. 13. Wood's arms.
The church is a good fabrick, having a large tower and five bells; the north and south isles and chapel are leaded.
On the rood-loft in the south chapel, S. M. On the north, J. B..
- 1146, Robert, the first vicar.
- 1227, Ralf.
- 1319, Will. de Tatersete. The Prior and Chapter of Canterbury.
- 1349, Tho. Taylour.
- 1368, Tho. Patrickswyk; he changed for East-Tilbury, in
- 1371, with Rich. Pullyng.
- John Greenhill; he changed for Takele, London diocese, in
- 1398, with Will. de Alfeston, who, in
- 1399, changed with Nic. Fuller for Floketon, who in
- 1413, changed with Walter Hert for Epworth chantry, who in
- 1423, changed with John Prys for Berford, who in
- 1438, resigned to Will. Bedwell, who died in 1463; in
- 1461, he resigned to John Bownde, who in
- 1468, resigned to Brother John Unkar, an Austin-friar, who in
- 1482, resigned to Rob. Hareward, who died rector.
- 1504, Walter Bernard. O. Lapse.
- 1512, John Hole.
- 1539, Peter Galt was the last presented by the Prior, who in
- 1553, resigned to John Broughton. Mr. Amyas, farmor of the rectory.
- 1554, Edm. Fuller, on Broughton's deprivation. Lapse.
- 1556, Steph. Long. John Flowerdew of Hetherset, Esq. farmor of the rectory.
- 1565, John Godfrey. Ditto.
- 1598, Mark Rame. Nic. Brook, Esq. O.
- 1598, Edmund Payne. O. Tho. Cooper and Will. Beale.
- 1642, Antony Cooper. The Dean and Chapter of Canterbury.
- 1657, Will. Cullyer. Nic. Bragg, Esq.
- 1713, Henry Rix, united to Colton. O. Dean and Chapter.
- 1728, Will. Cory, A. B. O. Ditto.
- 1736, John Wells. Ditto.
- 1737, the Rev. Mr. Robert Nun, on Wells's resignation; he is now  vicar, and the Dean and Chapter of Canterbury are the present patrons.
In 1465, John Walter, senior, was buried in the church, and gave a good estate, which he owned here, to Richard, his son. In 1382, Tho. de Flitcham aliened lands here to Flitcham priory. There was a very ancient family, sirnamed Of Depham; Godwin of Depham had lands here in 1198, and Sir Stephen de Depham, Knt. who lived in Edward the First's time, bare arg. on a fess gul. three lions passant gardant or.
This village was famous for a linden tree of a vast bigness; to the eye it overlooked all other trees thereabouts, when viewed at a distance, as a giant above so many pigmies. It stood in Mr. Amias's yard, and was taken down about 30 years since; at the foot of it is a spring, which petrifies sticks, leaves, &c. which accidentally fall into it, if they lie any time, as the Atlas tells us, at p. 309; Mr. Evelyn, in his Silva, or Discourse of Forest Trees, fol. 82, gives us this description of it, which he says, he received from Doctor Brown of Norwich in the following words:
"An extraordinary large, and stately tilia, linden, or lime-tree, there groweth at Depeham in Norfolk, ten miles from Norwich, whose measure is this. The compass in the least part of the trunk or body about two yards from the ground, is at least eight yards and half: about the root nigh the earth, sixteen yards; about half a yard above that, neer twelve yards in circuit: the height to the uppermost boughs about thirty yards, which surmounts the famous tilia of Zurich in Switzerland; and uncertain it is, whether in any tilicetum or lime-walk abroad, it be considerably exceeded: yet was the first motive I had to view it, not so much the largeness of the tree, as the general opinion, that no man could ever name it; I find it to be a tilia fœmina; and (if the distinction of Bauhinus be admitted from the greater, and lesser leaf) a tilia platuphylos or latifolia; some leaves being three inches broad; but to distinguish it from others in the country, I called it Tilia Colossæa Depehamensis."
He tells us also, that " a poplar tree, not much inferior to this, grew lately at West-Herling, at Sir William Gaudie's gale, which was blown down about 1690."
This town is called in evidences, Hakeford by Hingham, to distinguish it from another town of the same name in this county; it stands in the King's Books by the name of Hakeford alias Hackforth R.
The advowson belonged to Sir Andrew de Hengham, who, in 1276, gave it, with 3 acres of his demeans, to Mary then Abbess of Marham, and the nuns of that house, on condition that the convent obliged themselves to find a chaplain at their own cost, from the time of the appropriation of the church, to pray for the soul of the said Andrew and his ancestors, and the overplus to be laid out in finding clothes for the nuns; it continued a rectory till 1329, when it was appropriated by Will. Ayremine Bishop of Norwich, and a vicarage endowed, and so it continued till 1428, at which time the Abbess was taxed at 6 marks and an half for her spirituals here, which were, the rectoryhouse, the great tithes, and 18 acres of land; but in 1433, the profits being small, after the chaplain was paid, the convent renounced their appropriation, and presented to it as a rectory, and as such it continues at this day; it paid 7d. Peter-pence, 6s. 8d. procurations, and 7d. synodals; it is valued in the King's Books at 4l. 15s. 10d. and being sworn of the clear yearly value of 21l. 13s. 4d. is discharged of first fruits and tenths, and is capable of augmentation; the Prior of Norwich had lands here, for which he was taxed at 4s. 1d. ob. the Prior of West-Acre for his, at 2s. and the Prior of Bromholm for his, at 1s. The whole town raised to each tenth 13s. 4d.
The Church is dedicated to the Blessed Virgin, and hath only a nave and chancel, both which are thatched: the south porch is leaded, the steeple is square, and hath been higher; it is now covered with board, and hath one bell in it.
In the south window of the church are Verdon's arms. On the font, two keys in saltier, for St. Peter. The Symbol of the Sacrament. A saltier ingrailed. Bendy of sixteen pieces. A fess nebulee between six croslets fitchee.
Rectors And Vicars
- 1293, Ralf de Banham.
- 1311, Ralf de Tofts. The Abbess, &c.
- 1329, William Bishop of Norwich appropriated it to the convent of Marham, at Toft's death, to clothe the nuns.
- 1341, Walter Morice, the first vicar. The Abbess.
- 1349, Rich. Sharp of Fakenham. R.
- 1352, Henry Fole.
- 1361, John atte Hithe of Downham Hithe.
- 1408, Tho Fuller.
- 1416, John Messager.
- 1433, the profits being small, the Abbess renounced the appropriation, and so it became a rectory again.
- 1433, Simon at Esh of West-Bradenham. The Abbess.
- 1437, Simon at Esh. Ditto. R.
- 1476, Brother Tho. Bate.
- 1469, Hugh Cook. O. Lapse.
- 1471, Rob. Beryche. John Herryson. O.
- 1492, Rich. Almayne. Sir John Windham, Knt. to whom the convent sold the advowson.
- 1515, Tho Lightowne.
- 1518, Will. Everod. O. Sir Tho. Windham, Knt.
- 1523, Will. Custeworthe. Elizabeth relict of Sir Thomas.
- 1525, John Arland. John Bourchier and Elizabeth, relict of Sir Thomas Windham, Knt.
- 1556, Thomas Shipton. Sir Edm. Windham, Knt.
- 1559, Stephen Longe. Ditto.
- 1565, Henry Coke. O. Ditto.
- 1593, John Rosse. John Holland of Norwich, Esq. and Steph. Copping, Gent.
- 1597, Edw. Paris. Lapse. United to Rakhithe. He returned 50 communicants here, in 1603.
- 1599, Leonard Howse. Sir Henry Hobart, Knt. O.
- 1663, Will. Cullyer. O. Rob. Long, Esq.
- 1710, the Rev. Mr. Rob. Stone, the present  rector, holds it united to Little-Brand. Eliz. Long, widow.
The manor was owned by Ketel in the Confessor's time, and by Tovi in the Conqueror's, when the town was three furlongs long and two broad, and paid 7d. q. gelt, as Domsday tells us at fo. 278.
It was after in the Barons of Horsford, of whose barony it was held as of Horsford castle, by Thomas de Burgo or Burgh; and in 1205, Simon Fitz-Walter and Sara his wife released the third part of the town, which Sara then held in dower, of her first husband, Tho. de Burgh, to Tho. de Burgh, in exchange, he granting them lands in Somerton, &c. for it. It belonged to John de Hackford about 1340; in 1391, Ralf Vernoun seems to be concerned in it; he was buried this year in Welbourne church, Sir Rob. Berney, Knt. being his executor, and it looks as if he sold it; for in 1401, Thomas de Bockyng held it of the manor of Horsford, as of the heirs of Robert Ufford, and one part was held of the castle of Castle-Acre, and another of the manor of Hockering; in 1412, Thomas Bockyng and Cecily his wife conveyed it to Edmund Oldhall, in trust, for her heirs; she left only one daughter, Margaret, married to John Fox of Castle-Acre, Esq. who died seized in 1484, and by his will ordered his body to be buried in the monastery church there, and gave the manor to his wife for life, and then to be sold, as it was accordingly, to Sir Thomas Windham; in 1572, Edm. Windham had it, who sold it to Richard Johnson and George Woball, who in 1592, conveyed it to Tho. Heyward and Stephen Copping, Gent. who sold it to Will. Thurleby and Henry Spyller, Gents. and they, in 1597, to Froxmere Cocket, Gent. and James Gill; and in 1608, it belonged to Sir Henry Hobart, Knt. Attorney General; and in 1639, Miles Hobart, Esq. died seized of the advowson, it being then held of Horsford, John Hobart, his son and heir, being then 12 years old; it was afterwards sold to the Longs, and in 1663, Rob. Long, Esq. had it, and Francis Long of Spixworth, Esq. lately owned it; he had two sons; Robert, the eldest, who was disinherited, and Francis, the second, who inherited, is also dead, and his son, now a minor, is the present  lord and patron.
Windham, Wimondham, Wimundham, or Winmuntham, notwithstanding some have imagined it of Roman original, is certainly Saxon, and might take its name from its pleasant situation, for pm signifies a chosen or beloved place, so that [win-Munte-ham], is, the village on the pleasant mount, and the situation exactly answers. As to its being the ancient Sitomagus, as a late author would make it, there is no likelihood of it; for, besides the reasons already given at p. 6, and 7, upon viewing the place, I can find no remains of any fortification of any sort whatever, neither hath there been any coins, urns, or other Roman antiquities found here that I could ever hear of, which, had it been a place of such repute as Sitomagus was, must have happened; and indeed till the erection of the monastery, it had no liberties beyond the neighbouring villages, in any respect, till it afterwards increased so, as to swallow up some of its neighbours, so that their very names, had it not been for that inestimable record of Domesday book, had been quite lost; and indeed are so far gone, that the towns which at that time went by the name of Dikethorp, and Hidichethorp, are now contained in it, its limits being so far extended, that even in King Stephen's time it contained the half hundred of Forehoe.
It is at present a market town, its market being kept every Friday, the jurisdiction of which belongs to Lord Hobart, who is lord paramount, in right of his leets belonging to his manors of Cromwell's and Grishaugh in this town.
The whole of Windham, in the Confessor's time, belonged to Stigand the Bishop, at whose disgrace the Conqueror seized it, and gave it to Ralf de Warren, but he also forfeited it, and at the survey it was in the King's hands, and in the custody of William de Noiers; it was then above four miles long and two broad, and paid 6s. 8d. geld; it had been but 20l. per annum, but was then of 60l. value, and would have been worth much more, if Ralf de Warren, when he owned it, had nor wasted it, by lessening the socmen from 87 to 18, all which were then held by Will. de Warren, Ralf de Beaufo Earl Alan, and Roger Bigot, as Domesday tells us at fo. 50.
Dikethorp, at the Conqueror's survey, belonged to Ralf Baniard, and in the Confessor's time was owned by one Norman, a freeman, being then worth 40s. and now 4l.; it was four furlongs long, and as much broad, and paid 11d. ob. geld; it is now called Dikebeck, and lies west of the church.
There was a small part which William Earl Warren had here worth 40s. a year at the survey, which was after called Stanfield manor, of which Domesday, fo. 94, hath this.
Terre Willi. de Warenna. Feorhou H. et him. In Wimundham xxx. liberi homines quando recepit mo. xliii. semper i. car. terre tunc et post v. car. mo. ii. semper vi. bord. et vi. acr. prati, totum val. xl. s. Hoc totum est de escangio de de terra Sanctorum.
The whole town, including all its present hamlets, (except Stanfield,) was one manor in the Conqueror's hands, who gave it to William de Albany, along with Bukenham, Snetesham, and Kenninghall, to be held by the service of being butler to the Kings of England, on the day of their coronation, for which reason he was called pincerna Regis, or the King's butler; but it did not continue whole long, for on his founding the priory of Windham, he gave about a third part of it to that convent, with liberty to hold a court and receive all the amerciaments of their own tenants, whether they were amerced in his leet, or market-court; and this part became the abbey manor; the rest still remained in William's hands, in whose posterity it continued till the division of the Albanys estate, and then it was allotted to Sir Robert de Tateshale, in whose family it went, till, for want of male issue, it became divisible between Caily, Driby, Bernak, and Orreby, to which division some of the manors of this town owe their original.
Contained a third part of Wimondham, with a third part of the leet, which extended over part of the hamlets of Norton, Sutton, Watlefield, and Silfield, and each paid a separate leet fee to this manor, and chose their several officers, as constables, aletasters, woodwards, &c.; Silfield leet fee is 3s.; Watlefield or Waters, 5s.; Suton 4s.; Norton half a mark. This manor fell to the share of the Bernaks, as you may see in vol. i. p. 374, and passed from them to Sir Ralf Cromwell, Knt. whose name it still bears: and after that, went with Bukenham, till one moiety went to Fitz-Williams, and the other to the Knevets. Fitz-Williams's moiety, in 1546, was sold by Rob. Drury, and Robert, his son and heir, and Agnes his wife, to John Flowerdew of Windham, Esq. who, in 1558, settled it on Edw. Flowerdew, Esq. who, in 1564, sold it to Edw. Clere of Blickling, Esq. and the said Edw. Clere, in 1565, granted an annuity of 40s. per annum out of it to Edward Flowerdew aforesaid; and in 1636, Eliz. Clere, widow, was lady here, from which family it passed with Blickling to the Hobarts: the other moiety continued in the Knevets, till Sir Philip Knevet sold it to Sir Henry Hobart, in whose family it hath passed ever since, John Lord Hobart being now  lord; it is now joined to Grishagh, Rusteyns, Matshal, and Calthorp, all which manors and free tenements united in the Hobarts, and so continue. The Little-Park in Wimondham belonged to this manor; and in Sir Tho. Knevet's time, the quitrents were 57l. 10s.
The eldest son is heir, the fine for demean land is 6s. 8d. an acre, for other land, 4s. the lord's rents are gathered by the heywards, which are chosen for the four hamlets.
Contained the other two third parts of Wimondham manor, and the two third parts of the leet, with the advowson of the abbey, and at the division was allotted to Thomas de Caily, who, in 1316, had a charter for free warren granted to him, and Margaret his wife, here, and in Wolferton, Babingle, &c.; from the Cailys it passed to the Cliftons, and from them to the Knevets, in which family it continued, till Sir Philip Knevet sold it to the Hobarts, in which family it still remains, John Lord Hobart being now lord. Grishaw great park, and Grishagh wood, belonged to this manor, and the manor of Cromwell's is called a member of it, it containing a third part of it; the whole being held of the barony of Tateshale, by the service of the butlership on the coronation day, as in Bukenham at large.
The eldest son inherits; it gives a moiety dower; the rents are collected by the heywards of the several hamlets, viz. Norton, which pays 3s. 9d. leet fee. Silfield 3s. Watlefield 5s. and Sutton 2s. 8d. the quitrents being formerly about 50l. per annum.
Was part of the capital manor, granted by the Albanys to Alan, son of Reginald, who left it to Maud, his sister, who died without issue, and left it to John, son of her brother Robert, who, in 1227, sold it to Will. Rusteing, from whom it took its name; he held it at the sixth part of a fee, of the great manor. In 1279, upon Alice Rusteing's marriage with Ralf de Kirketon, it was settled on them by Will. Rusteing, the son, perhaps, of the former William; in 1333, Peter de Uvedale and Margaret his wife settled it, with their manor in Tacolneston, on themselves for life, then on Sir Thomas Uvedale, Knt. remainder to Hugh, son of Sir John de Uvedale in tail. In 1345, the said Margaret had it: and in 1401, the said John Uvedale held it of the Cliftons, as parcel of Tateshale barony; in 1557, Sir John Clere, Knt. owned it, and in 1592, Sir Edward Clere, Knt. was lord, from which family it passed to the Hobarts, and John Lord Hobart now hath it, and keeps the court with his other manors; but in 1611, at the first general court of Philip Knevet, Baronet, who was trustee, it was held separate from Grishagh and Cromwell's, the style then being, Rusteyns alias Rystons, Mattishall and Calthorps, which two last are small manors or free tenements, that were formerly purchased by the lords of Rusteyns, and joined to it. The fine is at the will of the lord. The site of this manor is on a mount, double moated in, and Sir Edward Clere built a farm-house on it; there were about 100 acres of demean adjoining to it.
Stanfield or Stanfield Hall Manor
Belonged to the Earl Warren in the Conqueror's time, and after to the Bigot's of whom it was held by Katherine, wife of Roger FitzOsbert, in 1306; and in 1346, Maud, widow of Oliver de Mouton, conveyed part of it to Bartholomew de Salle, and Richard de Bittering, who joined it to that part that Rob. de la Salle of Norwich had in 1280. Another part remained in John, son of Thomas de Mouton and Ivetta his wife, to the value of 100s. per annum; in 1348, the said Bartholomew held it at the fourth part of a fee; in 1394, William Appleyard paid his relief for it to Margaret Dutchess of Norfolk, it being then held of the honour of Forncet; and in 1448, Edmund Appilyard of Windham, son of William, gave it Anne his wife for life, remainder to William, Geffry, and Edmund, his sons. Another part of this manor belonged to the Rokeles, and after, to the Cursons, and was held by Richard le Curson in 1256, who was then summoned to be made a knight, as holding a whole fee here, and in Ketringham; in 1307, Sir Will. Cursoun held his part of Richard de la Rokele, by the eighth part of a fee, and had a capital messuage in which he dwelt, 144 acres in demean, besides many lands, rents, and services here, and in Ketringham; in 1317, Katherine Curson, widow of Sir William, is called lady of Stanfield; she held it for life, and was succeeded by Sir John Curson, her son and heir, who, in 1339, had Sir William Curson, by Margaret his wife; in 1333, Oliver de Mouton and Maud his wife settled their part on this Sir John Curson, who had now married Ivetta, widow of Thomas de Mouton; in 1349, John de Berford, Roger Mundegome, rector of Brakene, Joan, widow of John de Bumpstede, Peter de Bumpstede, Emma, wife of Bartholomew, son of Nich. de Apilyerd, and Richard, son of Bartholomew de Salle, held jointly the manor of Stanfield, which they all settled on Emma for life, and afterwards released for ever to Will. Appleyard, who had possession in 1463. In 1514, Sir Nicholas Appleyard, Knt. granted an annuity of 6l. issuing out of the manor, to John Griffyth and Margaret his wife; in 1528, Roger Appleyard, Esq. of Brakene gave it Elizabeth his wife for life, and then to John, his son and heir, who held it in 1549. It looks as if Philip Appleyard, Esq. sold it, for in 1563, James Altham, Esq. kept his first court, who, in 1564, sold it with Hethill in common, to Edward Flowerdew of Hetherset, Esq. and Henry, a younger son of Sir Robert Townsend, Knt. deceased; and the same year, Flowerdew conveyed his half to Thomas Townsend of Brakene-Ash, Esq. Roger Townesend of Raynham, Henry Heveningham of Ketringham, Will. Curson of Belagh, and Francis Windham of Lincoln's-Inn, Esqrs. who, in 1569, reconveyed their right to the said Edward Flowerdew and his heirs. This Edward settled at Stanfield Hall about 1566, for in that year, by the name of Edward Flowerdew of the Inner Temple, Gent. he purchased all the furniture of John Appleyard of Stanfield Hall, in order to come and dwell there; in 1573, he was become an eminent barrister, for then Thomas Grimesdiche of the Inner-Temple settled an annuity of 40s. issuing out of his manor called Joyce's, in Little-Hadham in Hertfordshire on him, in consideration of the good and faithful council he had given him; and in 1575, he had such another grant of 5 marks a year for life made him, by Simon Harecourt of Stanton Harcourt in Oxfordshire, and Walter, his son and heir, issuing out of their manor of Stanton Harcourt. In Mich. term, 1580, he was called to the degree of serjeant at law, and in 1584, 23d Oct. was made Baron of the Exchequer. By the inquisition taken after his death, in 1599, it was found that the manor was in feoffees hands, to the use of Elizabeth his wife, as her jointure, and that he was seized of a moiety of Hetherset manor in Hetherset, and of the site of the abbey, and that Anthony Flowerdew, Gent. was his cousin and heir being son of William his brother; and that he was 29 years old. In 1631, Sir Rob. Gawdy had his share of Sir Nathaniel Bacon's lands in Stukey, in right of Winefrid his wife, one of his daughters and coheirs, and had this manor settled on him for life only, remainder to Dorothy, his daughter and sole heir, then married to Sir Philip Parker of Arwarton in Suffolk, Knt. and her heirs; in 1642, it was purchased by Sir Thomas Richardson, Knt. in which family it hath continued ever since, William Jermy, Esq. and Elizabeth his wife, being the present  owners. (See p. 449, for Richardson's pedigree.) The fine is at the lord's will.
Was a part, that, on the division of the Albanys estate, came to Roger de Montealt, by grant of Robert de Tateshale; it was infeoffed in Robert de Milliers, who held it at half a fee of Roger's castle of Rising; it afterwards belonged to Godfrid de Millers. In 1314, William, son of John Florence, had it; in 1345, John Lytlehare and John de Bonyngton were lords; and in 1401, John Gonvile and his tenants owned it; in 1462, Humfry Bouchier Lord Cromwell, and Joan his wife, Jervace Clifton and Maud his wife, settled it on their trustees; in 1480, Sir Robert Wingfield, Knt. died seized of it, in right of his wife, the heiress, of Gonvile, as you may see in vol. i. p. 321. The manor after came to the Cleres, about 1550, and since that, belonged to the Talbot's, by purchase from Sir Edward Clere; and Tho. Talbot, Knt. came and settled at Gonvile Hall; he left it to Tho. Talbot, Esq. his son and heir, who married Anne, daughter of William Herne of Tibenham, whose son, Thomas Talbot of Gonvile Hall, lived in it in 1664, and married Jane, daughter of Sir John Mede of Lofts in Essex, Knt. by whom he had Thomas, 24 years old in 1664; he married a Flowerdew of Norwich; his brother John was a clergyman, and married a daughter of Sir Arthur Jenny of Knotshall in Suffolk, and settled at Icklingham; Thomas, son of the aforesaid Thomas Talbot, married Mary, daughter of - - - - Haws, M. D. and in 1695, bare his paternal coat, viz.
Arg. a chevron gul. between three talbots passant sab. Crest, a swan's head and neck, arg. winged and collared with a ducal crown or.
He had two sons, Thomas and John, and a daughter named Anne. This manor is said to have been given by Mr. Wright, an attorney at law in Bury, to Mr. Joshua Grigby, town clerk there, who is the present  lord. The Rev. Mr. Taylor, late vicar here, in his account of this town, says that the custom is, that every tenant that does not pay his quitrent on the court day before dinner, forfeits 2d. to be added to every shilling that he pays.
Stalworthy's Burfield, and Nothe's Manor
Was formerly three separate manors; the first was held of the Abbot's manor, it being a parcel of it granted off by the Prior of the house; in 1284, Nigel de Stalworth lived here, and was lord of it in 1474; Thomas Crofts of Westhall in Suffolk, Esq. was buried in St. Mary's chapel in St. Andrew's church at Westhall, and gave this manor to be sold. In 1578, John Bacon of Hesset, Esq. owned it, with its members, of Bones-Magna and Parca; in 1600, Mr. Robert Blackbourn purchased it of John Bacon of Hesset, Esq. in which family it continued in a lineal descent, till Edmund Blackbourn of Windham, Gent. died, and left it to his widow, who now owns it.
Burfield Hall, belonged to the great manor, and was a part of it, given by Sir Robert de Tateshale to John de Thorp, and Alice his wife, who held it at the sixth part or a fee of Tateshale barony; in 1315, Sir John Thorp was lord; in 1472, Thomas Thorp and Agnes his wife sold it to John and Robert Yaxley, and Rob. Woodhall; in 1501, John de Overhall or Woodhall had it, and held it of Grishagh manor; in 1498, it was bought by William Lamb, who purchased Stalworthy's, and united them; in 1544, Edm. Bainard had them, who joined Nothe's free tenement to them, which had been in his family for many generations, they after came to the Bacons, and passed ever since united as they now  remain.
Windham Reginæ, or The Abbots Manor
Was given by the founder to that house, and passed with it to its dissolution, and was granted by Henry VIII. in 1545, to Henry Earl of Surrey, at whose attainder it reverted to the Crown, and was assigned to the Princess Mary, before she came to the Crown; in 1556 King Philip and Queen Mary kept court here, from whom it came to Queen Elizabeth, who held her first court in 1558; in 1573, the Queen had the manor and rectory, and the rents were 102l. per annum; in 1622, it was assigned to Charles then Prince of Wales, afterward Charles I.; it after belonged to Philip Harbord of Besthorp, Esq. and then to Susan, his widow, who remarried to Francis Howard Baron of Effingham; it hath gone with Besthorp ever since, which you may see in vol. i. p. 500. and is now  owned by the heiress of Mr. Shaw and Mrs. Paston.
Choselee manor in Windham hath a leet, with sole jurisdiction over its own tenants, it was part of the great manor given by Will. de Albany, before 1146, with the consent of Will. Turbus Bishop of Norwich, to God and St. Mary, and the church of St. Lazarus of Jerusalem, (at Burton,) and the brethren serving God there, for the souls of Stephen King of England, and Maud his Queen, and of Adeliza, or Alice, widow of King Henry I. then wife of the said William, and for their children, friends, and benefactors, living or dead, as the original grant, among the evidences of the city of Norwich, informs me; it contained six score acres of land in Windham, lying between the manor-house and the field.
Salmon, in his Roman Stations, p. 8, gives us the following account of an old chapel here:
"On the north-east side of Windham, at half a mile's distance, stands what is left of a small antient building, called Windham Chappel. The foundation is a bridge of three or four arches over a brook, running north and south, the chappel east and west. The bridge is about three foot wider than the chappel, so there is a foot way over by the chappel side, which a horse too may go upon in a flood, this is thought to have been the cell of some anchoret, who lived upon the alms of passengers. Just by stands a meeting-house of the quakers, who formerly made use of the chappel, till it became ruinous, as one of the neighbours informed me. By what revolving jumble of ideas they came to fix upon hallowed ground, is to me a mistery, unless the murmuring stream did the office of an organ, and served as a vehicle to their sighs."
This is called Westwade chapel, from the little stream it stands over, and was founded by the said William, and made a cell to the lazars at Burton, who placed a master and two or three brethren to dwell here, in order to get what they could of the passengers that went by; it seems the custos was looked upon as lord of this manor, for I have seen a copy in Henry the Sixth's time, the style of which is this: Wymondham. "Curia Domus fratrum Sancti Lazari," and no mention of Burton; and when the admitting part comes, it says, "Dominus," which I suppose means the custos, and not domini to mean the brethren.
At the Dissolution it was given by Henry VIII. to John Dudley, Knt. as part of the dissolved house of Burton Lazars; in 1545, he sold it to Will. Kett, and in 1578 it belonged to the hospital of Norwich, as it still doth, the Corporation of that city being now lords.
Palgrave's or Hetherset's Manor
Was held in 1401, by John de Hethersete, of the manor of Forncet, at a quarter of a fee: it came since that to the Palgraves; in 1545, Clement Palgrave, Esq. owned it, after that, John Palgrave, Esq.; and in 1648, Sir John Palgrave, Knt. and Bart. sold it to Samuel Smith, of Norwich, Esq. Robert Willimot of Greys-Inn, Esq. and Will. Bond of London, which William, in 1667, sold it to Sarah Bispham, relict of Samuel Bispham, M. D. and her heirs, with Hetherset, and Woodhall in Hetherset. It once was owned by Mr. John Aid of Horstead, of whom Mr. Henry Smith of Coltishall, the present  lord, purchased it.
Downham Hall Manor
At the time of the Conquest, this part of the town was a separate village or hamlet, called by the name of Hidichethorp, and was a distinct manor extending into Windham, Kimberley, and Hingham, the whole of it being then worth 30s. a year; it was seized by B. inard, who did not keep it long, before the King took it, and laid it wholly to Windham, from which time it hath always been taken as an hamlet to that parish.
It soon after lost its original name, and took another, by which it hath passed ever since; [wi-dic-Dorp], signified the village at the hill, by the ditch or water, and [dun-ham], by which name it went in Henry the Second's time, is "the village on the hill," both which answer to it situation; at the foundation of the priory of Windham it was given by the founder to that house, and was afterwards assigned, with all its rents and services, to the Abbot thereof, who built a country seat or house of retirement, on the top of the hill, which is called DownhamLodge, which with the manor was assigned to the Lady Mary, after the Dissolution; but she did not enjoy it, by reason the Abbot foreseeing the approaching fate of his convent, leased it out to John Flowerdew of Hetherset, Esq. which lease did not expire till 1561, it being called in that lease Downham Hall, and Downham Hall manor; during this lease, it seems the Cottons obtained a grant of it; for in 1565, Will. Cotton and Ursula his wife conveyed the manor, site, fald-course, free-fishery, and common of pasture in Downham shifts, to Will. Thornton, and in 1573, John Thornton of Soham in Cambridgeshire, Gent. granted an annuity of 26s. 3d. out of it, to Edw. Flowerdew, in recompense for his good council and advice given him. In 1623, John Thornton, Esq. sold it to Rich. Buxton, Gent. from whom it came to the Woodhouses, in which family it continues at this day; they having left their old seat at Kimberley, and settled here, it being far the most agreeable situation. The house stands on the summit of a hill, in a most pleasant park, and commands two fine views, the western one overlooks a vale with a rivulet in the midst, a large bason of water of about 12 or 14 acres, (made by the present owner,) rendering it most delightful that way, as the fine visto doth on the other side, which commands the valley, and terminates in a most agreeable landscape towards Barford. It now  is the seat of Armine Woodhouse, Esq. one of the present members in parliament for the county of Norfolk.
Brockdish, Springwell's or Findern's Manor
No doubt belonged to the several families, whose names it retains; in 1545, Tho. Findern of Wiclewood was lord, who was descended from the Finderns of Essex and Derbyshire; it continued a good while in that family, George Finderne was lord, and afterwards it belonged to the Duffields, and now Mr. Charles Humfrey of Norwich is lord.
Thuxton's and Beacham's
In Windham, Bunwell, and Carleton, formerly belonged to the Beauchamps, from whom it took its present name; it after belonged to Sir Philip Woodhouse, Knt. who, jointly with his trustees, sold it to Rich. Page, whose son, Will. Page, held his first court in 1587. It lately belonged to John Tallowins, after to Mr. Rob. Bullock of Hingham, and Mr. Robert Bullock, his son and heir, is now lord. I find a manor here called Wadkar in Windham, which court was held at Windham single, 37th Henry VIII. but in Philip and Mary's time, it seems to be joined to Kirkeby-Bydon or Kirby-Bedon, at which town the court was then held; in 1664, the style was thus: Witlingham, alias Wicklingham, Wadkers in Wimondham, and Kirkby-Bedon, where the court was held, so that I imagine, that Wadkers in Windham and Wicklingham, being in the same lord, were joined and kept as one court; and this is all I find of the manors here.
Was given by the founder to the prior, who got it immediately appropriated to the monastery, and it continued (all but the vicar's part) in that house till its Dissolution, and then came to the Crown, where it remained till Queen Elizabeth, by letters patent dated 27th June, in the 42d year of her reign, among other things granted in exchange to the Bishop of Ely and his successours for ever, "the rectory of Wimondham with the tithe barn, and all the tithes of the demean lands, late parcell of Wimondham priory," and ever since, it hath been held as it now is, by lease of that see. Mr. Burroughs of Windham being the present  lessee.
The vicarage was settled in 1221, the Vicar being to have half the offerings at the altar, except on the four feast days, of the Purification and Birth of the Virgin Mary, (on which days great feasts were held here, the church being dedicated to her when it was finished, and to St. Thomas Becket, ) Christmas and Easter, and on them the Prior was to have the whole, the vicar was to have the wax-candle offerings, by the name of cerage, besides other small tithes, as calves, lambs, &c. all the confessions of the parishioners, and a corrody in the monastery, (in lieu of which a pension was granted at the Dissolution to the vicar,) and Walter the Archdeacon then agreed, that he and his successours would receive but one mark yearly for procurations; the vicar was to have the tithe of all corn growing in the parish, and converted into bread-corn there, by the name of lofecorn, besides other tithes, the whole of his profits being taxed at 12 marks, all which the Pope, Bishop of Norwich, and the Prior there, confirmed by their several deeds. Walter's taxation gives us this account: the rectory, with the manor, &c. is taxed at six score and six marks and an half, and the vicarage at 10 marks, Norwich Domesday gives us this account: here is a cell of monks belonging to St. Alban's monastery, to which the parish church is appropriated, together with the chapel of St. Thomas the Martyr, and the impropriation is valued at 120 marks, the vicarage at 13 marks, the vicar hath a house but no land; synodals and procurations are 3s. 4d. Peter-pence 10s. and the town pays yearly carvage to the high-altar of Norwich cathedral, by the vicar, every Whitsun week, 2s. 1d.
Walter, the first vicar. The Prior and Convent.
- 1260, Richard.
- 1280, Nigel Payn.
- 1290, Baldwin, the Prior's nephew.
- 1317, Robert Wauncy of Kingswalden; he resigned and went to Colton.
- 1333, Henry de Mashworth, who resigned Hapesburgh.
- 1349, Rich. Estrild. R.
- 1349, Richard, son of John Richard of Kimburley, changed in
- 1365, with John de Stukele, for Colton, who changed in
- 1388, with Thomas de Killingworth for St. Butolph in Norwich.
He was buried in the church in 1397.
- 1397, Tho. Praty.
- 1397, Rob. Wright. R.
- 1408, Rob. Basage, changed in
- 1424, with Tho. Pilecok, for Stanhawe. He died vicar.
- 1434, John Girding. O.
- 1466, Tho. Draper. O.
- 1479, Rob. Irby. R.
- 1499, Tho. Porter.
- 1513, John Drye, A. M. ob. 1538.
- 1538, Eligius Ferrers, then Abbot, was the last presented by the convent. He lies buried under the fine old monument on the south side of the altar.
- 1539, Henry King, S. T. P. resigned; he was installed prebend of Norwich in 1548, was rector of Great-Fraunsham in 1551, and next year of Little-Fraunsham, but was deprived of all in the beginning of Queen Mary's reign; but afterwards being reconciled, he died rector of Winterton in 1557. The Crown.
- 1555, Will. Wyllis. Ditto.
- 1556, Tho. Briggs. Lapse. Ditto.
Sir Harvy Hoping. Ditto.
Mr. Mason. Ditto.
- 1573, Tho. Lewger. Ditto.
- 1581, Anth. Carington. Ditto.
- 1581, John Woodfall. Ditto.
- 1590, Sim. Wells; he returned 1600 communicants here in 160s. Ditto.
- 1607, Edward Agas. The Bishop of Ely, who is now  patron, the advowson being settled on that see by Queen Elizabeth.
- 1629, Joshua Meen; he was born at Waybred in Suffolk.
- 1600, Henry Younger.
- 1663, John Marshall.
- 1666, Francis Lewes. O. He was rector of St. Mary Magdalen, Old Fish-street.
- 1683, Tho. Baron. O.
- 1686, Tho. Wright, buried in the chancel.
- 1691, Will. Hawys. O.
- 1701, George Taylor, buried in the vestry.
- 1737, 8 June, the Rev. Mr. Robert Cremer, A. M.  holds it united to Ashill.
This vicarge is valued in the King's Books at 10l. 14s. 4d. ob. and being sworn of the clear yearly value of 49l. 13s. 2d. is discharged of first fruits and tenths; it is there called Wymondham, alias Wyndham. It hath a vicarage house and some small parcels of glebe, given by John Westgate and Alice his wife in 1472, "to the vicar of Windham my close called Brothiways in Cakewike in Windham, that he and his successors should keep a certayn for our souls." I am informed it lies in Mr. Drake's estate, who pays the vicar the rent of it yearly At the Dissolution there was a pension paid to the vicar, of 6l. 10s. per annum, which was 5l. per annum only in 13th Elizabeth.
The Priory or Abbey
The priory of Wimondham was founded in the time of King Henry I. by Will de Albani, Butler to that King, for his own and wife's souls, and those of his father, mother, and ancestors; he endowed it with the parish church of Windham, and all the tithes and revenues whatsoever belonging to it, and gave his manor house, with the courtyard, orchards, alder-car, fisheries, and moats round the house and court-yard, and also the mill in the court, and the mill called Westwade, with 30 acres of pasture by it, the grove called Biskilmid, and the little grove at South-Wood, the wic and 10 tenants in Suthwode by the wic, as much arable land in the said town as was let at 13l. per annum, 45 acres of which laid in Northfield, 80 acres in Eastfield, and 80 acres in Silfield, with 40 tenants, and their lands, in the same town, and 18 freeholders and their services. He also granted leave to the Prior and Convent to hold their court in the said town, and to have all the amerciaments of their own tenants, whether they were amerced in his leet or in the market-court. He gave them also the tithe of his woods in Bukenham, and liberty for their swine to go there, 40s. land in Nelond, Molefen, and Brakene, the lands in Wramplingham, which Rob. Grym, Elsey, and Ribald, held, the advowson of Colton, with the lands there, with Ulf, the parson or priest, then held, with the land of Adelstan and of Colman le Kinge, the whole town of Hapisburgh, except the land of Ansgot the chamberlain, the church and the market, with all that belonged to it, namely wrec, tol, team, and other customs; two carucates of land, a faldage, mill, and 13 men in Barnham, with two parts of the tithes of his demeans in that town, all which he held of Henry I.; the church of Snetesham, with all that belonged to it, one carucate of land and a free-fald there, two parts of the tithes of all his lands, and liberty of fishing in all his fisheries, in Grimston, Flitcham, and Pikenham, all which he granted to the Prior, and Convent of St. Mary at Windham, of his own foundation, free from all custom and secular service; he also ordered, that whenever the priory was void, the monks of Windham should elect a new prior, one of their own convent, and present him to their founder, who should not refuse to confirm him, unless he could shew a sufficient cause; the founder also made it subordinate to St. Alban's, and ordered that whenever the Abbot of St. Alban's came to Wimondham, he should be honourably entertained, and as a token of their dependency as a cell to St. Alban's, the Prior of Windham was to pay one mark of silver on the chief festival of St. Alban the Martyr, to that Abbot; and whereas Richard Abbot of St. Alban's, and the chapter there, had given him leave to found an abbey, which he had only made a priory, he ordered that if ever he himself made it an abbey, or the King, or any of his successours, that the Abbot should be chosen out of the monks of Windham, and that then it should be an independent abbey, free from the mark a year and all other acknowledgments: and the Abbot agreed, that it might be made an abbey whenever he pleased; Roger Bygot, Ingulf de Morley, Ingulf Prior of Norwich, Stephen Prior of Thetford, Alward de Wimundham, and Richard his son, Edric de Wymundham, Morell de Morley, and many others were witnesses; afterwards, the founder, at the burial of his wife Maud, daughter of Roger Bigot, for her soul, and those of Henry King of England, and Adeliza his wife, for the souls of William Rufus his father, and Maud his wife, and their ancestors, and also for the souls of Roger Bigod, and Ebrard Bishop of Norwich, confirmed all Hapisburgh whatsoever, church and all, except Ansgot the chamberlain's land, and a hamlet called Eccles, and this he did because it was of her inheritance, and he gave the convent possession on her burial day, by delivering them a cross of silver for their use, in which were many precious relicks, as pieces of the wood of the holy cross, of the manger our Lord laid in, of the holy sepulchre, and also his gold ring, and a silver cup in shape of a sphere, of excellent workmanship, for to keep the holy eucharist in, all which he offered upon the altar by the hands of Bishop Ebrard, just at the end of the Letany, and as the Bishop was going to celebrate mass for his wife's soul: Nigel Prior of Windham, Ingulf Prior of Norwich, Stephen Prior of Thetford, Hugh Prior of Acre, and William, Luke, Wibert, Gregory, Thomas, John, Silvester, Paulinus, Florentius, Hugh, Eudo, and Stephen, then monks of Windham, Jeffry de Morley, and many others; and the same time, William de Cruciona or Curson gave them 20 acres of land and all his tithes of Stanfield in Windham, in the presence of Alice Bigot, mother of the deceased, Agnes de Beaufoe, and Almund, her daughter, and others.
Henry I. King of England, the foundation being completed, confirmed to God, and St. Alban, and the church of St. Mary in Windham, all the gifts of William de Albani, his Butler, with these that he gave, besides what is aforementioned, viz. all his tenants that he held of the Earl Warren in Windham, 40s. land in Hahilla or Hethill, a marsh in Redham, a rent of 2000 eels a year from Elingeya or Helgay, all wrec from the division on the coast between Eccles and Happisburgh, all along west to the division, between the hundred of Happisburgh, (now contracted into Happing,) and Tunstede, two parts of the tithes of his demeans in Congham and Rising; beside this, the King, by virtue of his royal prerogative, granted them liberty of soc and sac, tol and theam, infangethef, utfangethef, flemensfermthe, blodwyt, forestal, danield, wrec, murdre, and all forfeitures for murder, with liberty for all the convent's tenants to buy and sell, in all cities and places that had not then charters granted to the contrary, all things toll-free: he also granted that none of his officers should enter or intermeddle in any of the convent's lands, or with any of their tenants, unless with their consent, but that the Prior should have his own officers, who should keep his liberties, without any disturbance from the King's. Soon after this, the founder, to augment his convent, gave the great wood in Windham, called South-Wood, and the meadow and lands before the church-doors, that the monks might not be molested, serving God in the church, by the noise of passengers, for which reason also, he obtained the King's license, and changed the highway, which before laid close by the church, and turned it by his own house.
Will. de Albani, grandson to the founder, confirmed all the aforesaid gifts, with those of William Earl of Arundel, his father, viz. liberty of fishing one day and one night in all his moats and new fisheries made by his house, namely, the day and night before the anniversary of his grandfather, their founder, unless they liked it better at another time; the land of Richard, son of Adam de Dunham, the land of Bonda and Oschetel in Branteslund, the land of Richard, son of Ansgot the chamberlain, in Windham, and Hapesburgh, 3 acres in Popiland of the fee of Reginald the Forrester, Godsacre in the same furlong, of the gift of Nigel Rustendene or Rusteyn, with common of pasture, and land in Teldebote's, Smethe or Smee, 6d. yearly rent in the burgh of Bukenham, of the gift of Alexander the Cook, and the advowson of the church of Besthorp, which his father gave them, for the souls aforesaid, and in particular for the soul of Lady Agatha, daughter of Ralf, son of Saveric; the furlong called Sparrwestoft in Besthorp, which Robert de Brathwant gave them, 7 acres which Robert his son gave them, 40s. land in Nelond, Molfen, and Binchene, which his grandmother gave, the tenement which John and Luke his sons held in Kerebroc or Carbrook; he gave them two carucates of land in demean, a mill, faldage, and manor, with two parts of the tithes of his demeans in Buruh or Burgh, which were his grandfather's; Richard Noth gave them a saltpit, and 2s. rent in Utthuna or Wotton, by Lyn; Roger de Verly gave them an acre in Pykenham, and 11 acres in Redeham, besides the fen, all which he confirmed to them, with the advowson of North Wotton, in the presence of Godfry, his brother, Roger Bigot, and others.
It being thus endowed, the Abbot of St. Alban's began, after the founder's death, to extend his jurisdiction so far over it, as to take the confirmation of the prior elect to himself, and about 1300, to present a prior to it, to be confirmed by the Bishop of Norwich, and mostly the monks of St. Alban's contrary to the foundation, were admitted priors on their Abbot's presentation, much against the minds of the true patrons of the priory, and thus it continued till 1448, when it was erected into an independant abbey on the following occasion, as Mr. Weaver relates it at fo. 809.
John, the seventh of that christian name, Abbot of St. Alban's, could not endure a certain monk of the house, whom he had made archdeacon, whose name was Stephen London, because he would tell him of his faults; therefore, to be rid of his company, his admonishments being distasteful, he persuades the archdeacon to take upon him the charge of the priory of Windham, then void of a prior, the archdeacon accepts of it, and was admitted prior by the Bishop of Norwich, in 1446, and being a worthy man, pleased both his flock, and Sir Andrew Ogard, Knt. his founder, very well, which more displeased the Abbot, who within one year sent express commandment, to discharge him of him priorship, which was hainously taken by himself and his patron, insomuch that in 1447 the Prior and Sir Andrew petitioned the King, that they might have his license to obtain a bull from the Pope, to erect it into an abbey, and set forth that the founder, William de Albany, had reserved liberty in the foundation deed, for the King and the patron or founder, to do so at any time; he complained also, that the Abbots of St. Alban had presented monks of St. Alban, contrary to the founder's intention, which tied the priorship to the monks of Windham's own election out of their own number; and it appearing true, the King licensed Sir Andrew to procure a bull for it, which he did from Pope Nicholas V. in 1448, by which it was made an independent abbey, Steph. London, then Prior, was made the first abbot, all the future abbots, according to the foundation, being to be elected out of Windham monks, unless all consented to the contrary, and to be admitted as the priors were, by the Bishop of Norwich, and presented to the founder or patron, who could not refuse any, unless for notorious crimes: and thus it became an abbey, and continued so to its Dissolution; its whole revenues being then rated, according to Speed, at 72l. 5s. 4d. and according to Dugdale, at 211l. 16s. 6d. per annum. It was founded in 1130, for in that year the founder appointed to the first prior. All the manors and lands of this monastery enjoyed the liberties of St. Alban's till its erection into an abbey, and then it enjoyed them in its own right. The Register of St. Alban's says, that it was dedicated to St. Mary and St. Alban, and was a Cell of black monks, belonging to St. Alban's; the abbots of which monastery had continual contests about the patronage of it.
In the time of Abbot Robert, and of William de Albani Earl of Arundel, son of the founder, Ralf de Nuers, a man very religious, and of a good character, though too passionate, was Prior of Windham: in his time the men and tenants of Hapisburgh, which belonged to that priory, refused to pay their dues and services to the Prior, upon which, he takes all the convent's servants, and went thither, with a design to oblige them to it, but they resisted him to his face, which so urged him, that he called the Earl's servants to his assistance, who broke open the tenant's doors, bound some of them, and as a seizure for the Prior's dues, carried off the goods of the Prior's tenants; upon this, the tenants taking the broken locks, &c. go to St. Alban's, and there complain to the Abbot, as their superiour lord, of the Prior and the Earl's servants, who finding themselves led into such difficulty, immediately turned their rage against the Prior, who had led them into it, and said that the Prior had persuaded them to do it in the Earl's name: the Abbot considering it a difficult matter, resolved to come to Windham, to make out the truth, but when he was about eight miles off, the Prior and monks met him, and told him, the Earl's officer and servants were ready to resist his entering into the church or monastery, upon which the Abbot designed to go to Norwich, and send a messenger to the Earl, to know whether it was by his order; but one of the young monks said, it was better to go and see first if it was so, because there was no ground for such a message if it proved otherwise; but as they went along, a messenger came to tell them, the Abbot's cook, who was gone before to prepare a supper for him, had his horse taken from him, upon which the monks rode, and recovered the horse from the person that had taken him, and they and the Abbot hastened to the town, and at the convent's outward gates a great number met him, calling out that they received him both as their spiritual and temporal lord also, following him to the churchyard gate, and there Roger de Millers, the Earl's officer, and many of his attendants, hindered the Abbot's entering, whom the Abbot knowing, says to him, "You know that I am Abbot of St. Alban's, and when I took that office, I took also the care of this place, which is a daughter or cell to it," and so spurring his horse, he went through the whole company without any resistance; but as the Abbot came from church, Roger and his company entreated him to return, and not provoke the Earl, who was exceedingly angry already, upon which the Abbot was prevailed upon to send messengers to the Earl, namely, the Prior, Richard de St. Clare, and Henry de Gorham, the Abbot's uncle, who brought word the Earl would meet the Abbot on such a day at Burnham, on which day they met, and the Abbot told him that the cause of his coming was on the complaint of the tenants of Windham and Happisburgh, whom his servants had oppressed and spoiled, and claimed his right so to do, from the Earl's father's grant, and said he visited once a year, and staid as visitor as long as he pleased: the Earl answered, he had nothing to do there, neither did the affair concern him at all, he having no right by his father's grant but for a mark a year, and good entertainment only once a year when he visited his cell at Binham, and that only one night in going and one night in returning, so that he had not above 13 horsemen with him; to this the Abbot said, that he created the present Prior, and what right he had, he held from him; and the Prior in presence acknowledged it so; the Abbot also said, that Richard Abbot of St. Alban's had the visitation, and was not confined to nights nor days, nor number, but came and went as he pleased, and received the mark a year as a token of subjection, and visited it as often as he would; upon which the Earl, in a great passion, rose up and told him, as long as he had a knight's girdle on, he would not suffer that to be, which never was before, and so departed, and the Abbot went again to Windham, and resolved to go to Hapesburgh to make out the truth; upon this the Earl sends a large posse of men thither, charging them not to suffer him to enter the house belonging to the monastery, and swore them to oppose the Abbot all ways to the utmost, which they did, for which the Abbot cited the Earl to Northampton, where he appeared, and promised to make him amends to his liking at Windham, for that violence, upon which the Abbot, by the justices leave, came again to Windham, but the Earl deceived him, and was again cited before the justices at London, but nothing was done; but at length, by the interposition of great men, they agreed, and the Abbot gave the Earl 40 marks to confirm all his father's gifts, which he did, except the church of Rising and some portions of tithes, which, though in the King's confirmation, were never enjoyed by the monastery; notwithstanding which, the Earl was not yet inwardly contented, as he had no reason to be; for now they got from him the power of confirming the Prior, and so they sent monks of St. Alban's for Priors, and recalled them at pleasure. After this, the Abbot, desirous of having the sole authority over the monastery of Windham, and all that belonged to it, quarrelled with Thomas Bishop of Norwich, being desirous that the Priors of Windham and Binham should not be subject to him, or yield any obedience to his episcopal authority, and pleaded such exemption for all that belonged to St. Alban's, but at last there was a composition made between the Bishop and Abbot, that they should yield all reverence and episcopal obedience to the Bishop, in relation to their parish churches and vicarages, and the Priors of Binham and Windham, for the future, should be presented to the Bishop, and perform their canonical obedience, and come to the Bishop's synod, or send their proctors, or have their letters of ex cuse allowed, and shall sit among the other priors in their riding habits, in their caps and spurs; all the vicars of their parish churches shall be instituted by the Bishop, viz. the vicars of Windham, Snetesham, Binham, Darsingham, and Hapisburg: the Abbot also agrees, that the visitation of these churches shall not hereafter belong to the Bishop, but that they pay him annually, in lieu thereof, 20s. for the priory of Binham, and 40s. for the priory of Windham; the Abbot reserves power, as before, to elect the priors, remove the monks, and do every thing in the priories exclusive of the Bishop, according to the rule of the order of St. Bennet: this agreement was dated in St. Paul's church in London, in 1228, and from this time the town of Windham, as to all spiritual jurisdiction of the monks and all their tenants, became exempt from the jurisdiction of the Bishop of Norwich, and the probate of their wills, &c. all belonged to the priory, as a member of St. Alban's: after this, in 1450, the whole of the inhabitants claimed exemption from the Bishop, and alleged this 40s. paid by the Prior to include all of them, but it being otherwise, they were glad to compound in the following manner, that the Bishop should have all the spiritual jurisdiction over them, but should appoint an official, who should live and exercise it in the town, and that none should be compelled to go to the court at Norwich, unless they were accused of heresy, necromancy, &c. and that every Bishop should hold his visitation there every seven years, according to custom, without any molestation. It seems the convent had been some time designing to bring this on the anvil, for in 1419, when the Bishop went through Windham, they would not ring, or the Prior would not let them, least it should be owning their obedience to the Bishop, but the Bishop understanding it, it being a parochial church, prosecuted them, and interdicted the church, upon which Sir John Beverich, and three chaplains more, and four of the chief parishioners, were obliged to appear at his great chapel in his palace at Norwich, and submit to him, and perform their pennance, before they could get off the interdict.
There was also another controversy between the Abbot of St. Alban's, the Priors of Windham and Binham, and the Archdeacon of Norfolk, which was carried so high, that the parties appealed to Rome, and in June, 1249, Innocent IV. made this final determination, that notwithstanding all the privileges and spiritual jurisdiction that the Popes and Kings had granted to St. Alban's, the Archdeacon's jurisdiction over the parish church, vicar, and parishioners, was not injured, it appearing that they had it only to their abbey and cells, of which this was no part, for though the quire and church were used in common, they for their daily service had a passage from the monastery, and the parishioners had another from the common street, and used it as a parochial church, and as such it was for ever subjected to the Archdeacon's jurisdiction, with all the other churches belonging to Windham and Binham, and though they proved they had recovered against the Dean of Waxham, for exercising his jurisdiction in the church of Hapisburgh, it was of no moment, but set aside; and upon this, the Archdeacon having recovered the sole jurisdiction over the church and all the parishioners, named a resident official here, to exercise his jurisdiction continually, as all his successours ever did: Walter de London, who was then Archdeacon, was also the Pope's chaplain, and by his interest in that court, came off so well; after this, the monks being uneasy with the visitation, agreed with the inhabitants, and took the choir, two transept chapels and steeple, to themselves, and assigned the nave or body of the church, and the north isle, to the parish, which continued ever after.
After this, Isabell de Albany Countess of Arundel attacks the Abbot of St. Alban's, and claims the sole power of confirming the Prior of Windham, according to the founder's charter; and at the death of William de St. Alban, Prior there, which happened in 1262, she claimed the presentation, and sued for it at Rome; but in Oct. 1264, she compounded with the Abbot of St. Alban's, on condition he made William de Horton, a monk of St. Alban's, prior, which he did, and for the future, the Countess and her heirs, on every vacancy, should name two monks of St. Alban's, one of which the Abbot should present to the Bishop, and thus this also ended; but when Sir Robert de Tatehale came to be patron, hearing the Abbot of St. Alban's designed to visit it, he entered the monastery, and shut up the quire doors, and all its gates, and would let nobody out or in, or suffer the Prior to meet the Abbot, or acknowledge he had any thing to do there, alleging that they had forfeited all their right there, if they had any, by reason that John de Berkhamstede, Abbot of St. Alban's, had refused to deliver him a certain quantity of bread and ale from the convent, which they were obliged to do, having always done it to his ancestors, that is to say, four loaves and four flaggons of ale, every day, whenever he comes to his manor of Windham, which the said Abbot, fearing his power, granted to him and his heirs, after which he was honourably received at Windham; John Abbot of St. Alban's succeeded, who had suffered this payment, (which was estimated to come to about 8l. per annum,) to be unpaid, for which reason, at the death of Adam Polein Prior of Windham, in 1303, the King's escheator seized and took possession of the monastery, set a guard at the gates, summoned the whole homage of the priory manor, the next day, to do their homage, but the Prior not being buried, it was respited; and after, upon the tenants refusing to do it, it being not customary, their goods were seized and detained, and all on pretence that Robert de Tateshale, heir of Sir Robert de Tateshale, was a minor, and in the King's custody, and injured by the non-payment of bread and ale, and that a Prior could not be presented; but the Abbot of St. Alban's sent, with the King's consent, John de Stevenache to be Prior, who was received as such, and all the tenants goods returned; but by such means as these, he found his convent in debt 1600 marks. Walter de Gloucester was escheator beyond Trent, and Will. de Curson sub-escheator for Norfolk; soon after, the Prior, for 245l. assigned to John Leche of Egmere, (rector of Massingham,) the manor of Hindringham, called Parnow Hall, and the tenement which was John de Brunham's, late parson of Wodedalling, Hindringham, and Burnham. After this, the Bishop of Norwich being made general collector of the subsidy, granted by the clergy in 1380, made the Prior of Windham one of the deputy collectors, which occasioned long contests, the Abbot of St. Alban's insisting on his being exempt by their privileges, and got the better of the Bishop, Richard II. in the fourth year of his reign, granting the Abbot and his cells exemption from being collectors or assessors of any subsidies.
Other benefactors that I have met with to this monastery, are, Robert de Rusteyng, who gave them a marsh in Snetesham, called Nothere, and 40 acres in Sharnbourn, of the fee of Nich. de Sharnbourne, for his own, and Aldred his wife's soul, and those of the Albanies his lords.
Ralf de Verli gave them many lands in Snetesham.
Donatus Prior of Windham granted to Alan, son of Robert de Snetesham, 5 acres of the demeans of Windham convent in Snetesham, and 6 acres there, which Cecily de Verli gave to that monastery, and one acre which the said Alan purchased, of the fee of Roger de Pavely, all which, Alan was to have for ever, paying 28d. per annum to the priory; the witnesses were, Robert, son of Richard of Windham, Samson the sub-prior, Benet the monk, Aluered the chaplain, Roger the deacon, Nigel the butler, Reginald the cook, Herbert the ostiler, Jeffry the chamberlain of Windham, and many others.
Will. le Veuter of Burnham gave 6 acres in Burnham.
Hugh Earl of Arundel gave a windmill, house, and two acres in Barwick, with the church of Berwic.
Isolda, daughter of Alured or Ailward de Plesseto, gave them 60 acres and an half in Besthorp, with her body to be buried at Windham, and lands in Atleburgh and Finebergh, with the consent of William de Arderne, her son.
In 1256, Ralf son of Will. de Bukenham, and Hugh Beaufoe, gave William Prior of Windham the advowson of Newton, in exchange for lands in South-Wotton.
Will. de Alneto or Alney gave land in Flitcham.
Roger de Verli gave lands in Pykenham.
Mathew Peverel and Alice his wife gave them tenants and their services in Melton, with other lands, Roger de Hereford, Jeffry Clerk, Hugh Noble, and Richard, son of Ribald, gave lands there.
Reginald de Montcorbin, and Ralf, gave them lands in Wiclewood.
Geffry, son of Eudo, gave land in Nelond, Roger Malherbe of Tacolneston gave lands there.
William, son of Walter, and Waryn, son of Ralf of Wramplingham, gave lands in Wramplingham.
William, son of William de Albani, the founder, gave them the chapel of St Thomas the Martyr in Windham, which he had founded.
Rob. de Baveut gave land and part of the church of Besthorp.
The church of Congham was of the gift of Adam, son of Alverede or Alured.
Ansketill de Stanfield gave 30 acres in Windham.
Will. de Uvedale gave Will. Palmer and his tenement.
They had half a mark rent of the gift of Roger Rosai of Elingham, and of Ralf Bainard.
Eustace de Riflei, William, son of Odard, Fitz-Walter, &c. gave lands in Wiclewood.
Hugh, son of Alward, Hugh, son of Ulf, Richard de Dunham, and Reginald de Montcorbin, gave land in Ketringham, of Anschetill's fee.
Rob. Fulcher gave land in Fritton.
Baldwin, son of Eudo, gave land by Thorp park.
Matthew Peverel's mother gave lands in Brakene.
Hodierne and Richard Noth gave land in Witton.
Eudo de Melles gave 10 acres in Besthorp; most of these were given before 1182.
King Stephen granted the Prior a three-day fair in Windham, viz. on the eve, day, and morrow of the nativity of the Virgin Mary, and also confirmation of the market there.
Rich. Fitz-Hammon gave lands in Snetesham.
Will. Earl of Arundel granted them to be toll-free in Lyn, and all other his market towns.
Adam, son of Alvered, gave lands in Carleton.
Rob. de Carleton-Rode gave lands in Stanfield.
Will. Curson gave lands in Ketringham.
Will. Bloet gave lands in Ormersbei and Depedale.
In 1249, the Priors of Windham and Penteny agreed to divide the tithes of Sir Richard Curson's sheep, feeding in Windham and Ketringham, Sir Rich. Curson being witness.
Cecily, daughter of Odard de Snetesham, gave them lands there.
Roger de Rustein gave them a mill there.
Sir Robert Tharum, Knt. and Estace de Bavent, gave lands in Sharnborn and Snetesham, with all the heath, his lord, the third Earl of Arundell, gave them in Swangey, with a marsh and 200 sheep, for which the monks were obliged to find a chaplain in St. Mary's church at Snetesham, at the altar of St. James there, to pray for him and his family.
John de Ferthington granted to Rich. Noth, son of Gilbert de Kimburle, lands in South-Wotton, and common pasture for 100 sheep, and he gave them with all his lands in South, and North-Wotton, and Geywood, to the Prior.
Thomas, son of Thomas de Ingaldesthorp, gave them 27 acres of land in Sharnbourne.
The Prior of Langley agreed to pay this prior 24s. per annum for Peche's marsh, which they had of the gift of Robert Fitz-Roger.
Balderic of Taverham, son of William, son of Alexander de Drayton, gave lands in Kesewic and Drayton.
John, son of Robert le Mason of Norwich, gave them the advowson of the church of St. Bartholomew in Berstrete in Norwich, and the official of Will. de Raleigh Bishop of Norwich confirmed it to them.
Stephen de Camois gave them a windmill in Flokethorp, with the site and suit, saving to himself the grinding for his family, and the tithe to the church of St. George of Hardyngham.
The Prior and Bishop granted leave to Sir Rich. Curson, Knt. to have a chapel and chaplain in his house at Stanfield, in Windham, on condition it was no way detrimental to the mother-church.
In 1251, Walter the Archdeacon gave the vicar an acknowledgement that he would receive only a mark a year from his vicarage, for procurations.
Edward I. granted the Prior free-warren in all his lands, manors, and demeans by charter dated at Carnarvon, in the 12th year of his reign, and particularly in Windham, Hapisburg, Snetesham, Bury, the Wotton's, Widewood, Cringlethorp, Carleton, Wramplingham, Riston, and Sharnborn.
The Prior agreed with Walter parson of Grimston to receive a pension of 40s. per annum, in lieu of all tithes due to him, out of the ancient demean lands of the Earl of Arundel, in 1242.
The rector of Melton St. Mary paid 6d. a year for a portion of tithe corn.
In 1308, Reginald Bone aliened lands here and in Hippisburgh to the Prior.
In 1314, Thomas de Cailli gave a messuage and 13 acres in Windham.
These are the chief of the benefactors that I have met with, though doubt not but most of the noble families that were patrons were benefactors also.
The whole of their spirituals in Windham were taxed at 80 marks in 1423, and their temporals there at 13l. 4s. 9d.; their whole spirituals in Norfolk were taxed at 170l. 10s. per annum, and their temporals at 152l. 16s. 1d. q. so that they were taxed for both spirituals and temporals in Norfolk, at 323l. 6s. 1d. q.
After the Dissolution, the site, &c. with Windham abbey manor, was given, in 1545, to Thomas Howard Earl of Surrey, during the life of Thomas Howard Duke of Norfolk, his father, if the Earl so long lived, paying into the Court of Augmentations 9l. 7s. 7d. a year. It came after to the Crown, belonged to Queen Mary, and was granted by Queen Elizabeth, in 1564, to Walter Haddon, to be held by the fee-farm of 11l. 9s. 8d. per annum. In 1574, it belonged to Sir Henry Cobham, Knt. and Anne his wife, late wife of Walter Haddon, Master of the Requests, who sold it that year to Edward Flowerdew, serjeant at law, it being then in the occupation of him, and William Knight, alias Kett; this Edward died seized of it, being then one of the Barons of the Exchequer, and left it to his brother and heir, John Flowerdew, Esq. who left it to John Flowerdew, Gent. who died in 1587, and left it to Edward Flowerdew, his son and heir, above seven years old, since which time it came to the Cleres, and have passed with the manor ever since.
In 1130, Nigel, the first prior, was nominated by the founder, and installed accordingly.
- 1136, Alexius was prior.
- 1160, Ralf de Nuers, was a monk of St. Alban's, and the first cho sen and presented by that abbot.
- Donatus. Sampson was then sub-prior.
- 1200, Ralf de Dunstable.
- 1210, Ralf de Stanham, presented by William de Gisney Governour of Montjoy priory, by leave of the Abbot of St. Alban's, and the founder.
- 1215, Alexander de Langley.
- 1217, Ralf de Whiteby, formerly prior of their cell at Whiteby, where he was sent again, and died there after he was recalled from hence. Upon his revocation the Abbot preferred
- William de Fescham, whom the Earl of Arundel, patron of the house, deservedly refused, and
- Thomas Medicus, or the physician, who travelled into the Holy Land in pilgrimage with the Earl's father, and brought back his dead body to the monastery, was made prior, about 1224.
- 1257, William of St. Alban's; he died on St. Gregorie's day, 1262, and is buried in the choir here.
- 1264, William de Hortone. The Abbot of St. Alban's, at the founder's request. He is buried here.
- William de Waltham, was chosen by the Abbot of St. Alban's, it being agreed, that the patron or founder should always nominate two monks of St. Alban's to the abbot, who should present which he pleased to the Bishop of Norwich, to perform canonical obedience.
- Roger de Here or Hare.
- 1286, Adam Poleyn or Pulleyn. He died on Christmas day 1303, and is buried here.
- 1303, John de Stevenache, the Abbot, with the King's consent, the patron being a minor.
- 1308, Ralf.
- 1317, Brother John de Hurlee. Hugh Abbot of St. Alban's.
- 1334, Brother Richard de Hethersete. Ric. Abbot of St. Alban's.
- 1347, Brother Henry de Stukeley.
- 1368, Brother Nic. de Radcliff, S. T. P.
- 1380, Brother Will. Killingworth, Archdeacon of St. Alban's.
- 1394, Brother Tho. Walsingham.
- 1400, Brother John Savage.
- 1405, Brother Will. Boydon; he resigned.
- 1416, Brother John Isham.
- 1420, Brother Will. Alnwyk; he soon resigned, and was afterwards Bishop of Norwich.
- 1420, Brother Will. Boydon, again.
- 1425, Brother John Hatfield, Dr. in the decrees.
- 1437, Brother Peter Waleys, or Wallis.
- 1446, Brother Stephen London, S. T. P. who, in
- 1448, became the first Abbot.
Brother William Bokenham was first a monk of Norwich, then Prior of their cell at Yarmouth, and in 1466, Abbot here, at London's death: he was elected by the monks, as all the abbots were, they were obliged to choose one of their own monks, and present him to their patron, who could not refuse him without plain cause so to do; it seems the monks and patron agreed to elect him, or else he could not have been abbot, not being a monk here.
- 1471, Brother John Kertelyng.
- 1502, Brother John.
- 1511, Tho. Chandeler, a monk of St. Faith's.
- 1514, Tho. Chamberlain.
- 1517, John Bransforth, S. T. P.
- 1520, The Right Rev. Father in God, John Lord Bishop of Lechlin in Ireland.
- 1526, William Castleton, who resigned this for the priory of Norwich, of which he was prior at the Dissolution, and the first dean.
- 1532, Eligius or Elisha Ferrars, D. D. was the last Abbot; he was after the Dissolution Archdeacon of Suffolk, Prebend of Norwich, and dying in 1548, lies buried under the old monument in the south wall, in the altar rails in Windham church, but it hath no arms nor inscription. In 1534, this Abbot, Tho. Lyn, Edmund Shawe, precentor, and eight other monks, subscribed to the supremacy, and at the Dissolution, the Abbot had a pension of 66l. 13s. 4d. assigned him.
At the Dissolution, it appears, this monastery was found to be in a regular state, there being no crimes laid to the charge of the Abbot or any of the monks, except four, which they pretended owned themselves incontinent, viz. Tho. Lynne, Rich. Cambridge, Robert Colchester and John Wyncham. In 1555, there remained the following fees, pensions, and annuities, payable out of the revenues of the dissolved monastery, viz. to Richard Hoo, auditor 13s. 4d. per annum fee.
Annuities, to George Ferrers 40s. Tho. Carewe 3l. 6s. 8d. Robert Agas 40s.
Pensions, to Thomas Essex 6l. per annum; Robert Cornwall 40s.; John Beeston 4l. 13s. 4d.; John Borroughs 40s.; Robert Burey 5l. 6s. 8d.
The Founder of the monastery, at the foundation, had his seat or manor-house by the stream that runs southward of the church, all which he gave to the monks, who inhabited in it while the monastery was building, the Earl removing his seat to another place north-west of the church; it seems he pulled down the old parish church, and in its place built the present one, with the quire, which is now in ruins; it was at first in shape of a cross, and consisted of a quire or chancel, with the chapel of our Lady on the north side of it, a tower at the west end between the nave and chancel, which is still called the abbey steeple, a nave, north isle, and south isle, over which, till the Dissolution, the monks lodgings were joined to the south side of the church, the two transepts or cross chapels made the cross, that on the north side was the chapel of St. Margaret, and that on the south side the chapel of St. Andrew, and the abbey vestry; the monastery itself was a large square court, the church making its north side, and the high wall or gable, now standing on the east side, was the chapterhouse; when it was demolished the south isle of the church, which was leaded, was demolished also, but the King gave them ground out of the site, to make the present south isle on, viz, 80 feet in length, and 28 in breadth, the old isle being only 11 feet broad.
In the 31st year of King Henry VIII. the parishioners and inhabitants of the town, desirous to save their noble church from destruction, petitioned the King to have the following parts of the church, which was to be destroyed by the late Act, as belonging to the monastry, granted to them they paying for the bells, lead, &c. according to their value.
First, the abbey steeple as it stands, with the bells as they hang, giving weight for weight for the bells, the lead being 21 foot broad, and as much long, contains at 20 feet square to each fodder, one fodder 16 feet.
The vestry belonging to the abbey with all the right-up isle on the south side of the steeple and parish church, to the cross isle, the lead being 44 feet long and 11 broad.
The monks lodgings builded over the south isle of the parish church, 76 feet long, and 11 broad, all leaded.
The chapel of St. Margaret on the north side of the abbey steeple, the lead being 28 feet long, and 21 broad.
The choir and our Lady's chapel, with all the whole work as it standeth, to be taken down at pleasure, the lead 68 feet long, and 30 broad.
Item, the whole chapel of Bishop Becket, standing in the midst of the town, with two little bells there hanging, to give warning to the people of every chance of fire, or other sudden business happening, the lead being 71 feet long, and 30 broad.
The whole being 17 fodder, and 31 feet lead, all which the inhabitants paid the King for, at the rate of 4l. the fodder, and the King gave them the timber-work of the roof of the chapter-house, within the late abbey, with such stone, glass, and old windows there, as shall be fit for the building of the new isle.
By this it appears, that the tower and bells at the west end, the nave, north isle, north porch, and vestry over it, with the land on the north side, now the present churchyard, at that time solely belonged to the parish, whose good intent (though they paid the money) was frustrated by Serjeant Flowerdew, who stript the south isle, and abbey vestry, and all the lodgings, the town vestry, and part of the abbey steeple, of all its lead, and carried away all the freestone from the south cross isle, the chapel of our Lady, and the quire, (which he demolished in a good measure,) and all the freestone from the foundation of a wall that was set by the inhabitants between the rest of the abbey ground, and the ground given by the King's Majesty to enlarge the parish church; and thus the choir being demolished and the beauty spoiled, the inhabitants pulled down the rest, and new built the present south isle; but this very thing was in a great measure the beginning of the rebellion, for the Ketts, who were chiefly concerned in the purchase, and were very desirous to save the church, being at that time principal inhabitants here, never forgave Flowerdew, but endeavoured to do him and his family ail the prejudice imaginable ever after.
The east part of the nave was now made the chancel, the repairs of which the impropriation bears; and in 1573, Queen Elizabeth allowed the inhabitants a large sum to repair the chancel; and at that time the three windows and wall on the north side of the nave, now the chancel, were rebuilt, and these letters, R. E. ANNO 1573, set thereon, to denote Regina Elizabetha.
The site of the abbey contained 33 acres, the old wall at the west end of the tower was part of the charnel-house, which with Becket's chapel, the abbey steeple, St. Margaret's chapel, the south cross isle, and vestry, with St. Mary's, chapel, were granted to Connell and Pistor, as concealed lands, but to no purpose, the inhabitants shewing they had a grant of them already.
After the inhabitants, by agreement with the Prior, had quitted their common right in the quite, and had the nave and north isle appropriated to them, for a parish church, not liking to have no other bells for their parish use, but them in the abbey steeple belonging to the monks, they began to raise contributions, with consent of the lord of the town, to erect a tower at the west end of the church, and what by contributions, and legacies given by persons that died here in 1410, they took down a porch at the west end of the gable, and began the foundation of the noble tower which is now standing there, it being no less than 56 yards high: upon this, the prior and monks indict the townsmen for breaking the porch and wall, and erecting a tower and three bells, and for stopping up the door between the nave and chancel, alleging that the church and all was theirs, and that the townsmen ought to come there at the sound of the abbey bells: this made great confusion, which lasted about a year, and then Thomas Archbishop of Canterbury came hither, in his metropolitical visitation, and settled the matter between them, licensing the townsmen to build their tower and hang what bells they pleased in it, on condition they never rang them to disturb the monks, that is to say, before 6 in the morning, nor after 6 at night, it being their resting time, and that in the day-time they should be rung for divine service, or the dead only, unless on Christmas day, Easter day, at the coming of the King, Archbishop, or Bishop, or in case of any publick enemies, thieves, fire, or robbery: upon this, Sir John Clifton, Knt. sets about the work, and with the assistance of many benefactors, not only builds the tower, but the top part of the whole nave, as the arms cut on the outside of the north windows show us.
On the first window westward, is a mitre and crown, to show the regal and episcopal jurisdiction over the church, and that it was not an exempt of the monks.
On the second, is Sir John Clifton's arms, and those of Ufford Earl of Suffolk.
On the third, the arms of Nevile and Shelton.
On the fourth, the arms of Caily, and a saltier with cords cross it at each corner.
On the fifth, the symbols of the Trinity and the Passion.
On the sixth, the cross swords and cross keys, for St. Paul and St. Peter, to denote the Pope's supremacy.
On the seventh, the crown and mitre as before; and the other three windows were rebuilt by Queen Elizabeth, as hath been observed.
Over the west door of the tower, which hath five large bells and a clock in it, are three shields.
Sir John Clifton quartering Caily, impaling Thorp, viz. az. three crescents arg. the arms of Joan his wife; (see vol. i. p. 377) the crest is a plume of feathers. The other coats are:
A star of eight points impaling nebulee.
A bend quartering chequy, made as I take it, though not exactly done, for Cromwell and Tatshall.
It was a long time before it was finished, and the bells hung, viz. from 1410, to 1476. In 1461, Nicholas Dote gave 6s. 8d. In 1464, Will. Cobald, chaplain, gave 5l. towards the building it, by his will. In 1468, John Langforth of Windham was buried in the church, and gave 20s. to the tower. In 1472, John Westgate gave 5 marks. In 1473, John, the Official of the Bishop, was buried in the church, and gave 13s. 4d. to the tower.
At the Dissolution there were divers gilds well endowed with lands and tenements, held in this church, viz.
Of the Holy Trinity, which gild had a gild-hall at Spooner-Row, and is sometimes called Spooner Rowe gild.
Of St. Peter of Sutton, to which Aveline Bird gave 8 acres of land.
Of our Lady at her altar in her chapel here, which gild kept a light before her image in her chapel, called our Lady's Light.
The gild of St. Margaret kept at her altar in her chapel.
The gild of St. Andrew, at his altar in his chapel, where there was a new rood-loft erected in 1497.
Watlefield gild, or brotherhood of St. Thomas, kept at his altar in this church, and sometimes in his chapel in the middle of the town, and is sometimes called Middleton Gild.
The gild of the Holy Cross.
Of St. John Baptist.
Of St. George.
All which gilds supported lights here in honour of their patron saints. Besides which, there were the rood-loft light, and the light of Jesus.
At the Dissolution many gave gifts towards purchasing the abbey bells, steeple, &c.
The lands and tenements belonging to these gilds remained for the most part in the Crown, till Queen Elizabeth, in the second year of her reign, Ao. 1559, upon the humble suit of the inhabitants, gave them to the town, and settled them on feoffees, they being then of the yearly value of 40l. towards maintaining a school in St. Thomas's chapel, and other Godly uses in the said town, as repairing the church, &c.; but the feoffees being negligent, and the chapel or school being stript of the lead, and in decay for want of covering, they neither kept the school nor repaired the church, but employed the money to other uses, upon which a complaint being lodged with the Privy-Council in 1570, the feoffees were called to an account, and the lands settled to maintain a schoolmaster, and repair the church, and immediately the chapel was tiled, and the schoolmaster had a salary always allowed him out of the lands, which at present is 20l. per annum and a dwelling-house for the master, given since the restoration, by Mr. Christopher Deye: this chapel is now the schoolhouse, and was dedicated to the Virgin Mary and St. Thomas Becket Archbishop of Canterbury, who was murdered in 1130; it was founded by William de Albany, son of the founder of the monastery, and was well endowed, King Edward I. in 1292, confirming all donations made to it. The master of the school is elected by the majority of the feoffees, the Rev. Mr. William Evans is now  master; in 1574, Matthew Parker Archbishop of Canterbury did give unto this town a scholarship to his college, called Corpus Christi or Bennet college in Cambridge, the scholar to be chosen out of this school, and born in this town, and must have continued at school here two years without intermission, and must also be 15 years old; James Frosdyke, alias Poynter, was the first chosen, March 20, 1574, by Mr. Thexton, vicar of Aylesham, and was admitted to it March 26, by Mr. Norgate, master of the college: in 1567, the said Archbishop gave a sermon to the town of Windham, to be preached yearly on the Monday in Rogation week, for which he settled 6s. 8d. a year, to be paid the preacher, out of his manor and farm at Hethill; it is to be preached either by the master or one of the fellows of the said college. Dr. Pory, master of Bennet, preached the first sermon in 1567.
Over the door of the school was this, now illegible,
Ano Dni. 1635. Musarum Ædes Wymondhamenses. Ne Pulsate fores, Sint tecta Silentia Musis.
But to proceed to the persons of note buried in the quire and St. Mary's chapel, by the side of it, both which are now down.
First, in the middle of the quire, right before the altar, lie interred William de Albani, the founder, and Maud his wife, daughter of Roger Bigot Earl of Norfolk. His epitaph was this,
Hunc Pincerna Locum fundavit, et hic iacet, illa, quæ dedit huic Domini, iam Sine Fine tenet.
He died 3d Henry II. 1156, to his memory, was this on the monastery wall,
Pray yre for the Soul of William de Albany Founder of this Abby.
Which shews it was placed there after it became an abbey.
William de Albany Earl of Arundel, the founder's son, who died at Waverley in Surrey, 3 id. Oct. 1176, was buried by his father here; he is called sometimes Earl of Sussex, sometimes Earl of Chichester, and was founder of Bukenham priory, and Pynham by Arundel, and the chapel of St. Thomas the martyr in Wyndham, and was a great benefactor to several religious houses.
William de Albani Earl of Arundel, his son, grandson of the founder, went with King Richard I. into the Holy Land, and remained with him in Almuin all the time of his imprisoment, and died at Waverley, some say the same year with his father, others, in 1196, the Waverley chronicle 1193, but all agree he was buried by his father here.
William de Albani Earl of Arundel and Sussex, the inheritor of his father's honours and virtues, went with Ralph Earl of Chester and many other nobles into the Holy Land, and after the winning of Damietta in Palestine, in his return home, died at a town beyond Rome called Camel, and his body being opened and embalmed, as he desired, Thomas, his physician, brought it to Windham, and interred it by his ancestors, for which good service from a monk of St. Alban's, he was made prior here about 1224.
Hugh de Albany, his brother and heir, Earl of Arundel and Sussex, died in 1242. or as Weaver, in 1243, without issue, and was buried here by his ancestors, so that all the Alban's Earls of Arundel and Sussex, great nobles in their time, lie here interred under the rubbish of the quire or chancel, and it is to be supposed most of their wives also, who were all persons of the greatest families at that time; Isabell, widow of this Hugh, was daughter of the great Earl Warren, and foundress of Matham nunnery.
In 1420, John Snowe, clerk, was buried in St. Mary's chapel.
Sir John Clifton of Bukenham-Castle, Knt. died in 1447, and was buried here, and settled 10l. per annum on the prior for ever, to find a monk to sing for his soul, and the soul of Joan his wife, daughter and coheir of Sir Edmund Thorp, the younger, Knt. of Ashwell-Thorp, widow of Sir Robert Echingham, who was buried by him. (See vol. i. p. 377.)
Sir Andrew Ogard, Knt. and Margaret Clifton, sole daughter and heiress of Sir John, his wife, are both buried here; he died in 1454, she in 1460.
Joan, daughter of John Lovell.
Isolda Arderne, who was a benefactress.
A gentleman called None, who, because he gave nothing to the religious of this house, had this distich made to his memory, as Mr. Cambden tells us in his Remains, p. 321.
Hic Situs est Nullus, quia Nullo nullior Iste, Et quia Nullus erat, de Nullo nil tibi Christe.
Mr. Weaver, fo. 811, hath it thus Englished,
Here lyeth None, one worse than none for ever thought, And because None, of none, to thee O Christ, gives nought.
The same author tells us, that he had read this following epitaph also, on this sirname,
Hic recubat Nullus, nullo de Sanguine cretus, Nullus apud Vivos, Nullus apud Superos.
None lieth here, of Linage none descended, Amongst Men None, None, mongst the Saints befrended.
Much like that, as Cambden says, found also in the Register of Windham, for Pope Lucius born at Luca, Bishop of Ostia, Pope of Rome, who died at Verona:
Luca dedit Lucem tibi Luci, Pontificatum Ostia, Papatum Roma, Verona mori; Immo, Verona dedit tibi vere vivere, Roma Exilium, Curas Ostia, Luca mori.
In 1472, John Westgate was buried at the west-end of the present church, near the font; he gave Sewal's close to the gild of St. Thomas at Windham, to pray for him and Alice his wife, and Catherine her sister, and all benefactors; to the vicar, Brothwayt's close for a certeyn; to the rector of Hackford, his tenements called Rosys or Norwyk-House, and that called Clerys-Clerks, and their land lying on their west sides in Hackford, and his tenement in West-Acre, called Bishop's, to the Prior of West-Acre for ever, to pray for them.
In 1426, Thomas Wyteman of Windham was a great benefactor to the gilds; he was buried in the churchyard.
In 1506, Thomas Dalys, chaplain, was buried in the church.
In 1507, William Browne was buried in the present church, and gave to the monastery a close called Gravours, to keep an obit on his year-day, with placebo and dirige for his and his wife's souls.
In 1528, Sir William Knevet, Knt. was buried in this monastery church, under the new work by him made, before the high-altar of the quire, on one side of the founder, under a stone of marble inlaid with his arms, being buried at the feet of
Sir William Knevet, Knt. his father, and Dame Jane his mother; he gave 40l. to the monastery to pray for him; to the Abbot 20s.; to every monk being a priest, 6s. 8d.; to each monk not a priest, 3s. 4d.; to Sir Thomas Thaxted, monk and celerer, to pray 10 years for his soul, 5 marks a year.
The arms of Albany, Cromwell, Tatsall, Clifton, Caily, and Windham, were in the north church windows, and those of Flint, Chaucer, &c. on the south side, but all are now gone.
The nave, south and north isles, with the north porch, are all leaded, an exact copper plate of which, with the abbey steeple, and ruins, was lately published by Mr. Buck, in his set of ruins for Norfolk, Suffolk, and Essex, and indeed is not only a good picture, but an exact likeness.
At the west end of the nave, on the south side, is a mural monument thus inscribed,
Jacet infra, Johannes Hendry, Virtutis Mortalibus Exemplum Immortale relinquens.
Pietate, Charitate, præclarus, Ecclesiæ, Cleri, Pauperum, Religiosus Amator.
Vicarium hujus Parochiæ Liberalitate suâ singulari Promovendæ Pietatis ergo Omni Seeulo remunerans.
Scholam ibidem, egenæ Juventutis erudiendæ Gratia, Piorum Benevolentia erectam Larga manu Sustentans, Morbo nimis acuto diu laborans Animam tandem Deo reddidit, Duodecimo die Martij, Anno Dom: 1722.
Ætatis Sexagesimo Quarto.
Vitæ tam bene peractæ, Mercedem Per Jesum Christum præstolans.
This Mr. Hendry, by his last will and testament, dated Nov. 12, 1722, gave 400l. to be laid out in the purchase of an estate of freehold land in Norfolk, to be settled on trustees, for the benefit of the vicar of Windham for the time being, for ever, conditionally that he preach, or cause to be preached, two sermons every Lord's day in Windham church for ever, one in the morning, the other in the afternoon; upon his neglect or refusal, the profits to be applied to the charity school in Windham; he gave 5l. towards conveying the estate, and also 13l. 10s. per annum to the vicar of Windham out of lands called Flora's in Windham, for preaching a sermon in Windham every Friday in Lent; he left his estate at Crownthorp, then about 15l. per annum, to the charity school at Windham, chargeable with 50s. yearly, to be paid to the ancientest maids in Windham, and 10s. a year to the poor of Crownthorp for ever; he gave a velvet pall and six mourning cloaks, to be let out at the discretion of the vicar. The 400l. was laid out in 1724, for a freehold estate in Wiclewood, which was settled according to the will.
On the fifth bell is this,
- 1653, Tuba ad Judicium, Tympanum ad Ecclesiam.
There now remain only the arms of Marshall and Burnel in the windows,
On the first north pillar is the dedication stone, with the word MARJA, in a cipher.
There is a fine old font, on which are the emblems of the four Evangelists, of the Holy Trinity, and of the Sacrament, and a shield with three crowns; and round the steps is an inscription, now illegible, all but
Dunwule et Animabus.
There is a stone for Susan Wife of Miles Filby and his three Children, William, Miles, and Anne, who all died in 1737.
In the north isle, towards the west end, are stones for,
Edmund Son of Henry Blackbourn Gent. 9 Sept. 1720, aged 82.
Henry Blackbourne Gent. 4 March 1671, aged 70.
Blackbourn, arg. a fess wavy between three mullets sab. impaling Anguish.
Crest, a lion's head erased, a fess wavy for a collar.
Anne his wife died 1693.
Anne and Francis, Children of Francis Le Neve, by Anne his Wife, Daughter of Henry Blackbourn, she died 1673, he 1680.
Alice second Wife to William Le Neve Gent. died 21 Dec. 1701, aged 43.
Will. Le Neve, Gent. died May 27, 1720, aged 77.
John King Senior died July 22, 1726, aged 60, Anne his Wife July 16, 1737, aged 71. Susan Swift her Sister, Sep. 22, 1737, aged 62.
Faith's turned to Vision, Hope fruition tasts, And Pray'r is turned to prays, that always last.
Cullyer, arg. a club erected in pale sab.
Quicquid Josephi Culyer, sibi vindicare potuit, Terra lubens his amplectitur, Juvenis, spe eximia, ad excolendas Virtutes, quasi de Industria Naturæ compositi: quem tamen alta ratio, perpetuumque Judicium, non Corporis Temperies, esse bonum dedere; Cui ut in pedestram, se recepit, ad Philosophiam, deinde et Theologiam affectanti viam, idque Ingenio summas calcanti Difficultates, mire proventum est in hisce Studijs, Interea vix dum annum vicesimum quintum emensus, de repente hinc e medio excessit, Junij die 27°. Anno 1681, postquam Cantabrigiæ, Gradum Magisterij in Artibus, nec immerito, et Coll: Corp: Christi, ejusdem Academiæ sodalitium, consequutus fuisset, vel in ipso almæ matris sinu moriens primæ, natali suæ reddi humo expetivit. Hic etiam sitæ sunt Exuviæ, Josephi Gay, prædicti Josephi Nepotis, qui obijt, 17° Jan. 1711, Ætatis suæ 20°.
Reponit Anna Carver, Filia Gualteri Carver defuncti, et Mariæ Uxoris, ejus relictæ, Virgo omni Virtute eximia, seculi intacta Vitijs, Annorum Primitias Religioni dicavit, Pietate, Charitate, Liberalitate exuberans, Omnibus dilecta vixit, viva Pauperibus benigna, quos moriens beneficio donavit, hand Senio confecta sed acuta correpta Febre animam placidissima reddidit. Sept. 5to Ano. Dom: 1720, Ætat. 24°.
Mary Relict of Walter Carver, died 25 Jan. 1724, aged 65.
Crest, a dragon's head issuing from a coronet, and Carver's arms, sab. a chevron erm. between three croslets arg.
Walter Carver Apothecary, died Oct. 5 1717, aged 61, and his 4 Children, Anne, Mary, Eliz. and John.
Here was a chapel, as the fine roof and niche for the holy water shew us, but I cannot say to what saint it was dedicated, though the name [Maria] is on the roof; the old vestry is here, which was made in 1674.
The Drakes are buried in this isle, though there is no memorial over any of them.
There is a hatchment in which Le Neve impales
Arg. on a chief az. a lion's head erased between two battle-axes or. a saltier gul. between four holly leaves proper.
By the door of this isle lies
Mary Daughter of John and Susanna Talbot, who died, March 17, 1729, aged 22.
Her Time was short, long is her rest, God take them first, whom he loves best.
George Kett. Senior, died Jan: 4, 1722, aged 83.
Anne Wife of Thomas Carver Apothecary, Jan: 1, 1736, aged 39 Years, and their Children, Philip, Walter, George, Anne, and Elizabeth.
Over the door is an old piece of painting, on the wall, representing naked people in a boat in great danger, and several others suffering for righteousness sake, on the right-hand; and on the left the devils, some offering a can of drink, others a purse of money, encouraging sinners to their own destruction.
Charles Shepherd 1724. Anne Norton 1702. Henry Norton 1707.
In the nave on the first pillar, towards the west end, on the north side, is a mural monument with this,
Lector, propter hancce columnam, sitæ sunt Exuviæ, Thomæ Seaborn Gen: qui in omni negotio Sapiens, magno etiam animo Servus Dei, ac Phillipæ Uxoris ejus, quæ ingenij erat benignissimi, in Vicinos, in Pauperes, pia in Deum, atque humilis, et Jacobi Seabourn Gen: Filij Primogeniti, qui justissimus erat et liberalis.
Hic etiam sepultus est, Jacobus infans, Roberti Seabourne Gen: filius, obijt Apr. 18 1695.
Crest, a talbot's head erased arg. collared az.
Seabourne, barry wavy of 10 arg. and az. a lion rampant or.
There hangs a noble branch in the middle of the nave, given by Elizabeth Hendry.
Mary Wife of John Jubbs Gent. 27 July 1676.
Nil nisi Pulvis inest, perfectum Gloria Corpus Reddet, disce cito vivere, disce mori.
Hawes and Gleane impaled.
En Viator! quod æquum est, Patris & Filij in eundem coactas Tumulum reliquias, idem antea nomen gradum, Facultatem, adeptorum, discedenti Patri, Decem. 15 1679, Filio Superstite, non defuit Monumentum, Quo licet demum Fatis functo, Aug: die 19° Ano Dom: 1683, etiam dum Johannes Hawys vivit, uterque hominum Memoriâ, egregius Medicus, uterque apud Cœlites consummatissimus Theologus.
Richard Buxton Gent, of Downham Lodge, died 2 Jan: 16- -
Anne Daughter of Thomas and Anne Mallsop, died Feb. 19 1715, aged 10.
This Friend of ours, for whom we weep, Is safely come unto the shore, She is not dead but fallen asleep, And only gone to Bed before; And when ended is our Pain, Shall sleep with her, and wake again, Mean Season as for her we know, Where, and with whom, and how she dwells, In Heaven with Christ, and Myriads mo: Whose Presence all delight excells, And there she sings with high Desire, Her Haleluyahs in full Quire.
In the chancel, on a mural monument,
Anna Wright, Patientiæ et Charitatis omnimodæ Exemplar, ob: Dec: 12, 1712, conjugemque T. W. [Tho. Wright, Vicar.] sepultum (hic) readmisit 5 die Febr. 1731, æt. 77.
On a mural monument close by the north end of the altar,
M. S. Isaaci Sayer A. M. Coll. Gonv. et Caij Cantabr. Scolæ Wymondhamensis per Annos ix Moderatoris. Pietate, Modestia, Morunmque Integritate inter Primos numerandus, in pueris erudiendis, Sedulitate et Solertia plurimis (dicam omnibus?) anteferendus. Obijt xii Cal: Febr. Anno Ætatis xxxvi, Christi vero MDCCXXI. Maria Uxor ejus per an: xiii. Amoris simul ac Doloris hoc Monumentum, P. F.
Browne, per bend arg. and sab. four mascles counterchanged.
Hawes, az. a fess wavy between three lions passant or. Crest; a lion's head erased, issuing from a crown or.
M. S. Wilhelmi Hawys, hujus Ecclesiæ per decennium Vicarij de Coll: Corp. Xti. apud Cantab. A. M. Viri honestis apud Norwicenses Parentibus nati, Morum Probitate, Vitæ Innocentia, bonarum Literarum Studijs, clari, Sacris initiatus, quum abdicante Rege in Ecclesia motus excitatos viderit, hancce Vicariam, ita voluit suprema Lex, vacuam, sola Conscientia Duce, subijt, eandemque ea Animi Temperie tenuit, ut neque Partium Simultates, nec Inimicornm Rabies, in Vindictam Religione (quam Sincerus coluit) Christiana indignam eum vel minimum potuerunt allicere Æquo Animo passus omnia, quod summa Potestas in suorum Salutem et in Contumacium Terrorem decreverat, id, his ipsis Testibus, in sui Causam factum esse (Rarum Exemplum) quum potuit, noluit, immatura Morte, Annos 35 natus, charissima Conjuge, teneris Liberis, bonis omnibus (nec Injuria) lugentibus, Febre violenta correptus obijt Maj: 16°. Anno Æræ Xtianæ 1701.
Uberiorem Justitiæ Mercedem tandem expectaturus.
Repositum Thomæ Baron hujus Ecclesiæ, Vicarij meritissimi, Anglicanæ, Filij optimi, eoque nomine Regiæ Majestati subditi deditissimi, Amicis jucundissimi, omnibus denique benignissimi, et quibus notus, optatissimi, Obijt quarto iduum Dec: Anno salutis 1680, Ætatis suæ 38.
Christopher only son of Robert Deye Gent. and Frances his Wife, died 4 Feb. 1669.
Rob. Deye Gent. 5 Aug. 1673, Frances his wife 2 March, 1664.
In a Vault under the Stone, lies Mr. John Hawys, of Norwich Apothecary, who died 28 March, 1663.
In the south isle, in a window,
Sab. on a chevron ingrailed arg. between three crescents erm. two lions rampant combatant gul. quartering, per pale S. and A. in the sable, a chevron or, in the arg. a chevron gul.
Mary Style died 4 Aug. 1673.
Against a pillar at the east end of the south isle,
This in Memory of Ann Talbot, the only Daughter of Thomas Talbot of Gunvill-Hall Esq: and Jone his Wife, the Daughter of Sir John Mede of Lofts in Essex, a Virgin whose Piety, Charity, Duty, and Curtesey, was exemplary to those of her Age, she departed this Life the 6th Day of December 1669, and of her Age 20 Years, and lies interred near her Father, and where her Mother designs to be buried.
Robert Ages, June 23 1677.
Le Neve impales Browne.
Ester Wife of Mr. William Le-Neve, Sept. 19, 1677, aged 20.
Sleep sacred Ashes, let us only prie, What Treasures in you did involved lie, A Wife so young, and yet so wise, oh! here's, Wisdom, Example, not the Child of Years, So full of Business, and so pious, well! Devotion dwells not always in a Cell, So free, so innocent, so good, so kind, All moral Vertues were in thee combin'd, And with thee took their Flight into the Skie, Joyne Forces, and make up one Galaxy, So various Gums dissolving in one Fire, Together in one Fragrant Fume expire.
Esther Daughter of Will. Le-Neve, and Ester his Wife, bapt. March 1576, died Apr. 5, 1681.
Her Life was short, the longer is her Rest, God call them soonest, whom he loveth best.
Thomas King, Clark and Sexton 65 Years, died Sept 14 1680.
George Gay Gent. died Oct. 24, 1697, Susan his wife Aug. 15 1683, aged 84. Roger their Son, 6 Aug. 1716, aged 76, and Benjamin an Infant:
Crest, a unicorn's head erased sab. issuing from a coronet or. Hawes, impales Le Neve.
Thomas Son of Simon Hawes, Aug. 2 1714, Susan Wife of Simon Hawes, Oct. 26, 1724. Richard their Son, Nov. 4, 1724. Sarah Daughter of Richard Hawes, Dec. 29, 1724. Mary another Daughter, Jan. 11, 1724.
Stone of Wimondham, arg. a lion passant sab.
Robert Stone Gent. died June 15, 1717, aged 64, Hellen his Wife Jan. 9, 1736, aged 84.
Crest, a bird's head issuing from a crown.
Smith of Surrey, arg. a chevron between three croslets treflee gul. impales Stone.
Elizabeth Wife of John Smith, died Aug. 5. 1730, aged 53.
There is a mural monument against the south wall, towards the west end of the south isle, for Stephen Gibbs who died Aug. 7, 1723, aged 89, and Prudence his wife, who died Aug. 15, 1706, aged 55.
The new vestry is at the west end of this isle, in which the Archdecon's court is held; in the midst is an altar tomb, having the arms and crest of Hawes, and this inscription,
Hic super Reliquias suas, Monumentum simul et Tabulam Marmoream voluit Johannes Hawys Generosus, ut par mortuo atque vivo, illi esset Fortuna, alijs. potius quam sibi, profuisse. Natus est A°. 1669, Mortuus 1727.
Before the vestry was made, in this place stood the table that the poor were paid their weekly collection on, and afterwards on this tomb, which supplied its place.
On a black marble is this,
H.S.E. Georgius Taylor annos triginta fere Sex, hujus Ecclesiæ Vicarius fidissimus, cujus Jura et Emolumenta magnis sumptibus, magno etiam vigore Animi, fœliciter asseruit et vindicavit, nec minus tamen Animarum Curæ fortiter incubuit, obijt xiv Calendarum Februarij, Anno Ætatis lxiii°, Humanæ Salutis Mdccxxxvi°.
The town is divided into several divisions, viz. Middleton or Marketsted, Damgate, Chaplegate, Vicar's-street, Towngreen, and Cakewick, all which are in the insoken, or in the town; the hamlets in the outsoken, are Downham, which lies northward of the town, Stanfield eastward, Silfield about a mile distant S. E. Watlefield about two miles S. Spooner-Row, about a mile and an half S. W. Sutton, Norton, and Brawick, "It is famous for a mean manufacture, viz. the making of taps, spindles, spoons, and such like wooden ware, in abundance; men, women, and children, are continually employed in this work: an innocent employment for a maintenance, and much better than (if not so gentile as) idleness," which this town seems to abhor, there having been a bridewell or house of correction for idle persons and such like, many ages, which is still kept in a house belonging to the county, appropriated to that use, the keeper of which, in Queen Elizabeth's time, had a salary of 40s. a year, paid by the county treasurer. The inhabitants enjoy their writ of privilege, as ancient demean, and serve not at assizes or sessions, &c. but their privilege of not being cited to answer in any spiritual court, but before the official in their own town, was neglected at the Reformation, since which time I do not find any peculiar officials either of the Bishop or Archdeacon, made for this town only.
The country hereabouts, including all Forehoe hundred, is a rich clay, which makes the roads bad, the whole is enclosed land, and abounds with a good quantity of wood and timber. In the year 1903, King John first granted the market here, to be held as it now is on Friday, and a fair on St. Catherine's day, Nov. 25, which is now removed to Candlemas day; another fair was granted to be held here on St. Philip and St. James's day. May 1, which is removed to May 6, and the other fair, which was granted to be held on the day, the day before, and the day after, the Nativity of the Virgin Mary, Sept. 8, is now kept the 13th day after Michaelmas day. All these removals, without authority, are very prejudicial to the fairs themselves, and disappoint tradesmen very much, who expect the fairs in all places to be on the days the printed lists mention, and not otherwise.
In 1244, the King had an escuage granted him of 20s. out of every knight's fee; and it appears that he was this year at Wymondham, for there the writs are dated, which were sent to all the sheriffs, to proclaim in their counties, that all the King's tenants in capite, who held an entire knight's fee, or twenty pounds by the year in land, (which was at that time an equivalent,) and were not knights, should on penalty of forfeiture of their lands repair to the King at Whitsuntide, to receive arms from him, and be made knights.
On June 11th, 1615, this town was damaged by fire to above 40,000l. value, there being above 300 dwelling-houses consumed, as the brief tells me; it appears it was fired on purpose; I have the original confession of one Margaret Bix, alias Elvyn, then under sentence of death, made before the under-sheriff, &c. in which she acknowledges that she was privy to the fact, and that it was committed by Ellen Pendleton, who was also under condemnation for it, and that the said Ellen lighted a match, and she placed it in the stable where the fire first began; Will. Flodder was not condemned, but his brother John, and others, were condemned also: it appears that they were Scots, but went under the name of Egyptians, all but this Bix, whom they promised to carry with them into their own country, and maintain well, and procure a pardon from the Pope, for committing the fact.
In 1631, the city of Norwich raised 103l. 5s. 7d. for the relief of the poor inhabitants of Wimondham, then grievously visited with the plague.
The flourishing family of the Windhams had their name from this town, which family hath spread into several branches, as Sir Hugh Windham of Pillesden-Court in Dorsetshire, Bart. extinct. Sir William Windham of Orchard-Windham in Somersetshire, and Sir Francis Windham of Trent, in the same county, Barts. The Windhams of Crownthorp, now divided into three families, at Felbrigge, Cromere, and Earsham.
Persons of this name concerned here were; Alice, relict of John, son of Sara de Wimondham, but the deed having no date, I cannot say in what time they lived, though I take the hand to be about Henry III. They were descendants from some of the sons of Alward de Wimondham, who was a witness to the foundation deed of the priory here, with his three sons, Richard, Hugh, and Pagan or Pain, as was also Edrick of Wimundham.
In 1265, King Henry III. granted to Thomas de Wimundham, clerk, his treasurer, the next ward that tell to him worth 50l. unless he should provide for him by giving him a prebend or benefice, or some other church dignity, to the value of 200 marks, and also a ship load of wood for his fire, yearly; he was alive in 1271, and then treasurer.
In 1293, William de Wimundham was overseer of the silver mines in Devonshire, and had offices in the Exchequer; he was a great chemist; by his art he refined this year 270 pounds of fine silver out of the lead ore, which King Edward I. gave for a portion with his daughter Eleanor, to the Count De Barr: in the next year, there were 521 pounds of silver sent to London and coined, and the following year, when the Derbyshire miners were sent to help the Devonian, Mr. Wymondham sent 700 pounds of silver to the mint.
But as this town hath been famous for producing men profitable to the commonwealth, I must observe that is also infamous for the birth of those execrable rebels the Ketts, that so much harassed the country, and vexed and injured the city of Norwich, in the history of which city I propose to treat largely of their rebellious actions, Robert Kett, the principal ringleader, being hanged in chains upon the castle of Norwich, and William Kett, his brother, upon the high steeple of Windham, as a terrour to all such presumptuous villains, Sir William Windham being at that time sheriff of Norfolk, so that as this place had the misfortune to produce such notorious offenders against the peace of the country, at the same time we ought to give it its due honour, in having an officer, originally sprung from hence, who, according to his duty, always opposed their unjust proceedings, and at last executed due punishment for their traitorous acts, to the quiet of the whole country.
I find an ancient family of good repute here, sirnamed Mechil, alias Randolf, and another sirnamed Le Deye; in 1345, Cecily le Deye, widow, owned an estate here, which, in 1577, belonged to Thomas Deye, and it still continues in his posterity, Dr. Deye being its present  owner.
Sir John Robsart, Knt. and Dame Elizabeth, his wife, dwelt in Stanfield Hall in 1546.
The whole town paid to every tenth, 13li.
In 1622, upon a commission of charitable uses, concerning the town lands, it appeared that King Edward VI. granted unto Sir Thomas and Sir William Woodhouse, Knts. the messuage called the Gild-Hall, with 11 acres of land, which belonged to Corpus Christi gild in Windham, to be held in free soccage of East-Greenwich manor, who, in 1549 infeoffed them in divers feoffees to the use of the town. In 1594, Robert Ringwood, feoffee, surrendered all the lands and tenements called the Town Lands, lately belonging to St. Peter's gild, "for the fynding of a learned maister, to teach within the seyd Towne." In 1604, Tho. Plommer, feoffee, surrendered two messuages, viz. the Old and New Gild-Halls, to the same uses. There were about 90 acres of land, and 8 or 10 tenements, then let at about 50li. a year.
Is a village now included in Hardyngham, and contained all that part of the parish lying in Forehoe hundred, it is called Tokethorp in Domsday, and was in several parts, two of which belonged to Cossey, as appears at p. 407. Two other parts of it belonged to the Earl Warren's manor of Bernham-Broom, as Domsday, fo. 635, shows us.
Another part belonged to Wramplingham manor, and was held of Godric the Sewer, by Walter.
The whole of this village fell into Hardingham in Edward the Third's time, and the name of it is quite forgotten.
The Church, is dedicated to St. Peter; in Henry the Third's time, William, son of Wluric, was rector; and in 1297, Robert de Reydon was presented by Nich. de Stutvile, it being then valued at 26l. 13s. 4d. This Nicholas was patron when Domesday was wrote, in which it is said that it was appropriated to St. Giles's hospital in Norwich, that the rector had a house and 40 acres of land, taxed at 30 marks, paid 2s. 8d. synodals, besides procurations, and 2s. 6d. Peter-pence; it is plain by the institutions, that Stutvile's appropriation of it to the hospital was never confirmed.
There was a chapel of St. Mary in the churchyard, the ruins of which are now visible at the south-east corner of the chancel; at the altar in this chapel was the Virgin's image, with a lamp burning before it, and a priest endowed to say daily mass there; it was founded before 1370, but the lands not settled on the chantry priest regularly till 1401, and then Henry IV. passed a license of mortmain for that purpose: in 1440, Henry Bramerton, chantry priest of St. Mary's chapel in Kimburle, was buried before the altar of that chapel. It was 12 yards long, and seven wide, as the ruins show us.
- 1342, Will. de Thourston. Will. de Holtford, and Will. King.
- 1349, John, son of Hugh de Kimburle. John King and John Frere.
- 1350, John, son of Hugh de Kimburle. Rich. de Lyng Archdeacon of Norwich, Walter Elveden, &c.
- 1350, John, son of Hugh de Kimburle. The Custos and Scholars of Trinity-Hall in Cambridge. He was instituted these three times, to show the alteration of patrons, at their request.
- 1350, Will. Bateman Bishop of Norwich, founder of Trinity-Hall, purchased the advowson, and having settled it on his hall, appropriated it to that house this year; reserving a yearly pension of 20s. to the Bishop of Norwich, and the college was charged for their spirituals impropriate, at 20l.
William, the first vicar was instituted at the presentation of the College, who presented two, and the Bishop instituted which he pleased. R.
- 1355, Rich. at Medwe. The College.
- 1359, Tho. Selde.
- 1362, Walter Barker.
- 1396, John Barker of Thugarton, buried by the font step, in 1400.
- 1400, John de Crungethorp. R.
- 1408, John Waraunt, buried in the churchyard in 1420.
- 1420, Gregory Dalle.
- 1426, Will. Marleburgh.
- 1440, Simon Randys.
- 1441, John Willys. R.
- 1448, Rob. Pilgrime. R.
- 1450, Gregory Randys. O.
- 1453, Will. Short. R.
- 1455, Edm. Worsted. R.
- 1462, Rich. Frost.
- 1513, John Lubbenham.
- 1515, Robert Betering. O.
- 1542, Henry Joynte. O. He was the last presented by the College.
- 1566, Henry Cook. Roger Woodhouse, Esq. who purchased the advowson of the college.
- 1569, Rob. Fonde. Ditto.
- 1570, Will. Elland. Ditto.
- John Cullyner. R. Ditto.
- 1588, Owen Ducket. Philip Woodhouse, Esq. buried here 23d Febr. 1608.
- 1611, John Booth, A. M. Æt. 26, born in Norwich, educated at Cambridge. Sir Philip Woodhouse, Knt.
- 1613, Henry Castleton. Ditto. Buried here Sept. 4, 1638.
- 1638, Edw. Bickling. Sir Thomas Woodhouse, Bart.
- 1701, James Champion. Sir John Woodhouse, Bart.
- 1729, The Rev. Mr. Joseph Brett, A. M. on Champion's resignation, who is now  rector, and holds it united to Carleton Forehoe. Sir John Woodhouse, Bart.
The present  patron is Armine Woodhouse, Esq.
Kimberley Hall Manor
Hakene held Kimburley at the Confessor's survey; it was then 5 furlongs long and 3 broad, and paid 13d. ob. to the geld. At the Conqueror's survey it belonged to Godric, as we learn from Domesday, fol. 22. South Hall manor in Carleton then belonged to this manor, as you may see at p. 405. and there were three freemen in his town that belonged to Hidicthorp.
In the beginning of King John's time Hugh de Gurnaco or Gournay, a Norman, was possessed of it, and gave it to Nicholas de Stutvile, with Gunnora, his daughter, in marriage; he was disseized of it with Bedingham and Burburgham manors, at the time of the disseizing all the Normans from their lands, for their rebellion, which was in 1205, the 5th of King John, who the next year directed his writ to the sheriff, to restore Nicholas de Stutvile to all his lands that Nicholas his father was disseized of. At the seizure, the manor and stock was assigned to Walter de Cantelupe, during the King's pleasure; this Nicholas died in 1232, and in 1257, Simon de Greynvill or Greyvill, then husband of Alice, relict of Nicholas, and John de Stutevill, son and heir of Nicholas, released all their right to Wido or Guy de Butetort, in 10l. a year, rents, and lands, which Nicholas de Stutevile had granted him in Kimburle, which ever after was called Boutetort's Manor. In 1284, Nicholas de Stutevile had the assize of bread, ale, and beer, of all his tenants in Kymburle; in 1291, this Nicholas is said to be son and heir of John de Stutevile, late lord here, who held this town of the barony of Gournay. After this, I find no mention of it till 1313, when Margery, relict of Roger Cosyn of Norwich, granted it to Sir Walter de Norwich, and Catherine his wife, and their heirs, and by a fine levied in 1316, it appears that Margery had only her life in it, for then Walter de Norwich and Katerine his wife settled it on Tho. de Caily and Margaret his wife and their heirs; for lack of which it was to return to Walter and his heirs; and in 1345, Will. de Holtford, who presented in 1342, Robert of Yarmouth, and Roger de Norwich, held it at half a fee, of Sir John Bardolf's honour of Wormegeye, but more rightly of Gournay, which came to the Bardolfs by Will. Bardolf's marriage with Julian, daughter and heiress of Gournay; in 1370, Roger de Norwich held it of the Lord Bardolf, paying a pair of gilt spurs every year; and soon after, he conveyed it to Katherine de Brewse, and John, son of Walter de Norwich, her heir; in 1374, Catherine Brewse, daughter of Thomas de Norwich, released it to John Bacon of Brome, and his heirs, in which it is said that the manor formerly belonged to Roger de Norwich, her uncle, the said Roger and Thomas being younger brothers of Sir John, and sons of Walter de Norwich, who was the King's Remembrancer, Baron of the Exchequer, and Treasurer of England. After this, it came to Sir Thomas Hales, Knt. and others, who gave it for life to Margaret, wife of Sir Thomas Fastolf of Kimberley, Knt. with remainder to Thomas Crabbe and Elizabeth his wife, sole daughter and heiress of Sir John Furneaux, and their heirs; in 1384, Sir Thomas Fastolf, Knt. was lord, and died intestate, leaving Margaret, his daughter, who married John Woodhouse of Kimberley, Knt. son of Sir Edward Woodhouse, Knt.; after Crabbe's death, there was a dispute about this manor, which you may see in vol. i. p. 315, but John Crabbe, son and heir of Thomas Crabbe, and Will. Berdwell, releasing their right to John Woodhouse, the whole centered in him, and continues in his posterity to this day.
The tower is square, and hath two bells, there is a small spire, and only one isle, which is thatched, the south porch is tiled, the chancel leaded, the north vestry is down.
In 1205, William de Kineburle, clerk, had a grant of the vicarage for life; and in 1218, Nicholas de Stutevile proved it was a rectory, and recovered it against the King; in 1441, Margaret, widow of Sir Richard Carbonel of Beding field in Suffolk, lived and died here, and gave a legacy to the church; her stone now lies in the middle of the chancel, robbed of her effigies and four shields.
The vicarage is valued in the King's Books at 6l. 12s. 3d. ob. and being sworn of the clear yearly value of 22l. 19s. 6d. ob. it is discharged of first-fruits and tenths, and is capable of augmentation.
In 1603, Owen Ducket, vicar, returned 80 communicants here, and that he held it united to Carleton Forehoe, that the parsonage of Kymburle is impropriate, endowed with the said vicarage, the cure being served by the vicar.
In the middle of the church formerly laid a stone, with this, but it is now gone,
Under this Stone rare Jenkyns lye, The Master of the Muisick Art, Whom from the Earth, the God on high, Called up to him, to bear his Part.
Aged 86, October 27, In Anno 78, he went to Heaven.
This Jenkins was as celebrated a composer and master of musick as any in his time; he was chiefly at Kimberley, and died there. The parish register says,
John Jenkins, Esq; was buried Oct. 29, 1678.
Phillipa, daughter of Sir Henry Southwell, Knt. and Margaret his wife, was baptized at Kimberley 24 of June 1621. In 1631, the steeple was rebuilt by the Wodhouses. On the biggest bell,
Fillei dei vivi, Miserere Nobis.
The Prior of Wimondham was taxed at 12s. 8d. ob. for his temporals, and Markam abbey lands, lying here, in Windham, and Carlton, were let at 40s. per annum, and the village paid 3li. 12s. to every tenth.
Kimberley, or the Prior of Norwich's Manor
In 1315, Walter de Norwico, or Norwich, aliened to the Prior of the Trinity at Norwich, 3 messuages, 169 acres of land, and 12 acres of meadow, in Great and Little Cressingham, and in Hopton, with the manor of Stowe, lands in Kimburle and Metingham; and in 1369, Tho. Piercy Bishop of Norwich, who died Aug. 8, this year, by his will bequeathed to the precentor of this monastery, and his successours, several farms, lands, rents, &c. in Kimburle, Carleton-Forehoe, Crownthorp, and Wiclewood, on condition he should say mass daily at St. Thomas's altar in the cathedral for the souls of his ancestors, self, and benefactors; and in 1401, the Prior of Norwich had a quarter of a fee here, which was a small manor, now held by lease of the dean and chapter, by Armine Wodehouse, Esq.
Botour's, or Botetourt's Manor
Was part of Kimberley manor, granted by Nic. de Stutvile to Guy de Butetort, who, in 1285, had the assize of bread and beer of all his tenants; in 1305, he settled it on Ralf Butetort; it after belonged to Bartholomew Botetort, who left it to Maud, his daughter and heir, who married Jeffry Swathyng, for in 1386, they conveyed it to Sir William Wingfield, Knt.; in 1400, William, son of William aforesaid, had it, and his posterity enjoyed it till about 1442, and then it was conveyed to John Woodhouse of Kimberley, Esq. and his heirs, Sir John Clifton of Bukenham castle, released his right, and so did John Emond of Cranworth, Esq. son of Roger, who was son and heir of Maud, daughter and heir of Bartholomew Botetourt, by her second husband Emond. And thus this manor also came to the Woodhouses, who now enjoy it, though the family have removed their residence out of the limits of this parish.
Their first seat here was the ancient seat of the Fastolfs, which stood in the west part of the town; but Sir John Woodhouse, in Henry the Fourth's time, demolished it, and built a noble seat on the east part, where the family continued till 1659, and then Sir Philip Woodhouse demolished it, and removed to the present seat at DownhamLodge, which is just cross the river dividing the parishes of Kimberley and Windham, to which Downham is a hamlet, as may be seen at p. 506, to which I must here add, that the piece of water which lies in this parish, and is there said to contain about 12 or 14 acres, is now extended into a noble lake of about 28 acres, which seems to environ a large wood or carr on its west side; rendering its appearance to the house much more grand and delightful; the rivulet that ran on its east side is now made a serpentine river, laid out in a neat manner, and is the boundary to the park, on the west and north sides being above a mile in length: the declivity of the hill, on the northern part, is a fine lawn, with the serpentine river at the bottom of it, which is seen at one view from the grand entrance of the house, which was built by the present Sir John Wodehouse, who hath much augmented its beauty and pleasantness, by the addition of these beautiful waters I have now mentioned.
OF THE WODEHOUSES OF KIMBERLEY
That there have been several families of ancient extraction, of this sirname, I readily agree with Mr. Collins in his Baronettage, as also that they have been denominated according to the custom of former ages, from their possessions. The pedigrees indeed of this family (I may say all that I have seen) deduce them from Bertram of Wodehouse Tower in Yorkshire, who, it is said, compounded with the Conqueror, and enjoyed his lands and inheritance, but as the pedigree in verse tells us, this is supported by no evidence, which makes me think it as great an errour, as that general one, of making this family of Yorkshire extraction. That Bertram was ancestor of the family of Wodehouse in that county, I take to be true, but am as sure that this family is not descended from that, because the names of the owners of that estate are widely different; in King John's time, the Pipe Roll of the 10th of that King tells us, that Adam de Wodehuse, chaplain, held a bovate of land in Wodehuse in Yorkshire shire, that he was son of Robert, who was son of Hugh, none of which names occur in this family at that time, for Sir Richard de Wodehouse was cotemporary with this Adam, who was son of Henry, the son of George; neither is there any occasion for us to go out of the county of Norfolk,, nor indeed far from their present seat, to find lands and possessions from whence they might be, and indeed I believe they were called; the Wodehouses being sirnamed, as I am apt to think from a tenement and lands now in Windham, called Wodehouse, lying in Silfield,, which in 30th Elizabeth, at the death of George Morley, Esq. descended to Sir Richard Morley, his son and heir, and then contained a capital tenement, 28 acres of wood, pasture, &c.; and what confirms me in this is, that even in the 52d Henry III. A° 1267, the Escheat Roll says, that Petronilla de Wodehouse died seized of Wodehouse, and a mill in Tilney,, towards which part of the county the family then removed, namely to Rydon.
That they were gentlemen of good rank, in and before the time of King John, Peacham in his Blazonry informs us, p. 164, which appeared to him by the ancient grants and evidences of the family, which he had seen, and from which the pedigree was collected; but when the family removed from their old seat at Kimberley to this at Downham, many of them being left neglected there, became rotten, and were devoured by vermin, for which reason I cannot assert several things, which might have been proved by them, which I shall therefore omit, and content myself with the following account, which stands supported on sufficient authority.
To omit Sir Bertram de Wodehouse of whom the Wodehouses pedigree in verse, taken from an old roll in the custody of Sir Philip Wodehouse, rightly says,
I leave unskan'd their Northwest Ancestrie Unevidenc'd, tho' in the Pedigree, Hom that Sir BertramLord of Wodehouse Tower, Compounded with the Norman Conqueror.
I shall begin with
1. Sir Constantine de Wodehouse, who married Isabell, daughter and heir of Botetort, in the beginning of Henry the First's time, whose arms is thus blazoned in old English verse, as are the arms of all the matches of the family, down to Sir Thomas Wodehouse's time.
This does bear in field of A Saltyr engrail'd, a sheild that's old.
He was succeeded by
2. Sir George de Wodehouse, who flourished in the time of Henry I. whom he accompanied into Normandy, and was at the burning of Baieur, and taking of Caen, castle, of whom is this,
His King he followed to the Plain, When burnt, and is ta'en.
He married Winifride, daughter and heir of Lary,
The'Rampant Lyon bore, From ancient times, within a Field of
3. Sir Henry, his son and heir, married Beatrir, daughter of Lord Say::
Four Quarters plain, of and Belonged to from Times of Yore.
4. Sir Richard, his son and heir, is omitted in most, if not all the pedigrees, but is rightly mentioned in both the rolls; he married an Aspall,, and lived in King John's time:
Aspall, does bear, within an Field, 3 Cheyrons for, her Paternal Sheild.
5. Sir William Wodehouse, his son and heir, lived at Flitcham in Norfolk,, the monastery of which place he is said to have founded, and made a cell to Walsingham;; he was the first of the family that purchased lands in Kimberley, but no manor there, though he was lord of manors in Norfolk; and indeed by what I can see, he was the first that removed from Windham, side; he married Petronilla,, daughter and heir of Clervaur;
In Field of a Saltyr stand, The Shield that always was Command.
It is plain that he died before 1267, 52d Henry III. for in that year Petromilla de Wodehouse,, his wife, died seized of the tenement, Wodehouse,, and lands, and woods thereto belonging, lying in Windham.
This William did, a Monastery found for the Religious, in Time of the renown'd Henry the third, 'tis certain he did own, Manors in Norfolk, as by Records is shown, Poinings and Bermston's mich in Flitcham lay, Where th' Abby was, he puchased in Yet did his Program of the eldest Line, At Rydon, Congham, Grimston, long remain.
6. Francis Wodehouse, Esq. son of Sir William, married the daughter and coheir of Sir John Pecche:
Arg. a Fess between two Chev'rons Is the Paternal Shield the Pecche's had.
Of this Sir Francis I find no other memorial, he being in a short time succeeded by
7. Sir Bertram de Wodehouse, his son and heir, he
Attended that brave King, Edward the first Into the North, when he the Scots disperst, Slem twenty Thousand, Edenborough shook, Dunbar and Barwick, where they Homage took.
He married Muriel,, daughter and heir of Felton,, by whom he had Felton's in Great Massingham,, and Felton's or Hemgrave' in Fordham, in Cambridgeshire,, besides several other manors, and a vast estate:
Hamo Lord Felton, in a Roby Field, Two Lions passant Ermine, crowned Gold.
8. Sir William de Wodehouse, his son and heir, was sheriff of London in 1329. He was a man of great valour, and as such was retained by the Black Prince, whom he attended into Spain:
His Son, Sir William was, 'twas he was sent, Captain to Spain when thither went, Edmund of Langley, Beauchamp, and the Flower, Of England Knights, under great Lancaster, And Edward the Black Prince, they bravely fought, And help't Don Pedro gainst a Bastard Sprout.
He married the daughter and heir of Humfry Luttrell::
Lutt'rell she gives, sir Martlets 'twirt a Bend, of Sable set, within a Golden Ground.
He had two brothers,
9. Robert de Wodehouse, was chaplain to Edward II. and in 1318, was made Baron of the Exchequer, by patent dated Oct. 14, 12th Edward II. In the second year of Edward III. the King presented him to the archdeaconry of Richmond, to which he was ad-' mitted by his proxy, Sept. 14,1328 ; his will was proved Feb. 3, 1345, in which he ordered his body to be buried in the quire of the Austin monks at Stanford: in 1329, he was Treasurer of the Exchequer.
b. John de Wodehouse, was Steward of the Household to Richard de wentworth Bishop of London, and Lord Chancellor, at the time of his death in 1339, and in 1357, he was Chamberlain of Chester.
9. Sir Richard de Wodehouse, son of Sir William, was of Rydon in norfolk, and by virtue of his lands and tenements held of Rising-Castle, was obliged to repair, and maintain a tower of that castle, to which he also paid a sum of money yearly, for castle-guard, according to the old rhymes:
His son Sir Richard was, who'tis sid maintain'd A Castle-Gaurd,where the great Montealt reigned, At Rising-Chase, Le'Strange another held, That Wodehouse Tomer this, this Strange's yet is called, (His Uncle Robert, being high-Treasuror, of England, one who had sometime before, Bin Richmond's Dean, and Thaplain to the king, So pious and discreet his Life has bin.)
He married Alice, daughter and coheir of Sir John northwood of northwood-Barningham in Dorfolk:
Northwood both bear for Arms. in Ermine field, heroiquely, St. Georges cross ingrail'd.
He was succeeded by his son,
10. Sir Thomas de Wodehouse, who married Alice, sister and heir of John Estmond, or Emond, of Tranworth, son of Roger Emond of Granworth, Esq. who married Maud, daughter and heir of Sir Baldmin Botourt of granworth, Knt.
Estmond she bears Ermine shield, St. Andrew's Sable, and ingrail'd.
11. Sir Edward de Wodehouse, son of Sir Thomas, married a daughter and coheir of erpingham:
The Erpingham's bear, Argent, a scutcheon An orle of martlets, in a field of Green.
And agreeable to this, the old verses tell us,
Married an Erpingham, An heir, and Litcham brought to the familye, which still remains in their posteritye.
He owned lands in himberly in 1378. I have not met with any account of his sons or daughters besides,
12. Sir John Wodehouse, Knt. who was a younger son, being afterwards in favour with Henry IV. by whom he was knighted; he came and settled at himberley, having married margaret, daughter and sole heir of Sir Thomas fastolf of himberley, Knt. and removed from the fastolfs seat, which was at the west end of the town, built a new seat in the east part, with the tower called Wodehouse's, Tower, thereto belonging: of him the pedigree says,
Sir, John, he was, a younger Progenye, Of Grimston, Rydon house, the first at Kimberlye, who being watched to fastolf's heir, he had Enlarged his Elbow Room,'twas he who made The Moated-Hall, and Tower within the park, At the East-End of the tomn, of more remark, Then the old one in the West, dispark'd long since, Row, erchanged for Anglethorp: Re serbed a Prince, who after probed a king, Henry the fourth, As great by wit, as by his Royal Birth.
By deed dated 20th Jan. 2d Henry IV. upon his son's marriage with Furneaur, he entailed his house, which he had new built, called Wodehouse's Tomer, and the new park called Wodehouse's park, together with his manors of kimberley, Torston, Thurton, Litcham-Market, Feltwell, &c. on them and their heirs; in 1404, he was constable of Rising-Castle; his wife's arms are thus blazoned in verse,
Fastolff gibes Or, and Azure quarterlye, Upon a Bend of Gules, White Scallops three.
But it is an errour, and should be Troslets three, and indeed they are wrong drawn in the pedigrees, several original seals of the fastolfs in my own custody show me so, together with the arms of Sir John fastolf, which still remain carved in stone over a window of his house at Tastor by Yarmouth, where they are Troslets also. He was succeeded by
13. John Wodehouse, Esq. who, in his father's lifetime, was Gentleman of the Privy Chamber to King Henry IV.; and in 1400, married Alice, daughter and heir of Furneaur:
Furneaux that sprung from a French Familye, bare Black, a Pale of Silver Lozengee.
On the decease of Henry IV. his son, King Henry V. chose him Esquire of his own body; in 1414, he was admitted one of the Chamberlains of the Erchequer, for life. In 1415, he attended the King's person, to the battle of Agincourt in France, where he won great renown, by his valiant prowess, spiriting up the English that were inclined to stand:
Panting for breath, his murrian in his hand; Woodhouse comes in, as back the English beare, My lords (quoth he) what now inforc'd to stand, When smiling fortune off'reth us so faire, The French lie yonder like to wreakes of sand, And you by this our glory but impaire:
Or now, or never, your first fight maintaine,
Chatillyon and the Constable are slaine. Hand over head, pell-mell upon them ronne, If you will prove the masters of the day, Ferrers and Greystock have so bravely done, That I envie their glory, and dare say, From all the English, they the gole have woone, Either let's share, or they'll beare all away.
This spoke, his ax about his head he flings,
And hasts away, as though his heeles had wings. The incitation of this youthful knight, Besides amends for this retrayte to make, Doth re-enforce their courage with their might: A second charge, with speed to undertake; Never before were they so mad to fight, When valiant Fanhope, thus the lords bespake, &c.
After the battle inclined to the English, many of the French nobles fled, and got into an old fort, where by reason of the straitness of passage, it was difficult to overcome them;
An aged rampire, with huge ruines heapt, Which serv'd for shot 'gainst those that should assayle. Whose narrow entrance, they with cross-bows kept, Whose sharpened quarres came in show'rs like hayle: Quoth the brave King, first let the field be swept, And with the rest, we well enough shall deale;
Which though some heard, yet they shut up their eare,
It relish'd not with many souldiers there. Most men seemed willing, yet not any one, Would put hiinselfe, this great exployt upon.
Which Woodhouse hearing, meerily thus spake, (One that right well knew, both his worth and wit) A dangerous thing it is to undertake, A fort, where souldiers be defending it, Perhaps they sleepe, and if they should awake, With stones, or with their shafts, they may us hitt,
And in our conquest, whilst so well we fare,
It were meere folly; but I see none dare. Which Gam o'erhearing (being neere at hand) Not dare, quoth be, and angerly doth frowne, I tell the Woodhouse, some in presence stand, Dare propp the sunne, if it were falling downe, Dare graspe the bolt, of thunder in his hand, And through a cannon leape into a towne;
I tell thee, a resolved man may doe,
Things, that thy thoughts never yet mounted to. I know that resolution may do much, Woodhouse replyes, but who could act my thought, With his proud head, the pole might easely tuch, And Gam quoth he, though bravely thou hast fought, Yet not the fame thou hast attained too, such, But that behind, as great is to be bought,
And yonder 'tis, then Gam, come up with me,
Were soone the King our courages shall see. Agreed, quoth Gam, and up their troopes they call, Hand over head, and on the French they ran, And to the fight couragiously they fall, When on both sides, the slaughter soone began, Fortune a while, indifferent is to all, These what they may, and those do what they can,
Woodhouse and Gam, upon each other vye,
By armes their manhood, desperatly to try. To clime the fort, the light arm'd English strive, And some by trees there growing to ascend, The French with flints, let at the English drive, Themselves with shields, the Englishmen defend, And faine the fort downe with their hands would rive, Thus either side their utmost power extend,
Till valiant Gam sore wounded, drawne aside,
By his own souldiers, shortly after dy'de. Then take they up, the bodies of the slaine, Which for their targets, our's before them boare, And with a fresh assault come on againe, Scarse in the field yet, such a fight was there, Crosse-bowes, and long-bowes, as it are amaine, Until the French their massacre, that fear, Of the fierce English, a cessation crave,
Offiring to yeeld, so they their lives would save.
For this gallant action, the King granted him an annuity of 10 marks a year, out of his manor of Thettord, and made him Streward of all the Dominion of the Dutchy of Lancaster in Norfolk, and Cambridgeshire, with a salary of 10l, per annum, and as a perpetua augmentation of honour, assigned him the crest of a hand, stretche d from a cloud, holding a club, and this motto, Frappe Forte, strike strong, or rather beat down the fort; and the savage or wild man, holding a club, which was the ancient crest of the family, was now omitted, and two of them placed as supporters to the arms, which had a further augmentation of honour added in the shield, viz. on the chevron, gutte de sang, as they are born to this day. The ancient coat, before this addition, being only, sab. a chevron or between three cinquefoils erm.; and the year following, as a further reward for his eminent valour, he gave him, by the name of his beloved esquire, the priory of Welles in Norfolk, which was dissloved, being an alien belonging to Taen in Normandy, with all the revenues,manors, services, advowsons, &c. (except the rectories of Welles, and Beytun) that belonged to it, any where in England to be held by him and his heirs in capite, by the rent of a rose, payable on Midsummer-day, in lieu of all services whatever. It appears, that immediately after this honourable addition to his arms, he got his seal made accordingly, for in 1415, being feoffee for the manors of helling and Salthouse, he sealed with his new seal, gutté de sang being on the chevron, &c. In 1418, he, the Bishop of Norwich, and Sir Thomas Erpingham, were the three commissioners, whom the Lords of the Council sent to persuade the gentlemen of the county to go into France, to serve the King with arms and equipage, agreeable to their quality, who returned answer, that they had no success, because the stoutest men were already in the army, and those that remained excused themselves by their poverty, or bodily infirmities. He served no less than four times in parliament for the county of Borfolk, viz. in 1409, 11th Henry IV. when John Wincer, Esq. was his partner; in 2d Henry V. when John Inglesthorp was his partner; in 1414, Sir Edmund Gid hall was his partner, with whom he served again, in 1416: he continued in favour with the princes he served during his whole life; Peacham says, he was one of Henry IV. executors, and certain I am that he was also executor to Henry V. of whom he obtained license to found a chantry priest, to sing for the souls of that prince and his queen, and of his beloved esquire, John Wodehouse, and his wife, their ancestors and posterity, either in the cathedral church at Nor Wich or in the charnel chapel thereto belonging. I have seen a pair of beads which were given by Queen Catherine, wife of Henry V. to the wife of this John; they are now in the hands of Armine Wodehouse, Esq. and are very large, all of coral, except each tenth bead, which are wrought gold, there being seventy in all, there is also a cross of gold hanging to them; and in those days, were used at their devotion. I also saw the hilt of a large old sword, adorned with silver, and a long knife or poniard, of the same workmanship, which are still preserved in the family, and are, without doubt, those used by this John in the Agincourt battle, the form and make of them agreeing exactly to the time. He died at Rydon, in 1430; his will is dated there Jan. 15, by which he ordered his body to be buried in the lower chapel of the charnel, by the cathedral at Norwich, and ordered that after mass said over his body in the cathedral, they should carry his bier into the charnel, and there perform such services for him as he enjoined, for which he gave the Principal, or Master, Custos of the upper charnel chapel, 6s. 8d. and 2 small silver dishes gilt, and 2 silver candlesticks; and to each of the priests of the charnel, 3s. 4d. to the chaplain of the lower charnel chapel, in which he was buried, 6s. 8d.; and afterwards this chaplain became his chantry priest, and sung for him till the Dissolution.
Of him, the pedigree in verse gives us the following account,
Sir John, had John Esquice, but Esquire, Of the Body to that King, the World, admire, Henry the fifth, he served him when but young, With Pointer and with Bardolph, his Companion; Him he attended in his Wars in France, Where he his Worth and Glory did advance, 'Twas he brave Gam in Honour did out bye, Whom he had first provoked by Frony, The Ford he took at famous Agincourt, And won that martial motto Frappe Fort, And Crest, a Hand and Club stretched from a Cloud, Cho' antiently the Crest to them allow'd Had bin a Savage, or wild Wodehouse, with A ragged Club all set upon a Wreath, Supporters now he hath, an honour given King's Favorites, two Woodmen clad in Green, In his Black Field, three Cinquefoils Ermine stood, A Golden Chev'ron now charged with Drops of Blood, This John was he, who join'd with Exeter, And Gloster Duke was ioynte Erecutor, To that brave King, and certainly 'twas he, For whom the King erects a Chantrye At Norwich, near the great Cathedral where, He and his Queen, with his beloved Esquire, John Wodehouse, should be prayed for, while alive, After their Deaths long Time did this survive.
14. Henry de Wodehouse, Esq. was 34 years old at his father's death, as oppears from the writ issued to the escheator of Norfolk, requiring him to take fealty and relief for the manor of Welles, &c. and to give him possession. King Henry V. was his godfather, by whom he was recommended to Henry VI.; at his father's death he lived at Bocking Ash in Suffolk, and in 1449, was lord of Well manor in Geyton, and this year had a charter of freewarren in all his lands, woods, and demeans in Norfolk, and dying the next year without issue, his estate went to his brother John, of whom we read thus,
His eldest Son was Henry, christne'd so, By that brabe King, who commended him to His Son, nert King, who granted him a free Charter, to keep his GAme and Veneere, Throughout his Royalties; he left no Son, And therefore him succeeds his Brother John.
15. John Wodehouse, Esq. his brother, succeeded him, who, when the commissioners were appointed to summons all persons of best note, and tender them an oath for the keeping the peace, and observing the King's laws for themselves and retainers, was returned as one of the principal gentlemen of Norfolk; and because he would not take the honour of knighthood, was fined accordingly; he married Constance, eldest daughter and coheir of Thomas Beddynge, Esq. of Ichilingham in Suffolk, first, relict of Henry Pooley, Esq. and after that, of John aleyne, one of the Barons of the Exchequer, whose widow she was when he married her.
This Geddynge gabe Gules a Cyebron placed, D'Ermine 'tmirt 3 Gold Eagle;s Heads erased.
I find him sometimes called John Wodehouse of London, Esq. where he also had a house; he died at kimberley in 1465, as the writ of Diem clausit Extremum shows us; of him is only this,
—ye in king Harry's time, for not receiving Knighthood paid his fine.
He and his wife lie buried in the altar rails in kimberleg chancel' close by the north wall; on the stone is his effigies in armour, with this in a label from his mouth,
Credo quod Redemtor meus vivit.
She stands in a praying posture, with this from her mouth, Et in Carne mea videbo Deum Salvatorem meum.
The arms are lost, but this inscription on a brass plate remains, Hic iacet Johannes Wodehous, et Constancia Hror eius, quorum animabus propicietur Deus Amen.
16. Sir Edwabd Wodehouse, his son and heir, was knighted at Grafton field, according to the following account,
His Son Sir Edward Dubb'd Grafton-Field, By Tewkesbury, where the Enemy did Yield; Edward The fourth, had in his second Year, Sent him a privy Mandate to prepare, In attend him in his Wars, which he obeyth, And brought with him two hundred men array'd, And all Equipt, at his own charge compleat, Then brabely fought, and made the foe cetreat. This little Vavasour, was once so stout, That he by force of Arms did dare to rout The men of Well, Cenants of Westminster, His Plea was Harry's Gift to his Ancester, And some say since, but they put in a Barr, His Title voided was, by Lancaster.
The pedigree says, that in 1461, by order of Edward IV. under his privy seal, he levied in Norfolk, of his followers, tenants, and gentlemen of quality, no less than 200, and armed them at his own charge, and attended the King in bis journey into Scotland, being accompanied in his own retinue, with 2 dukes, 7 earls, 31 barons, and 59 knights; I find him alive in 1473, but cannot say exactly when he died, though he and his second wife are buried in kimberley church, and had this over them on a brass plate, which is lately lost,
Here lyeth Syr Edward Wodehouse Khyght, and Same Jane hys Wyffe, all good Christien men that rede this same, of your Charity, to pray for the Souls of them and all Christien Souls.
He married two wives; first, the daughter of sir John Cirrell, by whom he had no issue, secondly Jane, daughter and heir of Edmund Swathyng of Letton, Esq. by whom he had issue,
1. This Tirrell gives within Argent Field, Two Thev'rons Azure, a Bordure Gules ingrail'd.
2. Swathyng did bear a noble ancient Shield, A Silver Bend, within an Azure field.
17. Sir Thomas Wodehouse, Knt. his son and heir, was created knight of the Bath at the marriage of Prince Arthur, eldest son to King Henry VII. with the Infanta of Spain, and was sent ambassadour into france, where he married a lady of Piccardy for his first wife, but by her had no issue, and for his second wife he had Thomazine. daughter of Sir Roger Townesend of Rayntham, Knt.
Townsend he bears three Silver Scalloys'rwirt, A Thev'ron Ermine, in field Azure firt.
He was deeply engaged for John de la Pole Earl of Suff. in great sums, which the Duke left unpaid, and being sued in 1486, upon th t account, he had the King's pardon, with restitution to his lands and goods; he died in 1487
Sir Thomas was Sir Edward's Son, "twas he Was at the Marriage Solemnitye, Of Arthur Prince, created RathanKnight, An honour which great nobles ne're did slight. Souldier and Courtier both, he libed sohigh, When he was sent to France in Embasy, That hedid Mortgage many of his Ladys, And so the Litcham Manor, was in Townsend's wands Long forfeited: return'd he him defies, And challenges: The Man of Law replies, Peace Sir, my Penknife shall your Sword rebate, J'le hold my hold, butif you please let's treate, And compromise, take you your Lands againe, And with them for your Wife my Thomasine, So then agreed, this Judge and knight was he, Who was the Rayse of Raynham's Familye.
18. Sir Roger Wodehouse, Knt. who, by reason of his small stature, was called Little Sir Roger, was knighted by Edward VI. in 1548, and is often called knight of the carpet; he, at the beginning of ket's rebellion, taking his household servants with him, and three carts, two laden with beer, and a third with provision, followed the rebels, designing to have endeavoured to persuade them to desist from their wicked enterprise, imagining that they being his near neighbours, and knowing his former good usage to them, would have had respect to his kindness, and have minded his persuasions; but on the contrary, they seized him, stripped him of his apparel, took his horses and all he had from him, cruelly tugged and cast him into a ditch of one mottivr'd of nether-Eartham, by welsdon-Bridge, and had there slain him, had not his servant courageously defended him from their insults; however he could not free him from their hands, but they carried him with them, and imprisoned him in Surrey-house,, on Mousehold-will by Norwich. of him is this, His Son Sir Roger was that Little Hight, who what he wants in Bulk, makes up in Springht. Which caused him to resist the Rebel Rout, To Kett and his Com'rades, who wer a bout To maim him, but's man Edgerlythe Stout, Wim, rescued, whilst couragiously he fought, This Serbant's baliant Art and loyaltye, We recompenced with forty Pounds in Fee, Which at his Day they enjoy, and still inherit, And to the mouse stillkeeptheir honest Spirit. This Little Knight Hem at the Roblest Bame In Falconry, he was of so much Fame, That the good Norfolk Duke, him Master call, And with his presence often grac'd his wall.
He had two wives; Elizabeth, daughter and coheir of Sir Rob. Ratcliff, Knt. and Elizabeth, daughter of John Drury, whose arms are thus blazoned,
1. This Ratcliff bears as doth the Sussex Earl, A Diamond Bend ingrail'd in Field of Pearl.
2. This Drury bears an Argent Field, and more, On a chief Vert rwo mullets pietced Or.
He was buried in kimberley church, Feb. 10, 1560, as the parish register informs me.
19. Thomas Wodehouse, Esq. eldest son of Sir Roger, notwithstanding what is said in the Baronetage, was never knighted: in 1st Philip and Mary he was high-sheriff of Porfolk and Suffath, which office he served again 5th Elizabeth; in the 4th and 5th Philip and Mary and 1st Elizabeth he was Burgh in Parliament for the Henry, of Scpts in Muselborough, he was in favour with Henry VIII. whom he faithfully served to his death, afterwards being retained in the service of Edward VI. he was one of those valiant gentlemen that went against the Scots, being Standard-bearer in the battle of Muselborough, in which he was slain, on Saturday, 10th Sept. 1547, his father Sir Roger being then alive,
This Thomas ne're was Knight, but yet was one That deserbed to be, and had been, if not slam, In noble Serbice, gainst the Scots, where he Was Stamdard-Bearer. wjp, tp gratofoe. The king his midow gave, the special Brace, Of Lady-Hood, in Little and in Place.
She was Margaret, daughter of Sir John Shelton of Shelton, Knt.
The Shelton's Coat both fair and ancient was, In Azure Field isset, a Golden Cross.
r.. His second brother, Sir William, was Vice Admiral of the English fleet, being knighted for his valiant acts done in the aforesaid battle of Muselburgh;; and after his return became a man of much repute in his country; in 1st and 2d Philip and Mary, he was elected knight, of the shire, with Dic. Lestrange, and 4th and 5th Philip and Mary, with Sir Peury Bedingfield; he served also for the county A° 1st Elizabeth, with Dic. Lestrange aforesaid, and again in the 5th of that Queen, with Sir Edmard Warner, Knt.
20. Sir Roger Woohouse, Knt. son of Sir Thomas, served in Parliament for the burgh of Alburgh in Suffolk, 13th Elizabeth, 1570, and was knighted by that Queen at Sir Edw. Clere's house at Clickling in Porfolk, August, 1578, The Queen, in her return from Por, with, in her progress to Cambridge, favoured him with her presence, and lodged at his house at Rimberley, Friday Aug. 22, 1578; he served for Thetford in parliament, 28th Elizabeth, and married mary, daughter of John Torbet, of Sprowston Esq. sister to Sir Miles Corbet, Knt. who survived him, and married Beurge Kemp of Cottenham in Middleser, Esq. who, in his will dated 1606, calls her Mary Lady Wodehouse:
Corbet doth give Rebus rich and old, A Corbeau Proper in a field of Gold.
He died in 1588, and was buried at Kimberley the 4th of April.
–Sir Roger was the younger, he Was knighted by Queen Elsabeth, for she To him allied by Shelton was, she came To Kimberley, and lodged there with her Train In Norfolk's Progress; we was nobly just, And wise in his Affairs: witness the trust, We laboured under for his departed Friend, And Kinsman Knyvey, whom he did defend, Against the Power of Court, he dared to Spend, Wis own, to bindicate his Orphan Friend: Brave Patriot he was, weak Mens defence Aganist Oppression: Prop of Innocence.
n. Henry Wodehouse, his second brother, was born 3d Jan. 1546, Sir John Robsart and his lady answered for him; he was (as all his ancestors for many generations, always were) Justice of the Peace, and twice member for the county of Norfolk, viz. in the 14th and 31st Elizabeth.
Elizabeth, daughter of Sir Thomas, married Thomas Jones of Iyn, Esq. and afterwards Sir Denner Strutt, who lived at kimberley in 1650, for in that year he gave in his name to Thomas Bradford, then curate, according to an act for confining malignants within five miles of their dwelling. By the Register of kimberley, I find that Blanch, daughter of Sir Denner Strutt, Knt. and Bart, and Eliz. his lady, was baptized 13th June, 1644, Anne their daughter in 1650, Thomas their son in l651. She is buried in Wodehouse chancel: against the north wall is a monument, erected with her figure kneeling at a fald-stool, with the arms of Strutt and Wodehouse, and this,
Here lyeth the Body of Dame Elizabeth Strutt, Daughter of Sir Thomas Wodehouse of Kimberley in the County of Norfolk Knt. and Bart, the Wife of Sir Deuner Strutt of LittleWarley in the County of Essex Knt. and Bart, by whom he had 5 Children, & left living 1 Sonne and 2 Daughters, Thomas, Blanch, & Anne. She departed this Life 6 Nov. 1651, in the Yeare of her Age - - - -
21. Sir Philip Wodehouse, Knt. served Queen Elizaheth both by sea and land, in Spain and Portugal, was at the conquest of Cales in Spain, and for his valour shown there, was knighted by Rab. Earl of Esser, and Charles Earl of Hottingham, the Queen's generals: on the accession of James I. to the crown of England, he went with Thomas, his eldest son, to meet that King in his way from Scotland to London, and at Sir George Fermour's house in Horthamptonshire, his Majesty conferred the honour of knighthood on his son; and on the first erection of baronets, Sir Philip accepted of that title, Ao. l611. In 28th Elizabeth, be was elected burgess in parliament for Castle Rising, was at the camp at kilbury, was Deputy Lientenant for the county of Norfolk, and dying at Wimberley, was there buried, Oct. 30th, 1623 ; his wife was Grizell, daughter of Wil. Yelverton of Rougham in Norfolk, Esq. widow of Thomas Le Strange of Hunstanton, Esq. to whom he was married at kimberley, Dec. 22d, 1582, she died Aug. 4, 1635, and is buried by him:
This Yelverton dues bear, on Silver spread, Three Rampant Lioncels and chief of Red.
Sir Philip nert succeeds, his only Son, Brought up in splendor and high Fashion, Great Surveys Earl his God sire was, when he So little was, and young, nert Infancie, That lockt to his Sabble he was forced to be, To ride from Kenninghall to Kimberlye: Right brave he proved, he went to Cales in Spain, Conquer'd, was Knighted, then came Home again, Where he, and Hev'ningham, two metled Labs, Their Province ruled, and to the Rogues were Robs, He after was made Baronet, yet had, Long time demurr'd, on what his Son had said The Prince he waited on, Prince Henry did, Mislike the Thing, the Cause whereof he hid, An ancient honour 'twas thought, and but for Life, Not to descend to heir, and not so rife, As now it is, no common Title then, Or patent Grant, but won in hte Field by Men. It not a Little Baron did imply, But was ta'en for Banneret confusedly; As Colonel he went to Tilburye, When false Alarms made England's iollitye; The great Office of the County he Sustained long Lientenant Depute, So many Men he kept of Quality, As their Estates collected, came to nigh As much as his, which in those Dans was found To be by Ycare above two thousand Pound.
22. Sir Thomas Wodehouse, Knt. and Bart, was knighted by King James as aforesaid, and was Gentleman to Prince Henry, was twice member in parliament for Thetford in King Charles the First's time, viz. in 1639, and 1640; he married Blanch, daughter of John Cary Baron of Hunsoon, sister Henry Lord Hunsoon Viscount Rochford, relict of Christopher Peyton, Esq.
This Cary Hunsdon's Lord, now Dover's Earl, Gibes Pearl, on a Diamond Bend, 3 Roses Pearl.
He died in 1658, and is buried in kimberley chancel, with these verses on his stone, which lies towards the north side in the altar rails; his arms and wife's are impaled, supported by two wild men holding clubs, with the crest of the hand and club, and fruppe forrt:
God's Mercy and Christ's Merits make me trust, To rise from sleeping in my sinfull Dust, For Aye to prayse Jehovah, with the Just. Hæc dictavit ipse, sub semi-horam moribundus, Thomas Woodhowse Miles et Barro. Mar: 18.1658.
Of whom the following verses were added to the old ones, which ended with Sir Philip,
Thomas Sir Philip's son, a gallant youth, Bred gallantly, at eighteen years of growth, He knighted was, he waited on a prince, The fairest prince of hope that breathed since Henry the Great, such eminence he had Of parts and personage, his prince him made Of his bed-chamber, and of his mere grace, Designed to fit him for some publick place Of honour and employment, to which end, To France, to Spain, to Italy, he him send, That there he might himself accommodate, With languages, and misteries of state: Mean while, alas! that Royal Hero dies, Which drown'd in tears, ours, and all Europe's eyes, This his dear prince, and master's dismal fate, Blasts him, and renders all disconsolate, Sad he returns; to double his annoy, He finds the want of his brave goodly boy, His first-born child, a child of such a grace, As shew he sprung from Harry Hunsdon's race, These losses he laments in such a strain, Of elegy, as speaks pure Ovid's vein. He bids adieu ! to court, its soul being gone, And merely now a painted skeleton, Into the country now retires, where he Enjoys both calm and sweet serenitie, In hounds and horses he great pleasure took, His home delights, were musick and his book, His wisdom was so eminent, as he Was called to every place of dignitie, All which he hath so prudently perform'd, That by his country, he's politician term'd, At length is called that fatal parliament, To king, and kingdom, thither is he sent A member, where he stoutly acts for right Of subjects and the laws, against the might Of court Leviathan's, who would pull down The pale, between the people and the crown, Thus far went he, but other bigot fools Ran into extremes, and pull'd up all the dools Of government, they brought in anarchy, In kirke and law, which brought in tyranny; This'tis for faction, interest and zeal, To be reformers of a common weal; But to return: he now returns confined, And fetter'd by arthritick pains, resigned Up all his publick cares, for now he is The ancientest knight, this part of England has, And oldest justice, whence he comes to be, The custos rotulorum, orderlie. Stern and severe he is, yet curteous, In's morals, modest, yet magnanimous, In justice strict, yet full of equitye, He scorns to do, or take an injury, Long may be live in health and dignity, And read himself in his posterity.
23. Sir Philip Wodehouse, Bart. was one of the burgesses for Thetford, in that parliament that restored Charles II. Ao. 1660; he was baptized at Kimberley, July 24, 1608, and was a man of good learning, ready wit, and exceeding skilful in musick; he died at Kimberley and was buried there May 6, 1681, of whom there is the following just character on his grave-stone, which hath the arms, crest, and motto of Wodehouse, impaling Cotton, viz. arg. an eagle displayed or, armed and beaked gul. and lies in the altar rails on the south side:
Hic jacet Philippus Wodehouse, Bartus Qui in Deum, Principem, et Patriam, Eximium Pietatis Exemplar emicuit, Clementia fuit in suos, omnesque quibuscum vixerat admiranda, Theologiæ simul et Philosophiæ ita operam dedit, ut utramque Vita et Moribus expresserit, Musas et Musicam studiose colens, Vitam sibi et suis amœniorem reddidit, Quumque Annos fere tres, supra Septuaginta exegerat, tranquillam obijt Mortem quinto Nonas Maij, Anno Salutis 1681.
His lady lies by him, with this on her stone, in the midst of the altar rails:
Here lyeth the Body of Dame Lucy Wodehouse, the Relict of Sir Philip Wodehouse of Kimberley Bart. Daughter to Sir Thomas Cotton of Conington in Huntingtonshire, she was of a genuine yet strict Modesty, tender, not fond Love to her Children, great Mildness to her Servants, Candour and Charity Universal, she departed this Life 26 of June 1684.
N. B. Her Mother was Daughter of Lord William Howard of Naworth.
24. Sir Thomas Wodehouse, was knighted by King Charles II. 2d Nov. 1666, and died of the small pox at Kimberley, 1671, and lieth buried there in the chancel, with this inscription, and the arms of Wodehouse, with the label of three, to distinguish him to be the eldest son, and his father living, impaling Airmine or Armyn, viz. erm. a saltier ingrailed gul. on a chief of the second, a lion passant or.
Thomas Wodehouse Eques Auratus, Phillippi Wodehouse Baronetti (id Nominissecundi) Primogenitus, Litterarum, Humanitatis, Virtutum Exemplar, cum illustrem Familiam (E qua per directam supra viginti Equitnm Auratorum, et Baronettorum Seriem transmissus) magis illustrasset, et se meliori seculo dignum ostendîsset, tricesimo tertio Peregrination is suæ Anno (quo vivere plerique vix incipiunt) nondum peracto, orbos Parentes, Viduam Uxorem castissimam, Annam (Filiam et Cohæredem Gulielmi Armyn in Agro Lincolniensi Baronetti) Orphanos Liberos lugentes omnes relinquens, Patiiam cœlestem petijt, Vicesmo nono die Aprilis, Anno Salvatoris Christi MDCLXXI.
He married Anne, daughter and coheir of Sir William Airmine of Osgodby in Lincolnshire, Bart, who survived him, and remarried Thomas Lord Crem of Stene, by whom she had four daughters; Jemima married to Henry de Grey Duke of Kent; Armyn, to ThoCartwright of Anna in Northamptonshire, Esq.; katherine, to Sir John Harpur of Aalhe in Derbyshire, Bart.; and Elizabeth, to Charles Butler Earl of Arran and Lord Butler of Weston, brother of James Duke of Ormond. After Lord Crew's death, she married a third time to Arthur Herbert Earl of Corrington, who bare, per pale azure and gules, three lions rampant arg. armed and langued or. Lord Crew bare, az. a lion rampant arg.
- Edmund Wodehouse, Esq. second son of Sir Philip, was Cofonel of the Militia in 1696, and lived at Lerham in Norfolk, the present residence of Sir John Wodehouse; he had two wives; first, Mercia, daughter of Sir Philip Parker, Knt. widow of Will Guybon, Esq. son of Sir Tho. Guybon; she died in 1673, and is buried in, kimberley chancel, with this,
Mercia Wodehouse, Phillippi Parker in Agro Suffolciemi Militis Filia, Edmundi Wodehouse Armigeri, (Filij secundi Philippi, Wodehouse, in Agro Norfolciensi Baronetti) Uxor, Cui reliquit filium Philippum, Filiasque Luciam et Merciam, Fæmina equidem tarn Oris quam Pectoris sereni candidique, rara nempe Morum Suavitate ac Modestia ornata, Passionum facile Victrix, obijt xxix° die Aprilis A. D. Mdclxxiii.
- Wodehouse with a crescent impales Parker, arg. a lion passant gul. between two bars sab. with three bezants, two on the first bar, and one on the second; in chief three bucks heads caboshed of the third.
His second wife was Anne, daughter of John Anguish of Oreat Melton, Esq. who was buried at Kimberley in 1685; the pedigree, by mistake, has it 1658; she bare gul. a cinquefoil or.
Here lyeth Anne Wife of Edmund Wodehouse of East-Lexham Esq. the only Child of John Anguish of Great-Mekmi Esq. an obedient Daughter, tenderly loving Wife and Mother, and a discreet Mistress, died 28 July .1685.
He died Sept. 5, 1727, aged 88, and lies buried between them.
† John Wodehouse, Esq. third son of Sir Philip, married Anne, daughter of Sir Denner Strutt, Bart, widow of Will Samwell, both which are buried at Watton in Norfolk, and the inscription on their monument there may be seen at p. 317. See also p. 315.
| Blanch, eldest daughter, married Sir Jacob Jstley of meltonconstable in Norfolk, Knt. and Bart, at kimberley, 6 Feb. 1661, Herbert Astley, LL.D. rector of Poulsham, performing the ceremony; and in 1653, being then prebend of Norwich May 27, he baptized their eldest son, Jacob, at kimberley aforesaid.
§ Margaret Wodehouse, sister to Blanch, married in 1669, April 29, to Tho. Sabage of Elmly Castle in Wocestershire, Esq. whose eldest son, Philip, was born at kimberley, March 21, 1669. He bare arg. six lioncels, 3, 2, 1, sab.; their daughter Margaret wag baptized in 1670, and another daughter, named Mary, in 1672.
25. The present Sir John Wodehouse, Bart, only son and heir of Sir Thomas, was born at kimberley, March 23, 1669, and was baptized there April 14, 1670; in 1695, he was elected burgess in parliament for the burgh of Thetford, of which he is now Recorder: he served also for that burgh in 1701, and 1705; and in the ninth of Queen Anne, was elected knight of the shire with Sir Jacob Astley for Norfolk; he married first, Eliz Benson, sister of John Lord Bingley, who is buried in the vault in Kimberley chancel, with this,
Hic jacet Elizabeth a Uxor Johannis Wodehouse Barti quæ Spiritum suum in Manus Domini commendavit 5to. die January MDCC.
His second lady was Mary Fermor, daughter of William Lord Lempster, by Catherine Pawlet, half sister to Earl Pawlet, and sister to the present Earl of Pomfret; she is buried at kimberley, and left issue,
26. William Wodehouse, Esq. eldest son, married Frances, daughter of Lord Bathurst, and was elected one of the members of this present parliament, for the county of Norfolk, but died of the small-pox at London, without issue, and is buried in a vault belonging to Lord Bathurst family, in St. James's church, Westminster Ao 1733; and since, his widow, who is now living, remarried to James whisthed of Jrcland, Esq.
27. Armine Wodehouse, Esq. second son, and now heir of Sir John Wodehouse, Bart, upon his brother's death, was chosen in his place, to serve in parliament for the County, and now is one of the worthy representatives thereof: he married Letici a, eldest daughter and coheir of the Honourable Sir Edmund Bacon of Garboldesham, premur Baronet of all England, the other representative in parliament for the county.
Sophia Wodehouse, Sir John's only daughter, married Sir Charles Mordaunt Bart, the present member for Warmickshire, and hath left issue, John Charles, and Mary, And this is all I know at present of the history of the foregoing Hundreds, in which I am sensible there may be some errours in the modern account of things, which are owing to the materials sent me; but yet I declare, there are none but what I shall be willing at any time to acknowledge, and not only so, but obliged to any that will give me better information, that I may correct them at the end of each volume, as I have done in this, which, notwithstanding the endeavours of those that wish no success to the work, and that have attempted, both by unjust reports, and unjuster actions, to hinder my progress in it, I have, by the help of my generous subscribers, now finished, and hope and design by the same means to be able to complete the rest, which, when done, I shall insert a list of all such as have stood to their subscriptions, and another of those, who, though they subscribed, had not honour enough to stand to it: begging leave at this time, to return my utmost thanks to my present subscribers, acknowledging that it is owing to them only that I have been enabled to proceed thus far.
Fersfield, Dec. 25, 1739.