History of Norfolk/Volume 1/Shropham
The Hundred of Shropham
This hundred is bounded on the east by Depwade and Diss; on the north by Wayland and Forehoe; on the west by Grymshoe; and on the south by Giltcross, from which it is parted by the rivulet that runs from Quidenham Meer into the Little Ouse at Thetford, by the Atlas called Thet, without any reason, for I do not find it so named in any evidences whatever. This is a large hundred, (or half hundred, as it is sometimes called,) the fee of which, from the Confessor's time to the latter end of King Henry VI. constantly attended the Castle manor of Bokenham, being sometimes whole, and sometimes divided, as that was, but then it was wholly in William De-la-pole Marquis and Earl of Suffolk, who levied a fine of it between himself and his trustees. It was in John De-la-pole Earl of Lincoln, who died in 1487; after in Edmund De-la-pole Earl of Suffolk, who was beheaded for treason in 1513, and so it became forfeited to the Crown; immediately after, it was granted to Charles Brandon Duke of Suffolk, and his heirs, who, about 1545, exchanged it for other lands with the Crown, in which it continued some time. In 1573, the Queen let it to Edw. Fludd, Gent, for 21 years, at 10l. a year, who surrendered his letters patent to be cancelled in 1584, and the Queen, for 15l. fine, let it to Tho. Lovell, Gent, for 21 years. In 1622, it was granted by letters patent to Sir George Marshall, Knt. Robert Causfield, Esq. and their heirs, in fee, to be held by the fee-farm rent of 10l. a year, in 1628, Mr. Robert Tichbourne and Mr. Andrew Palmer held it in trust, with others, for Robert Hethe, serjeant at law, who, jointly with his trustees, in 1634, sold it to Rob. Wilton, Esq. and his heirs, in whose family it continued till Nicholas Wilton of Wilby, Esq. sold it to Henry Kedington, Esq. of Hockham, who sold it to Ralph Hare of Harpham, Esq. and Hugh, son of Tho. Hare, Esq. of Hargham, the heir of that family, is now  lord, who holds it by the aforesaid yearly fee-farm rent. The ancient rent that it paid before the forfeiture was only half a mark. The leets of the whole hundred belong to it with all superiour liberties, except those of Eccles, HockhamMagna, and Old-Bokenham. All the towns are in Rockland deanery, (which is made up of this and Giltcross hundred,) except Thetford, which, though it be in this hundred, I look upon as single, it being a deanery of itself belonging to the archdeaconry of Norwich, as this doth to the archdeaconry of Norfolk.
This hundred paid for every tenth 100l. 14s. 4d. out of which the deductions came to 7l. 1s. so that the King received clear 98l. 13s. 4d.
Wilby joins to Banham on the north, and had at the Conqueror's survey two manors; the head manor, which hath been since called by divers names, according to those of its different owners, and now
Wilby Hall manor
Belonged to Fader in the Confessor's time, and to William de Schoies, or Escois, (sc. the Scot, or Will. of Scotland, as he is sometimes called,) in the Conqueror's; it had a church then, and 10 acres of glebe, the whole town being a mile long, and as much broad, and paid 15d. out of every 20s. taxed upon the hundred. The advowson belonged to this manor, and in the reign of William Rufus, William de Escois, or Scoies, by the name of William de Hestois, gave the advowson of Wilby, along with that of Banham, and a carucate of land there, together with two parts of the tithes of his demeans in both places, to the abbey of St. Mary at York. In 1226, Stephen de Ebroic was lord; he is sometimes called Ebrois, D' Ebrois, Deveres, and D'Evereux, and this year he had grant for a market and fair in Banham; he was succeeded by
William D'Ebrois, his son; at his death Maud his widow held it in dower, and in 1256,
Will D'Everes was lord. He, and Maud his mother, sold it to Sir Richard de Boylund, and Maud his wife, in 1278, who had a charter of free-warren for all his lands here and in Brisingham. This William D'Everes pretended a right to the moiety of the advowson, against Simon then Abbot of York, but was cast in the suit, and forced to release all his pretensions. In 1295, Richard de Boyland and Ellen his wife had it, and John their son and heir was 24 years old, who, in 1314, settled it on himself and Emme his wife, and their heirs; but notwithstanding this, in 1315 Richard his brother was lord here, who, in 1321, settled it on himself and Alice his wife, John Le-Claver and Adam Le-Long being his trustees. In 1345, Sir John Boyland, Knt. of Boyland Hall in Brisingham, held it at three quarters of a fee, half of John Waleys, the other half of John Berdewell, who held it of the heirs of Hugh de Bokenham, they of the Earl of Arundell, and he of the King, all which Maud de Boyland aforesaid lately held, and paid 30s. relief. This part seems to be the freeman and his services, which was Roger Bygod's at the Conquest, afterwards the Earl of Arundell's, then Hugh Bokenham's, lord of West-Herling, after that the Berdewells, by whom it was sold to the Boylands.
In 1363, Sir Tho. de Felton, Knt. had it settled on him, by Sir Will. Ingaldesthorp, Knt. and Eleanor his wife, it being conveyed to him during the life of Eleanor; great part of this manor was sold by Sir John de Boyland, for it had now only two messuages, 108 acres of land, 6 of meadow, and 16s. rent. In 1372, Sir Tho. Felton, Knight of the Garter, was lord, by whom it was settled, as Riburgh was, of which he was lord.
In 1380, Sir Tho. de Felton, Knt. and Joan his wife, held it; Mary, his eldest daughter, was then married to Sir Edmund Hengrave, Knt. and Sibilla de Morlai was his second daughter. 1386, Nicholas Coterell, chaplain, released all his right in it to Joan, widow of Sir Tho. de Felton, who, in 1388, settled it on herself for life, after on Robert Bishop of London, and other trustees.
In 1414, John, son of Sir John Curson, Knt. released all his right in the manor, late the Lady Felton's, to John Clifton, Tho. Lopham, and other feoffees, together with Ingaldesthorp, Belagh, and Dersingham manors in Norfolk, and Barrow in Suffolk.
In 1470, Sir John Curson of Beckhalle in Belagh, Knt. gave this manor to Thomas, his son and heir, reserving several annuities; he was lord of Ingaldesthorp, &c. and died this year. In 1511, it appears by the will of Thomas Curson, Esq. son and heir of Sir John, that he gave Wilby and Darsingham manors to John his son, it being then held of the Earl of Arundell, as of Castle-Acre manor. In 1546, John Curson, Esq. died seized, and William was his son and heir, who had now livery of this, Ingaldesthorp, Darsingham, Byntre, Beckhall in Belagh, Harple, and many other manors.
In 1565, William Curson, Esq. and Thomasine his wife, sold the manor to Sir Tho. Lovell, Knt. and his heirs.
In 1570, it was in Tho. Lovell, Esq. it being then called Wilby Hall, otherwise Curson's; in this family it continued till 1627, and then Charles Lovell of Herling, Esq. sold it to
Edward Hobart of Langley, Esq. in trust: it had then a foldcourse, but no rents. In 1631, Edward Hobart sold to Charles Lovell of Hockering, Esq. and Edward Barkely of the same, Gent. the manors of Wilby, which late belonged to Sir Tho. Lovell, Knt. deceased, father of the said Charles, Sir Francis Lovell, Knt. deceased, and William Lovell, Esq. brothers of the said Charles, and Peter Pretiman, Gent. they being conveyed to the said Edward, to the use of Sir Thomas and the rest.
In 1565, Charles Lovell of East-Herling, Esq. sold it to Robert Wilton or Wilby, Esq. and his heirs, and so it became joined to
Which was owned by Ailid in the Confessor's time, and by Ralf Bainard in the Conqueror's, under whom it was held by Solidarius, and had a carucate of land in demean, which shews that it was an exact half of the town, the other manor being of the same extent and value. In 1104, Juga Bainard (his widow I suppose) had it; and in 1106, Jeffry Bainard, her son and heir, who was a great benefactor to St. Mary's abbey at York; he was succeeded by Will. Bainard, who taking part with Elias Earl of Main, Phillip de Braose, William Malet, and other conspirators, against King Henry I. lost his barony, the chief seat of which was called Bainard's castle, situate below St. Paul's, near the Thames: upon this forfeiture it was given by the King to Robert, a younger son to Richard Fitz-Gilbert, progenitor to the ancient Earls of Clare, as this Robert was to the noble family of the Fitz-Walters, of whom it was always held of Bainard castle at half a fee; Falk Baynard held it of Robert Fitz-Walter; and in 1228, Robert de Cokefield held it of Walter Fitz-Robert, as did Richard de Cokefeud, his son, whose son and heir, John, was a minor in the wardship of Simon de Kokefeud in 1249. About 1272,
Robert de Beckhall first had that half fee, which was formerly Robert Cockfield's, and another quarter of a fee joined to it, held of the Lady Maud de Boyland, from whose manor he had purchased it, In 1315, he held the half fee of Fulk Bainard, he of Robert FitzWalter, and he of the King; and in 1386, it was held of Walter FitzWalter, Knt. and Phillipa his wife, as of their manor of Hemenhale.
In 1345, the Nomina Villarum reckons John de Brandon, and John de Hereford, as lords here, but it was only on account of their manors of Hargham, &c. extending hither.
In 1360, and 1399, Peter de Bekhall had it, and held the quarter of a fee of the Lady Felton.
In 1409, Nov. 4, Sir Richard Carbonell, Knt. by will, ordered his manors of Wilby, Stodhagh, Witton, and Penesthorp, to be sold to pay his debts; in 1459, Alice. widow of Sir Andrew Ogard, Knt. of Bokenham castle, after of Sir Hugh Cokesey, Knt. died seized of a part of it, which always went with that castle, till Sir Edmund Knevet sold it.
In 1495, Tho. Mownteney and Tho. Curson, Esqrs. were lords, it being held of the said Curson, as of his manor of Wilby Hall, by 4s. rent.
In 1526, John Mounteney of Foxele, Gent. conveyed to John Green of Wilby, Gent. all his manors, lands, &c. in Wilby, reserving 8 marks a year to Alice Mounteney, his mother, for life.
In 1532, Richard Bainard, Gent. Edm. Knevet, Knt. and John White, Esq. sold Bekhall manor to
John Green, John Grey, Esq. John Crofts of West-Stow, Esq. Edm. Bacon of Troston, Esq. and John Brampton, Gent. his trustees; and so all the parts were joined again, by Green's purchase.
In 1564, Tho. Green of Wilby, Gent. son of John Green, died; he married Cecilia, daughter of Tho. Guybon of Lyn, and Rose his wife, leaving his manor of Beckhall, in Wilby, Hargham, Eccles, Banham, Bokenham, Crostwick, and Ruston, to Francis, his son and heir, then three years old; it then contained 12 messuages, 220 acres of land, 220 acres of pasture, 4s. 8d. rent, &c. all which were held of Christopher Heydon, Knt. in right of Temperance, his wife, relict of Tho. Greye, as of his manor of Bainard's Hall in Bunwell; he died seized also of Hargham, &c.
In 1571, Mathew Bacon, Gent. was lord, in right of Cecily his wife, relict of Tho. Green, as guardian to Francis Green, her son, who died without issue in 1580, leaving it divisible among his five sisters.
Rose, married first to Butterworth, then to Paul Gooch of Hargham.
Prudence, to John Launce of Halisworth.
Thomasine, to Tho. Edgar of Glemham in Suffolk.
The fourth, to John Prettiman, Knt. and
The fifth, to Will. Stokes, Gent. of whom
John Wilton of Topcroft, Gent. bought the several parts, and completed his title in 1622.
John Wilton of Topcroft, Gent. purchased the advowson, and joined it to the manor; he left one daughter, Cecily, married to Sir John Brewse of Wenham in Suffolk, and Richard Wilton of Topcroft, Gent. his son and heir, who married Anne, daughter of Robert Buxton of Channons in Tibenham, Esq.; he conveyed Beckhall to Robert his son, reserving an annuity of 50l. a year to be paid in his house at Tunnegate Green in Topcroft, where he had a good estate: he died in 1637: Robert Wilton of Wilby, Esq. his son and heir, was born in 1599; he purchased Wilby Hall manor, and the hundred of Shropham, and by so doing, joined the leet to the manor, and made the estate complete: he had three wives; by Hannah, daughter of John Jay, Gent. he had only one daughter, Hannah, who married to Robert Buxton, Esq. Aug. 24, 1654, by whom he had Robert Buxton, born April 9,1659, and Elizabeth, born Dec. 16, 1661; by Susanna, his second wife, youngest daughter of Sir Anthony Drury of Besthorp, he had issue; and by Bridget, daughter of Sir John Mead, of Lofts in Essex, he had two daughters, and one son only, viz. Nicholas Wilton of Wilby, Esq. who married a Clinch; he sold the manors, hundred, and advowson, to Ralf Hare of Hargham, Esq. whose descendant, Hugh Hare, now  a minor, son of Thomas Hare of Hargham, Esq. deceased, is lord and patron.
The advowson of the rectory, after the Dissolution, came to the Crown; and, in 1558, was held by Edward Lord North, and John Williams, and their heirs, in free soccage by fealty only, as of East Greenwich manor in Kent, and went afterwards as the institutions shew you, till it was sold to John Wilton.
In 1504, William Hammond, senior, of Wilby, infeoffed a close called Nells in Wilby, in Robert Walden, rector there, Will. Mounteney, Gent. and others, to the use of the repairs of the church for ever; he had it of John Mounteney of Wilby, chaplain, and Robert Hamond, deceased; it abuts west on the street, and was given in 1480, by John Nell of Wilby.
In 1637, Richard Wilton of Topcroft in Norfolk, gave a rood of ground, and built an alms-house thereon, over the door of which his arms still remain.
The manor of Old Bokenham extended hither; in 1366, Hugh Bernak had a messuage, and 39 acres of land, &c. and 20s. rent in New Bokenham, Wilby, Attleburgh, and Elingham, held by the twentieth part of a fee, which at his death was to revert to Alice Bernak, and John, son of Will. Bernak.
In 1367, Will. Le Latimer had lands here, in which he was allowed free-warren.
Eccles manor extended hither, for in King Henry the Eighth's time, Robert Wyngfield held half a fee here of that King, and paid 18d. to the wardship of Norwich castle, it being part of the Bishop's manor of Eccles, which was part of his barony before the exchange.
This rectory is valued thus in the
and being sworn of the value of 48l. 14s. 2d. it is discharged both of first fruits and tenths. It hath a good rectory-house, and several acres of glebe; it is in Rockland deanery, and Norfolk archdeaconry.
It paid 3l. 6s. 8d. every tenth, and is now assessed at 455l. to the land-tax. In 1603, there were 88 communicants, and now there are about 160 inhabitants [1737.]
Here were two gilds kept in the gildhall, one dedicated to All-Saints, the other to St. Peter; to the brethren of each of these gilds. Robert Hammond gave 6s. 8d. and a new bell to the church.
William D'Eschoies, (or Le-Scot,) gave this and Banham advowsons, and a part of the tithes of his demeans, to St. Mary's abbey near the walls at York, which was confirmed by Everard Bishop of Norwich, and Theobald Archbishop of Canterbury; part of this portion of tithes, with that at Banham, was settled by the abbey on their cell at Rumburgh in Suffolk, and in 1528, was granted with it to Cardinal Wolsey, towards building his colleges in Ipswich and Oxford, by patent dated Dec. 30, 20th Henry VIII.
- 1310, 16 kal. Aug. John Le-Straunge, priest, instituted to Wilby, in the Bishop's palace at Eccles. York Abbot.
- 1330, 7 kal. May, John de Wilby, priest. Alan Abbot of York. Nic. de Wilby, parson of Naketon, was his executor.
- 1362, John de Hemeling, rector. (From a deed.) Sir Ralf de Clifton; he resigned in
- 1370, 12 March, to Robert de Twiwell, sub-deacon, in exchange for Dighton rectory. York diocese.
- 1404, 11 May, John Hawkeswell, shaveling.
- 1424, 13 Sept. Mich. Wolmer, on Hawkeswell's resignation.
- 1426, 3 Aug. Tho. Corky, priest, Wolmer being deprived.
- 1452, 21 Oct. Rich. Howson, on Corkby's death.
- 1460, Robert Marchall, chaplain, on Howson's resignation.
- 1460, 14 March, George Marchal, chaplain, on Robert's resignation.
- 1463, 24 Oct. Tho. Stanton, by lapse; John Basham, chaplain, farmed it of him at 13 marks a year, and serving the cure, and three gowns a year, fitting the said Thomas's degree.
- 1476,30 May, Henry Cossa, or Cossey, A.M. on Stanton's death. Thomas Abbot of York. He had Banham, and was master of Rushworth college.
- 1483, Richard Grey, on Cossey's death.
- 1502, 6 Oct. Robert Walden, on Grey's resignation. All these rectors were presented by the Abbots.
- 1530, 11 June, Miles Spencer, doctor of laws, on Walden's death. Wil. Cleydon, doctor of laws, by grant from the Abbot. He was after archdeacon of Sudbury, rector of Heveningham and Redenhall in Norfolk, vicar of Soham in Cambridgeshire, dean of ChappelField college, principal official, and vicar-general.
- 1532, 21 March, Sir John Milgate; the Abbot. He was the last prior of Bokenham.
- 1540, 7 Jan. Guy Kelsay, chaplain. John Folbury, &c. by grant of the turn from the late abbot.
- 1553, 16 May, Kelsay resigned, Tho. Peyrson, priest, succeeded. King Edward VI.
- 1555, 16 Sept. George Vicars, on Peyrson's resignation. Leonard Palmer, Gent.
- 1563, 8 Sept. Ottinwell Wetwode, priest, on Viker's death; lapse; buried at Eccles, where he was rector.
- 1586, 13 April, Peter Tytley, A.M. Edward Grigg, notary publick, by grant of the turn.
- 1586,6 Oct. Tho. Irland on Titley's resignation. Peter Gooche of Hargham, by grant of the turn from Ralf Mulley, who had it of the grant of John Chitham, Gent. true patron.
- 1587, 24 Febr. Tho. Bludde, on Irland's resignation. Tho. Gooch, doctor of physick, by grant of John Chetham, Gent. true patron. He had Hargham.
- 1587, 16 July, John Hatfield, on Bludd's resignation. James Wright, Gent. by grant of John Chetham, gent. senior, true patron.
- 1627, 10 Sept. Robert Boothe, A.M. on Hatfield's death. John Bagley of Old Bokenham, yeoman, true patron, (of whom the Wilton's purchased it.)
- 1644, John Stukely, on Boothe's death.
- 1657, Richard Waddelow, rector.
- 1679, 4 March, Jonathan Norton, A.M. Nicholas Wilton, Esq.
- 1686, 19 Aug. Tho. Baron, on Norton's death. Ditto.
- 1686, 11 March, John Last, A.M. on Baron's death. Nicholas Wilton. Last was also curate of Old-Bokenham.
- 1720, 26 Oct. Nicholas Neech, on Last's death. Anne Hare, widow; he held it with Shropham, and resigned it for Snitterton, and The Rev. Mr. John Hare, LL.B. the present  rector succeeded; who was presented by Thomas Hare of Hargham, Esq. his eldest brother.
The Church is dedicated to the honour of all the Saints; the chancel and south porch are tiled; there is a low square tower, and five bells.
On stones in the chancel.
Kedington impales Buxton, with two falchions for Kedington's crest.
Henry Kedington, Esq. died March 21 Anno Dom: 1713, aged 40 years.
Kedington, arg. on a bend sab. six falchions in saltire proper, impales Buxton.
Margaret, Relict of Henry Kedington of Hockham in Norff: Esq; eldest daughter of Robert Buxton of Channons-Hall in Tybenham, Esq; died Oct: 21, 1711, aged 56 Years.
Here lyeth the Body of that faithful Patriot, and true Lover of his Country, Rob. Wilton of Wylby, in the County of Norff. Esquire, Son of Richard Wilton of Topcroft in the same County, Gent. by Anne the Daughter of Robert Buxton of Tybenham, Esq; his first Wife was Hannah, Daughter of Robert Jay, Gent. by whom he had Issue Hannah, living at the time of his Death: His second Wife was Susan, one of the Daughters of Sir Anthony Drury of Besthorp, Knt. by whom he had 3 daughters, Bridgett, Ann, Elizabeth, living at the time of his death: His last Wife was Bridgett, one of the Daughters of Sir John Mead, Knt. of Lofts in the County of Essex, by whom he left 2 Daughters, Joanna and Dorothy, and only one so much beloved son Nicholas, he exchanged this Mortal, for an immortal Life, the 19 of Nov. 1657, in the 58 Yeare of his Age.
Wilton's arms with three escutcheons joined to it, viz. Jay,gul. on a bend ingrailed sab. three cinquefoils arg. a crescent or for difference. Drury. Meade, sab. a chevron or, between three pelicans az. vulning themselves proper, a crescent.
S. M. Dominæ Brigitæ, Roberti Wilton, Armigeri, conjugis suavissimæ, Johannis Mede, Equitis aurati Filiæ quicquid uspiam Amoris, Sanctimoniæ, Prudentiæ, Veritatis, Honoris, repertum erat, in Terris experta, neque beata satis, adhue inde cœlitum in album adscribi voluit, 15 Cal. Apr. An° Dni. 1652, Ætatis suæ 32o.
Arms against the north wall are, Wilton impaling Mede, Drury, and Jay.
Bell impaling Knevett, which was put up for Muriell, widow of Sir Robert Bell of Beaupre-Hall in Norff: Knt. Daughter of Sir Tho. Knyvet the Elder, of Ashwell-Thorp in Norff: Knt. who (they say) was buried here.
Per fess embattled, three suns proper, a coat of pretence, girone of eight, on a chief three annulets. Crest, a hawk.
Here lyeth the Body of Elizabeth Peirson, the second wife of Tho. Peirson of Middleton, in the County of Norfolk, Esq; She dyed at this Place the 87th of Oct. 1727. The Few Years She lived in Norfolk, She gained a great Esteem by her good Nature, and Humanity to all People, an Account of her Family, which was very Honourable, as she was descended, from several Bishops, as well as other Clergy of uneommon Credit, is to be seen in the Church of Midleton.
The following inscriptions in the church, Hic jacet Corpus Johannis Hatfield, Clerici, qui obijt Svo die Sept. Anno Domini, 1627.
Wilton impales Drury.
D. N. Susannæ Roberti Wilton, Armigeri, Conjugis secundæ, Anthonij Drury Equitis aurati Filiæ, Tranquilli Cineres, cujus Pars purior, Turbine fatigata terrestri, ad Cœli Quietem advolavit, Calendis Augusti, A° Dni. 1643. Ætat. suæ 34.
A broken inscription for Hannah, Daughter of Henry Jay of London, Clothier, Wife of Robert Wilton, who died the 16 of April, 1635, aged 31.
Another inscription for Jay himself, who died the last of Jan. 1635.
Anne, Sister to John Hatfield, Clerk, died the 29th of Jan. 1648. ===OLD-BUKENHAM===
Received its name from the number of bucks with which the woods here formerly abounded, Bucham, Bukham, and Bukenham, being plainly the village of bucks, and not of beech trees, as Mr. Camden imagined, there being none of them in this county, as Sir Henry Spelman, righly observes; and the additional title of Old was afterwards added, to distinguish it from New-Bukenham, which was taken out of it.
Ralf Guader Earl of Norfolk owned the whole town (except the carucate which belonged to Bury abbey) in the Confessor's time, when there were 3 carucates in demean, and woods sufficient to maintain 182 swine, 21 socmen of his own, and 43 that were under the protection of other men, all which the Earl joined to his manor. In the Conqueror's time it was worth 6l. 13s. 4d. and two sextaries of honey; and when all was joined, it was risen to 32l. 13s. 4d. and 20s. as a present or gift; it was two miles long and as much broad, and paid 19d. geld or tax out of every 20s. raised on the hundred. This Earl fled the realm, and so forfeited all his estate to the Conqueror, who owned it at the survey, when it was one of his manors that he entrusted Earl Goderic with the management of. At this time there were only two parishes, viz. All-Saints and St. Andrew's, and a castle which stood just by the abbey. The land on which New-Bukenham was after built was that part of St. Andrew's parish which belonged to the Bishop of Thetford's manor of Eccles, and was Called Bishop's-Haugh, the tithes of which now are, and always were, paid to the rector of Eccles, the land belonging to that manor originally, and the Bishop granting them to the domestick chaplain of his palace at Eccles, to whom he generally gave that rectory.
Albini. The Conqueror gave the castle and manor, and all that belonged to Earl Ralf, to William de Albany, Albini, Albigni, de Albenio, who came into England with him, together with Wymondham, Snetesham, and Kenningkall, to be held by the service of being butler to the Kings of England on the day of their coronation, for which reason he was always styled Pincerna Regis, or the King's Butler; he founded Wymondham abbey, where he was buried, before the high altar, by Maud his wife, daughter of Roger Bygot Earl of Norfolk, with whom he had 10 knights fees in Norfolk, of Earl Roger's gift; he was son of Roger de Albini, by Amy de Molbray his wife, and brother to that famous Nigell de Albini, whose posterity assumed the name of Mowbray, or Molbray, from that of his mother.
William, his eldest son, succeeded him; he was called William with the strong hand, because among other valiant exploits, he slew a fierce lion; the occasion was thus, as Mr. Dugdale relates it: " It happened that the Queen of France, being then a widow, and a very beautiful woman, became much in love with a knight of that country, who was a comely person, and in the flower of his youth; and because she thought that no man excelled him in valour, she caused a tournament to be proclaimed throughout her dominions, promising to reward those who should exercise themselves therein, according to their respective merits; and concluding, that if the person whom she so well affected, should act his part better than others, in those military exercises, she might marry him without any dishonour to herself.
Hereupon divers gallant men, from foreign parts, hasting to Paris, among others came this our William de Albini, bravely accoutred, and in the tournament excelled all others, overcoming many, and wounding one mortally with his launce; which being observed by the Queen, she became exceedingly enamoured of him, and forthwith invited him to a costly banquet, and afterwards bestowing certain jewels upon him, offered him marriage. But having plighted his troth to the Queen of England, then a widow, refused her: whereat she grew so discontented, that she consulted with her maids, how she might take away his life; and in pursuance of that design, enticed him into a garden, where there was a secret cave, and in it a fierce lion, into which she descended by divers steps, under colour of shewing him the beast. And when she told him of his fierceness, he answered, that it was a womanish and not manly quality, to be afraid thereof, but having him there, by the advantage of a folding door, thrust him in to the lion. Being therefore in this danger, he rolled his mantle about his arm, and putting his hand into the mouth of the beast, pulled out his tongue by the root; which done he followed the Queen to her palace, and gave it to one of her maids, to present to her.
Returning therefore into England, with the fame of this glorious exploit, he was forthwith advanced to the Earldom of Arundell, and for his arms the lion given him; nor was it long after, that the Queen of England accepted him for her husband, whose name was Adeliza, or Alice, widow to King Henry I. and daughter to Godfrey, Duke of Lorrain, which Adeliza had the castle of Arundell, and county, in dowry from that King." And in the beginning of King Henry the Second's time, he not only obtained the castle and honour of Arundell to himself and his heirs, but also a confirmation of the Earldom of Sussex, granted to him by the third penny of the pleas of that county, which in ancient times was the usual way of investing such great men in the possession of any earldom, after those ceremonies of girding with the sword, and putting on the robes, were performed, which have ever, till of late, been thought essential to their creation. In the time of King Stephen he founded the abbey here, and built the present castle, as you may see in the accounts of them; and dying in 1176, was buried by his father at Wymondham.
William de Albini, his eldest son, Earl of Arundell, became lord at his father's death, and paid 100l. for his relief, for his estate in Norfolk; he married Maud, daughter and heiress of James de Sancto Hillario, and dying at Waverley in 1176, was buried at Wymondham.
William de Albini, or Albany, Earl of Arundell and Sussex, his son, succeeded; he married Mabell, daughter of Hugh Kiviliock Earl of Chester, by whom he had two sons and four daughters, William and Hugh, both Earls of Sussex; he died in 1199, and was buried at Wymondham.
William de Albany, Earl of Arundell and Sussex, son of William aforesaid, and Mabell his wife, died in his return from Damieta in Palestine, anno 1221, and was brought over into England by Thomas, a monk of St. Albans, and buried by his ancestors at Wymondham abbey, leaving his brother,
Hugh de Albany Earl of Arundel and Sussex, his heir, whom Hugh de Burgh, Chief Justice of England, had the custody of, which he assigned to William Earl Warren, who in his right served King Henry III. at his nuptials, with the royal cup, the said Hugh being then a youth, and not knighted; he married Isabel, daughter of the said Earl Warren, who, after his death, founded the nunnery of Marham, at her own charge, out of her dowry, and died in 1242, without issue, leaving his great inheritance to be divided among his four sisters, his heiresses, and was buried with his ancestors in the abbey church of St. Mary at Wymondham, Isabel his widow having the manors of Wimondham and Kenninghall assigned for her maintenance, till her dowry was set out, which was done soon after, and the manors of Snetesham, Wimondham, Plesset, and Kenninghall, with the hundred of Giltcross in Norfolk, besides many others in other connties, were allotted to her.
Robert de Tateshale, and Mabell his wife, who was the eldest, had the castle and manors of Bukenham, Wimondham, &c. for their capital seat.
John, son of John Fitz-Alan, and Isabel his wife, who was fourth sister, had Arundel castle, manor, &c. for their capital seat.
Roger de Somery, who married Nicholea, the third sister had Barwe in Leicestershire, &c. for their chief seat.
Roger ee Montealt, who married Cecily, the second sister, had the castle of Rising, with the manors of Kenninghall, Snetesham, &c. for their principal seat; together with the hundred of Smithdon, and the fourth part of the tollbooth at Lynn, which was now divided into four parts, so that a fourth part attended each of the inheritances. And thus the castle and manor came to
Sir Robert de Tateshale, who made it his principal seat. He was descended from Eudo, who with Pinco, his sworn brother in War, (though no other way related,) came into England with Duke William, and merited so well from him in that service, that in recompense thereof he gave them the lordship of Tateshale, with Thorp hamlet, and Kirkeby town in Lincolnshire, to be equally shared between them; Eudo to hold his part of the King, and Pinco his of St. Cuthbert of Durham. Eudo settled at Tateshale, and assumed its name for his sirname. His arms were, chequy or and gul. a chief erm.; he was succeeded by Hugh his son, who founded Kirstead abbey in Lincolnhire. In 1139, Robert, his son, inherited, who left Philip, whose son, Sir Robert de Tateshale, was so great a benefactor to Bukenham priory, that the canons of that house altered their common seal, and put in his arms along with their founder's. Among other things, he gave the church of St. Martin in New-Bukenham, and half an acre of land in Gunneby, called Munkwell, with the advowson of the church of Gunneby, for a yearly pittance; he left
Sir Robert de Tateshale, who married Mabell aforesaid,his son and heir, who granted to the canons here liberty of faldage for 200 sheep in Atleburgh, with free pasturage for them there, and 53 acres arable land in Bukenham, besides other gifts. In Lovell's Book in the Exchequer, he is found to hold this castle and manor by the service of the botelry, and the manors of Babingle, Tibenham, Topcroft, and Denton, in capite, as parcel of his barony. After Mabell's death he married a daughter of John De-Grey, and died in 1248, leaving
Robert, his son and heir, then 26 years old, who married Joan, daughter of Ralf Fitz-Ranulf, lord of Midlcham in Yorkshire. He stood firm to Henry III. in his barons wars, and was besieged in his castle of Bukenham by Sir Henry Hastyngs. He died in 1272, seized of Bukenham manor and castle of Tibenham, Topcroft, Denton, &c. with all the knights fees held of the lordship or honour, together with the advowsons of Reydon, Stanhow, Congham St. Mary, and two parts of Atleburgh, of Wimondham abbey, the fourth part of Lynn tolbooth, &c. leaving
Sir Robert de Tateshale, bis son and heir, then 24 years old, who, in 1285, had view of frankpledge, free-warren, and gallows, and a Saturday market, assize of bread and ale, and a fair yearly on St. Martin's Day, and another market every Thursday in Attleburgh, belonging to his manor of Bukenham castle, and Plassing Hall in Besthorp. In an old roll about this time, it appears that there were many manors held by knight's service of this castle, and among the free tenants by scutage were these, Sir William de Montecaniso, Giles de Wachesham, Knt. Sir Harvy de Stanhaw, Sir William Cumyn, Sir Richard de Quatefeld, the lady Lora de Bayliol, the heirs of Simon de Keninghall, Ralf de Morley, Richard de Snittertone, Sir Robert de Sheltone, John de Berdewelle.
Mathew Cachevache, Robert de Bukenham, &c. were tenants in soccage.
William and John de Hargham, Richard, son of Will. de Snitterton, Tho. de Ascheby, held lands in Hargham by soccage, and so did Richard de Lirling, and Sir Will. de Lirling's heirs; John de Methellond in Lirling, Roger de Caston in Ellingham, Will. and Richard de Mortimer, Peter de Thelvetham, William, son of Will. de Fossato, in Attleburgh, &c. In 1283, he was lord of the castle and manor of Bukenham, the manor of Lathes in Old-Bukenham, the burgage, and the court belonging to the weekly market in New Bukenham, the manors of Wimondham, Topcroft, Denton, Tibenham, Freebridge hundred, &c. and died in 1297, leaving his estate to
Sir Robert, his son and heir, then 24 years old, married to Eve, daughter of Robert de Tibetot, who, after his decease, married to Sir John de Cove, and held Shropham hundred, Topcroft and Denton manors, in dower, till 1349. He died in 1302, leaving
Robert de Tateshale,his son and heir, then 15 years old, who died a minor, without issue, in 1310, leaving his inheritance divisible among his three aunts, or their heirs:
Emma, or Amy, married Sir Osbert de Caily, Knt.
Joan, Sir Robert de Dryby, Knt.
Isabel, Sir John de Orreby, Knt. Among whom the estate was divided, as follows.
Thomas de Caily, son of Sir Osbert, had livery of his mother's inheritance in 1306, when he had Bukenham castle, and the advow son of the priory there, the fourth part of the manor, and the half parts of other manors thereto belonging, two parts of Wimondham, the fourth part of all the lands in Atleburgh, and the third part of those in Tibenham, the third part of two parts of the fourth part of the profits of Lynn tolbootb called the Green Garth, and 11l. 2s. yearly rent in Norfolk; all of which, together with Cranwich, EastBradenham, Hildeburgworth or Hilburgh, the advowson of Hilburgh church, and of St. Margaret's free chapel there, he died seized in 3316, leaving Adam, son of Sir Roger de Clifton, by Margaret, his only sister, his cousin and heir, then nine years old.
Joan de Driby had the castle of Tatshale, &c. and the 8th part of Bukenham manor, the third part of Wimondham, 150 acres of land, several parcels of meadow and pasture, 7s. ob. rent, and the rent of two sparrow or sparhawks, in Old and New-Bukenham, Atleburgh, and Elingham, and a third part of the hundred of Shropham, which was then divided, and each had an equal share attending their inheritances, all which this Joan, then widow of Robert de Driby, settled on
Gilbert de Bernak, parson of Tateshale, and John de Gislingham, parson of Wolfreton, her trustees, who were to bold it for her use during her life, remainder to William Bernak and Alice his wife, who died about 1340, seized of the third parts of Wimondham and Bukenham, manors, and the third part of Plassing Hall or Plesset's, in Atleburgh and Besthorp.
In 1340, the aforesaid Hugh Bernak, clerk, died, when he held Old-Bukenham part, for life, by feoffment from Alice Bernak, and John, son of William Bernak, remainder to John and his heirs, who died in 1345, seized of the whole manors of Hetherset, Denton, and Plassing Hall, and the third part of Wymondham, and Bukenham, and this year Joan his widow was allowed her dower out of all the said manors; but soon after it was settled wholly on particular manors. John Bernak, his eldest son, died a minor, leaving his inheritance to William, his brother and heir, who died in 1359, leaving Maud, his sister, then wife of Sir Ralf de Cromwell, lord of Tateshale, his sole heir.
John de Orreby, and Isabel his wife, had among others, the manor of Tibenham in Norfolk, (except the third part of the park, which Tho. de Caily held, in part of his portion,) and the eighth part of Bukenham manor, in recompense of the eighth part of the parks of Bukenham, which was assigned to the said Thomas, and the eighth part of the lands in Attleburgh, viz. 19 messuages, &c. in Attleburgh, Bukenham, Besthorp, Elyngham, aud Tybenham. Phillip de Orreby was their son and heir, whose son, John de Orreby, died in 1352, leaving Margaret his widow, who died in 1368, and Joan de Orreby, his sole daughter and heiress, who married first to Sir Henry Percy, who died in 1367, and after to Sir Constantine Clifton; she had one daughter, Mary Piercy, her sole heiress, who was married to Sir John Roos of Hamlak, Knt. without issue, but died before her mother.
In 1360, Sir Ralf Cromwell, Knt. in right of Maud Bernak, his wife, became lord of the manors of Hethersete, Plassinghall in Besthorp, Denton, &c. all which (except Hetherset were held of the King in capite, as parcel of the barony of Taleshall; he had his parts of Bukenham, Wymundham, and Shropham hundred, for which he did homage to the King, and had livery thereof, to him and his heirs by Maud. In 1394, a writ was directed to John Knevet, escheator of Norfolk, to divide the lands, and deliver seizin to Constantine de Clifton, and Maud, wife of Sir Ralf Cromwell, Knt. cousins and heirs of Mary, widow of John Lord Roos of Hamlak, daughter and heir of Joan, daughter and heir of John de Orreby. In 1395, he had the fourth part of Lathes manor, two parts of Gryshaugh in Wymondham, and the parts of the manors of Old and New-Bukenham, Tybenham, &c. as they were divided by their ancestors. This Ralf died in 1398, Maud his widow died in 1418, leaving Ralf (after Lord Cromwell) her grandson and heir, he being son of Ralf, who died in his father's lifetime; he was after Lord Treasurer, but having no issue by Margaret, daughter of John, and sister and coheir of William Lord Deincourt, his wife, at his death in 1455, his three aunts became his heirs, viz. Elizabeth, married to Sir John Clifton; Hawise, to Thomas Lord Bardolph; and Maud; to John Fitz-Williams; and they inherited his whole estate, viz. Plasset, or Plassinghall manor, which is a member of Bukenham manor, Bukenham, the fourth part of Lyn tolbooth, the advowsons of Attleburgh, Congham, St. Agnes, and St Mary, Stanhow, Denton, and Tasboro, the manors of Herdesete, Wymundham, Gonvyle's in Wymundham, Besthorp, Eccles, Tibenham, Denton, Babingle, &c. He was buried in his collegiate church of Tateshale.
And now we must return to the Cliftons, who all along held the castle, and the best part of the manor, from the year 1316, when Adam, son of Sir Roger de Clifton, by Margaret, only sister to Sir Tho. de Caily, became his heir; he married Eleanor, daughter of Sir Robert Mortimer of Attleburgh, Knt. who died in 1366, and had two sons; Constantine, his eldest, died before him, but left issue by Katherine, daughter of Wm De-la-pole, his wife; Sir John Clifton, Knt. Sir Adam de Clifton, Knt. his second son, who had Denvcre, and Frebridge hundred, &c. to him and his heirs male, died anno 1411, leaving Sir Robert Clifton, Knt. his son and heir, who was sheriff of Norfolk in 1412,and died in 1442, and was buried in Bukenham priory, as was Alice, his widow, in 1455; Thomas Clifton, Esq. their son and heir, died in 1452; Joan, his widow, was alive in 1462; they left Sir Robert Clifton, Knt. their son and heir, who died without issue male in 1490, and his estate went to Sir William Knevet, Knt. son of Sir John, and grandson of Sir John Knevet, who married Elizabeth, sister, and at length heiress, to Sir John Clifton, the last male of the elder branch, to which we must now return.
Sir John Clifton, Knt. of Bukenham castle in 1373, had livery of all his lands, as heir to Sir Adam de Clifton, his grandfather; he was summoned to parliament from 1375 to 1388, when he died, on St. Lawrence's Day, at Rhodes, seized of Bukenham castle and manors, Hilburghworth, West Bradenham, and Cranwyse, with the advowsons of Hilburgh and Cranwyse, and the manor of Babyngle, &c. leaving Constantine, his son and heir, then 16 years old. He married Elizabeth, one of the heirs of Ralf Lord Cromwell, by which match that part of Bukenham, &c. which she had for her share, united again; she outlived him, and married Sir Edward Bensted.
Constantine, their son and heir, had livery of his inheritance in 1393, and was summoned to parliament in that and the next year, but never after; he married Katherine, daughter of Robert Lord Scales, by Margaret, daughter of Robert Howard of East-Winch, who outlived him, and held in dower, till 1432, fin which year she died,) the manor of Babyngle, two parts of Gryshaugh in Wymoudham, Bukenham, Lathes manor, the profits of the court at Attleburgh, the court of the market at New-Bukenham, and the part of Lyn tolbooth, all which at her death joined to the rest of the estate, in their son and heir,
Sir John Clifton of Bukenham castle Knt. who died in 1447, seized of Bukenham castle, and the greater parts of the manors thereto belonging, of the hundred of Shropham, the manor of Briston, Grishagh, Topcroft, Denton, Babingle, Hilboro, Cranwich, West Bradenham, a third part of Becon's manor, &c. by his will, proved in 1447, Sept. 8, he ordered to be buried in the church of St. Mary at Wymondham priory, and gave to the high altar of the church of St Martin at New-Bukenham, 40s. and 10 marks to repair the church; to the gild of the Blessed Virgin in that church, 10 marks; to Guy, his gentleman, 100s.; to John Fader, 2s. a day for his life, out of Bukenham castle manor, to keep the park; to Joan his wife, his manor of Burston in fee simple, the castle of Bukenham, Lathes manor, Shropham hundred, and Tibenham manor, to her for life; and orders his executors to perform the will of Constantine Clifton, as to settling 10l. a year rent on Bukenham priory; he also gave 10l. annual rent to the Prior of Wymondham, out of his own lands, to find a monk for ever to sing for his and Joan his wife's soul. He gave Grishagh manor in Wymondham, the manors of Babingle and Wolferton in Norfolk, and Walderton manor in Sussex, and other lands and tenements of his own purchase, to be sold, &c. the manors of Hilboro, Cranewich, and West Bradenham, to be held by his executors twelve years, and then to go to his right heirs; Robert Clifton, his cousin, to have the manor of Topcroft cum Denton to him and his heirs, on condition he made a free estate to his executors in his manors of Hankers in Harleston, and Shelley, one of which was to be sold by his executors, and the other to go to his heirs, according to the change agreed on between them; John Briggs to have an annuity out of Linford manor, and the refusal of buying it; Joan his wife, John Heydon, John Brigge, &c. executors; his good lord the Marquis of Suffolk, Sir Andrew Ogard, Knt. and his cousin Thomas Tuddenham, supervisors; and by a codicil he declares, that he had sold to his beloved son, Sir Andrew Ogard, Knt. for 3000 marks, the castle, manors, and hundred of Shropham, two parts of Grishagh, &c. on condition to find a chaplain in the conventual church of St. James at Old-Bukenham, according to the will of Constantine Clifton, Esq. his father, for which he was to amortise lands to that value; he also gave 20s. towards the building of Wymondham new steeple. Joan his wife was daughter and coheir of Sir Edmund de Thorp, Knt. the younger, of Ashwell-Thorp, and widow of Sir Rob. Echingham; they had only one daughter, viz.
Margaret Clifton, who married Sir Andrew Ogard of Bukenham castle, Knt.; she died issueless, before her father; Sir Andrew died in 1454, and the whole estate reverted to
Elizabeth, aunt to the said Margaret, who married Sir John Knevet, Knt.; but yet, in 14.39, Alice, first widow of Sir Andrew Ogard, Knt. then of Sir Hugh Cokessey of Cokessey in Worcestershirc, held the castle and manors, and those of Lathes, New-Bukenham, Honyngham, Tybenham, and Wylby, two parts of Grisagh, Bromley, and Bokham in Surrey, to her death in 1460.
John Fitz-Williams, lord of Elmly and Spotsburgh in Yorkshire, married Maud, one of the heiresses of Ralf Lord Cromwell, and in her right had a third part of the third part of the manor; they left Sir John Fitz-Williams their son and heir, who married Eleanor, daughter of Sir Henry Green of Drayton in Northamptonshire, whose son, Sir John Fitz-Williams of Elmley, married Margaret, daughter of Tho. Clavel the elder of Aldwark, whose son, Will. Fitz-Williams of Elmley, married Elizabeth, daughter of Tho. Chaworth, whose son, John Fitz-Williams, senior, married Elizabeth, daughter of Sir John Conyers, Knt. of Stockton in the county of Durham; John Fitz-Williams, Esq. their son, died in 1487, before his father, and left by Elizabeth, daughter of Richard Fitz-Williams, his wife, one son, William Fitz-Williams of Elmley, Esq. who married Margaret, daughter of Sir Rob. Broughton, and dying without issue in 1516, left his two aunts his heirs, Margaret married to Tho. Southill of Southill Hall in Yorkshire, who had one daughter, Elizabeth, married to Sir Henry Savile of Thornhill in Yorkshire; and Dorothy, to Sir Will. Cropley of Sportsburgh, Knt. by whom he had Phillip Cropley; but as the chief, if not all this part, was united to the other, by different purchases, it will be needless to trace their descendants any further, the whole being united in the Knevets.
Sir John Knevet, Knt. of Bukenham castle, Norfolk, married Elizabeth, sister, and at length heiress, of Sir John Clifton, Knt. and, in 1461, held the castle and manors of Old and New-Bukenham, Lathes, two parts of Grishaugh in Wymondham, &c.; he was son of John de Knevet, Esq. by Joan, daughter and coheir of John Buttetort of Mendlesham in Suffolk, and grandson to Sir John Knevet, Knt. Lord Chancellor of England in 1371. He left
Sir John Knevet of Bukenham castle, Knt. his son and heir, who married Alice, daughter and coheir of Will. Lynnes, by whom he had Sir William Knevet of Bukenham castle, Knt. who, in 1483, was attainted by the name of Sir Will. Knevet, Knt. of Bukenham, conjurer, together with the Earl of Richmond, John Earl of Oxford, &c. in the parliament summoned the 25th Jan. 1st Richard III. as being partakers with Henry Earl of Richmond, (afterwards Henry VII.) which cost him a good part of his estate, for he conveyed to that King his castle and manor of Bukenham, the manors of Old-Bukenham, Carleton, and Tibenham, which he had again, when that monster was taken off; and then also he was forced to convey to Sir James Tirretl, that King's great favourite, and then Constable of the Tower, his manors of Hilboro, and two parts of Grishaugh in Wyndham. In 1491, he was found to be cousin and heir to Sir Robert Clifton, Knt. being then 51 years old. He had three wives; first, Alice, daughter of John Grey, brother of Reginald Lord Grey of Ruthyn, and widow of Nicholas Gibson, sheriff of London; his second was Joan, daughter of Humphry Stafford Duke of Buckingham; she was living in Richard the Third's time, and was called Lady Beaumont; the third was Joan, daughter of Tho. Courtney, relict of Sir Roger Clifford, Knt. one of the sisters and coheirs of Tho. Courtney Earl of Devonshire, by whom he had no issue. By Alice his first wife he had
Edmund Knevet, his son and heir, who married Eleanor, daughter of Sir William, and sister of Sir James Tirrell, of Gipping in Suffolk, Knt.; he was unfortunately drowned, but left several sons, of which Edmund Knevet, his second son, was serjeant-porter to King Henry VIII.; he married Jane, daughter and sole heiress of John Bourchier, the last Lord Berners, from whom descended the Ashwellthorp family.
Sir Thomas Knevett of Bukenham castle, Knt. his eldest son, was Standard-bearer to King Henry VIII. of whom he got a grant of the priory at its dissolution, with its appurtenances in Old and NewBukenham, viz. St. Andrew's and All-Saint's churches, the Priory manor, &c. all which continued in the family till Sir Phillip Knevet sold them. He married Muriel, daughter of Tho. Howard Duke of Norfolk, relict of John Grey Viscount Lisle, by whom he left several children, Sir Henry Knevet, his third son, settled at Charlton in Wilts.
Sir Edmund Knevet of Bukenham castle, his eldest son, married Joan, daughter of Sir John Shelton of Shelton in Norfolk, by whom he had
Sir Tho. Knevet of Bukenham castle, who married Catherine, daughter of Stanley Earl of Darby, and died Sept. 22, 1569. By his will, dated Sept. 8, 1569, he ordered to be buried in New-Bukenham church, in the same tomb in which Katherine his late wife lies, and gave to every one of his yeoman-waiters 40s.; to each of his servants, 20s. and ordered them to be maintained half a year after his death, that they might provide for themselves; he gave 40s. to repair the church; his manors of Mendlesham in Suffolk, and Hilboro in Norfolk, to descend to his next heir, which is for the whole and full third part of all his manors, to the intent that the Queen's Majesty may thereof be satisfied for her wardships, &c.; but if they will not do, the rest must be out of his manor of Bukenham. He settled OldBokenham manors and castle, the burgage of New-Bukenham, Lathes, Tatersall's manor in Carleton, Tybenham manor, the little park, or Cromwell's Park in Wyndham, Bukenham Close manor, the parsonages of All-Saints and St. Andrew's, the priory with its appurtenances, &c. according to the statute of the 32d of Henry VIII. which allows a man to assign two-thirds of all his manors, for advancement of his children, on his executors, during the minority of his eldest son, to pay his debts, and raise 2000l. to buy manors with, to settle on Henry, his second son, in fee simple, with whom he ordered 20l. per annum should be paid to the master and fellows of Corpus Christi college in Cambridge, to bring him up till 18 years old, and then the executors are to pay him 40l. a year, till the manors are settled when he is of age. He gave the lease which he had of Hilburgh parsonage, of the grant of Richard Coggell, parson there, to his two brothers, Henry and Antony Knevet, Esqrs. with the two next turns of that benefice, and his ewe-course in Attleborough; to Oliver Mellynge his servant, the next turn of Mendlesham vicarage. Henry Knevet and Edmund his brother, Henry his son, and Tho. Knevet, his eldest son, Roger Wodehouse of Kimburle, Esq. Francis Thursbye of Congham, Esq. Francis Gawdye of Wellington, Esq. and Robert Rogers of Colton, Gent. executors; Thomas Duke of Norfolk, Edward Earl of Darby, Thomas Earl of Sussex, and Henry Lord Morley, supervisors. Henry Knevet, Esq. Gregory and Robert Buxton, Gents. &c. witnesses. He left
Sir Thomas, his son, then 3 years 10 months and 2 weeks old, who married Catherine, daughter of Sir Tho. Lovell of East-Herling, who after married Edward Spring, and after that George Downe of Little Melton, Esq. by whom she had issue. He died Sept. 26,1594, leaving
Sir Phillip Knevet of Bukenham castle, his son and heir, then 11 years, 4 months, and 22 days old; he was sheriff of Norfolk in 1650, created Baronet June 29, 1611, and for 18,508l. 10s. he sold to Hugh Audley and his heirs the castle and priory of Old-Bukenham, the manors of Old-Bukenham, viz. the castle manor, Lathes, alias Laches, the Priory, and the Close manors, the manor or burgage of New-Bukenham, Tatersall's, or Tibenham Hall, otherwise TibenhamKnevet's, otherwise Carleton-Rode, and the tithes of all the premises in Bukenham, by deed dated 25 June, 1649.
Hugh Audley aforesaid was sheriff of Norfolk, and dying without issue left three sisters; Elizabeth, married first to Stephen Peacock, and after to John Jennings; Alice, to Sebastian Beaufoy of London, Gent.; Sarah, to Robert Harvey of London, Comptroller of the Custom-house, whose son, William Harvey of London and LowLayton, was baptized at Bow chapel, 25th Sept. 1599; he married Sarah, daughter of Will. Barret of London, by whom he had three sons, Robert, Hugh, and Benjamin, each of which inherited a third part; for in 1666, Oct. 6, the said Hugh settled the whole (except Tibenham manor, which was settled on Robert Harvey, &c.) on himself for life, remainder to William Harvey, his nephew, for life, remainder to Robert, Hugh, and Benjamin, sons of William, equally to be shared; Ambrose Holbech of Mallington in Warwickshire, second son of Ambrose Holbech of the same, married Sarah Harvey, and became possessed of that third part, which was her brother Benjamin's; and about 1693, partition was made between Ambrose his son, who had got Hugh's part also, and Robert Harvey of Low-Layton in Essex, who married Rebecca, daughter of Mr. Bowater of London, and at his death left his part to John Harvey, Esq. his son and heir, who married Elizabeth, daughter of Sir James Honblon of London, Knt. He built the seat at Old-Bukenham called St. Andrews, and settled there, and at his death left Robert Harvey, Esq. his only son, who is now  lord and owner of that part, and Ambrose Holbech, aforesaid, Esq. is now lord of the other two third parts.
The Park is a very ancient one, for the founder of the monastery here, among other donations, allowed the monks the privilege of taking wood in his park in this town; and in 1242, the King sent his writ to the keepers of the lands of Hugh de Albany Earl of Arundell, that they should deliver to Robert de Tateshale two bucks of his gift, out of the park lately belonging to the said Hugh, in his town of Bukenham. It was after separated from the manor; and in 1626, one Long of Hingham, at the request or by the order of the Honourable Mary Lady Hunsdon, late wife of the Lord Hunsdon, conveyed all his right in it to Sir Tho. Holland of Kenninghall; but it was in various trustees hands, and incumbered, till the title was perfected by John Holland of Wortwell, Esq. from which time it hath passed in this family, and still remains in the heiresses of Sir William.
In 1620, Sir Tho. Holland, Knt. purchased much of Henry Viscount Rochford.
There were several other manors here, as Bukenham's manor, the Close manor, Lathes manor, the burgage of New-Bukenham, and the Priory manor.
Belonged to Bury abbey, and continued in it till Baldwin, Abbot of that monastery, infeoffed Will, de Bukenham, who was to hold it at half a fee, and pay 14d. every 20 weeks to the guard of Norwich castle, as I find in the White Register of that monastery, (fol. 97;) it contained, when he was infeoffed, 1 carucate of land, 8 bordarers, 10 freemen that held 60 acres, for all which be did homage. It continued in this family (all of them being Williams) till 1345, and in that year Will, de Bukenham paid 20s. relief for it. How it went from them, and when, I do not find; but in 1401, it was divided into small parcels, for in the feodary of that year, Adam Cock of Bukenham, and his partners, held it. In 1434, John Parker, Margaret Grey, Adam Joly, Robert Cogell and 8 more, did homage to the Abbot of Bury, for their estate here. About 1563, Richard Parker, Isabell Cogell, John Roose, and Margaret Parker, held jointly that half fee, for which they used to pay to John Reeve, late and last Abbot of Bury, 14d. every twenty weeks to Norwich castle-guard. This family of the Bukenhams always bore az. a cross chequy, or and gul. for their arms, as appears from the seal of Will. de bukenham, in 1360, and several others of that family which I have by me.
In 1438, Tho. Croftes of Norwich settled the court, with all thereto belonging, on Richard Gegh and Edmund Bukenham, Esqrs. Roger Caus, John Brigges, Peter Park, chaplain, and others, except all his villeins, and copyholders in Old-Bukenham and Wilby. In 1533, Robert Jermye of Norwich, Gent, made his will, and gave his manor of Bukenham in Norfolk, to his mother-in-law, Elizabeth Jermye, and divers lands in Worsted to Ela his wife; Robert Jermye was his eldest son, and Tho. Jermye, his second son, whose mother-in-law, Margaret Browne, is mentioned in the will; but whether it be this manor, or in any other Bukenham, I am not certain.
Catchevache's, Cachevache's, now
Belonged to Will. de Schoies in the Conqueror's time, of whom Roger held it. In the beginning of King Henry the Third's reign, Tho. de Brokdish, Rob. de Wesenham, and Tho. de Bernham, held it of the honour of Clare. In 1290, William, son of Matthew Cachevache, had it, and Roger Cachevache, his son, in 1311; in 1325, he settled it on himself and Christian his wife; and in 1345, it belonged to William Catsvache of Old-Bukenham; in 1401, Maud de Mounteney, then a minor, held it; in 1420, it was John Rookwood's and others. In 1533, Hugh Wilkenson and others had Catchvache's manor in Old and NewBukenham, Attlebridge, Ringstede, and Holme, and liberty of faldage in Old-Bukenham, settled on them by William Gradbach (or Catswach.) In 1600, Hugh Wilkenson was lord, since which time it hath passed through many hands, which have sold off most (if not all) its rents. It some time belonged to the Sorrells, and now  to Mr, Edward Phillips of Banham, who owns the site of it, which is now called Catsvache's Meadow.
The close manor
Was part of the great manor till the division of it, and then it became a separate manor, and had insoken and outsoken juries, with a leet, and the profit of part of the market and stalls in Wymondham; a moiety of it, in 1383, belonged to the Prior of Bukenham, who hired the other moiety of the several lords, for that moiety divided into parts with the great manor, and went from the Cromwells to the Fitz-Williams, and from them to the Knevets; it laid in Bukenham, Attleburgh, Besthorp, and Wymondham, and was held by part of the borelry; in 1353, Robert Drury settled part of the moiety on Tho. Knevet; the other moiety came wholly to the Knevets at the dissolution, along with Bukenham priory, and from them to the Lovells; for in 1566, Thomas, son and heir of Tho. Lovell, Knt. held the Close manor, and all that pasture for 160 sheep called the Lathes, &c. of the Queen. In 1578, Tho. Lovell was lord; but by 1612 it belonged again to the Knevets, for then Philip Knevet, Bart. delivered seizin of the site of it to Gabriel Pope, doctor of physick, and Tho. Talbot, Gent. at which time, I suppose, the rents and services of the manor were either joined to the other manors, or all manumised; how the site passed afterwards I cannot say, but am informed that it now  belongs to the Windhams.
The Lays, Lees, Lathes, or
Had its rise out of the great manor, at the same time with the Close manor; and in 1383, the Prior had a moiety of it along with that manor; in 1400, the other moiety was divided; it had a leet belonging to it, and a fair to be kept on St. Martins Day, at New-Bukenham, the mere called Semere, or Old-Bukenham mere, belonged to it; the site and demeans called the Lathes, or Lays, contained 140 acres of pasture, 330 acres of wood, &c. and was held of the Queen in 1564, by Thomas, son and heir of Sir Tho. Lovell, Knt.; but the whole manor was united to the rest by the Knevets, Sir Tho. Knevet, being lord of the united manors of Lathes, the Close, the Priory, and burgage of New-Bukenham, in 1594.
The Priory Manor
Was part of the great manor given to the priory at its foundation, and continued in it to its dissolution, when it passed with that house to Sir Tho. Knevet of Bukenham, in whose family it continued till Sir Philip Knevet sold it to John Eldred of London, Esq. and John Verdon, Gent.; and after many conveyances, it was settled on the minister of New-Bukenham for the time being, who is always lord of it.
The Castle was first situated by the abbey, on the east part; the site of it contains about 3 acres; it is a large entrenchment, surrounded with a deep mote, the hills being still entire; (see the plate) on the north side is an old arch, which served for a sewer when it was standing; this was in some decay, when Will. de. Albany pulled it down, and built the priory with its ruins, (which is the reason that there are none remaining,) and gave the site of it to that house, as his foundation deed declares, and then removed to a far better situation, in St. Andrew's parish, the eastern part of which belonged to the Bishop of Norwich, and was part of his manor of Eccles, kept in his own hands to serve his palace there; notwithstanding which, the Earl procured the land which was part of the Hagh, of will. Turbus Bishop of Norwich, (who greatly favoured his foundation,) to be held as freely as the old castle was before the priory's foundation; the tithes only excepted; and on this part he built the castle, and founded his burgh called New-Bukenham, close by it, having obtained license so to do. It is pleasantly situate upon a hill, fortified with a deep mote, which remains entire, and full of water; the building itself is quitedemolished, and ploughed over, except part of the gatehouse, and a dungeon or keep, which all those places had; (see the Prospect in the plate;) it is 63 yards round, and the walls about 10 feet thick; and though it is not higher now than the entrenchment, I suppose it was formerly, the upper part of those keeps generally being watch-towers; it is divided in the midst by a cross wall. The Knevtts dwelt in this castle till it was demolished by Sir Philip, who sold it.
The.Priory, now called the Abbey, was founded by Williamde Albany, Earl of Chichester, sirnamed the Strong, who died in 1156, and by him dedicated to the honour of God, St. Mary, St. James the Apostle, and all the Saints, in which he placed black canons of the order of St. Augustine, who were governed by a prior elected by the major part of them, and confirmed by the Bishop of Norwich. after which he was installed; they were daily to pray for the soul of their founder, and of Queen Adeliza, or Alice, his wife, for the souls of Stephen King of England, and Maud his Queen, and their progeny, and for the souls of all his ancestors, successours, parents, friends, and benefactors; they were governed by statutes, allowed by William Turbus Bishop of Norwich, by whose advice it was founded, but they were in all things to follow the institution or rules of the church of St. Mary at Mertune; he endowed it with the rectories of the churches of All-Saints, and St. Andrews, belonging to his manor of Bukenham, which were immediately appropriated to it, and they took their whole revenues, the canons serving them; and also the site of the castle, which was to be pulled down, and 20 acres of land, and the wood called Little Hage, and Midcrofts, with the adjoining meadow, and New Croft before the castle-gate, (on which the abbey was built,) and Alured the Smith, with the land that he held, and 5 acres which was Spar-hauc's. The witnesses to his foundation were, Hugh Bigot, Ralf de Bucham, or Bukenham, Hubert and Warin Montchensi, Rob.
de Uuedale, Ralf the chaplain, Thurstin, then priest, or parson, of Bucham, (Bukenham,) and others; and afterwards he got the foundation confirmed by the King and Bishop. The benefactors to this house, that I meet with here, were, Will, de Albany, son of the founder, who gave them the advowson of Kenninghall, Richard de Scenges, gave them the advowson of St. Mary's church at Berwike,) in the Brakes,) Peter de Cley, gave them the advowson of St. Peter's at Cleythorp, (now Cocle-Cley,) Richard, son of Robert de Sengles, gave them his whole tenement, &c. in Riveshale, (now Rusall,) and Lincroft, (a hamlet to Rusall,) John Malekin, and Katerine Le-Parker released to the prior, &c. all his services which he owed them for his tenement, &c. held of them in Riveshale, Sir Henry de Riveshale, and Sir John his son, Knts. being witnesses.
The said Richard, son of Robert de Sengles, gave them 90 acres of land, held of Miles, son of Alan, and Miles his son, and the service of Walter de Lincroft and his tenement in Lincroft aforesaid, and the tenement which the said Richard held of the Prior and Convent of Norwich in Riveshale, and 10 acres of land which he held of Henry Parker, and 1 acre held of Will. Fitz-Roeis, and half an acre held of Jeffry, the Dean's nephew, and 3 acres and an half in Suthfeud, held of Tho. de Stuttestune and Amy his wife, and one acre held of Walter, son of Roger Lincroft, with the services of Fulcher Le-Feutrer, and Walwane Le-Bule, and their families and tenements, and all that the said Richard had purchased in these towns, with one acre of marsh in Brisingham, a parcel of meadow in Est-Medwe in Semere, and the land in Wrongeland, which he held of Alan, son of David.
Robert, son of Robert de Tateshale, gave them the advowson of Gunneby, and a piece of land called Munkwelle, for a pittance, as is before observed; Robert de Tateshale, the third of that name, gave a fold-course for 200 sheep in Attleburgh, and 53 acres and an half of arable land in Bukenham; Sir John de Verdon, Knt. granted them divers lands, tenements, rents, and services in Brisingham, which was afterwards the Priory manor there. Benedict de Brehull gave them the homage and service of Roger Le-Leche and his heirs, besides other gifts. Tho. de Sancto Egidio (or Giles) gave them his messuage in the parish of St. Benedict in (Norwich) Westwic, with the advowson of that church, with all rents belonging to his messuage. Peter, son of Sir Ralf de Cley, Knt. gave 51 acres and an half in Cley Field, with divers villeins, yearly rents, and services, with liberty of faldage, common of pasture, and fuel in all his liberty. Roger de Montealt, Steward of Chester, released to them all his claim in the advowson of Kenninghall, and granted them common of pasture in Southache in Kenninghall, and the amerciaments of all their tenants in Kenninghall, who were punished in his leet there, to be received from his steward, who was to receive them of the offenders, all which grants were confirmed by the King. In 1377, Will. Keteringham and others, aliened to the Prior 100 acres of underwood in Bukenham, by the King's license; they had also 30 acres in Kerthorp in Bukenham, settled on them in 1353, by license; and divers lands and tenements in West Bradenham the year before. In 1390, John Mounteny and others settled 60 acres of land, 2 acres of meadow, and a free fold in OldBukenham, by the King's license. In 1366, they had license to receive divers lands in Tybenham in Norfolk, and Cratfield in Suffolk. Constantine Clifton gave 10l. a year to be settled on the Prior, which Sir John Clifton, who died in 1447, ordered to be settled, and accordingly the manor of Melding Hall in Burston, which belonged to the priory was settled on it by Sir Andrew Ogard, Knt. Rob. Clifton, Knt. Constable of Burdeaux, who was buried in the conventual church of St. James the Apostle, was a good benefactor. John Verdon, of this town, in 1590, gave 5 marks by will, to repair the church; to the torches (or lights in it) 6s. 8d. "To the Light of the Sepulcor iijs. iiijd. Also to the Light of the Mess of Jesu iijs. iiijd. To the Pryor of Bokenham vjs. viijd. To iche channon ijs. To the reparacyon of the Churche of Olde-Bokenham xxs. Also to the Gilde of St. Martyn in Newe-Bokenham vjs. viijd. Also to the reparacyon of the Gilde of our Lady xxs. Also I will have an honeste preste to syng for my sowle, and all my benefactors sowles, in the parische churche of Newe Bokenham beforseid, by the space an hole yer. Also I will that the place wiche I purchesid of John Hewett, John Colby, and ij. acr. of londe lyeing att the gate in the heigh felde at Watt's Gate, remayne to the town of Newe Bokenham, to the common profight, in releif and cumfortyng of the poor pepull for evyrmor."
The probate is now in the Church Chest. Dated March 29, 1491.
In 1428, the Prior's temporals in Old-Bukenham were taxed at 22l. 16s. 10d. ob. The total of the spirituals of this house, lying in Norfolk, were taxed at 77l. 13s. 4d. and paid 5l. 15s. 8d. every tenth; the total of their temporals in Norfolk were taxed at 52l. 9d. ob. and paid 5l. 4s. 1d. every tenth; the whole of their temporals and spirituals at this time being taxed at 109l. 14s. 1d. ob. and so paid every tenth 10l. 19s. 9d; at the Dissolution it was valued at 131l. 11s. per annum. In 1479, they had lands in all the Bukenhams, Elyngham, Besthorp, Stowebekyrton, Rokeland, Rowdham, Sneytyrton, Norton, Schropham, Quedenham, Banham, Multon, Aslacton, Carleton, Bonwell, Wykylwood, Reymerston, Cratfield, Keninghall, Hapton, Tibenham, Norwich, St. Benet, St. Swithin, and St. Peter Mancroft, Bradenham West, Barwyke, Brisingham, Burston, Attleburgh, Lyn, Sethyng, Riveshale, East-Herling, Caston, Cley, &c. In 1476, the Bishop certified the Barons of the Exchequer, that the Prior of Bukenham held impropriated to that house, the churches of St. Benedict in Norwich, of Gryston in Beccles deanery, of Bukenham All-Saints, St. Andrews, and St. Martin's, St. Peter of Cley, and West Bradenham, in Cranewise deanery, and Barwick in Hicham deanery, and that they have been so held ever since 1177, and before, even from its foundation, and that the Prior always pays all taxes granted by the clergy to the King for those churches, there being no vicars endowed upon any of them.
The site, after the Dissolution, was granted to Sir Tho. Knevet, and went with the Priory manor in that family, and is now owned by Mr. Holbech. There are very few ruins remaining; the walls of the church are quite down, but the foundations may be easily traced; it was in the conventual form, with the tower in the midst, and had a nave, two isles, two transepts, a choir, and north vestry; the monastery stood on the north side of it, and was a good square court. On the wood work of an old gate I saw the arms of Albany carved, which looked very old. I have seen a piece of silver, which was found in digging in the ruins of the church anno 1723, which has a shield of arms, on which, a fess between two chevrons. A canton erm. impales quarterly a bend; this looks as if it had been buried with its owner. See the plate for the seal, arms, &c. of the priory.
In 1579, John Margery was buried in this church, and gave every canon and monk 4d. and 8 marks, to be prayed for. Katherine Browne was also buried the same year, and gave two silver phiolas, and the rest of her goods, to Sir Will. Whalley, then prior, to pray for her. In 1507, Adam Sawer was buried here, and gave 4 nobles, for his soul to be sung for in the church. In 1508 the church was new roofed, and had an altar dedicated to St. Austin in it.
Priors Of This House
- 1216, William was prior of Bukenham.
- 1221, Walter, who got Kenninghall appropriated.
- 1269, Hugh.
- 1286, Richard de Otteley. Br. Rich. Betts succeeded Bukenham.
- 1307, 5 id. Febr. Brother John de Multon, a canon of St. James's monastery at Bukenham, was elected prior by the sub-prior and convent, and confirmed by the Bishop of Norwich, as were all the priors to the Dissolution.
- 1329, 17 kal. July, Hugh de Brom, priest, canon there, elected prior.
- 1354, 11 Octob. Brother Will. de Spykesworth, canon, elected prior at Broom's death.
- 1381, 27 Sept. Brother Will, de Banham, canon there, elected at Spykesworth's cession.
- 1402, 10 July, Brother Roger Carleton, canon, elected at Banham's death, and installed by the Archdeacon of Norfolk.
- 1442, 12 July, Brother John Norwich, elected on Carleton's death.
- 1451, 9 Nov. Brother Barth. Melles, canon, elected prior at Norwich's resignation.
- 1458, 17 Sept. Brother John Whalley, canon, elected on Melles's resignation.
- 1480,13 May, Brother John Bukenham, senior, priest, eanon there, elected prior at Whalleys death.
- 1493, John Plattyng, priest, was prior here.
- 1534, 21 Aug. John Mylegate, or Millgate, prior, Richard Ryntwz and five others subscribed to the supremacy. This John was the last prior, and resigned the house to the King; Sir Tho. Browne, &c. were canons at the resignation. These were the
Canons Of This House
That received their stipends over and above their daily maintenance and clothing, viz.
- 1479, Brother Tho. Fincham, Brother Rich. Cley, Brother Hen. Lychefeld, Brother Thomas Beverle, Brother John Bukenham, junior, Brother John Chambyr, Brother Richard Bukenham, cellerer, Brother Will. Harwych.
- 1480, the same canons, except Brother John Baron, who was added to them.
- 1481, Brother John Chambyr was added, and they continued till
- 1493, and then brother John Foremale, a novice, was admitted among them, so that the monastery, when full, consisted of a Prior, an Auditor, who was not a religious, but one appointed by the lord to audit their annual accounts, and ten Canons, who yearly received for their stipends 40s. apiece, besides their maintenance and clothing; out of these, a Sub-Prior, Sacrist, and Celerer, were yearly chosen. The temporal officers of the house were, the Steward of their Courts, a Heyward, Woodward, and Janitor, constantly attending at the monastery gates. In this year John Boun was their auditor; they yearly received, for the total income of the monastery, about 110l, and disbursed about 100l.
- Their Churches Were
- Bradenham West, an endowed vicarage.
St. Benedict in Norwich; they repaired the chancel, and had a parsonage-house.
Bukenham All-Saints, worth clear 7l. 15s. and the stipendiary serving chaplain paid.
Cley, an impropriation; no vicar endowed.
Griston, had a vicar endowed; great tithes were let at 15l.
Barwyk had a vicar endowed.
The offerings at the high altar of the monastery on St. James's Day, 6s. 8d. besides those on St. Margaret's Day, when the gild was kept there.
West-Herling church-wardens paid 1d. a year to this priory, for part of their town-land.
Norton church-wardens paid 9d. a year for quitrent to their manor.
Kenninghall Rectory manor, rents of assize were above 6l. per annum.
Brisingham Priory manor, rents of assize about 3l. per annum.
Norwich Gild in St. Peter's Mancroft, paid them 6d. a year.
Norwich, the Dean of St. Mary's college in the Fields, (now Chapel Field,) 10s.
Burston, profits of the manor, 8l. 16s. 6d.
Cratefield rents of 3l. 17d. per annum, from the manor of the Earl of Northumberland's.
Their annual temporal outgoings were, to the manors of Mortimer's and Crowshall in Attleburgh, 10d.; to the rector of East-Herling, 8d. for land in Kenninghall; to Besthorp manor 3d.; to my Lord Cromwell 4d.; to Elyngham manor 8d.; to Ashwellthorp manor 3s. 4d.; For lands in Rewshall 12d.; to the Bishop, for lands held of him in the Hawe 7s. 6d.; to the Abbot of Bury, for lands held of him in OldBukenham, 2s.
The annual spiritual outgoings to the Bishop, for the pensions of Bradenham and Griston, 26s. 8d.; for Bukenham St. Andrew, and St. Martin, 3s. 4d.; to the Pope's collector, 7s.; to the Archdeacon of Norwich, for procurations for Griston, 6s. 8d.; for the Bukenham parishes, and Cley, 26s. 8d.; to the sacrist of Norwich cathedral, for his pension out of Griston and Bradenham churches, 3s. 4d.; to Will. Lawe, their stipendiary chaplain at Cley, for one year, 6l. 6s. 8d.; to the vicar of Barwick, for his stipend, 6l. 16s. 8d.; the Stipend of the chaplain of All-Saints, Bukenham, 4l. 6s. 8d.
- 1480, paid to the honour of Wormegey, for the amerciaments of the prior's tenants, for their glebe land (belonging to Girston) in Caston, 12s.; for Romescot 3d.; and to Tho, Mounteneye, Clerk, 4s. ob.; to Will. Ingham, their Stipendiary at Cley, 5l. 13s. 4d. a year; to the Vicar of Barwyk, by agreement, for his vicarage, 6l. 16s. 8d.; to Andrew Norwich, at Girston, his stipend, &c. Cley parsonage, and 24 acres adjoining, let to farm, &c. 1487, at 20l. and more was laid out in repairing the chapel of the Virgin Mary, within the precincts of the monastery. At the end of this year's accompt are these lines,
- Omnibus Omnia non mea Sompnia dicere possum. Si vis Esse sanus, sæpe Lavare Manus. Dum Sumus in mundo, Vivamus corde jocundo, Omnibus est notum, quod aliquis diligitpotum.
Paid to Eccles court for the yearly suit due, 4d.
The Chapel of St. Mary the Virgin, in Old-Bukenham, was founded soon after the castle, by the lords of it, and was supplied by a custos and two or three chaplains, his brethren, who had their dwelling at the west end of it, and constantly served there; it was the only place of worship that the burgh of New-Bukenham had, till the present church was founded, which was some time after the chapel: at the Dissolution it came to the lord's hands; and not long afterwards was converted into a barn, as it now remains. It stands on the south side of the castle, close by the road, as you enter into NewBukenham.
The Parish Church of St. Andrew, in Old-Bukenham, was a rectory belonging to the manor, till the foundation of the priory, to which it was given by the founder, and then appropriated to it, without any vicar endowed, the monks serving it themselves to the Dissolution, when it was granted to Sir Tho. Knevet along with the priory, and soon after was desecrated, and converted into a barn; it is just by Mr. Harvey's seat, which is called St. Andrew's. It was taxed at 20s. and paid 2s. every tenth.
The Church of All-Saints in Old Bukenham, is the present parish church; this was also a rectory appendant to the manor, and given by the founder to the priory, to which it was then appropriated, but no vicar endowed; it was served by the monks, who found a stipendiary curate there till the Dissolution, when it was granted with the priory to Sir Tho. Knevet, who received all the profits, and found a curate to serve the parish; and thus it continued in that family till 1611, when it was mortgaged, with the King's license, along with Knevet's manor in Tibenham, to Sir Tho. Herne, Knt.; after this it was mortgaged backward and forward several times, till at last Sir Philip Knevet sold every one (that would purchase them) the tithes of their own lands, and the rest the parish purchased, together with the chancel and churchyard, and vested them in Robert Wright and John Allen, and their heirs, who reconveyed to Sir Philip all manner of tithes, oblations, &c. which might be due to the said rectory from any of his own land, and all those tithes which they sold, as trustees to Sir Philip, to Robert Jollie, Jacob Preston, and the rest of the parishioners, that had purchased their parts, after which they settled the chancel and churchyard of Old-Bukenham All-Saints, with all the great and small tithes, oblations, obventions, offerings, &c. together with all other temporals whatever belonging thereto, on a great number of feoffees, who were to hold all the rectories of All-Saints and St. Andrew's, (except the churchyard, parsonagehouse, and glebe lands of St. Andrew's, and all those titties which were sold before this feoffment,) with all the tithes of corn, grain, hay, and all other great and small tithes, obventions, and oblations whatsoever, to them and their heirs, in trust, to the following uses; that they, or the major part of them, shall for ever nominate, elect, and choose, an honest learned minister, for, and in the name of, the town of Old-Bukenham aforesaid, to serve in All-Saints church, once in a week, and perform all services there, who upon such choice shall be licensed according to the laws of the realm, after which he shall be allowed out of the profits of the rectory aforesaid, an annual stipend of 16l. 13s. 4d. to be paid by the feoffees, one half upon every 2d day of February, and the other half upon the 1st day of August, on which days they are to rnake and produce a just account unto Sir Philip Knevet, and his heirs, and the church-wardens of the town for the time being, and to all the rest of the inhabitants of the town, who shall think fit to be there, to see the accounts of the whole profits; and what overplus of the profits remains (the stipend and charges being deducted) shall be by them paid into the church-wardens hands, to be by them employed to repair the chancel and churchyard walls; and when all the feoffees are dead to five, they shall be obliged to make a new feoffment to ten persons at least, all which shall be parishioners of this parish; and lest there should arise any disputes concerning the parts sold off, the lands and tenements so discharged, with the several purchasers names, are mentioned, and all the lands which pay all manner of tithes to the feoffees, are separately described in nine rolls of parchment, annexed to the feoffment, among which, the Layes, containing 100 acres; a messuage and 100 acres, being the site of Bukenham Close manor; 6 closes thereto belonging, containing 80 acres; 50 acres more belonging to the same messuage; 24 acres, called Bromhill Close; 12 acres called Little Pond's Meadow; 8 acres called Fir Close; 30 acres called Hawte Close, in the New Park; 80 acres called Herlyng Wood; 16 acres called Thorne Croft; and 60 acres called Fir Closes, are the largest parcels, though there are, besides these, 48 messuages and cottages, and 200 acres thereto belonging. The prior was taxed at 13 marks for the rectory, and paid 17s. 4d. for it to every tenth. Mr. Last, rector of Wilby, was curate here, and the Rev. Mr. Robert Stone is the present  minister.
Here were three Gilds, dedicated to St. Margaret, St. Thomas the Martyr, and St. Peter, In 1373, Agnes Faucus of Old-Bukenham, buried in All-Saints churchyard, gave a heifer for her mortuary, and to Sir Roger, chaplain of the church, 6d.
The church and chancel are thatched; the steeple is octangular; there are five bells; the north isle is leaded.
In the chancel lies a stone for JOHN WELHAM, Gent. who died July the 10th 1713, aged 66 Years.
Earth have possessed him, Ashes, Clay, and Dust, But Heaven contains his Soul, among the Just.
On a brass plate, Preston's arms and crest,
hic requiescit corpus jacobi preston, genr: qui vitam hanc expiravit in fide christi lxvi. etatis suæ anno dom: 1630.
On another brass plate,
Here lyeth the Body of Mathew Sturdyvant, Gent. who ended this Life the 21st Day of March 1604, when he was of the Age of 85 Years, and did give by his Last Will towards the Maintenance of a Schoole in this Parish for ever, 100l. and towards thre newe Bells to be bought 20l.
hodie, mihi. cras, tibi.
On a loose brass in the church,
Here undre resteth the Bodye of Ehomas Joly the Elder, who departed this Life the rii Day of Januaryc, in the Yeare of oure Lord, 1604.
There are stones in the chancel for
William, Son of Phillip Leigh, and Eliz. his Wife, who died Febr. 1, 1682.
Anne, Wife of Tho. Brewster, Gent. died Jan. 5,1682.
In the nave on the south side, as Mr. Weaver informs us, there was a stone plated with brass, on which was a crane, and
in a scroll from its mouth, and this,
Orate pro Anima Ehome Bromn cuius Anime propitietur Deus, Amen.
Elizabeth, Daughter of Sam: Baker, died Nov. 4, 1725, Æt. 16.
Over the King's arms,
Vivat, vincat, et regnet Verbum Domini, et ut nobis, et Semini nostro in Æternum, annue summe Deus, per Jesum Christum, unicum Dominum nostrum.
There were these arms in the windows, most of which now remain.
Tatshall and Clifton quarterly.
Tatshall and Clifton impaled with Thorp, az. three crescents arg.
Tatshall, chequy or. and gul. a chief erm.
The priory arms, arg. three escalops sab.
Barry of ten gul. and arg. quartering Caily, chequy gul. and or, a bend erm.
Cromwell, arg. a chief gul. abend az. quartering Tatshall.
Knevet quartering Clifton.
There are several angels holding some of the arms, with labels from their mouths, viz.
Salbe Regina Mater Miserecordie, Beata Dei Genetric Maria.
Abe Regina Eœlorum, abe Domina.
On hatchments in the chancel,
impaled Harvey, or, on a chevron between three leopards heads gul. as many flower-de-lises arg.
Houblon, alias Van deprot, arg. on a mound vert,three houblons, or hop-poles, fructed proper.
impaled Harvey, or, on a chevron between three leopards heads gul. three cinquefoils arg.
Houblon as before, Harvey's crest on a torce gul. and arg. a leopard chained or. Motto: in morte quies.
In the dormitory on the north side of the chancel are the coffins of John Harvey, Esq. Elizabeth his wife, and several of their children.
There are two altar tombs in the churchyard,, against the chancel door, for
Robert Watts, who died 7 Nov. 1652. and Andrew Reder, who died 14 Dec. 1655.
On a head-stone by the steeple,
Here lieth the body of JOHN GREY, Gent. Steward of many Manours for (almost) Sixty Yeares, faithful to his Lords, & kind to the Tenants; he kept Courts and wrote very faire in the 90th Year of his Age, (things rare) in which he died upon the 16th Day of July, Anno Dom. 1713.
The Customs of the manors are, that the fine is at the lord's will, and the eldest son is heir.
This town is situated round a pleasant green, the church standing on the east side of it; the site of the abbey being north east, and that of St. Andrew's south east. There is a fair kept on it every 29th of May. It is a town of large bounds, for it paid to the tenths 5l. 13s. and is now  assessed at 1996l. to the land-tax, and hath 105 dwelling-houses, and about 550 inhabitants. ===NEW-BUKENHAM===
This town had its rise out of Old-Bukenham, as is before observed, when Will. de Albany founded the castle, and procured the land of the Bishop of Norwich to build it on, and to make his burgh, which then took the name of New-Bukenham, to distinguish it from OldBukenham, which then had that addition for the same reason. He or his successours very early got it to be a burgh, with the following privileges, which were allowed in 1285, viz. view of frankpledge, assize of bread and ale, a gallows, and a market every Saturday, with the market-court, or burgage, then worth 5s. per annum, and kept before the capital steward every Saturday, who was judge of all weights and measures, and every thing belonging to the market, and of all debts contracted or acknowledged in the market or precinct of the burgh, and of all such debts under that sum, in which any resident in the burgh was concerned, and had power to fine and levy, as amply as the sheriff in the hundred court; and also a fair in the said burgh every St. Martin's day, with a court thereto belonging, called the Warpound court, the rents being due and payable that morning; and also liberty of free-warren in the demeans and manors of Bukenham castle, in the Bukenhams, Besthorp, and Attleburgh, and also a prison for all offenders in the burgh, in the toll-house there. The whole of this town belonged to the castle, and passed as that did, till Shropham hundred was sold from it, and after forfeited to the Crown, and the Warpound court with it, and then that was in the Lovell's, and the Mercate court or burgage in the Knevet's. In 1572, Tho. Lovell, Esq. had one manor, and Tho. Knevet, Esq the other; the Warpound court went with the hundred, and still remains with it; the market court, or burgage, was sold by the Knevets. It after belonged to Eldred, and Verdon, and after that was settled on feoffees, for the use of the curate, and by virtue thereof the high bailiff receives the profits.
Here were many lands, rents, and tenements, which belonged to the priory, all which were seized by the Crown, and granted to divers persons, as the Lovells, Knevets, &c. In 1609, John Eldred, Esq. and John Verdon, Gent. had a grant of the outsoken manor of the priory, now called
The Priory Manor
(the Knevets reserving to themselves the insoken of that manor, or all that part of it, which is now called the Priory manor, and goes with the great manor, and lies in Old-Bukenham, which is the reason that there are two manors called the Priory at this time,) together with the market court, or burgage, all which the Knevets were licensed to sell.
The temporal possessions of the Prior in New-Bukenham, in 1428, were taxed at 34s. and 3d. In 1603, there were 220 communicants, and now  there are about 400 inhabitants. It paid clear to every tenth 4l. 3s. and is now assessed at 558l. 13s. 4d. to the land tax: it is a compact burgh, of small bounds, having a Saturday market, (which of late years is much decayed,) and an annual fair on St. Martin's day, according to the grants before mentioned; at first it had but few inhabitants to what it hath at present, as is evident from the chapel of St. Mary, which was then their only place for service, and no large one, but as it increased Sir Robert de Tateshale, lord of the castle, who died in 1248, founded
A Church dedicated to St. Martin, on the north side of the burgh, where it now stands, and gave it to the priory, the sacrist of which was, to the Dissolution, the parish priest; he had a certain salary allowed him by the inhabitants, for which the prior was taxed at 20s. and other houses or lands given to him as sacrist, or serving chaplain, for which he was taxed at 13s.; and after this was founded, the chapel of St. Mary continued to be served as formerly, by a custos and brethren, at the prior's appointment, who dwelt in their apartment at its west end. The present church was built at divers times, the nave and chancel being the only (if any) remaining parts of the first building; the north isle was built about 1479, by the contribution of several great men, some of whose arms still remain in the windows, and of such other persons as pleased to be benefactors; for in that year John Coke ordered to be buried in the new isle of St. Martin's church in New-Bukenham, and gave 5 marks towards leading it; he was a good benefactor to the gilds of St. Mary and St. Martin, which were kept in the church. The south isle, porch, and tower, were begun soon after, by that Sir John Knevet who married Clifton's heiress, and finished by his grandson, Sir William Knevet,as the arms in the windows and on the tower plainly demonstrate. This church is a donative, the minister being chosen by the majority of the votes of all the residents in the parish, that pay to the minister's rate, and after such choice so made, and entered by the church-wardens in the Town-book, he is to have a nomination under their hands to the Bishop, in order for a license, which being obtained, unless that be recalled, it is a cure for life.
In 1603, Mr. Francis Bradley was curate, whose answer was, that he served it as an impropriate cure, without any stipend from the impropriator; that it was in Rockland deanery, and Norfolk archdeaconry, and that the set stipend from the inhabitants was 15l. per annum, besides all gifts; that Mr. Knevet was proprietor, who afterwards sold it to be settled on the parishioners. There is a convenient house, garden, and outhouses, for the minister's dwelling, who hath an estate in Suffolk, and part of the George inn in New-Bukenham, the Priory manor, and the rale of 3d. in the pound, &c. settled for his maintenance. Mr. Coleman was predecessor to Mr. Robert Stone, the present  minister, who hath Old-Bukenham, and is rector of Brandon-Parva and Hackford in this diocese.
The nave is leaded, having a neat square tower, with a clock and five bells in it, joined to its west end, on which the following arms are carved in freestone over the west door, viz.
Will. de Bohun Earl of Northampton.
Humfry de Bohun, his son and heir.
Holland, viz. France and England quartered, in a bordure.
Knevet and Caily quartered.
Knevet quartered with, pally, a bordure charged with roundells.
Knevet and Clifton quartered.
Knevet and Heveningham quartered.
Knevet and Clifton, with a canton.
In the nave there are stones for,
John Pitcher, Gent. and Elizabeth his Wife, he died Oct. 30,1720, aged 74, and she June 1705.
Thomas Richards, died 24 July, 1705.
Mary, Wife of Mr. Robert Harris of Lynn Regis, Daughter of Mr. Tho. Richards, she left a Son and two Daughters, and died Febr. 9, 1700, aged 23 Years.
Claudius Grey, Gent. buried Febr. 18,1700, T. Colman 1718.
At the west end of the nave there are stones for,
Mr. Tho. Fulcher, Apothecary, who died June 10,1707, Æt. 58.
John Blake, Nov. 1723, Æt. 13, Tho. Blake, Nov. 28, 1728, Æt. 12, both sons of Thomas and Mary Blake.
On the font, Knevet's arms: it was erected,
February 1, 1619, Ehomas Colman, Christopher Sudbury, Church, Wardens.
The north isle is leaded, and hath a chantry parted from the rest, with handsome carved screens at its east end, in which there is a stone for
Mary, Wife of Mr. John Crow, who died March 30,1729, aged 39, and Mary Barrs her Mother, who died Apr. 3, 1729, aged 60, Hannah Crow died May 7, 1729.
This chapel belonged to St. Mary's gild, and was made when the isle was built, as the arms of Cromwell, Tateshale, Mortimer, &c. plainly shew us, they being in the windows of the isle as benefactors, together with,
De-la-Pole quartering arg. a chief gul. over all a lion rampant or, Howard and Brotherton quartered.
Vere and Howard quartered.
Clifton and Caily quartered.
And on the screens are these two letters, J. P. and a rebus or device of a pilgrim's staff, having a hat hung on its top, and a pilgrim's bag lying by it, which, I suppose, intimates the man's name to be James Palmer, a palmer or pilgrim signifying the same, and James rather than John, because so many palmers, or pilgrims, daily visited St. James at Compostella, who was the patron of the adjacent priory.
There are also shields of various arms, viz.
Or, semide-lises sab. for Mortimer.
A fess between three roundels, for Courtney.
The arms of the priory.
Tateshale. And erm. a fess gul. besides these,
The chancel is tiled; on the north side is an inarched monument, in which is an altar tomb; the arms, inscription, and effigies of a woman, with a label from her mouth, are all lost. This is the tomb of Sir Thomas Knevet of Bukenham castle, and Katharine his wife, daughter to the Earl of Derby.
On a flat stone is this, on a brass plate,
Hic iacet Alicia, quondam Uror Willi: Knyhet, Armigeri, que crat, Filia Johannis Grey, filius Domini Reginaldi Brey, Domoni de Rythyn, que obiit quarto die Mcnsis Aprilis A Dni MCCCClrriiiio
The arms are,
Knevet quartering Clifton, impaling Grey quartered with Hastyngs, counter-quartering Valence, with a crescent for difference.
The following inscriptions are lost, the brasses being reaved,
Hic iacet Ehomas Jvy, Eapellanus qui obiit rir die Mensis Septembris. Anno Domini M.CCCClrrriiio, cuius Anime propicictur Deus Amen.
Hic iacet Robt. Seman Eapellanus, qui obiit nono die Jun. Ao Dom: M.CCCCo Irvo cuius Anime
Orate pro Anima Willi: Pyllys, qui obiit rrv dic Decembris, Anno Dni: M.CCCCC.rrri. cuius Anime propicietur deus Amen.
There are many old stones without inscriptions, under which divers of the family of the Knevets lie buried; an ancient house, saith Cambden, ever since Sir John Knevet was Lord Chancellor of England, under King Edward III. and also honourably allied by great marriages.
For over and besides these of Bukenham, now baronets, from hence sprung those right worshipful knights, Sir Tho. Knevet, Lord Knevet, Sir Henry Knevet of Wiltshire, and Sir Thomas Knevet of Ashwellthorp, and others. 1400.
Orate pro Animabus Johannis Knebet, Armigeri, et Alesiæ Uroris suæ qui ob: 1400.
His effigies in armour in a coat of his arms, viz. Knevet quartering Clifton, his wife by him in a gown, and an escutcheon between them of their arms, viz. Knevet, impaling Lyn, or Lynnes. Arg. a demilion rampant gul. in a bordure sab. bezanté. All this is lost.
Wic iacet Ehomas Filius Henrici Collet, civis et Alvermanni Civitatis Landon, qui obiit vie Nativitatis Sce: Maræ 1479.
Collet impaled with Knevet, quartering Clifton. This is also lost.
On an altar-tomb on the north side of the chancel, Gulielmus Barber hujus Parochiæ Gen: Obijt 24° die Januarij, Anno Xti. 1693. Ætatis 84.
Ille Senex omni ut clero succurreret Ævo, Pauperibusque pius, Munera larga dedit: Ditibus Exemplo, semper sua sint Benefacta, Laudent Participes proque Datore, Deum.
On a marble by the altar, the arms and crest of Tindall, alias Kendall, impaling a chevron between three castles or towers.
P. M. S. Maria, Henrici Scarborough, de Walsham Boreali, in Com: Norff: Generosi, Mauritij Kendal de Eadem Armigeri, Eliz: et Mariæ Kendal sobolum, Filia, Uxor, Mater, observantissima, dilectissima, pientissima, nec minus Deo quam Amicis fidelis, Corpus in terrâ hic repositum, Virtutes in Prole bonis Auspicijs elucent, Spiritus in Cœlo Triumphat.
Anno Ætat. Dom. 1693.
Another black marble more south, lies over John Kendal, Esq; [Father of Maurice] who died the 14th of Dec. 1672, aged 59.
Kendall's arms single.
On a stone on the south side of the chancel. Kendal's arms.
In Memoriam piam Matris suae charissimæ Elizabethæ, Johannis Kendal Armigeri, conjugis dilectissimæ, Quæ vix ne vix fuit altera, Dei Reverentior, Mariti observantior, Liberorum Denique (at summo cum Religionis tum Morum studio) Indulgentior, hoc Marmor Pietatis Ergo, apposuit Mauritius Filius; obijt die 25 Febr. A° Dni: 1695, Ætatis vero 80.
Another stone hath Kendall impaling Ashfield, a fess between three de-lises.
Fælicem expectans Resurrectionem hic jacet, Mauritius Kendall de Northwalsham, in Agro Norfolciensi Armiger, Vir Paterque indulgens, Amicus Juratissimus, Ingenuis congruus, nefarijs infensus, Ecclesiæ & Monarchiæ Vindex acerrimus, seditiosis Perduellis, Legum in omnibus observantissimus, Jurisperitus ipse Eloquentissimus; obdormivit Anno salutis mdccxii. Ætatis LII.
A large black marble near the screens hath this inscription, most of it covered by building a pew over it,
Here lyeth interred the Body of Dame Rebekah the Daughter of Edward Warne, of New-Buckingham, Gent. her first Husband was Samuel Benson of Norwich, Gent. her 2d was Thomas Davy of Norwich, her third was Sir Francis Bickley of Attleborrow, Baronet, her last Husband was Nicholas Pointer of Norwich, Gent. she dyed the 18th of August 1694, aged 54.
This stone was laid by William Bernham of Norwich, merchant, her executor.
The south porch and isle are leaded, in the middle of which lies a black marble for,
John, only Son of John Barber, and Elizabeth his Wife, who died May 20th 1711, aged 44. leaving Elizabeth his Relict (Younger Daughter of Henry Meen, and Cicely his Wife) to be the greater Comfort of Elizabeth, John, and Susannah his Children, who survived him.
A stone for, Hanah Pain who died March 14, 1728. Æt. 73.
The windows were beautifully adorned with the following arms, inscriptions, and effigies, several of which are broken, though there are some remaining whole.
In the east window of the chapel, at the upper end of the isle, were the effigies of its founder, and his three wives, viz.
Alice Grey, who is buried in the chancel; she hath the arms of Grey of Ruthyn, with a crescent or for difference, quartering Grey, Counter-quartering Valence, on her mantle. The whole window is powdered with ragged staves sab.
The second is mantled with the arms of Buckingham, Stafford, &c. being made for Joan, daughter of Humfry Stafford Duke of Buckingham.
The third is for Joan, daughter of Thomas Courtney, relict of Sir Roger Clifford; on her mantle are the arms of Courteney Clifford, &c. all which, with Sir William Knevet, their husband, are buried in the chancel; over their heads was this,
Orate pro Animabus Willi: Knebet, Militis, Alicie filiæ Johannis Grey, et Domine Johanne filie Humfrivi Duris Bucks, et Damine Johanne Sqrocis, et unius herevum Domini Cho: Courtney, nuper Comitis Devon: Urorum victi Willi.
The following arms are in the windows,
Jenney, erm. a bend gul. cotised or, an annulet for difference, impaled with Wedley, or Wederup.
Knevet, Caily, and Clifton quartered.
Grey, barry of six, arg. and az. in chief three torteaux, a crescent or for difference.
Hastyngs quartering Valence.
Humphry Earl of Stafford.
Bohun Earl of Northampton.
The same, with this difference only, that there are three mullets on the bend.
Courtney, or, three torteaux.
Beauford Earl of Somerset, and Bohun Earl of Northampton, impaled.
Clifton. Albany. Fitz-Alan.
Tateshale, chequy or and gul. a chief erm.
Caily and Tateshale quartered.
Vert, a chevron between three conies arg.
Parted per chevron gul. and lozenge arg. and az. a dove volant in chief, of the second.
Or, on a cross gul. five escalops arg.
Or, a chevron gul. between three torteaux.
Wederup, vert, an annulet arg. a chevron, erm. between three caps of the second.
The escalops on the cross, as before.
Quartered Lozenge, az. and arg. on a chief gul. two lions recombatant arg.
Or, a chevron gul. between three torteaux.
In the east window of the isle these arms remain,
Knevet quartering Caily.
Grey quartering Hastyngs, counter-quartering Valence.
Holland, England and France quartered, in a bordure arg. quartering the Earl of Northampton.
Wyngfield, mixed with Bohun and Stafford.
The fifth shield is the same as the first.
Courtney quartering per bend, az. and or, a lion rampant counter-changed, impaling France and England in a bordure, gobone arg. and az.
Clifton quartering Albany.
Caily quartering Tateshale.
On an altar tomb, on the north side of the church, in the yard,
Wade's arms and crest, a lion passant chained.
Arg. 3 bucks heads erased az.
THOMAS WADE died Oct. 17, 1708, and Robert Wade his Brother 7 Jan. 1708.
JOHN WADE, Gent. their Uncle died 23 July, 1721, aged 73 Years.
An altar tomb on the south side of the church for MARY, Wife of Richard Crowe, Gent, who died 25 Aug. 1689, aged 29 Years.
RICHARD CROWE, Gent. died 12 Nov. 1717, aged 57 Years.
From the Register it appears, that in 1543, Henry Spilman and Anne Thursday were married Febr. 7. 1561, Francis Travers, Gent. and Eliz. Clere, Nov. 4. 1565, Thomas, son and heir of Sir Tho. Knevet, baptized 21 Jan. 1568, John Knevet, Gent. baptized June 2. Joan Knevet buried the same day. 1568, Katherine, wife of Sir Tho. Knevet, buried June 22. 1569, Sir Tho. Knevet died Sept. 22. 1577, 19 Sept. Richard Stocks and Anne Woodhouse, Gentlewoman, were married according to the law in that case for ministers provided. 1583, Francis, the brewer at the Castle, buried 5 July. 1586, 14 Mar. Thomas, son of Tho. Knevet, Esq. buried. 1587, 25 March, John, son of Tho. Knevet, Esq. buried. 1594, Mary his daughter baptized 9 July, Elizabeth his daughter buried 18 May, 1594. 1595, Sir Tho. Knevet, Knt. buried 26 July. 1599, Robert, son of Tho. Knevet, Esq. buried 24 Dec. 1600, Theophilus, son of John Kendall, buried the 13 Dec. William his son, baptized 1 Nov. 1602, Anne his daughter 1605. 1608, June 5, Thomas Havers, and Katherine Kendal married. 1609, 24 Apr. Philip, son of Sir Phil. Knyvet, baptized. 1610, 28 June, Will. Knevet his son, baptized. 1610, 28 June, Katherine, the Lady Knevet, was buried. 1611, 15 Sept. Dorothy, daughter of Sir Philip Knevet, baptized. 1612, 30 Aug. Eliz. daughter of John Kendall, junior, baptized. 1613, 11 Aug. Mr. Clement Hurne and Mrs. Mary Knevet married. 1614, 2 June, Katherine, daughter of Sir Philip Knevet, baptized. 13 June, John, son of John Kendall, junior, baptized. 1615, Jan. 23, Robert, son of Sir Phil. Knevet, Bart. baptized. 1615, Will. son of Sir Philip, buried. 1616, John his son baptized. 1623, 14 June, William, son of John Kendall, junior, baptized. 1635, John Kendall buried 17 July.
Is bounded on the east by Wilby, on the west by Lerling and Snitterton, on the north by Harpham, and on the south by Quidenham; it hath one manor only, to which the advowson of the rectory now is, and always was, appendant. It is often called in French deeds, about the time of Edward III. L'Eglise, or the Church, which hath induced me sometimes to think, that it took that name by way of eminence, it being the Bishop's own church, and a place where most of them, to the time of Henry VIII. often resided in their palace here, as appears from the great number of persons that were instituted at this place, and from the additional name of Eccles Episcopi, or Bishop's Eccles, by which it was always distinguished from Eccles by the Sea.
The manor was very extensive, including all this town, great part of St. Andrew's parish in Bukenham, or all New-Bukenham, and the Hagh in Old-Bukenham, besides lands in most of the adjacent parishes. It was held by Ralf Earl of Norfolk, in the Confessor's time, and after, by Earl Ralf his son; they jointly gave it to Egelmar, or Ailmar, Bishop of Etmham, just before the Conquest, who held it of them, as did Bishop Arfast, or Herefast, who removed his see to Thetford; he was succeeded by William Galsagus, Bishop of Thetford, who held it at the time of the Conqueror's survey, not as belonging to the original revenues of his bishoprick, but as part of those revenues that his predecessors had been infeoffed in by other pious benefactors, as I take the title De Feudo in Domesday to signify, and not of his own fee or inheritance, as some interpret it had then 2, carucates in demean, wood able to maintain 100 hogs, pasture for 180 sheep, it was fallen from 5l. value to 3l. and was two miles long, and one broad, and paid 7d. geld. In the record called. Testa de Nevil, it appears it belonged to the Bishop, but they could not tell whether it was part of his barony, or whether he held it in free alms. In the year 1200, King John, by his charter under seal, dated at Gaytinton, 28 Nov. in the second year of his reign, confirmed to John Grey, Chief Justice of England, and Bishop of Norwich, bis great favourite, and to the church of the Holy Trinity at Norwich, and to the succeeding bishops and monks serving God there, all their lands, villages, churches, possessions, rents, tenements, liberties, and ancient customs, whatsoever, which they had confirmed and given them in the time of King Henry his grandfather, King Henry his father, and King Richard his brother; and also all the charters, deeds, grants, and gifts of all his ancestors. And furthermore, at the request of the said Bishop, by this charter he granted them throughout all their lands, sac and soc, toll, theam, infengenthef, &c. with the liberty of not serving at hundred courts, sheriffs turns, or any other courts out of their manors, and that they and the tenants residing in their manors, should transact every thing among themselves, at the views of frankpledge in their manors; and that all manner of felons goods, and forfeitures of the tenants and burgesses residing on the Bishop's demeans, should be free from all toll, pontage, paage, lastage, stallage, &c. throughout all England, for all goods which they shall buy, sell, and carry by water or land, except within the liberties of the city of London, with other large liberties expressed in the said charter, all which were exemplified under seal the 7th of Febr. 36th of Elizabeth, 1593, at the request of Thomas and James Plowman, alias Cann, and Thomas Barnes, inhabitants of Eccles, on the behalf, and for the use of, the tenants, townsmen, and inhabitants of the said town, who had enjoyed the same liberties from the first grant to the present time. In 1250, Walter Bishop of Norwich had a charter for free-warren here, and in all other demeans of his bishoprick. In 1286, he had view of frankpledge, assize of bread and ale, a ducking-stool, a gallows, and weyf, and from this time the manor continued in the bishoprick, till
Bishop Nix unfortunately falling under a premunire, for which he was by law to suffer perpetual imprisonment and loss of all his goods, was forced to purchase his peace of King Henry VIII. by exchanging the large estates (viz. 30 good manors and more) belonging to his bishoprick, for the abbey and revenues of St. Bennet of the Hulme; and that this agreement might remain firm for ever, the King procured that it should be settled by Act of Parliament, that the Bishop of Norwich should be always Abbot of St. Bennet of Hulme, and on the contrary, the Abbot of Hulme Bishop of Norwich; by which exchange this manor came to the Crown, and there continued till Nov. 12, 1559, when Queen Elizabeth granted the manor, advowson, sheep's walk, and all other privileges thereto belonging, to Sir Nicholas Baron, Knt. Lord-Keeper of the Great Seal, and to his heirs, to be held by him and them, in as full and ample a manner, as any of the ancient bishops held it, when it belonged to that sec. He conveyed it to Sir Nathaniel Bacon, Knight of the Bath, of Stiveky, or Stukey, in Norfolk, his youngest son, who kept court here, from about 1572 to 1595; he settled a moiety of it on Elizabeth, his second daughter and coheir, upon her marrying Sir Tho. Knevet, junior, Knt. son of Sir Tho. Knevet of Ashwellthorp, Knt.; and in 1631, this moiety was settled by Dame Elizabeth Knevet aforesaid, on Muriell, wife of Sir Charles Le-Grosse, Knt. of Crostweyt, and her heirs, Sir Roger Townshend, Sir Robert Gawdy, and others, being then concerned as coheirs of the estate of Sir Nathaniel Bacon, who had settled the other moiety on Sir Owen Smith in remainder, after the death of Dorothy, his second wife, eldest daughter of Sir Arthur Hopton, Knight of the Bath, at the coronation of King James, son of Sir Owen Hopton, Knt. which Dorothy was relict of William Smith of Burgh castle in Suffolk; and thus it continued in moieties for some time.
In 1622, Dame Dorothy Bacon, widow of Sir Nathaniel Bacon, kept court here; in 1629, Charles Le-Grosse, and Thomas Smith held a court. In 1638, Sir Thomas Hopton, Knt. and Arthur Hopton, Esq. held their first court for one moiety, and the year following Sir Ralf Hopton, Knt. held his first court for the same moiety. In 1640, Alice Smith, widow, and Sir Charles Le-Grosse, Knt. held their first court for the other moiety. In 1642, Sir Charles Le-Gros, Knt. and Fitz-Nunn Lambe, Esq. held their first court, the Hoptons having sold their moiety (as I suppose) to the Lambs, who after became possessed of the whole, in whose family it continued till about 1712, and then Mr. Edmund Lamb sold it to Mr. William Green of Stafford, whose son, William Green, Esq. became lord, but is lately dead, and Mrs. Mary Green of Eccles, his widow, is now  lady.
The Customs of this manor are, that the fine is at the lord's will, the tenants cannot waste their copyhold without license; the eldest son is heir; there is no leet fec or common fine, and it gives no dower.
The Commons belonging to this town are these, the Wroo, Rowse Hill, the Great Fen, the Little Fen, South Moore, North Moor, West Ling, or the further Heath, containing in all about 180 acres, on all which the lord hath no right of commonage, but it solely belongs to the tenants, who can common horses, cows, and all other cattle, and cut and carry away furze at all times from Rouse Hill, and the further Heath, and flags and turf from the fens,
There is a hamlet called Overey, which had a church formerly, for I meet with one Bartholomew, rector of Overey; but it never had any institution, which makes me think it always belonged to Eccles, and was served by that rector, because in the beginning of Henry VIII. Overey is said to belong to Eccles, as it now doth.
The Church is dedicated to St. Mary. It hath a round tower and three bells; the nave is leaded, the chancel and north porch tiled; the south isle (which hath a roof distinct from the nave) is thatched. It is a rectory in Norfolk archdeaconry and Rockland deanery, valued in the King's Books at 14l. per annum, and pays 1l. 8s. per annum tenths. It is altogether exempt from archidiaconal jurisdiction, and so pays no procurations, and it being the Bishop's own seat, he always excused the rector from payment of synodals, so that there are none paid, except at the general visitations. It is a small village, having much decreased for some time, by the lord's purchasing many of the cottages and small tenements. In 1603, it had 108 communicants, and now  it hath about 150 inhabitants; it paid 30s. a year to the tenths, and is now assessed at 338l. 10s. to the land tax. There is a rectory-house, which was built (according to report) by Bishop Nix, whose arms, with the arms of the see, were in the windows, but were lost when the house was burnt down a few years since, in Mr. Birch's time, who rebuilt it; there is a convenient quantity of glebe belonging to it.
In Bishop Nix's time, anno 1510, one Thomas, a priest of Norwich, was burned at Eccles: when he was in prison, he was by persuasion led away from his former opinions, wherefore, when he went to be burned, he would for penance be carried on sharp hurdles made of thorns.
This Bishop was certainly a greater bigot to Popery than could well consist with his learning and station, for when he was very old, he obstinately opposed the reformation then begun, and held secret correspondence with the court of Rome, though he had with a solemn oath openly renounced the Pope's supremacy. But at last being accused and convicted, he was imprisoned a long time in the Marshalsea, so that his own sufferings may in some measure clear him of his vices, and argue his sincerity in his religion, though erroneous.
- 1301, kal. April, Simon de Ely, sub-deacon.
- 1302, prid. non. Feb. William de Knapeton, priest, LL. D. the Bishop united it to the archdeaconry of Norwich, which Dr. Knapeton then held.
- 1324, 16 kal. May, Sir Solomon de Swaffham-Prior, sub-deacon.
- 1338, 18 May, John de Lenn, priest, changed Caston rectory with Solomon.
- 1340, 12 Oct. Roger de Haselarton, priest, changed his vicarage of Ailesham for this, with John de Lenn.
- 1341, 21 Sept. Robert de Brustewyk, priest, changed his rectory of Lameleye in York diocese, with Haselarton.
- 1349, 5 July, Simon Gyzam of Lynford, chaplain.
- 1357, The Pope named a rector, and certified the Bishop of it.
- 1400, July 6, Tho. Brademere de Hogham, priest; the Bishop wrote to the Dean of his own manors, to induct him according to custom, the Archdeacon never inducting any one in the Bishop's manors.
- 1401, 30 June, Nicholas Lyons, priest, in exchange with Brademere, for Rollesby.
- 1403, 4 Febr. John Park, alias Hundon, priest.
- 1424, 9 Nov. Bartholomew Belaghe of Norwich, priest.
- 1446, 5 Sept. Mr. Stephen Bole, chaplain, collated by the Bishop himself in his manor-house at Gaywood, who wrote to Mr. Nicholas Derman, official of the jurisdiction of his manors, to induct him.
- 1473, 30 Dec. Tho. Heyr, alias Johnson, priest.
- 1511, 10 March, George Mawer, LL.B on Heyr's death.
- Robert Walden, rector, chaplain to the Bishop, held it united to Wilby.
- 1530, 3 June, Cuthbert Owers, domestick chaplain to the Bishop, on Walden's death.
- 1542, Mr. Tho. Briggs, S. T. P. rector, buried here.
- 1551, Sir Robert Picto, rector, buried 4 Jan. 1564.
All the above were collated by the Bishops of Norwich.
- 1567, 30 Dec. Otwell Wytwood, clerk, who died April 30, 1586, and was buried here; he held Wilby also. Nicholas Bacon, Knt. Lord Keeper of the Great Seal.
- 1586, 24 June, Tho. Basham, A. B. buried her Feb. 2, 1638. Nath. Bacon, Esq.
- 1639, Ambrose Moneye.
- 1671, 17 Aug. Roger Bankes, A. M. The King, by lapse.
- 1688, 31 Jan. Simon Baldero, A.M. on Bankes's death. Simon Boldero, Gent.
- 1702, 22 Aug. Tho. Newson on Boldero's resignation. Edm. Lambe, Esq.
- 1705, 10 Aug. John Last, A. M. on Newson's cession. Ditto. He had Wilby also.
- 1720, 23 June, John Birch, A.M. on Last's death. William Green, Esq.
- 1721, 2 Nov. Will. Rushbrook, on Birch's resignation. Ditto.
- 1723, 12 Oct. Samuel Birch, A. M. on Rushbrook's resignation. Ditto.
- 1733, The Rev. Mr. John Hull, the present  rector, holds it united to Quidenham. Ditto.
The south isle of the church seems a later building than the nave, and was formerly appropriated to the Bishop's palace, but now belongs to the parish; the altar in it, in all probability, was dedicated to St. Nicholas the Bishop, his effigies being formerly painted on the walls. In the north chancel window was a picture of St. German, another of St. Anthony, and another of St. Bennet, and this under them,
Beate Antoni, ora pro nobis.
Sancte Benevicte, ora Pro nobis,
And the arms of Edward the Confessor, and Clifton and Tateshale, in the first half of the escutcheon, impaling Howard, but most of them are now lost.
On the north side of the chancel is a mural monument of white marble, exact in all things as that at p. 110, except the arms and crest of Birch, and this inscription:
SAMUEL BIRCH, A. M. Harborniæ in Agro Staffordiensi natus, Oxoniæ, in Collegio Pembr: Educatus, Hujus Ecclesiæ per Novem fere Annos, Pastor dignissimus, Vir vere Reverendus, et doctus, et pius, et admodum Justus, hic beatam expectans Resurrectionem, placide in Domino obdormit, obijt duodecimo die Decembris, Anno Redemptionis humanæ, 1732° Ætatis suæ 32°.
Posuit, Maria, Uxor Gulielmi Green Armigeri, Soror amantissima.
William Green, Esq. eldest son and heir of William Green, Esq. deceased, (who is buried in the chancel,) hath a seat here,  and is lord and patron, after the decease of Mrs. Mary Green his mother, who holds it in jointure: his arms are, per pale, gul. and az. a chevron between three bucks passant or.
From the old Register, which begins 20 Jan. 30 Hen. VIII. 1538. 1543, Agnes, daughter of Mr. George Briggs of Saul, died. 154—, Edward Nobs and Richard Pollard died at Norwich in the time of the insurrection. (They were killed in Kett's rebellion.) 1580, Dorothy, daughter of Paul Gooch, and Rose his wife, was baptized. 1593, Tho. Wade of New-Bukenham, and Fortuna Chambers were married. 1600, Jan. 27, Math. Baron, Gent, buried. 1601, Paul Gooch, Gent, buried. 1606, George Rogers, rector of Bridgham, and Elizabeth, relict of James Leaver of Snitterton, clerk, were married April 23, 1612, Isaac Bentley, clerk, curate of Old-Bukenham, and Elizabeth Barker of the same, were married 23 Aug. 1626, Michael Robinson of Norwich, Gent, and Dorothy Colby of Banham married.
This town never had but one manor, of which Ulf, a freeman, was lord in the time of the Confessor, when it was valued at 20s.; at the Conquest it was given to R. de Bellofago (or Beaufo) who gave it to Caurincus, who held it of him at the survey, when it had 3 carucates of land in demean, worth 30s. and was a mile long, and a mile broad, and paid 6d. ob. 1q. Danegeld. The descendants of this Caurincus assumed to themselves the sirname of Herkeham, Harcham, Hargham, or Harpham, for their name, as well as that of the town, was oftentimes spelled different, according to the age it was wrote in. This family soon became very numerous, for in Henry the First's time there were three several branches of it in good repute; but I shall only take notice of the eldest family, which all along held the manor; and the oldest that I meet with is William de Herkeham, whose son, Tho de Harcham, succeeded him; Henry de Harcham, his son, sealed with a lion saliant, as did Thomas de Harcham, his son, whose son, William de Harcham, was lord in 1249, and conveyed the manors and advowsons of Swantone and Harugham to Thomas his son for life, in 1279; and afterwards the said William granted it to Sir Warine, son of Thomas de Hereford, or Herforth of Swanthone, and his heirs, Sir John de Eschalers, Knt. and others being witnesses; and immediately after, the said Warine gave this and Swantone manors and advowsons to Henry de Herford, his brother, for life, on condition that he should perform all the services due to the lords of the fees, during the time he enjoyed them, and in particular the castle-ward due for the fee of Hockering. This deed is dated at Gressenhall, on the kalends of October, 1279. This Henry, before 1313, conveyed the advowson to John de Herford, of Swanton-Marshall, (now called Swanton-Morley,) his brother, who presented Adam de Herford, another brother, after which it was reconveyed to him again, and settled on Mabell his mother, then wife of Tho. de Lavenham, for her life, and they presented in 1330. In 1345, 20th Edward III. the said Thomas settled all his manors of Swanington, Badburgham (now Babram) in Cambridgeshire, and Hargham, with the advowson of Hargham, after his mother's death, on Maud de Lancaster Countess of Ulster, Nicholas Gernon, John Casteleyn, her trustees, and John, son of Warine de Herford, and Mabell his wife, who was brother and heir to Henry, released their right, so that the fee became vested in Maud de Lancaster, relict of Will, de Burgh Earl of Ulster, who obtained leave of King Edward III. at the intercession of Henry Earl of Lancaster, her brother, to found a chantry, of a master and four chaplains, in the chapel of the Annunciation of the Blessed Virgin, in the priory church belonging to the nuns at Campesse in Suffolk, to the laud and honour of God, and the Holy Virgin, for the souls of William de Burgh, formerly Earl of Ulster, her first husband, and of Ralph de Ufford, her second husband, who is buried in the said chapel, and of Elizabeth de Burgh and Maud de Ufford, her daughters, and also for her own soul, and those of John de Ufford and Thomas de Hereford, or Herford, Knts. then living, that is, for their welfare when alive, and their souls when dead; and in order to endow it, the King granted license to the prioress and nuns of Campesse, to receive and hold in mortmain the advowsons of the churches of Burgh in Suffolk and Hargham in Norfolk, of the gift of the said Countess, and to assign them to the custos of the said chantry for ever, with license to appropriate them to the custos and chaplains for ever, for their maintenance. But, about 1355, she obtained a confirmation under the broad seal, of certain letters patent, under the seals of William Bishop of Norwich, of the prioress of Campseye, and chaplains of Bruseyerd chantry, in which it was declared, that the religious lady, Maud de Lancaster, then nun of the collegiate church of Campesse, and late Countess of Ulster, having founded the said chaplains, to reside in Ashe, and serve in the priory church at Campesse, which was too great a distance, they all agreed to remove the chantry to Brusyerd, to the manor-house called Rokhalle, where the chaplains did, and do now, dwell; and whereas it was certified by Lionel Duke of Clarence and Earl of Ulster, that the chaplains went in secular habits, neglected their office, and wasted the revenues of the chantry, they all gave him leave to appropriate all the revenues of the chantry to sustain an abbess, and other religious women, of the order of St. Clare, in Rokehall, in Brusyerd aforesaid, and to erect an abbey, and endow it with whatever belonged to the chantry; upon which the abbey was erected, and this advowson transferred to the abbess, who presented to the Dissolution. And in 1376, the King licensed Sir William de Wychingham, Knt. Sir Nicholas Gernon, Knt. and Roger Wolferston, to give the manor of Hargham, which was then held of the Lord William Morley, as of his manor of Hockering, at one fee, as parcel of his barony of Rhye, and the capital messuage, 160 acres of land, 3 acres of meadow, 10 acres of pasture, and 20s. rent, in North and South, Reppes, Cromere, Thorp, and Gimingham, to Emme Beauchamp, then abbess of Brusyerd, and her successours for ever; and William de Morley, Marshal of Ireland, released the services and fealty doe from that fee, to the abbess; and from this time the manor and advowson belonged to that abbey till its dissolution, and was then granted, in 1538, by the King, together with the advowson, and all other lands belonging to the abbey lying in Hargham, or Harpham, 10
Nicholas Hare, and Katherine his wife, and their heirs, to be held in capite, at half a knight's fee; and in 1539, Nicholas Hare aforesaid, Esq. had license to sell the whole to John Green, and his heirs, who had a great estate in Wilby, Snitterton, Banham, Attleburgh, Hargham, Old-Bukenham, and Kenninghall, who in 1548, settled it by the King's license, on Tho. Green, his son, who in the same year made a jointure of it to Frances his wife, who held it to her death in 1580, and then it descended equally among their daughters and coheirs; Rose, then married to Paul Gooch, Gent, of Bamham; Prudence, to John Launce; Susan, Elizabeth, and Thomasine being single, and under age, were under the care of the Court of Wards. In 1583, Paul Gooche, and Rose his wife, John Launce of Halesworth, and Prudence his wife, William Brook of Eston in Suffolk, and Susan his wife, Thomas Colby of Banham, Gent, and Elizabeth his wife, and William Hunston of Walsokne in Norfolk, and Thomasine his wife, were possessed each of a fifth part, and Paul Gooch hired the whole. In 1584, Tho. Colby had license to purchase the fifth part of the manor and advowson of William Hunston, and Thomasine his wife, and in the same year had license to sell two fifth parts of the manor and advowson, to Francis Bolton, and John Goldyngham of Banham, and the heirs of Bolton; and in 1586, they all joined, and conveyed the whole absolutely to Paul Gooch and his heirs, who, in 1587, sold the whole to Henry Gurnay, Esq. who sold it to Richard Hovell, junr. Esq. of Hillington, and he to Sir Ralph Hare, Knt. who settled it in 1620 on Sir Tho. Coventrye, Knt. upon the marriage of his son with Sir Thomas's daughter, from which time it hath passed in the Hares, as the following pedigree will demonstrate.
The Customs were these; the eldest son was heir; the fines were at the lord's will, and it gave no dower; the leet belonged to the hundred; the leet fee 1s. 4d.; but now there is neither leet nor tenants, the whole being exchanged and manumised, or in the lord's own hands.
This rectory is valued in the King's Books at 4l. 4s. 2d. and being sworn of the clear yearly value of 34l. 1s. 8d. it is discharged of first fruits and tenths, though it pays yearly 1s. 3d. synodals, and 3s. procurations. It hath a rectory-house, and 30 acres, 2 roods, and an half of glebe.
In the time of Edward I. the rector had a house and 40 acres of land, and the rectory was not taxed, and so paid no first fruits. Domsd. Norwic.
It is a small village, the whole (except one farm) being purchased by the lords, hath reduced it to 6 houses, and about 50 inhabitants, though it had 55 communicants in 1603; it paid 30s. a year to the tenths, and is now assessed at 230l. to the land tax.
The Church is dedicated to all the Saints, and it hath a nave, chancel, and south porch tiled, a square tower, and three bells.
At the entrance of the south door, on two small brass plates,
Orate pro anima Augnetys Gall, cuius annime propicietur Deus.
Orate pro anima Chome Gall, cuius anime propicietur Deus.
There are stones by the north door for,
ROBERT STEWARD, who died Febr. 7, 1674, and BRIDGITT, who died in 1667.
On the bells,
1.Sancta Maria Magvalena ora pro nobis.
2.Ave Maria Gratia plena Dominus terum.
3.Sancte Evmonve ora pro nobis.
On a black marble before the desk,
XXVIIIvo. die Augusti, Anno Domini Mdccxxviii. obijt Henricus Pitts Clericus, Coll: Divi Johannis Evang: Cantabr: A. B. hujus Ecclesiæ parochialis de Hargham, per Ann. XL. Rector, Ecclesiæ de Rowdham per annos XVII Vicarius, Vir in omni Doctrinæ Genere Eruditus, omnibus Honestus, sic vixit, sic mortuus est; Hic, Lector, optimum habes Exemplar, Abi igitur, et tu fac Similiter.
There were divers arms on the old roof of the chancel, (all which were defaced when the new roof was erected,) as I learn from a manuscript among Mr Le Neve's Collections, viz.
Vere, Howard, Verdon, Beauchamp, St.George, Branch; and these; arg. a fess gul. between three birds sab. three fusils in fess. Arg. three lozenges gul. a lion rampant arg. on a fess gul. three plates. Az. a cross ingrailed arg. Quarterly arg. and gul. in the second and third quarters a frette arg. over all a bend sab. Arg. two bars az. Az. three cinquefoils arg. Gul. six roses 3, 2, 1, arg.
The following inscriptions are on black marbles in the chancel,
Hare, with a mullet, impales Geary, gul. two bars or, on each three mascles az. on a canton a leopard's face. Crest, a demi-lion holding a croslet fitchee.
Spe Resurrectionis, hic subtus jacet Nicholaus Hare Armiger, ê quinque Filijs Johannis Hare de Stow Bardolph, in agro Norff: Militis, et Elizabethæ Filiæ primæ, Thomæ Domini Coventrij, Baronis de Allesborough, Magni Sigilli Angliæ Custodis, Quartus et Superstes, Katherinam Filiam, Gulielmi Geary de Bushmead, in Comitatu Bedfordiæ Armigeri primogenitam, Uxorem duxit, E quâ Prolem Solam e Cunabulis superstitem, Radulphum, hujus Marmoris Positorem, suscitavit, et post triginta fere annos castæ Viduitatis, Exuvias suas apud Hargham, deposuit, xv. Novembris Anno Salutis MDCLXXXIX, Ætatis suæ LVII jam exeunte, Rarum Maritatis et paterni amoris Exemplum.
Pius, justus, Prudens et eruditus, fælixque expertus, Quod bene vixit, qui bene latuit.
The arms and crest of Hare, as before, impaling Willis, per fess arg. and gul. three lions rampant counter-changed, in a bordure ermine.
Hic requiescit in Domino, RADOLPHUS HARE Armiger, NICHOLAI Patris et KATHERINÆ Matris, Filius unicus et Hæres, duxit in Uxorem ANNAM Domini JOHANNIS WILLIS de Ditton in Agro Cantabrigiensi Baronetti, Filiam natù maximam, Cui sex Filij, totidemque Filiæ nati, octo superstites sunt; Vir probus, pius, et doctus, Legibus Regni Municipalibus acurate peritus, proindeque clarissimo interioris Templi Londinensis Hospitio, in illustrem Assessorum Societatem merito evectus est, Anno 1706, Cumque Dei Opt: Max: Cultorem devotissimum Religionis reformatæ in Ecclesiâ Anglicanâ, Propugnatorem strenuum, regiæ Majestati, subditum fidelissimum, serenissimis Principibus GULIELMO et MARIA ANNAQUE regnantibus, Pacis Conservatorem vigilantissimum (eximia cum Laude et Honore) diù sese præstitisset, incurabilis tandem Febris Rabie, subito correptus, Ex hac miserâ in æternam Vitam fæliciter emigravit, decimo sexto die Novembris, anno Ætatis suæ 52° Redemptionis nostræ 1709.
In piam cujus Memoriam, ANNA dilectissima mæstissimaque Uxor et Relicta, Monumentum hoc deposuit Ann: Dom: 1710.
Hare's arms in a lozenge.
ALICIA HARE, Johannis Hare Militis, et Dominæ Elizabethæ Uxoris, Filia Natû minima, Inter charissimum Fratrem Nicholaum et Nepotem Radulphum, hic jacet sepulta, Quæ dum vixit, Pietatis in Deum, Charitatis in Egenos, Sexus sui extitit laudabile Exemplar, Nata apud Stow Bardolph, et ibidem baptizata, 12 Septembris, 1637, et in hac Villa denata, 26 Aprilis 1713, Ætatis suæ 76,
Johannes et Thomas Hare Nepos Pronepos.
Fideles Executores, Hoc Monumentum pie posuerunt.
Hare's arms in a lozenge.
Catherine, fourth daughter of Ralph Hare of Hargham in Norfolk, Esq; and Ann his wife, died Aug. 23, 1722. aged 20 Years.
Hare and Willis, impaled in a lozenge.
P.M.S. ANNÆ, Viduæ et Relictæ, RADODPHI HARE de Hargham Armigeri, Filiæ natu maximæ Domini JOHANNIS WILLIS, de Ditton in Agro Cantabrigiensi Baronetti; eidem RADOLPHO, per XVIII Annos desponsatæ, quem Prole duodena beavit, Thoma, Maria, Anna, Susanna, Johanne, Radolpho, Nicholao, Catherina, Margareta, Radolpho, Johanne, Elizabetha, Equibus Johannes, Radolphusque priores, ut et Nicholaus, Catherina, et Margareta, Vita functi sunt, Cæteri septem supersunt. Quæ ANNA, postquam Annos XIX Maritum supervixisset, tandem die XXV° Septembris A. D. MDCCXXVIII°, Animam Deo reddidit, Anno Ætatis suæ LVII° currente. Stirpe clara, Dotibus clarior, Pietate clarissima, Religionis pure Christianæ, Dogmata Verbis tueri, Præcepta Factis ornare, perita, assueta. Fidelissima Conjux amantissimaque; Vidua, non abscedens a Templo, diu noctuque Deum colens; Parens indulgentissima; Mater-familias prudentissima; omnibus benigna, proindeque deflenda. In cujus Memoriam ANNA, Filia mœstissima, Testamenti Executrix, hunc Lapidem P.F. A.D. MDCCXXX°.
A black marble with Hare's crest and arms, hath this,
Suppositæ hic jacent THOMÆ HARE Armigeri, hujus Parochiæ, et Domini et Patroni, Vir Pius, et vere honestus, hinc Morte subita abreptus, Spe haud incerta, ad beatam Resurrectionis Vitam. Cujus Memoriam hoc Monumento mandavit, MARIA, Uxor Charissima, obijt vicesimo die Decembris Ano Dom Mdccxxxvi°. Ætatis suæ xlv°.
- 1581, Thomas Chapman, clerk, and Margery Mean, married. 1587, Ant. son of Paul Gooch, Gent, and Rose his wife, bapt. 1592, John Mounteforte, Gent, and Elizabeth Butler, Gentlewoman, married. 1593, Edw. Green, Gent, buried. 1674, Robert Steward, Gent, buried. 1681, Henry Warner, Gent, buried. 1660, collected 2s. 2d. for the burning of Fakenham in Norfolk. 1662, the burning of Beccles in Suffolk. 1682, Mrs. Catherine Warner paid for burial of her husband in the chancel.
The plate belonging to this church is only a silver cup and cover.
- 1281, Sir Walter. Sir Henry de Herforth, patron.
- 1313, 9 kal. Oct. Adam de Herford, accolite, was instituted to the rectory of Harpham, at the presentation of John de Herford of Swanton-Marshall, and Mabell his wife, true patrons.
- 1330, 5 kal. Oct. Ralph de Mendham, priest. Tho. de Lavenham, and Mabell his wife.
- 1347, 23 May, Pain de Sancto Claro, chaplain. The Prioress of Campesse.
- 1376, 25 July, John Kenfleg, priest. The Abbess of the Blessed Virgin Mary of Buresyerd.
- 1418, 13 March, John Walle of Grundesburgh, priest. Ditto.
- 1450, 23 Oct. Sir Tho. Cropp, or Scroop, alias Bradley, on Wall's death. Ditto.
- 1481, 30 Jan. Will. Rychardysson. Ditto.
- 1489, 19 May, Rob. Stele, priest. Ditto.
- 1498, 8 May, John Dowe, on Stele's resignation. Margery Calthorp, Abbess of Brusyerd.
- 1505, 29 Apr. Sir John Browne, chaplain. The Abbess of Brusyerd.
- 1508, 10 Jan. Walter Grey, on Browne's resignation. Ditto.
- 1511, 22 Oct. Richard Hilton, on Grey's resignation. Ditto.
- 1522, 13 Jan. Tho. Nicholson, on Hilton's death. Ditto.
- 1539, 20 Sept. Robert Ferhande, chaplain, on Nicholson's death. John Green, Esq.
- 1542, 27 April, Sir Tho. Marshe, chaplain, on Farande's death. Ditto.
- 1555, 15 Octob. Tho. Piersonne, on Marshe's resignation. Ditto.
- 1556, 30 Sept. Gilbert Seaman, on Pierson's death. Tho. Green, Gent.
- 1557, 23 Octob. Edward Jackson, priest, on Seaman's resignation. Ditto.
- 1580, 27 June, William Jones, Clerk. Paul Gooch, Gent, in right of Rose his wife.
- 1583, 8 Jan. Roger Morris. Queen Elizabeth, by lapse.
- 1585, 2 Dec. John Gildensleve, on Morris's resignation. Paul Gooch, Gent.
- 1587, 13 May, John Briggham, on Gildensleve's resignation. Ditto.
- 1587, 9 July, Tho. Bloode. Richard Marten, Gent.
- 1518, 9 Sept. Edward Risleigh, A.M. on Bloode's resignation.
Henry Gurney, Esq.; he held it united to Thorp-Abbots.
- 1602, 5 July, Nic. Ryselye, on Edw. Risley's resignation. Ditto.
- 1616, 30 Aug. Edward Smith, A.M. Sir Ralph Hare, Knt.
- 1647, 22 Dec. John Benn, A.M. on the promotion of Edward Smith. Gregory Gawswell, Esq.
- 1652, Gerrard Harrison, rector.
- 1662, Samuel Leader.
- 1666, 11 June, Henry Gill, A. B. on Leader's resignation. Nicholas Hare, Esq.
- 1676, 2 July, Tho. Bliford, A. B. on Gill's death. Ditto.
- 1681, 5 April, Henry Prettie, A. B. on Bliford's death. Ditto.
- 1689, 25 March, Henry Pitts, on Prettie's resignation. Ditto; he held Rowdham.
- 1729, 29 July, Francis Blomefield, clerk. Tho. Hare of Harpham, Esq. he held it united to Fersfield.
- 1730, The Rev. Mr. John Hare, the present rector, on Blomefield's resignation. Tho. Hare, of Harpham, Esq. his eldest brother. He holds it united to Wilby. [1737.]
SNETRETUNA, SNISTERTUNA, SNISTERTON, or SNETTERTON, as it is now called, is a village lying between Harpham and Lerling, and had in it two parish churches, one dedicated to all the Saints, and the other to St. Andrew the Apostle, which is now down, and the ruins with difficulty found in the Hall-Yard.
The Church of All-Saints, the present parish church, is a good building, having its nave, north isle, north porch, south porch, and chancel leaded, a square steeple, and four bells. In the nave, on a small brass in a seat,
Orate pro Anima Cecilie Bokynham, File Georgii Bokyynham, et Margarete U roris sue.
Over the rood is a defaced painting of the last day, on the top is our Saviour sitting on the judgment-seat, saying to the blessed on his right hand, Come ye blessed of my father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you; and to the cursed on his left, Depart from me ye cursed into everlasting fire. The windows contain the history of the Revelations, with the Apostles, each having a sentence of the Creed in a label from his mouth.
The east window of the north isle is filled with angels supporting these arms.
Morley. Gul. a saltire arg. impaling quarterly, first, arg. a lozenge gul. second arg. a bend az.
Morley, impaling quarterly De-la-pole and Wyngfield.
Arg. a lion rampant, or, crowned gul. impales Bokenham, viz. arg. a lion rampant gul. surmounted with a bendlet az. charged with three bezants.
Quarterly, arg. and az. a bendlet gobonne sab. and or, impaling arg. a lion rampant or.
Arg. a canton and two fesses gul. impales, Vair, sab. and or.
Other north isle windows have the history of the creation, of Christ's baptism, of St. Christopher, &c. with the legends in labels.
In the chancel, are many disrobed stones of the Bokenhams, on George's stone these arms remain, viz, a lion rampant impaling Bokenham, who quarters three roundels 2 and 1, on the first a croslet moline.
These two inscriptions are preserved in Mr. Weaver, fol. 817.
Orate pro Anima Georgii Bokenham Armigeri, de Snisterton, Filii et Nerevis Johannis Bokenham, qui obiit rrio vie Ortobris, Anno Dni: M.CCCCC.rriii. cuius Anime propricietur
Orate pro Anima Johannis Bokenham Armigeri, nuper Filii Hugonis Bokenham ve Leveriner Magna, necnon nepotis er Here vis Evmunvi Bokenham ve Snisterston, qui obiit rv. vie Men sis Octobris Anno Dui: MoCCCColrrriiio et pro animabus Anne et Johanne quorum animabus
In the east chancel window,
Aia: Mri: Roberti Spylman, et amicor suor mccccl
In the north chancel window, the cup and wafer in a glory, with Spilman's arms over it, and this underneath.
Magister Robertus Spylman confivit in domino.
This Robert, in 1446, was instituted rector, at the presentation of Edmund Bokenham of Snetterton, Esq.; and about 1450, he new glazed the chancel windows with beautiful painted glass, when the church windows were glazed by the parishioners, and the north isle windows by the lord.
This rectory is valued in the King's Books at 12l. 17s. 1d. and pays 1l. 5s. 8d. ob. yearly tenths It hath a good rectory-house joining to the south side of the churchyard, with a convenient glebe belonging to it, of 60 acres.
Rectors Of All Saints
- 1257, Mr. Tho. de Ingaldesthorp, rector. Ralph de Bukenham, patron.
- 1281, Mr. John, rector of All- Saints.
- 1311, 5 kal. Mar. The Bishop, in his manor of Geywode, granted the sequestration for six months to Robert de Fuldone, priest, who was presented by Sir Hugh de Bokenham, Knt.
- 1317, 3 non. Mar. John de Bokenham, accolite. Hugh de Bokenham, Knt. his brother.
- 1349, 4 July, John de Bokenham, shaveling. Alice, widow of Sir Hugh Bokenham, Knt.
- 1352, 9 May, Walter de Elveden, professor of civil law, precentor of the church of Hereford, on the death of John de Bokenham. Ditto.
- 1359, 9 May, Nicholas Bokenham, clerk. Ditto.
- 1362, 27 Nov. Roger Dennay, or Dawnay. Lapse.
- 1391, 20 June, Tho. de Bosevill, accolite. Julian, formerly wife of Hugh de Bokenham.
- 1435, 4 June, the church of St. Andrew in Snetterton was consolidated to the church of All-Saints there, at the request of Emund Bukenham, then patron of both, and of Tho. de Bosvyle, rector of both.
- 1446, 3 Octob. Master Robert Spylman, priest, bachelor in the decrees, was instituted to Snetterton Utraque, at Bosvyle's death, at the presentation of Edmund de Bukenham, Esq. The 6th Sept. 1464, he was made master of St. Gregory's college in Sudbury, on the death of Hen. Sethyng, last master.
- 1467, 19 Jan. Master John Newman, LL.D. on Spylman's death. Edmund de Bukenham, Esq.
- 1492, 14 Oct. Thomas Dykys, priest. Lapse.
- 1449, 5 July, Walter Redmayne, priest, D. D. on Dykys's resignation. Grorge Bukenham, Esq.
- 1504, 21 Dec. William Throgmerton, LL.D. on Redman's resignation. Ditto.
- 1530, Stephen Galle, clerk, buried here Dec. 3, 1556. Ditto.
- 1557, 5 March, Sir Edmund Burrough, clerk, vicar of Runham, at Galle's death, buried 27 Nov. 1578. Tho. Carill, Esq. and Dorothy his wife.
- 1578, 9 Feb. John Weston, clerk. Nicholas Hare, Esq. of Stow-Bardolph.
- 1582, 23 July, Edmund Riseley, clerk, on Weston's death. Ditto.
- 1588, 8 Octob. Ralph Leaver, clerk, buried June 3, 1605. Ditto.
- 1605, 25 Octob. James Branthwayte, A. M. buried 10 Feb. 1632. Sir Ralph Hare, Knt.
- 1633, 21 June, Edward Bentley, clerk, buried 24 May, 1641. Sir John Hare, Knt.
- 1641, Samuel Rogers.
- 1644, 1 May, Thomas Martin, clerk, buried 1659. Elizabeth, relict of Sir John Hare.
- 1659, 10 Dec. Robert Seppens, clerk, resigned in 1666, for Hingham. John Hare, Esq.
- 1668, 12 Febr. Walpole Chamberleyn, A. B. on Seppen's resignation. John Hare of Sidestrond, second son of Sir John Hare.
- 1668, 2 Sept. Richard Neech, A. M. on Chamberleyn's cession. Ditto.
- 1670, 15 Febr. Anthony Neech, A.B. on his brother's resignation; he died Octob. 5, 1730, aged 84, as his grave-stone in the altar rails informs us. Ditto.
- 1780, the Rev. Mr. Nicholas Neech, his son, is now  rector, and holds it united to Shropham vicarage. Tho. Hare of Harpham, Esq.
Rectors of St. Andrew's
- 1257, Sir William Le Parker, rector. Ralph de Bukenham, patron.
- 1281, Ralph Corde, rector. Sir Hugh Bukenham, Knt.
- 1308, 12 kal. Apr. Nicholas de Frengge, accolite. Ditto.
- 1311, 4 id. Nov. Ralph de Fuldone, priest. Ditto.
- 1332, 4 non. January, Richard Galyon de Sandringham, accolite. Hugh, son of Sir Hugh de Bukenham, Knt.
- 1349, 26 Oct. Edmund de Welholm, shaveling. Alice, relict of Hugh de Bukenham.
- 1358, 8 Nov. Henry de Etyndon, priest, on Welholm's resignation. Ditto.
- 1382, 25 Sept. John Arteys, priest. Julian de Bokenham.
- 1394, 7 March, Henry Strok, priest. Joan, relict of Hugh Bokenham of Sneterton.
- 1398, 5 Aug. John Somerby, priest, on Strok's resignation. Joan Bukenham, lady of Snetterton.
- 1399, 12 April, Tho. Galle of Snetterton, accolite. Julian de Bokenham. At his death in 1435, it was consolidated to All-Saints, by Edmund Bukenham, Esq. patron of both, and Tho. Bosvile, rector of both; and being thus joined, about the time of Henry VIII. the church was pulled down. At the time of Norwich Domesday, Hugh de Kywelsle, or Kinesle, was patron, and the rector had a house and 10 acres of land. This advowson was purchased by Sir Hugh de Bokenham, father of Ralph, of Jeffery de Kinesle, son of Hugh de Kynesly.
There were two Gilds in this town, the one called, the Fraternity of the Holy Trinity, and the other of St. John; they had a gild-hall which stood on the other side of the road, against the end of the chancel; they were dissolved in the year 1548, and the hall, and 4 acres of land thereto belonging, came to the Crown, and there continued till Queen Elizabeth, by letters patent dated 26 Jan. 1569, granted it to Nicase Yetswert, Esq. and Barth. Brokesby, Gent. and their heirs, to be held of her manor of East Greenwich, in free soccage, by fealty only, and not in capite, without any annual payment whatever; and afterwards it was sold several times before the lord purchased it, and pulled it down.
In 1528, the Prior of Bukenham was taxed at 3s. 10d. ob. for his temporals in this town, which were divers small pieces of land given to their house by the Bokenhams.
It paid to the tenths 3l. 10s. is now  assessed to the King's tax at 420l. and hath about 200 inhabitants.
Snetterton, in the Confessor's time, was two towns; the south part of it, with All-Saint's church, was known by the present name, but the north part, with St. Andrew's church thereto belonging, was then called Essebei, or Ashby, and continued that distinction at the Conqueror's survey, and some time after. Snetterton part was owned by Ailwin in the Confessor's time, and by Roger Bigot in the Conqueror's, of whom Ralph, brother of Ailwin, then held it, the manor being worth 20s.; the whole of Snetterton and Ashby was two miles long and one broad, and paid 17d. 1q. Danegeld. Ashby part was held by Earl Ralph in the Confessor's days, and by him forfeited to the Crown, and the Conqueror committed it to Earl Goderic's care, at which time it was of the same value as Snetterton, viz. 20s. a year. These two parts afterwards became four manors, Old Hall, New Hall, Can Hall, and Grimes, the Customs of all which are, that the fines are at the lord's will, and the eldest son is heir; they have no leet belonging to them, but it always did, as it now doth, belong to the lord of the hundred, to whom they pay a leet fee of 2s. 8d.
The Manor of Old Hall
Was part of Snetterton at the Conquest; Ailwin was lord of it in the Confessor's time, and Ralph his brother held it at the survey, of Roger Bigot, who infeoffed William de Albany in it, upon his marrying his daughter Maud, of whom Richard de Snetterton, the descendant of Ralph, held it; he was succeeded by Hugh, (first sirnamed Rufus, or the Red,) and afterward de Bukenham, and sometimes de Snitterton, his son, whose son William de Snitterton, alias de Bukenham, married one of the daughters and coheiresses of Sir Benedict de Angerville, lord of West-Newton, West-Herling, and of Kerhalle in Snetterton, all which came to the said William, and Nicholas de Beaufo, who married the other heiress; his son, Hugh de Bokenham, alias de Snitterton, and Will. de Beaufo, held half a fee here of the Earl of Arundell, in the time of Henry III. He was succeeded by Ralph de Bukenham, his son, who, in 1203, gave 14l. by his guardian, Godfrey de Albany, to have his seventh part of the inheritance of Gosceline de Lodnes, in right of his mother Alice, who was daughter and coheir of Ralph de Somerton, son of Ralph de Somerton, son of Hugh de Somerton and Susan his wife, sister and coheir of Gosceline de Lodnes. This Ralph gave the tithe of the pannage of his wood in Bukenham, and the advowson of West Newton, to the monks at Wimondham, and Hugh de Beaufo released his right in it. He left Hugh de Bukenham, his eldest son and heir, who married Margaret, daughter of Miles Le-Parker, (Parcarius, or the Parkkeeper), brother of William Le-Parker, rector of Eccles by the Sea, who outlived him, and left Hugh de Bokenham, alias Snitterton, his son and heir, who, in the year 1290, assigned to Margaret his mother part of the mansion-houses at Snetterton and Herling, the third turn of Snetterton All-Saints, and the third parts of Snetterton and Herling manors. In 1324, upon his marriage, he settled his manors of Snctterton and West-Herting, with the advowsons of All-Saints, and St. Andrew's, the advowsons of Stuston and Ockle in Suffolk, and lands, homages, &c. in Stuston, Ockle, Hargham, Lerling, Whidenham, and Wilby, on Sir John de Bokenham, parson of Snitterton, his brother, Sir Edmund de Baconsthorp, and Nicholas, son of Sir Gregory de Castello, for the use of Alice his wife for life, and died in 1339, and was buried here; she died before 1365, and the whole then came to Hugh de Bokenham, her eldest son, who married Julian, heiress of Sir John de Thelvetham, with whom he had the manor of Thelvetham, Livermere, &c. in Suffolk, and by will ordered to be buried by the tombs of his ancestors in Snetterton All-Saints, leaving Julian his wife executrix, and Sir John de Thelvetham supervisor, who, jointly with Roger Dawney, parson of All-Saints, Will. de Rougham, and others, trustees of Hugh de Bokenham deceased, settled their manors of Snitterton, Carhall, and Eldehall, with the advowsons, on the said Julian for life. In 1385, she and her trustees settled them on Hugh her son, on his marriage with Joan, daughter of Robert Ashfield, Esq. who died about 1393; and in the year 1399, the trustees covenanted to settle the manors on Hugh, and Joan daughter of Sir John Bruse, and their heirs male, if they should be married on Thursday next before the Purification of our Lady, at Norwich, (as they were,) and not otherwise, reserving. Julians life in them, and that the said Hugh, and John and John, his brothers, should release West-Herling to other uses, to the same trustees.
This Hugh was dead before 1425, for in that year Hugh, son of this Sir Hugh, confirms to Joan, then wife of Oliver Grosse, the manor called Newhall in Snetterton, which he held in right of Joan during her life, who had it settled on her by his father at their marriage; this Joan died before 1433, and Edmund de Bokenham inherited; and in that year settled his manors of Oldhalle, Newhalle, and Kerhalle, and the advowsons of All-Saints and St. Andrew's, &c. to divers uses, probably upon marrying Dionise his wife. He died at Norwich in 1479, without issue, and was buried in the chapel of our Lady in the Fields there, and by will ordered, that his feoffees in Oldhall and Kerhall manors should continue their estates till George, son of John Bokenham, his cousin, was 21 years old, who then was to be his heir, he being son of John Bokenham of Snitterton and Livermere, Esq. by Anne, daughter of John Hopton of Yoxford, Esq. which John was son of Hugh Bokenham of Great Livermere, Esq. by Emme, daughter of Robert Scarke, which Hugh was brother to Edmund the testator, and all along had Newhall manor of his father's gift; he died in 1467, and was buried in St. Peter's church at Great Livermere, and gave his manors of Lyvermere and Newton to Emma his wife, for life, and the manor of Thelvetham to John his son, &c. who died seized of Thelvetham and Livermere in 1484, and was buried in AllSaints church here, by Anne Hopton his wife; he gave to Trinity and St. Johns Gilds in this church, 6s. 8d. each, and to Joan, his second wife, who survived him, all his household goods, leaving the aforesaid George Bokenham, Esq. his son, who became lord of the manors of Oldhall, Newhall, and Kerhalle, as heir to Edmund Bokenham, Esq. his kinsman, and Hugh his grandfather; he first married Christian, daughter of William De-Grey of Merton in Norfolk, Esq. who died in 1492, and lies buried in the middle isle of Merton church; and afterwards to Margaret, daughter and heiress of Francis Heath of Worlington, by Mildenhall in Suffolk, Esq. by whom he had issue, John Bokenham, Esq. his second son, from whom the Thornham family descended, and Tho. Bokenham of Great Livermere, Esq. his eldest son and heir, who had Snetterton, Livermere, &c.; he married Elizabeth, daughter of John Jenour of Great Dunmow in Essex, who had Livermere, Snetterton, &c. for her jointure; she remarried to Richard Codyngton of Ixworth, who is buried in Great Livermere church, and held these manors in her right, during her life. This Thomas Bokenham died Dec. 9, 1535, seized of all these manors, leaving John, his son and heir, then above one year old, and was buried in the Temple church, with this inscription,
Hic iacct Chmnas Boknnham Armiger, filius et Hæres Beorgii Bokynham nuper de Snitherton in Com: Dorfolk Armigeri, et Margarettæ Uroris cius, Filiæ et Heredis, Franrisci Heath Arm: nui quidem Chomas, obiit, iro die Decembris Amo Dni: 1535, rt Ao Rcgni Regis Benrici Octahi, Vicessimo Septimo, cains animæ propicietur Deus Amen.
John Bokenham of Snetterton, Esq. the last heir male of this family, was born Aug. 29, 1534; he married Lucy, daughter of Clement Heigham of Barrow in Suffolk, Knt. who, after his death, married again to Francis Stonard, Gent. and died Aug. 1, 1551, leaving the manors of Oldhall, Newhall, and Carrhall in Snetterton, and the advowsons the manors of Thelvetham and Livermere, and the advowsons, &c. to
Dorothy Bokenham, his only sister and heir, then 17 years old, who married Tho. Carryll of Sussex, Esq. son of Sir John Carryll, Knt. Attorney of the Duchy of Lancaster, and died June 7, 1560; Tho. Caryll her husband died Nov. 21, 1563, leaving Sir John Carrill of Warnham in Sussex, Knt. their son and heir, who, in 1577, had livery of Oldhall, Newhall, Carrhall, and Livermere, &c. to him and his heirs; and in the year 1598, 20 Nov. he sold Suitterton to Ralph Hare, Esq. brother and heir of that Nicholas who built Stow manorhouse; he settled it on his nephew Ralph, afterwards Sir Ralph Hare, Knt. who kept his first court 10 Jan. 1604, and was father of Sir John Hare of Stow Bardolph, Knt. who, by his will dated 21 Dec. 1635, gave the manors and estate here (after the death of Elizabeth his wife, on whom it was settled for life) to John Hare, his second son, who married Susan, daughter and coheir of John Walpole of Bromsthorp, Gent. and enjoyed it to his death in 1689, and then left it to John Hare, Gent. his son, who was afterwards Richmond Herald, and a very ingenious antiquary: he died about 1720, without issue, and left his estate to Mrs. Anne Hare, his sister, who kept her first court in 1721, and died in 1724, leaving it to Catherine and Susan, daughters of Philip, son of Edmund Bedingfield of Bromsthorp in Norfolk, Gent. by Elizabeth Hare, her only sister; and they, in 1725, conveyed the manors, advowson, and estate, to Mr. Thomas Goddard of Snetterton, the present  lord, who held his first court Febr. 9, 1726.
Parishes's, or Grymes's Manor
Was made up of several parts; one part was taken out of Kerhall before 1195, when Robert Mortimer released it to John L'Estrange; another part was taken out of Newhall manor in Henry the Third's time, the whole being then held by Hugh Doraunt of Snetterton, by the twentieth part of a fee. In 1345, the heirs of Alan de Morlee and his partners held it of Hugh Bokenham, who held it of Jeffery Kinewesdele, and he of John L'Estrange, and he of the King, and Alan de Morlee formerly held it at 2s. relief; and now the heirs of Hugh Durrant; in 1350, Tho. Doraunt of Snitterton, chaplain, sold it to Richard Paris of Hargham, and Margaret his wife, from whom it took the name of Parishes; in 1401, Will. Parys of Snetterton was lord; it afterwards belonged to the Grimeses, and was sold by them to the Debneys, who sold it to Mr. Robert Smith of Carleton-Rode, who settled it on Tho. Smith, Gent. in 1621, and in 1622, Richard Smith of Thetford died, who held the manor of Grymes, alias Parris, alias Parishes, in Snitterton, Rowdham, Eccles, Illington, Harling, Larling, and Bridgham, of Sir Ralph Hare, Knt. as of his manors of Oldhall, Newhall, and Carhall in Snitterton, John Smith, his son and heir, was 50 years old, whose son Robert succeeded him, and sold the manor to Sir John Hare, who gave it by will to Thomas his youngest son, in tail, who cut off the entail, and sold it to his brother Nicholas Hare of Harpham, Esq. in whose family it still continues, Hugh Hare, son of Thomas Hare of Harpham, Esq. being now  lord.
The Manor Of Kerhall
Was included in the Snetterton part at the Conquest, and went with Oldhall manor, till the feoffment of that in Richard de Snetterton, from which time it remained in the Albanys, who, in Henry the First's time, infeoffed the Angerviles, with whose daughters and heiresses it went equally to the Bokenhams, lords of Oldhall, and the Beaufoes, with whose heiress one moiety went to the Berdewelles, and continued in that family till Sir Will. Berdewelle, Knt. conveyed his manor of Snetterton, which Margery, the wife of Sir John de Tudenham, Knt. held for life, to Hugh Bokenham and his heirs, and so it became joined to the manor of Oldhall, with which it hath passed ever since; and the said Hugh conveyed his manor of WestHerling to the said William, in exchange.
New Hall, or Ashby Manor
Belonged to the Crown till it was divided, and one part given to the Bishop of Norwich, who infeoffed it in the Rooses, to hold it of the Bishop at a quarter of a fee, as parcel of his barony; and in 1345, the heirs of Maud Roos held it; the other part, with the advowson of St. Andrew's, belonged to the Bygods, who gave it to the Albanies, who infeoffed Sir John Straunge, Knt. who infeoffed the Kersalls, Kynesdeles, or Kinesles, and Jeffery de Kynewesdele, son of Hugh Kinesle, divided it into three or more parts; the advowson and half the manor he sold to Sir Hugh de Bukenham, father of Sir Ralf, who joined it to Oldhall. Another part became part of Paris's manor, and a third part, called Ashby Closes, continued in the family some time, but was after sold by Thomas le Hastelen of Ashby, and Margaret his wife, in 1317, to Robert de Stokes, clerk; this was purchased by the Bokenhams in Henry the Eighth's time, and joined to their manors; and heing held of the Bishop, was taken with the other revenues of his barony, and so became held of the Crown; and in 1665, it paid a castle-guard rent of 1s. 9d. a year to the King, that being the old rent that the whole manor used to pay the Bishop, towards the guard of Norwich castle, and was laid on this part at the division of the manor. That part which always went by the name of New Hall belonged to the Rooses, and was purchased by the Bokenhams about 1425, and joined to their other manors.
There was a family sir-named De Ashby, that lived and had a good estate in Ashby in Snetterton, in Edward the Third's time.
The Gonvile's had many lands, tenements, villeins, and services, in this town, which belonged to their manor in Lerling.
There was also a part of Pakenham's manor in Shropham, which extended hither; and hath passed with that manor from the Conquest to this present time; it then contained 40 acres, and belonged to Earl Hugh, and now it is owned by the city of Norwich, as that manor is, and is taxed at 9l. per annum.
Lurling, Lirling, and now Lerling, or Lerlingford, is so called from its low situation on the river, upon the ford or biggest passage that any where crosses it; it hath a well-known inn standing by it; and the great post road from London to Norwich passing here, occasions this village to be more known by travellers than such places usually are. At the time of the Confessor's survey, there were two manors; the least was then held by a freeman, and at the Conqueror's time was given to William Earl Warren, who infeoffed Hugh in it, it being then of 30s. value: the capital manor, both at the Confessor's and Conqueror's survey, belonged to Ulketell, and the soke (or leet and superiour jurisdiction) belonged at that time to Bukenham castle, to which this hundred was then appendant; it was always of 40s. value; the town was then a mile long, and a mile broad, and the whole of every one's tenure paid 8d. ob. geld; this was afterwards called
====Lerling, or Gonvile's Manor====
And went exactly as the capital manor of Rushworth, (which you may see at p. 284,) from the time of Ulketell, till 1470, and then it was settled on Rushworth college, (as you may see at p. 287,) and from that time it continued in the college to its dissolution, and was after granted, as that was, to the Earl of Surrey, in 1541, and alienated in 1542, by the King's license, together with the advowson, to John Allington of Westley in Cambridgeshire, Esq. second son of Sir Giles Alyngton of Horseth in Cambridgeshire, Knt. by Mary, daughter and heiress of Richard Gardiner, Lord Mayor of London, who settled it on his wife Margaret, and their heirs. In 1563, Robert Allington, his son and heir, was in possession, who, in 1570, sold it to Tho. Lovell, Gent. and his heirs, at which time it extended into Rowdham, Shropham, and Illington, and was held of the Crown by knight's service, and formerly of the Lord Bardolph; he was succeeded by Sir Francis Lovell, Knt. who conveyed it to John Langworth and others, and they, to Robert Houghton of Shelton, Esq. who left it mortgaged to William Wherewood, Esq. who presented, with the consent of Robert Houghton of Randworth, Esq. his son and heir, who was left a minor. In 1682, Charles Houghton, Esq. was lord and patron, who mortgaged it to Sir Edward Hungerford, and after to Paul Jodrell; and, about 1723, it was conveyed to Richard Sturgeon, Esq. and since that to Sir Edmund Bucon of Garboldesham, Bart. who is the present  lord and patron. The leet belongs to the hundred, to which this manor paid 2s. quitrent, and the town 2s. leet fee, per annum. The ancient site, or manor-house, stood in a close by the church, the mote that surrounded it being still to be seen.
The fines are at the lord's will, and the eldest son is heir, both in this and Chalkhill manor.
The Manor Of Welholme's
Or Easthall, as it is sometimes called, was split out of Gonvile's manor about the beginning of Henry the Third's time, in the 20th year of whose reign, Adam de Methelond held it of William Wauncy, who held it of the Bardolphs, and they of the Earl Warren, as of his castle at Acre, by the fourth part of a fee, it being part of those eight fees that William de Wauncy and his tenants held of the said castle; in 1315, Robert de Welholme was lord; in 1345, Lucia de Welholm had it; in 1401, John Brusiyerd was lord; and in 1439, Oliver Groos of Sloley, Esq. was possessed of two parts of it, which he gave to John Groos of Irsted, his youngest son, who gave it his wife Margaret for life, and to the issue of her body, with remainder to Sir Henry Heydon, Knt. In 1453, Oliver Groose, Esq. gave a part to Cecily his daughter; in 1491, Robert Grosse held the moiety of it, and John was his son and heir. In 1532, Anthony Gurnay, Esq. settled the manor on John Tirrell, Esq. and others, and the same year John Heydon, Knt. and Catherine his wife, and Christopher Heydon, Knt. settled it on Sir Tho. Jermyn, Knt. and soon after it extinguished, the whole being manumised, and the demeans divided into many parcels, most of which still pay their proportions to the lord of the hundred, for the suit fines which were due from this manor to the hundred.
Denevere, or Chalkhill Manor
Was given by the Conqueror to the Earl Warren, who infeoffed Hugh in it, whose descendants, the Bardolphs, held it at the third part of a fee; they granted it to the Deneveres, to be held of them; Osbert de Denevere is the first lord that I meet with of that name, whose grandson Osbert had it, and after him, Richard owned it in 1218, who sold the moiety of the advowson, which till then belonged to this manor, to Sir Richard de Lerling; (see p. 285;) Walter de Denevere was the last of this family I find lord here; from them it came to the Bukenhams, William de Bukenham of Keteringham was lord in 1304; and in 1313, John de Bukenham, parson of Illington, settled it on Ralph de Bukenham and Elizabeth his wife, it being then held by Tho. Spriggy of Munesle, in right of Julian his wife, widow of Hugh de Bukenham, who joined and conveyed it to Ralph; and in 1315, Ralph de Bukenham was sole lord, and then it extended into Rowdham, Illington, &c.; and from this time it passed in the Bukenhams, who sold off the demeans into divers hands, leaving the manor in their heiress, who carried it to the Carrills, who sold it to the Hollands; and in 1598, John Holland of Wortwell, Esq. was seized of it, for in that year he brought an action against Tho. Lovell, Esq. and other defendants, in which he declared, that he was seized of Calkhill manor in Lerling, by virtue of which, he prescribed to have common for 400 sheep, in a place called the Plains of Larling ford, and that they with their sheep did eat the grass there growing, so that he could not enjoy his common in as ample a manner as before, upon which he recovered; and from this time the manor continued in the Hollands, till Sir William Holland sold it to Sir Edmund Bacon of Garboldesham, Bart. the present  lord.
- 1280, Will. de Lerling, rector, and lord of Lerling and Elveden, (or Elden in Suffolk,) had liberty of free-warren in his manors of Lirling, Fouldon, Pagrave, and Rusheworth, in 1252, and in Newton in Cambridgeshire, which was confirmed to William de Gonvile in 1286.
- 1303, Edmund de Lerling, rector.
- 1318, 19 kal. Sept. Hugh de Ressewrth, or Rushworth, accolite. Sir Nicholas de Gonvile, Knt.
- 1321, 4 id. July, Master John de Galo, clerk. Ditto.
- 1334, 4 non. Febr. John de Gonvile, junior, clerk. John de Gonvile, his brother.
- 1344, 14 July, John Gonvile, priest. John Le-Gonvile, priest, patron.
- 1349, 18 Nov. William de Briston, priest. The master and fellows of the college of St. John the Evangelist at Rushworth, by whom all the following rectors were presented to their dissolution.
- 1374, 12 Febr. Peter Frost de Askele, priest.
- 1392, 1 Sept. Tho. Runhale, priest.
- 1400, 3 Sept. Peter, son of Walter Horsheye of Bernham, priest.
- 1414, 5 Febr. Alexander Thelyk, priest, who was master of Rushworth, and obtained license that they might appropriate one rectory, with cure of souls, to their college, with design to have this appropriated, it being of their own patronage; but upon the Bishop's not approving of it, it could not be done; however, he so far consented, that the master might hold a cure with his mastership, upon which he was instituted at the presentation of the fellows, as you may see more at large, p. 288, 289.
- 1431, 26 Nov. Robert atte Fen, priest, on Thelyk's death.
- 1433, 4 April, Robert Palmer, priest, on Fen's resignation.
- 1436, 12 Oct. John Payn, priest, on Palmer's resignation.
- 1468, 24 Febr. Thomas Smale, priest.
- 1494, 28 Nov. Richard Pury, priest, on Smale's death. He held it united to Shropham vicarage.
- 1501, 6 May, William Paryssch, on Purry's death.
- 1516, 8 May, Sir John Purpet, master of the college, on Parishe's death, see p. 289.
- 1524, 10 Sept. William Heye, on Purpet's resignation, who had a pension of 4l. per annum during life, settled upon him out of the rectory, by the consent of Heye, who was then instituted, and the Bishop. He was the last presented by the college.
- 1559, 30 May, Richard Brummell, at Heye's death. John AlyngTon, Esq. perpetual patron.
- 1580, 26 March, Richard Bromell. Queen Elizabeth, by lapse, united to Illington.
- 1592, 30 Decem. Edmund Suckling, S. T. B. on Bromell's death. Tho. Lovell, Esq. He held it with Hellesden rectory.
- 1608, 4 March, Robert Willan, A.M. John Cotton, Knt. assignee of Fran. Lovell, Knt.
- 1614, 16 July, Tho. Smith, A.M. Sir Francis Lovell, Knt. Edmund Thompson, rector.
- 1673, 13 Sept. Tho. Morley, A.M. on Thompson's death. Will. Wherewood, Esq. on account of a mortgage made by Robert Houghton of Shelton, Esq. deceased, and by the consent of the guardians of Rob. Houghton of Randworth, his son and heir; united to Rockland All-Saints.
- 1679, 12 May, Benj. Culme, A. M. on Morley's death. Will. Wherwood, Gent.
- 1682, 7 June, Will. Warkehouse, A.M. on Culme's cession. Charles Houghton, Esq. in full right; united to Shropham, Ao 1684.
- 1722, 12 March, Tho. Sturgeon, at Warkehouse's death. Paul Jodrell, Esq.
The Rev. Mr. William Robinson, the present  rector, was instituted on Sturgeon's deprivation, at the presentation of Sir Edm. Bacon, of Garboldesham, Bart. the present patron.
The Church is dedicated to St. Ethelbert, and is a rectory valued at 10l. 2d. ob. in the King's Books, and pays 1l. 1q. yearly tenths, and 12d. synodals; it hath a rectory-house and glebe belonging to it. The Prior of Castle-Acre had two third garbs of the tithe corn of the demean lands of Denevere manor in this town, which were given to that priory by Osbert de Denevere, lord thereof, who afterwards gave them the land called Osbern's Hagh, in Sipedeham (or Shipdam) in exchange for the said tithes, and Osbert de Denevere, his grandson, confirmed it, Jeffery, the Dean of Fincham, William Talebot, the Dean's brother, Ralph, the chaplain of Acre, Gilbert de Denevere, Eustace, the butler at Acre, and others, being witnesses. The Prior of the Canons at Thetford had lands in this parish, which, in 1428, were taxed at 10s. but of whose gift I do not find. In 1603, there were 92 communicants, and now there are about 22 dwelling-houses, and 150 inhabitants. [1787.] It paid 58s. 4d. to the tenths, and is now assessed at 280l. 10s. to the land-tax.
The church and chancel are thatched, the tower is square, and hath three bells, on which are these inscriptions,
1.Sancta Maria, ora pro nobis,
2.Fac Margareta, nobis hac munera lcta.
3.Coclesti Mana, tua Proles nos cibct, Anua.
There is a stone for THO. CATON, Gent. who died Nov. 28, 1712, aged 37, on which are these arms.
Quarterly, - - - - and Vair on a bend, an annulet and crescent.
Another stone is laid over SARAH, wife of JOHN BRETT, who died 25 Sept. 1660.
And there are three stones in the chancel robbed of their brasses.
Rudham, Rudeham, Roodham, or Rowdham, takes its name from a remarkable rose or cross that stood in it, upon the great road leading from Thetford to Norwich; the remaining stones of it were carried thence to Herling, about five or six years agone, by Mr. Wright, who was then lord here. In the Confessor's survey it was heid by a freeman of Herold, at one carucate, but at the Conquest it was divided into three parts; besides 30 acres that belonged to the manor of Bridgham; the three first was in the Conqueror's hands, he second belonged to William Earl Warren, and these two consti tuted the capital manor, called Rowdham Westaker's. The third was held by Ralph, of Eudo the Sewer, and the whole soke or superiour jurisdiction belonged to Buckenham castle, as part of the hundred, Lisius, the old owner, (as I take him to be,) continuing his claim at this time against Eudo, who had got it from him by force, or by the Conqueror's gift. This was afterwards called Trusbutt's or Newhall manor.
Rowdham Westaker Manor
Was all in the Earl Warren, the King having given him his part, but was divided again; and that part which was the King's was held of the Earl, by a family sirnamed from the town, till William, son of Simon de Rowdham, gave it to the Priory of West-Acre; the other part, with the advowson, came from the Earl Warren to the Bardolphs, and then to the Roseis or Rosets, and Lambert of Rosei gave his whole land at Rodeham, which William his priest held of him there, with the consent of Walcheline, his son, and of William Earl Warren and Surrey, the chief lord of the fee, of whom it was held by the service of one knight's fee, to the priory of West-Acre; and the Earl released to that house the service of that fee; and in 1345, the prior had a quarter of a fee in Roudham, which formerly belonged to the Munchensies after to Robert de Lyle, and was held of the King, as Duke of Lancaster; and from this time the manor, impropriate rectory, and the advowson of the vicarage belonged to the priory till its dissolution, and fell to the Crown; and in 1546 the King granted it to Tho. Woodhouse, who the same year sold it to Francis Lovell, and his heirs; and from that time it hath passed with East-Herling, (see p. 323,) with which it was sold to the Wrights, Mr. John Wright, son of Thomas Wright, Esq. being now  lord, impropriator, and patron.
The Customs of both the manors are, that the eldest son is heir, and the fines are at the lord's will.
The Leet belongs to the lord of the hundred, as it did at the time of the Conquest.
Trusbutt's, or Newhall Manor
Was in the family of the Crungethorps, Cringlethorps, (or Crownthorps,) in the time of King Henry III. when William de Crungethorp, held it of Robert de Caston, of whose family it was purchased, and Robert held it of Hugh Bardolph, of whose family the Castons had it; and Hugh held it at the third part of a fee of the Earl Warren, by whom the Bardolphs were infeoffed. This William divided it, and William de Wirlingworth, and John de Rowdham had one half, which went to the Trusbutts, but was afterwards rejoined to Newhall. In Edward the Third's time, William, son of Sir William de Crungethorp, Knt. and Katherine his wife, daughter of Sir Edmund de Soterle, Knt. had Newhall manor setted on them, Edmund, parson of Soterle, and Richard de Bernham being deforceants in the fine. This William was lord in 1315; in 1417, Joan, late wife of John Essex, had a third part in dower, it belonging at that time to Richard Essex; in 1439, William Halys and Margery his wife conveyed Newhall and Trusbutt's manors to John Windham, Esq; in 1539, John Heydon, Knt. and Catherine his wife, and Christopher Heydon, Knt. conveyed it to Tho. Jermyn, Knt.; it after belonged to the Earl of Surrey, who sold it to the Pains, whose daughter married Brian Holland, and carried these manors to him; and upon his attainder, the manor was seized; but it appearing to be settled on John Holland, son of Brian, and heir of Catherine, he enjoyed it, and was lord in 1572, and so continued to 1583, and then sold it to Thomas Lovell and his heirs, who joined it to the other manor, with which it now remains; and that the title might be complete John Cotton, Esq. and Philip Awdeley, Gent. the heirs of John Paine, Gent. brother of the said Catherine, joined in the recovery.
In 1413, the master and brethren of Rushworth college granted to John, prior of the monks of the Holy Virgin at Thetford, a yearly rent of 6d. paid from the lands and tenements called Rothyng's in Bretenham, and Brydgham's in Rowdham.
The Church here consisted of one isle only, and a chancel, both which were thatched, having a square tower standing on the south side, which served both as a steeple and porch; it had two bells in it till 1714, and then there was a faculty passed to sell one of them. About two or three years since, as the workmen were repairing the lead on the top of the tower, one of them blew the ashes carelessly out of his pipe, which fell on the thatch, and not being seen in time, burned the church and chancel, so that the walls only are standing, in a ruinous condition, at this time.
There was only one inscription in the church, which was on a brass plate, placed there in memory of John Bringloe, late of Rowdham, who died Aug. 14, 1658.
I find in the registers at Norwich, that in 1460, Will. Payn of Rowdham, Gentylman, was buried in the chancel; Hen. Spelman, Gent. Christiana his wife, and Will. his son were executors. In 1468, Elizabeth, widow of Tho. Halle of Rowdham, was buried in the nave, she gave her manor in South Lenn to John Shouldham, Esq. and Elizabeth his wife, daughter of the said Elizabeth. In 1515, Will. Rammesbury of Rowdham, Esq. was buried in the church, and gave to Elizabeth his wife the wardship of John Pain her son, and Catherine Payne her daughter, which he lately bought of Thomas Clerk, Prior of West-Acre, of whom Newhall and Trusbutt's manor was then held, Edmund Rookwood, Esq. of Euston was executor.
In 1615, 26 persons were buried in this small parish, there were five buried in one day. 1617, Dec. 9, John Butler, clerk, and Elizabeth daughter of Tho. Canham, (of this parish) Gent. were married.
This parish, in 1603, had 86 communicants, but the greatest part of it being purchased in, it is much wasted since that time, though there are now  about 120 inhabitants. It paid 2l. 14s. to the tenths, and is valued at 280l. 10s. to the land tax.
The rectory of the parish church of St. Andrew in Rowdham was appropriated to the priory at West-Acre, and the priors of that monastery were patrons of the vicarage to the Dissolution. It was valued at 4l. 16s. 5d. ob. in the King's Books; but being sworn of the clear yearly value of 23l. 2s. 0b. it is discharged of first fruits and tenths, but still pays 2s. synodals, besides the archdeacon's procurations. The Prior of West-Acre was taxed at 10 marks, for the impropriate rectory, and the portion belonging to the Abbot of Bury, which was appropriated to the hospital of our Blessed Saviour there, was taxed at 20s. Here was a gild dedicated to St. Andrew.
- 1313, 10 kal. June, Henry de Swaffham, priest.
- 1323, Walter de Horstede, priest.
- 1328, non. Nov. Thomas de Rudham, priest.
- 1349, 27 July, John Saunsale de Roudham, priest.
- 1361, 8 Sept. Thomas Le-Smith, priest.
- 1402, 11 Sept. Reginald Quylter de Castle-Acre, priest.
- 1410, 5 Oct. John Northgate de Swanton, priest, on Quylter's resignation.
- 1423, Walter Southbury, priest.
- 1430, 9 Jan. Peter Benne, priest.
- 1466, 13 Nov. John Munke, on Benne's resignation.
- 1475, 18 Nov. Tho. Wright, on Munke's resignation.
- 1482, 23 Dec. Tho. Sygar, on Wright's deprivation.
- 1490, 4 March, brother Rich. Rolstonne, a canon of West-Acre, on Sygar's resignation.
- 1504, 19 March, Sir Rob. Newman, on Rolston's resignation.
All the above were presented by the Prior of West-Acre.
Rich. More, sometime vicar of Rowdham, was buried here Aug. 5, 1561.
John Bulle, was buried here 6 May 1589.
- 1589, 23 July, Stephen Angolde, A.B. on Bulle's death. Tho. Lovell, Esq.
- 1600, 11 Aug. Will. Hill, on Angolde's death. Tho. Lovell, Knt. He was buried here Nov. 22, 1640.
- 1640, 29 Nov. Henry Moyse, A. M. on Hill's death. Anne Moyse, widow.
- Henry Gill held it with Harpham, (see p. 419.)
- 1677, 24 Sept. John Starkey, A. M. on Gill's death. John Lovell.
- 1699, 23 June, Thomas Lone. The King, by lapse.
- 1701, 3 March, Henry Pitts, John Lovell, Esq. united to Harpham.
- 1729, Samuel Birch, A. M. on Pitts's death. Thos. Wright, Esq. united to Eccles.
- 1732, The Rev. Mr. John Verdon, the present vicar on Birch's death, who holds it united to Hockham, and was presented by Tho. Wright, Esq. who is since dead, and Mr. John Wright, his eldest son, is now patron.
Was so called from the bridge, which was the passage to Rowdham Cross, and was a remarkable and much frequented way for all pilgrims that travelled from Suffolk, and other parts, to our Lady of Walsingham. This town was given by Ethelwold Bishop of Winchester, and confirmed by Edward the Confessor, to the monks of Ely, in whose hands it continued till the erection of the see there, and then it became part of the demeans of the bishoprick. In the Confessor's and Conqueror's surveys it appears that it belonged to St. Audry, and was then two miles long, and three quarters of a mile broad, and paid 12d. geld; that the priest (or rector) belonging to the manor held land of 2s. per annum value, as belonging to his church, but could not sell it; there was also a socman, that held half a carucate of land, whom Roger Bigod claimed as one of his freemen, but the abbot disseized him, and then held it; there were 30 acres in Bretenham, and 30 more in Rowdham, that belonged to this manor. In 1229, there was an extent of this manor, in which it is said, upon the oaths of the tenants then upon the jury, that this town is in Shrophamforde hundred, of which Rob. de Tateshale was lord; notwithstanding which, the Bishop had a gallows, pillory, view of frankpledge, conusance of bushels, gallons, and other measures, and liberty to hold plea of all things, which the sheriff might, with writ or without. The advowson belonged to the Bishop, and is in the archdeaconry of Norfolk, and deanery of Rockland, but the nuns of Ponteverard in Normandy had a yearly pension of 10 marks out of this church, by the gift of Bishop Eustace; the demeans are all particularly abutted, and amount to about 400 acres, the whole being to be ploughed with two ploughs, four oxen, and three scots, two carts, and one pair of harrows being allowed to do the work; and every acre is valued at 8d.; there were 3 acres of meadow, and 10 acres of pasture; the several heaths called Longhill, Suthfrith, Mikelehill, Stapelfrith, Ringemeskele, Waterdelefrith, containing 260 acres, were to be fed by the whole town only, but none could dig, cut heath, &c. but the Bishop; but in Bukesdelescote-Bury, Heroldescote, Perngate, (all which contain 155 acres,) the whole town not only fed, but might dig, cut turf, &c. but not to sell. There was also a marsh between Bretenham and Bridgham, and another marsh called Est-Etthe, in both which the whole town might feed dig, cut turf, fish, &c. except in the lord's separate fishery, which is between West-Mill and TuneMill, half a mile long. The tenants owe their suit to Tune [or town] Mill, and none to West-Mill. The stock belonging to the manor was 8 cows, a free bull, 24 hogs, a free boar, 500 sheep, by the great hundred, beside the customary sheep, which ought to be in the lord's fold. At this time Walter de Bokenham held 90 acres and an half, freehold, which was late Ralph the parson's, at 8s. 2d. per annum, and suit of court, and had a fold-course. And William de Hakeford held above a 100 acres free, divers rents and services, and a fold-course, and did suit to this court, [for this his manor called Hakeford's.] With this manor also, the Bishop held the advowson of Bretenham. The tenants paid chyldwite, tallage, heriots, and reliefs, besides seven score and 15 hens, 24 chickens, 647 eggs, 2724 days works, 34 days work called studework, which is done by the molmen, 245 days and half ploughing, during which time the lord maintains them, and every day's work at plough is valued at 6d.; 512 days work in autumn; they were to thrash 105 combs of oats and barley each year, or pay 2d. for every six combs if they did not do it; they were to do 997 perches of ditching and fencing, about the stack-yards and woods, every year, and have no maintenance from the lord during that time; the molmen, in number 70, were obliged to make up 15 carriages, and attend them, to carry in the lord's corn; and besides these and many other services, he received yearly in money rents above 18l. 16s. In 1285, the jury of the Crown side for the hundred of Shropham, present, that Hugh Bishop of Ely had in Bridgham, infangthef, a gallows, view of frankplege, &c. assize of bread and beer, weyf, return of all writs, free-warren, and all other privileges as before, and from this time it continued in the bishoprick till by act of parliament in the first year of Queen Elizabeth it was settled by way of exchange, among the rest of the Bishop's manors in this county, on the Crown, at which time it was under a lease, made in 1546, by Thomas Bishop of Ely, for 60 years, at 39l. per annum, which was to commence from Michaelmas 1562, to Will. Drury of Besthorp; this was assigned by Dorothy, late wife of Will. Drury, to William Brampton of Bridgeham, Esq. from whom Tho. Brampton of Kenton in Suffolk had it, and was possessed in 1573, and lived in the hall, which he repaired, and glazed the windows with his own arms, viz. Brampton, gul. a fess arg. in chief three plates, impaling Waxton, erm. on a fess gul. three plates quartering pally of eight, arg. and sab. Brampton impales Leventhorp, arg. a bend compone gul. and sab. cotised of the second; these arms were taken down by Mr. Robert Haylet, (as I suppose,) at whose sale I bought them. The remainder of this lease being bought in by Bassingbourn Gawdy, Esq. the Queen, in 1594, let it to him for 30 years, to commence at the end of the said term, at 29l. rent, the advowsons of Bridgham and Bretenham being excepted; and from this time it continued in the Gawdys as lessees to the Crown, till the 6th of June, 1609, and then the King granted it to Framlingham Gawdy, Esq. and his heirs, in fee, in which family it continued till Sir Bassingbourn Gawdy, sold it to Tho. Wright, Esq. of East-Herling, who is now dead, and Mr. John Wright is his son and heir. The fines are at the lord's will; she eldest son is heir; the quitrents are 13l. 14s. 1d. ob. a year.
Was originally part of the manor of Hackford in West-Herling, that extended hither, and passed with that, (as you may see at p. 300.) till it was released to Henry de Elmham, and Elizabeth his wife, who was one of the daughters and heiresses of Sir William de Hakeford, who, jointly with Margery his wife, settled it on Ralph de Hakeford, parson of Couteshale, in trust for his two daughters, in 1278; in 1485, Will. Tymperley had the custody of this manor, &c. for 20 years, paying 43s. 4d. per annum, and maintaining the houses and fences. In 1516, John Harewell and others had it settled on them by Robert Fuller; in 1550, Sir Tho. Lovell of East-Herling had it, in which family it continued, and was joined to the other manor after that was purchased, and so remains. There were three other parcels of land in Bridgham, added to this manor by different purchases; the first was granted by Hugh Bishop of Ely, in 1229, to Roger the chaplain of Bridgham, and contained 60 acres; the second, in 1267, was settled by fine by Hugh Bishop of Ely, on Walter de Hemenhale, and contained 24 acres of land, 40 acres of heath, 20 acres of marsh, 10 acres of meadow, and 6s. 8d. rent; the third was held by Ralph of Illington, at a quarter of a fee, of Adam de Cayly, who held it of the Earl Warren, and William de Bokenham held one half of this quarter of Ralph de Illington, in the time of Henry III.
Was appendant to the manor till it came to the Crown, and was excepted when the manor was granted from it, and the Bishop of Ely always presented till the exchange, and the Crown ever since; the rectory of Bridgham alias Brigham, is valued in the King's Books at 11l. 1s. ob. and pays 1l. 2s. 3q. yearly tenths, 1s. synodals, and 7s. 7d. ob. yearly procurations, though it paid none before the time of King Henry VIII. At the time of Norwich Domesday, the rector had a house and 50 acres of land, and now he hath a house by the north corner of the churchyard; but there remains but 39 acres and an half of glebe. In 1603, here were 128 communicants, and now  there are about 30 houses, and 180 inhabitants. It paid 3l. 6s. 8d. to the tenths, and is now assessed at 403l. 10s. to the land tax. In 1411, Hugh Stoppusly had license in mortmain to amortise a messuage, 200 acres of land, 8 acres of meadow, 26s. rent, a free fold, and separate fishery in Bretenham, Bridgham, Rushworth, Thetford, &c. which were held of the King, as of his dutchy of Lancaster, to the Prior and convent of monks at Thetford, on condition the King should have 50s. at every resignation, vacation, or death of a prior. This was part of the Prior's manor in Bretenham that extended hither.
The Church hath its nave, north porch, and chancel, thatched; it hath no steeple, but there are two bells, which hang in a house in the churchyard. In the windows, and on the font, are the arms of the Bishoprick of Ely; in the chancel there is a stone for Francis Goldwell, clerk, who died 27 Aug. 1691. Another for Margaret Goldwell single woman, who died 15 July, 1690.
John Watson and Alys hys Wyf.
were at the charge of seating the church, as appears by their names carved in this manner on the seats.
Rectors of Bridgham St. Mary
- 1303, 5 kal. July, Robert de Wynewyk, chaplain.
- 1317, 5 non. March, Mr. Panucius Bonoditi de Controne, professor of physick and arts.
- 1320, 3 id. Nov. Mr. Peter de Brixia, on Controne's resignation, in exchange for Chevenyng, in Rochester diocese.
- 1322, 7 kal. June, Alexander of St. Alban's, on Brixia's resignation, in exchange for Wellbourne, in Lincoln diocese.
- John Norton, rector.
- 1429, 6 Dec. William Bayly, priest, on Norton's resignation.
- 1445, 21 Sept. Tho. Saureby, priest, on Bayly's resignation.
- 1448, 4 Octob. Tho. Alleyn, priest, A. M
- 1448, 6 March, John Ultyng, on Alleyn's resignation.
- William Fuller.
- 1454, 17 Jan. Tho. Dust, on Fuller's death.
- 1461, 24 Sept. John Weysy, or Vesy, prior of the monks at Thetford, was instituted rector.
- 1480, 12 Aug. John Larke, LL.B.
- 1523, 21 Dec. Richard Rysley, S.T.B. on the rector's death; he was the last presented by the Bishop.
- 1554, 16 July, Elisha Annyson. Queen Mary, the see being void.
- 1566, 4 Octob. Martin Harrisonne, clerk. Queen Elizabeth, in right of the Crown.
- 1484, 7 April, John Thackster, S.T.B. on Harrison's death. He was buried 8 Sept. 1601.
- 1601, 11 Jan. George Rogers, alias Thomas, A. B. He married Elizabeth, relict of Ralph Leaver, rector of Snetterton, April 28, 1606, and was buried here 25 Feb. 1636.
- 1637, 22 Aug. Tho. Pell, rector, buried 19 Dec. 1603; united to Bretenham.
- 1663, 23 Febr. Francis Goldwell, A. M. on Pell's death, buried in the chancel, 1691, he bare az. a chief or over all a lion rampant arg. gutte de poix. His son and heir, Henry Goldwell, married a daughter of Porter of Bury, who bare sab. a fess erm. between three bells arg.
- 1692, 27 Nov. Theophilus Williams; he held it united to EastHerling.
- 1716, 7 July, Nicholas Clagget, A.M. on Williams's death.
- 1717, 9 Dec. Theophilus Desaguliers, on Clagget's cession.
- 1726, 15 March, the Rev. Mr. Moses Leak, on Desagulier's resignation, who is the present incumbent, and holds it united to the rectory of Hopton in Suffolk.
From the register, which begins in 1558, it appears that many of the Drurys, Goldwells, Bramptons, Grygsons, Buxtons, Lovells, Bells, Chamberlains, Bedingfields, &c. were baptized and buried here. 1550, Joseph Churchman married Agnes House. 1570, Tho. Lovell married Margaret Fayer. 1585, Tho. Drury married Ursula Brockley.
The manor and advowson was given to the monks of Ely, along with Bridgham, and the rest of the possessions of that abbey in Norfolk, all which were confirmed by King Edgar in the year of our lord 970, (see p. 436) but was divided before the Conqueror's time by the Abbots, into divers parts, they reserving the advowson, part of the demeans, and a few small rents only, to themselves, all which they joined to their manor of Bridgham, with which it was assigned at the erection of that see, to the bishops thereof, who always presented to this church, as they do at this day; the advowson not being appendant to Bridgham manor, did not pass to the Crown at the exchange of that manor. In 1277, it was found by an inquisition, that the Bishop of Ely had the free gift and patronage of this church, that it was in the archdeaconry of Norfolk, and deanery of Rokelond, but the Abbot of St. Alban's had two parts of both the small and great tithes, of the demeans of Alexander de Royinges, (or Rothynges, as the family was after called,) except 40 acres, which the rector was to have the whole tithes of, and the Prior of Thetford had two parts of the great and small tithes, of the demeans of William de Carleton, and the lady Sarah Le-Noreise, except 48 acres, which belonged solely to the rector; and also two parts of the great and small tithes of the demeans of Alexander Purri, and Godfride de Snareshille, except 12 acres which the rector had the whole tithe of, all which were given by Roger Bigot at the foundation of the priory, at which time he was lord of that whole part, which was now divided, and held by the said William, Sarah, Alexander, and Godfride. This portion was taxed at one mark, and so was the portion of the Prior of St. Alban's.
The rectory was valued at 4l. 12s. 6d. in the King's Books, but being sworn of the clear yearly value of 40l. 6s. 8d. a year, it is discharged of first fruits and tenths, and consequently is capable of augmentation. It is a small parish of near 100 inhabitants; in 1603, it had 48 communicants; it paid 55s. to the tenths, and is now assessed at 119l. to the King's tax.
At this town there have been divers Roman coins ploughed up; I have seen a very fair one of Vespasian, thus circumscribed, IMP. caes. vespatian. aug. cos. viii. pp.; the reverse was a Mercury holding an urn, and S.C.; there are also urns found here; I have seen a small one of red earth, that held about half a pint, all which make me apt to think, that this town, and not Bretenham in Suffolk, might be the Combretonium of Antoninus, and the Conventronum et ad Convecin. in the Peutegerian Tables; and the rather, because I never heard of any Roman antiquities found at the other Bretenham; but whether the name in English implies a town on the Breton, or, in Welsh, a great valley or low place upon the Breton, I confess I know not; but the situation is in a great valley, or low place, upon that river which runs from Quidenham-Mere to Thetford, the name of which I have not met with.
The Church and parsonage-house were burnt down in 1693: the nave was rebuilt, but the chancel was not; there is a square tower and one bell; the nave and south porch are tiled. This is written on the north wall,
By this Place lyeth the Body of Roger Beales, who died June 29, 1711, and was Church-Warden alone for the Town of Bretenham, and built this Church after the Fire, being the 18th Day of May, in the Year 1693, and laid out all the money, before he made his Rate, to gather in any Money, and whose Names, and what every Man paid.
Charles Wright [lord] 29l. 6s. 6d.; Mr. John Newcomb [rector] 21l. 1s.; Roger Beales 12l. 12s.; John Sele 6l.; Roger Howes 3l. 18s. Tho. Townsend 1l. 13s.; Richard Lovick 1l. 19s. &c.
Rectors of Bretenham St. Andrew
- 1303, 5 id. May, a sequestration was granted to Alfred de Brok.
- 1303, 6 id. Aug. Roger de Orford.
- 1309, 6 id. Aug. Richard de Denesford, accolite.
- 1309, 17 kal. Jan. Tho. de Haytone, priest.
- 1328, 5 kal. Feb. John de Derby, priest.
- 1335, prid. id. Feb. He had license, as chaplain to the Bishop of Ely, to let his rectory, and not reside upon it. The above were presented by the Bishop of Ely.
- 1345, 22 July, Tho. Elyot de Swaffham-Market, priest, on the resignation of John Breidesdale de Derby. The King, by reason of the vacancy of the See.
- 1349, 24 Octob. Tho. Burchard, priest. Brother Alan Prior of Ely, attorney of Tho. Bishop of Ely, who was beyond sea.
- 1356, 11 Febr. Peter de Berton, priest. The King, on account of the temporalities of the Bishoprick, then in his hands.
- 1361, 25 Aug. Will de Nessingwik, accolite on Berton's resignation. Ditto.
- 1363, William de Derkewey. Thomas de Wilton.
- 1372, 30 Nov. Tho. de Clypesby, priest, on Wilton's resignation. John Bishop of Ely.
- 1373, 26 June, John de Conguresbury, shaveling. The King, the see being void.
- 1376, 15 June, Walter De-la-more, priest. The Pope, by provision or reservation.
- 1394, 30 Sept. Ralph Lemburgh, priest. Ditto.
- 1401, 12 Aug. William Aleyn, priest. The Bishop of Ely.
- 1403, 4 July, William Lylye, priest. Ditto.
- 1442, 7 Jan. Will. Dorant, priest, on Lylye's death. John, vicargeneral to the Bishop of Ely.
- 1449, 24 Febr. Will. Gilberd, bachelor in the decrees. Lapse.
- 1454, 30 Dec. Thomas Walle, on Gilberd's resignation.
- 1466, 7 Octob. John Fustour, on Walle's resignation.
- 1470, 8 June, John Kaa. John Aleyn,
- 1502, 10 April, Tho. Watson, on Aleyn's death,
- 1511, 9 June, John Eldred,
- 1542, 10 Aug. Sir Tho. Horne, chaplain, on Eldred's death,
- 1544, 23 July, Will. Collison, on Horne's death,
- 1554, 14 May, John Thirkelby,
- 1559, 1 July, Robert Dixon, priest, William Collinson,
- 1562, 11 Nov. Hugh Weston, priest, on Collinson's resignation.
- 1566, 19 June, Sir Thomas Smith, on Weston's resignation.
- 1569, 5 May, Robert Westley,
- 1571, 13 Febr. Tho. Green, clerk, on Westley's resignation. The above were presented by the Bishop of Ely.
- 1581, 30 Aug. John Townsend. The Queen, lapse.
- 1600, Mr. John Wolf.
- 1608, 2 Aug. Richard Mucklestone, A.M. who held it united to Thurston in Depwade hundred. The Bishop.
- 1612, 10 Dec. Richard Pemberton, A.M. Ditto.
- 1624, 2 July, William Alcock, A.M. The King, lapse.
- 1627, Alexander Pistor, S.T.P. The Bishop.
- Edward Furnace, clerk.
- 1636, 31 May, Tho. Cordell, A. M. by the promotion of Edward Furnace. The Bishop.
- Thomas Pell, united to Bridgham. Ditto.
- 1663, 23 Dec. Will Monford, A.M, on Pell's death. Ditto.
- 1666, 25 Nov. Tho. Hetherset, A. M. on Monford's death. Ditto.
- 1675, 17 Aug. John Chinery, on Wormley Hetherset's death. Ditto.
- 1686, 19 Aug. Edmund Newcomb, united to Knatishall in Suffolk. Ditto.
- 1701, 10 Oct. The Rev. Mr. Thomas Lone, the present  incumbent; and now holds it united to Kilverstone. Ditto.
The whole at first belonged to the Abbot of Ely, as aforesaid, by whom it was divided into several parts; the first two parts belonged to John, Waleram's nephew, at the time of the Conquest, and had been held by two freemen under the abbot in the time of the Confessor; the next was held by Eudo the Sewer in the Conqueror's time, and by Turgis in the Confessor's; and Lesius claimed it against Eudo, who recovered it from him, and then held it. Another part belonged to Roger Bigot, of whom William de Burneville held it at the survey; the whole was then two miles long, and a mile and quarter broad, and paid 14d. ob. geld, the lord of the hundred being then (as he is now) lord paramount of this town, and after this there was no less than six manors here, viz. the Bishop of Ely's, which was joined to Bridgham, and ever after passed with it; the manor of Catton, or Carleton Hall, Burnvile's manor, the two manors called Rothyng, or Rothyng Hall, and the manor called Brethenham's.
Catton, or Carleton Hall
Belonged to Edudo the Sewer, and in 1230 was settled by Richard de Meisy, on Richard Fitz-Richard, and was after in a family sirnamed de Carleton; Will. de Carleton held it in 1277, but how long it continued in that family I do not find; the Bretenhams had it in 1314, and Will. de Bretenham was then lord; it seems as if the Prior of Thetford was lord of it afterwards, till the Dissolution, but whether in trust or in right of his monastery I cannot say; but in 1543, the King licensed Nicholas Rookwood, prothonotary of the Common Pleas, to sell it to Sir Ralph Warren, Knt. alderman of London, whose son, Richard Warren of London, Esq. settled it on Elizabeth his wife, in jointure, who after his death married the Lord Knevet; the reversion, after her death, came to Sir Oliver Crumwell, in right of Joan his mother, heiress of Richard Warren; he sold the reversion to Sir Bassingbourne Gawdy, who purchased the Lady Knevet's right, and in 1606, Framlingham Gawdy, Esq. sold it to Thomas Wright of Kilverstone, Esq. in whose family it remained, till it was lately sold by Thomas Wright of Kilverstone, Esq. to Mr. George Proctor, the present  lord.
Was held of Roger Bigot, by William de Burneville, as is aforesaid, whose daughter Avice gave it to the prior of the monks at Thetford, and it was confirmed to them by King Henry II. The Prior joined it to his manor of Rothyng Hall, from which it never was separated.
Belonged to Eudo the Sewer, and in 1198, to Richard de Brethenham, after to John de Brethenham, and after to Alexander de Bretenham, and in 1218, Richard de Brethenham held it, and had a carucate in demean, held of Clare honour at half a fee. In 1297, Will. de Bretenham and John de Brockdish had it; in 1299, the Lady Sarah LeNoreise held it, and half Bretenham's part was settled on Rushworth college, and John de Brockdish's part was divided into several parcels; for in 1345, Tho. de Brockdyssch, Rob. de Welholme, and William de Bretenham, held that quarter of a fee of the Earl of Gloucester, which formerly belonged to John de Brokedysh: and after this it was divided in many small parcels, all which were purchased, some by the Master of Rushworth college, and some by the Prior of Thetford, and added to their manors; the other part which was not settled on Rushworth, was held by William de Bretenham, and passed to the monks at Thetford, along with their manor of Rothyng Hall, as you may see, at p. 287, where there is an account also of the separate fishery belonging to this manor.
Rothyng Hall, or Rutten Hall
Was the capital manor, and was owned by John, Waleram's nephew, at the Conquest, and in Richard the First's time by Alexander de Rohinges, Roynges, or Rothyng, who, in Henry the Third's time, is said to hold it at half a fee of Margery de Riparijs, who held it of the Earl of Arundell, as of his hundred of Shropham, belonging to his castle of Bukenham, and the Earl of the King in chief. In 1301, Henry de Rothinge held of the King, as of his honour of Albemarle, at half a fee, one capital manor-house, 80 acres of land, one piece of meadow, and six acres bruery, liberty of a free-fold, 20s. rents of assize, and other rents and services in Brethenham, the whole being valued at 50s. 9d. and also 100 acres in the said town, of William de Bretenham, by the service of 12d. a year, and Alexander was his son and heir, who, in 1308, possessed it; in 1314, Alexander de Rothing, William de Bretenham, the Prior of Thetford, and the Master of Rushford, were lords of the manors in this town. This Alexander it was that divided the manor into many parts, by selling half a fee held of the honour of Clare, to Robert Baynard, Hugh Stopusle, and others, who settled all their parts on Thomas Gardiner, clerk, rector of Croxton, in trust for the Prior of Thetford. In 1345, Henry de Rothing held the other part, which he divided into two manors, and sold one to the Herlings, whose heiress gave it to Rushworth college; and this was that Rothing Hall manor, that belonged to the college, to which there was 60 acres, and a toft added by Will. Fullere, and others; and in 1374, he sold the other part to Rob. de Batisforth, Robert Benbrus, clerk, Richard Pareys, James de Bretenham, John Purri, and Tho. Fullere, who, in 1385, settled it on Tho. Gardiner, rector of Croxton, and he conveyed it, with Baniard's part, to the Prior of Thetford, who was taxed for the first part at 16s. and for this, at one mark; and these constituted that manor called Rothyngs, alias Rothyng Hall, to which the Prior joined his manor of Burnvilles; and in 1413, Alexander, master of Rushworth college, Tho. Crowe, John Mannyng, Will. Parys, and John Greene, clerks, fellows there, released to the Prior of St. Mary at Thetford a yearly rent of 6d. paid them by the Prior, out of lands in Bretenham, and thus there were two manors called Rothing Hall, to the Dissolution, and then they both came to the Earl of Surrey in 1542, who reunited them; and in 1556, Thomas Duke of Norfolk held it in capite of the Queen, and in 1572 it belonged to the Earl of Surrey; and in 1583, Phillip Earl of Arundell sold it to Tho. Lovell, Esq. and in 1622, Sir Francis Lovell, Knt. and William Lovell, Esq. sold it to Tho. Wright of Kilverstone, Esq. in whose family it continued till Tho. Wright of Kilverstone, Esq. lately sold it to Mr. George Proctor of Thetford, who is the present lord [1737.]
Illinketune, Ilsingtune, or as it is now called, Illington, is a small village joining to Rowdham and Lerlingford; the church is dedicated to St. Andrew, and is a rectory in the archdeaconry of Norfolk, and deanery of Rockland. It hath a rectory-house and glebe, and was valued at 6l. 19s. 2d. in the King's Books; it was sworn of the clear yearly value of 37l. 2s. by which means it is discharged of first fruits and tenths, though it pays 1s. synodals, besides the archdeacon's procurations. In 1603, there were 32 communicants in this village, and now  there are about 60 inhabitants; it paid 53s. to the tenths, and is now assessed at 257l. to the land tax; the chief if not the whole of this town, belongs to the Churchmans, whose seat stands about two furlongs. NW. of the church.
The Church and chancel are very small, having a square tower at the west end. There is an altar tomb in the chancel for,
Sir JOHN CHURCHMAN, Knt. sometime patron of this church, who suddenly departed this life, Feb. 24, 1688, Ag. 56.
Moriendo perpetuam Vitam Lucramur.
At the foot of the tomb are two small stones, for,
GORE, son of WILLIAM CHURCHMAN, Esq. and SUSAN his wife, who died Jan. 12, 1692, aged 9 months.
SUSAN their daughter an infant, buried April 23, 1692.
As to what is said concerning the history of this parish in the Atlas, p. 342, there is not one word of it true, as to this town, but part of it may be applied to Islyngton in Mershland.
The Prior of Bukenham had lands here of the gift of the Bukenhams, taxed at 2s. 9d.
The Abbot of Sibeton in Suffolk held the twenty-fifth part of a knight's fee, which was either given or sold to that house by Henry de Esthall, before 1291, for then the Abbot was returned to hold it of the said Henry, who held it of Adam de Cayly, he of the Earl Warren, and he of the King, to whom the Abbot paid his part, to make his eldest son a knight. It was taxed at 11s. 3d. 0b.
Here was a parcel of land given to the abbey of Bury, for which the sacrist of that monastery was taxed at 2s.
- 1313, John de Bukenham, rector.
- 1334, 17 kal. Apr. John de Bukenham, priest. Elizabeth de Bukenham.
- 1349, 5 Aug. Will. Cark of Bukenham, priest. Will. de Bukenham.
- 1375, 6 Octob. Giles de Welham, priest. James de Wrotham, and John Chaa, of Thefford.
- 1398, 18 Aug, John Rykedon of Hockham, priest. Rob. Flemyng of Bonewell.
- 1421, 2 June, William, son of John Calkewell. Tho. Flemyng, Esq.
- 1426, 22 Octob. Robert Merston, who changed his vicarage of St. Peter, in the isle of Thanet for this, with William, son of John Calkwell.
- 1434, Martin Bole, rector.
- Thomas Sporle, rector.
- 1450, 16 Dec. Thomas Hansum, on Sporle's resignation. Sir Tho. Flemyng, Knt.
- 1460, 10 Oct. Tho. Blythe, on Hansum's death. Ditto.
- 1469, 30 May, Bartholomew Wyke, priest, on Blythe's death. Margaret, late wife of Tho. Flemyng, Knt.
- 1495, 16 April, Tho. Parys, on Wyke's death. Henry Heydon, for this turn.
- 1528, 18 July, The Bishop collated Will. Heye, rector of Lerling, by lapse, and united it to Lerling, at Parys's death.
- 1531, 5 Jan. John Heydon of Bakonsthorp, Knt. patron of the advowson, granted the next turn to Richard Clark of East-Wrotham, and Robert Hychyn of Gyrston.
- William Burbie, rector.
- 1555, 5 July, Robert Halman, priest, on Burbie's death. Fulk Gray, Gent.
- 1556, 24 February, Richard Mortonne, priest, on Halman's death. James Downes, Esq.
- 1566, 2 Octob. Richard Bromell, on Mortonne's death, united to Lerling. Jerome Spring, and Eliz. his wife.
- 1591, 25 Sept. John Chatterys, on Bromell's death. Christ. Gascoigne.
- 1609, 8 July, John West, A. M John Gascoigne, Gent. In 1617, he held Thetford St. Peter united to this.
- 1626, 8 Dec. Henry Rose, A. M. on West's death. Cotton Gascoign, Gent.
- 1643, 6 April, John Palgrave, A. M. on Rose's death. Sir John Palgrave, Bart.
- George Fish, rector.
- 1664, 19 June, Peter Lock, clerk, A. M. on Fishe's resignation. John Churchman, Knt. united to Hockham in 1667.
- 1672, 6 Jan. Henry Goodrick, A. M. on Lock's death. Ditto.
- 1712, 10 Dec. The Rev. Mr. James Holman, A. B. on Goodrick's death, who holds it united to Croxton. Will. Churchman, Esq. the present patron [1737.]
East Hall Manor
At the time of the Conquest the whole town belonged to William Earl Warren, and was of 20s. value in the Confessor's time, and 30 in the Conqueror's; the whole was something better than a mile long, and a mile broad, and paid 7d. geld, and was held of the castle of Lewes, though at that time the superiour jurisdiction belonged to the hundred of Shropham, the lord of which is now lord paramount of this town, keeps the leet, and receives 6d. for quitrent of the manor, and 18d. for leet fee. In the Earl's time, Berner his servant held it at one fee, for life, and afterwards it went to Hubert de Burgh, of whom Gilbert de Morley held it; and from him it came to the Crown, and King Henry gave it to Reginald de Warren, of whom William de Illingtune had the whole fee, and left it to Henry his son, who built and settled in the east part of the town during his father's life, and assumed the name of Easthall; he divided the manor into many parts, reserving to himself the half of the town, which he held at half a fee of Adam de Caily, as of the castle of Bukenham, and this he called East Hall manor.
Bukenhams, West Hall or Illington Hall Manor
The other half fee he divided into many parts, all which were held of him, and became so many small manors. In Henry the Third's time William de Easthall, his brother, held a fifteenth part of a fee, John atte More held a twentieth part, John Dolon a fortieth part, Ralph the merchant a thirtieth part, John de Rowdham a fortieth part, Simon de Ropere a twentieth part, Adam Pain a twentieth part, Robert, son of Adam de Long, a fortieth part, and William de Bukenham a quarter of a fee, which was the original of Bukenham's, West Hall or Illington Hall manor.
This family had another quarter of a fee in this and the neighbouring towns, which belonged to the Earl Warren, and afterwards to Adam Caily, who infeoffed it in the Bukenhams, and this they joined to the other part, purchased of Henry de Easthall, together with the advowson, so that Westhall or Bukenham's became now the capital manor; and in 1253, Will. de Bukenham had a charter for free-warren here, in Ellingham and Bukenham. In 1304, William de Bukenham purchased the part which was Will. de Esthalle's of John de Illington; and added it to his manor. In 1313, Ralph de Bukenham and Elizabeth his wife had it settled on them in reversion, by Thomas Spriggy of Munesle, who held it in right of Julian his wife, who held it in dower, as widow of a Bukenham. In 1316, Hen. de Esthall bought many lands of Ralph de Lerling, merchant, and Agnes his wife, and added them to his manor; and in the same year William Albon of Old Bokenham; (trustee, I suppose, of Ralph de Bukenham,) settled Bukenham's manor here, by fine, on Lucia de La-Maynewarin of East-Herling; it had then 9 messuages, 229 acres of land, 6 of wood. and 20s. quitrent belonging to it, and extended into Lerling, Hockham, and Rowdham. In 1329, Adam de Wrotham settled two messuages, &c. on Jeffry de Holbech of Illington, with remainder to Aveline, widow of Roger De-la-Maynewarin, who was heir of Jeffery.
In 1343, John de Esthall held half a fee of Adam de Clifton, he of the Earl Warren, and he of the King, which half fee was held of the said John by the Abbot of Sibeton, William Payne, Simon Ropere, John atte More, William de Easthalle, Robert, son of Alan Le-Long, John de Long, Ralph the merchant, John of Rowdham, and Henry de Esthall; and in the same year, Ralph of Illington and his tenants held a quarter of a fee of the said Adam, half of which William de Bukenham held of him; and thus these small manors continued in various hands, and were called by divers names, according to their possessors, till 1375, and then James de Wrotham, and John Chaa of Thetford, were lords of most of them, and each having a moiety, they presented jointly; and in 1392, they became all united in the two chief manors of Westhall and Easthall, together with all the lands belonging to Welholme and Denvere Hall manors in Lerling, which laid in Illington, the moiety of all which were then conveyed by Henry Pakenham, John de Brecclys, Tho. Finch of Thetford, and Eliz. his wife, to John Brusierd, from the heirs of Eliz [Chaa]; and the next year John Bokenham, junior, William and John Rookwood, and John Breccles, settled the other moiety on John Rookwood and his heirs, in trust for Robert Flemyng of Bonewell, and Alice his wife, who was daughter of the said John; and soon after John Bokenham, jun. John Brusiyerd, and Joan his wife, settled the first moiety on John Rookwood, in trust for Robert Flemyng and his heirs, who now became sole lord of the whole town. In 1421, William Flemyng, Esq. was lord and patron; but before 1428, it was divided again into moieties, the first of which (with the whole advowson) was held by Richard Flemyng, Esq. and the second by John Groos of Irsted, who died seized in 1428, as you may see under Welholme's manor in Lerling; (p. 429;) and from this time it went by the name of East Hall manor, and extinguished with the said manor of Welholme's.
The manor of West Hall or Bukenham's continued in the Flemyngs; and in 1450, Sir Tho. Flemyng, Knt. was lord and patron; in 1469, Margaret his wife had it; in 1503, the whole was joined, and a fine levied between William Tye and Nicholas Bukenham, querents, and Lawrence Gower and Maud his wife, deforceants, of the advowson and manors of Easthall, Westall, Welham's, Stratton, and Illington, in order to settle it on the Jermyns; and in 1530, Sir Tho. Jermyn, Knt. settled it on Sir John Heydon, Knt. and Katherine, wife of Sir Christopher Heydon of Baconsthorp, Knt. and in 1539, a fine was levied, confirming the same; it after belonged to Fulk Gray, after that to James Downes, and in 1556, Jerome Spring, and Elizabeth his wife, had it; but in 1671, Christopher Gascoigne was lord and patron, who held it till about 1600, and was succeeded by John Gascoign, Gent, his son and heir, whose son Cotton Gascoign, Gent. had it; in 1626 he married Anne, daughter of Sir William De-Grey of Merton, Knt. who had it settled on her in jointure; she after married to Sir John Palgrave, who was lord and patron during her life, the reversion being sold by Cotton Gascoign, Esq. to
Sir John Churchman, Knt. who presented in 1664, and settled here. This family is descended from John Churchman, citizen of London, and Emme his wife, in the time of King Richard II. who in 1387 were joint purchasers of Skeburgh manor and advowson, from whom descended Ozias, or Ozill Churchman, merchant-tailor of St. Augustine's parish in London, in 1632, in which year he married Mary, daughter of Caly of Lothbury, from whom descended Sir John Churchman of Illington, Knt. who married Hester, daughter of Sir John Gore of Geldeston, in Hertfordshire, Knt. and had John Churchman of Illington, Esq. who was buried here in 1688, who, by Susan, daughter and heir of Fiske of Stiveky in Norfolk, who, after his death, remarried to Maurice Shelton of Barningham in Suffolk, Esq. had William Churchman of Illington, the present  lord and patron, who bears arg. two bars, in chief as many pallets sab.
In 1346, Peter de Esthalle held 42 acres in this town, of Seckford's manor in West-Herling, (see p. 300,) and the several manors in Lerling, Thorphall manor in Wrotham, East-Herling manor, &c. extended hither.
Scerepham, Serpeham, Scropham, or as it is now called, Shropham, was a town of more than common note, when the hundreds were first appointed, as is evident from its giving name to the hundred; at present it is a common village, not so large by a great deal as many in this hundred are, though it consists of three ancient villages, the two last of which have been so far lost, that they are not so much as known by their original names of Breccles-Parva, and Broadcar, or Bradcar.
Breccles-Parva, or Little Breccles
At the time of the Conquest, was a separate town, belonging to Roger Bigot, having in it nine freemen under him, who held 110 acres of land; the manor was worth 10s. a year, and was then in Wayland hundred; but being given to the Earl of Arundel by the said Roger, with his daughter Maud, he added it to his hundred of Shropham, which belonged to his castle of Bukenham, and afterwards infeoffed the Breccleses; who always held it of the Earl of Arundel, at a quarter of a fee, as of his hundred of Shropham. In Henry the Third's time, John de Breccles was lord; and in 1345, John de Breccles, his grandson, had it; in 1402, Benedict de Breccles held it, and soon after it belonged to William de Narburgh, whose daughter Ela had it, she first married Thomas Shouldham, and afterwards Henry Spilman, who died seized in 1494, and Thomas Spilman his son inherited, and his son John had it in 1563; in 1567, it belonged to Francis Woodhouse, Esq. who sold it to Thomas Shelton, Esq. at which time the manor was extinct, the whole being purchased in; it had then a fold-course and free fishery, and extended into Shropham, BrecclesMagna, and Hockham; it afterwards came to the Barkers, John Barker, Esq. the present owner, hath built a seat here, which is the only house in this place.
The church was a rectory, given by Roger Bigot, lord here, to the Priory of Thetford, when he founded it, and so it came wholly to that house, to which it was confirmed by Henry II.; but it being a very small place, the monks agreed to take a pension of 8s. a year, from the rector of Shropham, in lieu of all the tithes. It was annexed to Shropham, and the church was demolished before Edward the Third's time, and the parishioners had the parochial chapel of St. Andrew in Shropham, which till that time belonged to Bradcar, assigned them for their parish church, Bradcar being then entirely united to Shropham; and this continued single for some time, though not very long; for before 1332 the rectory and chapel was annexed to St. Peter and Paul's church of Shropham, so that I meet with no institutions to either of them. At the first settling the vicarage, part of the land in Little Breccles, which belonged to Thompson college, was to pay all tithes to the college; but upon the last settlement in 1414, the vicar was to receive all the great and small tithes of Little Breccles, so that the vicar of Shropham is rector of Little Breccles at this time; and in 1514, upon the complaint of the parishioners of Little Breccles in the parish of Shropham, setting forth that since the settlement the vicar had neglected serving the chapel, contrary to the terms of the consolidation, which, notwithstanding the appropriation, was still an entire rectory to him, the Bishop swore Sir Robert Morley, at his institution in 1519, to perform service in it to the parishioners of Little Breccles, as you may see under his institution. This was demolished about Edward the Fourth's time.
Broadcar, or Bradcar
Was included in Shropham at the Conquest, but was independent of it some time after, and had the parochial chapel of St. Andrew for their church, till it was resigned to the parishioners of Little Breccles, when this was united to Shropham; it belonged to Roger Bigot at the Conquest, and to Andrew de Hengham in 1235; it was afterwards added to, and became a part of, Pakenham's manor, and was always held of the Earls of Arundell at half a fee, as of their hundred of Shropham, and is that part of Shropham which joins to the river by Sneterton.
The vicarage is valued in the King's Books at 8l. 13s. 9d. and being sworn of the clear yearly value of 30l. 2s. 6d. it is discharged of first fruits and tenths, and is capable of augmentation; it pays 2s. synodals, being endowed with the rectory-house and all the glebe land, except an acre and half, and all the great and small tithes of BrecclesParva, and all other tithes in Bradcar and Shropham, except the tithes of corn and grain, which belong to the impropriation. It is in Norfolk archdeaconry, and deanery of Rockland, and in 1603 had 120 communicants, and now  there are about 250 inhabitants. It paid 7l. 13s. 4d. to the tenths, and is now assessed at 610l. 5s. There were three gilds kept in the church of St. Peter and Paul at Shropham; the first was the gild of St. Peter and Paul, the second of St. John Baptist, and the third of our Lady, and there was another gild in St. Andrew's church, held in honour of that Apostle.
The Prior of the monks at Thetford had divers small pieces of land here, which were taxed at 2s.
The Abbot of Bury, at the Conquest, had a freeman, who held 30 acres of him; this was afterwards appropriated to the use of the infirmary of that monastery, and the keeper of the infirmary received the profits till the Dissolution, and was taxed at 5s. and so paid 6d. every tenth.
The temporalities of Bec abbey, and Okebourne priory were taxed 8s. 9d. ob.
The Prior of Bukenham was taxed at 6s. ob. for his temporalities, which were small rents issuing out of divers lands in this town, paid to the priory manor of Bukenham, of which they were held.
Rectors and Vicars
- 1284, Will. de Hengham, rector.
- 1332, 4 kal. July, Ralph de Coggeshale, clerk, was instituted to the rectory of the church of St. Peter at Shropham, with the chapel of St. Andrew lately annexed to the same, at the presentation of John, son of Sir John de Coggishalis, Knt.
- 1358, 10 Dec. Walter de Elveden, priest, at Ralph's resignation. John de Cokefield, Knt.; he exchanged his precentorship in Hereford cathedral, for this rectory.
- 1360, 7 May, Walter Le-Pestour, priest. Sir John de CoggesHales, Knt.
- 1371, 29 Octob. Tho. de Berton, priest. Sir Henry de Coggeshale, Knt.
- 1396, 6 Jan. Sir Thomas, son of Lawrence of Horstede, John Methelwold. This man was the last rector of this parish, for in 1398 the master and fellows of St. Martin's college at Thomeston (or Tomson) obtained a bull from Pope Boniface to appropriate the church of St. Peter at Shropham, together with the chapel of St. Andrew thereto annexed, to their college for ever, on condition there should be a vicarage ordained by the Bishop of Norwich, which should be settled by him and his successours, to their pleasure and liking, provided that the patronage of the vicarage should belong to the master and brethren of the said college, and accordingly in
- 1398, 6 July, Henry Stoket of Eston, priest, was instituted to the vicarage of the parish church of St. Peter at Shropham, with the chapel of St. Andrew annexed, at the presentation of the master and fellows of Thomeston college, who presented all the following vicars till their dissolution; and in
- 1410, Alexander Bishop of Norwich, by virtue of the power reserved in Pope Boniface the Ninth's bull, and because Bishop Henry LeDispenser his predecessor, who consented to the appropriation, had appointed no further about the vicarage, but that it should be worth 20 marks a year, besides the vicars dwelling in the rectory-house, further declared and settled the vicarage in this manner, that the vicars should have the hall, its chambers, the kitchen, the bake-house, stable, and the chamber called the guest-chamber, a long house with a chamber over it, called the priest's chamber, with all the houses belonging thereto, and the garden of half an acre adjoining thereto, the whole being the rectory-house and its site together with 24 acres of arable land (part of the glebe) lying near the house, with the same liberty of faldage, as the rectors had before the appropriation, and all the alterage, oblations, mortuaries, and personal tithes, tithes of calves, chickens, lambs, pigs, foals, geese, ducks, pigeons, wool, milk, flax, hemp, cheese, apples, pears, curtilages, mills, turf, herbage, pasturage, wood, fish, fowl, wax-candles offered, and all other offerings to the altars, or images, in both church and chapel, ploughshote, trees growing on the glebe and churchyards, together with the churchyards, tithes of hay, conies, and all other tithes whatever, except the tithes of corn and grain, all which were to belong to the college; and it was then also settled, that the vicar should pay all the procurations due for the said church, and all other pensions due before the appropriation, viz. 7s. 7d. a year to the archdeacon, and 8s. a year pension to the Prior of Thetford; and that the vicar should have nothing from the college-land, called Breccles-Holm, and that the master should pay an annual rent of 20s. a year to the Bishop for the first fruits, which would cease upon the appropriation, and that he should be taxed at 10l. for the great tithes, and the vicar at 7 marks for his vicarage; and this being thus settled, the Bishop, in
- 1411, 6 April, collated William Helgeye, priest, by lapse, who resigned in
- 1414, 8 Sept. to William Snell, priest, in exchange for Shipton Solars in Worcester diocese, to which Helgeye was instituted, at the presentation of John Solers, lord there, as Snell was to this vicarage, at the presentation of the master and fellows; he held it till May 5, 1422, and then resigned it; and at his resignation, with the consent of the bishop and the master, voided by deed, the former assignation of the vicarage; and the same day after the avoidance, the bishop and master settled the vicarage for evermore to continue, as in the former assignation, except in this, that whereas the College paid 16 marks in money yearly to the vicar, besides the vicarage, out of the great tithes, the vicars for the future should have, and receive in kind, all the corn-tithes, and all other tithes whatsoever, arising and coming from Breccles-Parva, together with all the glebe belonging to the rectory, before the appropriation, except half an acre on the east side of the rectory-house, and one acre in Breccles Holm, and in every thing else the first assignation was to be valid to all intents and purposes, and soon after the master and fellows, viz.
- 1422, 13 June, presented Rich. Blok of Helgeye, priest, who was then instituted vicar.
- 1426, 30 Aug. Gregory Dalle, priest, on Richard Helgeye's resignation.
- 1435, 19 May, John Lalle, priest, on Dalle's resignation.
- 1449, 24 May, John Chaumberleyn, priest, on Lalle's resignation. Mr. Will. Bettys, master of the college.
- 1457, 18 May, Thomas Smale, on Chaumberleyn's resignation. He resigned for Lerling. (see p. 431.)
- 1469, 26 March, John Barsham, on Smale's resignation.
- 1476, 5 Febr. Nicholas Bryon, priest.
- 1494, 25 Sept. Tho. Fairwell, on Bryon's resignation. Ambrose Ede, master of St. Martin's college at Thomeston.
- 1514, 7 March, Robert Pitts. By lapse.
- 1519, 17 Febr. the Bishop presented Sir Robert Morley, by reason of the vacancy of the college, and swore him to perform service twice in a week, and upon the four principal offering-days in every year, in the chapel of St. Andrew, (of Breccles-Parva,) which was annexed to his church, the former vicars having neglected their duty, in serving the parish of Breccles-Parva since the consolidation, and the parishioners would suffer it no longer, as being contrary to the terms of the consolidation; and as their parish of Breccles-Parva, notwithstanding the appropriation was in effect, an entire rectory to the vicar.
- 1526, 24 June, Will. Johnson, priest, on Morley's death.
- Nicholas Marshall, vicar.
- 1539, 9 Dec. Richard Ramme, on Marshall's death. Robert Awdeley, master of Thompson chantry.
- 1554, 16 Sept. George Halsted, (or Haughe,) priest, on Ramme's death. Anthony Hevenyngham, Knt. and Mary his wife.
- 1574, 19 June, John Scott, A. M. at Haughe's death. The mayor and commonalty of the city of Norwich, who have presented ever since, and are now patrons.
- Thomas Stafford.
- 1587, 15 May, Alexander Westall, A. B. on Stafford's resignation.
- 1661, 25 July, Henry Moyse, A. M.
- 1684, 19 June, Will. Warkhouse, A. M. at Moyse's death, united to Lerling.
- 1722, 20 Oct. the Rev. Mr. Nicholas Neech, on Warkhouse's cession, who holds it united to Snetterton.
This Church is a good building, having a square tower and five bells. On a brass plate is this,
Hic iaret Agnes Beny.
On an old seat you may read this,
Pray for the Wyllfare of Thomas Beny and Katherine his Wyffe Anno dni:
They seated the church at this time, and made the screens between the church and chancel, and those between the north isle and the chapel of St. Catherine, at the east end of it. In a north chancel window is, [T. B. Rectoris] For Thomas Berton, who was the last rector but one, in whose time the chancel was glazed.
Under the king's arms is this,
God save the King, & send him long to rayne, In Helth and Peace the Gospel to maintain.
On three marbles in the chancel,
Hic positus est JACOBUS BARKER Armig: (Filius Unicus et Hæres JOHANNIS BARKER de Thorndon in Com: Suff. Gen:) obijt 15° die Febr. Anno Dni: 1718, Ætatis suæ 58.
MARY, late Wife of GEORGE LE-HUNT, of NewBukenham, Gent, died June 30, 1721, aged 51 Years.
A saltire impaling per fess, a star of eight points, counterchanged.
JOHN HART, Gent. died March 2, 1711, Æt. 67.
There remain in the windows the arms of Coggeshall, (see p. 24.)
Pakenham, quarterly, or and gul. in the first quarter an eagle displayed vert.
Arg. a lion rampant murrey, with a forked tail, the arms of Thomas de Berton, sometime rector, as appears by his seal in my own collection.
Breton's or Pakenham's Manor
Belonged at the Confessor's survey to Anaut, and to Earl Hugh at the Conqueror's, of whom Richard de Vernun then held it; it was worth 3l. in Anaut's time, and afterwards 4l.; the whole of Shropham was then above two miles long and one broad, and paid 18d. geld; the superiour jurisdiction belonged then to the hundred, the lord of which hath the leet (fee 3s.) and it extended into Sneterton, as it now does.
The first lord that I meet with, after the Conquest, was Richard de Kanky. In 1230, Ralf de Jernemuth conveyed it to Richard Le Presture. In 1308, John Le Veyle of Barningham, granted it to Peter Le Breton of Shropham; it extended then into Sneterton, Wileby, Harkham, Lerling, Bretenham, Illington, Rokeland, and StowBydon; afterwards, Stephen Bryttoun had it; after this it divided, and in 1345, Richard de Cauz held half a fee of it, of John Gernoun, and the same Richard, Richard Herberd, Walter Goodhale, Henry atte Green, and Robert of Bokenham, held the other half fee of Robert de Morley, and he of the King, which Peter of Shropham, Roger Cauz, and others, formerly held. In 1367, Henry de Breton was lord, who this year left it to his two sisters, his heiresses; Lettice and Agnes, whose son and heir, Henry de Pakenham, inherited her moiety; it was then held as parcel of Tateshall barony: Lettice married John Heryng of Thompson, whose son and heir, John Heryng, was lord of his part in 1393, and in 1394, Henry Heryng, clerk, brother and heir of John, held his part by the two hundredth part of Tateshall barony; Henry Pakenham, Esq. at his death, left his part to Henry, his son and heir, who lived at Shropham in his manor-house, called Pakenham Hall. About 1408, he became heir to Henry Hering of Thompson, clerk, and so the whole of this part was joined in him; the other parts of the half fee which was divided in 1345, were held in 1442, by the heirs of Henry Breton, Roger Caus, Richard Caus, and the heirs of Richard Herberd, Walter Goodale, Robert de Bokenham, and Henry atte Green.
Henry Pakenham died in 1445, and left Robert Pakenham of Shropham, Esq. his son and heir, 30 years old, who held it till 1463, when he died, and was buried, according to his will, in the chapel of St. Catherine at the east end of the north isle of St. Peter's church in Shropham; he gave his horse to the priest for his mortuary; to the high altar 3s. 4d.; to repair the church 6s. 8d.; and to repair St. Andrew's 3s. 4d.; the manor he bequeathed to Henry his son, and gave Garboldesham manor (see p. 257) to his wife for life, with all his manors in Staffordshire; and ordered 200 marks to be paid out of Pakenham manor, to his daughter Margery, and would have a trental celebrated for his soul soon after his death; he desired Will. Warner, Esq. and John Lalle, rector of Rokeland All-Saints, his feoffees, to perform his will, Will. Berdewell, Esq. Robert Spelman, William Mounteny of Threxton, and Tho. Beny, senior, were executors; Hen. Pakenham died seized, in 1495, of this and Honyng manor, and of divers free tenements and lands in Honyng, Northwalsham, Worsted, Crostweyth, and Witton, called Drake's, Wales's, and Lombe's. He left two daughters his heiresses; Elizabeth married John Sturges, senior, and had the moiety of this manor in her right, and purchased the other moiety of Anne Dobbes, her sister, to whom she sold her moiety of Garboldesham; and in 1529, John Sturges senior, of Cranworth, and Elizabeth his wife, levied a fine of the manor of Pakenham's, otherwise Breton's, to Humphrey Wyngfield, in trust; and in 1533, Sturges had license to alien it to Nicholas Sywhat and his heirs. In 1558, Philip Appleyard and Mary his wife had it, and not long after it was united to Bradker, with which it still  continues.
Bradeker, or Bradcar
Was a distinct manor, belonging to Aluric in the Confessor's, and to Gilbert the Archer in the Conqueror's time, it being worth 30s. and afterwards 40; and the soke belonged to the hundred. In 1235, Andrew de Hingham held Bradekore at half a fee, as part of the fees of Roger Bigot, which he gave to the Earl of Arundell. In 1250, Henry de Hengham was lord, and obtained a charter of free warren in all his lands in Bradeker and Bathele; in 1284, William de Hengham, parson of Shropham, settled divers messuages and lands in Bradkyr and Shropham, on Roger Le-Veuze and Alice his wife; in 1285, Andrew de Hengham was summoned to shew cause why he did not pay the King 96 marks, which were behind, of a certain annual rent of two marks a year, due to the King out of certain tenements that the said Andrew held in Shropham. In 1286, Alexander de Hingham had view of frankpledge, assize of bread and ale, allowed him to this manor; in 1288, the heirs of Andrew held Bradeker, at half a fee of the Earl of Pembroke, and in 1295, Andrew de Hengham released to Ralph de Coggeshale the manor of Bradker, consisting of 2 messuages, 296 acres of land, 3 mills, 77s. 3d. rent in Bradker, Shropham, Snitterton, Wilby, and Hocham, together with the advowson of Shropham church. In 1319, Sir John de Coggeshale had it, who, in 1327, settled it in tail on himself and Margaret his wife, and their heirs; and in 1331, John, their son and heir, had it, who, in 1348, settled the whole except one acre and the advowson, on himself, Margaret his wife, and Thomas their son, in tail; in 1360, the same John had it, and Henry was his son and heir, 30 years old; and in 1372, the said Sir Henry de Coggeshale, Knt. Thomas his brother, and Joan, wife of the said Henry, daughter and heiress of William de Welle, sold the acre of land, and the advowsons of the church and chapel annexed, together with the manor of Bradker in Shropham, to Sir Thomas Shardelow, Knt. and his trustees, who sold him the manor of Newhall in Boreham, Springfield-Parva, Badew-Parva, Waltham, and Hatfield Peverell in Essex, by way of exchange, on condition that Sir Tho. Shardelow, Knt. and his trustees, pay an annuity of 8l. per annum to the said Sir Henry and Thomas his brother, during their lives. In 1391,
Richard Earl of Arundell and Surrey, chief lord of the fee of Bradeker manor, for 20l. granted license to John Methewold, John Coke, rector of West Toftes, Will. Coupere, clerk, and John Bulneys, rector of Longford, trustees and feoffees of Sir Tho. Shardelowe, Knt. to settle the manor of Bradekar Hall, with the advowsons and appurtenances, then held of him as of his manor of Hocham, upon Alexander, master of Thompson college, and the fellows there, and their successours, for ever; on condition, that during the life of Phillipa, the Earl's wife, the college should pay her 20s. at every vacancy, as a relief, in lieu of all services: this is dated at CastleAcre, in the Earl's castle there, the 10th day of June, in the year aforesaid; and in 1394, the trustees settled them on the college, where they continued to its dissolution, and were granted in 1450 to Edmund Knevet, Knt. together with the whole revenues of the college; and in 1541 he had license to sell Bradcar and the rectory, and the advowson of the vicarage, to John Flowerdew and his heirs, who, in 1545, sold them to Edward Billingham, and he, in 1546, to Tho. Clere, and he, in 1547, to Sir Anthony Hevenyngham, who aliened them to Sir Ralph Sheltone and his heirs, in trust for Sir Anthony and his wife during their lives; she outlived him, and held it to 1572, and left Sir Arth. Heveningham, Knt. her son and heir, who sold it to the mayor and commonalty of the city of Norwich, who are now lords, impropriators, and patrons.
Mudigwell, or Mudingwell's Manor
Was owned by Eudo the Sewer, of whom Rouland held it at the survey; it had been worth 60s. but was fallen to 37; it was held of the hundred, and Lisius and Eudo both claimed against Rouland; in 1198, Julian and Emma, daughters of Richard [de Bradeker] sold it to Wimar, son of William [of Shropham]; in 1218, Emma and Belisant, daughters of Hervy de Schropham, added many lands to it, which they purchased of Thomas de Snetterton, and Maud his wife, and of Simon de Medelwolde, and Amy his wife. In 1279, Philip, son of Tho. de Mudigwell of Shropham, at the death of Thomas his father, renewed the rental, and after this it was much divided; for in 1293, Roger; son of Adam of Shropham, purchased a part of Walter, son of Andrew De-la-Wade, and soon after we find in the Feodary, that Peter [de Mudigwell] of Shropham, Roger Le Cauz, Will. de Hocham, Rich. de Sueterton, and Peter Fitz-Osbert, held the whole at half a fee, of Will. Mareshall, and he of the King, notwithstanding which, the chief part continued to be a manor; and in 1341, Henry de Mudyngwell was lord; in 1385, Rob. de Ailesham and Alice his wife conveyed it to Sir Miles Stapleton, and Sir Roger de Boys, Knts. and their heirs; in 1506, John Dade of Witton in Norfolk died seized of Madingwell manor, in Shropham; in 1561, John Wade, Gent, sold Modyngwell manor in Shropham, to Sir Tho. Woodhouse, and Will. Woodhouse, Knts. since which time it hath been divided into so many parcels, that it is now extinguished.
The manors of Sneterton, and divers other adjacent manors, extended into this town. Shropham manor is fine certain at 6d. an acre.
Hocham, [hoc-ham], or, the town in the dirt, as the name signifies, was a rectory appendant to the manor till the year 1227, and then Warene de Monte Caniso, or Montchensy, released the advowson to Richard Prior of the monks at Thetford, to which house it was soon after appropriated, and a vicarage instituted, to which the priors presented till the Dissolution.
- 1349, 3 Nov. John de Reding of Berningham, priest. Mary Countess of Norfolk, for this turn.
- 1372, 6 Jan. Thomas de Goldyngton, priest. The King, for this turn, on account of the priory alien at Thetford, which is now in his hands.
- 1376, 16 Jan. Rob. Bert of Brandon, priest, on Goldyng's resignation. The Prior of the monks at Thetford.
- 1377, 13 March, Robert Stugg of Thefford, priest. Ditto.
- 1408, 2 May, Mr. Robert Waleys of Sudbourne, priest. Ditto.
- 1411, 30 Octob. Will. Sparescho of Ixworth, priest. Ditto.
- 1420, 27 Nov. Robert Fenn of Rushworth, priest. Ditto.
- 1421, 8 Oct. Robert Trapet, priest. Ditto.
- 1438, 10 July, Rob. Langwade, priest. Will. Elveden. SubPrior of Thetford, the priory being void.
- 1438, 15 Dec. William Jointure. Ditto.
- John Burges.
- 1483, 4 Dec. Ralph Beele, on Burges's resignation The Prior.
- 1497, 11 July, Will. Wellys, on Beele's death. Robert Prior of Thetford.
- 1527, 18 Nov. Brother John Ixworth, Prior of the monks at Thetford, was instituted into the vicarage at his own and his convent's presentation, according to the Pope's dispensation, granted to the priors of the said monastery; at the death of William Wellys, the prior paid 53s. 4d. for first fruits, to the Bishop, at his institution.
- 1529, 16 Febr. Robert Hyde was instituted on the prior's resignation, who reserved a pension of 4 marks per annum, for life, before he presented Hyde to the vicarage, who was the last presented by that house.
- 1554, 25 Febr. George Halstede, priest. Thomas Duke of Norfolk.
- 1573, 13 March, John Wolfenden. Henry Coppinger, Gent.
- 1582, 20 Sept. Will. Carter, A.M. on Wolfenden's resignation. Ditto.
- 1606, 21 Jan. John Benson. Robert Jermyn, Knt.
- 1634, 22 Dec. Robert French, A.M. on Benson's death. Bacquevill Bacon, Esq.
- 1636, French resigned, and John Underwood, A.M. was instituted at the presentation of Bacq. Bacon, Esq. and held it united to Study, with a certificate that it was not above 20 miles distant, and this is one of the first unions that I have met with, that had any certificate of distance, the Bishops of Norwich having always had power of uniting any two benefices, so that both were within their own diocese.
- 1661, Samuel Greene, A.B. was instituted to the vicarage of HochamMagna and Parva annexed, on the death or John Underwood. Rob. Kerington, Gent. patron.
- 1667, 9 July, Peter Lock, A.M. on Greene's death, united to Illington. Philippa Kedington, widow.
- 1673, 23 March, Car. Sippius. A.M. on Lock's death. Ditto.
- 1679, 20 Oct. John Baldock, A.M. on Sippins's cession. Ditto.
- 1681, 12 Aug. Daniel Bret, A.M. on Baldock's resignation. Ditto.
- 1690, 21 July, Henry Goodrick, A.M. on Bret's deprivation. Henry Kedington, Esq. united to Illington.
- 1712, 14 Oct. Tho. Sadler, on Goodrick's death. Philip Riley, Esq.
- 1714, 16 Jan. Will. Barcroft, A.B. on Sadler's resignation. Ditto.
- 1717, 9 April, John Abbot, A.B. on Barcroft's resignation. Ditto.
- 1724, 1 April, the Rev. Mr. John Verdon. A.B. on Abbot's cession, who holds it united to Rowdham. Ditto.
The impropriation and advowson of the vicarage, at the Dissolution, went with the abbey of Thetford, and all its revenues, to Thomas Duke of Norfolk, who sold it to the Coppingers, and they, about 1600, to the Jermyns, and so it was joined to the manor.
The vicarage is valued at 8l. 17s. 11d. in the King's Books, and being sworn of the clear yearly value of 40l. 10s. only, it is discharged of first fruits and tenths, and is capable of augmentation.
The Church is dedicated to the Holy Trinity, and hath no tower; the ruins of one that hath been dilapidated many years, lie at the west end of the church, in which I find these memorials.
On a mural monument against the north chancel wall,
Memoriæ Roberti Baldock, Filij Roberti Baldock, Equitis Aurati, et Mariæ Uxoris Ejus, natu Minoris, Prælio Navali contra Belgas, 28° die Maij, Anno Dom. 1673, Ætatis suæ 18, occisi. posuit Pater.
Cœlum, Animam (Spero) annumerat Fælicibus Umbris, Nescius an Corpus Terra, vel Unda Capit.
On flat marbles in the chancel,
Henricus Bacon Armiger, Bacquevilli Bacon Ar. (Dni. Nicholai Bacon de Redgrave, Militis & Baronetti Filij Natu Tertij) Filius Natu Tertius, Bacquevilli Bacon Ar. Frater et Hæres, obijt 13° die Martij Ano Salutis 1647.
Depositum Mariæ Filiæ Bacquevilli Bacon Ar. Natu maximæ, Henrici Bacon Ar. Sororis & Cohæredis, Uxoris Roberti Baldock Ar: Dote, Fide, Forma, Moribus, Castitate, Pietate, Desideratissimæ, ex hac Vita migravit 11° die Augusti An° Salutis 1662.
Here lyeth the body of Robert Kedington of Great Hockham, in the County of Norff. Esq; who took to Wife Philipa, the second Daughter of Bacquevill Bacon, Esq; Sister and Coheir of Henry Bacon, Esq; he departed this Life the 28 Day of March Anno Dni: 1667.
Phillipa Kedington, Uxor ejus obijt 9 Augti 1690.
Henry Kedington, obijt 21 April 1690. Katharina Kedington 7 Febr: 1690.
Rob. Kedington 1 Nov: 1698. Liberi Henr: et Margaretæ Kedington.
Sir Robert Baldock, one of the Judges of the Common Pleas during the reign of King James II. was buried here; he died Oct. 4, 1691, and had two wives, the first of which was Mary, sister and coheir of Henry Bacon, and daughter of Bacqueville Bacon of Hocham, Esq.
In 1532, Robert Poley of Hocham, was buried in the church, as I find by his will, in which is this clause: "Item I wyll that my tenement sumtyme called Jankyns lately John Taylour, alias Nebys, now Robert Poley's, shall fynde and kepe a light before our Lady of Petye, wyth five prekett candells of waxe, to burn in the church of Hocham in tyme of divyne service in the said church, for ever."
Was always one manor, which belonged to Edric in the Confessor's days, and to Roger Bigot at the survey, when it was worth 4l. and was three miles long and one broad, and paid 15d. geld; it then extended into Wayland hundred, and a freeman that held 8 acres of land in that hundred, but the superiour lordship of it belonged to Bukenham castle as the rest of the town did, the leet belonging to the hundred of Shropham, to which the town always paid a common fine or leet fee of 7s. a year, till the hundred was mortgaged and after sold to the Kedingtons, and then the leet and leet fee, with all the liberties belonging to the leet and the whole liberties which belonged to the hundred were joined to the manor, before they sold the hundred, and excepted upon the sale of it, so that the lord of the hundred hath no paramountship in this town. From the Bigots it went to the Albanys, who infeoffed the Montchensies; and in 1235, Warine de Munchensy held it at one fee, of Bukenham castle, it being one of the fees formerly Earl Bygot's. King Henry III. granted Dionise Montchensy a charter for a fair, and market, to be kept here every Friday; and in 1285, she had liberty of free-warren in all her demeans here; but all the superiour jurisdictions were at the same time allowed to Robert de Tateshale, lord of Bukenham castle, as superiour lord of the leet, namely, view of frankpledge, assize of bread and ale, and a pillory, as well for his own tenants as others. And in this year it was presented by the jury, sworn before the justices itinerant at Norwich, that an unknown man was taken at Hocham, in the manor of Dionise de Montchensy of Hocham, with a line of 13d. value, and was carried into the open court there, and without any one's prosecuting him, was taken and hanged; upon which the sheriff was ordered to summon the said Dionise, and the suiters of her court there, to give an account of it. At her death it went to the Earl of Pembrook, and so descended to the Hastyngs Earls of Pembrook; (as you may see under Winfurthing, p. 186;) and in 1487, John de Hastyngs Earl of Pembrook settled it on Anne his wife, daughter of Margaret, daughter and heir of Thomas de Brotherton Earl of Norfolk. In 1391, Reginald Grey, Knt. was lord; in the year 1400, Philippa, widow of John de Hastyngs, the last Earl of Pembrook of that name, was dead, and held it to her death, in dower of the Lord Mowbray, as of his manor of Forncet, by the service of 9d. per annum castle-guard, and it was found, that Sir Edward Hastyngs, (of Elsyng,) Knt. was her husband's next heir, but for all that it descended to the Greys of Ruthyn, heirs general of the family; and this year Sir Reginald de Grey of Ruthyn, Knt. settled it on feoffees, but in 1401, he had released it, for then William Beauchamp had it; and in 1435, Joan, widow of William Beauchamp of Bergavenny, died seized of it, as parcel of the inheritance of the Hastyngses Earls of Pembrook; and it descended to Elizabeth, wife of Edward Nevil Lord Abergavenny, daughter and heir of Richard Beauchamp Earl of Worcester, son and heir of William and this Joan in 1475; Edward Nevil, younger son of George Nevile Lord Bergavenny, was possessed of the manor, by virtue of his father's will in 1491; and in 1535, Sir George Nevile, Knt. and Sir Edward Nevile, Knt. settled it on William Drury; in 1539, John Heydon, Knt. and Catherine his wife, and Chris. Heydon, Knt. sold it to Sir Thomas Jermyn, Knt.; in 1576, Sir Ambrose Jermyn of Rushbrook was seized, and Sir Robert Jermyn, his son, had it in 1599, and then levied a fine to William Killegrew, Esq. Will. Jermyn, Esq. and others. About 1600, Bacquevile Bacon of Hockham, third son of Sir Nicholas Bacon of Redgrave, Bart. by Anne, daughter and heir of Edmund Butts, was lord, and at his death left it to Bacquevile Bacon, his eldest son, who died a minor in 1641, aged 17 years, and Henry his brother inherited, being then 15 years old. He died the 13th of March, 1641, and was buried here leaving his three sisters his coheiresses; Mary, the eldest, married Judge Baldock; Philipa, the second, married Robert Kedington, who lived and died here; Anne, the third, married Nicholas Rookwood of Euston, Esq. and sold their third part to Robert Kedington, who afterwards purchased Baldock's part, and so became sole lord, and at his death left it to Philipa his wife, who kept her first court Oct. 15, 1667; and at her death, Henry Kedington of Hockham, Esq. became lord, and kept his first court 9 Oct. 1685; and in 1702, Philip Ryley, Esq. serjeant at arms to the lord treasurer, surveyor of the Queen's woods and forests on the south side of Trent, and one of the commissioners of the excise, who was afterwards knighted, purchased the manor, impropriation, and advowson, of Henry Kedington, Gent. and built a neat brick house here, which is now  the seat of Philip Reginald Ryley, Esq. his grandson and heir.
The ancient Customs and privileges within the manor of Great Hocham, as appears by the examined evidences of the said manor.
The lord hath the goods of felons de se, within the manor. (Court Roll 11 H. 7.) No tenant can waste his copyhold; women are dowable for a moiety of the copyhold, of which their husbands are seized, during the coverture.
A man, by the custom of this manor, is tenant by the courtesy of England, of lands and tenements of this manor, of which his wives are seized, and have issue between them. (Roll 12 E. 3.)
No tenants of the lord's, inhabiting in Great Hocham, ought to be cited to the consistory or spiritual courts, because it is against the custom of that village or town, and to the prejudice of the lord, as appears by the prior of the monks at Thetford, A° 1 H. 4.
Hocham Meare, alias Cranberry Fen, is a separate water of the lords of this manor; (Rolls 7. 10 H. 7. 13. 22 H. 8. 16 Eliz.) it contains fourteen score acres, and is in circuit 708 perches, every perch containing 18 feet, and the lord hath a fish-house there.
The lord of the manor is lord of the common of pasture in Great Hockham, and of all waste in the bounds of the village.
The tenants give for a fine for their copyhold lands and tenements; upon every alienation, whether by death or surrender, according to the ancient custom of this manor, 12d. out of every mark of the value and price of their lands and tenements by them taken up, and such fine is called mark shilling.
One copyhold tenant can take a surrender, and another witness it.
The lands descend to the eldest son, and the manor extends into Breccles, Illington, Tottington, and Thomson.
In 1384, Sir Stephen de Hales, Knt. aliened divers lands here and in other towns, to the Prior of Walsyngham. In 1654, the township of Hocham held divers lands of this manor.
This town hath no market at this time, it contains about 200 soals, and paid 4l. 7s. to the tenths, and is now assessed with Little Hocham at 628l. 6s. 8d. to the King's tax.
Was a small village between Great Hocham and Illington; in the Confessor's time it belonged to Ailwin, and in the Conqueror's it was held of Roger Bigot by Turold, for life, I imagine, because soon after, it was in Roger's own hands, who gave the church and tithes to the priory of Thetford at their foundation, who received them separately, till the church of Great Hocham was appropriated to them, and then they joined them to Great Hocham, which is the reason we meet with no institutions, though I suppose the church was not demolished till after Richard the Second's time, for then we meet with the church of St. Mary at Hocham, mentioned in evidences, which I believe must be this, Great Hocham being dedicated to the Holy Trinity. The manor afterwards was held of the honour of Richmond at a quarter of a fee, by Alan de Anestie; and in 1252, by Ralph de Neketon, who had free-warren allowed him in it. It soon after belonged to William de Hockham, who made it complete, by joining all the lands and tenements that belonged to the manor of Wretham (or Wretham) to it, as well those that laid in Great Hocham as in this town; for I find in an old register of Bec abbey in Normandy, to which Wrotham manor belonged, that this William held all the lands and tenements that the church of Bec had in Hocham, by the rent of 17s. 2d. a year, three days work in ploughing, three in mowing, and one hen; and he and all his tenants under him were to pay reliefs, do suit to the halmote-court at Wrotham, pay scot and lot, and could not marry their daughters without license; and soon after this, in 1299, he levied a fine of the whole, when it contained 18 messuages, 275 acres of land, 11 acres of pasture, one acre of turf-land, 37 acres of heath, and 14s. ob. rent in Great and Little Hocham. In 1315, John de Hocham was lord, and in 1326, Ralph of Hocham; in 1335, John Duke of Bedford aliened to the prior of Thetford the manor of Little Hocham, but I take it to be only the superiority of the fee, the manor being then held of him, and afterwards of the Prior, and after that of the Bishop of Norwich, and after the revenues of the bishoprick were taken into the King's hands, it was held of the Crown. In 1538, Ambrose Jermyn was lord; it after belonged to the Bedingfields; and in 1572, Edmund Jermyn died seized; in 1603, Will. Jermyn had it, and released it to Robert Jermyn, Knt. and Will. Jermyn, senior, Esq.; in 1616, there were five copyhold tenants, which paid 3l. 12s. rent, two tenements worth 8l per annum, a sheeps' walk, &c. It now  pays all dues to Great Hocham, there being only two farms in the village, of which the manor-house is one, which with the manor is now owned by William Jermy of Norwich, Esq. in right of his wife, who was sister and sole heiress of the Right Honourable the Lord Richardson, Baron of Cramond in Scotland. The fines are at the lord's will, and the eldest son is heir.
EAST, or GREAT WROTHAM
Is so called because it lies most east of the three Wrothams, of all which Herold was lord in King Edward's time, and Ralph de Tony in the Conqueror's; Wretham (or Wrotham Thorp) had then two carucates, Wertham, (or West Wrotham,) had three, and Weretham (or East Wrotham) had four, and all of them were berewites to Neketun, (or Necton,) and contained together four miles in length, and four miles in breadth, and paid xxd. geld.
This manor was given to Bec abbey in Normandy, by that Ralph de Toni, who held it at the survey, from which time it enjoyed all the privileges belonging to that monastery. In the register of the abbey (fol. 58, b) the customs of the manor are entered, among which it appears, that the tenants were to pay scot and lot, by way of aid to the abbots, when they came into England, or to their proctors, if the necessities of the abbey were very urgent; they could not sell a horsecolt, nor an ox of their own bringing up, without their lord's leave, nor marry their daughters, nor go to live out of the manor, nor remove their chattels out of it, without license; they paid at every death the best beast for a heriot, or 32d. instead of it, and if any one died intestate, all their chattels were at the lord's disposition. When the harvest work was finished by the tenants, they were to have half an acre of barley, and a ram let loose in the midst of them; and if they catched him, he was their own to make merry with, but if he escaped from them, he was the lord's, which custom is still kept at Eton college, there being a ram every year let loose among the scholars, on a certain day, to be run down by them, the original of which might come from the custom of this manor; at this time William de Hockam held 60 acres of land of the old feoffment, by 5s. per annum rent, and also 16s. rent at Rokeland, and all that belonged to the church of Bec, and was part of this manor, as you may see at Hocham-Parva. William Francolanus, or Frankleyn, held a carucate of land at Serepham, or Shropham, and paid scot and lot, gifts and aids, and did suit to this court, and Henry de Bradekere held a tenement there by the same service. Emma de Kerbrook, or Carbrook, Adam de Ockeham, or Hockham, Walter Bainard, and the heirs of William Crongethorp, held a bruery, called Sandwadescot, by suit of court, and the service of going to London, or elsewhere at their own charge, on the lord's errand, and by doing the lord's and the town's service, in attending the sheriff's turns, and hundred courts, to hear the King's orders; and William de Wrotham then held 60 acres of land and a messuage, which, in 1240, was given by Reginald, son of Eustace de Wrotham, to Bec abbey. In 1285, the abbot held it in free alms, as parcel of Tony's barony, and had view of frankpledge, assize of bread and ale, a pillory, gallows, and weyf, and thus it continued in the abbey, (unless when it was in the King's hands by reason of the French wars,) till 1414, the second of King Henry V. when the Parliament at Leicester dissolved the Prior's aliens, and then it continued in the Crown till King Henry VI. settled it on his college of Eton, at the foundation, and confirmed it by his charter in 1444; and in 1460 it was reconfirmed by King Edward IV. it being parcel of the possessions of Okeburne priory, which was an alien depending on Bec abbey; and at this time the provost, fellows, and scholars of Eton are lords. The leet belongs to the manor, and liberty of keeping petit-sessions along with it, by grant of Hugh Earl of Sussex, who released it to the church of Bec, on condition that they should treat his bailiffs and suiters to the hundred court, every other year, in their manor of East Wrotham; and afterwards, in 1237, the said Hugh, for 12 marks paid him by Brother William de Gynevill, their general proctor in England, released to them the said treat, on condition they paid to the bailiff of the hundred, yearly, 14d. every Michaelmas day, and the ancient leet fee of 3s. so that the lord of the hundred, though he is paramount here, yet hath no leet. This manor hath liberty of a coroner, whose jurisdiction extends over the Wrothams, by grant of King Henry VI. when he founded his colleges of King's and Eton.
The rectory is valued at 11l. 12s. 3d. ob. in the King's Books, and pays 1l. 3s. 2d. 3q. yearly tenths; it is in the archdeaconry of Norfolk, and deanery of Rockland.
The Church is dedicated to St. Ethelbert, and the rector paid a pension of 20s. a year out of it to the Abbot of Bec, and 12d. for synodals the Abbot of Counches's temporalites belonging to his manor of West Wrotham, in this town, were taxed at 9l. In the year 1603, there were 80 communicants, which number is much decreased; it paid 2l. 15s. to the tenths, and is now  assessed at 340l. to the land tax, there being, as I am informed, about 150 inhabitants.
- 1321, 7 id. July, William de Dorso usto, [or Burnt-Arse] accolite, was presented by Brother William de Ponte, monk of the monastery of Bec-Herlewyne, who was general proctor for the Abbot of Bec in England.
- 1321, prid. kal. Nov. Gilbert de Arundell, colet, (i. e. accolite.) Ditto. In 1325, he was deacon, and had liceuse for non-residence for two years.
- 1335, prid. kal. Sept. Master Will. de Braumford, priest, on Arundell's resignation. Rich. de Beausevall, proctor for the Abbot of Bec.
- 1348, 30 May, Rob. de Ash. The Prior of Okebourne.
- 1349, 20 Febr. Will. de Pakynton, shaveling. The King.
- 1362, 30 March, Richard Mercer, priest. Peter de Falco, Prior of Okeborne, proctor-general for the Abbot of Bec, in the diocese of Roan in France.
- 1394, 27 Aug. Will. De-Lawe, priest. The King, as belonging to the temporals of Okebourne priory, which are now in his hands.
- Robert Swanland.
- 1447, 19 Sept. Mr. John Smith, bachelor in the decrees, on Swanland's death.
- 1447, 17 Febr. John Gardiner, on Smith's resignation.
- 1453, 23 Jan. Will. Bettys, priest.
- 1465, Adam Welvys, priest, on Bettys's death.
- John Dunham.
- 1482, 30 Aug. Will. Pennyngton, on Dunham's death.
- 1494, Will. Horman, A. M. on Pennyngton's death.
- Richard Marten.
- 1503, 13 March, John Smith, on Marten's death.
- 1517, 9 Dec. Tho. Payn, on Smith's death,
- 1550, 25 Oct. Peter Catton, priest, on Payn's death.
- 1556, 12 March, Stephen Hopkyns, on Catton's death, united to West Wrotham.
- 1559, 21 Febr. William Edwards on Hopkyns's resignation.
- 1579, 7 Sept. Robert Conye, S.T. B. who had West Wrotham.
- 1613, 29 May, Robert Haldesworth, A.M.
- 1614, 16 Nov. Tho. Browne, A. M.
- 1640, 16 Jan. Richard Younge, A. M. on Browne's death.
- Samuel Wooton, S.T.P.; he had West Wrotham.
- 1681, 25 April, John Powell, A. M. united to West Wrotham.
- 1711, 18 Oct. The Rev. Nathaniel Coddington, A. M. the present  rector, who holds it united to West Wrotham.
All presented by the Provost of Eton college, who is now patron.
Upon the west end of the steeple was an old inscription, beginning, [Orate pro &c.] but so battered, that it is illegible; a very large stone coffin was ploughed up in a close in this town about 1715. There are divers saints painted on the screens, as St. Augustine, St. Ambrose, &c. In 1615, John Dowffyld, Gent. gave 10l. by will to the minister and church-wardens, to be employed for ever as town stock, to set the poor on work.
WEST, or NORTH WROTHAM
Belonged to Ralph de Toni at the Conquest, who was son of Roger de Toni, Standard-bearer of Normandy, and founder of the abbey of Conchis in that dukedom; this Ralph was Standard-bearer to the Conqueror in that memorable battle against King Harold, and by his eminent service in it, became a sharer in those large possessions which were after that signal conquest disposed of to his friends and followers, and among others, had 19 lordships in Norfolk, these three being part of them, the biggest of which he gave (as is before observed) to Bec abbey, and left the other two to Ralph, his son and heir, who left them at his death, to Roger his son and heir, who gave this manor and advowson, with the mill and moors, and whatever he held else in the township, to the monks of Conchis, who held them of his gift at his death, as belonging to their cell at WottonWawen in Warwickshire, which was in 1162. In 1267, Robert le Taylur and Aveline his wife, granted to Walter abbot of the church of St. Peter of Cunches, 70 acres of land here; in 1279, Ralph, son of the said Roger, granted liberty of free-warren, and free fishing, to the abbot of St. Peter of Conches Castellon, in all his demeans and waters in his manor of Wrotham, viz. in Wrotham-Thorp manor. In 1285, the abbot of Conches had view of frankpledge, assize of bread and ale allowed him, and thus it continued in the abbot (except when the King held it on account of the French wars, when the temporalities of the alien priories were generally seized, that the revenues might not go to support the King's enemies) till 1414, the 2d of King Henry V. and then the parliament at Leicester dissolved all the alien priories, and so it came to the Crown, and was granted for life to Sir Rowland Lenthall, Knt. and at his death it went with the Priory of Wotton Wawen, and all its revenues, to King Henry VI. who gave them to the provost and scholars of his college of St. Mary and St. Nicholas in Cambridge, commonly called King's college, who are now lords and patrons. King Henry II. granted the monks of Wotton license to choose their own abbot, and that all their tenants in England should be free from serving at sheriff's turns, and hundred courts, and acquitted them of all tax, Danegeld, hildielt, and hundredfu, and also granted them all felons goods forfeited; by virtue of which, this manor pleaded an exemption from doing suit to the hundred, but still paid their leet fee of 3s. a year to it, for themselves and Wrotham-Thorp, of both which, the lord of the hundred is paramount, but hath no power to compel the tenants to any service.
This rectory is valued in the King's Books at 12l. 11s. 3d. and pays 1l. 5s. 1d. ob. yearly tenths; it is in Norfolk archdeaconry, and Rockland deanery.
The Church is dedicated to St. Lawrence, was taxed in the Lincoln taxation at 14 marks, and paid 12d. synodals. In 1603, there were 40 communicants, and there are now  about 100 inhabitants; it paid 3l. 4s. to the tenths, and is assessed at 376l. to the land tax.
- 1308, 6 non. May, William, called de Forda, (or Ford,) priest, was presented by the Abbot of St. Peter of Cunches.
- 1328, 8 kal. Febr. Rich. Woderone, priest, was presented to North Wrotham, by John de Lotoveris, proctor of the Abbot of Cunches; and in 1331, he had license for non-residence, as chaplain to the Lady Mortimer, at the request of the Bishop of Worcester.
- 1394, 2 July, Barth. Pulleter, priest, was instituted to North alias West Wrotham, on the King's presentation, the temporals of the Abbot of Cunches being in his hands during the war between him and France.
- 1398, 22 June, John Gylot, priest. The King, as before.
- 1417, 9 Nov. Tho. Doleyn, priest, on Gilbert's resignation. The King for this turn.
- 1433, 7 Jan. Tho. Galle, priest, on Doleyn's death. Sir Rowland Lenthall, Knt. in right of the manor called West Wrotham Hall, which he hath for life, of the gift of King Henry V. to which manor the advowson is appendant.
- 1435, Tho. Bennet, priest, on Gall's death. Ditto.
- 1436, 17 June, Tho. Says, on Bennet's resignation. Ditto.
- 1442, 3 March, Will, Deen, priest, on Say's resignation. John prior of Wotton Wawen in Worcester diocese.
- 1451, 10 Febr. Rob. Wodemanston, priest.
- 1500, 30 June, David Barker, A. M.
- 1509, 30 Oct. Rob. Harlsey, on Barker's death.
- 1551, 16 May, Stephen Hopkyns, A.M. on Harlsey's death, in 1556, he was instituted to Great Wrotham, and held both by union.
- 1559, 21 Febr. William Edwards, on Hopkyns's resignation.
- 1579, 7 Sept. Robert Conye, S. T. B.
- 1613, 3 June, Richard Lancaster, S.T.B.
- 1613, 17 Sept. Paul Kent, clerk.
- 1640, 29 April, Samuel Wooton, S.T.P. he had Great Wrotham.
- 1681, 25 April, John Powell, A.M. on Wooton's death, united to Great Wrotham.
- 1711, 18 Oct. The Rev. Nathaniel Coddington, A. M. the present  rector, holds it united to East Wrotham.
These last presented by the Provost of St. Mary's and St. Nicholas's college at Cambridge, commonly called King's college, who is now patron.
These inscriptions are in the chancel,
HODIE MIHI. CRAS TIBI.
Here lyeth the Body of Samuel Wotton, Doctor of Divinity, and Minister of both the Wrethams, who departed this Life the 4th of Febr. and was buried the 6, 1680, aged 80 Years, 5 Months.
He learn'd to live, while he had Breath, And so he lives even after Death.
Elizabeth, Wife of Dr. Wotton, died 1 Aug. 1679, aged 53, on the North Side of her Stone lie Samuel, William, and Elizabeth their Children,
Their Time was short, the longer is their rest, God calls them soonest, whom he loveth best.
Thomas Townshend, Gent, and Kath. Hoo his Wife, he died July 31, 1681.
Frances, Wife of George Townshend, Gent. and Daughter of Edmund Bacon of Hesset, Esq. died Sept. 1649.
William Powell, Gent. descended from the Powell's of Shropshire, died Febr. 6, 1685.
John Powell his Son, Rector of the Wrethams, dyed March 6, 1710.
There is a brass plate fixed against the east end of the chancel wall, with this inscription,
The Body of CATHERINE CODDINGTON, the beloved Wife of NATHAN. CODDINGTON, rector of the two parishes, dyed 11 Oct. 1716, aged 33.
Oh! had the Number of her Days, Been as compleat, as was her Praise, Happy, and pleas'd with such a Store, Her dearest Friend had wish'd no more.
Upon a south chancel window may be seen a small emblematical figure of an hare riding on a grayhound, with a bow and quiver hanging at its back, and a bugle horn by its side.
== WROTHAM-THORP, or LITTLE WROTHAM, NOW THORP-HOUSE==
The third was called anciently Little Wrotham, or Wrotham-Thorp, and now Thorp-House, there being only one farm remaining at this time; it never had any church, but was an hamlet to West Wrotham, which took the name of Little Wrotham after this was joined to it: it was a separate village at the Conquest, and so continued to the latter end of Edward II. though the manor always was, and now is, distinct from the other Wrothams, by the name of Thorp Hall. It was held by the Tonys, who had all the three at first, and passed as West Wrotham did, till that was given to the Abbot of Conches, by Roger de Tony, who died seized of this, and left it to Ralph his son, who, in 1279, held Wrotham-Thorp, as part of his barony, the manor having then liberty of view of frankpledge, assize of bread and ale, and weyf; he left it to Robert, his son and heir, after the decease of William Martin, and Loveday his wife, who held it for life by Ralph's grant; but in 1309, he was in possession, and died seized, leaving it to Alice, widow of Tho. Leybourne, his sister and heir, at that time 26 years old, who married Guy de Beauchamp Earl of Warwick, who, soon after his marriage, sold the manor, with 30s. 11d. rent, a messuage, and 100 acres of land in Stanford, held by the tenth part of a fee, to Thomas de Nethergate, chaplain of Stanford, to be held of the Earl by the annual payment of a chaplet of roses; and this Thomas gave the manor to the Prior of Cokesford and his successours in 1315, reserving the Stanford parts to himself. In 1343, it was settled by Peter de Weston Taillur, and Alice his wife, on Sir John de Norwich, Knt. at which time it contained two carucates, for which John gave them 100 marks; how it came from Coxford, whether by exchange or no, I do not find. In 1350, John de Herlyng granted to Sir John de Norwich, Knt. all the lands in the Wrothams and Illington, which he purchased of John de Wrotham, with the fold-courses, homages, and services, thereto belonging; and in 1354, John de Bruseyerd of Shadenfield, his feoffee, released his right; in 1374, it descended to Katherine de Brewse, cousin and heir of Sir John Norwich, junior, who settled it on John Daventre, parson of Brom, Walter Barkly, vicar of Kymberle, John Cranhouse, Edmund Lakyngheth, and Richard Nooth, for her life, and a year after her decease, remainder to the King and his heirs, Sir John Plaiz, Sir Robert Howard and others being feoffees; and in 1384, King Richard II. gave the reversion to the prioress and nuns of Dartford in Kent; in 1405, William Barret of Dicleburgh, and Joan his wife, settled divers lands and a fold-course here on Joan, Prioress of Dartford, and her successours, in which house it continued to the Dissolution; and in 1539, was granted to Sir Tho. Jermyn, Knt. and his heirs, to be held in capite. In 1561, it was Edmund Jermyn's; in 1576, Sir Amb. Jermyn of Rushbrook, Knt. died seized, and left Robert his son and heir, but gave this manor to William Jermyn, Esq. his youngest son, who in 1603, settled it on himself and his heirs; it afterwards belonged to George Townsend of Cranworth, second son of Tho. Townsend of Testerton, he married Frances, daughter of Edmund Bacon of Hesset in Suffolk, leaving two sons, Henry the younger, and Thomas the elder, who lived at West Wrotham, where he was buried in 1681, leaving by Katherine Hoo his wife, one son, viz. George Townsend of Wrotham, Gent. who first married a Green, but by her had no issue, and afterwards a grand-daughter of Sir Robert Baldock of Tacolneston, whose mother was sister and heir of Robert Baldock of Tacolneston, Esq. his son and heir, by whom he had the Rev. Mr. Townsend, rector of Shipdham; which of them it was that sold the estate, I cannot say, but am informed that it belongs to the heirs of Sir Nicholas Gerrard, Bart. who died in 1727.
I meet with nothing more concerning these Wrothams, but that the great hundred court is to be annually kept at a place called KettleBridge, between Little Hocham, Illington, and Great Wrotham, on Tuesday after Michaelmas day in the morning, where all the rents due to the hundred are to be paid, and proper warrants issued for all arrears.
In Fabian's Chronicle, (fol. 361,) is this,
"Aboute that Srason, [1418,] the Parson of Wortham in Norfolk, whych longe Tyme had haunted Nuw-Market Heth, and there robbed and spoyled many of the King's Subierts, was nowe with his Concubyne broughte into Newgate, where lastly he dyed."
And in a manuscript in the hands of the Rev. Mr. Baldwin, it is thus related: "In 1418, the parson of Wrotham in Norfolk, which had haunted Newmarket Heathe, and there robbed and spoiled many, was with his concubine to Newgat of London where he died."
It appears by the institutions, that it could not be the parson of West Wrotham, and (if any) must be the parson of East Wrotham, and it looks something like it, there being no time of Swanlond's institution mentioned, who was instituted at the death of this parson; but whether it was De-Lawe, or any other that had it after him, and before Swanlond, I cannot pretend to determine.
Rokelunt, Rochelunt, or [roc-land], as it is now called, signifies the hilly land, which answers very well to the situation of these parishes, as well as the other Rockland in Hensted hundred, which is situate on the declivity of a hill, joining to a large marsh, through which the Waveny passes, in its course to Yarmouth. That this place was of special note in early times, is evident from its being the residence of the deans of so large a deanery as this, having no less than three parishes in its own bounds, besides thirty other rectors and vicars under its jurisdiction, it containing all the parishes in Giltcross and Shropham hundred; the parishes here are called St. Andrew's, AllSaints, and St. Peter's, the two first of which were lately consolidated, the church of St. Andrew falling into decay, and standing not above a furlong eastward from All-Saints, was suffered to dilapidate; the tower is square, and is still standing, its three bells being stolen out of it some years since, were never heard of. This town is called, to distinguish it from the other Rockland, Rockland-Tofts, and St. Andrew's parish, is often named in evidences, about Edward the Third's time, Toft, without any other addition. Here is a meeting of people on Midsummer Day, in a nature of a small country fair, which they call the Gild, the remains, without all doubt, of the gild of St. John Baptist, which was held in St. Peter's church before the Reformation. The parishes of All-Saints and St. Andrew's are assessed together at 518l. 15s. to the land tax, as in Shropham hundred, and the parish of St. Peter by itself at 230l. as in Wayland hundred, though I do not find it ever said to be in that hundred, till about 90 years since, at which time it was laid to Wayland, and the constables and surveyors are the same with Little Ellingham, their presentments running, EllinghamParva, cum Rockland-Tofts St. Peter. The whole was taxed together in Shropham hundred to the tenths, to which it paid 4l. 3s. 4d.; there are now about 300 inhabitants.
This and all the other deaneries were in the Bishop's collation, and had peculiar seals appropriated to them, several of which I have seen, but never met with that of this deanery; the deans here follow in their order.
Deans of Rockland
Peter the dean.
- 1315, 6 kal. April, Robert de Stokeneyland, accolite; he was rector of a mediety in Denevere.
- 1338, 24 Sept. John de North-Kellesey, accolite, he resigned in
- 1341, 15 March, and Peter de Normandeby, accolite, succeeded.
- 1345, 20 Febr. Adam de Sudbury, priest.
- 1348, 22 Dec. Lawrence de Littelton, shaveling, who was afterwards rector of Great Massingham.
- 1350, 19 Sept. John de Breydeston, at Littelton's resignation.
- 1350, 7 Nov. Breydeston resigned, and Anthony de Goldesburgh, a shaveling, had it.
- 1410, 26 July, William Oxenford, clerk.
- 1456, 5 Aug. John Pyers.
- 1475, 8 June, John Ap Howel.
- 1498, 10 Jan. Robert Gasele.
- Toft, or Rockland St. Andrew's rectory, was valued in the King's Books at 5l. 14s. 4d. and is called Rockland Major in many evidences; it paid 2s. synodals, and 6s. 8d. procurations. The canons of Thetford had temporal rents here, taxed at 20s. ob. and the prior of Bukenham's temporals were taxed at 4s. 10.
- 1310, 15 kal. Febr. Robert Carbonel, priest. Henry Carbonel of Rokelound, and Katherine his wife.
- 1317, prid. non. Feb. John, son of John Bule of Brecles, accolite. Ditto.
- 1324, kal. July Alan de Hecham, priest. Ditto.
- 1342, 18 Dec. Will. Dune, accolite. Katherine, relict of Henry Carbonel of Rockland Toftys.
- 1349, 29 Oct. John Le-Veylde of Bodney, priest. Maud, daughter of Henry Carbonel.
- 1365, Jeffery Cantel, priest. Richard Holdych.
- 1375, 27 Nov. Richard Perpoynt of Saham, priest. Ditto.
- 1392, 10 June, William Taillour of Northwold, priest, on Perpoynt's death. Thomas Holdych. He had All-Saints.
- 1418, 6 Aug. Robert Oldman of this parish, priest. Tho. son of Rog. Elyngaam.
- 1432, 23 March, Nicholas Medewe, priest. Thomas Holdych, Esq.
- 1435, 16 Dec. Walter Goose, priest. Ditto.
- 1441, 5 Oct. Will. Orlyons, priest. Ditto.
- 1462, 2 Oct. Robert Hill, on Orlyons' death. Richard Holdych, Esq.
- 1466, 6 Oct. John Hyseham. Ditto.
- Richard Hardfyshe.
- 1502, 21 June, John Marshall on Hardefyshe's death. - - - Southwell, Esq.
- 1502, 12 Nov. Henry Stroder, united to All-Saints.
- 1512, 25 July, James Brereley. Lapse.
- 1540, 9 Aug. Richard Clegg, chaplain, on Brerely's death, united to Brecles Vic. Edmund Chaumberleyn.
- 1554, 8 May, Will. Wylde, priest, at Clegg's deprivation. Robert Holdych, of Ranworth, Esq.
- 1557, 4 Jan. Edmund Bidsonne, or Bilsonne, on Wylde's resignation. Sir Ralph Chaumberleyn, Knt. united to All-Saints.
- 1559, 6 June, Will. Tugney, on Bidsonne's death. Richard Holdych, Esq.
- 1575, 15 June, Tho. Atkinson. John Holdich, Esq. united to Breccles, which Richard Clegg, who was deprived of this, held till 1573, at whose death Atkinson was instituted.
- Samuel Harding.
- 1639, 14 Sept. Tho. Watts, A. M. on Harding's death. Sir Rich. Berney, Bart.
- 1661, 11 Nov. Tho. Essex, A. M. on Watts's death. Ditto. It was afterwards held by Mr. Grey, rector of All-Saints, by sequestration, to which it was consolidated by the present incumbent.
- Rockland All-Saints rectory was valued in the King's Books at 5l. 6s. 8d. and sworn, together with St. Andrew's, of the clear yearly value of 44l. so that it is capable of augmentation; it paid 12d. synodals, and the Prior of Castle-Acre had a portion of tithes, which was taxed at x.s. and was given with their portion in Rockland St. Peter. This parish is sometimes called Rockland Minor, or, the Lesser Rockland, in opposition to St. Andrew's parish, which is called Rockland Major, or, the Greater Rockland.
- 1305, John de Lenton, presented by Sir John Le Moyne, Knt.
- 1306, 5 kal. July, Andrew Reyner, priest. Ditto.
- Robert, son of John of Luttone, deacon.
- 1334, 5 id. Nov. Richard de Hastyngs, accolite, on Luttone's resignation. Sir John de Brokesbourne, Knt.
- 1341, 6 March, John Pach, accolite. Sir John de Brokesbourne, Knt. who recovered it against John de Caston, by the King's writ.
- 1358, 26 Dec. Robert, son of Adam de Totyngton, priest, on Pach's resignation. John de Sutton of Wyvenho, Knt. patron, in right of his wife.
- 1377, 26 Dec. Robert Geffrey, priest. Edmund, son of Edmund de Brokesbourn, Knt.
- 1392, 10 June, Will. Taillour of Northwold, priest. Tho. Holdych. He had St. Andrew's.
- 1393, 29 Dec. John Rede. Sir Richard Sutton, Sir Peter de Bukton, Knts. Tho. de Leghes, Rob. Rykedon, Rob. Houtot, Tho. Okle, and John Sumpter, junior.
- 1394, 12 June, John Alman, priest. Ditto.
- 1398, 14 Nov. Ralph atte Heythe of Gunton, priest, on Alman's resignation. Sir Wil. Burgate, Knt. Tho. Coggeshale, Rob. Hotost, Rob Rykedon, Ralph Chaumberlyn, John Sumpter, and John Esthorp.
- 1400, 23 Oct. Richard Hardesele, priest. Ditto.
- 1439, 27 Nov. Will. Marleburgh, priest, on Hardesele's resignation.
John Fitz-Rauf, Esq. in right of his manor called Le Moynes.
- 1448, 29 Jan. John Lalle, priest, on Marleburgh's resignation. Sir Thomas Tuddenham, Knt. and Rob. Mortimer, Esq.
- 1485, 5 Oct. Diomse Shanys, by lapse.
- 1502, 12 Nov. Henry Stroder, priest. Sir Roger Ormston, united to St. Andrew.
- 1511, 11 April, Robert Cudworth. Elizabeth, late wife of Robert Chaumberleyn. Esq.
- 1512, 17 Aug. Robert Coppull, united to St. Peter.
- 1556, 9 Febr. Edmund Bilsone, priest, on Cople's death. Ralph Chaumberleyn, Esq.
- 1563, 21 July, John Holden, by lapse, united to Great Elingham.
- 1601, 18 Dec. John Peeke. John Welde of London, Esq.
- 1663, 26 Nov. Tho. Morley, A. B. Richard Berney, Bart.
- 1679, Samuel Grey, A.B. on Morley's death. Richard Berney, Esq. united to Caston by Stow.
- 1710, 23 Aug. The Rev. Mr. John Watson, the present rector, on the deprivation of Samuel Grey, to the consolidated rectory of St. Andrew and All-Saints. Anne Martell, widow.
This Church hath a square tower, and 3 bells; the nave, south porch, and chancel are thatched; there is no inscription in it, save one on a modern stone, for one Mr. Salter. In 1506, Robert Moriel of this town was buried here, who by will gave half an acre and half a rood, at Weston (Market) in Suffolk, to that church, on condition the rector paid 3s. 4d. to the rector of Hindercley, and 3s. 4d. to the rector of Counston, to pray for his soul, and four cows, the profits of which were to be expended in keeping his anniversary.
Rockland St. Peter's rectory was valued at 4l. 16s. 5d. ob. in the King's Books, and being sworn of the clear yearly value of 29l. 18s. 8d. is capable of augmentation; it pays 12d. synodals. The Prior of Castle-Acre had a portion of tithes taxed at two marks, and other temporals, taxed at 20s. all which were given by John de Kitestune's or Caston's father, and confirmed by himself, namely, two tithe sheaves out of three, of all his demeans in Rockland, and the third tithe sheaf, of his demeans in Sipedam, or Shipdam, and above 14 acres of land in Rockland.
Rectors And Vicars
Oliver de Redham.
- 1326, 6 kal. Nov. Simon de Bosco, de Saham, (or Simon of Saham wood) on Redham's resignation. Oliver de Redham, for this turn.
- 1349, 24 Nov. The church of St. Peter at Rokelund Toftes, belonging now to the Abbess of Marham, was appropriated to that house by the consent and approbation of the Pope and the Bishop, on condition, that the Bishop or his successours, at the churches vacancy, should ordain a vicarage, for which the vicar should be taxed at 6 marks, the vicars being always to be nominated by the Bishop, to the Abbess, who was obliged to present them, and also to pay a pension of half a mark a year to the Bishop, in lieu of the portion of his first fruits, for the great tithes, which ceased upon the appropriation; the vicar was to have a house, and to be endowed to the value of 12 marks per annum, at least, and the Abbess was taxed at eight marks for the rectory.
- 1367, 17 March, Henry Moyse of Redgrave.
- 1373, 22 Nov. John Cantel.
- 1414, 13 July, Richard Bangot of Mileham, priest.
- 1417, 28 Jan. Tho. Wyck, priest, on Bangot's resignation.
- John Fouldon.
- 1453, John Osmund, priest.
- 1460, 24 Aug. Sir John Bourne, chaplain.
- 1486, 22 Dec. John Jannis, on Bourne's resignation.
- 1501, 20 June, Sir Peter Wylkins, chaplain, on Jannys's death.
These were nominated by the Bishop, presented by the Abbess.
- 1516, 29 March, Robert Coppull, on Wylkins's death, united to All-Saints, at whose institution it was disappropriated, for the Abbess presented him as rector; and in
- 1523, 20 May, Barbara, Abbess of St. Mary at Marham, granted the next turn of her rectory of St. Peter's church of Rokelond, to John Tendale, Esq.; and the 18 Aug. in the same year, Robert Coppul, rector of St. Peter's and All-Saints, was domestick chaplain to Henry Bishop of St. Asaph.
- 1556, 13 Febr. Will. Harrison. John Hare of London, Gent. united to Stow-Bedon.
- 1581, 17 April. Leonard James, on Harrison's death. Nich. Hare, Esq. united to Stow-Bedon.
- 1608, 13 Jan. John Lowthwat, A. M. Sarah James, widow, this turn, united to Stow-Bedon.
- Robert Pooley,
- 1690, 5 Dec. Henry Pitts, clerk, on Robert Pooley's death. Tho. Hare, Bart. in full right, united to Hargham.
- 1694, Zachary Pooley, on Pitt's resignation. Frances Pooley, widow, in full right.
- 1703, 1 July, George Taylor, on Zachary Pooley's death, united to Wimondham. Rob. Pooley and Sarah Potts.
- 1737, The Rev. Mr. Edward Heyho, on Taylor's death, who is now rector and patron, having purchased the advowson of the Pooleys.
The Church of St. Peter, which is the deanery church, hath nothing remarkable in it: the north porch was built about 1619, as a broken inscription informs us. The tower is octangular, and hath three bells in it; the chancel is ruinated, a small part of which was rebuilt by the late rector, to officiate in.
There is a pension of 2s. per annum paid by the rector of St. Peter's to the Duke of Norfolk, it being a perpetual composition for a measure of wheat, which Robert de Rokelund gave to the monks of Thetford out of his lands here. (Dug. Mon. Ang. tom. i. fol. 665.) There is also a pension of 4s. per annum paid to the Duke from the rectory of All-Saints, and another of 2s. from the rectory of St. Andrew, both being perpetual compositions for the Prior of CastleAcre's portions of tithes in those parishes. (See p. 475, 476.) There is also a rent of 15s. a year paid to the Duke, from the manor of Kirkehall.
There are now only three distinct manors in this town, called Carbonel's, Ladie's, Kirkehall Moynes and Gournay's; though there were formerly no less then seven, before they were united.
With the advowson of St. Andrew's, belonged to Brode, in the Confessor's time, and to William Earl Warren in the Conqueror's, of whom Simon held it, the whole town being then above two miles long, and one broad, paid 11d. geld. In 1194, Walkelin de Rosey gave 20s. to King Richard I. to have seizin of 12s. 7d. rent, of the service of Hervy Gorge, in such manner as Baldwin de Rosey had, when he began his journey to Jerusalem, where he died: this Baldwin was lord here, and cotemporary, if not brother, to Roger de Rossei, or de Rosseto, lord of Rose's manor in South-Creke In 1218, another Baldwin de Rosseto held it of the Earl Warren at one fee; in 1234, Robert Carbonel was lord; from about 1310 to about 1340 Henry Carbonel and Catherine his wife, had it, who held it after her husband's death to her own, which was before 1399, for then Maud, their daughter presented; it soon after divided, and one part, with the advowson, came to the Holdiches, who presented till 1571, and afterwards sold it to Sir Ralph Chaumberleyn, Knt. reserving two or three turns to the family; the other part went to William de Narburgh, whose daughter Ela married Tho. Shuldham, and had a son by him of his father's name, but he did not inherit, the manor being given by his mother to Henry Spelman, her second husband, and his heirs, and William Spelman, their son, inherited; in 1488, Henry Spelman died seized, and left it to Edmund Paston, Esq. to perform his will, at which time it was held of the Earl Warren, at the fourth part of a fee, in 1606, Francis Spelman, Esq. was lord of Carbonell's in Rockland, in which family it hath continued to this time, it being now owned by Mrs. Elizabeth Spelman of London. The leet (fee 3s. 4d.) belongs to the hundred; the fine is at the lord's will, and the eldest son is heir.
====Kirkehall Moynes and Gurney's====
Were distinct manors at first, though they have been long united; the first was held by Eudo the Sewer, of whom Richard held it; and the second by Ringull, at the Confessor's, and by Roger Fitz-Renard at the Conqueror's survey; to Moynes manor the advowson of AllSaints was appendant, and belonged to John Le Moyne, who held it at three quarters of a fee of Will. Blaumister, and he of the Earl Warren in Henry the Third's time. In 1282, Sir John Le Moyne of Weston in Cambridgeshire had the manors of Weston by West Wratting, and this manor and advowson settled on him, by Tho. de Colvile, for life, remainder to Baldwin de Manerijs (or Manors) for life, remainder to John, son of Henry de Cokefield, remainder to the right heirs of Sir John Le Moyne, who, in 1285, had view of frankpledge, and assize of bread and ale allowed him here. In 1316, it was settled by another fine exactly according to the former in 1282, and in 1334, John Le Moine's heir had it; I suppose Sir John de Brokesbourne married her, for he presented then; after his death Sir John de Sutton of Wivenho, Knt. held it in right of Margaret his wife, and levied a fine of the manor and advowson in 1359, in order to settle them in trustees hands, to his own use, John de Caston having claimed a turn in the advowson, as belonging to his manor of Kirkehall, but was cast. In 1360, Andrew Mancer, parson of Little Shelley, granted to John Pach (or Peche) and other feoffees, the manor and advowson, and Moyne's manor in Weston Colvile, in Cambridgeshire. In 1377, Edmund, son of Sir Edmund de Brokesbourne, Knt. had it; and in 1401, Richard Chamberlain and John Sumpter held it of Tho. de Bardolph, and he of the Earl Warren. In 1415, John Fitz-Ralph, Esq. and Tho. Elyngham, settled it on William Raynforth and Eleanor his wife, for life; and before 1474, the manor called Moynes's, was united to Kirkehall, for then Sir Robert Chaumberleyn levied a fine of them and All-Saints advowson; and in 1546, John Barney settled his manor, called Barris, alias Gurneys, on Ralph Chaumberlain, Esq. who afterwards purchased one part of Carbonel's manor, and the advowson of St. Andrew's, and levied a fine of them all in 1567; and in 1589, John Welde of London was lord; in 1590, Humphry Welde, Gent. executor of the said John, kept his first court; and in 1601, John Weld of London, Esq. was lord and patron; in 1623, William Welde had them; in 1639, Sir Robert Berney, Bart. was owner, in whose family they continued till Richard Barney, Esq. (who died in 1695, at Redham) mortgaged them, and Mrs. Anne Martell, widow, presented under the mortgage; in 1709, they were ordered, by decree in chancery, to be sold to pay Mr. Barney's debts, and were sold accordingly to Colonel Windham of Earsham, and now they are owned by Joseph Windham-Ash, Esq. The leet belongs to the hundred, the fine is at the lord's will, and the eldest son is heir. As to Kirkehall before the union, that belonged to the family sirnamed de Castleton, Cakeston, or Caston, and was originally a part of the manor of Caston Hall that extended into this town, though it was taken as a separate manor very early, it being held by Robert de Cakeston, or Caston, as such, about King John's time; John de Kitestun, or Caston, granted, and with his father's seal confirmed, to Castle-Acre priory, his own and father's gift, of two garbs of the tithes of their lands in Rockland St. Peter; in 1256, John de Caston was lord; and in 1296, Robert de Caston held it at a quarter of a fee, of William de Mortimer; in 1315, it belonged to Agnes de Caston, and in 1319, John de Caston had a charter for free-warren here and in Caston, Breydeston, and Burlingham. In 1373, Catherine, widow of Sir John de Caston, conveyed Kirkehall manor to Tho. Caus of Hocham, and his heirs, Henry de Pakenham of Shropham being his trustee; and in 1387, William, son of Hugh Fastolf, released all his right in the manor to Richard Caus, in whose family it continued, though sometimes in trustees hands, till it was united to Moines's.
Belonged to a family sirnamed de Rockland, and was split out of Moines's manor, for Maud de Rockland and her feoffees held it in Henry the Third's time, of John Le Moine, at a quarter of a fee; in Edward the First's time it divided, and Rich. Barry had one part, whose daughter Joan married to Sir Robert de Caston; and in 1288, Henry Berry and Christian his wife had it; after that it fell to John de Caston, whose daughters, Elizabeth married Robert Carbonel, and Alice, William Fastolf, in Edward the Third's time, when this part was joined to Carbonel's manor; the other part continued in the Rocklands, and in 1230, William de Rockland held it at half a fee; in 1234, Adam de Rockland was lord; and in 1336, John de Rokeland; in 1338, Will. de Redham and his feoffees had it, and it went with the Redhams estate to the Berneys, John de Berney being possessed, in 1355, of this and part of Kirkehall, In 1440, John Berney of Redham, Esq. settled this manor by the name of Kirkehall only, on Phillip his son for life, remainder to Thomas his brother, and his heirs, instead of the manor of Castons in Shipdam; but yet the son recites in his will, dated 1441, that he had given it by deed to his brother John Berney for life, remainder to his own heirs; and not long after this, Kirkehall part was united to Kirkehall and Moines's, with which it continues, but Barry's continued in the Barneys; and in 1527, John Barney, Esq. died seized, after which, about 1546, it united to Kirkehall.
Was held by Constantine de Mortimer in Henry the Third's time, at one fee, of the Earl Warren, who held it of the King in capite; it continued in that family a long time, and passed as their manor of Attleburgh did; in 1337, Constantine de Mortimer, Esq. had a charter for free-warren in his lordship; it descended with Scoulton to Sir John Fitz-Ralf, Knt. who married Margery, grand-daughter and coheir of Sir Robert Mortimer, who had issue John Fitz-Rauf, Esq. whose son John married Alice Walesburgh, by whom he had Elizabeth, his coheiress, who enjoyed it in fee simple after her grandfather's death, with Elyngham, and Waldingfield in Suffolk, and Kingston in Cambridgeshire, they being settled by her grandfather on her, to perform his last will; and from this time it was joined to Kirkehall and Moine's.
At the survey, was held by Pain or Pagan, of Roger Bigot; and in 1218, by Richard Fitz-Roger, at half a fee; in 1231, Richard LePrestre released to Ralph Gernun his right in that half fee, which William de Rokelund then held of him in exchange, for other estates in Essex. In 1345, John Le-Schephyrd, and Jeffery de Beneland held the half fee, formerly John Gurnun's, of the honour of Pembrook, which Robert de Bonelond and Isabel Cody lately held, they had it till 1401; it after belonged to Richard Hocham of Little Hocham, who sold it to Henry Pakenham of Shropham, Esq. and his trustees, who, in 1445, settled it absolutely on Elizabeth Bigot, his wife, and her heirs, William Warner and others being trustees. In 1463, Elizabeth Bigot, formerly wife of Sir Ralph Bigot, Knt. after that of Henry Pakenham, made her will, which was proved 18 Aug. in that year, in which she desired to be buried in the Austin friars church at Norwich, and gave this manor, and all her manors and lands in Great Elingham, and Attleburgh, with the courts, reliefs, &c. to Tho. Manning, her husband, and his heirs. In 1472, Henry Bixle of Thetford kept his first court, after he had purchased it of Tho. Pekke of Rokelond, and John Salter. In 1479, Rob. Fulmerston of Stow, and Reginald Parys of Thetford, at the request of Bixley's executors, whose feoffees they were, conveyed it to Tho. Brian, clerk, Will. Cross, and Tho. Springold, who released it to Tho. Plummer of Swaffham, and Isabell, wife of Tho. Summersham of Thetford, senior, dier, Robert Wyneyve, Robert Newman, and Tho. Blake, in trust for Eleanor Muriel, who held her first court in 1486; in 1493, they conveyed it to Robert Muriel, Rich. Groom, Robert Fulmerston, John Walter, and John Mathew, who held their first court in 1494; and in 1498 they granted it to John Nele of Hocham, and Christopher Purdey of Bury, who sold it to Helen Muriel, Peter Webster, John Purdey, Ralph Nele, &c. in 1506; and in 1514, they conveyed it to Tho. Muriel and Henry Darby, who sold it to Will. Neele of ElinghamParva, who, in 1524, sold it to Robert Sibbs of Counston in Suffolk, William Cunge of Berningham, Robert Hawise of Weston, and John Muriel of Rockland, Sibb's feoffees, to whom they released in 1536, from which time the courts were held in his name, till his death in 1572, and then Robert Sibbs of Hawley in Suffolk, his son and heir, kept his first court, and in 1594, sold it to Edm. Sarjent of Coneweston, who, in 1598, sold it to William Musket of Hawley in Suffolk, Gent. who, in 1609, jointly with Robert his son, settled it on Anne Bedgewell, the intended wife of the said Robert, and they sold it to John Duffield and Barbara his wife; but in 1619, Simon Musket, Gent. and Anne his wife, recovered it by an action brought against John Duffield, senior, and John Duffield, junior, to them and their heirs, and at their death it fell to the share of Henry Blomefield of Fersfield, Gent. who married Anne Musket, their daughter and coheiress; he at his death left it to Henry Blomefield of Brisingham, Gent. his only son by his second wife, at whose death it went to Style Blomefield of Blonorton, Gent. his eldest son, who died single, and it descended to Mr. Henry Blomefield of Fersfield, his only brother, who is now lord. The manor-house is dilapidated, its site is still called Ladie's, which name it assumed from the Lady Bigot, its former owner.
The manors of Castonhall, Attleburgh Mortimers cum Membris ex parte Crowshall, Elingham-Parva, Thompson, and Scoulton Newlands, extend into these parishes.
This town was in three parts at the Conquest, and hath continued so to this time, there being now three manors; the capital manor was always called, as it now is,
Elingham, or Elingham Hall
It belonged to Turketel the Dane in the Confessor's days, and to Waribold, or Warbold in the Conqueror's, who held it of Hermer de Ferrers, to whom the Conqueror had given it; it was then worth 5l. and the whole town was two miles long and one broad, and paid 19d. geld.
The said Hermer seized also three freemen, and 110 acres, besides other lands and services in this town, and Warbold added them to this manor, to which they afterwards belonged as to their services, but the soke belonged to Bukenham castle. It after came to the Earl Warren, of whom the Wirmegeyes held it, till William de Wormegeye infeoffed William, son of Ralph de Elingham, and in 1252, Robert de Elingham held it at two fees, of Sir Hugh Bardolph, and had a charter for free-warren; he was succeeded by Alex. de Elingham, who had the charter allowed in Eire in 1285, Robert de Elingham was lord after him, and settled it in 1313, on himself and Cassandra his wife, for life, remainder to his own heirs; in 1369, Alexander his son was lord and patron, who conveyed the whole manor and advowson to Sir Robert Mortimer, Knt. and Dame Margery his wife; and in 1372, according to the agreement on the sale, they regranted the manor (except eight acres and the advowson) to the said Alexander and Amy his wife, for their lives, remainder to the said Sir Robert and Margery his wife, who settled the reversion on William atte Wend, parson of Skulton, Tho. Caus of Hocham, and John, son of Tho. Wottes of Attleburgh, their feoffees, who released to them in 1377; and in 1381, Sir Robert was lord and patron; in 1388, Margery his widow settled both the manor and advowson on Sir George Felbrigge, Knt. Will. de Sharneburn, Henry de Pakenham, William atte Wend, parson of Great Elyngham, John, parson of the third part of Attleburg, Richard Caus of Hocham, Richard Gegge of Saham, and John atte Cross of Depham, by deed dated at Great Elingham, under her seal, which is remarkable for its having her own arms, viz. a chevron between three lions rampant, impaled with, and placed before, those of her husband. In 1399, the feoffees released their right to her again. In 1401, Constantine Mortimer was lord and patron; in 1402, the advowson was separated from the manor, as you may see in the account of the incumbents, and the manor went to Sir John FilzRalph of Scoulton, Knt. in right of Margery his wife, one of the daughters and coheiresses of Sir Thomas Mortimer of Attleburgh, from whom it descended to John Fitz-Ralph, Esq. his son, who settled it, with Scoulton and Totyngton, on John Fitz-Ralph, his son, and Alice Walesborough his wife, after the deaths of himself, and Julian his then wife, with remainder to the sons heirs male, and for want of such, on Maud his daughter, and her heirs, Richard de Beauchamp Earl of Warwick, Sir William Phelep, Sir John Fastolff, Sir John Howard, Sir Richard Waldgrave, senior, and Sir Tho. Tudenham, Knts. Will. Clopton, Henry Pakenham, Esqrs. and others, being feoffees; and, for want of issue male, they went to Maud Fitz-Ralph, who married Sir Robert Conyers, Knt. who died seized, and John Conyers, their son, inherited; he married Eleanor, sister and coheir of William, son of Sir William Yelverton, Knight of the Bath, at King Edward the Fourth's coronation, and one of the justices of the King's Bench; but having no issue, in 1472, he released it to Henry Spelman, in trust for Thomas his son, who had married Anne, one of the two daughters and coheirs of Tho. Conyers, Esq. his brother; he died in 1483: "And in 1499, Thomas Spelman, Gentylman, of "Mekyll Elyngham" held it of Shropham hundred, who died seized, and by his will dated this year, ordered to be buried in the church, to which he gave 20l. for a suit of vestments, "and to the gild of our Lady, in honowr and worschypp of her v. joyes, 5s. to St. James's gild 10s. and to St. Peter's 6s. 8d." to Anne his wife the manor of Chervells in Bichamwell, till John his son was 21 years old, to Henry his son, and Elizabeth his daughter 100 marks each, to Anne his wife, the manor of Berryhall in Elyngham, and after her decease to his son John in fee tale, who died under age, and Henry his brother inherited; he died without issue in 1525, and was buried here, by Anne his mother, upon which, this manor went to Anthony Gourney, Esq. of North Barsham, in right of Margaret his wife, one of the daughters and coheirs of Sir Robert Lovell, by Ela Conyers his wife, who was sister to Anne Coniers, mother to Henry Spelman; but Berryhall went to the heirs of William De-Grey of Merton, in right of Christian his wife, the daughter and coheir of Thomas Manning, as you may see under Buryhall manor. Francis Gurney, son of Anth. Gourney of Elyngham, Esq. married Helen, daughter of Robert Holdiche of Ranworth, Esq. and died before his father, leaving Henry Gurney, Esq. his son and heir, who held Irsted manor of the Bishop Norwich, Elingham manor of the Lord Bardolf's heirs, West Barsham of the manor of Castle-Acre, by one fee, Gurney's manor in Hingham, of the heirs of Henry Lord Morley, as of his manor of Hingham, and the advowson of the third part of Attleburgh; he was lord in 1572, and at his death it went to Edm. Gurney, Esq. his son and heir, who died seized in 1641, and left Henry his son and heir, then nine years old, who died without issue, and it went to Margaret Gurney, his aunt, who married Mr. Henry Davy of Great Elingham, whose sole daughter and heiress, Mary, married Sir Roger Potts, Bart. of Great Elingham and Mannington, who sold it to Mr. Francis Colman of Norwich, the present lord, who now dwells in the manor-house called Ellingham Hall.
The Customs of this manor are, that the eldest son is heir; it is set fine at 3s. an acre, and there are very considerable barley rents paid in kind, if the lord does not choose to compound for them. The leet belongs to the hundred, the leet fee being 3s. 6d. 3q. as the hundred-roll informs me.
Burgh Hall, or Berry Hall Manor
At the conquest belonged to Robert de Beaufo; the soke of it was then appendant to the hundred, as it now is, there being no leet; it afterwards belonged to the lords of Bukenham castle, and was part of those eleven fees which Hugh de Vere and Dionise his wife held of Robert de Tateshale; and in 1304, Tho. de Cayly had it. In 1805, it belonged to Baldwin de Manerijs, or Manors, who held it of Roger Bigot Earl of Norfolk; in 1314, Simon, son of John Skilman of Hedersete, granted to Margery, relict of Roger Cosyn of Great Elingham, his mother, the manor and all its appurtenances, viz. 15 messuages, 320 acres of land, 100s. rent, &c. in Great and Little Elingham, Hingham, Attleburgh, Rockland, Depham, and Morley; and in 1315, the said Margery and Ralph Ponyant (whom she had married) owned it; in 1345, Roger de Gatesend had it; and in 1399, Baldwin de Bosco, or Bois, held it at half a fee, as of Forncet manor, and soon after it belonged to the Mortimers, and went with Elizabeth Mortimer to Sir Ralph Bigot of Stockton, her husband, who held it for life, and after his death she enjoyed to her own, in 1463, and then by will gave it to John Manning, her last husband, and his heirs; who, in 1428, was justice of peace, and of goal delivery in the Bishop of Ely's liberty of Mitford hundred; at his death it went with Christian, one of his daughters and coheirs, to William De-Grey of Merton, Esq. who died in 1474, as his inscription in Merton church informs me, from which time it hath gone in a lineal descent to Thomas De-Grey of Merton, Esq. the present lord, of whose family I shall discourse under Merton, their ancient seat.
The Custom of the manor is, that the fines are at the lord's will, and the eldest son is heir.
This Church was valued in the Kings Books at 6l. 5s. 10d. and being sworn of the clear yearly value of 31l. 16s. 10d. it hath been augmented (as I am informed) by the Rev. Mr. John Cater, the present vicar and patron, who hath settled part of the great tithes, upon the vicar. It stands in Mr. Ecton's last edition of the Valor. &c. as a rectory, the reason of which is, that on its appropriation to the college, the vicarage was never taxed but the college paid the whole first fruits, not at the institution of each vicar, but of each master, so that as to first fruits and tenths, it always was a rectory, but being under value, it is now discharged of both. It pays 16d. synodals, besides the Archdeacons procurations.
Rectors and Vicars
- 1312, 15 kal. May, Henry de Brom, priest, was instituted to the rectory of the church of St. James the Apostle, of Great Ellingham, at the presentation of Robert de Elyngham.
- 1362, Ralph of Elyngham, rector.
- 1369, 5 April, William, son of Tho. Wottes of Attleburgh, shaveling. Alexander, son of Robert de Elyngham.
- 1381, 13 Dec. William, son of John atte Wend of Great Elingham, priest. Sir Rob. de Mortimer, Knt.
- 1393, 25 Jan. William Ilketleshall, shaveling. Margery, relict of Sir Robert de Mortimer, Knt.
- 1399, 12 Nov. Tho. Hilton, priest, on Ilketleshall's resignation, Constantine Mortimer, Henry Pakenham, Rich. Caus, Rich. Gegg, John ate Cros, and John Wasbald, rector of Reynham.
- 1400, 14 March, Master John Warner, accolite, on Hilton's resignation. Constantine Mortimer.
- 1402, The advowson of this rectory was appendant to the manor, till the division of the Mortimers estate, and then the manor went to Margery, wife of Sir John Fitz-Ralph, Knt. and the advowson to Cecily, widow of Sir John de Herling, Knt. who gave it to the master and fellows of Attleburgh college, or chantry, and they at their foundation got it appropriated to their house, by bull from Pope John XXIII. dated at Rome in June 1411, which was obtained at the petition of Simon Howisone, rector of Scoultone, and Robert Syred, master of the college, which set forth, that Sir Robert Mortimer designed to found (though he was hindered by sudden death) a college or chantry for five chaplains, to pray for his own and his wife Margery's soul, &c. all which they, as his executors, in pursuance of his will, had fulfilled, and had also procured this advowson, and obtained license of the King to settle it on the college, upon which the bull granted the appropriation, on condition that on the next avoidance, a vicarage was created by the Bishop, with institution to it.
- 1415, 4 April, Master John Rykedon, priest, was instituted to the then created vicarage of Elingham-Magna, at the presentation of the master and fellows, or chaplains of Attleburgh college or chantry, who were to pay 11 marks to the Bishop, on every vacancy of the college, in full for the tax of the first fruits of the rectory, and so the vicarage was not taxed at all, and paid no tenths nor first fruits.
- 1418, 14 Oct. Simon Scherreve of Sculton, priest, fellow of Attleburgh college, was instituted at the resignation of John Rykedon, master of the college, at his and the rest of the fellows presentation.
- 1453, 6 April, Walter Howard, on Shereve's resignation. Ditto.
- 1470, 22 April, John Hasby. In
- 1475, 12 Jan. He sued the master and fellows, because the vicarage was worth no more than 9 marks a year, and made them augment it for ever with four marks per annum, payable at Easter and Michaelmas, out of their great tithes.
- 1482, 3 February, John Palmer, on Hasby's resignation. Ditto.
- William Cherlys. Ditto.
- 1494, 23 July, Tho. Sherman, on Cherlys's resignation. Ditto.
- 1504, 17 Jan. Tho. Holme, chaplain of Attleburgh chantry, on Sherman's resignation. Ditto.
- 1508, 6 Octob. John Hardyng. Lapse.
- 1561, 1 Aug. John Holden, priest, by lapse. In
- 1590, 3 May, He was re-instituted for confirmation, at the Queen's presentation, by lapse.
- 1601, 20 Octob. Henry Womock, A. M. on Holden's death. Rob. Radcliff, Earl of Sussex, united to Fersfield.
- 1628, 7 Nov. Nathaniel Scot, A. M. on Womock's death.
- 1631, 24 Nov. Samuel Harding, on Scott's resignation. Edward Earl of Sussex.
- 1639, 16 Sept. John Tireman, S.T.B. on Harding's death. Ditto.
- 1641, 21 Dec. John Bateman, A. M. on Tireman's cession. James Lloyd, Gent.
- Abraham Turner.
- 1674, 29 Jan. Tho. Lynford, A. M. on Turner's death. Tho. Cockayne of Sunning in Berks, Gent.
- 1676, 5 March, Nicholas Clegat, A. M. on Lynford's resignation. Ditto.
- 1684, 15 July, Will. Kimin, A. M. on Clegat's cession, united to Besthorp. Ditto.
- James Bedingfield, alias Grey.
- 1717, 10 March, The Rev. Mr. John Cater, on Grey's resignation, who is now  vicar, patron, and impropriator, and holds it united to the rectory of Little Elingham. He was presented by Anthony Cater, Gent.
The Rectory manor
Always belonged to the rectors, for in the Conqueror's survey it appears that there were then divers lands and services belonging to the church; but at the appropriation in 1402, it was taken from it, and settled as part of the rectory on the college, and went with the rectory, and advowson of the vicarage, at the Dissolution, to the Earl of Sussex, in whose family it continued till after 1639, as the institutions shews us. In 1641, James Lloyd, Gent. and Abraham Turner, presented. It after belonged to Tho. Cockayne of Sunning, and is now owned, with the impropriation and advowson, by the Rev. Mr. John Cater, the present incumbent; the customs being the same as Berryhall manor.
This town paid 4l. to the tenths, and is assessed at 733l. In 1603, it had 360 communicants, and now there are about 400 inhabitants. It is a vicarage endowed and augmented, in Rockland deanery and Norfolk archdeaconry. The Prior of Wymondham's temporalities in this town were taxed at 6s. 8d. and the Prior of Bokenham's at 11s. 9d. In 1382, Thomas de Flitcham and others aliened to the Prior of Flitcham 1 messuage, 4 tofts, 133 acres of land, and 45s. rent in Flitcham, Appilton, Hillington, Depham, Morle, Atleburgh, Wiclewood, and Great Ellingham. The honour of Clare, extended hither, for in 1564, Thomas, son and heir of Roger Greene, clothier, held the pasture lands called Isehall's of the Queen, as of her honour of Clare, by knight's service.
The Church is dedicated to St. James the Apostle, who had a Gild also kept to his honour on the dedication day, and there was another kept on St. Peter's day, to his honour, in the south chapel, which is dedicated to him; the north isle chapel is called Mortimer's chapel, and was made at the expense of that family, as appears by their arms scattered about it.
The nave, two isles, and the chapels at their east ends, with the chancel, are leaded, the porch tiled, the tower is square, hath a spire on it, and five bells in it.
In 1498, Thomas Spelman was buried in the chancel; his mother was buried at Stow-Bedon, and his father at Narburgh, as his will tells us. In 1505, his son and heir was buried here, over whom, at the upper end of the church, lies a stone which had a brass plate thus inscribed,
Orate pro Anima Pcnrici Spelman Armigeri, filn, et heredis Thome Spclman Armigeri, qui obut primo die Mensis Martn Anna Domini, M.cccccrrv. cuius anime propirictur Deus Amen.
On the upper part of the stone were the arms of Spelman, impaling Mortimer, and Spelman quartering Manning.
In 1509, Adam Cowper of Moche Elingham was buried here, in whose will is this clause, "I geff onto the church of Elyngham aforeseyd, iii. acres and a rode of fre lond, lying in a felde, called West felde, at Hesyllmere-Bush."
Anthony Gurnay of Great Elingham, Esq. was buried in this church in 1557.
There are two black marbles in the chancel, thus inscribed,
Here lyeth the Body of ELIZABETH, the Wife of CHARLES POTTS, Citizen, and Merchant Tayler of London, who departed this Life the 2d of Sept. Ao Dni. 1706, at Kensington, in Com: Midd: aged 21 Years.
Not Youth, nor Beauty. Wealth, Descent, or Lands, Can charm pale Death, or stay his cruel hands.
Jacet PHILLIPUS POTTS, hoc sub Marmore Domini ROGERI Baronetti e Filijs, Amice Lector, parce (sis) Lachrymis tuis, Morique discas, quem legis, Quondam fuit, Rarum beatæ Exemplar Innocentiæ, Virtute præstans, candidisque Moribus, Facilis Amicus, et (quod Instar omnium) Pietate clarus, in Parentes et Deum, Sed in Joventa languidus Morbo gravi, Valedixit Orbi huic lubrico, et plenos Fide Tenace, lætus suaviterque obdormijt, Anno Ætatis 27, 1698.
There is a stone in the chancel disrobed of the effigies of a woman, and the arms of Willoughby and Coniers, and Coniers quartering FitzRalph, and this inscription,
Orate pro Anima Anne nuper Uxoris Richardi Wyllingy Armigeri, Unius Filiarum & Heredum Thome Conyers Armigeri, que obiit xxiiüo die Octobris Ao Dm: 1499.
There are divers arms in the windows, and upon the seats and screens, in the church and chancel.
Fitz-Rauf, gul. three chevrons or, on each as many de-lises. sab.
Manning, az and gul. quarterly, over all a cross patonce, between three trefoils slipped or.
Willoughby, gul. a cross moline voided arg.
Mortimer of attleburgh.
Spelman, Coniers, Kerdeston, Montchensy, Swathyng, Hetherset, Felbrigge, Plantaginet, Butler, and Bassingbourn.
Bundevile, or and az. quarterly, indented per fess, a bendlet gul.
Edward the Confessor, az. a cross patonce, between four martlets or.
Sab. three lions rampant arg. langued or.
Chequy or and gul. a fess arg.
And the following arms, and emblem of St. James, viz. the pilgrim's staff and ring, his bag, pouch, and escalop shells, which were the badges of the pilgrims, that frequently travelled to Compostella, where St. James lies buried.
This village is called in Domesday, Besethorp, and Baconsthorp, and now Besthorp, or the Best Village, from the goodness of its soil, and plenty of wood, as Spelman in his Icenia observes: it was a rectory appendant to the two manors in this town, and each of them had a turn in its advowson; that which belonged to Plasset's manor was given by William Earl of Arundel, the second of that name, to the monks of Wimondham, and the other, which belonged to Robert de Bautvent's manor, was by him at that time released, to the same monks; and afterwards Robert, son and heir of Robert de Tateshale, and Hugh, son and heir of Sir Robert de Bavent of Besthorp, confirmed their ancestor's gifts, Simon de Wanton Bishop of Norwich, consented to the appropriation, and it was appropriated accordingly, before the year 1266, for then that Bishop died; but in or after the year 1262, because John de Alveschirche, the Bishop's Official was witness to it; the prior and convent were to be patrons of the vicarage; the vicars were to have the house and lands belonging to the rectory, and all other profits, and the whole tithes, except those of 638 acres, and one rood, all which lands are specified in the appropriation, and the tithes valued at 15 marks per annum, at least; but the vicars are to pay the synodals and procurations; and afterwards, in Edward the First's time, it is thus entered in Norwich Domesday, "the Prior of Wymundham holds the church of Besthorp, appropriated to his convent, but the vicar hath the parsonage-house, and 28 acres of glebe, and receives the moiety of the tithes, and the Prior the other moiety; William Earl of Arundel, son of William and Alice, gave it to the Prior in King Henry the Second's time, in order that it might be appropriated, and its advowson continued in the convent, till Simon Bishop of Norwich appropriated it, reserving the patronage of the vicarage to the Prior, the institution to the Bishop, and the episcopal and archidiaconal dues to be paid by the vicar." At the Dissolution the impropriation and advowson came to the Crown, and there continued till Queen Elizabeth, in the 18th year of her reign, granted the portions of tithes to Richard Brokelsby, to be held at 26s. 8d. yearly rent; and in the 29th year of her reign, she granted to Edward Heron, Esq. and John Nicholas, Gent. all tithes whatsoever in Besthorp, and lands which lately belonged to Wymondham convent, and were concealed and unjustly detained from the Crown; and in the 30th year of her reign, the advowson of the vicarge and impropriation was granted to the Cleres, and was joined to the manors before 1602, by the Drurys, with which they now continue.
- 1262, Roger de Cantelupe was rector, at whose death the first vicar was instituted.
- 1303, 13 kal. May, Thomas, sirnamed Raven, of Wymondham, priest. The Prior and convent of Wymundham.
- 1332, 4 non. Jan. Tho. Rykeward, of Wymundham, priest.
- 1349, 20 July, Tho. Ryngedale, priest.
- 1375, 23 Dec. Mr. John Mote, deacon.
- 1384, Mote changed with Barth. de Wendover, for Shakerstone rectory in Lincoln diocese.
- 1384, Wendover changed with Tho. Killingworth.
- 1388, 15 Sept. Will. Walkelyn, priest, on Killingworth's resignation.
- 1394 23 Nov. John Pogge de Hedirsete, priest.
- Richard Snowe.
- 1408, 12 Aug. John Smyth, priest on Snowe's resignation.
- 1410, 2 May, John Peers, vicar; he resigned to Simon Mafrey of Banham priest, in exchange for Wykham in London diocese in the patronage and jurisdiction of the Dean of St. Paul's.
- 1417, 17 May, Will. Child, priest, on Mafrey's resignation.
- 1421, 27 March, Richard, son of Fraricus Buntyng of Salle, priest.
- 1424, 17 Oct. John Knynyngton, otherwise called atte Halle of Lutchurche, priest, on Bunting's resignation.
- 1426, 18 Dec. Tho. Clement, alias Decly, alias Mortymer.
- 1439, 3 Oct. Tho. Browster, priest, on Clement, alias Mortymer's, resignation.
- Tho. Newton.
- 1445, 13 Sept. Oliver Whetenhale, alias Warner, on Newton's death.
- 1469, 8 July, John Cralle, licenciate in the decrees.
- 1489, Richard Stokesey.
- 1494, 20 Aug. John Baldwin. Lapse.
- 1496, 20 July, John Forster, priest.
- William Stanwey.
- 1511, 5 Oct. John King, chaplain, on Stanwey's resignation.
- 1528, 13 March, Sir Thomas Downyng, chaplain, was instituted at Hoxne, in the Bishop's palace there, on the resignation of John King, (who had a pension of four marks a year assigned him during life,) at the Prior's presentation, and was the last presented by the monastery. In 1555, 4 June, he was instituted to the vicarage of Lowestoft, (or Laystoft,) on the resignation of John Blomvyle, at the presentation of Thomas Godsalve, senior, Esq. by grant of the turn from the Bishop of Norwich, and it was the same day united to Besthorp, during his life, because of the smallness of the livings. This is one of the first unions that I meet with, that assign any reason for the Bishop's uniting them. This Sir Thomas built the vicarage-house at Besthorp; over the parlour chimney-piece is this,
- All you that sitt by thys fire warmyng, Pray for the Sowle of Sir Jhon Downyng.
He died in 1559, and on July 30, Christopher Smethe, priest, was instituted, on the Queen's presentation; buried 15 Dec. 1575.
- 1575, 26 Febr. George Copping. Ditto. He was buried here 13 Dec. 1629.
- 1628, 24 Oct. John Burrell, clerk, on Dobson's death. Philip Harbord; united to Great Elingham.
- 1629, George Clerk, vicar.
- 1630, Daniel Donne.
- 1646, 22 May, Elisha Agas, A. M. on Donne's death. Lady Mary Drury.
- 1679, 11 March, Samuel Dobson, A. M. on Agas's death. Philip Harbord, Esq.
- 1683, 12 Oct. Will. Kimin, A. M. buried 12 Nov. 1715. Ditto.
- 1716, 2 June, Isaac Sayer, on Kimin's death. Eliz. Shaw, widow, united to Crownthorp.
- 1716, 14 Febr. The Rev. Mr. Philip Carver, on the resignation of Isaac Sayer, was presented by Eliz. Shaw, widow, and now  holds it united to Tibenham.
The temporalities of the Prior of Bukenham in this town were taxed at 3s. 1d. being lands given by the lords of Bukenham castle to the priory. The lands belonging to the nuns at Marham were granted at the Dissolution to Sir Nicholas Hare, Knt. and Rob. Hare.
The Prior of Norwich had an annual rent of 12d. paid from a meadow in Besthorp, which was given by Stephen Mengy of Besthorp. The spirituals, or great tithes, belonging to the Prior of Wymondham, were taxed at 10 marks, and the temporalities belonging to that monastery, at 14s. 4d. There was a manor belonging to the rectory before the appropriation, after which it went with it, and so came joined to the other manors. In 1285, the Prior had free-warren in his demeans in Besthorp; in 1288, it was returned, that the Prior held the twentieth part of a fee in Besthorp, of Montchensie's barony, which was heretofore Aymer de Valence Earl of Pembrook's, and this he joined to the Rectory manor.
Ebraud de Melnes gave to God and his church of St. Mary at Thetford, two parts of the tithes of his demeans in Melnes, or Melles, and Besthorp, for which the Prior of the monks of the said church was taxed at 15s.
The vicarage was valued in the King's Books, at 5l. 6s. 8d. ob. and being sworn of the clear yearly value of 48l. 15s. 6d. it is discharged of first fruits and tenths. In 1603, return was made, that it was in Rockland deanery, and Norfolk archdeaconry, and had 180 communicants, and was late in the patronage of the Crown, but is now granted to Anthony Drewry, the elder, Esq. The town paid 2l. 14s. to the tenths, and is now  assessed at 1087l. 11s. 8d.
The Church is dedicated to all the Saints, and the north chapel to the Annunciation of the Holy Virgin, and had two gilds kept in it, of the same dedications. Against the north wall of the chancel is a most curious monument of black and white marble, thus inscribed,
Arms, Drury and Cokain impaled.
Here lyeth the Body of Sir WILLIAM DRURY, Knight, Eldest Son of Sir Anthony Drury, Knt. late one of his Majesties Justices of the Peace, and Quorum, and one of the Deputy Lieutenants of this County, who after the Death of his Father, succeeded him, both in the Commission of the Lieutenancy, and of the Peace for this County; he married Mary Eldest Daughter of William Cokain of London, Esq. by whom he had Issue, 2 sonns William, and Anthony, and 3 Daughters, Bridgett, Jane, and Anne; he departed this Life at London upon the 8th Day of Nov: in the Year of our Lord, 1639, & in the 42d Year of his Age, and was shortly after solemnly interr'd in this chancell, to whose dear and lasting Memory, the said Mary his sorrowing and surviving Lady, hath erected and dedicated this Monument.
On the north side of the chancel,
Sculptura perennius esto.
CAROLUS HARBORD Eques Auratus, Caroli Primi et Secundi, Regum Angliæ, Supervisor Generalis, Pater (ex Maria Uxore prudentissima) quatuor filiorum sc. Philippi et Willielmi Harbord, Armigerorum Caroli Harbord Equitis etiam aurati, (qui cum prædilecto suo prænobili Comite de Sandwich, in Navali Conflictu acerrimo contra Batavos, Anno 1672, magnanimiter occubuit) & Johannis Harbord Armig. & trium filiarum sc. Annæ, Hester, & Catharinæ.
Æ tatis 84, Ano 1679, expiravit.
Hæc ante obitum scripsit.
Favente Deo vivo, et mori spero, Verus Ecclesiæ Anglicanæ Filius, Subditus Regis fidelis, et Servus Regni Veteranas, Fidus Amicus, Pater liberalis, Nulli, nisi malis Adversarins, Justitiæ, Commiserationis, et Humilitatis, Studiosus Amator, Attamen minutissimarum Miserecordiarum, Dei indignissimus.
Lay me in my Bed of Earth, Whence my Body had it's Birth, There to rest untill it rise, To live again my Saviour's prize, The least of all in Paradise.
The following inscription is over the door of a vault, on the south side of the chancel, which was built for the interment of Robert Nedham, Viscount Kilmurrey, in which the Harbords and Shaws have been since interred. Arms are, Nedham's achievement supported by two roe-bucks, with this motto, Nunc aut Nunquam. On each side, Drury and Cokain impaled; underneath are the arms of Harbord, whose hatchment impales, arg. on a pale gul. three saltires of the field.
Memoriæ Prænobilis Domini ROBERTI NEDHAM, Vicecomitis de Kilmorrai, Carolo Vicecomite (in utrumque Carolum Britanniarum Monarchas Temporibus Monarchomachis, fidelissimo) ac Brigetta Vicecomitissa superstite, Gulielmi Drury Equitis aurati & Dominæ Mariæ filia Prognati: Eximia tam Virtute, quam Eruditione, Nobilitatem Geminantis: Proceritate, Venustate, Pulchritudine, Ostenti: Amoris publice ferreo Sæculo, Magnetis: Ingenio præcoci maturæ Vitæ Spem Frustrantis: Anno Dom. MDCLXVIIIo Ætatis xiiio Maij xxixo Sole, Comite, et exemplo, ut alibi luceret, Occidentis: Anastasin Paschatis diem, qui Anno hujus Obitus conscio defuit, æternitate pensaturam Præstolantis: Hoc Monumentum dicavit Avia Quotidie Visitatura.
Dum jacet Hic Tumulo, manet Hæc, tumulata Dolore.
On a black marble,
A Wife, a Friend, a Mother's Dust, Lyes here, that was both wise and just; Whose Soul to Heaven was flown before, Wing'd with the Prayers of the Poor. Whose Sighs and Tears, do prove this Age, Hath few such Ladys on her Stage.
Pronobilis Familiæ Baronis Van Alst. in Com: Flandriæ D. Maria, Ux: Caroli Harbord, Equit: Aurat: Optima Mater, & Nutrix Phil: & Guliel. Harbord, Armig: Caroli Harbord Equit: Aurat: Johannis Harbord, Gen: Annæ Hesteræ & Catherinæ, Pie vixit & Obijt apud Besthorp, 5 Sept: 1666: Anno Ætatis suæ 64.
Samuel Dobson, A. M. Vicar of this Church died 26 April, 1681, aged 35 years.
From the Register: 1589, Will. Harbourne, Esq. and Eliz. Drury, married 16 Sept. 1596, Mr. John Buxton was buried May 15, and taken up again the 3d of June, and buried at Tibenham. 1599, Mr. Will. Plesaunce and Amy Drury, 29 June. 1606, Henry Rokewode of Weston in Norfolk, Gent. and Mrs. Susan Drury, 5 Jan. 1609, John Burman, doctor of the civil law, and Dorotny Drury, 20 Dec. 1624, Mr. Humphry Rant, and Mrs. Anne Drury, 3 Aug. 1625, Arthur Branthwayt, Esq. and Mrs. Bridget Drury, 20 Feb. 1626, Henry, son of Isaac Bentley, clerk, bapt. 7 Feb. 1627, Anth. Branthwayt, Gent. buried. 1632, Will. Rivet of Bildeston in Suffolk, Esq. widower, and Eliz. Drury, 3 June. 1647, Mary, daughter of Francis Vernon, Esq. and Eleanor his wife, bapt. 7 March. 1679, Sir Charles Harbord of Stanninghall, Knt. buried 11 June. 1682, Henry, son of Colonel Philip Harbord, buried 6 May. 1697, Harbord, son of Charles Shaw, Esq. buried 16 Sept. 1700, 10 Aug. Charles, son of Charles Shaw, Esq. baptized. 1703, Anne Shaw their daughter buried. 1703, Charles Nedham, Esq. buried 16 Aug. and Susan his daughter July 31.
The following arms were to be seen in the windows of this church, but now some of them are lost.
Bush, arg. on a chevron az. three crescents of the field.
Pratt, arg. on a chevron sab. three mascles or, between three ogresses, thereon two martlets, and a trefoil slipped arg.
Ormond, or, a chief indented az.
Clifton. Earl of Arundel.
Mowbray, Fitz-Walter, Clare.
Arg. three pallets gul. Ely bishoprick, and Mortimer, which now remains in the chapel of the annunciation, which belongs to Plassing-Hall manor, and is on the north side, and Drury's chapel is on the south, in which Drury impales Kemp. The steeple is square and hath five bells.
This town was held by Chetelbern, of the castle of Bukenham in the Confessor's time, and was divided in the Conqueror's; but the Soke of the whole still belonged to that castle, as a member of Shropham hundred, the lord of which is paramount, and hath the leet and all superiour jurisdiction at this time. Half of this town and part of Atleburgh, belonged to Roger Bigot, who held it of the castle, to which it was afterwards rejoined, by the marriage of Maud, his daughter, to William de Albany, lord of the castle; and this part was then called Plassey's and afterwards Plasset, and Plassing Hall manor. The other part, in the Conqueror's days, was given to Alan Earl of Richmond, of whom Thurstan held it, and afterwards Robert de Bautvent, or Bavent, from whom it took the name of Bavent's Hall.
Plasset, or Plassing Hall, Manor
Belonging to the castle as aforesaid, passed as that did, with the coheiress of Albany, to Sir Robert de Tateshale, who, in 1286, had a charter of free-warren in his demean lands, at Plasset in Besthorp and Attleburgh; in 1283, he purchased three messuages, 185 acres of land, and 20s. yearly rent in Besthorp, of Peter de Thelvetham, and added it to his manor; but in 1286, Joice, his widow, recovered her dower in it, against Sir Robert; afterwards it descended to the Bernaks; and in 1312, King Edward II. impleaded Wiliam Bernake for hindering him to present to two parts of the church of Attleburgh, who set forth his title, that that advowson belonged to his manor of Plasset's, &c. (as at large in Attleburgh.) In 1345, John de Bernak died seized of it, and it was found to be parcel of Tateshale barony, and was assigned to Joan his widow, as part of her dowry, whose son, John de Bernak, died a minor, and William his brother inherited; and at his death, Maud, his sister and sole heir, carried it to Sir Ralph de Cromwell, lord of Tateshall, her husband, from whose family it went to the Fitz-Williams, and Knevets by moieties, as heirs to Cromwell; and in 1516, one moiety belonged to Sir William Knevet, and the other to William Fitz-Williams of Sprotsburgh in Yorkshire, Esq. as descendants from the aunts, and heirs of Ralph, Lord Cromwell of Tateshale; and what is remarkable, the manor was returned to be held of Sir William Knevet himself, as heir of Albany, by another deduction of his pedigree, by the yearly service of a pair of gilt spurs, to be paid every Midsummer day. In 1517, William Knevet, a younger son of the family, held the whole manor of Sir Tho. Knevet, and in 1562, it belonged to William Cocket, by purchase from Cressener, and in 1596, to Anthony Drury, in which family all the manors in this town were afterwards united. In 1497, Maud Willoughby was lady, but it was only a jointure: the manor assumed its name from its situation, to which it exactly answers; the plashes, or splashes, (as we now call them,) are swampy places where the water often stands, and according to this etymology, I find, that in the time of King Edward I. William, del Bernak held 10l. rent at Plasy's, and about that time Will. de Plasy, who assumed his name from the manor, of which he was head tenant, lived as farmer on the site of it, and gave it the name of Plassy Hall.
Belonged to Sir Robert de Bautvent of Besethorp, in the time of King Henry III. who gave the moiety of the advowson of the rectory to Wymondham prior, as hath been observed: Picot de Bavent was his eldest son and heir, Sir Tho. de Bavent of Besthorp was lord after him, who divided it, by granting off that part, which Peter de Thelvetham sold to Robert de Tateshale, he was succeeded by Peter his son, who died in 1369, leaving it to be divided between Eleanor and Cecily, his daughters and heiresses; and soon after it came to John Warner of Besthorp, Esq. who had no issue; for in the pedigree of Henry Warner, Esq. of Womhill Hall in Mildenhall, Suffolk, it is thus recorded: " Anno Domini, 1374, Thomas Whetenhale, a younger son of Sir James Whetenhale, (of Cheshire,) Knt. being of great acquaintance with one John Warner, Esq. (of Besthorp) in the county of Norfolk, who had no issue of his own, nor any related to him of the name; the said John Warner bequested his estate unto the said Thomas Whetenhale, conditionally, that the said Thomas Whetenhale would adopt himself, whereupon the said Thomas Whetenhale came into Norfolk, and called himself Warner, who did bear for his coat armour, viz. Vert, a cross ingrailed arg. as being Whetenhale's paternal coat, and for the name of Warner adds the other coat, viz. quarterly, first, party per bend, indented arg. and sab.; secondly, a fleur-de-lis or.; third as second, fourth as first, which hath, together with the Whetenhales arms, been impaled and quartered many ages, by the Warners so adopted, and Sir Robert Warner, and Sir Edward Warner, two brothers, finding upon record, that certainly their names were anciently Whetenhale, and that the cross ingrailed, &c. was their paternal coat, resolved to continue it according to their ancient bearing." This Thomas left it to Henry Whetenhale, alias Warner, of Besthorp, who married Cecily, daughter of William Spaney or Spain, of the same, after whose death it came to Robert Warner of Besthorp, Esq. who married Margaret Barton of Besthorp, and died seized in 1488, leaving two sons; Oliver Whetenhale, alias Warner, their second son, was instituted vicar in 1445, and Henry Warner, their eldest son, married Mary, daughter of John Bleverhasset of Southill in Bedfordshire, sister and coheir of John Bleverhasset, her brother; she outlived him, and remarried to William Drury of Besthorp, who had the manor during her life, and before her death it was released to him and his heirs, by Robert Warner of Norwich, (from whom the Womhill Hall family are descended, he being father of Sir Robert Warner of Mildenhall,) and Sir Edward Warner of Plumstede, brother of the said Robert, and so it became united to Plasset's in the Drurys.
Was part of Plasset's, granted off by Sir Robert de Tateshale, to Henry Page of Besthorp, who was to hold it of him at one fee; in 1338, he settled it by fine on John Page of Besthorp, his son, and Margaret his wife, who held it in 1345; and afterwards married to Thomas Spayne, on whom it was settled, for he held it after her death; in Edward the the Fourth's time it belonged to the Dentons, and went with Felice, daughter and heir of William Denton of Besthorp, to Roger Drury of Hausted in Suffolk, who married her; and thus this manor came to the Drurys.
Brettenham's, or Bridgeham's Manor
Was held by the Curzuns, or Cursons, of East Carleton and Stanfeld, of Sir Robert de Tateshale, at half a fee; and in 1292, William de Cursoun had it. In 1335, Margaret, wife of John, son of the said William, died seized, it being then held of Shropham hundred; and Will. Curson was her son and heir, who, before 1345, had parted with it to Tho. de Hedersete, who then held it, and sold it the same year to Peter, vicar of Hocham, and John de Brettenham, from whom it took its present name, which in time was corrupted into Bridgham's. In 1401, their heirs held it of the Lady Cromwell; in 1408, Ralph Campayne, or Chaumpanne, and Beatrice his wife, sold it to John, son of Reginald Maundevile, by the name of Curson's manor. In 1562, Will. Cocket of Besthrorp, Esq. had it, and owned it to his death in 1579, in which year he was buried in this church, Oct. 28, and the manor went to the Drurys, and became united to the rest.
There was a part granted off very early from Bavent's manor, which was held at half a fee, of the Thorps, as of Ashwell-Thorp manor; in 1328, Walter de Norwich held it of Sir John de Thorp; in 1329, Edmund de Baconsthorp held his manor in Besthorp at half a fee, of Rob. de Thorp, who had it as part of the fees of Roger Bygod Earl of Norfolk. This after came to William Cocket, Esq. and being joined to Bridgham's, went with that to the Drurys, who became possessed of all the manors, the impropriation, and advowson.
In 1267, Baldwin de Melnes, or Melles, had those lands which Ebraud de Mellnes his ancestor had, two parts of the tithes of which he confirmed to the monks of Thetford, according to his ancestor's gift, but it was no manor.
The whole being thus united in the Drurys, it will be proper to trace that branch of the family that were lords here, having spoken of the family in general under Ridlesworth, at p. 277. Roger Drury of Hausted in Suffolk had by Felice, or Phillis, daughter and heir of William Denton of Festhorp in Norfolk, William Drury, his second son, to whom he gave Besthorp. He married Margaret, daughter and sole heir of William Briggs, of Whitwell in Norfolk, by whom he had William Drury of Besthorp, who married Ursula, daughter of Rich. Coo, by whom he had two sons; Charles, who died young, and Francis, who succeeded his brother, but died without issue, leaving it to his nephew, William Drury of Besthorp, son of Rob. Drury his brother, by Eiz. Clifford his wife; he married for his second wife, Dorothy, daughter of William Brampton of Letton in Norfolk, who after remarried to Will. Cocket of Ampton, Esq. and left Anthony Drury of Besthorp, Esq. their son and heir, who was high sheriff of Norfolk in 1619, and married Anne, daughter of John Garnish of Kenton in Suffolk, for his second wife, Anne Kemp, his first wife, being buried here in 1571; but Charles and Francis, her two sons, dying without issue, it went, at his death in 1614, to Anne, his second wife, for life, who was buried here, March 31, 1634, by her husband; and it went to Sir Anthony Drury of Besthorp, his son and heir, who was knighted in 1603; he married Bridget, daughter of John Spelman of Narburgh, Esq. by whom he had a numerous issue; Sir Anthony was buried Oct. 16, 1638, and Bridget, his relict, the 28th of the same month, leaving Sir William Drury of Besthorp his son and heir, who married Mary, daughter of William Cokayn of London, skinner, and was buried here Nov. 15, 1639, leaving one son, Anthony, who was baptized Feb. 17, 1638, and was buried Sept. 15, 1640, leaving these and Chauntecler's manor to his two sisters, his coheiresses, Bridget, born Jan. 21, 1635, and Anne, baptized July 13, 1640, being born after her father's decease; Bridget first married to Charles Nedham Viscount Kilmurrey, by whom she had issue, Robert Lord Viscount Kilmurrey, who was lord of a moiety, he died in 1668, aged 13 years, and was buried here, Dame Mary, relict of Sir William Drury, his grandmother, surviving him, till June 1688, when she died, and was interred by him: Anne, the other daughter, married Philip Harbord of Stanninghall and Besthorp, Esq. by whom he had a son named William, who died young, and was buried here Sept. 7, 1678; and on the 12th Jan. following, his mother was buried by him; and on the 13th Sept. 1687, the said Philip was buried here, and his moiety descended to his three daughters, of which Sarah, his third daughter, died unmarried Jan. 31, 1689, and was buried here, leaving her part to her two sisters: Anne, married to Robert Paston, second son to Robert, Earl of Yarmouth, who sold his moiety of the moiety, to Charles Shaw, Esq. second son of Sir John Shaw of Eltham in Kent, Bart. who had married Elizabeth, the other sister, so that he became sole lord of the Harbord's moiety, and of the other also, in right of his mother, who, after the death of Viscount Kilmurrey, married Sir John Shaw aforesaid, for her second husband, so that he became sole lord. He died at Besthorp, April 28, 1716, and was buried there, leaving two sons and one daughter; Elizabeth, married to King Gould, Deputy Advocate of the Admiralty, who hath issue two sons, Charles and Paston: John Shaw of Besthorp, Esq. Captain in the Guards, inherited, and died without issue in 1722, and it descended to Charles Shaw, Esq. of Besthorp, his only brother, who married Frances, daughter of Mr. Lightfoot of Hampshire, and died lately, and is buried here, leaving Elizabeth, his only daughter, who is now a minor, his sole heiress.
The Custom of all the manors are, that the fines are at the will of the lord, and the eldest son is heir.
There are two halls, or manor-houses in this parish, now distinguished by the names of the Old Hall (or Plassing Hall) and the New Hall, which is a good building, erected by the Drurys, as their arms on the outside shew us, and is now the seat of the Shaws. In the windows, &c. are the arms of Drury, with 1593 under them, the time, I suppose, the house was built, and
Drury, impaling the following arms, Briggs, gul. three bars gemelle or, a canton sab.
Hethe, arg. three pellets.
Denston, az. two lions passant guardant, or.
Kemp, Spelman, Brampton, Garneys, and
Sab. three cinquefoils arg.
On the chimney-piece,
Drury impales Cokain, arg. three cocks gul. armed, and crested sab.
Drury and Nedham, arg. a bend engrailed az. between two bucks heads caboshed sab.
Drury and Harbord, quarterly gul. and az. four lions rampant arg.
Shaw and Harbord.
Sir John Shaw of Eltham in Kent married in 1675 to Bridget Viscountess Kilmurrey, daughter to Sir William Drury of Besthorp in Norfolk, and was the 755th baronet by creation, and bare for his paternal coat, Arg. a chevron between three lozenges erm.; and for his crest, seven arrows gul. headed, and one feathered, or, one perpendicular, and three and three crossing saltire ways, all within the slit of a girdle, extended at length az. buckle and clasp or.
This place without doubt hath been very famous in early times, as all authors, that speak of it, unanimously agree. If we may believe John Brame, a monk of Thetford, whose history is extant in Bennet College Library at Cambridge, it was some time not only a city, but the metropolis of all Norfolk, founded by Atlinge, then King of that province, in order to oppose Rond, King of Theodford, and by him fortified with a ditch, wall, four gates, and four towers; and from this Atlinge he would have it called Atlinge's Burgh, or Atleburgh; but as to that part, of its towers and gates, I cannot be persuaded to credit it, there being no appearance or remains of any such walls, gates, or towers, as he speaks of, in this town, some parts of which, in all likelihood, would have remained, as well as those of other buildings, far older than these, it being unlikely that in the Danish incursions they could have time or materials to rear them up. Mr. Le Neve imagines that it was called Ethelingburgh, because it might belong in the time of the Saxons to some eminent nobleman of that name, who was nearly related to the Saxon kings, and had his residence here, being induced to think thus, because this part belonged to the Crown till the Conqueror's time. But neither of these etymologies seem right, and therefore, if I may have liberty of conjecture, I think the present name shews its signification, which, it will be proper to observe, hath suffered but little change from the time of the Confessor to this day, Atleburc, Burg, or Burgh, is the same, and it being certain that the termination burgh, or borough (as we now pronounce it) always signifies a castle, fort, or such like, as the learned Spelman in his Icenia justly observes, we may conclude that it was called At-le-Burgh, or the town at the burgh, or burgh-town, from its being situated by an ancient burgh or fortification, and from its being larger, and of more repute at that time, than its neighbours. That this burgh was a fortification of hills only, is plain, because there are no other remains, and therefore most likely was made at the time when the Danes ravaged this part of the country, and so far the old monk may be right; that when they got possession of Thetford, it is not unlikely the inhabitants of the country might assemble and fortify themselves here in opposition to their enemies, who had done the same there; and indeed I take it, that this burgh was the head of the hundred, till the neighbouring castle of Bukenham was built, after the removal of the chief of the inhabitants from it, to the present situation of the town, which is far better than its old one at the Burgh. And as a further confirmation, the Burgh is not only now called Burgh, or Burrough Street, but in Domesday, that is called Attelburc, and the present town is called the Other Atleburc, and that the first castle at Bukenham had its rise upon the dereliction of this burgh is likely, because the whole of this Atleburgh, at first, was not a manor held of the castle, but an actual part of the Castle manor, called the part at the Plashes, afterwards Plassets, and had two parts, or the whole of the advowson, belonging to Plasset's part, appendant to it, that is, one half to the part of Plasset's manor, which contained great part of Besthorp, and the other part as belonging to this, the other part, or third part, belonging to the manor of the other Atleburgh, where the church was built. It seems the removal at first might be occasioned by the lowness and moistness of the situation, and if so, the aforesaid monk, in his translation, might only mistake the name of the place, for a person, viz. At-Ving-Burgh, or the burgh at the [ing] or watery place, (or At Le Plats or Plashes, as it was called by the Normans,) for Atling's Burgh, or the Burgh of Atling; for he tells us, his history is only copied from two ancient books of the same sort, one of which was in old French, and the other in English, both of which he compared, and made his Latin translation by; and indeed to do him justice, though I am sensible the accounts of things in it do seem at first entire fables, yet upon examination several of them, if not all, are in some measure true, and the histories of the many battles in this part of the country, and especially in Giltcross, Grimshoe, this, and the adjacent hundreds, might be the excursions of the Danes, from their great rendezvous at Thetford, recorded by some body near hand at that time, and so preserved in the neighbourhood, and afterwards given to that monastery; and indeed the many tumuli in these hundreds shew us, that there were such excursions; and it is plain, that this history could not be of such light esteem, as we think it, because then, the Normans, after the Conquest, would not have thought it worth their while to have translated it into their language; and though we meet with the names of many kings, as they are called, which were never heard of but in this book, I look upon it that there might be such persons, who were heads and leaders of those bands, and as such called kings of those places, where these burghs or chief rendezvouses were, and that, because their names are pure Saxon or Danish; and what induces me to think that the monk was not the inventor of these accounts, (as some would intimate,) is, because in the same book, where he descends so low, as to treat of the affairs of his own monastery, just before, and in his own time, he is a faithful historian, and is so far from giving us any fables of his own invention, that he tells us, whenever he adds any thing of the legend sort, where he had what he recites, so that I must own I am apt to think he had two copies of the history, as he asserts, and that there is more of reality in it, than at first sight we may imagine; for I find, agreeable to the assertion of its being an ancient city, that "in the year 841, Edmund, son of Alkmund, King of Saxony, was born at Noremburg in Saxony of Queen Siwara, and soon after it happened that Off a, King of the EastAngles, who had no heir, passed through Saxony in his journey to the Holy Land, where he went in pilgrimage, to beseech God to give him an heir, and calling upon his cousin Alkmund, he adopted Edmund his son, his heir, and then hastened to Jerusalem, where having performed his vows, he returned, but in his return, at a place called St. George's Arm, he was taken violently ill, upon which, he immediately sent for his council, appointed Edmund his successour, and sent him his ring, which he received from the Bishop, when he was made King of the East-Angles; after he was dead, the Angles went to the King of Saxony, and demanded Edmund his son, and received him, as Offa's successour, and hastening home, they landed at Hunstanton, from whence they carried him to the ancient city called Atleburgh, where he lived a whole year, yielding himself up chiefly to devotion, here he perfected what he had begun in Saxony, namely, to repeat all the Psalms without a book, and at the year's end, he went to Suffolk, &c." From whence it appears, that it was certainly then a place of great repute, and might be afterwards refortified, upon the Danes coming to these parts; it is plain, that the hills of the fortification or burgh were very remarkable in Henry the Second's time, for then the family that dwelt within them took their sirname from them; William de Fossato de Atleburc lived at that time, and in 1285, William, son of William de Fossato lived there, who with his descendants, are called in old English, "atte the Dyke," (now Dikes, or Dix,) and all these things, being duly weighed and compared, I could not omit them, knowing how much the account of Atleburgh hath invalidated the rest of his history. And thus, having given you my thoughts of the original of this place, I shall proceed to treat of the several manors, &c. which have been, or now are, in this town.
Plasset, or Plassing Hall Manor
Belonged to Toradre, a Dane, in the Confessor's time, and another part to Turkill, one of that nation also; which shews us that the Danes had got possession of this place, and that its decay was owing to their seizing it. After Toradre's expulsion, or death, it belonged to the castle, and continued in the Crown till the Conqueror gave it to Roger Fitz-Renard, at whose death it was rejoined to the castle, to which it had belonged, almost ever since its foundation, which in all appearance was owing to the Danes forcing them hence; upon which, the castle was first erected, in order to oppose them, and accordingly, when they were forced to quit possession, the whole was seized, and added to the castle, with which it was given to William de Albany, and descended with the coheiress of that family to Sir Robert de Tateshale, and from him to the Bernaks, as Plassets in Besthorp did, which was a part of this manor, to which one third part of the advowson belonged, and another third part to this, so that there were two third parts belonging to Plassets, this and Besthorp being reputed as one manor; for in 1312, King Edward II. summoned Sir William de Bernak, to shew cause why he hindered him presenting to two parts of the church of Atleburgh, which was void, and to which he ought to present, because the advowson was parcel of the inheritance of Hugh de Albany Earl of Arundel, at whose death the King seized his estate and advowsons, because he held of him in chief, and died without issue, and his inheritance was divided among his four sisters, all which, (except Cecily,) had their several parts, in manors, lands, and advowsons, assigned to them, as the custom was; but as neither the said Cecily, nor her heirs, had requested the King to grant out of his hands her part of the advowsons, therefore the advowson of two parts of this church, which was not assigned to any of the other parceners, remained in the King's hands, as belonging to the part of Robert de Montealt, heir of the said Cecily: to which William answered, and proved that the advowson belonged, to the manor of Plasset's, which was assigned to Robert de Tateshale, who infeoffed him in the said manor; and that if it had not been so, it could not belong to the King, because Plasset's manor is not held of the King in chief; upon which Sir William recovered the advowson, and presented accordingly. In 1285, Sir Robert de Tateshale had view of frankpledge, assize of bread and ale, free-warren, gallows, and a Thursday market in Atleburgh, as belonging to Plassinghall in Atleburgh and Besthorp, all which were conveyed by him to Sir William Bernak, and his heirs, who died seized in 1338, and Alice his wife survived him; she infeoffed Hugh Bernak, clerk, in this and other manors; (as you may see at p. 374.) Hugh died in 1340, and it went to John Bernak, and from him, (as you may see at p. 496) till 1438, and then Ralf Lord Cromwell, who had two turns in the advowson, (Sir John Clifton, Knt. having the third, in right of Margaret his mother,) granted his advowson to Sir John de Radcliff, Knt. and Thomas his son, and his heirs, together with the manor of Plasset's in Atleburgh, (which was now separated from Plasset's in Besthorp,) and so it became joined to Mortimer's manor, with which it now remains, the third turn in the advowson of the two parts being joined before 1516.
Baconthorp, Crowshall, or Copsy Manor
Belonged to Alfred, an Englishman, at the Conquest, who held it of Bukenham castle, to which it was after joined, by King Henry the First's giving it to William de Albany, who added it to Plasset's manor, with which it continued, till the said William infeoffed Alured de Atleburc in it, who was to hold this and other estates of his gift, by the service of two knights fee; in 1251, Jeffery Crawe owned it, from whose family it took its name; and in 1323, it was settled on John Oldman for life, by Richard de Bernham, and Richard de Tudenham, with remainder to Walter, son of Margaret of Atleburgh; in 1337, Edmund de Baconsthorp, and Margaret his wife, settled this and Welbourne manor and advowson on themselves for life, and their heirs in tail; and in 1347, this, and Caster by Norwich, was settled on Thomas Moyne, and Margaret his wife, and their heirs; and in 1362, Sir Thomas Moyne, Knt. died seized of the manor of Casire, the manor and advowson of Merkeshale, the manor of Crowshall in Atleburgh, and of Little-Taynton, in Gloucestershire, leaving them to Edmund, his son and heir; in 1393. the manor of Crowshall called Copsy was settled by Ralf Gedding, on Cecily his wife, Richard Caus, Richard de Gegh, and Benedict of Hocham, who in the fine is called Benedict Cosyn of Hocham, being trustees; in 1397, William March, Knt. had it, and in 1400, Thomas and John March, sons of Sir Will. March, Knt. held Crowshall, and a tenement called Kingeshale in Atleburgh; in 1457, Sir John Clifton, Knt. held the manor of Baconsthorp, Copsy, or Crowshall, and had license to assign it in mortmain, if he pleased, but it seems he did not, for it fell soon after into Mortimer's manor; it took its name of Baconsthorp from its ancient lord, and is now by corruption called Bansthorp, which is a hamlet with a leet belonging to it, where the lord of the hundred who keeps it swears a constable yearly, whose power extends to this hamlet only.
Chaunticler's, commonly called Chanceler's
In Atleburgh, was part of Mortimer's manor, granted by William de Mortimer to William de Ponyaunt, who held it of him in 1296, at a quarter of a fee, and it extended into Elyngham and Besthorp; in 1359, Thomas Chaunticler of Atleburgh, and Katherine his wife, owned it; this Thomas built the north chapel or transept of the church, for in his will dated 1379, in which year he died, he ordered his body to be buried in his own chapel, which he had built, adjoining to the north side of the church of Atleburgh, leaving Katherine his widow, Thomas de Brampton, and Alice his wife, (his daughter and heiress, I suppose,) executors, to whom this manor went after Katherine's death; for in 1481, Thomas de Brampton, Esq. died, and was buried in this chapel between his two wives, Alice and Joan, the last of which died the year before him, leaving Robert Brampton of Atleburgh, Gent. his son and heir, who died in Oct. 1500, his will being proved Dec. the 2d in that year, leaving his manors of Waxham and Flegghall in Winterton, to Anne his wife, whom he joined in executorship with Henry Warner, Gent. of Besthorp; William Brampton, his brother, seems to be trusted with the care of his sons and daughters; in 1547, William Brampton, Esq. son, I suppose, of the said Robert, was lord; and in 1561, William Brampton, Esq. and Elizabeth his wife, owned the manor of Chanceler's, in Atleburgh and Besthorp, to the last of which it was soon after joined, and, I suppose, hath continued so ever since.
In 1619, Robert Earl of Sussex was lord of the manors of Bridgham's and Corie's in Atleburgh, which in 1547, belonged to Peter Moulde and Thomas Pooley, and were now united to Mortimer's; and this is all I meet with, in relation to those manors.
Contained the third part of Atleburgh, or all the Other Atleburc, or the whole of that part where the present church and town stands; and accordingly a third part of the advowson always belonged to it, and continues to this day a separate institution. In the time of the Confessor, Turkill the Dane had possession of this Atleburc, which was valued at 40s. but was risen to 3l. in the Conqueror's time, who gave it as a manor of that value, to Roger Fitz-Renard; the whole of both the Atleburghs, or of the present town, which includes both, was then about 4 miles long and 2 miles broad, and paid to the Danegeld, 34d. ob.; it came to the Mortimer's very early, if not in the time of the Conqueror, with whom that family came into England; there are two towns in France of this name, one in Normandy, the other in Poictu, both written Mortimer, but neither of them being by the sea side, Monsieur de Valois imagines them to be called Mortimars, and so should be rendered in Latin, De Mortuo Marisco, and not De Mortuo Mari; and indeed it might be anciently written, by abbreviation, (which was usual in those times,) De Mortuo Mar. which answers either to Mari or Marisco, though I think it is much the same, for I suppose that mare signifies not only the sea, but any large stagnation of waters, and that hence is derived our English word mere, meer, or mare for a large water, and thus the Mare Mortuum, which is a lake in Judea, so called because it never moves, might give name to these places, which though they were not situated by the sea, yet stood near some such stagnated waters or fens. Mr. Dugdale thinks that Robert de Mortimer who lived in King John's time, was the first of the family that was concerned in Norfolk, and the Atlas (fo. 340) tells us that they are descended of the Lords Mortimer of Wigmore, both which are mistakes, for the arms of this family and those of Wigmore being always quite different, is a plain argument to me, that they are of a different extract, and might assume their names from different places; that this family was of French rise is evident from the very arms, viz. Or, semi de fleures-de-lis, sab. the very arms of France at that time, only the colours varied; and as to the other point, the first of the family that I meet with here was Sir William de Mortuomari, or Mortimer, of Atleburc, Knt. whose effigies, riding full speed on horse back, with his sword drawn in one hand, and his shield of arms, as before, in his other, is appendant, to an original deed of his in the Cotton Library, without date, by which he granted to John de Bernham, chaplain, son of Henry de Estegate, a messuage in Estgate in Bernham, which is now called Bernham Broom.
The next that I find here was Sir Robert Mortimer, Knt. who lived in the time of King Henry II. In Somner's Antiquities of Canterbury we read, that in 1181, in a procession at Christ's church in Canterbury, Sir Robert Mortimer, who was under excommunication for his contumacy, because he would not obey the law, being questioned for a wrong done to the church of Canterbury, in taking from the manor of Deepham in this county a certain parcel of land belonging to the monks, intruded himself into the company, Prior Alan espying him there, informed the Archbishop (who was then present) of it, and that a second time, because the Archbishop would have connived at it; but when the whole company was come into the church, Sir Robert with them, and mass begun, the Prior requires the convent to cease, who obeyed, and so the excommunicate, to his shame, was by a strong hand thrown out of the church, and then they proceeded in their devotions.
He was succeeded by William, his son and heir, and he by
Sir Robert, his son and heir, who, in the year 1194, was forced to find sureties to King Richard the First, because he had presumed to hold a tournament without royal license; but upon Roger Bigod Earl of Norfolk, Jeffry de Sai, and William Earl Warren, becoming sureties for him, the King ordered the sheriff to give him seizin of his lands again. In 1195, a fine was levied to the said Sir Robert Mortimer of Atleburgh and John Le Strange of five knights fees, in Hunestantun, (or Hunstanton,) Totington, Ringestede and Snitertun, all which Robert acknowledged to belong to John and his heirs, who gave to Sir Robert all his land which he had in Totingtun, with the appurtenances to be held of him, by homage and the service of a whole knight's fee, except a twentieth part, excepting also out of the appurtenances, the church of Totington, which the said John gave in pure alms to the church of St. Mary at Caumpes in Suffolk, with the consent of the said Robert, who was to warrant to the said John and his heirs four knights fees in Hunstanton, Ringstede, and Snitterton. This Sir Robert, and William his son, were both against King John in his baron's wars, in the year 1205; and in 1215, Sir Robert being then also in arms with the rebellious barons, forfeited his lands in Lincolnshire.
In 1218, Sir William de Mortimer held one knight's fee here, and in Bernham, (Broom,) Little Elingham, and Tofts, and half a fee in Stanford and Bukenham, (Parva,) and another half fee in Scoulton, of the Earl Warren; in 1250, he had a charter for free-warren in his manors of Atleburgh, Bernham, and Scoulton, in Norfolk, and Kingston and Foxton, in Cambridgeshire; he was succeeded by Sir Robert de Mortimer, his son and heir, who lived in the year 1263, when the barons rose against King Henry III. among whom Sir Henry Hastyngs, who was very active against the King, came and besieged the castle of Bukenham, because Sir Robert de Tateshale, the second of that name, who was owner of it, held it, and declared openly for the King, and great part of the neighbouring country sent men and arms, and what assistance they could to him, in order to enable him to endure the siege; but among others, our Sir Robert de Mortimer sent a servant of his called Leonine, to the castle during the siege, with some private information to the besieged, (as it should seem,) for the siege being raised upon it, Sir Henry went to Sir Robert's manors in this county, and burnt the houses, and wasted the stocks found upon them; whether Sir Robert himself was killed I do not know, but he died this very year, for in the year following
William de Mortimer, his son and heir, was in the custody of the Earl Warren, who now was of the King's side, so that he and his goods were safe, and protected by the castle. Sir William being always attached, as well as his father, to the King's side, was summoned by the King to attend his service among his judges and council. In 1282, he obtained a charter for a market at Stanford in this county, upon Tuesday in every week, and a fair on Whitson-Eve, Whit-Sunday, and the morrow following; in 1285, he demanded against the Prior of Shouldham the advowson of Stanford church, and set forth his pedigree, from Robert de Mortimer, who was seized of that advowson in Henry the Second's time, and presented Richard de Grenewesvill thereto, viz. Robert aforesaid had issue, William, his son and heir, who had Robert, his son and heir, who had William, his son and heir, who had issue Robert, who had issue this Sir William the demandant; by which record the truth of the pedigree is plainly proved, when it would have been difficult otherwise, there being so many collateral branches of this noble family, that had estates here, and in diverse parts of this county. In 1285, he had the King's letters of protection during his absence beyond sea, about the King's business, and in the same year had liberty of free-warren, assize of bread and ale, view of frankpledge, and weyf, allowed him in this manor. In 1293, King Edward going then into Gascoign, he had command to fit himself with horse and arms, (as the chief men in England then did,) and to attend the King at Portsmouth, on Sept. 1. to assist him against the French, and in 1296, was summoned to parliament, among the Barons of the realm, in which year, being again in France with the Earl of Lincoln, to relieve Bellagard, at that time besieged by the Earl of Arras, he was taken prisoner, and carried to Paris, where he died, as it seems, being then called William d Morti mer of Kingstone. The book of Woodbridge saith, that this Sir William, lord of the manor here, founded a chapel of the Holy Cross, and that he died Tuesday, November the 12th, 1297, and is buried in his own chapel; all which is true, though Mr. Weaver seems to misunderstand it; for the college here, which was afterwards founded by Sir Robert Mortimer, his grandson, being dedicated to the Holy Cross, made him doubt which was the real founder, when the truth is, they were different foundations; the chapel of the Holy Cross founded by Sir William for his own interment is now standing, and is called Mortimer's chapel, it being the south transept or chapel, opposite to Chanticlere's, which is on the north side, and by reason of the officiating priests that daily served in these chapels, before the foundation of the college, this church was in the collegiate form, and had service performed in it, according to the collegiate manner. By his will, dated in 1295, it appears, that Robert de Bauns rector of Scoulton, Jeffry Fitz-Walter, parson of the third part of Atleburgh, and Richard de Helmingham, parson of Bykereston, or Bixton, were his executors. He held the manors of Bernham, Scoulton, and Atleburgh of the Earl Warren at 6 fees, and had a capital manor-house and 243 acres of land adjoining, a wood of 469 acres, a windmill, and 43l. yearly rents, besides another messuage and lands held of Sir Robert de Tateshale, by the payment of two sparhawks a year. He died seized of Kingstone in Cambridgeshire, Herleveston in Lincolnshire, Atleburgh, Scoulton, and Bernham in Norfolk, leaving
Constantine, his son and heir, then 16 years old, whom the King seized as his ward; but in 1298, John Earl Warren sued the King for his wardship, which belonged to him, in right of the manor of Atleburgh, which was held of him, and was unjustly seized by the escheator, while the Earl was in the King's service in Scotland, who as unjustly assigned to [Alice] the relict of the said William, much more than her just dower, upon which the Earl had his ward, and took from Alice those lands which she enjoyed above her dower; and the same year the said Constantine [by the Earl his guardian] sued Joan, late wife of Gilbert Peche, for committing waste in his manor of Kingstone, while she had the custody of it; in 1305, he obtained a charter for a market and fair to be kept at Kingston; in 1307, he was one of the great men in the retinue of John de Warren Earl of Surrey, who was then with the King in France, at his interview and marriage with Isabel, daughter of Philip King of France; in 1309, he held his manors and lands in Atleburgh, Elingham, and Bernham-Parva, of the Earl Warren, at one fee; and in 1310, had a charter for a yearly fair at his manor of Atleburgh, and was in the Scotch expedition; and again in 1313 and 1314, in which years he had license to found a chantry at his manor of Kingston, and to make a castle of his house at Scoulton in Norfolk; in 1315, he settled Atleburgh on himself and Sibil his wife, for life, Henry de Spectishall, parson of Kingston, and John de Bernham, parson of Bykereston being trustees; in 1329, upon the death of Thomas de Cailly, the custody of Bukenham castle was committed to him; he had two wives, Katherine and Sibil, who died the 9th of Sept. and he the 12th of Nov. following, in the year 1334, and were buried in Mortimer's chapel, leaving
Sir Constantine Mortimer, Knt. his son and heir, who was of full age; for the year following, viz. 1335, he was Steward of the Household to Elianor Countess of Gueldres, [the King's sister,] and had au allowance of 22l. for the charges of his men and horses in that service; and in 1337, he had a charter for free-warren, in all his lordships and lands in Atleburgh, Besthorp, Scoulton, ElinghamParva, Rocklond Tofte, Catestun, Tomeston, Totington, Stanford, Bukenham-Parva, Bekerston, and Corston in Norfolk, Kingston and Foxton in Cambridgeshire, and Herleveston in Lincolnshire. In 1341, he was summoned to parliament among the barons, but never after, and was the same year in that expedition made by the King into France, one of the retinue to Ralph Lord Stafford, and so he was also in the expedition in the year 1344; in 1343, he released to Joan de Willugby Lady of Eresby, his right in the sixth part of the manors of Eggefeld, Walcote and Chatgrave, by deed dated at Norwich, to which the seal of his arms is appendant, with this circumscription,
SIGILLUM LONSZANZINI DE MORZI-MER.
In 1349, he had the King's license to travel to Rome, with one valet, 2 horses, and 2 servants; in 1351, an invasion being then threatened by the French, he was joined in commission with John D'Engaine, for arraying of all men that had able bodies, and sufficient estates, in Cambridge and Huntingdonshires, for the defence of the realm; he died in 1354, and leaving no issue by Agnes his wife,
Sir Rob. de Mortimer, his brother, became sole heir, both to him, and Sir Constantine his father; he was lord of Great Elingham, (see p. 483,) and had two wives; Margery Fastolf, his first wife, died in 1341, but Margery, his second wife, outlived him, and was alive in 1388. This Sir Robert founded the college or chantry of the Holy Cross in Atleburgh, and was buried here in 1387; he had two sons, Constantine Mortimer, Esq. his youngest son, was possessed of the manors of Great Elingham, Bernham, Bekerston, and Corston in Norfolk, and had free-warren allowed him to them all in 1405; but
Sir Tho. Mortimer, his eldest sou, died before him, beyond sea, leaving issue by Mary his wife, who died May 2, 1406; she was daughter of Nicholas Park, Esq. own mother to the great Sir John Fastolf of Caster by Yarmouth, in Norfolk; for in his will dated Nov. 3d, 1459, he desired his substance to be disposed of in the best manner, for the pleasure of god and his soul's health, "and also for the releef, socour and helpe of the soules that I am most oblyged to prey and do preye fore, and for the soules of John Fastolf my fadir, dam Mary (the doghtir of Nicholas Park, squyer) my modir," &c. and it appears that she was buried in the chapel or quire belonging to the chantry of the Holy Cross, by Sir Thomas Mortimer, her last husband; for in the same will I meet with these clauses; "Item, I wolle & ordeyne that be the avys of myn executors beforn named, that provision & ordenaunce be mad, that the obyte and anniversarye may be yerly kept in perpetuite with placebo & dirige & messe, be note for the sowle of dam Mary my modir & her aunceterys in the chirche of Attilburgh, and than on of the monkes or prestys in the college be me ordenid, in the mancyon of Castre forseid, shal syng specyally in perpetuite for the soule of my modir & of alle here aunceteres & good doers; Item, I wole that in sembelable-wise, that a marbul ston of a convenient mesure be ordeynid & layd [over] dam Mary my modir, in the chapell of the chauntry foundid in the parissch chirche of Atilburgh, with an ymage of laton, accordyng to her degre, with a scripture there abowten, of the day & yeer of here obyte, with iiii skochonys, wherof here iij husbondes, Mortymer, Fastolf, & Farwelle, & the ferthe of hir aunceterys armys," by which it appears that she had three husbands; first Farwelle, then Fastolf, and lastly Mortimer, and had issue by the two last, if not by the first; by Sir Thomas she had three daughters, coheirs to Sir Robert, their grandfather, viz.
Elizabeth Mortimer, the eldest, who married, in her grandfather's life-time, to Sir Ralph Bigot of Stockton, and had her portion assigned her on her marriage, viz. part of this manor, which was now made a separate manor, Berryhall manor in Elingham, Ladies manor in Rockland, &c. for which reason, she had nothing more at her grandfather's death; she had three husbands; first Sir Ralph Bigot, Knt. who died in 1406; secondly Henry Pakenham, and lastly Tho. Manning, to whom she gave all her estate; he afterwards remarried to a daughter of Sir Thomas Jenny.
Cecily, the next daughter, first married to Sir John de Herling, Knt. and afterwards to John Ratcliff of Atleburgh, Esq. and
Margery, the third daughter, married Sir John Fitz-Ralf of GreatElingham, Knt.
And between these two, Sir Robert Mortimer, their grandfather, divided his estate; for he ordered the parson of Scoulton, Henry de Pakenham, senior, and his other feoffees, that they should pay 350 marks, to Sir John Herling, Knt. as the marriage portion of Cecily, his grand-daughter, whom he had married, and 300 marks to Sir John Fitz-Ralf, Knt. as the portion of Margery, his grand-daughter; and by his will he further desired, that all his manors, lands, and advowsons, should be conveyed by his trustees to his two sons-in-law aforesaid, on condition that each of them should pay 1000 marks to his leoffees, for them to finish Atleburgh college with, and endow it according to his desire; and accordingly, after his death, Sir John Herling and Sir John Fitz-Ralph, giving the feoffees security for the money, had the inheritance divided between them in 1402, and settled by fine; Sir John de Herling, Knt. and Cecily his wife, had the manors of Stanford and Atleburgh, 4l. rent in Hocham, the advowson of Great Elingham, the moiety of the advowson of the chantry at the altar of the Holy Cross in the church of Atleburgh, the manors of Newenham and Foxton in Cambridgeshire, all which were settled on Cecily and her heirs: the manors of Scoulton, Totington, and Great Elingham, with the advowson of the third part of Atleburgh, and the moiety of the advowson, of the chantry at the altar of the Holy Cross, in the church of Atleburgh, with 52 messuages, 380 acres of land, 4 of meadow, and 76s. rent, in Scoulton, Tomest on, Caston, RokelandTofts, and Little Elingham, the manors of Kingston in Cambridgeshire, and Mildenhale in Suffolk, were settled on Sir John Fitz-Ralf for life, and Margery his wife, and her heirs; and thus the estate of the noble family of the Mortimers was divided; and
In 1403, the Lady Cecily de Herling was found to hold this manor at one fee of the Earl Warren. In 1411, she was married to
John Ratcliff, Esq. her second husband, and at her death left it to him and his heirs. This John was son of James Ratcliff, Esq. and was the first that advanced that family to the dignity and honour that it afterwards possessed, being a brave champion in war, even from his youth, for which he was so much in the favour of that victorious prince, King Henry V. that in the first year of his reign he granted an annuity of 40 marks a year to him and Cecily his wife, and the longest liver of them, to be received by half yearly payments, at Easter and Michaelmas, out of the manor of Tunstede in Norfolk, which belonged to the King's honour or dutchy of Lancaster, upon special trust and condition that the said John should not be retained, or serve any one in war, but himself only, during his life; and as a further mark of favour, another grant passed the same day, to him only, during his life, of another annuity of 25 marks a year, issuing out of all the lands and demeans of that dutchy in Norfolk, to enable him the better to perform his service, both which annuities were constantly paid him by the receiver of the dutchy; and from this time he constantly attended the King in all his wars. He was a squire only at the battle of Shrewsbury, and was knighted by King Henry V. upon his landing at (Quies de Caux) commonly called Kidcaux, where the Seine quietly runs into the sea; and the next day went with his master to the town of Harflue, which stands on that river, and besieged it on all sides, and was at its surrender; after which the King ordained the Duke of Exeter, his uncle, Captain and Governour of that town, who established Sir John Fastolf, his lieutenant, there, with 1500 men, (or as some say) 2036 knights, of which the Baron of Carew, and Sir Hugh Lutterell, were his two counsellors. In 1415, he was in the battle of Agincourt, in that part which was commanded by the Duke of Exeter, where he behaved so gallantly, that he was soon after made the King's Receiver in his city and dominion of Vernevil in Normandy; and when the King returned into England, he went with the Duke, and staid with him and Sir John Fastolf at Harflue, from whence they soon after made a great inroad with 3000 Englishmen into Normandy, almost to the city of Roan, and got abundance of riches and prisoners; but as they returned, the new made Constable of France, hoping to win honour in his first enterprise, having with him about 5000 horsemen, encountered them, and a sore conflict ensued, in which the Duke lost 300 of his footmen, and was forced to retire into an orchard, which was strongly fenced with thorns, so that the Englishmen kept them off, and stayed there all night, and went towards Harflue in the morning, which the French being advertised of, followed and overtook them on the sands near Chiefe de Caux (or Quies de Cauz) and there attacked them, but in the end were quite discomfited, and many of them slain by the English, who came safe to Harflue, to the Constable's disgrace; this was called by some the battle of Kidcaux, and by others, the battle of Vallemont. Soon after this, the Constable (to retrieve his lost honour) besieges them in Harflue, but by the valiant behaviour of the Duke, Sir John Fastolf, our Sir John Ratcliff, and others, the town was manfully defended, till the King's navy, under the command of the Duke of Bedford, came to their assistance, and meeting with the French navy at the mouth of the Seine, engaged and vanquished it, sunk 500 ships, went up the river and refreshed the town with victuals and money; the Constable hearing the navy was vanquished, raised his siege and returned to Paris, with less glory than he expected. In the year 1417, he was at the taking of the castle of Tonque, the city of Caen, the castle of Coursie, the city of Sees, the town of Faleis, and at the great siege of the city of Roan, being then in the King's troop, which joined with my Lord of Gloucester's, laid before St. Hillary's gate, the rest of the generals encompassing the whole town, which had then (according to historians) 21,000 souls in it, and such resolute commanders and governours among them, as swore to each other never to yield the city, as long as they could hold sword in hand, upon which ensued one of the greatest sieges that the history of that age furnishes us with, which is largely recited in Holinshed's history, together with the miserable famine in the city during the latter part of the siege, "If (says he) I should rehearse
how deerlie dogs, rats, mise, and rats, were sold within the town, and how greedilie they were by the poore people eaten and devoured, tr. the reader might lament their ertreme miseries,"
which passage I cannot but observe, to shew among other examples, the great fidelity of this historian, for in the old roll before-mentioned, is this passage, "Furthyrmor, as towchyng to the derth of vytayles withyn thys forseyd cytee, one buschell of whete was worth v. scutys, one lofe, j. frank, one dog, j. frank, one kat, ij.s. sterl. j. rat, vjd. sterl. and as towchyng all other vitailes, it was spendit er that we com in to the cytee." It is plain that Sir John Ratcliff and Sir John Fastolf had done eminent services in this siege, for immediately after the latter was made Governour, or Captain of Conde Noreau and the former of the castle of Fronsak in Aquitain, and had 1000 marks per annum, allowed him for the guard thereof. He was elected Knight of the Garter, by his royal master, in 1420, and died before St. George's feast in that year, (for then, his sword, helmet, &c. were offered,) and was interred in the choir of this church, leaving
Sir John Ratcliff, Knt. his son and heir, who inherited his father's courage as well as estate, being well known to the King, and having constantly attended the wars with his father, was upon his death made Governour of Fronsak castle, and of the castle of Burdeaux in Gascoign, in which posts he behaved himself so well, that King Henry VI. in the first year of his reign, retained him to serve him as seneschal or steward of the dutchy of Acquitain, and assigned him 4 marks a day for his own salary, and 20 marks a piece per annum for his 200 archers. In 1425, he was nominated one of the knights companions of the Order of the Garter at St. George's feast at Windsor, in the 4th year of the King's reign, by John Duke of Bedford, Regent of France, the Lieutenant, and the Companions, Sir John Fastolf (whom the Lieutenant had first nominated) and he, having equal votes, Sir John Ratcliff was now chosen, as named by the Regent, Sir John Fastolf being elected at St. George's feast the next year; soon after this, he was again retained to serve the King in the French wars, with 100 men at arms, (of which number he himself was to be one,) four other knights, the rest squires, besides his 200 archers. In 1432, upon humble remonstrance, that there was due to him in arrear, for those and other services, no less than 7029l. he had divers lands, rents, &c. in Wales assigned him for payment of it; in the 13th of Henry VI. he was sent to Arras, to treat with the Dolphin of France, and the year following was Lieutenant of Calais, when the Duke of Burgundy laid siege to that garrison for three weeks; but he lived not long after, for having exercised himself in arms 28 years, he died in the 16th year of this King's reign, and was buried by his ancestors in the choir of this church, leaving Thomas Ratcliff and Robert Lathum his executors, who, in the 19th of the King's reign, had a grant of all the revenues of Bridgewater, and other ports, to discharge a debt of 7015l. due from the King, for Sir John's services, as Seneschal of Acquitain, and Constable of the castle of Fronsak; some say he died in the 19th of Henry VI. but whether in the 16th or 19th, all agree that he died seized of Atleburgh-Mortimer's, Newnham, and Foxton in Cambridgeshire, &c. In 1452, Katherine his widow was buried here; she was daughter and coheir of Sir Edward Burnell, Knt. and wife of Sir John Ferrers, Knt. and after of Sir John Ratcliff; she left Billingford manor and advowson, held of the King as of the honour of Hatfield-Peverell, by the rent of 6s. 6d. per annum, and not in capite, to
John Ratcliff, Esq. their son and heir, who, according to Mr. Le Neve, married Elizabeth, daughter and heiress of Walter Lord Fitz-Walter; in 1440, he obtained a pardon of intrusion, for entering his lands without license; in 1444, Elizabeth, daughter and heir of Walter Lord Fitz-Walter, then married to John Ratcliff, Esq. proved her age; he was killed at Ferrybridge, (as you may see at p. 10,) in 1416, being then Lord Fitz-Walter, and left
John Ratcliff, Esq. his son and heir, nine years old, whose wardship the King granted to Elizabeth his mother, who then dwelt at Atleburgh; and the same year an inquisition was taken after his death, upon the oaths of Robert Morley and Thomas Brampton, Esqrs. who affirmed that John Ratcliff, the father of this John, at his death, held Southmere, Atleburgh, Dockyng, Hemenhale, Thyrning, and Ryston manors, and that he died March 28, 1416, having been 24 years married to Elizabeth Fitz-Walter, whose son
John, in 1485, the 1st of King Henry VII. was summoned to parliament as Lord Fitz-Walter, and was joined in commission with Sir Reginald Bray, Knt. for exercising the office of chief justice of all the forests beyond Trent, being at that time Steward of the King's household, and had this year a special livery of all his lands; in 1486, he was associated with Jasper Duke of Bedford, and others, to exercise the office of High Steward of England, at the Queen's coronation; but in 1493, he, Sir Thomas Thawyts, Sir Robert Ratcliff, and Sir Simon Mundeford, were attainted of treason, for which the two last were beheaded, and the Lord Fitz-walter being pardoned as to life, was sent to Calais, there to be kept in hold, but endeavouring to escape from thence, he was beheaded, and so forfeited his estate to the Crown; but yet
Robert, his son and heir, found much favour; for in 1505, Nov. 3, he was restored to his honour, by letters patent of that date, and soon after there were five several fines levied, by which the estate was conveyed to Richard Bishop of Winchester, Sir Tho. Lovell, James Hobart, Knt. and other trustees, who settled the whole on the said Robert, and his heirs, except the manors of Southmere, Dockyng, Billingford, East Ryston, &c. in Norfolk, which were settled on Margaret his mother, for life, remainder to him and his heirs; he was made Knight of the Bath, at the coronation of King Henry VIII. having obtained an act of parliament to revoke his father's attainder, after which he became one of the most remarkable men of that age; in 1512, he attended the King in his expedition to Therovene and Tournay; in 1522, he led the van of the King's army sent into France, under the command of the Earl of Surrey, in which and other employments he merited so well, that he was made Viscount Fitz-Walter, and afterwards Earl of Sussex; (as you may see at p. 11.) He was one of the peers that presented the articles to the King, against Cardinal Wolsey, one of those nobles that represented in their declaration, sent to Pope Clement VII. that unless he complied and permitted the King to be divorced from Queen Catherine, his supremacy would not be long acknowledged in England. This Earl obtained a special patent to himself and his heirs, to exercise the office of Sewer, at dinner time, at the coronation of all the future Kings and Queens of this realm, with the fee of 20l. per annum for that service, payable out of the Exchequer, and was afterwards made Lord High Chamberlain of England for life. In 1541, he obtained a grant of the site of the abbey of Clive in Somersetshire, with the revenues belonging to it, and also of the college or chantry of Atleburgh in Norfolk, with all its revenues, and the year following he died at Chelsey, and was buried in St. Lawrence Poultney church in London, but was some years after removed and buried at Boreham, by his son and grandson. He was succeeded by
Henry Ratcliff Earl of Sussex, Viscount Fitz-Walter, Lord Egremond and Burnell, his son and heir by his first wife, who was made Knight of the Bath at the coronation of Queen Anne Bullen; and the first of Edward VI. had the command of 1600 demi-launces, in the expedition then made into Scotland, in which service being unhorsed, he narrowly escaped with his life; he was in so much favour at that time, that in the act for dissolving the chantries, colleges, free chapels, &c. which was passed this year, he had this clause inserted therein,
"Provided alwaies, and be it enacted by the Authoritie aforesaid, that this Act, ne anie thing therein contained, shall ertend to the College or Chanterie of Attilbourgh, in the Countie of Nor- folk, which the said late King Henrie the Eight, gave to Robert, late Erle of Susser, t to his Heires, but that Henrie, now Erle of Sus- ser, Sonne and Heire to the said late Erle, his Heirs and Assignes, shall and maie by Authoritie of this Act, have and injoy the said College and Chanterie, and all Manors, Lands, Tenements, Advow- sons, Tithes, Pensions, Portions, and other Heriditaments thereto belonging or appertaining, any thing in this Act to the Contrarie in anie wise notwithstanding."
Upon the death of Edward VI. he was the first that appeared on the behalf of Queen Mary, for which reason she immediately made him warden and chief justice of all the forests south of Trent; he was also Knight of the most noble Order of the Garter. By his testament, dated July 27, A° 1555, he bequeathed his body to be buried in the parish church of Atleburgh, appointing a tomb to be there erected over his grave; notwithstanding which, I believe he was not buried here, for dying at Sir Henry Sidney's house in Chanon-Row, Westminster, in 1556, he was buried by his father and mother, in the north isle of the church of St. Lawrence Poultney in London, and with them removed and buried by Thomas his son, at Boreham in Essex, the said Thomas desiring in his will, that it might be so.
Thomas Earl of Sussex, his son and heir, by the Lady Howard, inherited; he was sent (during his father's lifetime) into Germany by Queen Mary, to the Emperor Charles V. to treat of a marriage between that Queen and Prince Philip, the Emperor's eldest son; and afterwards into Spain, to Philip himself, for ratifying thereof; and the next year, was by them made Lord Deputy of Ireland, and at his father's death, Chief Justice of all the forests south of Trent, afterwards Knight of the Garter, and Captain of the Band of Gentlemen Pensioners; and on that Queen's death, was made Deputy of Ireland by Queen Elizabeth; after that, was sent to Vienna to the Emperor Maximilian, with the Order of the Garter, and after that, to the said Emperor, to treat of a marriage between Queen Elizabeth and Charles Duke of Austria; after that, employed against the Scots, which service he performed with much bravery and success; and at his return was sworn one of the privy-council: he died in 1583, and ordered his executors to build a chapel of brick, on the south side of Boreham chancel, in Essex, and to erect a tomb of white alabaster, and other stones, and to remove the bodies of his grandfather, grandmother, father, and mother, and lay them by his own corpse: he gave to the Lady Frances, his widow, all his jewels, habiliments, chains, buttons, ornaments, with, or without precious stones, except the five stones, two great table diamonds, one great table rubie, one great pointed diamond, and a great bullose, which were given him on a sword, by Philip King of Spain, all which Sir Henry Ratcliff, Knt. his brother and heir, was to have for life, and afterwards were to go from heir to heir, as the heir comes. He gave 4000 oz. gilt plate, and 2000 oz. white plate, to his widow, and all the coaches, horses, and furniture which she and her women used to ride in, besides their riding-horses, and six geldings. It appears that he used to live sometimes at his mansion-house of Bermondesey in Southwark, sometimes at his noble seat of Newhall, in Boreham parish in Essex, and sometimes at Wodeham-Walter; he divided his linen into three parts, one to his lady, another to his heir, a third to his executors, and ordered them that, according to his feoffment, his lady should enjoy the manors of Newhall and Oldhall in Boreham, and many more manors in Essex, with Atleburgh, Hempnal, and Diss in Norfolk, during her life; and afterwards by a codicil dated 21st May following, he confirmed several bargains made during his sickness, of divers underwoods, wood, timber trees, &c sold in his manor of Atleburgh in Norfolk, and commanded they should keep house at Bermondesey twenty days after his burial, about which they should not expend above 1500l.; but yet I find that they exceeded that sum, as the following acount informs me.
"A brief declaration of the charges, as well of opening and embalming the body of Thomas Earl of Sussex, and the whole funeral charges of the said late Earl, as of expenses of house keeping at Bermundsey, the 9th of June 1583, in which day the said Earl died, and ending the 29th of July following, in which day the said house-keeping was dissolved.
Inventory of the plate 19024 ounces.
And by this account it further appears, in relation to his Norfolk estates, that Sir Henry Woodhouse farmed his manors of Burnells and Thirning, that Sir Robert Jermyn farmed the rectory of Sturston, and that Peter Elwyn was his chief steward and bailiff, of the manors of Thirning, Sidistrond, Atleburgh, and Wood-Sales in Atleburgh, Thirning, and Hempnal. The tomb set up in Boreham church cost 292l. 12s. 8d.; after his death
Frances, his widow, had this manor for life; she was a very religious, liberal, and charitable lady; by her will, dated in 1588, she ordered her executors to purchase a perpetual annuity of 20l. and settle it on a learned and godly preacher, to read two divinity lectures every week in the collegiate church at Westminster, where she was buried, in St. Paul's chapel, April 15, 1589, as her inscription shews us; she it was that established the last college that was ever founded in the university of Cambridge, for she ordered her executors to bestow the sum of 5000l. over and besides all her goods unbequeathed, for the erecting of a new college in that university, to be called the Lady Frances-Sidney Sussex College, and purchasing lands to be annexed to it, to maintain a master, ten fellows, and twenty scholars, which foundation is now called Sidney College. It seems as if she had in her lifetime purchased the site of it, and fitted up some part, for in the account of the charge of the performance of her will, delivered in July 1589, is this, "Item, the college to be erected or en"larged at Cambridge, v. m. l." in which account it appears, that her funeral cost 1368l. her tomb 200l. her benevolence to the poor, to preachers, and prisoners, 100l. her perpetual lecture 200l. the surgeon for searing her corpse 20l. and her executors were chargeable with 10,996l. 14s. 9d. to perform all her legacies, of which they received in ready money by her, 3997l. by 4614 oz. of plate, 1220l. by 4868 oz. of white or ungilt plate, 1164l. by jewels 2652l. &c. At her death the manor went to
Henry Earl of Sussex, brother of Thomas Earl of Sussex, late husband of the said Frances, who was Knight of the Garter, and Captain or Governour of the town and isle of Portsmouth; he died in 1593, and was buried by the Lady Honora his wife, and his other ancestours at Boreham aforesaid, leaving
Robert, Earl of Sussex, his son and heir, who, in the 37th of Elizabeth, was sent into Scotland by the Queen, to stand in her stead as a godfather at the christening of Prince Henry; in the 39th of that Queen he was in the voyage with Robert Earl of Sussex to Cadiz; and in 1621, was installed Knight of the Garter, and often resided here; he had two sons and two daughters, which all died in his lifetime, without issue; Henry Ratcliff Lord Fitz-Walter, his eldest son, married Jane, daughter of Sir Michael Stanhope, Knt. but died a young man. In the register of this parish I find these odd verses (composed by John Forbie, then rector) upon his death, and upon the resemblance of the star which he gave for his conusance, viz.
Where is the Starr, the hope of Sussex name? Henry Fitz-Walter's, that bright shining beame? What men't you Fates, so sone his life t'assault? Was there in him, such noted heinous fault? Death is the debt, that every one must pay, To blame you are, that tooke him now away, He was the hope to raise up noble blood, Which long had been, and might yet long have stood, In him is cut off all that noble fame, Which hundred years hath houlden in that name, This is our joy, that joys he doth possesse, And is a Starr now fix'd in heav'nly blesse.
And these following, by Edward Barthlett, Gent.
In heaven new fixt, I lately saw a Starr That shin'd in earth, but now excelleth farr, All heavenly Starres, save them without compare That in the heavens, amongst them, placed are. This Starr in earth, did with such beauty shine, Which was the cause that it so soon did clime Up to the heavens to God, who for it sent, To increase and beautify the firmament. Death brought the news, with him, who can prevaile? And vaine are tears, for whose great loss we waile; His death our losse it is, our losse his gaine, In winning heaven, through loosing mortal paine, But by his death, dyes noble Sussex race, Which none can helpe, but God by his good grace.
And in the said register it is thus entered; Robert Ratcliff our Lord, the Honourable Earl of Sussex, Knight of the Garter, died at London in Sept. and his lady, the Countess, died not long before, in the year 1629; he left
Sir Alexander Ratcliff, Knight of the noble Order of the Bath, his adopted heir unto this manor, who was descended from Sir Alexander Ratcliff of Ordsall, Knt. grandson to Robert Ratcliff, the first Earl of Sussex of that name, which Alexander died in 1548, leaving by Alice, daughter of Sir John Booth, one son, viz. Sir William Ratcliff of Ordsall, Knt. who married Margaret, daughter of Sir Edmund Trafford, by whom he had Sir John Ratcliff of Ordsall, Knt. who was killed in the engagement against the French at the isle of Rhee, Oct. 29, 1627, leaving by Anne, daughter of Thomas Ashow, our Sir Alexander Ratcliff, who was made Knight of the Bath at the coronation of King Charles I. and married Jane, the natural daughter of Robert Earl of Sussex; she outlived him, and after married Dr. Lewis; he left it at his death to
John Ratcliff, Esq. his eldest son, who sold it to
Sir Francis Bickley about 1657, who was buried in a vault of his own making, in Mortimer's chapel in the year 1670, leaving
Sir Francis Bickley, Baronet, his son and heir, whose son,
Sir Francis, had three wives; by Debora, daughter of Sir Cornelius Vermuyden, Knt. he had Sir Francis Bickley, Bart. now living, who sold the estate to
Sir James Ash's mother, who left it in trust to Mrs. Mary Windham, for the use of Sir James Ash's male issue, but that failing, it came to
Joseph Windham Ash, Esq. who is now  lord and sole patron. The advowson of the third part being purchased by Mrs. Windham, of Sir Algernoon Potts.
The style of the court is, Atleburgh Hall with its members. The fines are at the lord's will, and the eldest son is heir.
The Warepound, or Frowick court, is the superiour court, all the other manors being held of it; it is always kept on Whitsunday, very early in the morning, by a tree which was on a hill in the street, (but is now cut down,) and is commonly called the Scolding Court, it being obliged to be over and done with before sunrise, according to custom, or else the whole rents of the court are forfeited for that year. In the 38th of Queen Elizabeth, Robert Earl of Sussex paid 16d. for the manors in this town, held of this court, and 2d. for the college lands, which are held of it also, as are several of the capital messuages, by the rents of pence and halfpence only, the whole being freehold, and the rents amounting in all to 2s. 2d. ob. This always belonged to the hundred of Shropham, as it now does, together with the leets of the whole town, its hamlets, and whatever belong to the manors of this town lying in Besthorp, for all which the annual leet fees, joined together, are 6s. 4d. ob. a year. The lord of the hundred hath also a hundred court belonging to this town, to be kept every three weeks, with full power to end and determine all suits, and pleas of debt not exceeding 40s. in which any resident in this town is concerned, and power to levy, in as ample a manner as the county court: to him belongs also the market, which is held on Thursday, and was formerly remarkable for the number of fat bullocks and sheep which used to be exposed and sold here every other market day, but now this is wholly lost, and the market itself is very near it; there are three fairs kept every year, the first on Maundy Thursday, but by what authority, or to whom it belongs, I know not; the second on Ascension-Day; this belongs to Mortimer's manor, being granted in 1310 to Sir Constantine Mortimer; the third belongs to the lord of the hundred, with which it was given to the Albanys, and is kept, according to its institution, on the 15th day of August, it being the day of the dedication of the church, and of the holding their great gild, both which were dedicated to the honour of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary, which is commemorated on that day. In 1656, Robert Wilton of Wilby, Esq. (lord of the hundred) let unto Francis Bickley, (lord of the manor,) for 21 years, at the rent of 10s. a year, a weekley, free and open markett in the towne of Attleburgh, on Thorsday in every weeke, and alsoe one faire yearly & every yeare to be holden there, upon the 15th day of Aug: and also free liberty of picage and stallage, in and upon the wast grounds, in the street called the Town-street, in Attleburgh, from the signe of the Angell, to the signe of the Starre, on the one side of the street, and from the signe of the Griffin, to the turning of the wall of the churchyard, over-against the signe of the Starre, on the other side of the street, and for the setting up of penns and stalls, & for the buyeing, selling, and vending of all manner of provision for food, and for sale of any other commodities whatsoever, &c. and also all benefitts, profitts, &c. coming or acrueing by the said markets and faires, and of the stalls, penns, standings, and places there; and also free liberty of using the pound, erected upon the wast ground in Atleburgh aforesaid" The lord of the hundred hath all felons goods forfeited, assize of bread and ale, a tumbrell, or ducking-stool, (which is but lately decayed,) weyf and strey, free-warren, liberty of the game, fugitives goods, and all forfeitures, besides other privileges, all which were confirmed in Queen Elizabeth's time, when the hundred was in her own hands, as appears by an inquisition taken before Henry Blake, Gent. the Queen's steward of her liberty and hundred of Shropham, in a general hundred court held at Ketelbrigge, upon the oaths of Richard Cook, and many others, who swore that the Queen in right of her liberty and hundred of Shropham, and also her farmers and bailiffs of the same, have, and immemorially have had, the superiour jurisdiction over all the commons, wastes, heaths, and marshes, together with the liberty of driving them, and taking all strays found thereon, in the towns of Atleburgh, Besthorp, Harpham, Wilby, Snitterton, Illington, Larling, Shropham-Parva, Breckles, Rockland, Ellingham-Magna, Rowdham, Brettenham, Kilverston, &c. and also all outlaws, fugitives, and felons goods, and other forfeitures; and also a court-leet in each town, with full power to compel all residents to suit and service to it, once in a year, and to present and punish all offences punishable in a leet, as well touching the said commons, wastes, heaths, and marshes, as other things, and to punish all false commoners and surchargers of the commons; all which liberties relating to these towns were returned by the Queen's mandate, upon, inquisition as aforesaid, because the lords of these manors began within 20 years last past, to claim and usurp within their several manors, the liberty of gaming, and punishing false commoners, and surchargers, and other liberties, upon which the Queen brought actions against the Earl of Sussex, then lord of Mortimer's in Atleburgh, Tho. Green, gent. lord of Harpham, Ralph Chaumberleyn, Knt. lord of Moynes, and Kirkhall in Rockland, the heirs of Anthony Gurnay, Esq. lord of Elingham, the lord of Snitterton, Robert Allington, lord of Larling-Ford, the lord of Bretenham, &c. but they acknowledged her liberties, and obtained their discharge.
The Great Rectory Manor
Belongs to the rector of the greater part, or the two parts of Atleburgh, and the rector thereof now is, and his predecessors always were lords of it; the present rectory-house, which joins to the south side of the churchyard, is the site of it, and it hath 10 acres of glebe land, the only remaining part of its ancient demeans, the rest being now held by copy of court-roll.
The Customs are, that the eldest son is heir, the houses are at the lord's will, but the land is a set fine of 2s. an acre.
The Little Rectory Manor
Belongs to the rector of the lesser or third part of Atleburgh, and the present rector now is, and his predecessors always were, lords of it; the site of it is now down; the close in which it stood contains three acres, and is all that remains of its ancient demeans. The Customs are the same as the great rectory manor.
And now having given my readers an account of the several manors, I shall proceed to
The Church, which is dedicated in honour of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin, though there is no part of that church which was first built here now standing, but the tower only, and that not so high as it was originally; the antique Gothick arches, which are to be seen in the bell-chamber shew us its antiquity, and that the bells were never designed to be hung there; it seems to me, that it was first reduced to the collegiate form, when the chapels were founded, and the old chancel of the parish church taken down, and its nave converted into a quire, Mortimer's chapel on the south side, and Chanticlere's on the north, making two handsome transepts; and at the foundation of the college, it is apparent, that the present parish church, viz. the nave, two isles and north porch, was begun to be built, and was not finished till some time after. Who was the founder of the first church we know not, but the first alteration that was made in it was by Sir William de Mortimer, who founded the south chapel for his own interment, and it is highly probable, made the nave of the old church into a quire, and new topped the steeple; because after his foundation, service was performed after the collegiate manner; this was finished before 1297, in which year he died. The north chapel was founded afterwards by Thomas Chaunticler, who was buried in it in 1379; and when the college was founded, the parish were entirely excluded from the old parish church, and that was appropriated for a quire, for the use of the college only, and in recompense thereof the founders of the college, their friends, and other pious benefactors, built the nave and two iles, for the use of the parish only, and so the quire, because it belonged to the college only, was given with it by King Henry VIII. to Robert Earl of Sussex, who was then lord, who being of a covetous disposition, was so far from sparing the building, that ( as the Parish Register informs me) he not only pulled down, and spoiled the chancel, but also pulled up many fair marble grave-stones of his ancestors, with monuments of brass upon them, and other fair good pavement, and carried them and laid them for floors in his hall, kitchen, and larder-house, where they were lying, when the account was inserted in the Register; and besides this he got fourteen crosses, and as much town plate as was then worth above 100l. from the church, and by this means the chancel was reduced to ruins, as we now see it.
The rectories of this church are in Norfolk archdeaconry and Rockland deanery; the two parts, or the greater part, is valued in the King's Books at 19l. 8s. 9d, and pays first fruits; and 1l. 18s 10d. ob. yearly tenths. The lesser part, or the third part, was valued at 8l. 2s. 6d. but being sworn of the clear yearly value of 42l. 5s. only, it is discharged of first fruits and tenths.
The greater part or the two parts annexed, otherwise called Hamon's Portion, from Hamon de Warren, who was rector of it at its taxation, when Norwich Domesday Book was compiled, had Sir Robert de Tateshale for its patron; the rector had a house and 27 acres of glebe, and William de Mortimer was patron of the third part, and its rector had a house also, and 27 acres glebe; the greater paid 18d. synodals, and the lesser 1s. besides their procurations to the archdeacon. In 1603, there were 440 communicants, and now  there are about 600 inhabitants; it paid 7l. to the old tenths, and is now assessed at 1999l. 3s. 4d. to the land tax. The gild of the Assumption, and that of the Holy Cross, were the only gilds here.
Rectors Of The Greater Part
In King Richard the First's time. Walter Persun, clerk. Maud, daughter of Adam.
In King John's time. Lawrence de Sco. Albano or (of St. Alban's). Isolda De Arderne.
In King Henry the Third's time the four following persons were rectors, viz.
Godfrey Giffard. Hugh de Albany.
Peter Giffard, clerk. Hugh de Albany,
Master William de Shirewood. Isabel, widow of Hugh de Albany, in right of Plasset's manor, which she holds in dower.
Haman de Warren, on Shirewood's death. The same Isabell, who holds it in dower, remainder to Sir Robert de Tateshale.
- 1314, 13 kal. Aug. The Bishop, by lapse, collated William, son of Simon de Hedersete, accolite, to the two parts of Atleburgh, and dispensed with his want of age. (This was during the contest between the King and Sir William Bernak.)
- 1323, 13 kal. May, Gregory de Hedersete, clerk. Sir Will. Bernak, Knt.
- 1324, 16 kal. Dec. Will. de Hedersete, sub-deacon, was instituted at the resignation of Gregory de Hedersete, who was instituted again, as proxy for William, who being but 22 years old, was dispensed with by the Bishop, who had license from the Pope to dispense with the age of any four clerks that he pleased, (of which this was the last,) so that they were 22 turned; the words in the dispensation to this William are these, "Attendentes tue probitatis merita ac alia virtu tum dona, quibus pollere dinosceris, in tantum quod fructum in ecclesiâ Dei afferre poteris in futurum," &c. Sir Will. Bernak, Knt.
- 1358, 25 February, Richard de Burton, priest. Sir Adam Clifton, Knt. for this turn.
- 1369, 29 May, John Stampet, at the resignation of Richard Gerland of Burton. The King, as guardian of the heirs of Sir Constantine Clifton, Knt. deceased.
- 1404, 24 July, Sir Peter Leverych of Gerboldesham, priest. Margaret Clifton, for this turn.
- 1438, 10 April, Ralph Lord Crumwell, Knt. was patron of two turns of the two united parts, and Sir John Clifton, Knt. in right of Margaret his mother, (who presented Leverych,) had the third turn, and now the Lord Crumwell granted his advowson in the two turns, to John de Ratclyff, Knt. and Thomas his son, and his heirs for ever.
- 1441, 12 Decem. Master William Russell, B. D. was instituted into the two parts of the church of Atleburgh, commonly called Hamon's portion, at Leverych's death. Tho. de Ratclyf of Landwade in Cambridgeshire, son of John Ratclif, Knt. deceased.
- 1456, 2 August, Master Tho. Fairclowe, S.T.P. on Russel's death. Lady Alice Ogard.
- 1470, 30 April, John Hyhoo, on Fairclow's death Sir William Hastyng, Knt. Lord Hastyng, Sir John Saye, Knt. and John Grene.
- Edward Bothe.
- 1516, 24 October, George Polley, or Pooley, on Boothe's death. Lady Margaret Fitz-Walter.
- 1540, 15 December, Master John Williamson, clerk, on Pooley's death. Robert Earl of Sussex. In 1554, it was united to the third part, so that he was rector of both. He had been master of the college.
- 1565, 28 April, William King, M. A. Thomas Earl of Sussex.
- Henry Baide, or Barde, S.T.P. He had the other part.
- 1581, 8 March, John Rawlins, on Baide's resignation. The Earl of Sussex, united the same day to the lesser part.
- 1614, 30 Nov. John Forbie, S.T.B. Richard Hunt, S.T.B. he had the third part.
- 1638, 29 Decem. Henry Nerford, S. T. B. Tho. Pettus, Esq. he had the third part.
- 1683, 31 Jan. Richard Bickley, A. M. Francis Bickley, Bart. united to the third part.
- 1708, 22 Decem. The Rev. Mr. Humfrey Bickley, the present  rector, on Rich. Bickley's death. Sir Francis Bickley, Bart.
Rectors of the lesser, or third part, commonly called Westker
- 1295, Jeffery, son of Walter de Hengham.
- 1306, prid. kal. June. John Le-Courzun of Carleton. Sir John de Thorp and Alice his wife.
- 1320, 5 non. May, Oliver de Mounpynson, priest, on Curzoun's resignation, who changed this for Taterset St. Andrew. Ditto.
- 1349, 27 July, Robert Taylour of Atleburgh, priest. Sir Const. Mortimer, Knt.
- 1374, 3 Jun. Simon Howissone of Skulton, priest, to the rectory of the third part of Atleburgh, commonly called Westker. Sir Robert de Mortimer.
- 1381, 30 Decem. John Warbald of Scoulton, priest. Ditto.
- 1393, 5 Feb. John Goodrich of Atleburgh, priest. Margaret, relict of Sir Robert Mortimer, Knt.
- 1424, 19 May, Thomas Cove, on Goderich's resignation. John Fitz-Rauff, Esq.
- 1446, 30 Nov. Henry Sythyng, on Cove's death, to Westker. William Warnar, Esq.
- 1451, 14 Jan. Thomas Algar, on Sythyng's resignation. Ditto.
- 1452, 30 Oct. Walter Pamyn. John Conyers, Esq.
- 1476, 17 March, John Radcliff, on Pamyn's death. Ditto.
- 1524, 30 June, Richard Claydon, on Radclyff's death. Lapse, he was brother to John Claydon, master of the college.
- Alan Whitlarke. Mr. Robert Fen, and John Sotherton, for this turn, by grant of Anthony Gurnay, Esq.
- 1536, 26 Nov. Stephen Prewet, [or Prowet,] on Whitlarke's death. Ditto.
- 1544, 19 March, Master John Williamson, on Prewet's resignation, James Underwode, for this turn, by grant of Anthony Gurnay. Esq. true patron. He had the other parts.
- Gilbert Berkeley, S. T. P. Bishop of Bath and Wells; whether he had the other parts I cannot find, nor yet his institution to this. He was born in Norfolk, consecrated at Lambeth, 24 March, 1559, had the temporalities restored July 10, 1560, died Nov. 2, 1581, and is buried at Wells; I suppose he held this till 65 in commendam.
- 1565, 22 Aug. William King, A.M. rector of the rectory of the two parts, was instituted into the third part at the presentation of Christopher Heydon, Knt. in right of Anthony Gurnay, Esq. the vacancy happening by the last incumbent's promotion to the bishoprick of Bath and Wells.
- Henry Baide, [or Barde,] S. T. P.
- 1581, 8 March, John Rawlyns, on Baide's resignation. Henry Gurnay, Esq. united to the other part.
- 1614, 21 Dec. Henry Womack, A. M. Ditto. United to GreatElingham, where he died in 1628; he was ordained 5 Dec. 1589, and John Forbie, rector of the two parts succeeded, who died in 1638.
- 1639, 27 June, Henry Nerford, rector of the greater part, on Forby's death. Edw. Gurnay, Esq.
- 1683, 31 Jan. Richard Bickley, A.M. on Nerford's death. Francis Bickley, Bart. united at the same time to the greater part.
- 1709, 29 April, Tho. Bond, on Bickley's death. Roger Potts, Bart. perpetual patron. United to Elingham-Parva.
The Rev. Mr. Evan Bowen, the present  rector, was presented by Mrs. Windham, after the advowson was purchased of the Pottses, and now holds it united to Taseburgh.
After the division of the Mortimers estate, this advowson was allotted to John Fitz-Ralf, as part of the inheritance of Margery Mortimer, his wife; and from that time it passed with the manor of Elingham Hall, as you may see at p. 483, from Fitz-Ralph to Conyers, from them to the Warnars, and so to the Gurnay's and Davys, and after to the Potses, who sold it to Mrs. Windham, who holds it with the other manors and advowson.
The tower, which stands in the midst of the church, according to the collegiate form, is square, and hath in it a clock and six bells, the first, second, and fifth, have no inscriptions, on the third is this,
It ioyeth me much, to goe to Gods Church. 1617.
On the fourth,
Do not there slack the, to Repent the. 1617.
On the sixth,
I wish to die, to live Heavenly. 1617.
Gobert Earle of Susser, Henry Lord Fitz-Walter, Philip Knebet Baronet. Anthony Drury, Knt. John Forbie, Rector.
These were all contributors; the second parcel lived in Bansthorp hamlet, and the last in Westcar-street. The nave, two isles, north porch, south and north chapels, are now standing, and are all covered with lead, the chancel, or quire, and a south isle which joined to it, are in ruins.
Persons of note buried in the quire were, Sir Robert de Mortimer, Knt. the founder of the college, who was buried in the middle, before the high altar, in the year 1387, close by the grave of Margery Fastolf, his first wife. Sir Thomas Mortimer, Knt. and dame Mary his wife, (of whom see p. 510, 511,) obijt May 2, 1406. Sir John Ratcliff, Knt. elect of the Garter, in 1420. Sir John Ratcliff, Knight of the Garter, his son and heir. Katherine his widow was buried by him in 1452. Roger Ratcliff, brother of the last Sir John, and Philippa his wife, some time after him, for whom was this inscription on a brass plate,
Hic iacet Gogerus Ratcliff, Armiger, et Phillipa Uror eius, qui quidem Rogerus obiit riiio die Derembris Anno Dni. mo cccco lrviio quorum Ani- mabus propicietur Deus.
John Hyhoo rector, in 1478. John Forby rector in 1638.
Mortimer's chapel, which is on the south side, belongs to Mortimer's manor, and was founded by Sir William de Mortimer of Kingston, Knt. (as you may see at p. 509,) and by him dedicated to the honour of the Holy Cross, and afterwards rededicated to St. Mary, as several wills shew me; he died Nov. 12, 1297, and was buried in the middle of it, before the altar there, at which he founded a daily mass, for his own and ancestours souls, and settled a competent salary on the officiating priest. In this chapel are buried,
Sir Constantine Mortimer, Knt. in 1334, by Catherine his first, and Sibil his last wife, who died in the same year. Sir Constantine Mortimer in 1354, and Agnes his wife; and Henry Inglose, Esq. for whom there was this inscription under his arms,
Orate pro anima Henrici Inglose Armigeri, qui obiit rvio dic Septembris Anno Domini mo cccco rviio cuius anime propitietur Deus.
Chanticler's or Chanceler's chapel, which is on the north side, belongs to Chanceler's manor, and was founded by Thomas Chaunticler, who was buried before the altar in it, in 1379, and had a priest daily singing at that altar, for his own wife's, and their friends souls.
Burials in this chapel are, Katherine, wife of the said Tho. Chaunticler, Alice, their daughter and heiress, with Thomas de Brampton, her husband, and Joan, his second wife: there was a stone, having his picture in costly armour, with this inscription,
Hic iacet Thomas Brampton Armiger, qui obiit moccccolxxxio et Johanna Uxor eius: ---: -- moccccolxxxo
William Brampton of Atleburgh in 1503. Edmund Berney of Atleburgh in 1495. Elizabeth wife of Tho. Garret, Esq. Alice Warner, and Robert Whetnal, alias Warner, for whom there was a brass thus inscribed,
Orate pro Aninima Roberti Warner Generosi, qui obiit rro die mensis Novembris Ao Dni: mocccc lrrro cuius anime propitietur Deus.
And also these,
Hic iacet Margareta Warner Uror Roberti Warner Generosi, que obiit riio
die mensis Decembris Ao Dni: mocccccovocuius anime propitietur Deus.
Orate pro Anima Henrici Warner Armigeri, nuper defuncti, qui obiit rriiio Aprilis mocccccorir cuius anime propitietur Deus.
Robertus Warner Armiger, obiit 7mo Oct: Anno Dni: 1575°.
On this stone are Warner's arms, quartered with Whetnall; (see p. 497;) the crest is a plume of feathers.
There was another grave-stone robbed of all its brasses, but one coat, viz. on a chevron three annulets.
The present nave and isles were begun by Sir Robert Mortimer, founder of the college, about 1378, and continued by his granddaughters, and their husbands, and a great number of other benefactors, as their arms and effigies in the windows shew us, it being not perfectly finished till after 1405. The chief of the contributors were, Sir Robert Mortimer aforesaid, John Arderne, who was buried in the church in 1479; Tho. Brampton, Esq. and several of that family, many of the different branches of the Mortimer family; the Bishop of Norwich; William at the Broc, chaplain, and divers more, particularly the Lady Cecily Herling, Sir John Fitz-Ralph, and others.
The following arms were in the windows, several of which now remain, the rest being lost, viz.
And these, viz.
Hetherset, az. a lion rampant or.
Kerdeston, arg. a saltire ingrailed gul.
Moulton, three barrulets in a bordure gul.
Bacon of Baconsthorp, az. three boars passant or.
The Bishoprick of Norwich.
Brewse, gul, a cross moline arg.
Mortimer, or, semi de fleur-de-lis, sab. The same with a bordure gul. The same with a bordure ingrailed gul. The same with a bendlet gobonne, arg. and gul. The same with a label gul.
Mortimer of Ricard's castle, barry of six, or and vert, fleury-delis counter-changed. The same with barry of four only.
Az. a cross voided or.
Az. a chevron between three boars heads or, impales Brewse.
Earl of Sussex quartering Bohun Earl of Northampton.
Az. a bar gobonne gul. and vert, between three owls arg. armed or.
Arg. a lion rampant sab. armed or, on his shoulder a martlet or.
Gul. a fess and three plates in chief arg.
Or, a saltire ingrailed sab.
Over the porch door are the arms of
Ratcliff quartering Mortimer, and
Ratcliff impaling, chequy a chief fleury-de-lis, cut in stone.
In one of the windows was an effigies of one of the Norwich family, kneeling in his coat armour, with his wife, and under them his arms, impaling sab. a lion rampant erm. and another coat of Mortimer impaling Norwich.
In a north isle window is the effigies of a priest in a blue vestment, kneeling on a broken label, under him lies a man in winding-clothes, at full length, to intimate that William at the Brook, chaplain, whose effigies it is, was a benefactor to the church, glazed that window, and was there interred; under him is this broken inscription,
[Orate] PRO: ANIMA: WILLI: Az: Ye: BORC: CAPELLANI: QUI: pANC: [fenes] zRAM: CONSzRUXIz.
In 1508, John Alysaunder of Attilburgh was buried in the church, from whose will I copied these Items: "I bequethe to the makyng of a new roof of the abbey church in Old-Bokenham, iiii. mark. Also I wyll that vi. acres of land of myne, called Lamppisgate, with the profights thereof cumynge yerly, I will that obyte be kepte every yer yerly, in the church of Attilburgh for me and my friends for evermore, and I wyll that myn executors make this sure with the best councell they can gett."
The organ or old rood loft is standing, on which are painted the arms of all the bishopricks.
In Mortimer's chapel, against the east wall, is a mural monument much defaced, which was erected for JOHN RAWLYNS, rector of all the parts, of this church, whose arms, with those of his wife, are on it, viz.
Rawlyns, arg. three leopard's faces sab. impaling three grayhounds current regardant sab.
Fui Johannes Gawlyns, Northamptoniensis, Uilla ibidem Pastoniæ oriundus, Spaldaniæ in Com: Lyncoln: Educatus, Moultoniæ prope ibidem edortus, Coll: Divi Johis: in Cantab, Alumnus, Nuius Errlesiæ utriusque Gectoriæ per 33 Annos Rector, doctus, pius, pacatus, hic sepultus Maii 11 Ano Dni: 1614, Etat: 67. Coelum mihi iam Domicilium. Unicam Urorem habuit, nomine Mariam, charam, prudentem, frugi, fidelem, hic Jurta cum sepultam, reliquit Filios 4. Filias 2. bene eduratos. Si quæris Lector, Lapidi quæ Causa loquendi, Ingenii Ingentes hic tumulantur Opes, Rawlyngi Laudes vivi, viva ora Laudabant, Nec Uitam functi, sara tacere queunt. Armoris ergo inscripsit, Joh: [annes] For: [bie] Rector succedens. 1620.
On the screens,
Martyn et pro Isabella Urore eius
On an oval mural monument, over the vault, of black and white marble; crest on a torce arg. and sab. a grayhound's head proper, collared arg.
Bickley, arg. a chevron imbattled between three griffins heads erased sab. each charged with a plate.
FRANCISCUS BICKLEY Baronettus, pene Nonagenarius, unici Filij, et trium Filiarum Superstitum, Triginta Nepotum, Neptum, et Pronepotum, Pater, Avus Proavus: Cum Mortem Appropinquantem prospiceret, Cryptam hanc Sepulchralem, vivus effodi fecit, in quâ Filius ejus Superstes, FRANCISCUS BICKLEY Baronettus (prout Pater statuerat) Exuvias ejus in Spem Resurrectionis deposuit, et Pietatis ergo hoc Monumentum extruxit, obijt undecimo Die Augusti, Anno Domini 1670.
There are two flat stones in this chapel, with these inscriptions,
1. Church, erm. a bend voided, impaling Bickley.
AMYA Uxor THOMÆ CHURCH, Filia Francisci Bickley Baronetti, nata Annis 24. obijt Julij Secundo 1688.
Omnibus, amica, amata, desiderata.
Quis Desiderio sit Pudor aut Modus tam Charæ?— Sub hoc Marmore, in Spem beatæ Resurrectionis, reconduntur [ta Leipsana] Deboræ Bickley Filiæ Cornelij Vermuyden Militis, Uxoris Francisci Bickley Junioris, Francisci Bickley Baronetti, ex Francisco Filio primogenito, Nepotis, Quæ cum tribus Liberis, Mariti Domum adauxerat, Dolore Puerperij correpta, Animam piam placidé Deo reddidit, Martij 6to. 1669.
In Chanceler's chapel, are two mural monuments, with the following arms and inscriptions,
Bickley impaling Bickley.
Maria Bickley, Francisci Bickley Baronetti Filia, Richardi Bickley hujus Ecclesiæ Rectoris Uxor, Pietatis, Obsequij, Amoris, Humanitatis, et Charitatis, erga Deum, Parentes, Maritum, Vicinos, Pauperes, Insigne Exemplar, diuterni tandem Morbi Dolore fracta, nec minus Christianæ Patientiæ, quam Formæ et Ingenij Decus obijt, 24° Martij A° D. 1707. In Sacrum cujus Memoriam, Hoc, quicquid est Monumenti, lugens posuit Maritus.
Bickley quartering sab. a chevron between three roses arg. seeded or.
RICHARDI BICKLEY, Qui ex Agro Warwicensi, ortus, Etonæ Velatarum, in eodem Agro, Literis bonis et Religioni Puræ, prima Rudimenta posuit, easdem, Cantabrigiæ in Collegio Sanctæ Magdalenæ, auxit fœliciter, et confirmavit; inde ad publicam Ecclesiæ Utilitatem emissus, hanc demum Parochiam Provinciam sortitus, vigili Cura, indefessa Diligentia, [enchimonos, chai chata Tazin], per Annos viginti quinque, multa cum Laude administravit, obijt Nov. 25. A. D. 1708. Ætat. 71. Memoriæ Sacrum, posuit, Testamento Debitum, Testamenti Procurator, ex Sorore Nepos, DUDIENVS RYDER.
On another mural monument.
Nerford, gul. a lion rampant arg.
Beneath this wall, Henry Nerford, Batchelor of Divinity, Rector of this Church, where he was Minister XLV Years, a Man learned and Pious, a most obedient Son and Servant, of the Church of England, his Mother, and a most Faithfull Subject of the King, the Father of his Country, in Expectation of a blessed Resurrection lie and the rest; to whose religious Memorie Margaret Nerford, the Relict of his Nephew James Nerford, frankely erected this Monument of Respect and Gratitude, 1684.
An under the monument lies a stone over him, with his arms and this inscription, of the same purport as the former,
Henricus Nerford Theologiæ Baccalaureus, hujus Ecclesiæ Rector, cui præfuit Annos XLV, vir doctus, et pius, Ecclesiæ Anglieanæ Mater, ejusdemque et Patriæ Patris Filius et Servus obsequentissimus, Resurrectionis beatificæ Candidatus, hic Requiescit, ob. Jun. 4to An: 1684. Æt. suæ LXXXV.
I find only two stones with inscriptions in the nave; one is for Anne wife of John Burton, 14 Oct. 1650. Hodie Mihi, Cras tibi.
The other hath a crest, an arm cooped at the shoulder, holding a battle-ax. And these arms, on a chevron between three lions erased, three serpents.
Here lyeth interred the Body of Capt. JOHN GIBBS, of the County of Norfolk, Gent, died the 22d of October 1695, in the 48 Yeare of his Age, he married Elizabeth Pride, the Daughter of Tho. Pride, Esq. and Eliz. Monk, the Daughter of Sir Tho. Monk, by whom he had two Sons, John, and Christopher, and three Daughters, Mary, Eliz. and Anne, John, Mary, and Anne, now living.
This narrow Space confines his dear Remaines Whose glorious better Part, Survives and reigns, Immortal Virtues now embalm his Name, And fix him, high, in the great List of Fame, The gen'rous Friendship that adorn'd his Mind, Was boundless, as the Needs of humane Kind, But where Relation did the Band indeare, The Rays contracted, did more warm appear, So good a Husband, Father, Brother, Son, As few have equal'd, none has e'er outdone; Such Charity thro' his whole Life was shown, As made the Wants of other, seem his own, His Soul so truly Brave, he knew no fear, Ev'n Death it's self, made no Impression there, Tis true he yielded, but Death lost the Prize, For he but stoop't, that he might higher rise.
P. M. S. posuit, Vidua Marens.
Mr. Le Neve calls him the famous Capt. Gibbs; he was a great gamester and horse-racer, in King Charles the Second's time. "He laid a wager of 500l. that he drove his light chaise, and four horses, up and down the deepest place of the Devil's-Ditch, on NewmarketHeath, which he performed, by making a very light chaise, with a jointed perch, and without any pole, to the surprise of all the spectators."
There is a stone under the steeple much obliterated, but supplied from the Register, viz.
"1632, Edward Henderson, Bailie longe to the Lords here, a Man of Peace, Love, and Truth always in Word and Deed, buried Feb. 13, Ætat. 69.
"Vivus sine Dolo, Mortuus sine Morbo, Æternus in Cœlo."
On his grave-stone in the bell-room of the church,
Let every Bell, his Praise thus tell.
On an old wainscot which stood in the church, Ratcliff quarters Fitz-Walter, and Ratcliff impales Herling.
There is an altar-tomb in the churchyard for William Cokkell, Oct. 22, 1729, Æt. 60.
Death from this World hath set me free, From all my Pain, and Misery.
Ralph his son died Nov. 30, 1729.
This life is like a fading Flower, Alive and dead, all in an Hour.
The following accounts are taken from the old Register of this parish, which is a very particular one, it begins in 1552; they are not digested into a series of time, but are just as they follow one another in the original.
- 1559, The town of Attleburgh, viz. Market-street and Town-street, burned.
- 1605, Edward Barthelet, Esq. buried 27 Nov. a worthy gentleman, and justice of the peace, councellor at lawe, dwelt at the Hall, and kept a good house there.
- 1612, Master Glaspole, alias Hamlet, was buried 26 Oct. he was the Earle of Sussex's bailie, and dwelt in the Parke-Hall, and was the Earle's forester there, he kept a worthie house, as if the park had been his own.
- 1614, 11 May, John Rawlyns, rector, as well of the rectory of the two parts, as of the rectory of the third part, a learned, godly, and peaceable man was buried; "Terras multas emit, quas filius et hæres cito vendidit, si quicquam in ecclesiæ vel pauperum usus reliquisset, hoc sine dubio permansisset: uxor autem ejus postea diu vixit sua pura viduitate, usque octogessimum ætatis annum, et ultra, toto autem vitæ tempore, et filijs alijs suis benignissima, et annos perpaucos ante mortem, suo visu perempto, cœcitate permansit, manus autem suas in pauperes semper extensas habuit, ingenio etiam et memoria acutissima, sicut longevam ætatem suam in fœlicitate, et charitate, tandem diem clausit, ob. 23 Jul. 1639, Ætat 91°."
- 1615, The parsonage was repaired by John Forbie, to above 200 marks charge, who set up the Bishoprick's arms in the church, and those of the colleges.
- 1615, 10 June, Wyndham was burned, being set on fire by rogues coming on that purpose to the town, and were there (the man and woman) executed.
- 1617, This year, on May 5, the first, second, third, and fifth bells were finished by Wm. Brend, bell-founder in Norwich, and so out of four, there were now five bells, cost 160l.
- 1630, Maria filia venerabilis dignissimique viri, Alexandri Ratclyff Militis, et Janæ dignissimæ ejus dominæ et Uxoris, bapt. 22 Feb. in capella apud aulam Atleburgensem, per me J. Forbie; deditque mihi de suo beneplacito inexpectatam mercedem et premium.
- 1618, Edward Barthelet, Gent. and Mary Mundford, Gentw. were married by J. Forbie, at Hoe by East Dearham, 18 Nov. their marriage feast after kept at Atleburgh hall.
- 1623, A perfect terrier was made and delivered into the Bishop's registry, of all the lands, and of all the free and copyhold, belonging to the rectory manors, with the rents, and number of court-rolls, and other remembrances of the church and college, some time belonging to the church, and also what was belonging to the rectory of the third part.
In this year a school was erected in the south isle chapel, the timber for the seats of it, was given by the Earl of Sussex, and Sir Will. Knevet, and that for the top of the font now made.
Mr. Edmund Topclife, parson of Morlie, gave the standing lecturne there, for the dictionaries. One Mr. Hathe of Trinity College, Cant. was the first schoolmaster, one Mr. Parlet the next; the town voluntarily allowed 4l. per annum, out of their town lands.
- 1628, Against Easter, a communion cup was made.
- 1628, July 15, was a Gild new erected by four young bachelors of the town, and kept at the college-house, of above twenty meases of persons, and the poor then well relieved.
- 1626, It was continued by four widowers of the town, and held where the old gild-house was, at the west end of the parsonage-close, at Mr. Duffield's, the poor well relieved.
- 1630, It was holden on Midsummer day, and one Mr. James of Eccles, then the high-constable, and one Mr. Robert Allen of GreatElingham, were two of the four heymasters, who for their own good credit, and our town's gild, procured guests, that there were thought to be 2000 people then there, they could not half sit and dine there, but were constrained to go into the town, and there could not be of that sudden, meat enough provided for them; it was said that they left no bread in town by two o'clock, only beare was plentiful: there was no outrage or disorder of the companye. We began all these good meetings with solemn prayers in our church, and a sermon, &c.
- Rector Ecclæsle Author Guildæ.
The town of Barnham-Broome hath thus holden a gild with them, with much good company and merry meeting, and their sermon was ever rewarded, and moreover in this year Mr. Legat, the minister who preached there, had a gold ring given him by the heymaster, worth above 20s. The motto was, Legatus Christi, Patronus Festi.
- 1631, The church was well repaired, and decently batteled. In 1632, the wooden top of the cross in the church-yard, was made by John Forbie, clerk, by the appointment of the Bishop of Norwich, on the top of the side towards the church, Crux Christi, Salus Mundi. On the standing part, Christus pro Nobis passus. On the transverse, a wounded heart, and hands wounded with the nails, Ecce! Quanta pro Te pertulit. On the back side, towards the east, In Christo Spero. On the standing part, Si compatimur, conregnabimus. Then on the transverse, Reliquit nobis Exemplum. The globe was set up to signify the heavens, coloured with blue, with stars and clouds. On the equator circle, Aspiremus permansura Æterna. The lower part coloured green, to signify the earth, with trees and flowers on it, Quid tumultuamur? Peritura possidemus.
- 1633, The new organs were brought into the church from Squire Buxton's of Tybbenham Cannons, which cost 10l. there, and 10l. more to take them down and set them up here, purchased by the parishioners' voluntary gifts; and 9l. a year was voluntarily subscribed, for Mr. Lesingham the organist, of which Sir Alexander Ratcliff, lord and patron, allowed 40s. a year, and the rector 40s. &c.
- 1636, The communion table was placed, &c. as it now stands.
- 1642, Tho. Downes, senior, gravi morbo lœsi cerebri diu afflictus, postquam Dei Opt. Max. beneficio integrum convaluit, pulvinar panni viridis, fimbria holocerica et fibulis ad angulos appensis decoratum, in grati pijque animi indicium Deo et Ecclesiæ dono dedit.
- 1617, Divers mortuaries paid, (as they now are, according to the statute.)
- 1619, Mr. John Littleproud, a young man, lately in priests orders, for the help of his living, being but a grammar scholar, was buried Nov. 1.
- 1623, April 14, Joan, wife of John Allen, was buried, and had so great a number of people, that the church could not contain them, very many treated at the Griffin, &c.
- 1623, One Porter a butcher, and an honest man of Windham, being at church on Whitsunday, June 1, as he was kneeling at prayers died suddenly,
"Quis jam non fœlicem et beatum obitum fecisse eum dicat?"
Mr. John Chamberlane, a very loving and honest gent. of good estate here, and elsewhere, and otherwise rich, dwelt sometime here, removed to Bridgham, thence to Barue in Suff. died on Whitsunday, and was buried at Bridgham, June 6, he seemed a little corrupted and addicted to the world, and his gain, through an executorship he had with one Mr. Wright of Larling, who might move and draw him more in that manner, than otherwise it is like he would have been: he was in his owne nature a very honest man.
Auri sacra fames, quem non insatiabilem reddas? Misere mortuus est Midas. Noli imitari.
- 1624, 13 April, Tho. Thaine of Burgh-street, near 100 old, buried.
- 1625, King James, our gracious, peaceable, and the most learned prince in all Europe, died at Theobald's, March 27, having then reigned in England 22 years and three days, it was then Sundaye, and about 11 o'clock in the forenoon, a blessed time, when every church was to be at their prayers, and at such time as his Majesty was ever used to have a sermon in his presence at court, he had a sermon in court every Sunday and Tuesday, and so caused many an excellent preacher; the preacher was always appointed by his course, out of Cambridge, while he was at Newmarket or Roiston, or near Cambridge: his Majesties speeches were always admirable, it might be truly said of him as in the Gospell, never man spake as this man speaketh; he was the England's Solomon, and so was his funeral sermon intituled.
- 1625, Aug. 11. Then was buried Mary wife of Gilbert Greene, hoastess of the Cock, who knew how to gaine more by her trade than any other, and a woman free and kind for any in sickness, or woman in her travell and child-bed, and for answering for any one's child, and readie to give to any one's marriage.
Mr. John Wever died here, carried and buried in St. Gregorie's church, Norwich, which he had much adorned.
Phillip Coullier, yeoman, dwelt at Windham, died Dec. 24, 1625, worth 100l. per annum, he cloathed every Christmass (long before his death) twenty poor children, from head to foot, he rebuilt all the houses for the use of the poor, that were burnt in the fire of Windham, and left a gift for ever to cloath and feast, so many poor children every Christmas. God grant it be kept and done; ii. Cor. 9. 15. Now thanks therefore be unto God, for his unspeakable gift; so I preached here of that. John Forby.
- 1627, John Allen a very good townsman, buried 22 Aug. This wished to be on his gravestone:
Hic in Ecclesia consepultus est Johannes Allen, uná cum Patre & Matre Suisque duabus Uxoribus, prudens, fidelis, pius, pacatus, et Oppidanus benignissimus, Omnibus in vita amabilis, in Morte desiderabilis, Corpore hic tumulatus, Anima Coronatus, ad gloriam resurrecturus, Æt. 63, Aug. 22, A. D. 1627.
Hic in Ecclesia Domino obdormit Will. Beale, Gravitate Senex, Senectute prudens, Oppidanus providus, Vita pius et pacatus, parum rigidus & morosus, sed Pauperibus benignus, cœlestem Gloriam auspicaturus, Æt. 80, Jan. 11, 1626.
Upon old John Dowe, an unprofitable townsman, of great estate in land, and yet not worth a mortuary at his death in goods.
John Dowe an antient townsman, was buried in divers Years past before, And lyeth buried within the Church South Door.
De quo hoc verum Epitaphium haberi posset.
Here lyeth the DOWE who ne'er in Life did good, Nor would have done, tho' longer he had stood, A Wife he had, both Beautifull & Wise But he ne'er would, such goodness exercise, Death was his Friend, to bring him to his Grave, For he in Life, Commendam none could have.
Mr. John Hare, Richmond Herald, saith in a letter of his, that this John Dowe married Anne, daughter of Thomas Cockett, sister to his great-grandfather Froxmere Cockett, of Bromesthorp; she outlived him, and was very charitable to the poor, and a benefactress to the church of Atilburgh, where she was buried in 1626, and her husband in 1620.
The epitaph which I sent to Mr. Tho. Weaver, for Mr. John Weaver's gravestone in St. Gregory's church Norwich,
Hic consepultus jacet Johannes Weavers, Norwicensis, Commerciorum hujus Civitatis Comportator Londinum versus, fidelissimus, eisdemq; Laboribus ditatus, Amicis amicissimus, Servis suis benignissimus, miserrimis Misericors, hujus Ecclesiæ Sti. Gregorij, cum amicissimo tum suo Johanne Freeman, per tres annos Gardianus existens, hanc ipsam Ecclesiam mirifice ornarat, duos etiam hic constituit haberi annuos Sermones in Dei Gloriam, Suique memoriam, Diebus nempe, Sti. Johannis Evangelistæ, & Johannis Baptistæ, eisdemque, quibusdam terris dotavit, obijt Atleburgh. pie & pacifice, Nov. 18, 1625. Inter Cœlorum Cœlites modo regnat.
- 1634, Aug. 7, Mr. Robert James of Eccles, High-Constable of Shropham hundred, died, of whom there is a great character; he kept a good house, and always entertained the gentlemen that came to the training in Eccles-Field: he died rich, and was buried in Eccles church.
Seneca. Obijt viridis, et officia boni Civis, boni Amici, boni Viri, exercitatus est, &c.
Johannes Forbye Clericus, Sacro Sanctæ Theologiæ Bacc. cum duarum, tum tertiæ Partis Ecclesiæ Atleburgensis Rector, per 24 (vel circiter) annos extitisset, Diem obijt novissimum in Sancto Festo Innocentium, et consepultis jacet (prout antea statuisset) juxta Filiolas ejus duas, in veteris [Kanchelle] Loco, quas ipsemet Superstes ibidem inhumaverat; sepultus erat 29 die Dec. hoc ipso Ao. Di. 1638. Anno Ætatis suæ Septuagessimæ prope octavæ.
- 1646, Gregorius Feltwell, Turmæ Equestris Cap. Pell Miles. Sep. Oct. 9.
- Verses made by Edward Barthelet, on his Mother's Death.
My Mother now, doth in my Mother leye, Death coucht her there, long longing for to dye, Her Faith was firme, so fearles was her Death, The Heavens are Witness, which drew upp her Breath, For while she lived, she lived a zealous Life, And died, Turtell like Widow, matchless Wife.
- 1653, Sarah daughter of John Ratcliff, Esq. and Sarah his wife baptized.
- 1654, John their son baptized 15 July.
The religious concerned in this town were, the Prior of Bukenham, to whose house Robert de Tateshale, the third of that name, gave a fold-course for 200 sheep. In 1377, William Ketringham and others conveyed lands here to the Priory, and there were many lands held of the Priory manor which laid in this town, both free and copyhold, which in the whole amounted to 2l. 8s. 3d. yearly rents, of which the master of the college paid a free rent for land given to his house of 16d. and there was the value of 4s. 10d. a year tithes, which belonged to the Priory manor, for all which the Prior was taxed at 46s.
The Prior of Wymondham was taxed for his temporals here 15s. 4d. they were divers small pieces of land given to the monastery by the Albanys and Tateshales. The Prior of St. Faith's was taxed 15d. for his temporals here.
The Terrier informs me that Mr. Nerford, late rector, founded a free school, and endowed it with 6l. per annum in lands, and also gave six two-penny loaves to the poor every Sunday, and tied the Rev. Mr. Beales's estate for it, that there are 30 pieces of town lands besides College Close, all which are settled to repair the church, and find its ornaments, for ever; and in the year 1651, I learn from the church-wardens account, it was then in the town's possession, though they were forced to employ some of its produce to contrary uses, viz. "to Richard Lawes for defacing the King's arms 6s." and it cost the town a good deal to repair the seats heads which were defaced at that time.
The College of the Holy Cross, otherwise called Atleburgh Chantry,
Was founded by Sir Robert de Mortimer, who was buried in 1387; he ordered Henry de Pakenham, senior, Simon, parson of Scoulton, and his other feoffees, to found and endow it, to the value of 2000 marks, which they received according to the will of Sir John de Herling, Knt. and Sir John Fitz-Ralf, Knt. who had married the granddaughters and heiresses of the said Robert; and accordingly King Henry IV. in the 7th year of his reign, [1405,] for 100 marks paid by the feoffees, granted them license to build a chantry of the Holy Cross in Atleburgh, for five chaplains, one of which was to be master, who should daily officiate in the church of Atleburgh, for the souls of Sir Robert Mortimer, Knt. and Dame Margery his wife, &c. and to amortise to the said chantry a messuage and 70 acres of land, 4 acres of meadow, and 2 of pasture, in Atleburgh, and the advowson of Great Elingham, provided there be a vicar sufficiently endowed, and a yearly sum of money given to the poor there; upon which, the surviving feoffee, by his deed, established it in the following manner, as I find it entered in the parish register, fol. 74.
Simon, rector of Scoulton, greeting. Know ye that Robert de Mortimer, Knt. son of Sir Constantine de Mortimer, Knt. granted and confirmed his manors of Scoulton, Totington, and Stanford in Norfolk, and Burghton, and Foxtone in Cambridgeshire, to Hugh De-la-Souche, Tho. Shardelowe, George Felbrige, Knts. Tho. Caus, Tho. Chaunteler, Will. at Wend, clerk, Henry de Pakenham, John Wotts, and me, the aforesaid Simon, and our heirs, on the following conditions, viz. that we should hold them to the use of him, the said Robert, son of Constantine de Mortimer, Knt. and Dame Margery his then wife, for term of their lives, and after their death, to me and the aforesaid feoffees, and the longest livers of them, till the sum of 2000 marks be raised out of the profits of the said manors, which said sum, after all reasonable expenses deducted, should go to found a chapel in honour of the Holy Cross, in the church of Atleburgh, and a chantry of three priests to sing in the said chapel for ever, for the souls of the said Robert and Margery, for which a license in mortmain should be obtained, by virtue of which, there should be as many lands, advowsons, tenements, or manors purchased, as would be sufficient for the said priests, one of which was to be master of the chantry; all the feoffees being dead but Simon, (who had obtained a license in mortmain,) he the said Simon, according to the last will and testament of Sir Robert Mortimer, Knt. founded the chantry for five priests, of which one is to be custos or master, who are all bound by the said Simon, to pray for the souls of Sir Robert de Mortimer, Knt. and Dame Margery his wife, and all their ancestors, and to conform to the following rules, statutes, and ordinances, as they are appointed by the said Simon, for ever to endure, viz.
The four fellows are to obey all lawful commands of their custos or master.
The custos and chaplains to be perpetual, that is, not removed, unless for such causes as would deprive a rector.
All of them are obliged to reside in their college, or mansion-house, and live together in commons, as in other colleges, and if any be so old that they cannot serve, or be hindered by continual sickness, yet they shall continue in their place, and be maintained by the college during their life.
The master to have 60s. a year stipend, and every brother 40s.
With this proviso, that Simon Shirreve, now brother in the said chantry, shall have 46s. 8d. a year, for life; the stipends to be paid, half on St. John Baptist's day, and half on Christmas day.
The master and brethren to have every year a new cloth suit, or 10s. each.
The custos to be chosen by the fellows, and the major part of them may choose any one, whether he be of the college or no; and if they elect two, the Bishop shall nominate which he will; and after choice is made, the college shall deliver him letters testimonial under their common seal, which the first master elected shall carry to John FitzRauff, son of Sir John Fitz-Rauff, Knt. son and heir of Margery Fitz-Rauff, late wife of the said John Fitz-Rauff, Knt. and their heirs, (if they be at Scoulton, and not else,) who thereupon shall admit him master, and whoever shall be elected the second master, shall go in like manner to the Lady Cecily Harlyng, and her heirs, (if they be at Atleburgh or East-Herling, and not else,) so that each shall have turn in admitting the master, on condition that the said Cecily will give all her part of Capele-Meadows in Atleburgh, to the college, otherwise she shall have no turn, but Fitz-Rauff shall have the whole; and after such admission, each master shall go to the Bishop of the diocese, or his deputy, to be instituted, and if FitzRauff or Harlyng, or their heirs, refuse to admit any master so chosen, the Bishop may do it upon sight of the testimonial.
The master and fellows to find two wax tapers of 2 lb. each, to be lighted yearly on the anniversaries of the said Robert and Margery, during the time of Placebo, Dirige, and Mass of Requiem, to be said at the tombs of the said Robert and Margery, and shall then give to five poor people 13d. apiece, for the souls of the said Robert and Margery.
The custos to have the sole management of all the revenues of the college, both spirituals and temporals, giving an account to the fellows every Michaelmas day, of all the receipts and expenses of the whole year.
And upon this, the college was built for their mansion-house; it stood on the west side of the street, something lower than the NW. corner of the churchyard; there are no ruins, a new house being built on its site, which is still called the College; at the Dissolution it was given to Robert Earl of Sussex, in 1541, and so became joined to the manor; the advowson of it was in moieties, one belonged to the FitzRauffs, and the other to Cecily Herlyng, her husbands, and her heirs; (see p. 319.) King Henry VIII. granted license to John Cleydon, master of the Holy Cross chantry, and the fellows there, to appropriate the greater part of the church of Atleburgh to their college, and also to purchase lands, tenements, or manors, of the value of 20l. per annum, and settle them in mortmain; and the Lord Fitz-Walter had license to settle the said advowson on the college; but it was never done, the Dissolution following not many years after. "In 1506, Tho. Spencer, felowe of the colage of the Holy Cross in Attilburgh, was buryed in the churchyard, afore the chapel door of the said colage." It was endowed with 21l. 16s. 3d. per annum, at its dissolution, according to Mr. Dugdale; but among Mr. Le Neve's Collections, I find it valued at 50l. 6s. 4d. ob. 1q. and that the Lady Cressi was a benefactress to it.
The Wardens or Masters of the College
- 1417, 27 Sept. John Rykedon, priest, vicar of Elingham-Magna in 1415, was instituted master or custos of the chantry of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross, newly founded in the church of Atleburgh, being elected by Sir Simon Schirreve, fellow, and sometime vicar of Elingham-Magna, Sir Elyas Simonds, and Sir Stephen Bacon, brethren and fellows of the said chantry, and by them presented to the Bishop, according to the rules of the foundation of that chantry. There went out no mandate for installation, but it was a common perfection or institution; the said John paid xi. marks to the Bishop, for the first fruits of the church of Great Elingham, which was appropriated to them, as all the succeeding masters were obliged to do, at their institutions.
- 1421, 10 March, Tho. Cove, bachelor in the decrees. Will. Mouncy, and John Gildensleve, fellows.
- 1441, id. Nov. The Bishop collated John Spyrling, chaplain, to the mastership of the chantry, by lapse.
- 1442, 17 June, Richard Fishere, chaplain, on Spyrling's resignation, by lapse.
- Robert Popy, on Fishere's resignation.
- 1468, 20 Oct. John Cralle, or Crackly, licenciate in the decrees, on Popy's resignation.
- Thomas Draper.
- 1477, Tho. Draper changed his mastership with John Powlyn, for the rectory of Buxhall in Suffolk.
- 1485, 18 Aug. Powlyn resigned, and the Bishop collated John Williamson, A. M.
- 1486, 21 July, Williamson resigned, and Peter Foston, bachelor in the decrees, was collated.
- 1519, 6 April, John Claydon, on Foston's death. Lapse. He was the last master, and subscribed to the supremacy anno 1534, with William Brown and Robert Whyttel, chaplains here. He died in Febr. 1540.
In the year 1709, an act passed for continuing an act made in the 7th and 8th years of the reign of his late Majesty King William, entituled An Act for the Repairing the Highways between Wymondham and Atleborough in the County of Norfolk, and for including therein, the Road leading from Wymondham to Hetherset, over the Common belonging to the said Town, by virtue of which, the tollgate on this road was erected; it was an exceeding bad road before the first Act. There is a square stone pillar standing by the road side, thus inscribed,
"This pillar was erected by the order of the Sessions of the Peace for Norfolk, as a grateful remembrance of the charity of Sir Edwin Rich, Knt. who freely gave the sum of 200l. towards the rèpair of the highway between Wymondham and Atleburgh, A. D. 1675."
And this is all that occurs to me concerning this town, unless the fee farm rents which were paid to Mr. Parker, viz. for AtleburghMoor 13s. 4d. per annum, for Diteing-Hills 13s. 4d., for Horse-DrinkMeadow 2s. 6d., for Trim mill 1s., but the mill being gone, the payment ceased.
Culverstetuna, Culvertestuna, Culvercestuna, Kynardiston, Kilverdeston, and now Kilverstone is a small village adjoining to Thetford, now wholly owned by Thomas Wright, Esq. the present lord, to whom I acknowledge myself much obliged for the following account of it, which I extracted from the evidences he was pleased to lend me for that purpose. At this time there are no tenants belonging to the manors, the whole being purchased in.
Monk's Hall Manor
Was held in the Confessor's time, by a freeman, under Stigand, and contained a carucate and half in demean; it had a mill, free fishery, &c. The whole being of 40s. value. The town was then two leagues long and two broad, and paid 7d. Danegeld. It belonged to the Conqueror afterwards, and continued in the Crown till King Henry I. gave it to
William de Albany, who married Maud, daughter of Roger Bygot, who, upon her account, gave this manor to
The Prior of the monks of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Thetford, which house was of Roger's own foundation; and accordingly I find it returned to the Exchequer, in Edward the First's time, that the Prior of Thetford holds a carucate of land in Kilverstone, of the alms of the Earl of Arundel, as of his barony of Bukenham. The monks had divers lands here, of other people's gift; in Henry the Second's time, Eustace the priest held land of them as a tenant, which the King confirmed among other things to the priory: and thus it continued till the Dissolution, and then was given, with the monastery, to Thomas Duke of Norfolk and his heirs. In 1568, Thomas Duke of Norfolk settled on Sir Thomas Cornwaleis, Knt. Sir Nicholas L'Strange, Knt. Chamberlain of the Duke's Household, Thomas Tymperley, Esq. Comptroller of the Household, William Barker and Robert Hickford, Secretaries to the said Duke, and Edward Peacock, Clerk Comptroller of the Household, the manor of Kenninghall and hundred of Giltcross, the manors of Lopham, Winfarthing, and Heywood, the site of the dissolved monastery of Thetford and all its appurtenances, the manors of Halwick, Norwick, Bryes, or Brayes, Santon, Lynford, Croxton, Munk's Hall in Kilverston, Rothenhall in Bretenham, and Westwick, with the appurtenances in Norfolk and Suffolk, to the use of him the said Duke for life, remainder to Philip Earl of Surrey, son and heir of the said Duke, begotten of the body of the Lady Mary late Dutchess of Norfolk, one of the daughters and heirs of the Right Honourable Henry Earl of Arundell, for life, remainder to the Lord Thomas Howard, and the Lord Will. Howard, younger sons of the said Duke, begotten of the body of the Lady Margaret late Dutchess of Norfolk, sole daughter and heir of the Right Honourable Thomas Awdeley, Knt. late Lord Awdeley of Walden, deceased, for their lives, to the intent that the feoffees shall appoint proper persons of the Duke's choosing, who shall pay the debts of the said Duke, with the profits of all the premises, which they are to receive, during the lives aforesaid, till they are all contented and paid, and then the premises to return to such persons as shall be then living, and entitled to them by the intail, with remainder to the right heirs of the said Duke; and soon after the feoffees, jointly with the Duke, by deed confirmed, John Bleverhasset, William Dix, William Canterell, and Laurence Bannister, his trusty and well-beloved servants, and the survivor or survivors of them, to take and receive the profits and pay the debts and legacies of the said Duke, and fulfil his will. The Duke was beheaded in the 14th of Queen Elizabeth; and in the 26th year of her reign, the Earl of Surrey, Lord Thomas, Lord William Howard, the feoffees and trustees, all joined, and sold it to Thomas Lovell of East-Herling, together with Rothenhall in Bretenham, who, in 1585, sold it to
Sir Charles Cornwaleis, and Dame Anne, his wife, and their heirs, who, in 1587, sold it to
Thomas Wright, Gent. of Weeting, and his heirs.
In the year 1285, the Customs allowed to the manor belonging to the Prior of Thetford in Kilverstone were these, sac, soc, toll, them, infangenethef, view of frankpledge, and assize of bread and ale; and, till lately, the leet belonging to it used to be kept. There is a foldcourse for 400 ewes, and 100 for the shepherd, and 250, which formerly belonged to the church, before the Prior of Butley aliened it; it was fine certain, viz. double the quitrent at every tenant's entry. The eldest son is heir, and they could not waste their copyhold. The lord of the hundred hath the superiour leet, which is held at the stone cross every Wednesday after Michaelmas day, to which all the residents do suit and service, and pay their leet-fee of 10d. yearly; and to it belong all weyfs, strays, felons goods, forfeitures, &c. There were above 200 acres of common and heath, on which the inhabitants commoned, but now every thing belongs to the lord. The Master of Magdelen hospital in Thetford held above 26 acres near their house, which laid in the bounds of this town, and the canons of Thetford had lands here; it used to pay 5s. 8d. per annum pro fine et feodo homagij.
In the Confessor's days, belonged to Edric, and at the Conquest to Robert Malet, lord of the honour of Eye, and contained 2 carucates of land, a free fishery, a mill, &c. but one part of it was then held of the said Robert by Walter de Cadomo, and continued divided till they united in the Prior. The first part went to Ralf de Querceto, Caineto, or Cheney, who came in with the Conqueror; he gave it with Sibil, his daughter, in marriage, to Robert Fitz-Walter, founder of St. Faith's at Horsham, to which monastery they gave two parts of the tithes of their lands in this town, which were afterwards conveyed to Cokesford priory after they had the manor; they were succeeded by William de Cheney, their son, who left three daughters, two died without issue, but Margaret married Hugh de Crescy, a Norman, and left Roger his son and heir, who married Isabell de Rye, all whose sons died issueless, and the inheritance came to Robert Fitz-Roger, who married Margaret, relict of Hugh de Crescy, and held this manor at a quarter of a fee, and granted it for life to Vitalis Engayne, Jordan de Sankevile, and Clemence his wife, who, in 1217, released their right to Margery de Caiseneto, or Cressy, and her heirs; and she, with the said Vitalis, settled them on Coxford priory in the same year, the Prior of which house was always returned to hold them of the manor of Horsford, and further of the manor of Hockering. The other part or moiety was always held of the honour of Eye, at a quarter of a fee; it belonged to the same Robert Fitz-Walter, after that to Guy de Ferrarijs, or Ferrers, who infeoffed the Brooms; and in 1249, Roger de Broom settled it on John Prior of Coxford, and his successours, for ever; and in 1302, William, son of Roger de Broom, for 200 marks of silver, confirmed to the Prior and Canons of Coxford, his whole manor in Kilverstone, with the mill, freefold, &c. to be held in free alms of him and his heirs by 10s. a year rent, and the service of a quarter of a knight's fee; and afterwards Robert de Broom, son of the said William, released the rent, all knight's service and homage whatever, paying to Thetford priory 10s. a year out of the mill, according to the gift of William de Broom, his father; in 1293, the Prior of Cokesford granted a rent of 12d. a year to the Prior of Thetford, for leave to dig flag on Snareshill side, to mend his mill bank at Kilverstone. And in 1428, the Prior was taxed at 11l. 11s. 11d. for his temporalities here. In 1230, there was a dispute between Richard Prior of Thetford, and William Prior of Cokesford, concerning their separate fisheries belonging to their manors here; "Concerning the use and propriety of all the fishing lying between the territory of Snareshill, and the territory of Kilverstone, the Prior of Thetford claiming the whole of the water or river from his mill called Melford Mill, to the extent of his town of Snareshill," viz. the whole of Snareshill side, as belonging to his free fishery there, and this side, as belonging to his manor here; but the Prior of Coxford having a free fishery to his manor here, claimed an equal share on this side; and it being proved to be so, the Prior of Coxford let his right for ever, to the Prior of Thetford, for 8s. a year. But the Prior of Coxford reserved to himself his swan mark, belonging to his manor, throughout the whole river, with liberty to gather reed and grass at all times in the said river, with the consent of Richard Bishop of Norwich. John Mathewe Prior of the monastery of our Blessed Lady in Coxford, and the convent there, by indenture inrolled in Chancery, dated the last day of Apr. 1528, sold their manor of Coxford in Kilverstone to Thomas Duke of Norfolk, and his heirs, for 400 marks, which the said Duke paid to King Henry VIII. in full of a debt due from the Prior to the King, the Prior being collector of the King's subsidy in the archdeaconry of Norwich, and not having repaid the money he had collected; and in 1529, Thomas Prior of Coxford, successour to the said John, settled it by fine on the said Duke, Sir Roger Townsend, Knt. and other feoffees, and immediately after sold it to Sir John Cornwaleis, who leased it to William Prior of the monastery of our Blessed Lady at Thetford, for 99 years, at the yearly rent of a red rose, which monastery being dissolved, it came to the King's hands, who granted the monastery and all that belonged to it to Thomas Duke of Norfolk, after whose attainder it came to the King again, and continued in the Crown till King Edward VI. sold the lease to Sir John Cornwaleis; in the fourth year of his reign, Sir John dies, and it descended to Sir Thomas Cornwaleis, his son and heir, who settled it on feoffees, with power of revocation, to the use of himself for life, and then to William,
his eldest son, and Lucy his wife, and the longest liver of them, with remainder to divers uses; but after this, in 1576, he settled it on Charles his son, and Anne his wife, and their heirs male, having revoked the former settlement; and in 1587, Sir Thomas the father, his two sons, and their two wives, sold it to
Thomas Wright of Weeting, Gent. and his heirs.
There is a separate right of fishing belonging to this manor, with liberty to hunt, hawk, fish and fowl, in the town and manors of Kilverstone, notwithstanding the superiour liberty of the hundred.
The fines were 2s. an acre, and the eldest son was heir.
The site contained 6 acres, and joined to the river south, and TunneyLane west, which leads down from the street, by the west end of the church, to the river. The two fold-courses belonging to this manor carried 600 ewes and 400 hog-sheep, besides the shepherd's 200: there is also a swan mark now belonging to it.
The advowson was given by Margaret de Caineto, (Cheyney, or Cressy,) daughter and heiress of William de Caineto, together with a fold-course and free common of pasture, in the said town for the sheep, in free alms to the Prior of Butly in Suffolk, who appropriated it to his house, and got it confirmed by John of Oxford Bishop of Norwich, and the Archbishop of Canterbury, reserving a vicarage to be presented to by the Prior, with a pension of 26s. 8d. payable out of the great tithes, together with the rectory-house and an acre of land adjoining to it. And thus the great tithes, the sheeps' walk, and 24 acres glebe, came to the priory; and after this the Prior, desirous to get the whole into his own hands, came to a perpetual composition with the Prior of Cokesford, for the moiety of the tithes of his manor, one moiety of which belonged to Coxford Prior, and the other to Butley, and also for the 10s. a year, which the Prior of Coxford paid to the Prior of Thetford, from his watermill in Kilverstone; and in 1428, the Prior of Butley was taxed for his whole spirituals here, 8 marks; and thus it remained till 1497, and then William Disse, vicar here, had an augmentation to his vicarage; but upon complaint that it was not yet endowed according to the statute, it was disappropriated in his successour's time, and so became an absolute rectory again, as it was before its appropriation, and hath remained such ever since; in 1554, William Fisher, then rector, pulled down and destroyed the rectory-house, the site of which joined to the west side of the churchyard, and from that time there hath been no parsonagehouse; there are about 24 acres glebe, but the sheep-walk of 250 sheep which belonged to the rectory, was granted off during the impropriation, for an annual pension of 26s. 8d. a year.
The rectory is in Norfolk archdeaconry and Rockland deanery, was valued in the King's Books at 7l. 14s. 9d. 0b. and being sworn of the clear yearly value of 33l. 7s. 8d. it is discharged of first fruits and tenths, though it pays 12d. synodals, besides the archdeacon's procurations; in 1603, here were 60 communicants, and now  there are 8 houses, and about 50 inhabitants; it paid 43s. 4d. to the tenths, and is now assessed at 202l. to the land tax. The Prior of Butley, in 1383, purchased of Thomas de Pakenham, chaplain, Adam de Foxhale of Thefford, chaplain, and John Barbour of the same, a messuage in Kilverstone, held of himself as of his church of Kilverstone, at 6d. a year, by virtue of a license in mortmain granted by King Edward III. to that monastery; and it seems the Prior assigned this house and half an acre of land to the town; it is the old house now  standing in decay over against the church.
John Howse gave an acre and half in two pieces to the inhabitants.
John Kideman gave 5 roods in two pieces.
In 1524, "James Baldewyn of Kilverstone (buried in the chancel) gave to the Black Friars of Thetford iii.s. iiii.d. Also I give and bequethe to the said church halowynge of Kylverstone, as much of my goods as the church halowyng wyll drawe with the three bells in the stepul. Item, I give ten pounds to be disposed by the discretion of my executors in the said church, as I may have a dirige and messe perpetually, if it may be performed."
Rectors And Vicars
Eustace, rector, in Henry the Second's time.
- 1316, 4 non. Marc. Thomas, son of Peter de Stantone, priest, vicar. William Prior of Buttle.
- 1317, 4 kal. Dec. Edmund de Debenham, deacon.
- 1357, 18 June, John de Acre de Thefford, priest.
- 1359, 3 April, John de Wetyng, priest.
- 1359, 29 July, John de Acre, priest, by changing with Wetyng, who took Fineberg vicarage.
- 1361, 23 Sept. Richard Masoun of Drenkeston, priest.
- 1378, 3 Decem. William Wylde, junior, of Mildenhale, priest.
- 1420, 29 Jan. William Caunceler, priest.
- 1432, 10 April, Richard Wyston, priest. The vicarage was taxed at 8 marks.
- 1436, 12 Oct. William Brigham, priest, at Wyston's resignation, united to Carleton-Rode till 1442, and then Brigham resigned it.
- 1464, 27 July, John Ingman, at Brigham's death.
- 1468, 20 March, Thomas Bryan.
- 1497, William Disse, vicar. In his time there was a composition made, with the consent of Sir Robert Beckles, Prior of Butley, his patron, and of the Prior of Coxford, concerning the tithes of the gardens and orchards in the town, all which were allotted to increase the stipend of the vicar.
- 1506, 17 March, John Browne. In his time it was disappropriated, and so became a rectory again.
- 1507, 12 Oct. John Goddard, chaplain.
- 1542, 20 Sept. William Fisher, chaplain. Alice Cotton, widow, for this turn, which was granted her by Thomas Manning, Suffragan Bishop of Ipswich, and the convent of Butley, of which he was prior.
- 1559, 20 July, John Abadam, priest, The Queen.
- 1587, 31 March, John Poynton, or Poynter. The Queen. Buried here 18th June, 1641.
- 1641, Arthur Needham, he was ejected for his loyalty, in 1556, and one John Flanner, subscribes as rector; but Needham was restored in 1660, and died rector, and was buried here Aug. 12, 1661.
- 1661, 30 Oct. John Burrell, priest, on Needham's death. The King.
- 1692, 10 Sep. The Rev. Mr. Thomas Loane, the present  rector, holds it united to Bretenham. The King.
The Church hath a low round tower and three bells; the nave and north porch are tiled, the chancel thatched, and north isle leaded; the following inscriptions are on marbles in the chancel:
Requiescunt Sub hoc Marmore Reliquiæ ThomÆ Wright Armigeri, qui plenior Virtutum quam Dierum Mundum vidit et reliquit, 12m° Aprilis 1667.
Thomas Wright Jun. 10 Annos natus, obijt Septimo Die Junij 1674.
Senilis Infans et Puelle. Cato.
Here lyeth the Body of Katherine Daughter of Charles Wright Esq; Here also lyeth the Body of Frances Daughter of Charles Wright Esq; both by Anne his Wife, the Eldest Daughter of George Vilett of Pinkny in the County of Norfolk Esq; Katherine departed this Life June the 8 Aged 3 Years 8 Months, Frances departed this Life December the 7 aged 6 months, Anno Dom: 1696.
On a grave-stone,
Here lieth interred Charles Wright Esq; a Man remarkable for many excellent Qualities a most affet. Husband, an indulgt. Parent, a sincere Friend, his Charity was unconfined, his Liberality was universale, his Afflictions were great, his Patience greater, he was a conscientious Observer of all religious Duties, & remarkable zealous for the Honour of God, & Religion, he departed this Life in the true Faith and Fear of God, in the 64 Year of his Age, on the 14th. Day of Nov. A.D. 1729.
Here lyeth the Body Of Katherine Cropley, youngest Daughter of Sir Charles Harbord Knt. Surveyor to King Charles the first, & second Reliquid of Tho. Wright Esq. late Wife of William Cropley Gent. one of the Best of Women, Wifes, & Mothers, dyed July the 6 1684. aged 40 Yeares 11 Months.
Here lyeth interr'd Anne the Eldest Daug. of George Vilett of Pinckney in the County of Norff. Esq. who was married to Charles Wright of Kilverstone in the said County Esq; the Twenty ninth Day of May Anno Dom: 1691. Which Happy Pair, were so equally Blest in each other, that their Sublime and shining Pattern, of true and undissembled Affection, is scarcely to be paralell'd, but never out-done. She had by her beloved Husband, four Sons, and eight Daughters, and then departed this Life, the Twenty ninth Day of September, and was buried the first of October, Anno Domini: 1709, aged 41 Years.
A Mother who with every Grace was Blest, With all the Ornaments of Vertue Drest, With whatso'ere Religion recommends, The best of Wifes, of Mothers, and of Friends, And tho' by Death, her Body's turn'd to Dust, 'Tis fitt we still Commemorate the just.
'Twas here, she did adore the highest Lord, Who to her Soul great Comfort did afford, 'Twas here she did with great Joy and Content, Receive Gods Holy Word and Sacrament, Since then she loved, this Sacred Place so well, 'Tis very meet, that here her Name should Dwell.
On a grave-stone in the church,
Here lyeth buried the Body of Mary Pearson, Wid. Relict of the Rev. Will. Pearson LL. D. late Chancellour of the Diocess of York, whose undissembl'd Goodness made her whilst living beloved, when dead, lamented by all that knew her. She died Apr. 9th. 1736. Æt. 72.
By the bounds of this parish, is Ringmere Pit, which I find Mr. Salmon, in his Roman Stations in Britain, (pag. 9,) takes notice of in these words:
"On the side of this way from Hockham, in East-Wrettam parish, is a remarkable cavity called Ringmere Pit, it is in form of an amphitheatre, to the bigness of six or seven acres, with an uniform descent on every side to the arena. So exact is its figure, even yet, one cannot help believing it was contrived for show. There was not in the latter end of October, a drop of water in it, which the wet summer must have filled, if it ever had been a pond. More of this kind, I have heard of hereabouts but not seen."
I must own, a stranger, who saw it in 1724, or 1725, (as I suppose he did,) when it was entirely dry, might have been of the same opinion with him. But there is nothing uncommon to those that have been acquainted with it; it is a large cavity indeed, generally full of water, and the ground being a sand, the water occasioned that uniform descent; it is supplied with land springs from the adjacent hills, which in the extreme dry year ceased running, and so the water shrank into the sand; it is a very old mere or large water, as the Saxon name which it still bears tells us, Ring-mere being no more than, the round mere or water. I have angled fine perch out of it when I was a schoolboy at Thetford; and am apt to think there are good fish in it now, it being stored, as I am informed, since it was last dry. But this pit is not to compare with that, which lies nearer Croxton; and though it is three times as big, was then also dry; this is called Foulmere Pit; the greater part of its fishery belongs to the estate in Croxton, settled on the school and hospital of Thetford, as I am informed, and that of Ringmere, to the lord of East-Wrotham; there are other large pits on these heaths, (though not so big as either of the former,) that have water in them in winter, but being mostly dried up in summer time, they look very regular to the beholder's eye.